2011 Nissan Grand Livina facelift unveiled in Indonesia

Nissan is now selling a facelifted Nissan Grand Livina MPV in Indonesia, with small aesthetic upgrades such as a new front grille, a new alloy wheel design, and new white-faced instrument cluster dials.

The interior has also been given a black colour scheme, though things like interior colour are probably not something that might be specific to a facelift, just the country’s product planner ticking checkbox next to the item “black interior” instead of “cream interior”. The rest of the car and engines looks like they remain the same.

Look after the jump for a few shots of the updated MPV.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2238]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The previous Grand Livina facelift much better.

• wait, there’s a previous facelift version?

• Wisdom on May 12, 2011 at 11:02 pm

I think he meant the previous ‘face’

This is the first time they ‘lift’ the ‘face’ bro vono. So no previous ‘facelift’.

• madboy on May 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Still no temp gauge.

• alldisc on May 13, 2011 at 11:39 am

if not mistaken mercedez cars also no temp gauge. like W203 C class

• Living in the dark ages are we? Toyota Vios also no temperature gage. I don’t see a lot of people complaining…..

=)

• ridzal on Jun 06, 2011 at 3:41 pm

below 100k this is the best mpv in msia

• Tengokje.. on May 12, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Exterior looks like not much different from the current version…

Salam…

• asyrafwahab on May 12, 2011 at 4:14 pm

how about the air cond??

• coco_nuts on May 13, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Hard truth, I must admit, my 10 years++ proton waja 1.6x:-

. Better air-cond quality for tropical climate
      . Better insulation from road noise
      . Better driver centric vehicle (temperature gauge, foldable side mirror, engaged steering)

Other than that, my Livina 1.8 Impul is great mid mpv for mid size family. Smooth and economical engine, roomy, better built quality, low maintenace cost.

Nevertheless, why the new grill facelift look-alike Viva & Persona grills?
      Need more air meh?

• time to intro new model…this model looks outdated.

• ericmaxman on May 12, 2011 at 4:36 pm

doesnt excite as much as the veloster news

• casey-c on May 12, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Please bring in new model faster then Toyota to stay on top as a market leader in mid size Multi Purpose Van

• lonelyobserve on May 12, 2011 at 5:40 pm

You better pray that G and Tan Chong relationship is sorted out. Or else, wait and wait.

• casey-c on May 12, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Please introduce new model faster than Toyota and Honda to stay on top in sales volume.

• Ben Yap on May 12, 2011 at 4:42 pm

I drive a Grand Livinia 1.6. Is there no power upgrade? My car is underpowered and gets worst when it’s fully loaded.

• likehondanotsomuch on May 13, 2011 at 8:58 am

@ben yap,of course there are power upgrade,,,change your 1.6 to 1.8,hahaha problem solved.i drove one of those livina too but now i think kia citra is more spacious and powerful,but a lot of engine and mechanical problem as experienced by one of my neighbour.kia rondo has a very nice ride both to driver and passenger but i dont know about its mechanical qualities.after 2 years driving this livina i should say this is a driver car as the passenger of mine feel dizziness after long kampong road driving.well i should say i am pleased with the performance of this car as it has not given me any minor or major problem.the face lifted featured in yhis article is only cosmetic.all are already done long time ago at car accessories.the black trim is nice but the old grill is nicer,,,oh one more thing change to motul spring absorber your driving pleasure will be much better than those facelifts,,have a nice day.

• alldisc on May 13, 2011 at 11:47 am

naza citra is slightly larger (headroom, legroom), with 2.0 CVVT engine and yet 20 thousand ringgit cheaper.

livina is better in fuel economy due to lightweight body, but both MPVs handle like a car and have soft engine noise.

Nissan – The Power of Tan Chong

• dickybird on May 13, 2011 at 9:43 pm

livina 1.8 sweet! was charging down from cameron via simpang pulai, and the only thing in my way was an impul tuned sylphy. sweet!

• VW_fans on May 12, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Black interior, not easy to spot dirty!!! must be Marketing team taking serious view from those housewives hihi…..

• squawk on May 12, 2011 at 10:01 pm

TC product planner must not have young children. Children and grey or black (not beige/cream) interior are very matching. Please take note.

• nothing much changed.. prefer the interior with black leather rather than the sand color interior.

look forwards for the all new models but not the facelift and outdated models from TC..

• kiraziku on May 12, 2011 at 5:18 pm

tak ada apa yang istimewa pun….macam biasa je ???? kalau kereta buatan malaysia nih …..sah kena kituk gila2….

• BeemerFreak on May 12, 2011 at 5:18 pm

What’s ugly will always be ugly. Pls redesign this vehicle, a car at this price that looks half as good as the Exora is just not enough.

• Bro, have you driven or even seen the Impul 1.8 version of this baby. I bet your jaw will drop if you ever actually pass one on the road. And did someone mentioned Alza? you make me laugh.

• sick&tired on May 14, 2011 at 3:57 pm

yeah, i have seen the impul version, my jaw didn’t drop though, i only LOL!

• dickybird on May 13, 2011 at 9:46 pm

eoxra dont make me laugh! if anything need redesigning that milo tin called exora. p1 discontinued the T box from mitsu and now start making a high sided bread box called exora! livina 1.8 sweet!

• kiraziku on May 12, 2011 at 5:28 pm

biasa2 je…tak da yang menarik pun …sorry nissan

• MonfereBlogspot on May 12, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Alza looks better than this…

• boorriiinnggg.. same old stuff..

• bot a butthurt TnH on May 12, 2011 at 6:51 pm

it’s still look like a freaking pasar malam van……

• slysof on May 12, 2011 at 8:03 pm

nissan li’vennette’………

• slysof on May 12, 2011 at 8:04 pm

nissan li ‘vennette’

• samyyd on May 12, 2011 at 8:04 pm

i dont see anything new… but since this is not local manufacturer, so some credit should be given to nissan for this facelift. thumbs up!

• Nissan won 5th place for 2011 most valuable brand among auto industry.

Hyundai Kia can’t even get into 100th in the list “Malu” loh !

• TurboMan on May 13, 2011 at 2:42 am

Jolo

I seem to see you bashing korean brands on almost every post on Paultan.

What have the koreans done to you? If u don like korean car, then buy jap cars. No problem with anyone here.

Why vent your frustration here almost day in day out? You have nothing better to do my friend?

• TurboMan on May 13, 2011 at 2:45 am

And let me ask you my friend.

Is ferrari there? Is getrag there? Is maserati there? Is aston martin there?

Get a life my friend. If u truly hate korean cars. Then DON BUY KOREAN CARS.

I believe ppl here are sick with u advertising that fact everyday.

• hantu on May 12, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Why TC don’t want to bring Nissan Livina. It can compete with Honda Jazz and Alza.

• gtmaniac on May 13, 2011 at 10:07 am

Hantu,

Maybe coz they already got latio sport for their hatchback segment. The Livina is 5-seater.. quite a good looker.

I think in term of size, the 5-seat livina might be bigger than jazz. Alza is 7-seater.. so it’s not a direct competitor for Livina. Both both Alza (Passo Sette) and Grand Livina hare same thing: they are the elongated version of Myvi (Passo) and SWB Livina.

Correct me if i’m wrong.

• One of the best seller mid size MPV (non National cars) in Malaysia ……

value for money ….. not bad looking to be honest, drives ok la

what to do in Malaysia 100K below MPV, this is the best you can get lor …

• Jimmy on May 12, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Prefacelift is more beautiful especially the front grill. But this one has side lists at the doors, nice.

• happyone on May 12, 2011 at 10:47 pm

the meters look quite boring..

• EView on May 12, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Frogy style MPV, very old fashioned design.

• Jolly_idiot on May 13, 2011 at 12:44 am

Black interior goes with wood panel. Seems not matching. Should have it carbon fiber instead.

• alldisc on May 14, 2011 at 9:15 am

the reason for bright interior before was to trick ppl thinking this car is spacious.

then many found out it gets dirty easy, and difficult to clean. toyota changed avanza cabin trim to black colour in 2010 and sales suddenly went up.

Nissan & Tan Chong are doing their homework.

Good.

• huiyoo on May 13, 2011 at 8:08 am

i care

• bentuk belakang die perlu improvement. buruk sangat… depan die dah smart dah!

• deftones on May 13, 2011 at 11:11 am

may i know where is the engine temperature gauge?

• Maybe just a blue/red light indicator (my guess only).

• limjiaye on May 13, 2011 at 1:25 pm

so anyone here can tell that when will the facelift to be launch…as i am looking forward to buy 1 very very soon…..i am affraid that if i buy 1 now they lauch the new 1 next month

• dannylee77 on May 13, 2011 at 6:39 pm

Don think it will be so soon… As the Current Model still selling very well… & As you Know TC always slow in bringing New Models….

• where temperature guage? in digital panel?

• Inside the meter, similar to those ABS, Air Bag, Check Engine light.
      When engine cold a Blue thermometer sign light on, once the engine warm up the light when off, if the engine over heat a red thermometer light on, quite common design nowaday.

• sick&tired on May 14, 2011 at 12:04 am

RM80k++ for a 1.6 van is daylight robbery. the kia rondo is a much better buy. if you are looking for a mpv, i suggest you give it a try.

• AnakMalaysia on May 14, 2011 at 7:46 am

one thing i love nissan livina is durability – like nissan vanette – very tough! I own both and very happy with it.

• 3RD row seat still one piece! Should make 50/50 split.

• No need to “jual minyak” here.

Grand Livinia outsales Rondo by almost 10 fold (1st quater 2011) 3,378 vs 367 units.

Figure speaks louder than words.

• that’s because malaysian buy a car brand, not a car itself.

resale value..resale value..that’s 1st in their mind when they want to buy a new car..
      just because my friend got one one,my neighbour got one,my brother in law got one..I also need to buy one..

i dont think most of the buyers in malaysia do a comparison/drive test back to back before they buy their new car..

• likehondanotsomuch on May 16, 2011 at 9:25 pm

but i do,,,,paultan is my reference.3 cars since reading the post here.the livina really satisfy my needs,my navara just blow my mind with its intense torque ,the only dissapointment is with my saga blm,,,,waiting another 2-3 yrs to change it to maybe ford fiesta…so iam not brand oriented,,,,by the way thanks to paultan and all of you for helping me to make the decisions.

• sick&tired on May 14, 2011 at 3:56 pm

that bcos malaysians are suckers! if you are so obsessed with sales figures then why not talk about worldwide? last i checked, kia is ranked higher then nissan.

oh and btw livina is only sold in developing countries (i.e 3rd world countries, bcos majority of people in 3rd world countries are ignorant like Jolo) and rondo is sold worldwide. if its such a good car then why doesn’t nissan sell in other developed countries?

• jvcstereo on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:43 am

borther, have u checked how the rondo is doing in those countries?

• Does this new Grand Livina using X-CVT transmission?

• Akan dilancar pada 10 Jun 2011.

• YoungTiger on Nov 21, 2011 at 5:26 pm

helo ..just want to ask something here…with the introduce of facelift G.livina in 2011 is there any potential that Nissan will come out a totally new G.Livina in 1-2 years time from now?….thinking of this model already 5 years ++ right…if I grab it next year later then new model comes….haizzzzz…….

• saya mengalami masalah dengan grand livina manual saya, tapi servis center kata, kereta bercomputer memanglah begini. saya harap ada orang dapat menyelesaikan masalah saya.tq. masalah pada kereta saya ialah apabila berhenti dan mula berjalan dengan gear 1, seperti memandu kereta manual biasa minyak akan ditekan pada satu position dan melepaskan klac untuk mula jalan. tapi pada grand livina rpm boleh bertukar sendiri, kadang-kadang enjin mati sendiri apabila mula nak jalan kerana rpm jatuh sendiri. mungkin minyak tekan tak cukup, tapi apabila saya cuba beri lebih sikit minyak kadang-kadang rpm tiba-tiba rpm melonjak sendiri menyebabkan kereta saya meluncur pergi. memang susah control dibanding dengan kereta manual saya pernah saya gunakan. saya juga mendapati rpm grand livina boleh tinggi dengan sendiri. caranya ialah menekan minyak dan bertahan pada 2500 rpm dengan aircon dibuka. control sejuk buka pada 1/4. tahan minyak sampai aircon pum tutup apabila cukup sejuk. pada keadaan saya menahan minyak pada 2500rpm apabila aircon mula jalan dan menunggu aircon berjalan dan berhenti sebanyak lima kali, rpm saya boleh melonjak melebihi 5000 rpm. servis center kata ini adalah normal dan jaga minyak atau meter rpm apabila mula berjalan. maksudnya tengok rpm meter setiap kali mula berjalan supaya boleh menambah minyak apabila rpm jatuh & kurangkan minyak apabila rpm meninggi.