DPM: We cannot sustain subsidies on the same amount

DPM: We cannot sustain subsidies on the same amountEarlier this month, RON 97 petrol shot up by 20 sen to RM2.90 per litre. It was actually the fifth monthly increase in a row for RON 97 since December 2010, but it does not affect the majority of Malaysians, who continue to pay RM1.90 for RON 95 fuel. But will there be an upward revision of RON 95 prices?

Not today, but we should brace ourselves for one. Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin told reporters this morning that the subsidy bill is set to double to RM20.58 billion, and that the country will not be able to sustain this level of subsidy at today’s prices. Of this total, petroleum related sectors, including subsidy for RON 95 petrol and diesel, takes the lion’s share of RM18 billion. Last year, it cost RM9.2 billion.

“Yes, we are subsidising but we cannot sustain subsidies on the same amount. So there are ways in which we are trying to reduce subsidy costs like the increase in price of sugar. We are doing it in stages. Subsidy costs has also doubled from RM10.32 billion in 2010 to an expected cost of RM20.58 billion in 2011. RM18 billion is subsidy for petroleum-related sectors,” he told newsmen.

“We cannot guarantee there will be no increase in the prices of goods. We cannot control the prices but where the government can intervene to decrease public burden then we will,” the DPM added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• droll on May 16, 2011 at 3:13 pm

confirm RON95 will naik harga lah. time to swap to hybrids.

• lu tak suka, lu keluar, wakakakakaka.

• breaL on May 17, 2011 at 8:10 am

ubah…cara…..hidup……huehuehue

• alldisc on May 17, 2011 at 9:57 am

ubah kerajaan laa…

• ade gerenti ke tukar gomen myk bleh turun or xkan naik lg?

• do you think ubah kerajaan petrol price will never change?..think many time if you went to vote

• hantu on May 17, 2011 at 10:09 pm

KZM,
            You are so short-minded..
            Do you afraid to make any change?

Frequent Utusan reader…Corrupt!

• Vivadriver on May 17, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Hantu .. Why such remarks ? What wrong if I am one of urusan reader? Am I “corrupt” ?You call them racist but you yourself are being one with such general remarks.. Or maybe I am wrong, your remark is consider to be “intellectual” and none of the corrupted utusan reader can comprehend?

• hantu on May 17, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Vivadriver,
            Did i write statement of racist?
            You read urusan rite not utusan then you are not included in corrupt reader!

What can i summarized is mostly utusan reader were older malay which working in gov or pensioner, villager, FELDA. What the gov said is true for them eventhough the article is such of humiliating for all Malaysia.
            Ex,
            Malaysia Negara Kristian on Utusan ?
            Izzit not a such of hoax for creating chaos between races in Malaysia?
            Or you want this things happen again just like 13th may?
            Think about it.

• exJAVANESE on May 18, 2011 at 12:22 am

hantu….chill! these forum for automotive discussion…not for crappy and controversial issue like in ‘U….’ did…

• Vivadriver on May 19, 2011 at 12:49 am

Again.. Another generalisation made by you i.e older malay who is a goverment servant, felda, villager etc..

Again you have offended the most of the malay who generally have direct/indirect relationship to this so called “corrupt” reader. Our parents/relative are somehow in this so called categorisation by you which i feel a bit uncall for.

You are championing freedom of speech but here you said otherwise … Yes i do read Utusan but i do read other types of media to have better understanding on the issues (well maybe not the chinese paper due to the obvious reason). Maybe you need to tone down your generalisation which i feel inappropriate.

Yes i do feel that i need to stop and think about it; but do appreciate that you do the same thing too my brother.

• droll on May 17, 2011 at 3:46 pm

actually if we all keluar, govt will increase prices summore because less tax revenue from the working professionals. hahahahahah. *nah* in your face! :P

• exJAVANESE on May 17, 2011 at 4:58 pm

yeyyy….fixie time!!!!

• littlefire on May 16, 2011 at 8:22 pm

No bro, time to move to diesel engine..

• diesel? the quality of diesel will choke your car to death!

• Carl Wong on May 17, 2011 at 12:33 am

It’s both actually, everyone can have their choice :].

• Wisdom on May 17, 2011 at 8:52 am

Once local carmaker introduce their version of hybrids, fuel price will shoot up big time…

• zerouzer on May 17, 2011 at 8:48 am

its time to drive less often

• Goodspeed on May 17, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Or change to diesel. Very good fuel economy and still be cheaper than petrol

• for sure most commenter for this article r political align with opposition that just want to oust current gov

• hantu on May 17, 2011 at 10:13 pm

I want one question to KZM.
        Why do you love BN gov?

Why you make some reminder to all commenter whose supporting PR think first before their vote?

I know you are Malay who afraid the hoax from Gov in Utusan rite?
        hahaha…

• exJAVANESE on May 18, 2011 at 12:13 am

chill your both guys!
          we need to unite though…

no need to blame u and back u blame me…we will never get any benefit from that….

• Hadi75 on May 18, 2011 at 7:51 am

No one is changing the government….we’re just changing the party that were given a chance to lead and being paid to do so…with our hard earned cash…REMEMBER BN IS A POLITICAL PARTY…PR IS A POLITICAL PARTY….THEY ARE NOT THE GOVERNMENT….

• redboy on May 16, 2011 at 3:14 pm

for those who thought the RON95 will never increase…no matters the Barang Naik keep winning since they really think Barang Naik will take care of them..

• Tritonfolk on May 17, 2011 at 3:13 am

and becoz of their “Barang” keeps “Naik”, they’re going to squeeze rakyat’s pocket in order to get extra money to tackle fresh chicks and satisfy their Barang Naik.

• Rakyat Miskin on May 17, 2011 at 9:56 am

Kerajaan sebagai organisasi terkaya di Tanah Boleh cakap cannot sustain, jadi Barang Naik rasa rakyat miskin boleh sustain kah?

• Pakatan Kentut Rakyat can offer any alternative? So far only complain, not solution.

• Wisdom on May 17, 2011 at 9:08 am

I dont have faith on the ‘Komunist Reincarnation’ either. Been there. Believe me.

• droll on May 16, 2011 at 3:14 pm

oops. clicked submit too soon. swap to hybrids OR cars with better or comparable economy to hybrids (myvi? viva?saga?).

the govt has always viewed cars as a luxury item (yes it’s unrealistic but that’s how they see it). and if you argue you have no choice, they will tell you that you do – go buy protons or peroduas.

sigh…..

• Swap to diesel ler…

• Pity the only choice we have is swap to Myvi, Viva, Saga. The price of hybrids have fallen but still, a 40k difference is too much. Too bad we don’t have good diesel cars (nor diesel fuel) around.

• ordinaryperson on May 17, 2011 at 3:35 pm

The thing is that people driving the Myvi,saga, viva or any other national cars will suffer too cause those cars aren’t exactly the most fuel efficient cars around. My previous gen honda city returns better mileage then my wife’s perodua myvi auto anytime :)

• For all he means is that ron95 is gonna increase soon..

• tricycle on May 16, 2011 at 3:16 pm

how about RM 12 Billion subsidy to IPP? always finding excuses to burden the rakyat!

how about RM 800 Million subsidy pay to Plus highway on top of 1.6 Billion profit made in 2010?

car also got taxes, if we pay car at market price then I totally agree with gradual removal of RON 95 subsidy

• Agree!
      Just like a father who is kaki botol, drink a dozen of beer a day, hisap rokok 3 box a day, cari pelacur then saying that he don’t have a penny to give to his son…

Is not make sense!!!

• Eyesore on May 16, 2011 at 10:12 pm

I would rather keep the car expensive than having expensive fuel… cuz harga minyak naik can be a reason for harga barang to naik….. kalau harga kereta tinggi jadi alasan harga barang naik u can say STFU to the seller….

• breaL on May 17, 2011 at 9:30 am

but wat we got right here right at this moment are expensive car plus escalating fuel price plus of course harga barang naik

• Kumar san on May 17, 2011 at 9:34 am

I fully agree with tricycle,this is absolute typical Barua Negara nonsense.

We produce crude,our total energy needs is far lower than what we produce,our fuel is not exactly the “best quality”,for which the govt tells the whole bloody world we drill the “best quality”.But the truth is we get shit quality fuel and sky high prices.Market rates?my ass..when the price of crude dropped below USD100/barrel,the price of RON 97 remained at RM2.90..the govt thinks we are bumbling fools or we don’t simple arithmethics??subsidy?my ass again..ever since i got back from the U.S

why the remote need for subsidy?If the govt is giving back their “high quality” crude to the rakyat and incur a very minimal subsidy due to the high refining costs then fine,fair enough..but is this the case?hell no!!

People,the fact of the matter remains-We are a crude oil producing nation,we should NOT be paying these high prices for shit quality fuel,let alone be subsidized.This is daylight robbery guys.Please exercise your voting rights at the next general election.Don’t just complain and don’t vote for a change.Nobody’s perfect but a change in govt would be beneficial for all of us at large.

If at all that does not happen too,then migrate overseas…hahahaha..just my cents.

Cheers.

• uh oh.. fair warning perhaps? better keep your tanks at least half full all the time just so we wont rugi too much if we couldnt make it in time after the real price hike announcement.

• wohoo on May 16, 2011 at 3:19 pm

BULLSH*T

• Ah Kam on May 16, 2011 at 3:20 pm

No money? Where the excise duty collected? All Malayisan actually paying fuel up front. Want to reduce subsidy return our paid excise duty or reduce car price. We pay for our fuel ourselves!

• Varia on May 16, 2011 at 6:23 pm

our car tax covered our fuel fees and alot more than that.

• Out of Luck on May 16, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Can’t agree more. Whatever money we saved from those taxes can be used to compensated for higher fuel prices. Therefore the ‘rakyat’ will still able to accept the removal of subsidy and the Barang Naik can remain in power. The only problem is that the poor people will be the one suffering the most.

Proposed for gradual removal of subsidy along with gradual removal of car taxes. Use the fuel subsidy money to built better transportation system that is frequent, efficient and on time. Then less people will be forced to use their car to commute to work and we’ll have less traffic jam and polution in city. Otherwise the hard pressed and dissatisfied ‘rakyat’ might vote for other party (although the other party are equally powerless, at least the ‘rakyat’ get to expressed their anger).

• good good, let see got how may people will comment tis time….when ron 97 increase got alot ppl comment eventhought those ppl are not pumping ron 97…now it is affecting the majority ppl, let’s see

• SparC on May 16, 2011 at 3:24 pm

World oil Price increase shall be benefit for oil exporter country right? but why not in our country?

• alldisc on May 17, 2011 at 10:03 am

because we export oil – petronas make money.

but we also import oil that we use. non is left, all sold overseas. this is why we pay world price.

winners – petronas
      winner – govt, BN
      winners – cronies
      losers – rakyat

All Hail 1Malaysia!!

• chinz on May 16, 2011 at 3:25 pm

“well done” BN, making your citizen suffer! nice job!

• VIctor Lee on May 16, 2011 at 3:29 pm

release the subsidy as well as the import duties and tax, higher cc & sports car will pay more as because it will consume more petrol, that is the actual plan to launch, not to protect some car manufacturer. Settle

• 4G63T DSM on May 16, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Well, this is to be expected.

This time the powers to be is smart enough to claim that they have no control on the domino effect of rising prices.

I don’t get those figures though….wondering how they pull those figures out. If in 2010 the governemnt is subsidising 10B, how the hell does it double up to 20B in 1 year?

Its not like they have not been already cutting down the subsidies since 2008.

• littlefire on May 16, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Well, maybe they are subsidizing somewhere else.. u know laa.. someone pocket maybe.. haha

• Thank you so much for a caring government like ours. I believe we have the Best government in the world …….. anyone agree on this. Look at our country so devoleped compared to the tiny dot next door Singapore ! Yet we are blessed with resources …. oil, land, minerals etc etc …… what a lovely place !!!!!!

Pls be grateful …. the govt or the minsters are also feeling the pain the normal rakyat is going thru and they are trying to help wherever possible !!!!!

That is what they are saying ! you buy this ?? Go figure

• they know nothing about our suffer:(
      they just lay back at the back seat of their luxury cars..comfortably,
      while we the ordinary citizens have to word hard with minimum wages…

and they just lay back at their luxury cars.
      DAMN

• Barang Naik, Petrol Naik, Gula Naik, Ayam Naik, tapi Gaji tak naik….!!

Kena makan roti lor!!!

• Nowadays, roti also mahal due to sugar & flour nail harga juga…
      BN, u r just nice for entitle “barang naik” the great!!!

• Machi on May 16, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Roti pula not cheap lah bro…

• corolla_KE70 on May 16, 2011 at 7:28 pm

nanti tepung pun mau naik lor….

• Anonymous on May 16, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Tepung Naik. Roti pun naik larrr……! Main main!

Minum air arr? Kalau bukan PKR bagi air supply murah sikit………….Lu minum BN punya air pun Mahal arr…..

• if cannot control, then quit being TPM… we want leader that protect us (people) not protect their subsidies value only.

• I hope after they cut the subsidies, my tax refund can be done immediately after so many years. They are technically really bankrupt government.

• alldisc on May 17, 2011 at 10:08 am

basically, yes govt dont have money anymore. they cannot even pay 1 full month bonus (refer to end 2010 when PM said 1 month bonus will cause the govt a defecit )

total dependance to petronas for the govt servants monthly salary.

• mohaz on May 16, 2011 at 3:43 pm

bla bla bla. subsidi mahal, ok. rakyat boleh terima.
    tapi turunkanlah cukai kereta. rakyat kena buat loan 9 tahun semata2 nak bayar CUKAI kepada kerajaan,. pathetic.

• Angrybirds on May 16, 2011 at 3:44 pm

lame excuses…

• corolla_KE70 on May 16, 2011 at 3:57 pm

excuses, excuses and excuses…..

• samyyd on May 16, 2011 at 3:58 pm

so muhyidin. can we have honda insight or any other hybrid or electric car at 40k max?.. with hire purchase interest 2% max and loan up to 5 years?… otherwise we wont vote bn.

• hellyeah on May 16, 2011 at 11:34 pm

I’m wondering….do ‘they’ really read all our comments..????

• alldisc on May 17, 2011 at 10:10 am

PM will only read ‘good’ comments in his facebook, twitter and 1Malaysia website.

no, PM does not read paultan.org which does not benefit him

• Kalau berani kasi naik harga sebelum General Election..Dont play games. This is …..

• With global prices ever rising and food shortages a real threat, it’s no surprise that we will take a hit eventually.

If world oil prices keep rising to ridiculous levels, maybe it’s time to seriously consider alternative fuels or even further tariff reductions on hybrids.

Just my 2 cents.

• Malaysia
    Harga Petrol : RM 2.90
    Malaysia pengeluar ke-27 di dunia.

Qatar
    ……Harga Petrol : RM 0.75
    Qatar pengeluar ke-22 di dunia.

Oman
    Harga Petrol : RM1.00
    Oman pengeluar ke-28 di dunia.

Egypt @ Mesir
    Harga Petrol : RM 1.06
    Egypt pengeluar ke-29 di dunia.

Iran
    Harga Petrol : RM 0.35
    Iran pengeluar ke-8 di dunia..

malaysian gov, please dont compare our oil prices to fellow asean coutries as they do not produce oil..Malaysians still are not living with high salary thus oil prices have a lot of effects to us:(

• pakka on May 16, 2011 at 6:34 pm

I would rather the subsidy is used on something more useful than being burned to nothing by you petrolheads. Cummon guys.

• common dude..think deeper lah..
        high price of oil leads to high price of everything..
        food needs transportation..and transportation needs what?OIL

• Dominic on May 16, 2011 at 7:08 pm

i understand your sentiment on the oil price hike. i do feel u. everybody is affected by it.

but please do not make blunt statement such as comparing our country versus such countries like oman, egypt etc. their oil reserves are not tripled or five times of ours, but hundreds times.

• maybe u can contribute extra tax to subsidize my petrol since u so noble

• Dominic on May 17, 2011 at 6:17 am

i didn’t say i supported the oil price hike. please get it straight. in whatever circumstances, all of us are against it. jeeeezzz..

i was saying that the fella should not just compare our country to oil producing countries in the egypt part. if u just take them as examples, u’re not making the right comparison. truly the difference would be huge.

another thing, by saying that, how ‘noble’ came into place?

for those of you who don’t know the fact, just google it. here’s one link
          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oil_reserves
          malaysia is not even in the list. see the overwhelming difference between the top ten and those in the bottom of the list.

in short, i’m way against the oil price hike. but please be smart at the same time (get the facts right)

• Van the Man on May 17, 2011 at 11:16 am

True bro. Dont forget the population either. Brunei Pop is what, 400K max? And ours is 27M.

• TFazuin on May 17, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Brunei Population is probably 150K true bruneian, 30K Sarawakian with PR and the balance 300K are migrant workers or people like me who fly in for short stint of work.

• Najib on May 18, 2011 at 3:27 pm

but our BN government always compare us to the neighboring countries…. dong

• Eyesore on May 16, 2011 at 10:17 pm

which ron were you talking about… I just came back from saudi… most r their fuel r RON 91 or 92…. u want to use those for your car? be my guest…

• at least the saudi gov are smart enough to know their people may not able to buy ron95, so they provide lower RON… and malaysian gov? do they really think most malaysian are wealthy enough to be supplied with high prices oil…remember..HIGH PRICE of OIL———-> high price of everything(food, clothes,…….)

• where Russia(1st) , US(3rd), China(5th), Canada(5th), Mexico(6th), Brazil(9th), Norway(13th), Azerbaijan(22), Colombia(23rd), Argentina(25th), India(26th)?

• LatukBandar on May 16, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Doesn’t make any sense.

2011 – RON95 – Oil per barrel RM310 – RM1.90 per litter
    2011 – RON97 – Oil per barrel RM310 – RM2.90 per litter
    2008 – RON97 – Oil per barrel RM448 – RM2.70 per litter

• 1. stop subsidy
    2. stop charging high tax on car

currently is like taking from left pocket and put into the right. in the meantime, take some to own pocket…..damn!

• Vincent on May 16, 2011 at 10:52 pm

The real solution is not stop tax all car, it should be, give tax incentive (discount) for those car that able to move more than 1200KM per tank…

out there, there are a lot of car can clock > 1000Km for 1 tank of fuel.

Simple calculation:

At 1.90 per KM, full tank RM80 can last for 500KM, it mean RM 0.16per KM.

When remove subsidy, let say fuel increaseby 50%, it come to RM120 for 1000KM…end up, Rakyat and Government, both win!!!

• U must be crazy to state that a car can move >1000 km per tank of fuel. Let;’s us aasume that your tank size is +-50 liter.

• vbkcheng on May 17, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Har, you must be still staying in kampung…diesel car, hybrid car…there are a lot out there and this is not available in Proton nor Produa…

Do your home work before saying people gila…

End up, you will only look bodoh…

• accordmania on May 16, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Why cant our govt just get the petroleum from our shore, then we just pay for the job of processing? Why should they compare the cost to the market price? isn’t it that the petronas belong to our govt, and we citizen of malaysia own our govt? Malaysia should belong to Malaysian. right?

• iknow on May 16, 2011 at 11:09 pm

actually, the fact is, we are using our own oil… the refinery at terengganu is build for this purpose, few knows about this. But still, the price of oil is still high. For those who are living around east coast areas, you’re lucky to use the high grade oil. Refinery in melaka is for the plant to process outside’s crude oil. So, not all are using petrol imported from outside. You guys can go and check it out at kerteh, terengganu, a lot of lorries (oil tank) waiting to refill the oil, to be distributed to gas stations in our country.

• hantu on May 17, 2011 at 5:25 am

What about Sarawak and Sabah. Are they from local shore or arab land?

• Lim Kopi on May 16, 2011 at 4:23 pm

How about, try to reduce the amount of money that goes into those corrupt BN ministers pockets ?

I am sure u can save a few billions there already :)

• Undilah BN on May 16, 2011 at 4:26 pm

Hello Tan Sri,

Can we convert the excise duty to petrol voucher?

Example, below 1.8cc, have excise duty 75%. Can gov just take 5% excise duty and convert 70% to petrol voucher. So people still buy honda city with the current price, with current interest and loan period, but actually pay less for the car since they will receive petrol voucher with total 70% of the car original price. Then the gov can take the subsidy off.

• jalan54 on May 16, 2011 at 4:28 pm

They should push our diesel to euro 4 or euro 5 compliant and then bring in more diesel vehicles. Reduce the taxation of the automobile industries and follow AFTA. Eliminate AP. Improve public transport services and so on…

I can easily name few things without thinking to help the people yet they are not doing it. Who is stopping the government from doing all these things? If the money save from the reduced of the subsidies are put in good use, who will start screaming and complaining?

• jalan54 on May 16, 2011 at 6:18 pm

1 more thing that I forgot to mention. Cut the expenses they spend in Prime Minister department since the productivity doesn’t seem to match the expenses spent. This is making more sense.

• MyCarMyLife on May 16, 2011 at 4:31 pm

dear Deputy PM,
    Go ahead and revise RON 95 all you want but can you reduce the current taxes and duties of all the cars and trucks to a reasonable rate? If cannot ,then Shut Up becos we the MY rakyat can count whilst you can’t.

• whatever2 on May 16, 2011 at 4:37 pm

“Not today, but we should brace ourselves for one. Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin told reporters”

Of course not today, cause it will be tomorrow! =)

• ThePolygon on May 16, 2011 at 4:45 pm

This does not sound good. Then again, he will compare to yet S’pore, Thailand sand said our fuel is cheaper but failed to compare to Brunei again… :(

• B$ 0.35/ liter of Ron 97…. No Ron 95 in Brunei…

• Taxinvaderiscriminal on May 18, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Brunei…RAJA sorang ma…
        so choose for monarchy system…
        oil will be cheap….

life is complex

• ttooyyoottt on May 16, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Hidup Umporno!

• janes on May 16, 2011 at 4:59 pm

LOL.. Why should Petrol fuel be raised?
    I thought Ron 97 is closely follwing US oil price.
    Now the US Oil price is dropped to RM2.55/ L.. Why not Malaysia dropping the price too?

• sproc45 on May 16, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Dear Mr.DPM, you can go whatever global market price but we want rm100k golf gti, rm60k honda civic etc

• hantu on May 16, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Im waiting MoFaz reply about this matter.

• I will not be surprised if Mr. Mofaz starts to drive Viva to go to work.

Heck, you don’t believe me, if you happen to pass thru Protong’s COE via the Kesas Highway during working hours, you’ll notice there’re quite a lot of numbers of Kelisa, Kancil, Kenari, MyVi and Viva parked at the staff parking area. Very ironic isn’t it?

Hehehehe.

• hantu on May 16, 2011 at 10:12 pm

But MoFaz said he drove Saga BLM. He doesn’t want to pay excessive car tax but he rather to get crappy National Car for their thankful to gov.
        haha…

• amireskay on May 16, 2011 at 5:17 pm

At this point of time, oil prices are falling.
    Ron 97 was increased to 2.90 when oil was at USD112/barrel.
    It has now dropped to USD98.13 today.
    I see no reason of increasing Ron95 prices, in fact
    Ron97 should be adjusted lower.
    DPM, Idris Jala must be right when he said that Msia
    will be bankrupt by 2019 and risks being the next Greece?

• janes on May 16, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Exactly..Since US oil has dropped to RM2.55/L.
      Why our RON97 price still remain RM2.90/L?

This is unfair. When they say to follow US price, it seem they only follow the rising part, once rise according to the US price, wont drop dy. WTF!!

TIPU RAKYAT!

• Bankrupt on May 16, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Sure go bankrupt lah, money go into their pocket mah instead of giving rakyat to enjoy. Less subsidise mean more money masuk pocket sendire.

• Van the Man on May 17, 2011 at 11:21 am

Pls refer to the exchange rates as well. USD is even lower now! The price of fuel should go down even further!

• well u all senyap when world crude oil very high..and only bising when gov increase price

• Meor Salimi on May 16, 2011 at 5:19 pm

hmm… I personally think the govt shall increase the petrol price up high enough so that it can cover the subsidies meant for DIESEL, and other controlled FOOD items.

It makes more senses to tie-up the petrol prices with total subsidies given-out rather than the global crude-oil price.

This will definitely balance back their P&L accounts and serve more goods than cons.

O&G Industry
    There will be drops in demand for petrol thus less cost for them as refining diesel is way cheaper than refining a petrol.
    Drives cleaner hydrocarbon/alternative fuel research.

Transportation Industry
    We can now export “petrol car” rather than importing it.
    More people will use (forced to) use public transport or resort to cycles to work.
    Less Traffic meant Less RoadBullies, Less Accidents, Less Road Maintennance, More efficient Goods Transportation, Less Snatch Thieves, Less AP Cheats/Under Declare Customs. No Student BMI issues, Less Coronary Diseases, More powerful Sport Athletes.

off course there will be some repercussions, but it’s a good risk. I have many more benefits to share on this…

• hmm..in theory that is true..
      BUT…look at our country now..eventhough the subsidies still continues on food items, those pengusaha makanan and restaurant owners still raise up their prices. WHY? because the transportation cost…

and for the public transport?common dude..i live in kL in and i personally think our public transport sucks..do u rather ride public transport than ur car?i dont think so mate

• breaL on May 17, 2011 at 1:01 pm

public transport is shizzle

• I get sucked dry by paying high duties to buy a car, paying toll to concession holdings until i become a grandfather, paying income tax to fund unimportant and useless projects while I watch billions of RM being siphoned by UMNO and its cronies inclusive of MCA too.

Stop your corruption and cronyism, our country will be rich in wealth and health. You are committing suicide on our behalf. We shall change for the better.

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 16, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Choose monarch system………

Life is complex…say no to democracy

• Shaycoat on May 16, 2011 at 5:25 pm

The increased price should shake Malaysian pocket hehehe. I agreed that we should not burden our G since the oil price is out of our control. However, I am not satisfied with the way of our G combat with the errant Oil station who still allow the singaporean to pump out the subsidized petrol into their car. Yes, G has no enough personnel to be stationed at every petrol stations near the country boarder. One way to solve this efficiently is to increase the fees for the singaporean who want to come to Malaysia. Presently, the fees is tooo cheap. Kita anggap saje lah the the increased fees inclusive subsidised petrol yang mereka nak tuang. kan senang

• nanashisan on May 16, 2011 at 8:20 pm

fyi, singaporeans or foreign cars are allowed to fill up their vehicles with RON97 only. which is not subsidized. this only applied to petrol combustion vehicle. however for diesel combustion vehicles, so far ive never heard on prohibiting our diesel in foreign cars as we only have 1 type of diesel, euro2m. hope that gov can control this too as thai’s pickup and singaporean’s european cars are powered by diesel and are increasing.

• razibar on May 16, 2011 at 11:22 pm

are u sure they fill-up with RON 97 or u just assumed based on the regulaitons. U think the station dealer will check every foregin cars and ensure they fill Ron 97? if you were the petrol station dealer, would u careor have time to check this? why dont u see for yuorself and sepnt some 1 hr at the station

• sukasuki on May 17, 2011 at 2:48 am

if you go to JB, you will find that a car which Johor plat no but dont have any road tax sticker on its windscreen. my eldest brother who is an immigration officer at tambak johor says, a lot of singaporean using fake malaysian plat to refuel their cars with RON95. really2 shocked with that news. damn singaporean. damn Lee Kuan Yew. damn PAP.

• corolla_KE70 on May 17, 2011 at 11:01 am

aiyoh… stop damning those Singaporeans filling the fuels, itu tanda mereka tu cerdik….. better go damn the Barang Naik…

• If government can’t, perhaps opposition can. Every problem has solution.

• To what i understand, yes Malaysian are benefit in the fuel subsidy but not to the amount that declared by gov. Fr what i know, a lot of fuel was sold thru black market everyday by the UxxO relative company. And it is not 50 or 60 litres/car and not even 40 tonne litre that oil tanker carried on road but the oil carrier “Ship” which carried hundred thousand tonnes. And it happened everyday, Gov know that just they close one eye due to profit sharing among them. Subsidy is the best way for them to earn easy money.

Stop all subsidy, but rebate with other thing else. Like remove import tax for vehicle which will promote the auto industry, reduce personal tax, give financial aid for all school, poor family and etc only that government can make sure all subsidy is used onto Malaysian but not to foreigner or UxxO individual.

• sukasuki on May 16, 2011 at 7:10 pm

also cannot, because all car distributors are UXXO related company, as well as DXP and PXS. so keep dreaming of changing govt yo!!

• johndol on May 16, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Why G, your move is soooooooo predictable

• oh man.. time 2 use electric scooter..

• PakLah on May 16, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Malaysia
    Harga Petrol : RM 2.90
    Malaysia pengeluar ke-27 di dunia.

Qatar
    Harga Petrol : RM 0.75
    Qatar pengeluar ke-22 di dunia.

Oman
    Harga Petrol : RM1.00
    Oman pengeluar ke-28 di dunia.

Egypt @ Mesir
    Harga Petrol : RM 1.06
    Egypt pengeluar ke-29 di dunia.

Iran
    Harga Petrol : RM 0.35
    Iran pengeluar ke-8 di dunia

Where do all our money go? Into Umno’s pocket?

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 16, 2011 at 6:39 pm

hah..

Political System

Oman=monarchy
      Iran=Authritarian
      Malaysia=democrazy….not demcracy
      Egypt=under Army
      Qatar=Monarchy

So ..choose monarchy system and replace democracy that is the answer men
      ……
      Democracy=oil prices high
      Monarchy=Oil price cheap
      Not UMNO but yours all want the same cake..ma…so abolish UMNO BN PR PAS MCA DAP..and choose monarchy systemmmm…democracy mean blame others……

Life is Complex

• TFazuin on May 17, 2011 at 8:32 pm

Like I said one time ago and it was taken badly, people who are used to power and money, either inherited them or born into them don’t go around and rob the whole country till it breaks the bank. Its the one term congressman, wakil rakyat, mayor who does this. Think about what I said, whatever the king has, is much less than whatever your regular MP has in the bank. Than doesn’t include the ex-Umno now de-facto PKR leader who shipped RM1,000 notes by the containers till BNM recalled the currency. So who’s up for PKR in light of that info?

• Jimmy on May 16, 2011 at 10:08 pm

100% agreed…

• I guess I am going to be flamed by writing lots of unpopular replies in this article. :)

US department of energy statistics shows that in year 2009,

– crude oil consumed by Malaysia was already 95 percent of the volume it produced; within a few years, Malaysia will bleed one ringgit or so for every liter of petrol a driver pumps.
      – for Qartar, it is only 15 percent.
      – for Oman, 14 percent
      – Egypt, 133 percent; how Egypt manages to keep fuel prices low is unknown
      – for Iran, 42 percent

As can be seen above, Malaysia is going to use more crude oil than it produces, compared to Qartar, Oman and Iran. Egypt seems to be an exception. The non-exceptions:

– Thailand, 400 percent (world production volume ranking : 37)
      – China, 219 percent (ranking : 6)
      – US, 350 percent (ranking : 3)

None of these countries is selling petrol at less than 3 ringgit per liter currently.

• ape ni, blom general election lagi.. tunggu la lepas election baru naik..

• bila semua kereta guna elektrik nnti baru harga minyak x naik2 kot.. ms tu baru sykt2 myk ni tau.. rasakan..

• rebadge on May 16, 2011 at 7:21 pm

bil elektrik pulak naik masa tu…

• tnb man on May 16, 2011 at 8:23 pm

masa tu elektrik lak naik dan naik dan naik tnb kayo lo….goment juga kaya kah2
      dua-dua kena lo

• B33MER on May 16, 2011 at 5:47 pm

I say remove the sugar subsidy completely and leave the RON95 as long as possible … Less sugar is more healthy :D

• Mr DPM u say cannot control price of petrol on world market but in Malaysia there is certainly two ticket item which we know can be controlled. 1) taxes on cars and 2) road tolls

both are artificially floated by the government and has been a burden on road user!

• BeemerFreak on May 16, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Fuel Prices should be reflected as world price. However other costs can be reduced such as taxes. The AP system is also not helping. Scrap every protectionist policy and in time, everything will sort itself out. With all the fake manipulation, the situation will get worse, We malaysiansare brave enough to face the world, so should the govertnment and not continue to live in fantasy. Oh yeah, and if all the ministers and their staffs pay taxes, a lot more subsidy can be afforded.

• LionTua on May 16, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Confirm no election this year….so green light for RON95 increase!!!!!!

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 16, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Ya government want changing to manarchy systemmm..no more election….that waste the state revenue…all go UMNO PAS DAP PR AND PKR ………

So all political party are same suck blood likes “LINTAH”

• blacky on May 16, 2011 at 6:27 pm

maybe next mth he’ll cakap…. ok ron95 still maintain its current price…see….rakyat didahulukan….(everthing oso he say)

• Karpal Sing on May 16, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Aii yo yooo…
    Ini muhyidin kasi sama i peluru free free… must be something going on.

I just want to warn you people…. if next week the gov said they scrap RON95 increase because rakyat at their heart, dont bite it people! They just want to create issue out of thin air and come as hero, konon-nya.

if next week RON95 really up, then we should stand together and humps on cheaper car!!!

• vincent on May 16, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Oh Puhleese!! Stop telling us how much the govt subsidized! How about telling us how much car import tax that you guys have collected from us. And show us the govt is seriously dealing with corruptions, if not, I think the best is still subsidize the rakyat, at least we see the money been used on us!

• ALL THE DATA AND COMMAND ARE BULLS**T, HIS INTENTION IS GIVE THEM A REASON TO INCREASE THE RON 95 IN THE FUTURE…

• ignoramus on May 16, 2011 at 6:57 pm

What’s going on with the petroleum that we own, that we extract and sell to other nations? We are an oil producing nation. The rise in oil prices is benefitting the revenues from our exported oil. Can that be used to help keep oil prices in check for the rakyat?

• WHAT HE SAID ARE BULLS*T….HIS INTENTION IS TO GIVE THEM A REASON TO INCREASING RON 95 PRICE IN THE FUTURE (OR MAYBE SOON).

• sukasuki on May 16, 2011 at 7:04 pm

owh please govt, u can take out the subsidy, but please let the tax down. no GST, no car tax, free PTPTN, no fuel surcharge on airasia. please go down to rakyat and feel our difficulties. please please please. and give subsidy to students. free education of course, including cheaper education fees. so u can rise up the fuel price.

• Is it true our ration is 1:8. meaning to say our 1 barrel sell can get 8 barrel venuezela low quality oil. so if its true, we so kaya. and when our RM stronger than US dollar, we shud gain more. Pelik bolehland ni. We always against the logic of economy.

• mat koboi on May 16, 2011 at 7:31 pm

bila la nak keluar hybrid car….harga minyak makin mahal…

• I don’t mind market price fuel as LONG AS WE HAVE WORLD MARKET PRICE CARS TOO!! As at now, we have already paid the fuel subsidy up front when we pay the huge taxes for cars

• speedywinger on May 16, 2011 at 7:37 pm

Adopt flexi petrol price based on latest oil barrel price.. The G too lazy to count?? dayumnn.. Ada Naik Tak Turun..

• you dont need to care DPM, you dont need to pay for your sugar and petrol.

• No Logic on May 16, 2011 at 8:21 pm

bolehland never cease to amaze me.

– RM2.70@RM448 per barrel RM2.90@RM310 per barrel (in just 3 years)
    – Oil price avg USD85(RM3.30/USD) in 2010 vs avg USD110(RM3.10/USD) in 2011
    – Increase in RM60(21%) per barrel but claim subsidies increase by 10 billion (100%)
    Akai ada ka?

Can view the chart at
    http://www.moneyweek.com/news-and-charts/market-data/oil

• Kumar san on May 17, 2011 at 11:46 am

No Logic,apa yang Che habaq mai memang betui pun..depa nih mangkuq hayun tak reti kira,jenoh sampai mampuih pun depa akan tutuh juboq kita lagu nih..kerajaan ingat kita nih magkaq ka apa?haram jadah bodoh kepiaq betui la kerajaan kita..asyik duk ranjau tak tentu hala cam pelaq..

What you said was spot on mate.I fully agree with you.Simple arithmetics as you and me know it gone way out wrong with Barua Negara(BN).Please exercise your voting rights at the next general election.Yes,the opposition has it’s flaws too but at least a change after 50 years will be a welcome..

Cheers.

• deftones on May 16, 2011 at 8:27 pm

the rich will be richer
    and the poor getting poorer..

1 thing i just hate, 50m for an email..total rip off

• Dear “big G”,

Please remove your protection on Protong, Perodua & other AP-holders and you will see the problems will sort out by itself.

You can’t go against the world’s oil pricing (yes we acknowledge that) but you can REMOVE the National Automotive Policy (for greater good).

The claim that 50,000 Protong people and vendors will lose jobs is an exaggerated claim. The country’s dynamic economy (once it is open up to other automotive players) will allow more jobs to be created and 50,000 workforce will be absorbed into other industries as well.

Damage control logic point of view; prioritize the 50,000 workforce OR save 27,000,000 Malaysians? Even a non-economic background citizens knows the answer. Let’s save the entire nation!

Even if the oil price hits high, Malaysians can counter this by driving quality, reliable and fuel efficiency import cars. As for the case of Protong sales – to be predicted dropping (we ask our rich Menteri-menteri, Datuk-datuks to buy Protong to support them instead).

STOP selling the names of BUMIPUTERA as we all know the money NEVER reached the needy people. It goes to your pocket alone and your cronies.

Corruptions, mismanagement and inefficiency within the “big G” has cost us a lot.

The moment you increased the RON 95 pricing (without giving us any good alternative), literally means your fate will be sealed in the next General Election.

Alas, the theory “RAHMAN” is very true indeed. “Mr. N” will be the last PM from the “old order”. Take your lesson from Golkar Party (UMNgOk-like party in Indonesia) which ruled Indonesia for so many years, after one great election, all perished to smitherens.

Your move “big G”???

• Actually, the approach adopted by Pakatan Rakyat is also risky. It has been talking about reducing the profit of independent power producers. If the latter decide to stop production to boycott, or even pull out of the country, we will have much more frequent power outages. Then factories will move out, causing industrial output to drop drastically. We may not even be able to maintain the current FDI and income. Sweet promises are nice to hear, but too much “sugar” can be harmful to health. Perhaps this is something that we should take note of. Pakatan Rakyat can help eliminate some wastage (if it manages to overcome the revenge), but it cannot do much to shoulder the burden of global raw material price increases. Basically, whether it is Barisan Nasional or Pakatan Rakyat that rules, we still must pay 3.50 MYR/liter for RON95, and may be 50 percent of vehicle excise tax and highway toll charges, or any government will go bankrupt, because according to the US department of energy statistics, Malaysia is going to consume more oil than it produces in a few years time.

• B33MER on May 17, 2011 at 1:34 am

Spot on!!!

• TFazuin on May 17, 2011 at 8:21 pm

You can see that now, we are drilling deeper, further, our operating costs goes up when we use FPSO’s, we also re-activate old spent and marginal fields. The signs are all there, that we are running out of cheap fuel. These new technology have costs and their break even point is USD35-40/barrel.

• I truly don’t understand why they only emphasize on those increase in subsidies but keeping mum on increase in revenues.

If they subsidise 5% on price increases, then they’ll pocket the rest of 95% as increased revenues. Bear in mind that production cost should not be affected significantly because of the increase in crude oil.

So, the question is, who pockets those extrarevenues? If the government does, then why do they keep making noise about the subsidies, which is supposed to be dwarfed by the increase in profits.

If not by the government, then I suppose it’s Petronas. But then, for every RM1 increase in fuel price, I believe the government will get much more in tax revenues compared to those subsidies.

I stand corrected. Please don’t shoot me if I’m wrong.

• likehondanotsomuch on May 16, 2011 at 9:34 pm

dontt like this kind of politics,,,,ford fiesta hybrid will be my next choice period!

• where are all the critic bashers? the last time ron97 naik harga you all say “mesti bersyukur! the gov never naik harga ron95”. well soon ron95 will naik harga, and you will all be dumbstruck

• transformer on May 16, 2011 at 9:48 pm

i support removal of subsidies under condition below :

a) government must open up malaysian car market…. duty & tax free auto…. abolish NAP!! remove AP…. Lets rakyat own “real” cars….

b) transparency on where the “supposed subsidies” funds are use…. not someone pocket right ?

c) buyout all Toll Concessioneries, make malaysia a Zero Toll country….

• Varia on May 16, 2011 at 10:33 pm

but before that they have to think some way to cover previous purchased car

• redboy on May 16, 2011 at 10:34 pm

YES! They right pocket and left pocket also want! dont wan subsidy, yet no public transport, yet lots of tol yet lots of car tax. What a BS!

• hantu on May 16, 2011 at 10:46 pm

This Night, Metramac toll Cheras-PJ will closed forever!
      Something wrong behind the scene.. To cover up RON95 price hike!!

• Hmmm….. But, who is going to pay for highway construction? My area has a new toll-free highway. Not very long, but still needs hundreds of million of ringgit to build. Besides, if the north-south highway is toll-free, who is going to maintain it? Right now, I would say it is very well maintained. Without income, it will quickly degenerate into a road where holes are patched only a few times a year, road-side full of garbage, and tons of rubbish filling up the rest areas with most toilets unusable. This is not a threat. It is expected. Just look at areas managed by town councils, which want to make people happy by collecting negligible amounts of property tax, to the extent that there aren’t enough money to hire sufficient people to clean every road every week, and no money to replace damaged properties. Singapore is clean and facilities properly maintained, because even in such a high density area which pushes down average maintenance costs, everyone household is still paying at least three times the amount we are being billed, if we assume one singapore dollar is equivalent to one malaysian ringgit. With the current exchange rate and our low population density, we probably should pay at least 3000 ringgit of property tax per household per year. I still believe the current toll charges are reasonable from the perspective of facility maintenance. For traffic management, they should even be higher. Second-link is a good example. Its toll charges may be “exorbitant”, but most users are benefited, because it has forced many people to switch to public transport, thereby making cross-border trips very pleasant and jam-free most of the time, including most peak periods.

• hantu on May 17, 2011 at 5:21 am

Then, what is the purpose we are paying road tax?
        Its used to build and maintain the road but the gov misused the fund to create useless mega project.

• TFazuin on May 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Yes but have you seen where some of these roads needs to be build? Your RM70 road tax can’t cover la kawan. That’s just the cost to build, bukan cost to take over the land and maintain the road. Nothing is cheap anymore.

• Yeah right. Everything is “expensive” nowadays. Problem with us, we don’t bother to ask why it is expensive in the first place.

For instance, remember the “school stationary scandal” few years back? Pencil 2B cost you RM10/per piece.

Same goes with the construction industry. Too many profiteering from the middleman, mismanagement and above all, too many politics!

• hantu on May 17, 2011 at 10:19 pm

What about the mishandling the taxpayer money?
            why you don’t want to justify about this?
            You still in love with this corrupt gov r?

hahaha

• hz-comment on May 17, 2011 at 11:07 pm

I totally agree with you. However, it hurts to much to see our highway concessionaires having BILLIONS of ringgit of profit. Highways has become a necessary part of our lives. If feel that these highways concessionaires should be a profit free organization that employs people, charges minimal just enough for sustaining and expansions and not earning BILLIONS!

• faster election, after won can increase whatever you want. Kerajaan Barang Naik

• Anonymous on May 16, 2011 at 10:02 pm

Expected……….Please increase the petrol price it! This is the way to become high income nation as like what the Naji$ mentioned

But ppls will pull u cronies down very soon. Make sure u guys dare to increase it………..

• Heloo MY Goverment, the USD against RM have dropped below RM3.00. But still complain subsidy heavy.

Intro RON95 to rakyat and raised RON97 as premium. Shame on you.

Please be remember our RON95 is the low quality oil.

Do not even have a Minister that qualify or quality in Math, Science, and Economy. But can hold those position with taking gaji buta.

Look at the OPP most of them are Doctor, Lawyer, Businessman, CEO and many are talented (Tak Kira Cina, India or Melayu).

• Jimmy on May 16, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Looks like is going to reduce the fuel subsidy and increase the fuel price with may follow market flow,then when the car excise duty will be cancel as our car price is much much higher then others countries……..

• No gerenti?

We’d gerenti you another tsunami like the one in 2008!

• kataksedih on May 16, 2011 at 10:28 pm

wau, good!! i have too much money dunno where to put.. now you give me solution THANK YOU SO MUCH

• BN= BARANG NAIK……

• tokmoh on May 16, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Tu aa… bila suruh tukar kerajaan, 1001 sebab… anwar ni gay la, anwar ni main ngn pelacur la, PAS ni taliban la, DAP ni racist la, PKR ni berpecah belah, corrupt, ni nu na ni….

Takyah komplen la, Msian. Lagi rela barang sume naik, asalkan opposition kekal jadi badut. Kan kan kan? Bagus…

Next, orang kata kalau opposition naik pun, diorang pun corrupt, pun ada kroni, kerajaan negeri pun takleh jaga, blablabla… Well, we’ll see if they can still say that when petrol goes RM4/L and our govt will still say “cheapest in region” hohoho. *BN buat muka troll*

In the mean time, gotta rely own self… kerajaan dan rakyat, dua-dua takleh harap!!! Satu kerja naikkan barang, satu lagi kerja undi mangkuk untuk menyusahkan hidup je!!

For a start, marilah mengikut nasihat first lady kita, dan gunakan green technology dalam hidup hohoho

• scgtimk1 on May 19, 2011 at 6:39 pm

That’s why the “general” Malay willing to accept statement from an ex PM saying “Melayu Haprak” or “Melayu Mudah Lupa” during the Umporno party general assembly even in his latest book also degrades the Malay.

This all come from a man calling himself a Malay while his real name is M*h*th*r Sikandar Kutty.

That’s why no comment from him regarding the Utusan Meloya issue on “Pandi Kutty”

Woi Melayu sedaq la sikit.

• Dear Fellowship,

While it is easier to compare to those having lower fuel price and their rank in fuel exporter why not we focus on those countries who charges high fuel price but in top ranking?

Malaysia, Qatar, Oman, Egypt @ Mesir, Iran

All the above are low income countries. They subsidise their fuels so average rakyat income stay low

Norway, Canada, United States, Netherlands/Belanda, UK, France, Italy & Germany

These are high-income countries, They do not subsidise their fuels but some even dare to tax it.

could it be that if Malaysia wants to become high income country, we have to pay market price for our fuels?

Maybe we will suffer for a moment but then free economics may take place. when price of goods escalated, could it be that no one will accept low income anymore? then perhaps our average gaji will step up bit by bit.

Just another perspective. :-)

• hayden on May 16, 2011 at 11:03 pm

time for me to “naik roket”… faster lah election! =D

• ignoramus on May 16, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Can someone from the govt or Petronas explain what is going on with the high quality oil that we are selling to other countries and why this cannot alleviate the rakyat’s oil subsidy burden. Me no comprende. Rise in oil prices should also equal rise in revenue for an oil producing nation like Malaysia. I understand that the oil we export is very high quality and very expensive

• higher crude oil price means petronas profit more..why want to reduce subsidy when petronas profit more?..

• smokey on May 16, 2011 at 11:47 pm

how come subsidy can doubled in 1 year time…some more is in billions! not thousands!
    so ridiculous!

• smokey on May 16, 2011 at 11:49 pm

how come subsidy can doubled in 1 year time? some more its in billions!! not thousands!
    so ridiculous!

• BH Loy on May 16, 2011 at 11:52 pm

cannot sustain?? Pls call for the 13th GE!

• BeatTheTraffic on May 17, 2011 at 12:20 am

I fully support Najib in rising the price of RON 95. I think RM 2.3 per litre is a resonable level. Hopefully this will reduce traffic congestion in KL. It’s getting worst nowadays !!

• Beatthat on May 17, 2011 at 1:02 am

Public transport never improve how you expect people to take public transportation.

• BeatTheTraffic on May 17, 2011 at 1:24 am

Those who complain can opt for car pool, switch to smaller car, opt a hybrid, move to a place nearer to working location, use a motorbike (I use a bike until the age of 30 in KL only upgrade to a small Kelisa).
        Please up the petrol price as soon as possible. Follow Singapore footstep to make car ownership expensive. Traffic in KL is really getting out of control !

GOGOGO Najib !

• No Logic on May 17, 2011 at 1:00 pm

and make the folks in kampung suffer too?
          rising oil price is not the solution to reduce traffic in KL.

• gigganet on May 17, 2011 at 2:23 am

i think when the prices of essential goods & services rise, the traffic situation in KL will be the least of your worries :)

• HoPPeR on May 17, 2011 at 12:25 am

wanna increase fuel price? can.. increase our salary first..

• babeh on May 17, 2011 at 11:16 pm

increase yr salary? haha.. go study hard, get a goo job, good pay n u wont care bout fuel price..

• Carl Wong on May 17, 2011 at 12:38 am

Can start to have some electric cars in our market please, it’s good for city use and the air in cities will be cleaner. The USA already have Nissan Leaf, Chevrolet Volt, Ford Focus Electric and so many more I don’t even know.

• Carl Wong on May 17, 2011 at 12:40 am

If we’re driving electric cars, we can just laugh at the news every time even if the price is RM 10/L LOL………

• rexis on May 17, 2011 at 1:51 am

Bro, how many people can afford electric car?

Bicycle, then everybody can laugh.

• Carl Wong on May 18, 2011 at 2:30 am

Sadly for now even if you can afford, none are available in our country at the moment..
        Again hybrids (or diesel hybrids) of any form is a good transition and they finally reached the same price range or even lower compared to normal cars.

• iloveliar on May 17, 2011 at 12:51 am

liar liar… yesterday said no fuel rise, today said no promise… we need reformasi, reformasi, reformasi!

• richard wee on May 17, 2011 at 12:57 am

Suggestions to Government:

1st – Government take over all the toll roads

2nd – If the Goverment want to increase the petrol price by 5% it should reduce the toll rate & car duties by 5% accordingly.

3rd – Government should gradually increase the price of petrol and also gradually reduce the toll rate and taxes/ duties on the car until zero subsidy for petrol and zero taxes on cars.

4th – Government should set up a department to take over all the outstanding car loans – interest rate also reduce accordingly.

5th – One time rebate for those who fully settled car loan prior to this or cash purchases car owners.

• My friend, the basis of the decision on having toll concession is that for the government not having to fork out RM30 million per km for a three lane road. So that the money could be channeled to paying our subsidies. That way the government can stimulate the economy without spending so much on one infra project. And you think building roads come in cheap? You still need to spend on tar – which is petroleum based, and that too would require subsidy to the suppliers.

I wish we are all reasonable lot. Of course the call for government need to spend wisely bla bla bla, our votes count bla bla bla we pay taxes too bla bla bla, but if we don’t reciprocate what the government is doing, then all their efforts won’t matter anymore.

• dickybird on May 17, 2011 at 10:07 am

that does not explain the super high rates of toll the govt defers every few years!

• increase of petroleum based products? increase of materials, workmanship and maintenance?

• Cowabunga! on May 17, 2011 at 1:28 am

all flushed with bitterness over raised petrol, but come election, u still vote for these Barang Naik jokers…. u all losers. Don’t even know you got con by your very OWN greedy ppl.

• BeatTheTraffic on May 17, 2011 at 1:28 am

I notice a lot of comment here keep suggesting the government to reduce car duty. Is this going to solve congestion problems ? These people are all ‘wannabe’ wish to drive fancy Mercedes and BMW below 100k.

Go to UK and US if you really want to have cheap Mercedes, BMW and Audi ! A Honda Accord in US only cost you RM 55K. Go ahead !!

• A common man on May 17, 2011 at 12:58 pm

Malaysia’s household debt rose at a rapid rate of 11.1% per annum from 2004 to 2009, and from RM516.6bil at end-2009, it climbed by 8.4% to RM560.1bil as at end-August 2010, said CIMB Research.

The household debt to gross domestic product (GDP) ratio increased from 66.7% in 2004 to 76% in 2009 but is estimated to ease to 74.6% at end-2010.

How much is the car loan consist of our income?!!
      20%? 30%? 40% or more?
      Would it be nice if we all could cut the monthly loan repayment to half if we could buy the car with fair price?

Talking about traffic congestion, do u think that if we have a choice, we would not opt for the public transport? Have u calculate the time and cost of traveling using public transport? It’s is not simply from point A to B, it is frustrations of point A to C to Z to … and finally to B.

• BeatTheTraffic on May 17, 2011 at 3:47 pm

I can see you r really free at the wesak day holiday, able to come out with all the numbers :) .

Yes incresing fuel price will ease traffic congestion.

Imagine a fuel price of RM 2.5 per litre. Lots of ppl will opt for a motorbike—-a much more efficient way to travel. A motorbike roadtax is only RM 2 per year !! Greener and will definitely ease traffic jam !

• jalan54 on May 17, 2011 at 1:06 pm

My dear friend, to reduce the congestion problem doesn’t mean that you need to high import duty. Do you see the high import duty is working? The congestion is still there. In order to solve the congestion problem, the G should improve the public transport system instead of just charging high import duty.

How long have we been talking about the public transport problem in Malaysia? Bus always not on time, bus driver driving bus like shit and never care about the safety of the passengers. Even though we have LRT, but it is still not as convenient as we thought it is.

Main problem, the social security nowadays is like shit as well. I’ve seen a lot of rape cases, rob cases and a lot more. Even people driving their own car also get rob or rape, so is this not a problem to you?

I don’t mind they reduce the subsidy, but if the reduced subsidy not being used in a solve other problems or making people standard of living better (which I don’t see they used it to improve people lives), where the hell is the subsidies go? Also why don’t reduced the expenses spent in Prime Minister Department? Why don’t reduce all the minister commission?

Give you an example, you are working in a company and 1 day your boss comes and tell you that he has to reduce your payroll because the company is not doing and this and that, but then later you find out that your boss is taking RM40k monthly as his own salary and never been reduce even if the company is not doing well, how do you feel? Please don’t tell me that he is the boss, he can do whatever he wants, because without you guys working so hard for him, he can go eat sh*t.

Do you get what I mean???

• quit?

• hantu on May 17, 2011 at 3:16 pm

jalan54,

well said!

• BeatTheTraffic on May 17, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Come on…Malaysia Public Transport is WAY BETTER THAN SINGAPORE

Refer to this

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/world/article/singapore-survey-shows-nearly-8-in-10-public-transport-commuters-dissatisfied

• jalan54 on May 20, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Try to travel with bus here then only you put out your comment here. The bus never on time especially during night time after 9pm.

• Kumar san on May 17, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Yes,you are right jalan54,i fully agree with you.You could not have said it any better..

I am truly appalled and saddened by the state of affairs our beloved country is being run by a bunch of backwater retards.I love my Malaysia,i’m very sure you do too..but at times like this i truly regret coming back from the U.S to start a new life back home here.

Life was so good over there,you never had to worry about any of this bullshit being thrown at you and you pay thr burden for it!!..i sincerely thought i could contribute to my country in a cohesive and productive way but now,on a daily basis,i am riddled by all kinds of news of our Govt’s truly garbage way of running this nation.

Where there is a will,there is always a way.It’s in our hands to change the power that rules this nation.Exercise it wisely.Cheers bro.Peace.

• Yeah right.Car cheaper but petrol harga naik and those vehicles u’ve mentioned drink petrol like water.Try driving 1 in city.
      Bet u didnt think of maintenance as well.

• rexis on May 17, 2011 at 1:49 am

Indonesia petrol goes for 4500 Rupiah per litre aka RM1.575.

• TFazuin on May 17, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Rexis,

Petrol indonesia is subsidiized dude they also import oil to cover the shortfall, you want to take 1/4 your current salary stay there. I kerja 1 week aja pun there pun dah tak tahan traffic. But good attempt ha ha ha…

• hantu on May 17, 2011 at 10:06 pm

TFazuin,
        What you really want?
        You are afraid your corrupt gov will fall forever in ge13 R??
        HAHAHAH

• gigganet on May 17, 2011 at 2:10 am

if a govt can protect a policy like the current AP system + high car taxes + high tolls, do you really think they will be concerned about your cost of living? Actually, more worrying is that rising costs will also increase the cost of doing business. Some businesses can pass to consumers. Others that can’t, coz they have to keep prices competitive, will cut cost. Usually HR is the highest cost. so, don’t put too high hopes for your increment anytime soon. just be prepared coz i think the worst has yet to come… it won’t be fun especially for those with a huge car loan…

• At moments like this, I often recalled the tune ‘ Que Sera Sera’. The lyrics may be child’s stuff but its meanings sure isn’t. The government will increase, the rakyat may moan and groan but life goes on. It has been for years. Over here, Shell V-Power goes for $1.55/L and dollar to dollar way cheaper than when I was back in Malaysia.

• alldisc on May 17, 2011 at 10:58 am

and the lyric goes ” Whatever will be, will be….The future not ours to see, Que Sera Sera”

• droll on May 17, 2011 at 7:09 am

we can argue all we want. govt will still raise prices. what can we do as consumers to protect ourselves?

• rather have high priced petrol than high priced hospital bills…

• awat petrol mau ikut market price tapi kereta tak boleh ikut market price???

• deftones on May 17, 2011 at 6:24 pm

bcos of our proton and peroduas..

in europe, their 50k can already get a nice BMW 5 series..
      but here, sadly we can only get myvi/persona/..and wow, 80k for sport neo..must be better than M3

• tokanolines on May 17, 2011 at 8:45 am

totally agree with you..traffic congestion is getting worse everyday even on weekend..and furthermore, i noticed that there are a lot of foreign cars compared to local cars on the road now..this was different about 5 years ago..

• tarik balik subsidi untuk program permata datin rosmah yg berjumlah 1 billion. apa gunanya ajar student tak sampai 20 org tapi rakyat jelata kt kampung sana tak mampu ke sekolah, makan tak cukup. kalo minyak naik lagi ape nasib mereka?

• OilSucker on May 17, 2011 at 9:52 am

Pls remove subsidies for all menter2, dato2, datin2, tan sri2, pn sri2, YB2..
    U all already kaya..no need subsidy…@#*&$**^$!!!!!!!

• Kambing Gurun on May 17, 2011 at 9:56 am

I’m sick of this kind of news already. The gov never listen to rakyat. What to do…

• hz-comment on May 17, 2011 at 11:31 am

Before commenting others as bumbling fools and don’t know arithmetic, better do calculation yourself first. Since you just came back from US, you should know that how much gas(petrol) price costs there right now. For the state of California its average US$4.19 per gallon (Regular Gas) which translates to RM3.32 per litre. Premium Gas cost RM3.48 per litre. So even our RON 97 at RM2.90 is still subsidised and not fully floated.

• rexis on May 17, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Which translates into USD 1.08~1.14 per litre, remember, people don’t get paid by Ringgit in USA.

• owika on May 17, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Bro. Don’t convert the price to RM. Must compare like this

Salary
      US : USD3000
      M’sia :RM3000

BMW 3-series
      US: USD30k
      M’sia: RM250k

Petrol
      US: USD1.13 (better than RON95)
      M’sia: RM 1.90 (RON95)

Road Tax
      US: No tax
      M’sia : depand on car class

Driving licence
      US: USD15 for 10 years
      M’sia: RM1000 at my time

Highway tolls
      US: No toll (highways 6 lane)
      M’sia: anywhere have toll for highways (3 lane)

Parking
      US: only in big city
      M’sia: everywhere need to pay for parking except tanah datuk kite

Ipad2
      US: USD499
      M’sia: RM1499

and much more if want to compare
      open your eye please who is paying more?

P.S: I’m also stay at US for many month

• Taxinvaderiscriminal on May 18, 2011 at 8:06 am

How about GST at America starting Rate 10-20%
        Personal tax rate??? just 3 month in US u not entitle to personal tax….please refer to IRS AMerica website…..tax rate overthere achieve 30%.and more..lucky Malaysia 26%
        unemployment tax????
        etc tax????
        How about population???300million ….
        US government revenue??? already almost 5-6 trilion ma..Malaysia just 0.25trillion…
        Political system????liberal democracy …”kira perut sendiri org lain lantak”
        education and mentality of citizen???

US got VETO…to control the other countries…so their oil still cheap…
        conquers iRAQ…Afghanistan..n now LIBYA….US using millitary ensure oil prices cheap….for they home…
        that is amazed by some Malaysia people….how stupid !!!!…

America is more “suck’ than our G….killing innocent people..ABU Gharib n much more IRAQ LIBYA,IRAN,Mexico…n much more…..

malaysia just use ballot box ::::hahaha…funny..use army to stabilise oil price…..

Please la ….dont use USA as comparison…that SUCK….and S***

Life is complex…

• kamaltgmalim on May 17, 2011 at 11:33 am

What to do when the LRT system costs billions
    and tenders are already awarded to crony and class F contractors !!
    What we are looking here is a broader perspective on the impact of
    higher fuel costs …like price increase to our goods and services and
    the implimentation of GST looks forecoming too.
    Be prepared to brace for inflation while our govt promises of
    higher salaries is just a sandiwara even Govt initiative to
    cut administrative costs like the 1 Msia email is drawing flak
    from the public.
    By the way oil prices have dropped to $97 so why the need to
    resort to such desperate measures !!

• time and time I have to say this again and again…
    If you don’t want to subsidise our petrol.. it’s fine with us. But please abolish the import duty and tax to make our car price more competitive OK? All the protectionism of Proton/Perodua has to stop definitely.
    When they cannot afford to sustain the subsidy, they’ll ask charismatic leaders such as Muhyiddin or Idris Jala (of PEMANDU) to scare us with reasons like “our country will go bankrupt if we keep on the subsidies”… grow up and wake up fellow Malaysians!!!
    We are paying the tax upfront which go into the deep pockets of those in Barang Naik!

• Maddy on May 17, 2011 at 11:50 am

They always talking about increase of oil price… but when the global price decrease.. it’s difficult for them to announce… This is what i can say Rakyat always didahulukan when price increase..

• I wonder why the government talks about market price/ world price when our automobile industry is regulated so highly that it only benefits proton/perodua/their staff/cronies, while the remaining citizens pay the price. Well almost all who came from poor/middle class background will feel the pinch when we have to buy a car at crazy prices and end up paying arnd 30-40% of our pay on installment, maintenance, fuel, etc. Its not like we have other choice here. Public transport is hopeless in many areas and the good ones have limited accessibility.
    Let cars be at market price, THEN let fuel be at market price. Let the automotive industry work based on demand/supply, not by controlling it artificially. Then let people choose economical cars. The biggest problem in this country (or even most other countries) is such regulations, which totally destroy the supply/demand balance in the market. Well the intention initially was good, but now we know how it turn out to be. Just look at the cars all those AP kings drive! Its not like they work hard for it, most of them are lucky to have born in certain families/or have certain connections. They justify that by saying some race sentiment, but think about it, how many bumi’s gain from such policy?
    In the end of the day, ITS ALL ABOUT MONEY. This is the typical example of the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer, as long they are in the loop, they’l gain, and they will use all sorts of justification for it.
    Well for myself, this is what I want (I believe this applies to most youth out there, except for the ones with rich family): I work in the klang valley, and my work/house distance is around 25km. Public transport is not an option coz its not available. Still using a lousy old car coz dun want commit myself to crazy long term loans. Sometimes it takes around 1 hour of travelling one way to work! Of course i have other option, to stay close to work place (but I choose to stay wit family, well thats the whole point of living right?).
    NOW: I can choose to follow the crowd: buy a proton/perodua/toyota/ and by following the 30% rule, my pay allows me to comfortably pay around rm 700/month on installment of a new car for 9 years. This would mean that with toll & fuel included, the average monthly committment would be around rm1000 plus. Thanks to the lousy system!
    Lets say if things were ideal and we had smart leaders, the car/bike price would still be reasonable and myself I’d prefer to get a nice bike to travel to work (i.e the newly launched cbr250r which sells for around rm20k here). The same bike costs around rm10k in thailand if i’m not mistaken, imagine how much i can save a month with the same price here! I calculated it to be around RM600-RM700 per month of extra saving! if lets say arnd 10% of people out there choose to follow my steps of getting a nice and safe bike, this would have TREMENDOUS impact to the jams in klang valley as less cars will be on the road, leading to less jams.
    Well the saved money definately can be used for other better purposes such as leisure (traveling around malaysia – riding), entertainment (movie, food, etc) and sports (go-cart, paintball, etc), which eventually means better liquidity in the market (more u spend, the healthier the economy of a country is, as it provides positive cash flows is all sectors). However now all those cash flow is funneled into one direction – the banks, selected automobile companies, and the cronies. They gain, we loose.
    Anyhow this is just my opinion, lets just hope things change for the better. Feel free to criticize guys. cheers!

• makeitmine on May 17, 2011 at 12:10 pm

It’s about time for government to build/licensed low-cost supercharged diesel engines for the world. The profits from this venture can then be used to finance the oil subsidy.

• bot a butthurt TnH on May 17, 2011 at 1:39 pm

and yet, there are still bunch of morons vote for BN….

• blackjkx on May 17, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Goverment servants…corruption ALL THE WAY! Work time, all they know, update facebook…

• keje_gomen on May 17, 2011 at 4:02 pm

200% agree with what gun say!!!

• Gov should reduce subsidies on petrol to let all Menteri jalan2 to UK, Qatar bla…bla…bla…

• Paul Tan for Prime Minister on May 17, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Dont worrried this is just sandiwara….they will announce later that there will be NO price increase demi the rakyat.

Election is in June 2011 !

• Anonymous on May 17, 2011 at 4:46 pm

Dear all Commenters here……… LETS VOTE OUT BN. Thats all what we can do in the Next General ERECTION. Let BN Cronies can’t erect anymore.

• owika on May 17, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Salary

BMW 3-series
    US: USD30k
    M’sia: RM250k

Petrol
    US: USD1.13 (better than RON95)
    M’sia: RM 1.90 (RON95)

Road Tax
    US: No tax
    M’sia : depand on car class

Driving licence
    US: USD15 for 10 years
    M’sia: RM1000 at my time

Highway tolls
    US: No toll (highways 6 lane)
    M’sia: anywhere have toll for highways (3 lane)

Parking
    M’sia: everywhere need to pay for parking except tanah datuk kite

Ipad2
    US: USD499
    M’sia: RM1499

and much more if want to compare
    open your eye please who is paying more?

• bongek on May 17, 2011 at 9:06 pm

so if MYR value at same level with AUD and SGD ,,can BMW,Petrol price and Ipad2 value getting better for malaysian?

• macha ray on May 17, 2011 at 9:41 pm

owika…
      mind to tell us their income tax structure?
      mention the whole thing lah

• hz-comment on May 17, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Bro, lets discuss this further. By discussing more we can learn together as well.

Salary
      US take home after tax: USD2100
      M’sia after EPF and tax: RM2550
      I may not be expert but, others can do proper detailed breakdown here.

Medicare:
      US: My friend’s wife dislocated her foot during hiking, insurance bill amounted to USD1million. If no insurance have to pay equivalent to 476 months of salary. Insurance costs a lot to pay for family members.
      Msia: RM200 at government hospital. Less than 1 month of salary. If needed can buy insurance cheaply for private hospitals.

BMW 3-series:
      I agree with you, we are paying too much for cars here. Waiting for 2015 AP abolish to happen.

Petrol
      Yes you are right if to compare dollar to ringgit worth of petrol. However, we must be realistic to the petrol world price for RON 97. It supposed to be floating, right? My argument is that our government is still subsiding it.

Road Tax & Driving licence
      No argument with you here.

Highway tolls
      US: Got toll entering few big cities in US (eg. Chicago). Some toll highway are alternative and no pressure using it.
      M’sia: Correction, almost everywhere in KL or connecting cities big highways. I hate the fact that we don’t have much choice avoiding toll here. But we can avoid toll going between cities by the trunk roads.

Parking
      M’sia: Only big cities here as well. I dont see parking charges at my hometown in Rantau, Negeri Sembilan. Unless everywhere you have been is in the city, not everywhere is charged.

Ipad2
      Bro, Apple had to manufacture iPad2 in china to bring the price down to USD499. If they were manufacture in US, it would cost USD1140. You are arguing currency exchange, if you were expecting it to be RM499, then please wait until USD1 is RM1.

• What Mr. Owika tries to explain is “cost of living” (or COLA). It is measured in terms of percentage; the most common is “Income versus Expenses”. This is the most basic knowledge known to any working class citizens. Unfortunately in Malaysia, surprisingly, most people doesn’t know what it is for. This explains why Government can easily deceived the “rakyat” with its normal “poli-tricking” whenever there’s a Tax increase or Subsidy reduction.

The Bank uses the term “Exposure Rate” especially when calculating loan affordability (when you’re applying loans).

Meanwhile, the Economist uses the term “Inflation Rate” when assessing the country’s economic health. This also brings us to another famous term, “Purchasing Power”.

All of the above are almost similar and related to each other.

But, to put it in a simple laymen point of view, I would prefer the term “Exposure Rate” and “Purchasing Power”. Because it clearly explains things which going on worldwide.

Malaysians “Purchasing Power” is among the lowest in the world. For a developing nation, champion (jaguh kampung) of this and that, this is very embarrassing.

For example; A fresh graduate engineer in Australia will have a starting salary average of AUS 3000 to AUS 4500. Meanwhile a fresh graduate engineer in Malaysia will have a starting average salary of RM 1500 to RM 2000. Some people will convert this salaries directly to RM which is wrong. We are comparing “Cost of Living” and NOT the amount of the salary. Even then, engineer’s salary has never been revised since the 1980’s.

Majority Malaysians will pay off 33% to 50% of their income for car monthly installment alone for a typical 9-years loan. This means the exposure rate for this unlucky “rakyat” has been reduced; say to 50%. With this 50% he/she has to pay his/her house rent, utility bills, tax (if taxable), tolls, basic necessities, food/drinks and etc. This assumption is for a single guy/girl. Imagine this kind of salary for a married man with children? It’s disastrous.

This is why majority Malaysians uses Credit Card and Personal Loan to make ends meet. But this is always not a good idea.

In Australia, although they have higher tax, but it is balanced with cheaper cars (and cheap fuel efficient cars). But in Malaysia, we have what I described as “Triple Tax Effect”. We have small salary, we have very expensive Tin Milo car industry and we have a Government which likes to Tax its “rakyat” to smitherens. Not to forget, the Banking sectors are also “very hostile” to the people working in the Private Sector. Charging them with very high interest rate for services or loans.

The rest are self-explanatory. Unless you’re a RICH guy or NOT working.

My explanation is based on regular “makan gaji rakyat” Malaysia from the Private Sector. Bear in mind, majority Malaysians work in the Private Sector.

• bagus bagus…MAJU KEBELAKANG!…ubah gaya hidup KE BELAKANG!

• Speed Racer on May 17, 2011 at 7:21 pm

suddenly a move to japan doesn’t sound so taxing for me

• aminlife on May 17, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Hmm….. im not sure if every Malaysian agree or not. Since Oil price going increase soon, why not decrease TOLL rate accordingly. E.g oil price hike RM0.20 then Every Toll rate reduce at least RM0.20- RM0.50 ? :P

• kelvin on May 17, 2011 at 9:41 pm

You are day dreaming.

• samyyd on May 17, 2011 at 10:55 pm

i dont think this fair…..hike in petrol will affect almost all malaysian while discount in toll only affect malaysian that use toll. less than 50% malaysian go through toll everyday.

• Rduce car price instead.

• Bob Vettel on May 18, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Then it’s unfair because it only affects Malaysians who changes cars frequently.

• kelvin on May 17, 2011 at 9:40 pm

To be honest, I feel like slapping najis and din face.

• janes on May 17, 2011 at 10:27 pm

SUBSIDY?
    1. seriously what is subsidies? How GOV subsidy us? Do they need to pay a single RM to subsidy us?

2. Do items actually have price guide to be followed by all nation? Any item that priced below International market value is called SUBSIDY?

If really do…. But still….. Do our GOV will lost RM for not following the ‘international price’?

People Wake Up, Our GOV have no right to use the term SUBSIDY to TIPU RAKYAT!

CHANGE OUR GOV!!

• “Ismail Sabri said that although he had previously stated that petrol prices would not go up at the moment, that did not guarantee petrol prices would stay the same forever, because the government was already burdened with subsidies for petroleum products.”
      from The Star Online

Then.. What’s the point saying the price will stay the same? Cant keep his words. LOL
      memang TIPU RAKYAT.

• AnakMalaysia on May 17, 2011 at 10:44 pm

This government are :-
    Weak because failed to manage the economy of this country.

c/measure :-
    Change this weak government and give chance to another to make a different /correction.

When :-
    This incoming elections.

• While you rakyat is grappling with every Barang Naik,
    your First Lady goes on a shopping spree in NY !!

• Henry on May 18, 2011 at 12:48 pm

There are so many areas from which they can save money, but getting it from the Rakyat is the easiest.

We should tell this Gomen we ain’t suckers no more.

• stephen on May 19, 2011 at 8:08 pm

yes we have to adapt…then we need some cheap source of energy…. like nuclear…ya ya lets build it next to DPM house to have the best security/guarantee that it won’t fail….so at least we have cheap electricity.

• All Menteri & kroni2….. also those who drive 2.5cc above should be put on special lane at petrol station that fuel prize with no subsidies…. They afford to pay mey….. Also Najib’s car must fill fuel at double prize of no subsidies fuel….. that’s great idea huh….