RON 95 petrol pricing to be reviewed soon

RON 95 petrol pricing to be reviewed soonThe price of RON 95 petrol, along with the pricing of all other petroleum products, will be reviewed in June, according to Domestic Trade, Cooperative and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob. He told reporters yesterday that the finance ministry and Pemandu (Performance Management & Delivery Unit) would be among those which would determine if the prices should be maintained or increased.

Ismail Sabri added that according to Pemandu’s subsidy rationalisation plan, there would be a revision every six months for subsidies on all products, saying that diesel, LPG and RON95 prices were revised last December and therefore a revision was now due.

“This means that a mid-year revision will be carried out this month or early June. I can’t say what will happen, but the revision will take place and the government’s subsidy burden is high,” he told reporters, who posed the question about the status of RON 95 pricing following the increase of RON 97 recently to RM2.90.

He said that although he had previously stated that petrol prices would not go up at the moment, that wasn’t a guarantee that petrol prices would stay the same forever, since the government was already burdened with subsidies for petroleum products.

“Last year, the government’s subsidy for petroleum products was RM8bil when world fuel prices shot up, and we don’t see signs that it will drop. If this continues, the government will bear RM18bil in subsidies this year, an increase of RM10bil,” he stated, adding that if subsidies were reduced, the RM10bil could be used to build more schools, housing projects, educational aid and village roads.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hantu on May 18, 2011 at 12:16 am

Lets continue our disatisfactions to gov!

• look on the brighside…… maybe we need to travel less after this and and budget our finances…..drive more slowly as to save more fuel….. maybe we need to kongsi kereta to travel to office or change to motorcycles… and maybe less trafic jams as less people travel….

• lkf0512 on May 18, 2011 at 10:32 am

Forgive me but I really do not see the bright side here…

Car –> Motorcycle –> Bicycle…suggesting that we go back to stone age???
        This only shows how pathetic we (the Rakyat) are.
        And it shows how powerless we are even though we are in a democratic country.

The only bright side that I can think of here is to change side!
        I am done and tired of being screwed.
        I do not know what the other side can do and their capability (maybe some hints from Penang) but I know nothing will be changed if we do not demand for changes!

• autojohndoe on May 18, 2011 at 5:07 pm

ppl in japan = stone age?

there are lots of ppl use bicycle there…

• Wisdom on May 18, 2011 at 7:42 pm

U guys really need to chill out…

The word ‘price will be reviewed’ is like ‘increase 50 cents’..

Everybody complaint, ranting, bashing, marching, getting banners ready, packing bags, what not…

While the truth is still unknown….

• Civic_RS on May 19, 2011 at 10:05 am

Wisdom. You are right, but it is obvious you don’t know why they announce this thing earlier.

1st, G the one who want us to complaint, ranting, marching and screaming because this thing will give benefit to them. They want us to think that they will increase it by 30-50 cent, but actually they will increase about 5-10 cent. But, they will keep increasing this thing up to 3-4 months. I agree with G that the overall oil crude price is going upward, but that if u compare it with June 2010 = USD75+/-, currently i think 95+/-. But that is normal price. G know, price will drop kaw2 again after the price go to it peak.

Announce this thing earlier is not to rakyat, but to BSKL and to Ringgit. This is important, not us – rakyat.

• zhongbie on May 18, 2011 at 8:15 pm

hope that you not going to drive a car in front of me , instead of riding a bicycle^^

• 4g13p on May 18, 2011 at 8:51 pm

ride bicycle in malaysia in hot weather?hehehe…

• Have you ever set foot on Nihon (Japan)?

I’ve been there, Tokyo and Osaka.

Japan public facilities is 100 years ahead of us. Bullet trains, MRTs, punctual Bus schedule and etc. 70% Japanese uses Public Transport.

They have proper “shade” to park the bicycles, good road conditions, proper road reserve for motorcycle and bicycle. Above all, their car drivers/motorcyclist are mostly discipline and less aggressive if compared to us. It’s safe to ride over there.

But in big cities like Tokyo, most of the time people will use the Public Transport to go to work or move around. Bicycle usage is more seen at the suburb area or less dense area. But still the temperate weather over there allows riders to ride bicycle with ease (and less sweaty). But nobody would ride bicycle during winter (or during hot summer). I would love to see our patriotic Malaysians; aka Mr. autojohndoe to commute between his house and office on a bicycle on a daily basis in a typical Malaysian hot high humidity weather..

Your comment Mr. autojohndoe, really reminds me of our PakLah’s legendary quote; “Ubah Gaya Hidup, Naik Basikal” (this advice came from PakLah when our fuel price increased by 78 cents to RM2.78./litre).

• hantu on May 19, 2011 at 11:24 am

Mr. autojohndoe is just regular UMNO supporter that why he always support gov for his good sake same as KZM, MoFaz.

• Unforgiven on May 18, 2011 at 12:34 pm

The RM10bil could be used to build more schools, housing projects, educational aid and village roads. Is it for real or those bocor one? bocor=corruption?

• how many new school hospital do they build every year?

why must they take the money away, and plan to use it some other place?

what logic is this? can we say, lets stop all subsidy because we can use it to pay for more army, police, doctor, nurse…

hey, do you have any income? why not stop the corruption first? why wanna take away our cake?

• artworkz on May 18, 2011 at 2:05 pm

10 bil can do 1malaysia email. wakakaka

• dont forget ..previously they’ve said to use for enhance public transport ..!

• May be too many maybe…………………May be we can CHANGE our Gov.

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 18, 2011 at 6:54 pm

As i said change to monarchy system..price will stabilise…that is advantages to state…Power focus to one hand…I dont think PR can do…becoz there are 1million government servant need to mobilise…to reform Mlaysia……..and i like to tell u most the g servant supporting BN…that is reality….

Life is complex

• hantu on May 18, 2011 at 10:15 pm

How to change democracy to monarchy?
            Do you have any idea?

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 19, 2011 at 8:10 am

I got idea… very easy pass “batton” to Agong and surrender all power …
            that all…….that is our belove KING…

Our KING handle the country,,,,and State also…

So so easy but no more paultan tan website after this…hahah…

Life is complex

• hantu on May 19, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Exactly same as Brunei right?
            Sultanate as top leader in the country.

But to implemented that is so tough because the constitution need to reenacted and need 2/3 majority in the parliament.

• Wake up bro.. Then what is petronas doing? We are a petrol producing country, if anything, we should be making even more money out of it!!

We are ranked 27 in production of petrol, Countries ranked 28-30 are selling their Ron 97 to their citizens at RM1!!!!!

And here we are bloodsucking our own at RM2.90!!!

The policy has to change, citizens first not politicians!!

Majulah negaraku dengan rakyatnye mengayuh basikal!!

• Wisdom on May 19, 2011 at 10:20 am

Ranked 27 and your’re proud huh? So we are oil producer and should get cheap fuel?Your argument is why Egypt ranked 28 can sell their fuel at RM1 rite?

My argument, why:

Canada, producer no 6 sell ron95 @ RM3.90 per liter
          Brazil, no 9, their citizen buy fuel @ RM4.60/ liter
          Norway 13th most oil but sells @ RM7.80 every liter
          UK ranked 19th @ RM6.60
          India 23rd selling to their rakyat RM4.80/l

Go on and compare everything if u want. At the end of the day, the price will still increase and what u can do is change yourself and prepare to face a new world….

• leosckl on May 18, 2011 at 8:15 am

What does it mean “subsidize”? Your operating cost is RM10, market price is RM100. You sell to me at RM50. You tell everyone you subsidize me RM50!!! No!!! I would say you earn RM40 from me, instead!!!

Come on, give G a dictionary!

Furthermore, if petrol price is high, then car price should be low. Dun always tell me our petrol price is cheaper compared to other countries! Compare our car price as well!! Pls use car price relative to petrol price for more fair comparison! Send G back to school again!

• Ronaldo on May 18, 2011 at 10:22 am

People in the oil & gas industry shld know that the cost to extract a barrel of crude oil is about USD20 only. While the market price of crude is around USD100. In other words they are having 400% profit margin !!. Imagine the amount of profit Petronas is earning.Thats why they overpay their top executive salary and having exPm as advisor, sponsor F1 and spend unnessary money without public knowledge.

and yes u are right the govt dont fork out any money to subsidize the petrol, they just earn lesser thats all.

• Petronas men has got 1 YEAR Bonus.

• 4g13p on May 18, 2011 at 8:59 pm

no laaaa…petronas kena potong leher already…since hassan marican guit from petronas…who spent all those money?hehehe

• not only that…most of their salaries are averaging between 10-20k per month.

• Wisdom on May 18, 2011 at 9:53 am

Some people strive to change the government just for the sake of “i have to do something”…..

We didn’t notice that, with our attitude (yes, us malaysian), anybody u vote will end up the same. Or can be even worst. Are u corrupt yourself? Do you properly took care of your own responsibility. Are u sincere in your words (verbal or non-verbal;postings)? Are you sincere in giving equal treat to multi colors?

Sit down, relax, be positive, put your siding party aside, try to go through pros and cons of both side and reset your goal.

We are human. Once we’re in a comfort zone, we tend to challenge anything or anybody tried to take off some of that comfort.

Actually, the world at large has been more challenging place to live. And blaming the G is the easiest mumbles….

• papa(not)rich on May 18, 2011 at 10:28 am

Sit sown? relax? how frustration situation malaysian facing now day

• lkf0512 on May 18, 2011 at 10:48 am

Look at Penang…I want to see which one is faster???

Your income increase faster or the price hike/gov sucks blood faster???

• Bob Vettel on May 18, 2011 at 1:15 pm

If you want your income to increase why aren’t you doing anything about it? Why aren’t you going on strike to protest the rather ludicrous pay levels of Malaysian professionals while the fat cats upstairs, especially in the private sector gets fatter?

All anybody ever does is talk bull behind the computer, but what action have they taken? None.

• niuhje on May 18, 2011 at 11:28 am

C’mon Wisdom, r u telling us that it’s OK that the G cheat, swindle and be corrupt until they screw up our economy and our future? and we should just sit down, be positive and take it in the ass? Yeah, ur rite, the world is a challenging place to live, SO we don’t need the G to make it even MORE challenging for us!! I dunno bout you but i’m certainly NOT in a comfort zone, not one bit!! Time to unite and change brothers and sisters!! We can do it!!!!

• Wisdom on May 19, 2011 at 9:59 am

A Malaysian who have access to the internet consider him/herself never been in comfort? Not one bit? Who are u? A contract worker? A rubber tapper?

So i guess your comfort zone can only be the paradise.
          Pray hard will u….

• Wisdom on May 18, 2011 at 10:12 am

Before we comment further, lets study this.
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_and_diesel_usage_and_pricing

Read everything. Including those countries than being subsidize etc…

Current update is about right, our ron95 price is USD0.6 per liter.

Yes we can be calculative but for once, i beg u all to please, compare fuel prices between our neighboring countries. Thailand USD0.93 (about RM2.80), Vietnam RM3.09, Singapore RM3.90. Even China and India already exceed RM3 per liter (ron95).

Only Indonesia maintain the same level with us, about USD0.6 per liter. And Indonesia also listed as subsidized country, besides us and Mexico.

And no point mentioning gulf countries. That was why US is hunting them one after another……

• wisdom???

yayaya.. u really need it!!!!!

• artworkz on May 18, 2011 at 2:08 pm

stupid enuf use tis comparasion, why dun u compare car price with US ?

• klaka seram on May 18, 2011 at 6:32 pm

even though your nick is wisdom, but your posting doesn’t reflect one ;)

• Bijan Bin Bijirin on May 18, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Yeap. Our fuel price is still cheaper in this region. U must be Najib no doubt bout that.

• Wisdom on May 19, 2011 at 9:47 am

Yaaa…. a group of well fed child murmuring their future. Never been in hard time arent u guys?

Sitting behind laptop in the comfort of your home/office, have time to reply in blogs, quite fluent in english, u guys might be doing pretty well in life…

So what the fuss about fuel price increase few cents?

Then compare car prices. Wake up please. If you’re not willing to pay taxes for outside brand, dont buy. Did the G asked you to buy those cars?

A group of typical cheapskate person. Wanna look grand and drive big displacement imported cars and at the same time, wanna cheap fuel. Looks rich but cheap inside.

This is what happen when greedful override grateful……

Ya i know some of our minister were corrupt. But bear in mind most were not. And most of them looks wealthy why? Rakyat’s money?

When u become a public figure, u got the attention of everybody, people knows u and would like to do business with u, u become the negotiator or a cupid. U’ll be surprise how much a silent partner can make. While we, the lowlife citizen always question their wealth with hatred and envy, they were getting more prosperous and settles.

I thought u’re the group of person who last time saying that to move forward, all these subsidies must end. Now u’re acting addicted.

If u put yourself cheap and rude, you’ll be cheap and rude, ur country cheap, everything cheap.
          If your’re professional, mature, giving tips when its due, polite, sensible, and wise, people look will up and respects u, and u wont even bother with fuel price….

Wise man never die. And i’m not Najib.

• Civic_RS on May 19, 2011 at 10:11 am

Wisdom…wisdom..wallaweiiii..u are funny!

• dariesng on May 18, 2011 at 1:05 pm

yeah right save the 10 billion and spend it on things like 1Malaysia email and build nonsense 100 storey tower!

When oil price is higher few years ago the subsidy was lower…now the oil prices actually gone down (although still high)…how come the subsidy has gone so much higher?

• black king on May 24, 2011 at 9:27 am

1 malaysia email = investment by private company. no cent spent by govt.
        100 storey tower = owned and funded fully by PNB (coz that is their future towers)

do ur research before speculating. be smart :)

• just got news from my friend, RON95 will be increase by 30cents starting to night. wait and see..

• cidey on May 18, 2011 at 12:18 am

yeah….GOOD IDEA GOHMEN!!

• BeatTheTraffic on May 18, 2011 at 12:19 am

One more time I would like to pledge the government to increase the price of RON 95 at least to RM 2.5/litre. This will definitely promotes ENERGY conservation and a better environment. Also will encourage frugal lifestyle and ease KL traffic congestion !!

• funny.. la u …….. price will still go up but nothing will change… Malaysia ENERGY conservation? that is too much BS..

• This is not the right way to reduce or improve traffic congestion. Don’t be selfish

• BeatTheTraffic on May 18, 2011 at 9:57 am

I totally agree with PM Najib that fuel subsidy is like opium :

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/2011/05/17/fuel-subsidies-like-opium-to-be-cut-gradually/

LOOK WE HAVE A BUNCH OF DRUG ADDICTS OVER HERE !!

• If the people are drug addicts then the Govt is the drug peddler!

The Govt is the one that has been using subsidies to keep things cheap. As a result, wages have been stagnant for decades. You want to ‘liberalise’ fuel prices, first liberalise wages and prices for other goods!

• Bull Sh*t…
      The Ron97 should dropped to Rm2.55/L instead as to follow the US oil price!! Our Ron97 fuel only know how to rise macam US but never decrease macam US!

• LatukBandar on May 18, 2011 at 2:32 am

Before they increase the oil price, maybe they ought to provide a better public transport. I remember Najib said something about saving billions when he was DPM and these $ will be used to upgrade our public transport, that was 2008… almost 4 years liao.

• during the pak la time, the G already increase the petro price and claim that the saved subsidy will put on improving the public transportation..
        and now, any1 see any improvement on that???
        only his pocket will become full, after all……..

• Ibex7 on May 18, 2011 at 12:38 pm

person like najib only talks about bullshit! he talked about it to gain fame. no point in trusting him.

• jalan54 on May 18, 2011 at 2:51 am

lol… Do you even know what you are talking about? Are you a paid commenter from BN???

• you are really hopeless person

• and by what would u go to work with?
      public transport?3 jam baru sampai la wehhh

• blackjkx on May 18, 2011 at 8:13 am

Beatthetraffic or whatever,
      u always mention KL, KL, KL. Having very hard life and no girl friend eh?
      city full of crime and stress people.
      if u dont want congestion, stay away from any city, stay in Bakun instead.
      Anyway,i think this price revision is to feed corruption.

• Lempeng on May 18, 2011 at 9:13 am

So, according to your statement (also from the previous article), the traffic congestion will be reduced if G’ment increase the petrol price? HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA DEY MACHA DO YOU EVEN WENT TO SCHOOL????

Inilah contoh terbaik peribahasa Melayu “Bagai lembu ditarik hidung”. TAHNIAH lah ya saya ucapkan! XD

Now why not pledge the G’ment to even increase the price to RM5/L? I’m pretty sure traffic will be really smooth and by then u can happily cruising with ur Kelisa XD
      And don’t forget u have to pay double for everything because of the domino effect XD

• BeatTheTraffic on May 18, 2011 at 1:42 pm

That’s why I suggest we try. Let’s increase to RM 2.5 first. If still cannot work, increase lagi until it work !! RM 5 a bit too high la….

I find PM Najib is a solid leader because he just do whatever is RIGHT without fear and favour !!

• BeatTheBeatTheTraffic on May 19, 2011 at 1:31 am

Believe me. Increasing the price will not help reducing the problems.

Worst yet, orang kampung and orang susah yang akan lebih teraniaya. Malaysia does not consists of KL only ok (heck, even in KL got poor people).

• You must be using bicycle right???

• BestTheTraffic on May 18, 2011 at 1:38 pm

I suggest motorbike. Roadtax is only RM 2 per year. No need toll and parking !
        Dont behave like a gayboy…motorbike is just fine

• if more people using bikes on the road. our roads would become like in Bangkok or Manila, the traffic is just too scary, too many bikes=more accidents…aiyoooo

• Ronaldo on May 18, 2011 at 10:16 am

Stupid coconut head like u will think like that, are u working for the govt?
      Why not suggest increase medical expenses to 300% so that all ppl will take care their health and become less sick?

and also increase tax for cars to 500% so everyone will walk and bicycle to work.

moron !

• this is crazy.

• this is crazy..

• hahahahahah confirm naik……

• UMPORNO on May 18, 2011 at 12:35 am

Burdened???? Just make a simple explanation. Sell to Malaysian rm10. Sell for export rm20 caused of world price hike. Hence the balance rm10 is called subsidy by our gov. Why Brunei don’t bother this oil price hike?? Because they reserve certain amount of oil stock for rakyat on stagnant price whatever the oil price movement. Why BN gov didn’t explain on PETRONAS profit surge when oil price going up??? They pull back subsidy and then implement GST tax. Still no news on minimum salary scheme. Urban poor community will suffer and force to do anything in order to survive. MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

• daniel on May 18, 2011 at 12:43 am

why not use that RM10bil to raise salary for gov sector?
    schools, housing projects, educational aid and village roads already has their own fund i believe.

• WinterAngeLs on May 18, 2011 at 1:47 am

They can’t and they won’t because that RM10bil will need to be distributed among our Government CRONIES for their duit pocket and for them to purchase more Ferrari, Lambo or Porsche !

Rakyat Dideritakan, Keuntungan Diutamakan ! Malaysia Boleh !

• UMPORNO on May 18, 2011 at 11:40 am

Gov need subsidy saving to pay PLKN food suppliers etc. Rm6 billion annually allocated to this stupid project. Can gov explain the key performance index (KPI) for this stupid PLKN project???No more Mat rempit,illegal baby dumping,school bully,juvana criminal etc……. Idris Jala or someone???? Why Singapore or South Korea didn’t follow Malaysia in this Program Latihan Khidmat Negara??? Because they fully utilised their millitary forces in educating their young generation to protect their country at anytime!!!!!

• Only gomen servant deserve to have a good living mehh? ….and let those poor people and prive sector folk dying. How many percentage does the govt servant make up the whole population in malaysia?

• Ibex7 on May 18, 2011 at 12:44 pm

always talking about increase the Gov servant. korang semua mkn gaji buta la woii! org yg kerja swasta ssh nk dpt salary revision. i guess if i become a trader, i would ask my customer whether (s)he works for gov. if yes, aku mau jaul brg mhl skit sbb gaji dia byk dr org keje dgn swasta..haha…

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 18, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Hooo hooo….a…org keja swasta kena cucuk hidung jd BAR***
        je…tak caya lihatlah reality nya …..sembhayang pun tak bleh semua tak bleh…

G servant rezeki murah sebab diaorang bleh sembayang…berdoa rezeki diberkati swasta minta maaf la…Jumaat pun tak pegi ….

So pandai2 la…..hidup jgn pertikai rezeki org…….sbb ramai sedara aku G servant…tp bukan BN servant yooo…niat pun jahat padan la tak naik Gaji..hahaha

Life is complex…

• Ibex7 on May 19, 2011 at 12:23 am

not all private sector workers cant do their prayers. ada je yg xmau solat. the problem is, gov servant asyk mntk revision nk gaji. private plak mkn lama mkn ssh nk hdup sb gaji x naik2. kalo naik pun 5 thn skali je.private sector workers really work their arse to earn the salary while many if not majority of gov servant do job that’s easier than the private sectors worker. cukup jam kerja blh punch-out. swasta mana bleh bro…so, x adil la gov servant asyk mntk revision…

• Jarang aku dgr orang Swasta dilarang solat, rata-ratanya okay. Adapun kes mcm tu, amatlah jarang sekali.

Aku dah banyak kali pergi ke Agensi/Jabatan Kerajaan, bukan semua orang Government solat sgt pun, rata-rata gi Surau tidur. Bila ditanya, dia kater ambik Sunnah. Yerlah tu Sunnah, solat turbo charged 4 rakaat tak sampai 1 minit, Tidur boleh cecah 2 jam.

Cakap tak serupa bikin.

The only reason “rezeki naik gaji” senantiasa melimpah ruah bagi pihak government kerana pihak Swasta dicukai kow-kow nyer. Kerajaan Didahulukan, Rakyat Diketepikan.

Aku rasa ko telah tersalah anggap dgn rakyat yg kerja keras kat Swasta dgn orang malas kat Government kot. Hehe.

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 19, 2011 at 8:25 am

Hei bro…u think private company pay tax…yg betul ke…..sorry cakap la semua tu tipu…nak tau lebih lanjut…tanya la accountan yg buat akaun…
            tu semua dah diplan baik punya….TERBAIK..bila pekerja kata tarak untung tahun2…

So korang ni sebenar ditipu bulat2 oleh majikan korang..tak pecaya korang pegi tegok rumah pengarah korang kata ta tak untung tpi…semua masuk poket diaorang….la …

aiya…nak tnya org swasta ada tak majikan swasta…bg korang tengok PENYATA KEWANGAN SYARIKAT ……ada ke..so kena tipu yang korang yang kena published BALANCE DSCORE CARD je…konon2 prestasi pirahhh…aku dulupun keja swasta jugak tp buat akaun la….kecian…

Penyata KEWANGAN LAH YG WAJIB DILIHAT …oleh pekerja ..so korang sendiri bleh baca semua dah pandai…situ lah yg tentukan korang punya bonus kawan2….gaji naik ke tak..Ada tengok…..so kena tipu bulat2 atas kebodohan diri sendiri..kan….

So kerajaan umum perolehan dia perbelanjaan dia…..bagaimana majikan tuan-tuan ..???

So yg swasta kalu dapat sembahyg tu baguis la alhamdullilah…..So yg malas tu dia yg tuhan yg rajin ko tak kira plak….manusia ..buruk je ko ingat baik ko tak nampak….

LIFE is Complex

• Herminem on May 22, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Hey bro penyata kewangan syarikat senang jer nak mintak tgk dari syarikat..Pastu kalo dapat pon igt diorg senang2 nk dengar u nyer complain silap2 hilang terus kerja..swasta biler2 pon boleh kena tendang nak2 yg kerja kontrak basis for gomen diorg secure even yg blacklist pon xder hal nk buat loan ok jer so memang disadvantage bagi yg kerja swasta dah la xder pencen harap EPF jer itu pon 80% akan abis dalam masa 2 tahun pertama selepas pengeluaran lepas too pisang termenung jer jd kenaikan harga minyak memang akan menekan rakyat terutama yg kerja swasta dalam kategori miskin bandar

apa2 pon masa utk berubah xkira arr utk pemimpin ker kerajaan ke atau pon diri sendiri

• naik jangan tak naik…………………nak turunkan taxes kereta berkira nak mampus…harga minyak ikut pasaran dunia, harga kereta ikut harga malaysia………….

• fthis on May 18, 2011 at 12:55 am

With the prices of crude down to $95. There should be a downward revision of prices of RON97 as well. I’m really interested in the formula the gov uses for calculation. Although it is likely they just pull a number from out of their asses.

• jalan54 on May 18, 2011 at 2:54 am

What they were saying is only to bullshit those people who are not educated.

• better still, since the rules of only malaysian car can fill up ron95, just put all ron97 fuel in the station. just discriminate malaysian and non-malaysia, but quality of fuel is the same 97 so all we have is equal, and as malaysian, we can enjoy ron97 at the old ron95 price. why not?

• Janes on May 18, 2011 at 1:05 am

SUBSIDY?
    1. seriously what is subsidies? How GOV subsidy us? Do they need to pay a single RM to subsidy us?

2. Do items actually have price guide to be followed by all nation? Any item that priced below International market value is called SUBSIDY?

If really do…. But still….. Do our GOV will lost RM for not following the ‘international price’?

People Wake Up, Our GOV have no right to use the term SUBSIDY to TIPU RAKYAT!

CHANGE OUR GOV!!

• Janes on May 18, 2011 at 1:52 am

“Ismail Sabri said that although he had previously stated that petrol prices would not go up at the moment, that did not guarantee petrol prices would stay the same forever, because the government was already burdened with subsidies for petroleum products.”
      from The Star Online

Then.. What’s the point saying the price will stay the same? Cant keep his words. LOL
      memang TIPU RAKYAT.

• Bob Vettel on May 18, 2011 at 1:24 pm

From Wikipedia:

A subsidy (also known as a subvention) is a form of financial assistance paid to a business or economic sector. Most subsidies are made by the government to producers or distributors in an industry to prevent the decline of that industry (e.g., as a result of continuous unprofitable operations) or an increase in the prices of its products.

So to answer question 1 – yes they need to pay to subsidize us. Eg. Shell want to sell their fuel here, but they pay market price for the crude to be refined. They certainly don’t want to make loss by selling the fuel below market rate so they go to the higher ups and say “Hey, you want to give cheaper fuel to the mangkukayuns down there, you have to pay me the difference!”. That is subsidy.

• whatever2 on May 18, 2011 at 1:18 am

Actually the government is revising their pocket whether how much they can cash in.

An increase in subsidy of $10bllion. Or indirectly, an increase in government pocket money $10billion.

I’m confused. =(

• master syariz on May 18, 2011 at 1:18 am

Kalau tak kikis duit rakyat…..dengan siapa lagi. Tahun lepas ramai yang tak boleh renew roadtax sebab ada saman ekor. So…..sesiapa yang berkenaan tu terpaksalah bayar. Tp mana semua duit tu pergi? Tahun ni cakap hapuskan saman ekor. Habistu….orang yang dah bayar tu camner?

• All increase except salary. That what gohment called “negara berpendapatan tinggi (NBPT) “! Rakyat must pay everything to govement to realised that negara berpendapatan tinggi. We taught NBPT Rayat lagi sinang, balang mulah! oposite lor! Rakyat dahulukan for everything!

• ricky on May 18, 2011 at 1:24 am

10 billion to build schools??……damn funny la tis gohmen bastards……..sure alredi plan whose pocket wanna masuk tat 10billion…..

• johndol on May 18, 2011 at 12:08 pm

their cronies will built the school, definitely will go to their pocket also meh. 10B saved on subsidy used to subsidise their fat stomach la.

• Ibex7 on May 18, 2011 at 12:50 pm

those who r the ministers r the bastards! they can do maths since bastards dont hv birth cert therefore cant go to school..muahaha…f*ck gov! menyusahkan rakyat.

• fuel cell phone on May 19, 2011 at 8:04 am

10 billion to fund the next general election, sounds very ‘g’ to me, no?

• savings of 10b for schools, housing projects, educational aid and village roads? Haha…..sure or not?

• ilovenaik on May 18, 2011 at 1:29 am

ron97 went up quietly, but ron95 price increase still talking review, what the hell the politicians doing? spreading this hopeless news and diverting focus from other high tension controversial issues, i.e. the christian issue?

• MengQ on May 18, 2011 at 1:47 am

“Hah! GOTCHA!!” said the gov.

Sapu Malaysia; pencapaian pocket aku diutamakan, duit rakyat didahulukan.

Wahahahaha! Now I wanna see who will say “if you can’t afford ron95, then you pump water lah!”

LoL!!( *??´)

• letstorque on May 18, 2011 at 1:57 am

it’s ok if they want to increase the fuel price, but makesure its float accordingly with the world price.BUT, to lessen burden those lower income, Gov must:

1-Car under 2.0l reduce tax 50%
    2- car under 1.6l and motorcycle under 750cc no tax at all,no sales tax,no duty
    3-no roadtax for car under 1.6l and motorcycle under 750cc
    4-improve the way welfare department operate,sack/cold storage those lousy staff
    5-instead of targeting to increase percapita income, why don’t target to reduce poverty,while at the same time, redefine term poverty, especially in urban area
    6-heavily subsidice public transportation,even rural area, which include train for rural Kelantan and Pahang,water transport and flight for Sabah and Sarawak.

• If current gov consistent with UP trend, perhaps opposition can offer DOWN trend. Every problem has solution. All of us, the voters has the power to choose, PANGKAH wisely next time in the next election to save your pocket.

• briggs on May 18, 2011 at 2:08 am

now the world crude oil is at $95.99 and they still wanna raise the price of Ron95…. ?

• RM10bil could be used to build more schools, housing projects, educational aid and village roads. I hope they really mean so !!

• Money on May 18, 2011 at 2:18 am

I am now living in Taiwan…. Petrol price in Taiwan (a non-oil producing country) is going down, but petrol price in Malaysia is going up…

A new Toyota Camry 2.0E here in Taiwan is only RM 80k, but a same Toyota Camry 2.0E in Malaysia is RM 145k… Yaya.. Subsidizing… We are subsidizing the government RM 65k when we purchase a Toyota Camry…

Nissan Teana 2.0 in Taiwan is RM 84.9k but in Malaysia is RM 141k, again, we are subsidizing…

Honda Accord 2.4 VTi in Taiwan is RM 97.9k but in Malaysia is RM 172.8k, yes, we are subsidizing…

Merc-Benz C200 in Taiwan is RM 205k but in Malaysia is RM 265.9k…

Even the Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8 in Taiwan is only RM 64.9k but our own Proton Inspira 1.8 is selling at RM 85k. Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 in Taiwan is RM 77.9k with full accessories, sport edition, sunroof… etc.. but our Proton Inspira 2.0 with very minimum accessories compare to Taiwan’s edition is selling at RM 92k…

Yes… SUBSIDY… We subsidy you kut…?

Aiyo… Faster GE la.. I have never been so anticipating for a GE la… Faster faster… I will surely go out and vote….

• I-am-ROOT on May 18, 2011 at 11:00 am

Is there anything that’s unfairly taxed or subsidised at all in Taiwan? Anything at all?

• Money on May 18, 2011 at 12:05 pm

At least their people have rights to voice out their concern openly, demonstrate peacefully, no ISA and free and STRONG MEDIA in this country…

• anonymous on May 18, 2011 at 2:32 pm

stupid politicians get punched in parliament too….try doing that here

• money on May 19, 2011 at 12:44 am

Ya.. Their politicians fighting in the parliament… But who cares? At least they are fighting for their people…

You think our parliament don’t flight? I think you forgotten the Perak’s case…

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 18, 2011 at 7:04 pm

But China try to takeover Taiwan n …environmnt is so hot……

Waiting ….missile attack…under China threat ………..

Taiwan Car also most expensive…..could pass the website which u refering friend…..???

Life is Complex……

• money on May 19, 2011 at 12:42 am

Taiwan car most expensive? I think you are treating NT 10 = RM 10 kut? You need to divide by 10 to convert to RM… NT 10 = RM 1.

Or you don’t understand Chinese? Their websites are all written in Traditional Chinese characters. Or maybe when you heard of 1 Million NT Dollar you think it is expensive? 1 Million NT Dollar is equivalent to only RM 100k.

Website? Just go to the official homepage! I am here in Taiwan now and I am participating in the marketing contest for Lexus Taiwan! I know exactly what is their price!

If you insist on going to the website, here are a few for your reference:
            Honda Taiwan : www.honda-taiwan.com.tw
            Toyota: www.toyota.com.tw
            Mitsubishi: www.5230.com.tw
            Lexus: www.lexus.com.tw
            Nissan: www.nissan.com.tw

You can also simply google any brand and find their homepage.
            Check it yourself!

• Carl Wong on May 18, 2011 at 2:36 am

Increase your tyre pressures slightly higher compared to the suggested ones, it will help to save a significant amount of fuel instantly, and reduce tyre wear too which prolong tyre life, but still in a safe range. For example I adjust the tyres to 35 Psi when the suggested value is 31 Psi, if you use only 31 Psi in this case the fuel consumption rate and tyre wear increases as the pressure drops below that value.

• jalan54 on May 18, 2011 at 3:03 am

This comment is for those people who believe raising the price of RON97 will actually only affect those rich.

First of all, when the price of RON97 goes up, most of the people will go to pump RON95, so this causes the sales for RON97 decrease, and sales for RON95 goes up. So, when the sales for RON95 goes up, meaning the G has to subsidize more for RON95 due to the sales volume of RON95 increase.

So what will the G do next? Increase the price of RON95 to reduce the increase of the subsidies due to the increase of sales volume of RON95.

Who tells you luxury car must use RON97??? The G!!! Don’t you guys know that nowadays BMW, Merc, Audi, VW and so on have already map their vehicles to RON95 petrol???

• jalan54 on May 18, 2011 at 3:10 am

“if subsidies were reduced, the RM10bil could be used to build more schools, housing projects, educational aid and village roads.”

1. Build more schools…
    Please, you guys don’t even have a proper education system, build more schools for what? Focus more on the education system first lar…

2. Housing projects…
    Those projects that build somewhere in Kampung???

3. Educational Aid…
    Same thing, find someone to help improve the education system first!!!

4. Village Road…
    You guys never even come over to maintain the roads in most of the places for more than 5 years (or maybe 10 years). Now you talk about village road??? I’ll see how you gonna do that.

Please stop bullshitting!!!

• khairul on May 18, 2011 at 7:34 am

hey, they forgot to mention to improve the public transportation… i do believe Ismail Sabri Yaakob forgot the most popular reason…. hahahaha…

• 4G63T DSM on May 18, 2011 at 8:19 am

Precisely what I was going to post last night.

While building schools, subsidized housing projects and aids are noble deeds, but I cannot brush off the feeling the government is using money saved from subsidies to buy votes again. Besides, funding for those have already been allocated in the annual budget.

Solve the traffic, and public transportation issues around the country and you’d no doubt also save subsidies as fuel consumption is reduced. With car taxes (both governmental and AP-Tax) so high, now many middle income household can just go out and buy a more fuel efficient car. Your proton campros are not the most efficient engines running around town

• kelvin on May 18, 2011 at 11:31 am

They want the money for election, because they will only do all this thing during election.

• Hujan on May 18, 2011 at 3:10 am

“the RM10bil could be used to build more schools, housing projects, educational aid and village roads.”

jangan tipu. rakyat bukan bodoh macam dulu.

First no electricity, now Klang’s SJK (C) Chung Hua facing dry taps
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/5/10/nation/8651659&sec=nation

• blackbox on May 18, 2011 at 4:24 am

Transparency!!
    They said they will use the money for some other development during previous price hike, can they show us what they have did with the money they saved previously? People please bring BN down.

• Ha Gnih on May 18, 2011 at 6:50 am

why don’t they, alongside, the reviews on petrol prices, review the salaries of the menteris and also the deputies ? Are they thinking that they are not overpaid ? Are the citizens to sacrifice their own welfare just to make sure the ministers won’t die of hunger ? Seriously, leave the petrol prices alone and start cutting down on increasing the salaries of menteris, especially those useless and unproductive. Too many of them in our country already. Menyemak aje…

• Unknown on May 18, 2011 at 7:21 am

Actually why G need to subsidy? I thought our country export high quality petroleum and import low quality petroleum?

• the simple thing is control the car on the road.. rich ppl is getting big juice machine for petrol but the amount of petrol still sub by government. that is the problem.

it is hard to compare to other country where they have less car. i can say malaysia is one of the country where 1 family will own more than 2 car.

an affortable family will have 1 car for 1 pax (husband and wife, 3 kids = 5 car)

rich ppl might have more than 1 merz and 1 exotic car at home.

rich ppl who have 10k income have to pay extra tax to sub the fuel so they will know the pain. muahahaha~!

• 4G63T DSM on May 18, 2011 at 8:43 am

and why is this so? well because Bolehland’s public transportation system has been well ignored so people will buy more cars (ie. Proton).

How to control car population when you have not given viable alternatives to people?Your statement is just as irresponsible as the utter rubbish coming out of our dear minister’s craphole lately.

Rich people that buy an expensive car already get taxed.

Easy thing is to just switch the road tax to CO2 output based, so it will favour more efficient cars. But we all know how that turns out though…unless Proton manages to make something more efficient, we know that ain’t happenin’.

Besides, it doesn’t matter if I have 10 cars. I can only drive one car at a time.

• Ha Gnih on May 18, 2011 at 10:28 am

But you can’t actually put it that way. We buy bigger, and better gas guzzlers and we pay a hefty road tax. Amounting close to 10K a year. Isn’t that close to fair already ?

• kelvin on May 18, 2011 at 11:36 am

Rich don’t feel the pain, don’t envy the rich, you might one day be one.

• Mr. PM, is this raising consider “Rakyat Didahulukan”?
    In newspaper, saw this statement “Government cannot control for price hiking”.
    If government cannot control, who else?
    Who implement all these subsidized, and now reduce it or remove it?
    Who revise the price and announce it go up and NEVER down?
    Rakyat or Government?
    1 Malaysia – Rakyat Didahulukan will never fulfill
    1 Malaysia – Government Pencapaian Diutamakan is always gain more money from the Rakyat
    GST somemore coming….
    Poor us….

• RamuNik on May 18, 2011 at 1:26 pm

1M, ur words make my imagination flies… Its like a General PM is heading a batalion of Malaysian into a fuel price war against the world. Suddenly the General feels that the enemy batalion is very hard to beat, so he step aside & let the rakyat mati kena bunuh in the battlefield.

Guess that is the best explabation for the “Govt cannot control the price hike”

What to do? makan roti lor…

• RamuNik, roti price also going up soon after 31 May, as the general transportation that using Diesel is going up.

2nd half of this year will be suffering for all of us. Many raw material price will be going up as well.

Roti pun mahal lor…..

When GST is implemented, possible a roti pun kena tax!!!

• littlefire on May 18, 2011 at 8:01 am

I still cant figure out why the amout of subsidize keep doubling up? Since Ron97 already floated right?!? Where all the subsidize money went?!?

• VoidDance on May 18, 2011 at 8:02 am

If you guy read some new portal, there are news about how BN bleeds almost half a billion RM during Sarawak election and now they are trying to regain more funds for up and coming GE13. Coincidence? By the way, oil price is on downward trend. Do they think we are blind?

• Civic_RS on May 18, 2011 at 8:06 am

“Last year, the government’s subsidy for petroleum products was RM8bil when world fuel prices shot up, and we don’t see signs that it will drop. – Dato I S,

Wat?????c’mon, we all know the oil price will drop soon or later. Don’t make another joke as pak lah do last time when he shoot up petrol price to RM2.70 per litre. A month later the price go down drastically but nothing change. U can lower back the petrol price, but u’re not control other commodity prduct. Malaysia only cover Gula, Gandum, Minyak Masak, and few other item. but that bring nothing to rakyat.

U SAVE 10 billion to cover back your KAPAL SELAM price. Its obvious!

• objectivism on May 18, 2011 at 11:25 pm

do they subsidize roti gardenia? if they decide to stop subsidizing both fuel and roti gardenia, how am i going to live? kapal selam itu tak boleh masuk air pun, beli buat aper.

• Crooked on May 18, 2011 at 8:10 am

Please have some external parties to audit our G, they been saying save this $$$ to do others but I don’t see any but missing $$$!.

What is wrong with these ppl, during Tun M time we don’t see such things but now all I hear is “we cut this to develop that” but is there any?????.

the petrol price will only go up and never come down even when the price of crude is down!

I am very suprise, there are suppose to be a sum of 80M budgetted for something ended up left 40M and the other 40M……vaporised! This is call save this to do that! Sorry…lah Mr. G…your story is not convincing enough….non of these political parties can make Malaysia proud….all are money suckers! save 10Bil…yah it goes to another fellow pockets!

• OMG…will increase price for RON 95…Enough is enough,let show our rakyat power during next election.

• MyCarMyLife on May 18, 2011 at 8:19 am

What is Rm10 billion compared to what was squandered,? what was pilfered?, what was plundered? and most importantly what’s going to siphoned out in the future ?
    The rakyat will prevail !

• The writing is on the wall. Since last year, have predicted that by 2011 the price of RON95 will be at least RM2.00/L. It is inevitable as the government is running out of funds no matter how much the crude oil price is at the commodity market. The RM is losing its value and thus the purchasing power. Over here the price of RON95 is $1.45/L and Shell V-Power which is RON98 is about $1.50/L. If comparison dollar to dollar, it is way cheaper and no wonder people prefers their big V8s. Base Camry is 2.4L and the mid and upper specs are equipped with 3.5L V6. Same goes for Honda Accord too!

• MouMouRen on May 18, 2011 at 8:25 am

Ubah itu gaya hiudp, ubah!! Increse and keep increase. How Malaysia gonna enjoy what GOV called “Negara berpendapatan tinggi”. Huhuh, everthing is enpensive. For West Malaysia are consider stable. How about East Malaysia??? Life style at EAST Malaysia getting worst. Goods and services are more expensive then West Malaysia. We East Malaysia still need roads to travel. Public transporation at EAST Malasyai are very bad and bad u know. Regarding Village Road ever worst. Those GOV still don care on Village Road untill the next election come say: “Satu lagi project dari GN” Hahah, Funny. So, just wait n see on the end of MONTH. If fuel increase, wht to do. Use BASIKAL to kerjalah.

• x-vios on May 18, 2011 at 8:35 am

Look like election isn’t coming soon… haha…

Or they naik first, then come election time, they turun and say that they care for the people… hehe

• Increase RON97 is not merely to tax foreigners when they refuel BUT also as an academic and reasoning to justify hike of RON95. Or in simpler world, how come we still pay the same when RON97 already higher than Paklah time, RM2.90?

2. Since many of Malaysians using kepala lutut to think, they never question the authority we, Malaysians loan money upfront to pay TAX, massively if based on over 605,000 cars sold last year alone. Where the money went? Inefficient, IPPs subsidy that we must abolished first. The businesses still relax BUT poor and stupid rakyat were pressed with many increment. We pay cheaper for our gasoline/diesel BUT we’re among the highest price car of the world.

In Singapore they can use efficient public transport. In Thailand, locally assemble cars cheap though CBU cars dearer than Malaysia. In Malaysia even P2 not cheap.

3. Government rely on car tax to get their revenue (so they must promote private ownership of cars) BUT in the same time, increase the fuel price will hampered promotion of private ownership. Stop buying, huh? Killing will stop.

• NONICKNAME on May 18, 2011 at 8:39 am

It is time to review monthly expenses!

• mid-income earner on May 18, 2011 at 10:00 am

yes, review it again, and again, and again, and again, and again, and again…..

• eimsperfume on May 18, 2011 at 8:40 am

the G dont want to support us – more obvious now

• fariz on May 18, 2011 at 8:53 am

less purchasing power to the people….assholes!

• Shaycoat on May 18, 2011 at 8:57 am

They will keep saying that our petrol is still the cheapest among ASEAN. At the moment, G only think how to help Tricube Bhd from bankrupt. The thing is to take from the subsidy. The subsidised oil price will be then channeled to implementation of 1Malaysia mail which will be done by Tricube (indirectly owned by ???). Balik2 poket depa jugak!

• Shaycoat on May 18, 2011 at 9:56 am

The G should know the trend in Msia when oil price is hiked. Bile minyak naik…barang semua naik..(that is for sure!)..tapi bila minyak turun..harga barang turun tak? So minister sir, please think wisely when u want to hike the price.

I think , it is better for G to stay on the current oil price. If the oil hiked, it will surely burden the rakyat, though G saving money. However, eventually, G will suffer more, since the overburdened rakyat will ask for salary increment.

• openeye on May 18, 2011 at 9:00 am

despite increase petrol, BN still win in pilihanraya.
    sigh….when Malaysian will realize BN is the key to life misery

• 4G63T DSM on May 18, 2011 at 9:37 am

as soon as the kampung folks get re-educated. Difficult preposition. Kampung folk lead simple lives and easily bought with little promises and gifts.

Seriously I am wondering if anyone in a developed city/town besides Putrajaya votes for BN dispite all that gerrymandering.
      My guess is someone from east malaysia would finally see some development money from this “savings”. Given that they have been the King makers last GE.

• I-am-ROOT on May 18, 2011 at 11:12 am

True dat! I reckon that the current 20-30 year olds from kampungs are well informed via prime and alternative media and are capable of making informed decisions as well as influencing their parents.. But we’ll see..

• This time G will standby pos undi bayk2..as they dah boleh predict rakyat marah n learned from previos 2008 mistake..haha

• deftones on May 18, 2011 at 9:00 am

when they say the price gonna be review..
    then, its a hike…its not going to be reduction..
    i understand the G very well..and expect to hike very high bcos this notice is actually a warning to rakyat..

• lchan on May 18, 2011 at 9:16 am

i notice a majortity of malaysian are so farking short-sighted. All they know how to do and put the hand out and hope the government will give them something. You just assume the government is able to subsidies fuel till the day your drop dead. If that is the case, hell you better drop dead now cause that aint happen.

This is the same with the general public meadical health system. You are farking paying peanuts and you complain when you are not getting good service. Your medical system may suck, but that is because you pay next to nothing.

Stop your farking whinging. BN or not BN, it wont make a difference. Accept it and work around it. My farking goodness…whinging bunch of kids!

• jalan54 on May 18, 2011 at 1:51 pm

never try never know. We should have such mentality else nothing will be changed. If you are a business man you should know this, never try never know.

As what I see, you are also a whinging kid, else you wouldn’t put such comment here.

• Kumar san on May 18, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Agreed jalan54.You got it spot on.Cheers.

• lchan on May 19, 2011 at 9:09 am

i’m whinging because a majority of my countryman are so freaking short-sighted. So..really..i’m whining about people like you too!

And this “You never try you never know?” ….so you intend to gamble on something eventhough you know the risk are higher and the chances of failure is greater? Now, thats a shitty businessman!

• jalan54 on May 20, 2011 at 2:11 pm

How do you even know the risk is higher??? Because you have food to eat, you have cars, you have somewhere to stay even though is like shit so you think that they is no risk at all for not changing the fucking G???

Risk is even higher now with bunch of selfish people in the G, never even bother how is the life of all the people here in Malaysia but only their wallet.

So what is the risk that we are going to take just to change the government???
          Also what do you mean by short sighted??? Please elaborate, no one will be able to understand you with the “short sighted”…

In life, everything can be a gamble, but it depends on how you manage the risk. What is there to lose if the opposition take over the current government??? Look at Selangor, look at Penang, they are doing so well and the state is beginning to have profit. What did BN do after all these years??? Member is BN is getting richer and richer but the country is getting poorer and poorer and now we are talking about the future of our country and it may also be facing bankruptcy, so, do you say that this is a government that you want and it is a government without risks???

Also, spending in the department of prime minister alone is fucking high without a good productivity, why the hell they don’t want to cut off the spending instead of cutting the subsidy??? Why do they buy the fucking submarine??? They spend money in areas that they shouldn’t spend, and you are telling me that for the opposition to take over have more risks??? I really have no idea what are you thinking in your mind!!!

• Money used to build more schools, housing projects, educational aid and village roads.

sure anot???

• alldisc on May 18, 2011 at 9:19 am

the govt feels the burden of giving out subsidy, and it just gets apparent that they dont actually have money

• Henry on May 18, 2011 at 4:32 pm

They talk like their problem is subsidy, but the reality is they fritter all that @#$% money away on useless and overpriced things.

Now they want more. Of all the methods, squeezing the Rakyat is the easiest.

• mid-income earner on May 18, 2011 at 9:46 am

I just check the world crude oil prices.. for Brent USD97.42 and for WTI USD97.67… and the RON97 here in Malaysia is still RM2.90… where is the floating thing?

• 97.83 (U.S. dollars per US beer barrel) = 2.5364594 Malaysian ringgits per litre

• Oilyman on May 18, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Refine crude oil FOC eh?

• pissed on May 18, 2011 at 10:34 pm

all brands have the same cost? why does govt still need to standardize ron97 price if real float? some kind of protectionism?

• alpha999 on May 18, 2011 at 9:49 am

this is unbelievably insane!!!!!!!

how much poorer u want the rakyat to be ????

• LE buruk on May 18, 2011 at 9:56 am

permata rosmah puaka punya kerja la nih…….nak ganti balik duit p shopping di u.s,dubai and london la nih….

• gtmaniac on May 18, 2011 at 10:00 am

It’s a good time to review.

Citizens have been pampered too much already all this while with subsidy, that they assumed RON95 will be RM1.90 forever.

• mid-income earner on May 18, 2011 at 1:29 pm

ok.. but review the salary scheme as well.. is the govt assumed that the salary Malaysian got 10 years before is good forever?… And is the govt assumed that the tax imposed on cars and vehicle is good forever?

• kaisers on May 18, 2011 at 1:58 pm

well gtmaniac citizens also has been burdened too much on the high car prices and bad transportation, are you saying while oil price can go up the car prices also should remain forever?? one up the other one should be down la, baru fair

btw do you even have a brain?

peace bro…

• gtmaniac on May 18, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Kaisers – getting personal, aren’t you?

NOTHING will go down – car price or petrol price. I’ve lived in one Asia country for years, where the petrol price is almost RM5 per litre in 2010. Instead of screaming, the citizens stop buying petrol vehicles altogether. They went to other alternatives.

I’ve expected this will happened one day. So plan early, since you have brain.

• edward on May 18, 2011 at 10:05 am

review wat la review…. better still they set both 95 n 97 to step-up price better.. once oil price rises to a certain price, our ron will increase by a fixed percentage…. totally make no sense….

they benchmark the petrol to WTI crude when it rises above 100 mark.. now as per today 10.03 am.. WTI crude is 97 per barrel… tapi cannot afford the subsidy.. why? coz now bent crude is now 110… so meaning the benchmark is whichever is higher lol

those jokers really think that we dont know how to read the internet……

• MatrixLYN on May 18, 2011 at 10:06 am

Everytime oil price increase, only talk crap about increased subsidies. What about all the premium high quality oil we export? Doesn’t that means MORE profit and revenues?? But only wanna talk increased subsidies on the imported LOW GRADE oil for the rakyat???

• kelvin on May 18, 2011 at 11:48 am

Money is in UMNO putra pockets.

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 18, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Not all …UMNO………….PR also sweeping a some portion…
        that is democracy…accept the difference…….

Abolish political party is the key answers n back to monarch system…….No more price hikes…………

Life is Complex

• Kumar san on May 18, 2011 at 10:08 am

Oh,the price of RON95 might be “reviewed” it seems.Kiss my brown ass.People,this is too much bullshit coming from a bunch of govt backwater retards.

For the record,we produce crude,we have the highest price of pump gas compared to the rest of similar volume oil producing nations.The rest don’t do it,and then,on top of it all,we were always compared to our Asean neighbours who don’t produce a squat drop of crude.

We never had the need to subsidize anything-If the Govt knew how to manage thier funds and get their brains aligned back,not sapu here,sapu there,50M for an email,1B for some Program Permata,submarines la,10b for schools la..this la..that la..ada saja tipu helah dia.

We are supposed to follow “market rates” right?My ass they do,when the price of crude dropped below USD100/barrel.Where was the price reduction??RON 97 remained at RM2.90.

Lying through their teeth and now,through their each and every assholes quite literally.This is where the bullshit we have been hearing of late has been emanating from..

Then can’t even run our beloved country properly and on top of that give us all kinds of excuses,reasons and not forgetting,super spastic type of lies.

Please people for Malaysia’s sake,don’t just complain here and then when it comes to voting time,you people don’t do it.DO IT.It’s your right,the power is in our hands.

It’s time for a real drastic change,enough of their spastic lies and backwater retarded moves.Change em’ schmucks for good.Yes,the opposition ain’t perfect but at least they have a stellar group of leaders who actually deliver what they promise,with the exception for select few.

I rest my case guys.Cheers.

• The major issue is the amount of wastage generated by our government agencies through corruption and improper practices. Many government projects still pay kickbacks or commissions to those who approved them. If we do away with those kinds of practices we will be able to save billions of ringgit in “subsidies” paid to those who support the government! The minor issue is wastage from the rakyat themselves. Many still sit in their vehicles running the engine and aircon while waiting for their loved ones in nearby premises. It is as if their petrol is dirt cheap! The moral of the story is if we do away with this double wastage, we will do away with the yearly deficit our government have to bear.

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 18, 2011 at 7:16 pm

I dont think so smugglers n private businessman …also…took part…reality man…
      t
      Kick back not received by G but the person…..dont blame organisation blame person…

Focus to micro…KICKBACK PAID BY OUTSIDER TO INSIDER….to got contract
      ….
      Other,
      LIKE TEOH BENG HOCK ISSUES Is suppose leaking to G revenue….appointed so many person…waste so many time…to established commisioner….

Life is complex…

• Peter Griffin on May 18, 2011 at 10:12 am

F*ck new schools, affordable housing, rural roads, educational projects, f*ck free 1M Clinic & free healthcare at government hospitals, f*ck tax relief for broadband, medical insurance, educational books, computers, etc, f*ck subsidized sugar price, f*ck free school for kids, f*ck subsidized petrol, f*ck Proton & Perodua for bringing misery to all this nation, f*ck all government servants for their high paying jobs, f*ck other states because only KL deserves all the attention and the budget, f*ck everything gov’t give & subsidize to us because they are useless dumb f*ck.

U know who is so brilliant, clever, and godly holy savior of M’sia? He’s Anwar.

Us Malaysians want to live FREE! We don’t want to have the burden of paying taxes! Malaysia should be the heaven for TAX FREE citizens! We love living large with our cars, spending on luxury items, eating at expensive food outlets, FBing & surfing on our iphones & BB, eventhough we only have enough income to live by. If we’re short on money, we’ll just scam others through MLM and other “projects”. We love the easy life! Don’t take our love for easy life from us BN! Yeah… f*ck BN.

• Siall laaa, sure harga barang naik kaw2 punye lepas ni. Sekarang pon harga dah mengarut… Janji better infrastructure? Jalan raya pon tak rata, belubang sana sini, merosakkan tayar dengan rim+suspension aku je.. dah satu hal nak maintain kereta, ni nak naik harga minyak plak… damn!!! pemimpin2 ni patut masuk sekolah rendah balik, ajar derang ni dekat mana letaknya otak & mcm mana nak pakai. Enough said.

• roslies on May 18, 2011 at 10:38 am

Do u know y G want to increase the oil price?? it is bcause the the subsidize is getting higher rite?? y is it getting higher?? bcause there is so many car on the road n still counting, y so many car?? cause the public transportation is the worst in the world, so who is to blame when rakyat use so many fuel for their car?? its the G rite… where all the car tax goes if not for this subsidize?? damn fool this G.. fix the public transportation 1st then u can talk bout the fuel subsidize

• McKay1 on May 18, 2011 at 10:38 am

actually..the mainstream media is another culprits for informing false news and covering up BN corruption agenda’s…they’ve been brainwashing the good old rakyat mind for too long now..
    “down with the Media Prima!!!…down with the RTM!!!!..down with the utusan,the star,sin chew, tamil neesan and others BN mainstream!!!…”
    make me wonder, how laa all those wartawan & pembaca berita sleep at night?..like a baby or pandy kutty???…

• BN=besok naik ( normally around midnight baru nak umum then 12.oo midnight da naik huuuuu)

• cakap sama kambing lagi bagus daa…..

• malayboleh on May 18, 2011 at 10:58 am

The extra 10 billion will go into the pocket minister. All this pig brain what can they do.

• Harga gula naik, harga susu baby naik, harg ayam dah 8 lebey sekilo..

apa cerita ni..?? korang tau dah berape ramai penjual nasi & kuih muih yg dah bungkus dalam kawasan wakaf baru tumpat kelate… ?
    dah ada yg stop berniaga, ada yg dah start pakai beras malaysia gred hancur, keratan ayam dah makin kecik..

HARGA MINYAK NAIK… yang mamposnya golongan MISKIN BANDAR & MISKIN KAMPONG… rich getting richer.. poor getting poorer..

i know whom to vote!! even if kerajaan make BIG U-TURN after this i won’t change my stance to someone who is tipu rakyat hidup2… FOOL G’s

• Lim Kopi on May 18, 2011 at 11:10 am

I like how Ismail Sabri is like pushing the claims to Pemandu and Finance Ministry …

make him look like the good guy …

So funny ….

• vemal on May 18, 2011 at 11:13 am

Again Support Barang Naik Gov to achieve 2020 Bankruptcy Year

• I-am-ROOT on May 18, 2011 at 11:19 am

Float fuel prices, reduce automotive taxes to developed country prices, transfer road tax charges to fuel companies
    . Folks, complain all you want, list all conspiracy theories you have, but always leave a suggestion before you leave.

• Money on May 18, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Not that we do not want to leave a suggestion. We can leave a thousands… But the problem is that we’d totally disappointed with our govt and it is hard to change this mindset. It’d been so long and countless time where our govt disappoint us. We leave thousands of suggestions (which is also our hopes), but none will be realized, then, what’s they point of leaving our suggestions? We are Gen-Yers, we are of different cohort and we have knowledge, we traveled around the world, we see with our eyes, we experienced ourselves… We have suggestions… But, how many will be realized? Breaking trust can be in seconds, but re-building it needs years…. Also, respect is by gain, not by force… If the govt use whatever kind of rule or law to force people to respect them, the end result will be of opposite of their original objective and this will be reflected in the GE…

• Abu Amir on May 18, 2011 at 11:51 am

BN = Barang Naik

The gov. always cheat our rakyat…………
    PRU13 bring BN down in undertaker………

Vote for change PR

• droll on May 18, 2011 at 11:56 am

guys, like i said before, we can bitch all we want. the government isn’t going to change anything in our favour anytime soon.

so what can we do to protect ourselves?
    1. vote for diff govt (but no guarantees the one we vote can win)
    2. change to a car that uses less fuel or a motorbike (not always possible – u think people print money ah??)
    3. use public transport (if you can la….this isn’t an option for most folks).
    4. live somewhere else where transportation charges and convenience is less of an issue (difficult – crazy property prices now. how to shift??)
    5. spend less on other things (sigh….)
    6. migrate (singapore?? not easy to do this as it means uprooting families, etc)
    7. accept the price increase (like we have a choice!!)

what else can we do? i’m looking for ideas.

• johndol on May 18, 2011 at 11:59 am

“Last year, the government’s subsidy for petroleum products was RM8bil when world fuel prices shot up, and we don’t see signs that it will drop.”

What kind of BS is this? Crude oil price in the world market has dropped, and yet they still bs’tting that the price will not drop? Hey datuk, be more appropriate in lying la!! I really wonder how did he become a minister. By the way, what happen to the 20B ++ tax that Petronas are paying? Into your guys pocket?

• Arashikage on May 18, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Road tax and insurance should be down too….

• ruganhaur on May 18, 2011 at 12:04 pm

due to bribery and for the sake of cronicsm and of course the G has to protect the companies, we, the rakyat have to pay more and more today.. don’t foolishly compare the price with other countries when their limits of bribery and corruption are still lower than us..and don’t ever mention about improving the rakyat life by squeezing the subsidy will help them later on..we, the rakyat still and will definetly keep aside from earning good way of life and properity and always been haunted by this matter. the G can brabbing about negara berpendapatan tinggi and of course la we la the rakyat has to pay for everything…

• _xXx_ on May 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm

konfem canai kosong RM2 sekeping bulan depan

mampos korang

• Maybe they doesn’t know there is a thing called THE INTERNET!

We are not living in the 70s or 80s era where there’s no INTERNET apart from the mainstream media and paper.

If they review RON95, might as well just SKYROCKET THE PRICE so everyone SUFFER! I can’t seems to understand (without taking in the facts of CORRUPTION) WHY OUR COUNTRY IS RICH IN RESOURCES BUT THEN MAJORITY OF THE RAKYAT IS SUFFERING?

• Edward on May 18, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Do u believe in which cat doesnt eat fish.. corruption is inevitable and it had been with us since when history become available.

But then nak makan pun kena tau lap mulut la… open mata besar besar cakap b***s****

need money very easy only.. just increase the AP to 50k a piece lor… and u see ur income coming in.. We are taxpayers.. we do pay our taxes.. we doesn’t take anything for granted

• R Eight on May 18, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Sometimes I’m also wondering about unpopularity action taken by government in tackling these issue until they are willing to accept punishment from that action.

Are they do not realize that adversary party will manipulate their action to further enliven ‘rakyat’ hatred towards present government ???.

Consequence of the their action of course would give a lot advantage for adversary party.

So issue that revolve in my thinking box – if adversary party ‘succeed’ to topple present government, do they will also capable of sustaining present status quo ???

Or otherwise maintain present status quo – which instead will burden the ‘rakyat’ with different matter which we’ll not know unless after they take over rule..

Who knows ???

Thumbs down ???

Ya – whatever …

• CiViC_7900 on May 18, 2011 at 1:28 pm

tts d attitude tt i have as well – whatever.
      we can bark all we want here – tp they won’t even gv a damn about us.

• Bob Vettel on May 18, 2011 at 1:29 pm

What the adversary party will be doing is simply to shift the burden to future rakyat – our sons and daughters.

So better hope you don’t live long enough see our children suffer because this generation want to live an easy life.

• R X Seven on May 18, 2011 at 2:29 pm

I’m supposing may be this is sound justification for – why our present government is willing to take drastic measures (suicidal act) to resolve – increase of oil prices…

APEC Speaks: how Asia-Pacific economies plan to address fossil-fuel subsidy reform

http://www.globalsubsidies.org/subsidy-watch/commentary/apec-speaks-how-asia-pacific-economies-plan-address-fossil-fuel-subsidy-ref

Subsidy Watch Issue – Global Subsidies Initiative

————————

Axe fossil fuel subsidies to stop climate change

http://www.newscientist.com/blogs/shortsharpscience/2010/11/axe-fossil-fuel-subsidies-to-s.html

• R X Seven on May 18, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Among fact that lodged by Dr Phyllis Yoshida (Lead Shepherd of the APEC Energy Working Group (EWG) and Deputy Assistant Secretary of the U.S. Department of Energy) when interviewed by Subsidy Watch..

What are APEC’s objectives in agreeing to phase-out and rationalize fossil-fuel subsidies?

Yoshida: Strictly speaking, the objective is for individual economies to rationalize and phase out fossil-fuel subsidies, and the benefits are more or less obvious in terms of energy security and addressing the challenge of global climate change. With regard to energy security, the region is a net importer of oil, even though we have some oil exporters such as Brunei and Malaysia. Subsidies for petroleum-based fuels encourage greater use of oil and thus a higher level of oil dependency, and so they affect energy security.

The environment has always been an issue we’ve looked at in the energy context. Subsidies for fossil-fuels, such as oil for transport or coal for power production, encourage the use of fuels and so increase the region’s carbon emissions. We hope that by reducing subsidies we give greater economic space to the clean-energy options we’re working on, be they biofuels from second-generation feedstocks, wind power, solar power, geothermal or carbon capture and storage.
        Overall, the Asia-Pacific region has been affected a little less by the financial crisis than some other parts of the world, and growth is still proceeding at a high pace, but it’s also true that budgetary problems have made people more aware of subsidies.

Some of the smaller countries have been spending a fairly large percentage of their GDP on fossil-fuel imports. When the international oil price was very high, the gap between the subsidized prices and the market price was certainly a problem for some governments’ budgets. And again, that opens up the more general issue of economic development, and perhaps being able to use subsidy spending better elsewhere.

• PakAbu on May 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm

In politics, there’s no such thing as absolute win. You win some, you loose some. You win some bigger parts if you’re willing to loose some other smaller parts. It’s all about maximising gain and minimising loss.

• kataksedih on May 18, 2011 at 12:29 pm

thats it!! thats the end of it… i am heading north kthxbai

• All I can say is we are in deep s**t………. this I am sure…

How are we so sure that BN will topple in this next election? Are we all going to make sure it happens? MACC or whatever they call it are not credible at all, no reports on findings or whatsoever…….

boring talking about this already.

• Car Driver on May 18, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Increase petrol price will have a contagion effect. All other food prices will increase and other services will increase in tandem…Already you can see laksa at hawkers stall already RM5.00 for a small bowl. Soon will be RM10.00 for a small bowl…
    Life will be getting harder and harder..

• ericten on May 18, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Stop complaining about the high ron97 price.. You are paying more for ron97 because you are paying less for ron95

• Who ask you to work in KL lah? If you work in Rawang (for example) and stay there, you can even ride a kapchai to work. You know how much you will spend for petrol? Save a lot compared to having a car. Better yet, work in Taiping (I’ve been there for business trips) and you not only get good air, good food, you spend less too!

And who ask you to drive those big cars? Drive la Proton or Perodua or a Naza la….nak tunjuk gaya? No need la. Proton with it’s IAFM and Campro works wonders on your wallet!

And stop eating fast foods, expensive restaurants like TGIF, Italiannes, Chilli’s la. Mamak pun ok. Maggi goreng with telur dadar. Same amount of energy and calories pe……

Yeah, and I support BN and all it’s work…

For those who don’t agree, find another country to stay in. Malaysia don’t want you anyway. You’re too degil to listen to us advising you that you are overspending.

Seriously? If you think i was for real with those comments up there, you are as smart as Idris Jala or Ibrahim Ali.

Congrats.

Yeah. Thumbs up!

• Estimosis on May 18, 2011 at 2:19 pm

You think you own the country so you chase out people who’s not agree with you? What are you? A BTN graduate?

• swift on May 18, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Why dont you tell that to your BN friends?

• hantu on May 18, 2011 at 2:56 pm

You’re totally ripped off!!!
      Im very ensured you will be appointed as Advisor to PM as soon as possible. Then, the Malaysia will prosperous under your advise.
      Welldone ya.
      haha.

• pity with you man!!!

• kelvin on May 18, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Please continue working at Rawang, driving your campro proton, eating Maggi goreng and vote for your favorite UMNO. We just don’t care!

Please do not simply call people to leave Malaysia. Who you think you are?

• dickybird on May 18, 2011 at 4:08 pm

you are so funny you should get a side show as a stand up comedian!

• Haha…another BN die hard fan…Good luck.

• Idiot that use ass to think. majority of us loan “to finance” tax to the Government.

• I see only dickybird sensed my sarcasm. Come on people, I was obviously poking fun at pro-BN and mindless crap the government officials are spewing out in the media. Lighten up, the general election is coming up you know. Use your voice there……

I hate cutting down on “subsidized fuel” just because the price went up. I’ve said it a couple of times in this site (and I am sure a lot of people share the same view) that when the price goes down, those BN people who drives Beemers and Mercs and Porches keep quiet. So how to justify “price review”?

When this crap started a few days ago, some government brainless drone asked the “rakyat” to review the lifestyle and adjust accordingly. Again, like I said a lot of times before, WHY DON’T YOU ADJUST YOUR LIFESTYLE FIRST!? G only know how to say adjust adjust adjust…and when we wanna “adjust” the government by putting more PR reps, they say you are racist la, you don’t like Malaysia la, you won’t get support la. Only government who intimidates their own people are communist governments and ruthless leaders. And I don’t see the diff between our G and those governments.

RON95 increase, sugar increase, soon everything also increase while we “rakyat” enjoy an annual average increment of 2.3%. Fantastic…don’t you just love the government and it’s “rakyat didahulukan” ideology? What about the high income nation ideology they’ve been spewing from their dirty li’l mouths? The only “high” income from this country are sex tapes…..’nuff said

So people, if you want to see change (and where the 100s of billions of ringgit down the drain due to subsidizing of IPPs and corruption), dig up more truths, read more, research more and tell your friends in the urban areas that it’s not worth RM10 for that “X” next to a BN candidate. …hopefully we will see a better future and not one with a government treating us like dogs (telling us when to eat, where to sit, and how to bark).

Thanks.

• Yeah right on May 18, 2011 at 7:56 pm

Sarcasm my arse…

Why you only interested to raise hatred atmosphere by publishing comments which you had scoop from shallow mind followers ??

Do you really think that an honest and visionary leadership in that party was extinct ??

Behave honestly – do not just know how to drub but you itself didn’t contribute anything in making situation become better when argue.

• Coming from a person who can’t string a proper sentence with the right grammar? Seriously?

Guess you haven’t been reading much….go read up on some English ok? Form 1 Bahasa Inggeris would be a good start.

If you can’t understand sarcasm, it’s fine. Your shallow mind can’t comprehend anyway. Support BN la, they promote people like you to the top of the society.

Thanks.

• Yeah right on May 18, 2011 at 10:14 pm

And now this subject have become grammar issues.

So teacher – if my grammar were bad, adakah my message has also failed to be accepted by you ???.

What most important was – ‘message’ that I try to present.. not that bla la blab la thing as reaction over my message .. What da hell –

—————–

“Are you sarcastic?” “Well no duh!”

(You’re welcome)

• I’m assuming that you are blatantly trolling because your comment seems to be coming from a 10-year old whose father (and indirectly, you) earned a lot of kickbacks from “subsidies”.

But, in case you are not; and you are actually serious about whatever it is that you spout above; in Malaysia; there exist people who are already living well below the examples you mentioned above.

People who already work in places much more far-flung than Taiping (Taiping is not exactly what I consider as “hulu”), living a mere 5 minutes walk from where they work.

Whose main transport already consists of old, worn EX5, or a basikal tua or “bas lompat”.

Who never even heard of TGIF or Italiannies or Chilis.

Whose survival will be majorly affected by price increases. Whose 50 sen difference feels like RM50, (similarly, RM1000 for me is pocket change for Tun Daim).

Do you think these people have the option to “find another country to stay in” ?

• Taxinvaderiscriminal.............. on May 18, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Yes Guatemala…
        hahah…

aiya…respect each other…reality is political system….so we support democracy so accept it….if not support change to monarchy system…just one person talk…no more people voices……

Life is complex….

• 4g63t dsm on May 18, 2011 at 2:34 pm

I really wonder why the government is hemorraging

a little guess might be some smart guy in the governement may have signed some petroleum futures that were too high way back in 2008, and then the price dropped back to normal levels.
    Of course nothing like this is ever transparent so we can only guess.

So what the price of petroleum is, we are still paying the higher futures price, while our high quality exports have dropped in price. So either they are trying to recover some of those “losses” or they are still stuck with long term futures. That would really suck!

I really wonder.

Its not like the price of RON95 did not go up previously, how did the government suddenly report even more subsidies?

• Time to change our lifestyle ppl ! Naik basikal pergi kerja ! Good for you and the environment ! Listen to the govt. change lifestyle, save the money so Petronas can make more money so it can give more contract to Dr. M and gang !

• pickup love me on May 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm

pls G, when u trying to change somethings. pls do other things to balance up.. like petrol price UP, car tax(import tax) will become lower.. so that, citizen know what is happening now. No just said that, can’t afford the huge billion bilion subsidy. or save the bilion RM for other field, but all the project is give to the contractor have a big stomach.. poor become more serious and rich become richer..
    pls la… why our car maker still protected under an G umbrella?????!!!!!!!!!!! untill when, we have to wait??? when we have free trade…?????

• antigov on May 18, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Terang2 HD our ‘rakyat’ forehead kena cop ‘DUMBASS’ by the goverment.

• Guys, our PM said the subsidies allocated are just like opium, the longer you enjoy it, the deeper you will get addicted with it.

Dear Mr. PM, if you think your statement as above is right, then I would say the same principle can be apply to the following:

” Corruption & Power Abuse were also like opium, but you continue to let it happen & the situation is getting worse now ” so can I say that you have get addicted with it just to ensure that you (or your evil BN Government) will continue to stay in power? If you are saying that this country is running out of fund to subsidize the fuel price anymore, then please answer these questions:

All the natural resources available here ( particularly petroleum & natural gas ) are the gift of god to this beloved country, so who it belongs to? the rulers, the ruling parties & its cronies, or the Rakyat……….. decades ago Petronas was set up responsible to manage oil & gas business for this country and till todate, hundred billions or perhaps thousand bilions of revenue obtained. So now where the money goes to ? Petronas (or the BN Government), you generate revenue by selling these resources belongs to the Rakyat & manage this revenue privately……..what a huge opium business it is.

Dear evil BN Government, this country is not belongs to you, it belongs to the Rakyat. If you are not capable to fulfill your responsibilities to run this country properly, step down and let other parties who are more capable to do so……

• kelvin on May 18, 2011 at 3:45 pm

How can he step down, opium is a huge market and lucrative business.

• Change G.. lets show who is real boss.. G should works for rakyat, not bullying the rakyat. We have the power to change, lets change and make a different.

• change G guarantee everything settled? fat chance dude..

• Change G , country gets worse and inflation gets higher. Look at most most countries that have cheap fuel for the rakyat. Not as develope as Malaysia and people are still not well off in terms of economy. Stop sitting behind computers 24hrs a day and stop playing jack of critics. Work hard and live with what you have. right on moc.

• vemal on May 18, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Support Barang Naik Gov to Achieve Wawasan Bankruptcy 2020

• kataksedih on May 18, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Review lan meh… increase means increase la sohai!!

• sadly high rank official doesn’t bother about paultan.org. or maybe don’t know..

• I’m not surprised if they don’t even know how to browse Teh Internet. They probably paid an obscene amount of gment money to some so-called “IT expert” just to teach them how to bloody open the browser.

Free emails are sooooooo early 90s.

• gigganet on May 18, 2011 at 3:50 pm

subsidy…actually why call it subsidy? and why it is made into such a negative word? If we look at the actual picture, the people are the ones who r subsidising the govt. subsidies are used to create balance and spur economic growth. all countries do it. the amount will be adjusted according to situations. when did govt spending for the people (health, education, power, infrastructure, etc.) turn into being called subsidy?

a good time to adjust subsidies are during economic boom, not recession. remember, the price of oil is not based on actual demand. it is based on trading prices fixed by speculation…

i also find the sentence “…to build more schools, housing projects, educational aid and village roads.” hilarious. translated it means “city folks will pay more coz they use more. the money will be used to build rural schools, roads..etc.” obviously, the statement is used to placate the rural folks… he failed to tell them that prices of food, water, electricity, essentials, etc will rise as well…

cheers.

• in 2007, the price of petrol was RM2.70/litre for a few months……so now if RON95 price increased to RM2.00/litre ok wat?…
    don’t expect to pay same price forever…everything goes up…inflation ma..

• afeef on May 18, 2011 at 4:54 pm

last time when ron97 increase to rm2.90 many readers argue about why putting high octane fuel into cars that can run on cheaper ron95.

now i wonder what would those reader have to say now :P

• Go Green on May 18, 2011 at 5:15 pm

For long term objective, go for green – environmentally friendly technologies – that is the best way to unravel polemic and handle all problems that is being or will hit us.

Lessen reliance on fossil fuel. This world we will inherit it to future generations. We should love it – not destroy it.

• nabill on May 18, 2011 at 5:17 pm

this is famous ploy in most 3rd world countries , before any elecetions , the G gives u the impression that they are reviewing most prices and scaring ppl , thn out of nowhere thy will say prices will remain or even be lowered , and usually the announcement will read sting like ‘bcos the G is a caring G , we will not be increasing prices any time soon’ thn ppl will be happy and go vote on that feel god factor….

its an old ploy…!

• RAKYAT DIUTAMAKAN?
    removing subsidy let the GOV earn more.. but they are not realy giving much to us. are they?
    giving subsidy the GOV dont loose single RM. but removing subsidy make RAKYAT LOOSE money!!
    INFLATION these day is high enough. If GOV is wise enough, inflation is well under control. BUT If the subsidization of Ron95 is removed.. The INFLATION in Malaysia may go crazy!!

• Carl Wong on May 18, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Sadly the rise is inevitable, but please keep it at a minimum.

• whynot on May 18, 2011 at 6:57 pm

why not those who support BN entitle for “Ron 95 increase” petrol price

where those don’t support BN entitle ‘current or even lower Ron 95’ petrol price

• Yeah right on May 18, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Yeah – agree.

Every something there is price should be paid – why not:

BN Supporter – entitled to use vehicle with lower tax tariffs.

While opposition supporter – should use vehicle with higher tax tariffs. (Because they’re using much cheaper fuel..)

Fair isn’t it ??

• greasemonkey on May 18, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Might be time to consider a more fuel efficient car. Any suggestion on which japanese car to buy?Thx.

• Carl Wong on May 18, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Honda Insight, a good quality CBU from Japan with no import tax absorbed by the government for this year. Very efficient. The new Honda Civic Hybrid might be coming near end of the year, which is even more efficient with a new lithium ion battery. Already released in the USA.

• Inderaloka on May 18, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Ini semua BN punya kerja!

• 4g13p on May 18, 2011 at 8:52 pm

terbaekkk!!!

• sadly,

Maybe our voice is heard, maybe not. If that the case, they choose to ignore it.

Who can save us?

• Vendeatt on May 18, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Yes you all can say all those craps you like to on the BN Gov. Because they are ruling and making the budget. But you all must know that Democracy is about numbers. Look at Singapore. PAP rules with an iron fist like their twin brother DAP. But still only few seats were won.

But have you all ever heard about the World Oil Price?

Even Barack Obama or Sarah Palin cannot make the oil price down. If PR sure the minyak urut can be subsides due to the high demand.

• Vendeatt on May 18, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Oh yes Pemandu is a bullshit form Idris Jaring @ Jala who advise the G to minimise the votes for the BN.

I suggest Toyota Prius @ Viva

• in putrajaya, i saw a G’s banner said, “don’t bite the hand that feeds you” . fudge, i’m gonna bite u.

• Carl Wong on May 18, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Quit smoking for those who haven’t, waste of money and bad for health not just for you but the ones around you too, causes air pollution and water/visual pollution when littered, and no benefit at all. You’ll be amazed by the amount of money saved when you quit smoking, you could even buy a brand new hybrid with the money.

• transformer on May 18, 2011 at 10:49 pm

i support removal of subsidies under condition below :

a) government must open up malaysian car market…. duty & tax free auto…. abolish NAP!! remove AP…. Lets rakyat own “real” cars….

b) transparency on where the “supposed subsidies” funds are use…. not someone pocket right ?

c) buyout all Toll Concessioneries, make malaysia a Zero Toll country….

d) PM said “Subsidies is like opium” but not forgetting “Corruption is like heroin”….

• jalan54 on May 19, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Don’t know whether you guys know this or maybe I’m a bit too late to get to know this. Our G has the profit of RM90 BILLION per year, where did all the profit goes???

Man RM90 BILLION!!! How much are they paying for the subsidy? If they can’t do it, Let the opposition do it, they should all just step down.

• tokmoh on May 19, 2011 at 6:20 pm

What profit?

Heard about balance of trade? The govt is in deficit, meaning they borrow more than they earn. I dunno how much, bt that’s what govt is talkin abt. If their deficit keeps growing, they’ll default their loan/bond ie become bankrupt. Like Greece.

• jalan54 on May 20, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Do you even know why is this happening??? We have petroleum, we have a lot of natural resources and yet our govt is facing such issue. It it because of the subsidy???

No!!! Its because they never know how to manage and WORST… CORRUPTION.

So, who to blame???

So, STOP WRITING SHIT HERE, YOU THIS BN PAID COMMENTER!!!

• RPKJ 11 on May 19, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Comment against Mr/Mrs Wisdom’s comment.
    We need to compare with countries tht r also produce oil. To compare with Indonesia (1 liter = +- USD 0.6 = +- RM 1.82) is acceptable snce I’sia also produce oil. (In context of RON 95). But to compare with Thailnd, Vietnm, S’pore, China & India, I dn’t so agree. As fr as I know these countries dn’t produce oil.
    Thailnd USD 0.93 = RM 2.82, 2.80
    Vietnm USD 1.02 = RM 3.09
    S’pore USD 1.29 = RM 3.90
    China, India More thn USD 0.99 = More thn RM 3

• Wisdom on May 19, 2011 at 11:52 pm

I hear u bro…

Here’s the ranking
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_oil_production

Here’s the price list
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_and_diesel_usage_and_pricing

Some countries above us in the ranking do sells cheaper but mostly either par, or even worst than us as per reply above:
      Canada, producer no 6 sell ron95 @ RM3.90 per liter
      Brazil, no 9, their citizen buy fuel @ RM4.60/ liter
      Norway 13th most oil but sells @ RM7.80 every liter
      UK ranked 19th @ RM6.60
      India 23rd selling to their rakyat RM4.80/l

Some will continue to argue that they are making more money than us. Is the citizen in India and Brazil making more money than us?

So bro, i guess u’re with me on this, the price is indeed on the uptrend forever.

I’m not supporting any government, I’m not being offensive, I’m not trying to scare u, but we need to brace for the future…..

• firefox on May 20, 2011 at 10:02 am

totally agreed, Malaysia petrol price should reduce or maintain, and to minimize the subside of government, it should get reduce from electrical, highway subsidy, etc..
      most important is to cut the cost and reduce the unnecessary project from government
      like 100mega towel and reduce the personal TAX, damm high for us on 28%

as per Wisdom comments, the country u listed, those country citizen can enjoy a lot of benefit from government, if Malaysia can do this, majority Malaysian agreed to paid on that petrol price, else we are just like SOGO brothers, “SXHAI”, paid for high tax, high petrol price and government use our money for unfair deal among the Malaysian,

• TakBolehTahan on May 20, 2011 at 9:01 pm

Filem yang dilakon oleh para wakil politik
    Untuk masyarakat yang
    Cinta kepada ketenteraman dan
    Keamanan masyarakat
    !
    Tiba masanya untuk mencari
    Hantu yang sering kacau dan menggangu
    Emosi masyarakat yang cintakan
    Malaysia, tanah air ku…
    !!!

• jalan54 on May 23, 2011 at 2:24 am

Dear Wisdom,

Have you ever thought of why do most of the people complaints? Of course cutting the subsidy for RON95 is 1 issue, but please imagine this, if today most of the people here are really having easy lives, do you think that they are going to complain? Well, certain people yes, cause we always want more, but they’ll be lesser people complain compare to what you are seeing here now.

Main reason that we complain is because we feel unfair. What is unfair? Well, according to your comparison of our oil production and price to other countries, you are correct into certain extend, but not all, because you didn’t compare the whole thing but just the oil production and price. You have to understand that we are already paying a lot to the government when we purchase a car and yet we still unable to enjoy the benefit of having cheap petrol in the future, do you think this is fair? Price that we pay for a car is double compare to most of other countries, so imagine this, we can actually buy a camry in Thailand for RM70k, but how much are we paying for a camry here in Malaysia? Almost RM150k. So, people in Thailand saved RM80k compare to those who bought camry in Malaysia.

So, let says now the camry driver in Thailand pumps in 55 liters of petrol per week and let says their petrol is RM4 per liter, The camry driver will need to spend RM220 per week for his camry. There’ll be 52 weeks a year, so in total, he’ll have to spend about RM11440 per year for the petrol. Now, he saved about RM80k for his camry, which means that the amount of money saved allows him to pumps in petrol for 6.99 years, almost 7 years.

Lets come back to Malaysia and have a look at our scenario. RM150k for a camry, which means we are paying extra RM80k due to the government tax. Let says I’m using the current RON95 price as calculation which is RM1.90. Same thing, per week 55 liter which is RM104.5, so per year will be RM5434. Let says now camry driver in Malaysia keeps pumping petrol in same price for 7 years which makes the total spending of RM38038.

Now lets do some simple calculation here, total 7 years petrol spending for camry in Thailand is RM4 x 55 liter x 52 weeks * 7 years = RM80080 and total 7 years total petrol spending for camry in Malaysia is RM38038. So total petrol saved for a camry Malaysia is RM80080 – RM38038 = RM42042.

Can you see this, even after 7 years of saving for the petrol spent, we are still unable to cover extra RM80k paid to purchase a camry. We are already paying the petrol price in advance through the tax from our vehicles, yet, the government still give some shitty reason to reduce the petrol subsidy, do you think this is fair to all Malaysian?

We don’t mind the government reduce or even cut off the subsidy, but please also take away AP, cut off the tax to import cars. They can follow world price for petrol, but they should follow the world price for all cars as well and this is what we call fair!!!

Also, please do believe that subsidy will never caused the country to go bankruptcy, only those who can’t mange will caused the country to go bankruptcy, only corruption will cause country to go bankruptcy and only those who are selfish people and care only about their wallet in the government will cause the country to go bankruptcy.

We complain because we care, we complain because we suffer from our lives, we complain because we had enough from those selfish people in the government.