Peugeot RCZ to be launched in Malaysia next week

Ah, if you’ve been waiting for the Peugeot RCZ to arrive, your wait is just about over. Nasim will be launching the 2+2 coupe next week, almost to a year since our test drive report on the car came out, and the car will come in two output versions, 156 hp and 200 hp.

What’s more, there’s a manual transmission option, in line with the resurgence for stick shifters in the market. Good news for enthusiasts.

The 1.6 litre twin-scroll turbocharged BMW-PSA Prince mill, in 156 hp and 240 Nm form, gets plonked into the automatic variant, which comes in six-speed form, while the six-speed manual transmission is available in the 200 hp, 275 Nm version.

The car, which sits on the same platform as the 308, features sound system technology that enhances the driving experience through different engine harmonics according to the rate of acceleration.

The RCZ is the second of three models to be launched by Nasim this year and will be part of a roadshow at the Bangsar Shopping Centre from May 20-22, so that’s the date and place to pen down if you’re thinking of catching the car in the metal.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• CamPor on May 11, 2011 at 12:57 pm

wow…gudbye TT…welcome RCZ

• Steven on May 11, 2011 at 12:58 pm

i BOOKED ONE AND GETTING MINE DELIVERED SOON !!!! WOHOO !

• Black Dog on May 11, 2011 at 1:10 pm

How much is it?

• NoBrainer on May 11, 2011 at 1:53 pm

I envy you. What is the waiting period?

• mrsham on May 11, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Good choice bro & enjoy your ride.

• how much?

• can share what spec came with what price ?

• Price? i eager to CR-Z ,but then no new update at all :P
      now day more styling RC-Z here,hehe man name is close
      Still depend on price.

• pigsy on May 11, 2011 at 3:26 pm

betul ka ni?

• Thomas Heng on May 11, 2011 at 3:27 pm

price price?? please~~~

• redboy on May 11, 2011 at 5:14 pm

so apparently…u cant tell the price u book…using ur AX black card i guess..

• pigsy on May 11, 2011 at 6:05 pm

he booked pay rm5k first. balance when the car arrive only pay la.. how to know the price now…. :)

• Steven on May 13, 2011 at 7:18 am

its at ard $230K, 1.6 turbo auto, mine is the same color that showed in the photo.
        launching for media is 1 day before 20th and I am invited as I ordered the car from someone in top in Naza….

Delivering in June……

• Alpha on May 11, 2011 at 12:59 pm

I bet it’ll be around Mini One’s price for the 156BHP and around Mini Cooper S for the 200BHP version~.

• droll on May 11, 2011 at 3:26 pm

i am betting it will be lower than that knowing the history of naza bringing in affordable motoring to the malaysian masses.

my guess:
      156bhp = 160k
      200bhp = 200k

• Victor Hoh on May 11, 2011 at 3:44 pm

1 buck per HP… hahaha

honestly, 160K for the 156bhp 6sp auto is quite ok, given that it is CBU.

• i think…
        156 bhp – RM180k
        200 bhp – RM220-230k

• Alpha on May 11, 2011 at 4:20 pm

i highly doubt so.they’ll be stupid to price it lower or the same as the 207CC or 308CC.

• i think it should be just about 5k-10k more than those 2 model. Hope so

• maserati on May 11, 2011 at 1:00 pm

Awesome car, wonder how much?

• Wisdom on May 11, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Pretty car. Any test drive unit?

• confused on May 11, 2011 at 1:16 pm

although the stick shifter is no doubt a drool point, but still prefer audi TT..

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 11, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Never expected the manual to be coming as well, a pleasant surprise!

• RAZMAN MAJID on May 11, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Wow! It’s a copy cat of Audi TT…not sure handling as good as TT?

• kwing on May 11, 2011 at 1:37 pm

nothing special really, design not that refreshing, and only 156hp n 240nm, not like number that would wow people, renaultsport megane for me anytime… unless the price….

• corolla_KE70 on May 12, 2011 at 11:02 am

yeahh, probably because you can buy megane anytime, right?

• kwing on May 12, 2011 at 11:29 am

magane rs only mayb loses style to rcs, beat it in every single aspect,…

• racotua on May 12, 2011 at 1:30 pm

megane loses in comfort, interior luxury, overall style and refinement… all’s fair lah. you gain some, you will lose some others. just depend on what you want in a car as a buyer… and it probably does not beat the rcz in “every single aspect”lah, maybe one or two here n there.

• kwing on May 13, 2011 at 12:12 pm

it did win TG Coupe of the year, just wish it could do more on the performance… let see it prices it right..

• I heard that there are only 80 units allocated for Malaysia. So if anyone is looking at getting one, book now. Just see what happened to the 308CC, sold out super fast. I believe it will repeat with the RCZ.

• 308cc – 4 months old car now selling off at RM115K, wonder why … maybe owner upgrading to RCZ

• r u sure?
        can gv me the link or seller contact?

i am very interested with this model..
        now booking with nasim also no stock

• Isaac Cheah on May 11, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Price? Anyone knows?

• Anyone know how much tis baby cost ?

• Unforgiven on May 11, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Is this gonna be half the price of Audi TT? RM360k/2=RM180k?

• Thundercat on May 11, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Nice car…. but Nasim really have to improve their service center and after sales service.

• Mattyboy on May 11, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Saw one driving past Damansara Uptown a few weeks back with Malaysian plates on it, looks really nice in the metal I must say!

• Hikaru on May 11, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Already saw one around BSC the other day and was surprise that anyone would bring in this car.

Now that Nasim is bring it is, let’s hope the prices are not prohibitively expensive.

• anti-first on May 11, 2011 at 2:35 pm

manual’s coming in? this is not pleasant news – it’s SPECTACULAR news!

congrats to new owners too!

• racotua on May 11, 2011 at 5:59 pm

now i wonder how many people will actually put the downpayment for the manual. many ppl always ask for manual right? ;) now got manual. will be interesting to see which one sells better! auto or manual.

• lalaz on May 11, 2011 at 7:41 pm

they dont the money to buy, the best they can get is a saga manual

• Murray Walker on May 11, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Can cucuk2 with Satria Neo Supercharged.

• anti-first on May 11, 2011 at 5:17 pm

now why would any rcz owner want to do that? rcz has a lot of poise, elegance and class to be ‘cucuking’ with a supercharged neo.

looking at current car offerings in malaysia, i can safely say that rcz has no comparable competitors in terms of poise, elegance and class.

try again!

• for me rather get this if same price as Cooper S….kinda boring seeing many Mini around the town…this will make your head turning.

• sonyman on May 11, 2011 at 2:59 pm

1.6 THP RCZ in singapore is selling at SGD 169, 900 i wonder if malaysia will be about that price.

• shawal on May 11, 2011 at 3:09 pm

CKD….?

• droll on May 11, 2011 at 3:25 pm

MANUAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! finally!!!!!!!!!!!

i’m so glad we are starting to recognize the market for a manual gearbox exists!!

renault megane rs250
    mazda 3 mps
    peugeot rcz
    civic type-r
    9n3 polo gti (if i recall, this was the first manual offering in recent times; or was it the type-r first?)

• Andrew on May 11, 2011 at 3:25 pm

It’s awesome!!!!! Manual transmission is definitely a blast!!!!
    will win TT

• droll on May 11, 2011 at 3:25 pm

oops, forgot to add – MINI JCW or Cooper-S ada manual tak? :)

• Power8003 on May 11, 2011 at 3:30 pm

any indicative price yet?

• Whats the best guess on pricing?

• Toroto on May 11, 2011 at 3:32 pm

They can tune the 1.6L Prince engine to 200THP/275Nm is a great achievement even Mini Cooper S only managed 185HP. But due to high torque n to remain affordable, they have to use stick shift transmission. Just wonder when Pug will start adopt twin-clutch auto gearbox…?

• In the industry on May 11, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Mini has the same 200+ HP tune in the JCW cars, it is not unique to Pugs.

• vw_fan on May 11, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Whats the indicated price?

I’ve seen it in the flesh. quite nice.

• rageaccel2 on May 11, 2011 at 3:34 pm

way to go Nasim… u really the man. really surpassed ur late father.. congrats.

• Vincent on May 11, 2011 at 3:35 pm

So, RM168K ?

• SpeakUp on May 11, 2011 at 3:38 pm

I hope to see this in the flesh, the 308CC looks great in pictures but when I saw the real thing, it was kinda disappointing. Am looking for a car of this sort and this one if priced like the Mini will definately make me think of parting with my money … wonder how the resale for the car will be.

Still can’t decide between the Cooper S, Type R (seems there is some stock left) or maybe this baby …

• this has a 2-seater disadvantage if you are a family-oriented person.

• laluan sehala on May 11, 2011 at 5:33 pm

its a 2+2 (small lah, but still there are rear seats that one can sit in).

• This car was launched in Brunei last week…B$62k..so, if we’re lucky, our price shd be ard the region of RM150k-RM190k…

• i don’t think we are that lucky

• azlan on May 11, 2011 at 5:25 pm

308 cc oso rm190000 u wanna get rcz for 150k…

• Victor Hoh on May 11, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Why not? same drivetrain both cars. 308cc should be more expensive with the added cost for the roof mechanism, and extra enhancement on the chassis.

• different manufacturing process perhaps? i guess the roof of the rcz is just as difficult to mass produce. plus this car should come with a higher level of kit and luxury.

• Isaac Cheah on May 11, 2011 at 11:57 pm

308cc has adaptive xenons, 7 airbags i think, full leather, hot air blowing round ur neck, etc. I dont think spec wise they can go any higher

• the rcz has stuff to top that… lots ot stuff, many not visible ;)

• gaman on May 11, 2011 at 3:42 pm

most beautiful peugeot?

• the manual is a cracker. 200hp with 275Nm…should be fun to drive plus a real head turner….2 in 1 package…..

• this kinda beauty will be around
    RM198K – for auto and RM218K for manual

• 2011 – Peugeot rules.

• its a collector’s item and even 10 or 15 years from now will still turn heads…..class…

this baby is gonna turn heads every where……..

• gearbox on May 11, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Audi TT copycat

• lalaz on May 11, 2011 at 7:43 pm

u wanna buy the actual audi tt at cheaper price? its call kia forte, lol.

• Mr. Biggy on May 11, 2011 at 5:03 pm

For a 1.6 engine car, i hope its priced below 200K. It’s a very value buy if it falls below that price especially for young execs. But still, if i were to buy this car, I would shut that big ugly smiling face with something more sportier~!

• Gersang on May 11, 2011 at 5:25 pm

For that price, i’d take Scirocco 1.4 tsi anyday

• laluan sehala on May 11, 2011 at 5:55 pm

that’s a hatch, well maybe a pretty good hatch but not a sports car. anyway, its your choice. and for that price for a 1.4? ;)

• unreg 2007 TT > 2010 RCZ

• chuakz on May 12, 2011 at 12:51 am

but TT is not as good looking as this….with the double bubble roof…sexy

• RAZMAN MAJID on May 12, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Guys, You’ve gtt to test drive Audi TT at 190kmhr taking Penchala Link cornering that stick to the ground firmly and comfortably. My personal suggestion is invest money on best quality brand, first class brand and not just any car manufacturer. You’ll regret after 6 month, rest assured. That’s why You’ll see Audi A8 plus Mercedes Benzes in Transporter. Give it a try and see!

• kenny on May 12, 2011 at 2:47 pm

pretty sure this can give the tt a strong run for its money :) plus, don’t forget to factor in the price difference. you yould probably pay a lot less for the rcz when compared to the tt but you’re definitely not getting a lot less car for your money.

• lalaz on May 11, 2011 at 7:48 pm

seems like you prefer a smashed frog eh…..

• Chuck Jordan on May 12, 2011 at 6:29 am

Yes I think the Scirocco is a better bet for you. Hatchback practicality.

• antisocial on May 11, 2011 at 6:32 pm

so the same prince engine..

the same engine do jerk sometimes like the 308?

no joke here.. ask all the 308 owner.. or maybe only happen on the 308T

as 3 of my frens we all having the same 308T, all have the same problem, the engine will jerk.(normally when u accelerating around 60-70km/h) … at any point of time… and for this, the Nazim cannot solve the problem~~

• Ur fren 308 turbo is using al4 gearbox? or the newer 6 speeders???

• antisocial on May 13, 2011 at 1:38 am

we all 4 speeder…

maybe the 6 speeder dun have the same problem..

Btw, I’m curious for those who dislike my post above… are they thinking I was telling a joke or what?? I just voice out the fact as a owner…. who dun believe me i dun mind let him drive my car and feel the problem…

i wonder how many ppl here actually own the 308 apart of being a fan of PUG…
        I’m a fan of PUG, and I’m riding 308T now for almost 2 years…
        Do u all think I dun upset with that?? As a PUG fan, i bought a new car, problem occur, tough warranty still cover, but they just can’t get it fixed ! the same problem goes with 2 of my frens too… so other than disliking me post, better advise me wat should i do??

and i actually happy to see now getting more and more 308 on the road, which means the price won’t be that bad i guess when i let go my ride !~

ok. dun get me wrong here. even if my 308 is ok, i will still sell it.. main reason is i’m upgrading my car, my status… nothing personal.

• nolan on May 11, 2011 at 8:19 pm

very nice indeed….but worry in 10 years time this car will vanish just like Opel Calibra….

• Yes this car will vanish into private garages as a collectors item

• I hope Dtk Samson will price this model at RM150k- 160k .

• It won’t price lower than 308cc as the double bubble roof is costly to built. The 1.6 thp probably will price higher than vw sirokok 1.4tsi while lower than golf gti.

• Looks like TT?which parts?it looks like Peugeot RCZ!

• venven81 on May 11, 2011 at 10:36 pm

this car will be priced circa RM250,000 (but donno for which variant though). one of the SA asked my brother to go for this car when he booked a 3008 end of 2010. if the SA was right, the price should be that.

• afundi on May 11, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Nobody want to create a club for this car?

• I’m no one booking in Malaysia waiting list…..Price is rm218,888 auto 238,888 manual

• I’m no one booking in Malaysia waiting list.
    ..Price is rm218,888 auto 238,888 manual

• 123GO on May 11, 2011 at 11:31 pm

156 hp for 218k ???

• Isaac Cheah on May 11, 2011 at 11:53 pm

218k for 156hp auto -> destined to meet the same fate as the 308GT… At that price might as well a Golf GTI or top up to a Scirocco 2.0

• chuakz on May 12, 2011 at 8:53 am

too bad u actually dont know what you’re talking about as the 308GT is all sold out…some people prefer style over substance…obviously not you

• i’d like to think the rcz has both. style and substance. it is not all looks only. 200bhp and 275nm with a manual box is not a small feat.

• RAZMAN MAJID on May 12, 2011 at 1:04 pm

That’s Cheap!

• ilovesportscar on May 11, 2011 at 11:21 pm

i have auti tt, fair lady, mini cooper s, and elise in my garage. this car will be my next one…

• telee on May 12, 2011 at 1:43 am

the price is around 210k, yes & you can buy VW Gti for that price.
    2-doors CBU cars are tax higher.
    the sirocco is more expensive than Gti in Malaysia but elsewhere it is cheaper than Gti.

• 1underground on May 12, 2011 at 2:26 am

That is one sexy car ! Dont see a big market for it but the more choice the merrier !

• KL Stray Cat on May 12, 2011 at 11:19 am

Hope the wife does not see this…already asking for the TT as her next car…sigh.

Need more money…must work harder…must work smarter… ;-)

• bloodsucker on May 12, 2011 at 11:19 am

if more than RM218k better get renault megane RS250 or Mazda 3 turbo..which much better..they should put below rm180k…

• in what way better? those cars which may cost the same all have different formulas. all different concept. for different people, there are different priorities too. the megane buyer may only want the best track machine which is also a hatchback, the mazda buyer may want the 2 extra doors and maybe do not like coupes, the peugeot is a coupe. so hard to say which is better.

• maybe you just don’t see the idea behind the car.

• ah beng on May 12, 2011 at 1:14 pm

I`m surprised at this stage everyone is still asking about the price.Its RM 230-250,000..A bit overprice but we get all the options added,viz., 19“ rims etc. unfortunately, theres only 2 colours , white and grey only.So, take your choice.

• when it comes to such cars….its an emotional purchase decision.. you like you buy and if you dont like you buy something else. simple as that….

• how about when it compare to scirocco 1.4 ??
    scirocco price is RM188K… all the car pro n bros out there…pls give me some point of view pls…coz i have booked scirocco 1.4 arld… there is still time to change it…some advice pls….http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L9sOynaQ63A !! TQ

• Anyone keen to sell their used 207cc or 308cc pls contact me at 019 2805436.

• taufiq on Jun 12, 2012 at 3:26 pm

just went to the Peugeot Showroom last week. Manual Transmission option for the car is out of stock, still doesn’t has any short notice for the additional model of that option. what a shame. RM218k OTR. nice sport car i can tell. very nice curvy on the body (well, my thesis is mainly on the curved design and aerodynamic of a car).

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 15, 2012 at 8:38 pm

manual no stock huh… wonder how many of those screaming for a manual option actually bought one.