Hyundai i40 sedan debuts in Europe, to market late 2011

Hyundai’s new i40 sedan has been unveiled at the 2011 Barcelona Motor Show – the Europe-only offering follows in the footsteps of the i40 tourer, which made its debut at the Geneva Motor Show in March.

The 4.74-metre long i40 is the latest model to be unveiled under the company’s new brand slogan – ‘New Thinking. New Possibilities,’ and will go on sale in Europe in the fourth quarter of this year.

The car bears cues taken from the ‘fluidic sculpture’ philosophy, though here there are also elements of what is tagged ‘premium wing’ – Hyundai says its designers wanted to emphasise on creating fluidic volume with a modern touch as well as a sophisticated wing-like detail. The D-segment car has a wheelbase measuring 2.77 metres, and the company says it delivers best-in-class dimensions for front head (1,025mm), shoulder (1,455mm), and leg (1,170mm) room.

It will enter the market with a choice of four Euro V-compliant engines – two petrol and two diesel, with both manual and automatic transmission options. The diesels are 1.7 litre units, in 115 PS and 136 PS form; Hyundai is expecting the 136 PS unit to be the most popular engine among private and fleet buyers.

As for the petrol unit, these will be the 1.6 litre Gamma mill, offering 135 PS, and the all-new four-cylinder, 2.0 litre GDI engine called the ‘Nu’, which makes its debut in the i40. The Nu GDI lump generates 177 PS at 6,700 rpm and 208 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm, and offers a 0-100 kph time of 9.7 seconds in an i40 equipped with it.

Transmission-wise, all four engine variant forms come with a six-speed manual gearbox, with only the 136 PS 1.7 litre diesel version also available in six-speed auto form. In terms of environmental performance, the car features the latest Blue Drive-derived technologies, including Intelligent Stop & Go (ISG), low rolling-resistance tyres and an alternator management system (AMS).

Elsewhere, the diesel-powered versions feature a new acoustic package developed for the variant/s – it utilises materials such as an air permeable carpet, sound absorbing layers for engine-room encapsulation, and textile wheel-arch liners to absorb noise sources from engine, road, and muffler, providing a 20% improvement in interior noise levels and a reduction in outside engine noise when idling, compared to an i40 without these features.

As for equipment levels, there’s smart-parking assist, a lane departure warning system, Bluetooth connectivity and full map navigation with a rear view camera, among others. There’s also standard day-time running lights with optional Xenon headlamps (optional) somewhere in the mix.

The company is looking at the i40 to build on the momentum gained on the continent in recent years, and is expecting to sell 60,000 units of the i40 in a full year.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2242]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• the side profile resembles a City, but with curves.

thumbs up for Hyundai~ now we can see more variations on the road! =D

• Out of Luck on May 13, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Such a handsome car! I would definitely want one if the 136PS diesel version being offered here. Any indication as how much they might cost in Malaysia market?

• jalan54 on May 13, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Hope that this will be in malaysia with the diesel version and with a reasonable price.

• the shape just like old Accord and the front looks like Camry…Why Hyundai not that creative in term of designing. I would take Fiesta if the price is same in Malaysia.

• i have no idea what you see here. accord? camry? huh?

can you link a picture of the accord and camry you are talking about for us to see?

• u say the front like mazda 6 i at least agree with u a bit.but camry and accord?

• BeemerFreak on May 13, 2011 at 4:21 pm

He gets his inspiration from Monkeys and Elephants in the zoo……. They can’t tell the difference between their mates and sometimes go for the wrong mate.

• obviously u not like the korea car and it is nothing wrong..
      but pls do give some comments that make more sense..
      – fiesta vs i40????
      – fluidic sculpture design concept like old accord and camry???

not agree…

• of course i prefer fiesta because i’ve got money to burn, you cannot afford such car that’s why you prefer i40. i can buy both fiesta and passat cc , they complement each other and yes a vellfire too

• japfans on May 13, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Some people just like to critise Korean car without any supporting facts.
      If this is same price as Ford Fiesta, you would still take Fiesta? It sound a bit stupid……

• Meaning that if i40 is slightly cheaper than Fiesta he will choose i40. He actually like i40.

• japfans on May 13, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Please comment bese on facts. Btw, who would take Fiesta if i40 is same price as Ford Fiesta? It really sound st…d

• TurboMan on May 13, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Are you Vono or Jolo?

Heck. Where is that piece of work anyway?

• TallPan on May 13, 2011 at 7:01 pm

LOL good one turbo. looks like u got a running feud with vono/jolo…

• Dissappointed Ted on May 14, 2011 at 8:24 am

so if fiesta was not around, would you take vios or city over this? i would go for this anytime over city or vios! or even fiesta! but if i were to choose between vios city fiesta, i would choose fiesta definitely!

• Wah…pls go to check ur eye….u really anti-korean car basher….

• masak satay on May 14, 2011 at 7:49 pm

dont blame vono,he’s blind….he only know the shape via his 6 year old granchild…..

• which segment is this car?same segment as elantra?

although similar, this looks much better than the elantra

• the author said it’s D-segment, correct?

that means same class as camry and teana. but it’s only for europe, since we already get the sonata here.

• The outlook look very solid.
    Hope the engine is as good as the outlook!!!

• mini cooper freak on May 13, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Sorry, no Korean engine is good, take it or buy Proton.

• nimusy89 on May 13, 2011 at 3:21 pm

hope persona r is better than this

• Ash Menon on May 13, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Goodness. He only said that and already 29 people thumb him down. I suppose that’s the difference between a mature critic and a juvenile bunch of bashers.

• of course
      handling wise, no challenge at all
      space – you know proton cars always have spacious cabin
      engine- wait till the cfe turbo blow not only the theta II engine but of course the prince

• korean anytime on Jun 12, 2011 at 11:23 pm

hey, I had 2 proton before I the engine of both were crap. I now own the third korean car – first, hyundai elantra; second kia rio jb and now forte. They can easily whack a proton with manual transmission despite ’em having only 4-speed auto.

the rio jb 1.4 litre leaves proton campro 1.6 far behind on the highway. I used to enjoy looking at the rear view mirror to see those goons with their jaws dropped in awe or the frustration in their look. delusion shattered.

you try picking a korean with your proton and you will be cursing yourself for owning proton. as for space, korean beats proton anytime – I’m 180cm tall, 90 kg. I look small in a korean car

• korean anytime on Jun 12, 2011 at 11:31 pm

I had 2 proton before and the engine of both were crap! I’m now driving my 3rd korean car – first hyundai elantra, then kia rio jb and now kai forte.

The Rio JB leaves proton campro 1.6 far behind on a highway race. I use to enjoy seeing their jaw gappitng in awe or the frustration on their faces through glances at my Rio JB rear mirror.

I’m 180cm tall and weighs 90kg – I look small when I’m in a Korean car. Proton can’t beat that.

• johndol on May 13, 2011 at 3:21 pm

NICE!!! it definitely are better looking than civic.

• Wira Tua on May 13, 2011 at 3:35 pm

agreed…T&H design is getting boring by the day….

• mini cooper freak on May 13, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Yeah right, if I can’t afford a T/H, I would also say the same thing.

• BeemerFreak on May 13, 2011 at 4:24 pm

It is very nice to see so many Malaysians being daring and unboring by giving a nod to Korean Cars. Too bad some are still to arrogant and stupid to realise what they are missing out by being too bias.

• This looks like a Honda Insight Sedan.

• mazda fan on May 13, 2011 at 5:53 pm

wtf are u talking about dude?

• Out of Luck on May 13, 2011 at 7:12 pm

I think you should have you eyes checked if you think this resembles the ugly Honda Insight.

• mini cooper freak on May 13, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Sure it looks the same, even the logo also copy from Honda but they put it slanting and become ‘Kaki Lembek’.

• what resmeble insight?
      the colour of the tyre? *facepalm*

• blackjkx on May 13, 2011 at 3:38 pm

yeah,this is progress

• maserati on May 13, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Nice car though, had to change my opinion towards Korean car.

• jalan54 on May 14, 2011 at 2:28 am

Finally see you comment something positive about korean car.

• the front look sometimes looks like VW Passat CC. maybe because of the headlamps’ design.

• engdau on May 13, 2011 at 4:18 pm

Latest design of Korean cars has vastly improved. In fact, it is better than japanese conservative outlook.

• ong chin aun on May 13, 2011 at 4:40 pm

D- Segment ? like the Sonata in M`SIA. the beauty is the model is 1,7. L for diesel , 1.6 L and 2.L petrol with manual transmission. Great. Y,y M `sia less manual transmision option ?? Some time i think it is an insult .

• Pangsai on May 14, 2011 at 2:27 pm

bcoz no market for manual car..

thing like signalling also lazy, u expect them to change gear all the time. tak boleh lah

• evilunatic on May 13, 2011 at 4:45 pm

looks like a mini Sonata. :)

• engdau on May 13, 2011 at 5:25 pm

In fact, it resembles the outlook of Hyundai New Accent. The look is better than New Sonata. :p

• Seriously on May 13, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Doesn’t look like a D-segment car. Btw, the rear looks like the LS250

• starpak on May 13, 2011 at 5:39 pm

i think exora is better

• 2.0 litre GDI engine, 177 PS,208 Nm wah very powerful, 166ps theta-II already impress me but this one is mind blowing!

• I am here ! U missed my comment ?

Same Old, Same Old, no supprise, nowaday apart from Santa Fe, either we see the Sonata design or Avante design, remind me of those Samsung clamshell handphone where u no longer can tell which is which model.

Boring…zzzZzzz

• I am here ! U missed my comment ?

Same as Old, No supprise, nowaday apart from stone minded basher, either we see the maserati or mini cooper freak words, remind me of those butthurt T&H owner where no u longer can tell which user is which user.

Boring… zzzZzzz

• Out of Luck on May 13, 2011 at 10:37 pm

I think this is part of their corporate image thingy. Not sure if this also help to save cost instead of designing total new look for every single model. Just take a look a BMW 3- or 5-series. At a quick glance, you can’t really tell them apart although their are very different. Other car makers like Ferrari, Lambo and Aston Martin also used similar design for various mode. You can’t tell whether the car is a new or old Aston Martin from looks alone. Only a closer look or test drive in it will you be able to tell the differences, apart from it’s model stickers that is. Even Toyota used similar front design for their new model.

This is just my 2cents, I might be wrong though.

• Blimey !

These Hanguk Haseyo !
      First they copy Japanese Engine, then they copy European Design, Now even my posting got copied by their “Toady Fan”.

Outrageous !

• masak satay on May 14, 2011 at 7:52 pm

if u thk this is boring u sud go out n check ur garage…..mayb u din hav one…ops…my bad :(

• Car Driver on May 13, 2011 at 8:26 pm

1.6 offering 135PS and 2.0GDI offering 177PS and 208NM and 9,7 seconds in 0-100Kph is insane…a much improved Hyundai car…and 2.77metres wheelbase. Please bring it here to Malaysia and price it cheap …… It will sell like hotcakes….

• Looks good and i love this color. But, about its working, I can check out only when i drive the one for me…

• nolan on May 13, 2011 at 8:36 pm

please Honda……build car like thissss !!!

• spyrers on May 13, 2011 at 10:16 pm

If you hadn’t noticed, Honda’s quality have become poor of late. So why keep sticking to Honda?

• sick&tired on May 14, 2011 at 12:09 am

who needs honda!? imagine how much they will charge!? the retarded looking honda fred is sold for RM108k!

• i40 is Hyundai new version of Elantra. Bring only diesels, low and high power first. I’ll guarantee demand will outstrip supply. Nobody will look at Altis with diesel-equipped Hyundais.

• halim on May 13, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Sigh

• BuRaIaN on May 13, 2011 at 9:59 pm

“Transmission-wise, all four engine variant forms come with a six-speed MANUAL gearbox” ? I believe that was a typo?

• transformer on May 13, 2011 at 10:04 pm

IMHO, their “fluidic sculpture” theme really work for all recent model…
    the theme has become philosophy since its executed very well… great job!

• likehondanotsomuch on May 13, 2011 at 10:36 pm

combined this with hybrid motor,than it would interests me.

• Machi on May 13, 2011 at 11:02 pm

I was always a big fan of T&H..but now I am pretty convinced that Korean car is beating T&H in design cue pretty much…

While on the engine output figure..somemore the 16xhp did not impress me at all during last test drive..I feel it was like 140hp perforamnce in some 1.8L japanese car..can someone tell me why? Different testing method?

• jalan54 on May 14, 2011 at 2:37 am

So many things have to consider, first of all whether the car engine already run in, if the car you test haven’t run in, then you wouldn’t get the max power of the car.

Secondly, which model are you comparing with? Sonata with altis? Sonata is much heavier compare to altis therefore, this will be another issue.

Thirdly, whenever the whatever the official figure hp is only on crank and not on wheel, usually on wheel you wouldn’t get that much hp. also we should not look at hp but also we need to look at the engine torque, the higher the low end torque, the pickup will be better.

• When compare with Toyota, should compare with CAMRY 2.0, not ALTIS.

• Xexilia on May 23, 2011 at 7:49 pm

I feel so much happier now I udnersantd all this. Thanks!

• korean anytime on Jun 12, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Japanese cars have peaky engine where the engine pumps its maximum torque at high rpm thus lack of torque at low rpm. to compensate for that, the car is equipped with a short and close ratio gearbox so that the car could move off at stand still without stalling and to keep the revs at the upper end of the tacho where the powerband is. That is why the car feels fast. Just like your 1st gear has the shortest ratio, it gives the most pull but you can’t go far.

Korean cars on the other hand has tall gearing and wide ratio. The engine delivers max torque at low rpm and holds on to the peak output until at the higher end of the rpm – a unique characteristic of korean engine.

Once in motion, the Korean can easily out accelerate a Jap on the highway. I’m own the third Korean car now and am lead footed. I have come accross many arrogant Jap car drivers when I was driving my first Korean in 2003 and was extremely to prove those goonies wrong. Now, you see a lot less of these goonies and many Jap car drivers nowadays would readily back off.

Obviously, Korean cars are well perceived now

• The Dentist on May 13, 2011 at 11:53 pm

What is the segment of this car?/ In what segment will this car be?
    How about the new Avante n Elantra?

When will those come to Malaysia? :D

• ilovekoreancar on May 14, 2011 at 12:25 am

don’t know why, i feel vios in front and camry at the back in this car….

• Actually the Hyundai logo is copy from Honda logo!but Honda r so ugly!

• Both Persona R and CKD i40 Elantra falls under same price range (duty-free), RM45K-50K only.

“Hyundai…The Shadow Of Death To Proton!”

• Jolly_idiot on May 14, 2011 at 8:48 am

2.77m wheelbase for a c segment? Huge! It carries a similar wheelbase as camry.

• Paul Tan on May 14, 2011 at 10:46 am

This is d segment.

• Unforgiven on May 15, 2011 at 11:01 am

If this is d segment, then what about the current Sonata? Another d segment?
        What are they trying to do?

• Paul Tan on May 15, 2011 at 11:36 am

Different model to suit different demographics. Many car manufacturers do this. Honda has 2 Accords and 2 Civics. Even the Mazda 6 for US is different from the one we get, it’s longer wheelbase and bigger even though it looks similar. Volkswagen also has 2 different 2012 Passat, one for Europe one for US.

• It also looks like the Avante/Elantra. The design is in between Avante/Elantra & Sonata.

• Mohd Shahrul Naim Fauzi on May 14, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Rear just like Toyota Camry…anyway it’s so cute…:)

• PangSai on May 14, 2011 at 2:31 pm

why so many look like this look like that?
      ur bird also look like mine.. so what?

• PaiKia on May 14, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Why so many look like this look like that every single time a new car debut?

• redboy on May 14, 2011 at 5:23 pm

wow! is this Forte range of car? price it around there and give it a run! :D

• maserati on May 14, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Awesome design!!!

But as usual engine will be rubbish! Korean as usual..

Let me guess, 50 thumbs up and 50thumbs down..haha, silly easily conned readers of paultan

• TurboMan on May 15, 2011 at 1:47 am

no la. lazy to thumb u down.

wil just ignore u from now.

simple. life is too short my friend.

• Out of Luck on May 15, 2011 at 11:23 am

I agreed with you that previous generation of Korean cars had rubbish thirsty engines. But the current new generation Korean cars are using engines jointly developed with Mitsubishi. Are you saying that Mitsubishi engines are also rubbish? Fuel consumption and power of the new engines are on par with any Japanese/Conti car engines. Right now only time will tell of it’s reliability. Give it a chance!

• maserati on May 15, 2011 at 12:52 pm

I think I just received a new Vios from Toyota just now, finally bought one after saving money for 5 years, HOORAYY!!!

• sukasuki on May 16, 2011 at 9:00 am

owh?then you just a vios owner only? sigh. only use vios then want to condemn another car kaw2. shame on you.

• SteveK on May 16, 2011 at 10:02 pm

this made my day. you vios owner showing off that you got your car in a Hyundai i40 post? Lmaooo

• maserati on May 14, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Not another piece of junk from korea?!!!!

Confim this comment will receive more thumbs down then up.

• abzaja on May 17, 2011 at 9:09 am

do you desperately need the attention? then you can have all the thumbs as you like

• Ride&Handling on May 14, 2011 at 7:09 pm

i would have think this to be a C+ segment and not D as Hyundai already hv Sonata on D. it will replace the Elantra/Avante. if this is for europe, will there be RHD version for us?

• Paul Tan on May 14, 2011 at 11:49 pm

This is D segment, for Europe. Hyundai are following what Honda did for the Accord, different model for Europe and different model for US/Asia which is what we have in Malaysia. Kia also did something like that, C segment they reserved the Kia Cee’d for Europe and the rest of the world got the Spectra sedan and hatchback. Now that Spectra has become Forte, Europe still gets Cee’d.

• hanifhamzah on May 15, 2011 at 11:42 am

dear toyota and honda, please learn how to design a car from them (Hyundai n Kia)

• hanifhamzah on May 15, 2011 at 11:46 am

dear T and H, please learn how to design a car from K and Hy.

• When is Sime Darby bringing in the Elantra replacement ???

• belakang mcm lexus is250. hurm depan mmg asli hyundai style. tapi ak x suke la rekabentuk susunan dashboard kereta korea selalu nmpk tak cantik.