Peugeot RCZ launched: RM219k for auto, RM224k manual!

UPDATE: Live gallery from the launch added

The Peugeot RCZ has been launched at the Bangsar Shopping Centre in KL moments ago. This 2+2 coupe comes in two versions – a 156 hp/240 Nm variant paired to a 6-speed automatic transmission and a hotter 200 hp/275 Nm model with a 6-speed manual.

The latter is a pleasant surprise, and we wouldn’t have been surprised if Nasim decided against importing it, citing the usual “not enough buyers to justify” excuse. Good job!

Both are turbocharged and direct injected 1.6-litre engines from the Prince family, but the 200 hp unit adds on variable valve lift over the standard VVT.

The manual, which makes its 275 Nm of torque from just 1,700 rpm, does 0-100 km/h in 7.5 seconds. The 156 hp auto does the same in 8.4 seconds. Top speed is 237 km/h for the manual and 213 km/h for the auto.

Feature wise, the Austrian made RCZ comes with dynamic xenons (with washers), dynamic rear wing with two levels, 19-inch alloys, auto headlights and wipers, Nappa leather (dashboard is leather lined as well), electric seats (with memory for driver) and a six-speaker JBL audio system (with 240W amp).

The manual gets some added kit, which includes a smaller diameter steering wheel, larger cluster display and larger 340 mm brake discs (from 302 mm). It also has a lower anti collision bar and special hub carriers that are claimed to offer sharper handling. There’s also enhanced engine acoustics over the 156 hp engine.

For those of you who have read our test drive report of the RCZ from Spain one year ago and wondered what took them so long, well, JPJ weren’t too happy with the standard factory tint on the RCZ’s glasshouse (the double bubble glass roof is one of the car’s stylistic highlights), and Nasim had to specially order a clear version of the glass from the factory.

Two colours are available – Pearlescent White and Haria Grey. The RCZ is priced at RM218,888 for the 156 hp automatic and RM223,888 for the 200 hp manual (OTR prices with insurance). Both cars will be displayed at BSC throughout this weekend, so head here for some live viewing.

For more details, read our test drive report and view the pics here. Full gallery from the event after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2249]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Choprak Cawat Besiwat on May 19, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Nice price tags & nice models..hehe..

ok, i wanna continue reading..leave comment first before reading..

• HirumaKecil on May 20, 2011 at 8:18 am

hahaha… But nowadays peugeot surely got a lot of attention… Almost all of post about peugeot will have so many comment….

• kwing on May 20, 2011 at 9:09 am

thought the price will sway people off, it happens everywhere, as its price are steeper than some of other car that similar if not better.. but there will be people want to have the niche car..

• HirumaKecil on May 20, 2011 at 11:34 pm

U must understand, they just cannot sell this below than 200k coz they already have 308cc for 188k and 207cc for 150k++… If u cannot buy this rcz, u still have a choice to buy the retractable hardtop 208cc and the retractable hardtop207cc.. If they sell this RCZ below than the price that they have announce, surely it will kills the other 2 pug sale… If u ask me, i wont buy this rcz but i will go for 2007cc….

• Unforgiven on May 20, 2011 at 9:35 am

JPJ weren’t too happy with the standard factory tint on the RCZ’s glasshouse….
        Why JPJ is doing that in today’s World? Are they uneducated?

• What is the waiting period?

• in pics no 4, is it handbrake lever or what? look really weird..

• qwerty on May 19, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Change the badge to Naza and can price it even cheaper!

• m.fahmi88 on May 19, 2011 at 8:24 pm

wow.. nice car..

• Fantastic! well done Nasim Motors. Great car and great price.

• shawal on May 19, 2011 at 8:27 pm

awesomeness in abundance…

• CKD only the door, boot and bonnet cover, sure get cheaper without compromising other factory built components

• klaka seram on May 19, 2011 at 8:30 pm

good model, but the price is not so good

• theanswer on May 20, 2011 at 12:25 am

but the looks kinda unique. no wonder the price a bit higher than golf gti.

• Mazda freak on Oct 30, 2011 at 11:33 am

still slower than the VW Golf for that price. faint :s

• Alpha on May 19, 2011 at 8:35 pm

I LOL-ed at those guys who said that it’ll be cheap!!Haha!!This is rather reasonable,anyways.Jz like what I predicted.

• laluan sehala on May 21, 2011 at 10:43 am

Agree. This is not a budget sports car to replace the Putra.

• Walao Eh! look at the price! :(

• i wonder why this rcz came to malaysia and it did not have the lcd sat nav instead they just put the boring monochrome lcd…huhhh and yet the price is so expensive not sure whether its gonna worth it or not

• armandd on May 19, 2011 at 8:43 pm

“JPJ weren’t too happy with the standard factory tint on the RCZ’s glasshouse”

It’s the ROOF for God’s sake.. Standard roof if more opaque than the glasshouse. Why the JPJ boys were so dumb is beyond my understanding.

“Nasim had to specially order a clear version of the glass from the factory.”

Brilliant, now this sweet ride is glasshouse on wheels.

• you can always tint it back….giving u people business

• Wisdom on May 19, 2011 at 10:51 pm

With that double bubble shape and limited rear space, tinter can make quite a sum.

• rkg38 on May 20, 2011 at 8:39 am

then the problem arise…whether the tinted shop can tint the double bubble shape with no bubble in future & with warranty…
          i guess it is a challenging job…

• hvannees on May 20, 2011 at 9:01 am

with the curve shape, it will be hard to tint and it will use a lot of heater blower to make the tint follow the curve shape. with unpro ah beng do the job, after a while the air bubble will come out….

• hassan_dragon on Sep 29, 2011 at 3:38 am

waiting sekenhen value drop to 50k…then I’ll buy

• Unikorn on May 19, 2011 at 11:24 pm

that’s malaysia civil service at its best
      totally dumb,clueless,uninspired and have penchant of making and enforcing stupid regulations just to make them feel good about themselves.

• armandd on May 20, 2011 at 8:53 am

I believe if there was a piece of tinted glass in the engine compartment, totally hidden from view, they will still wanna test it for –

“Maximum of 70% light penetration for the front windscreen and 50% light penetration for the rear and side windows, except for senior government officials such as the chief judge and high-ranking police and army personnel who are exempted from this rule.”

I’m speechless… haha..

• francis on May 20, 2011 at 4:03 pm

they remove the glasshouse sooner the car will become greenhouse…hahahaha

• WinterAngeLs on May 20, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Dumb JPJ fellas, removing the tinted bubble glass is just asking the rear passengers to have a sunbath whenever the sun is shining above the car. At least a tinted glass can shield UV,IR and some heat.

Just like this pic http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=peugeot-rcz-malaysian-launch&image=dsc_0969.jpg

making their own decisions without taking into account of other factors…brainless!

• Jing-lebelle on May 19, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Nice car! Like the back part.. Just wonder if the second hand value is high enough..>.<

• Singa garang on May 19, 2011 at 9:14 pm

huh thinking of selling even before buying….. this one is not for you to . leave it to us to enjoy it

• i wonder why ppl keep on thinking of selling even before buying…this is not right.

might as well you think of divorcing even before marrying.

• MyCarMyLife on May 20, 2011 at 8:17 am

Prenuptial type of thing for buying a car? guarranteed buyback price like in heavy equip.

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on May 20, 2011 at 8:18 am

then all will be single n available anytime :)
          anyway…
          we buy car coz we like n love them not coz we plan to sell them

• kwing on May 20, 2011 at 9:07 am

well depreciation is one of the important factor, but i do agree people should look past 2nd hand value… or at least one of the lower priority..

• Lim Kopi on May 20, 2011 at 4:34 pm

U don’t sound like the person who actually PAY for their cars then …

2nd hand value is a long term financial view that everyone should think of …. eventually when you upgrade ….

Unless you change spouse every 5 years then no issue lah ….

• then u should go for not much features toyota n honda, for ur 2nd hand value.
      u will never experience EURO car`s good if ur minded still like this. sad for u.

• DonkeyKong on May 20, 2011 at 1:13 am

Typical uneducated cinapek mentality.. resale value, resale value, resale value. Please stick with your Toyota and Honda and leave real cars to real men who know how to appreciate them.

• Black Dog on May 20, 2011 at 2:10 pm

U have a typical racist mentality. You’re making an ass of yourself by assuming he’s a certain race.

• sick&tired on May 20, 2011 at 9:30 am

go buy a myvi/vios/city then!? while you are at it, if you are married, divorce your wife or break up with you girlfriend. if you have children, put them up for adoption. its more cost effective. washing you underwear once a week can also help you save money.

• qwerty on May 19, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Now who going to buy Scirocco?

• The rocco owns this easily.
      I’d happily pay 20k extra for german quality,
      rather than this french out-of-proportion chassis garbage.

• test drive first la then compare with rocco

• I don’t think you have the money to buy either car, you just talk a lot.

• firefox on May 20, 2011 at 9:15 am

agreed, rocco is much more better, of course of designing, RCZ will be better, but a litter bit over, look like TT, performance wise..just 200hp ONLY, my expectation, this car is below 6 s car, how come like this….quite dissapointed, just like people who get the LV beg, shopping around the luxury shop, but pocket just few hundred dollar..ai….

• firefox on May 21, 2011 at 8:28 pm

yesterday went to naza show room and have a look on this car, overall, really impressive..design really good, 225k, not too expensive….i amendment on my previous comment, 1.6 for 200hp, it is good enought, rocco, 2.0 210hp, it is different.

• If you are mention about Scirocco, Megane 250 Cup is much better then.

• tormentor on May 20, 2011 at 11:24 am

the rocco is just a hatchback lah. it does not look special enough compared to to the rcz. yes, the performance may have a hair’s edge but seriously, you can’t even see it in daily traffic. so, why go for something that looks like a garden variety everyday hatch when you can have something looking as dramatic as this?

• ZoomZoom on May 21, 2011 at 4:52 am

Tell that to a Rocc owner when you’re trying to overtake him/her. Even the 1.4L Rocc can match the 156bhp RCZ in terms of performance. Granted, the design is nowhere close though. This car is indeed fine as hell. If only they matched the style with equal substance. What a waste if you ask me, could’ve been perfect.

• Kenny on May 21, 2011 at 10:39 am

I’d like to see that in reality. Truth is, both cars are closely matched. On the streets, it is the one with more guts that will get ahead. Not what the spec sheet says or what some anti-french foreign journo says. As for looks, well, different ppl hv different priorities.

• idho5307 on May 20, 2011 at 11:47 am

The rocco don’t drive well as the 200bhp one…for sure…

• Lotus Concepts Production Dream on May 19, 2011 at 10:45 pm

if you need two practical rear seats, else go for Renault Megane. At least you feel the push of < 7s from 0-100km/h from both VW and Renault

• ooo yeah sure……..people wont buy this cos it’s so unpractical…………u know shopping with parents, taking kids from school, balik kmpg with all 5 children etc etc……no wonder so many alphard around it’ is so practical…can drive alone to office and can turn it into a minibus or commercial van when needed…………..

• HirumaKecil on May 20, 2011 at 8:30 am

jgn lupa Vellfire(walaupon same je ngan alphard)…..

• you cheapo can just afford a viva, rm30k , 5 seater, very worth for money right?

rm300k you can buy 10 cars and bring 50 ppl, wow!!

• hondasan on May 20, 2011 at 3:08 pm

with 10x petrol…

• HirumaKecil on May 20, 2011 at 11:37 pm

And 10x maintenance cost…..10x roadtax, tolls and dun forget the parking.. hahaha….

• Ash Menon on May 19, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Well…I suppose Peugeot and Nasim achieved what they set out to get. It IS cheaper than the TT.

• ya AUDI TT 2.0 is RM355 still many owner here, i think RCZ will be more on the road^^

• audi TT all recon la, second hand car. some are 5 years somemre,

• riphoff on May 19, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Well i dunno why..when i see new foreign car price comes to local market, i will see Proton as cheap alternative. Every time. hahaha

• JPJ royally ruined the roof!!!!
    the original tinted design was to give it a sense of a whole piece of glass on the roof, but look now what have they done to it ?!?!

• years to come once it’s bcome an antique car already, this special malaysia edition will be one most sought after cos it just limited edition….no other in world got that…a collecter’s item

• jalan54 on May 19, 2011 at 9:25 pm

The price tag is just not competitive. I think people will rather get a 1.4 tsi Scirocco rather than this one. Cheaper and has the potential to up tune the car to 200hp.

• anti-first on May 20, 2011 at 10:10 am

The price is not competitive for less discerning folks that’s for sure, hahahaha.

• Expensive! just buy a 308GT.

• Tyler Durden on May 19, 2011 at 9:38 pm

I like the car design.

Back in 2010, some bozos from that the RCZ will priced around RM130K in Malaysia.

Guess FHM should have stick to writing rubbish articles rather than cars.

• samyyd on May 19, 2011 at 9:40 pm

which one is auto?.. which one is manual?.. left or right?… but both gorgeous. i dont mind, both also can.

• VW_fans on May 19, 2011 at 9:42 pm

All also above RM200K!!!! fed up….. Megane, RCZ, Golf GTI, etc…. pls….. show us those affordable sports car plzzzz….

• Cowabunga! on May 19, 2011 at 9:44 pm

nice price…helps me easily decide….
    that is NOT to BUY.

price already got me a golf GTi, so, why even bother this?.

• anti-first on May 20, 2011 at 8:34 am

if you have considered a golf GTI, why even bother commenting?

• maaajeeedaaa on May 19, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Nice car….VERY VERY BAD ASS Pricing…..only closed minded person will buy the car…

• Those who think that its worth it to pay 224k for a 4 cylinder car thumbs up this post, those who think it isn’t worth it, thumbs down this post

this way we’ll have an exact figure!

• Ash Menon on May 19, 2011 at 10:49 pm

your comment will be hidden as spam soon if like that :P

• goodness, did not expect this many people to think that the car isn’t worth 224k!

• My house is cheaper than this car on May 19, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Those who don’t have RM200k to buy a car thumbs up this post!..

• well… if the 4 pot has turbo + direct injection + vvt… why not ? XD

• Bob Vettel on May 20, 2011 at 8:54 am

Golf GTI is a 4-pot with turbo.

Need I say more?

• sick&tired on May 20, 2011 at 9:32 am

golf gti and this car are catered to totally different market segments. this is more of a tourer/poser car whereas the gti is more of a drivers car. if i want to pick up sophisticated chicks, then this is the car is will go with.

• that’s the problem with chicks, doesn’t matter how sophisticated they are – they haven’t got the brains to differentiate between a crappy 4 and an awesome F6 or I6

• Bob Vettel on May 20, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Soon F1 cars will have 1.6 Turbocharged 4-pot engines. So, F1 cars aren’t awesome anymore la?

• when was F1 ever awesome? those aren’t road legal anyway – who on earth would relate to that? football fans?

• Teh-O on May 19, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Expensive expensive, sports car people, its meant to lend an air of exclusivity around it. If everyone could affort it like your typical Proton trash, nobody would be willing to pay extra for it. It wouldnt turn heads on the roads.

• Oh man i thought it would be below 200k. Now the more practical and equally powerful Golf GTi seems cheap. But i would buy this for the looks alone!

• aliff on May 19, 2011 at 10:02 pm

how much tax do we have to pay for this car?? my 1Malaysia……

• ilovepeugeot on May 19, 2011 at 10:08 pm

for that price i think better buy a used nissan fair lady instead… more powerful, better look…

• …and be ready to pay RM4k for the roadtax alone (insurance excluded) instead of this one at RM90. :)

• ZoomZoom on May 21, 2011 at 5:00 am

Better look? You’re not making sense now. That junk has been over-driven ever since Tokyo Drift came out.

• Renault Megane RS on May 19, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Nice ! White wound be my choice if i’m shopping for a sportcar like this

• stiggy25 on May 19, 2011 at 10:24 pm

STUPID JPJ!

• mmouse on May 19, 2011 at 10:30 pm

For 219 k I will buy a VW GTI auto with 200hp and for 224k I will fork out another 25k to buy Renault 250 megane manual with 250hp. Who cares with that bubble roof top or what ever this so called sports car has. When I smoke you on the highway and all u can see is me grinning at you. And you will know I am telling u how stupid u r for buying them.

• dude if u want to become an expensive mat rempit mat reput on 4wheels it;s up to u……..we just wanna cool car with sexy bodyline to cruise around enjoying life……….u want to smoke us who cares…go and smoke everybody la most of us just not interested and u just syiok sendiri…….hope fully u get the much needed hard on when u at it….. ur ugly grin suit ur car as well…anyway we’ll be seeing u again at the next trafic light anyway no matter how fast u are………. jerks like u may prefer the 250hp ……. most people prefer to get a life…..

• Victor Hoh on May 20, 2011 at 7:19 am

I do not think people who buy this car will even give a d*mn when you overtake them at 200km/h on the highway. They will be too busy enjoying the attention from other road users, to even notice you.

• TFazuin on May 20, 2011 at 8:34 pm

What I would do is drive at cruising speed of 80km/h and be seen. If I can afford a two seater weekend car RCZ would be it, but my work car would likely be the gent’s 3.0 albeit recond Mark X Modellista series. Looks like any other plain Toyota ha ha ha but 320hp supercharged engine.

People who buy RCZ is making a statement to be different. If you can afford it, resale value is unimportant because you don’t take more than 3 years for finance or buy it off cash. Its all about being esclusive.

• TurboMan on May 21, 2011 at 4:10 am

there is a car that suits ppl like u who always like to tapao ppl.

Its cheap. Buy a used satria, and dump in 2 liter mivec turbo boost to 2 bar.

Sure u can tapao even ferrari. Grin when you tapao ferrari.

But ferrari drivers have more fun and get more chicks.

U r really pathetic.

• Hazrin1975 on May 21, 2011 at 7:06 am

wanna smoke other car ???? go to SIC …. proof your skill there….

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on May 19, 2011 at 10:32 pm

again n again, y would 1 say n hope a rebadge when it just launch? plus it’s built in austria not france… same factory that built SLS n TT :)

will be there this sat to ‘feel’ it…

• jimmyc on May 19, 2011 at 10:32 pm

reasonable price for the 200hp manual but not the 156hp auto. similar 160hp scirocco is 20k less.

• kenny on May 20, 2011 at 8:43 am

but imho, this looks way more dramatic than the scirocco which to me looks nothing more than a regular hatchback. so, it is worth the price difference. go and see it live at bangsar this weekend than come back again and comment.

• transformer on May 19, 2011 at 10:39 pm

bad move to remove that dark bubbly sunroof(thanks JPJ), pricing too expensive….
    people will still buy a TT anyday…..

but i would better opt Megane Renault Sport 250 Cup:
    http://paultan.org/2010/11/24/megane-renault-sport-250-cup-full-test-drive-

• saya miskin on May 19, 2011 at 10:39 pm

no money, what to do :( .wish this would be mine, but if they bring the russian saga also dont mind, can just buy cash

• For that kind price i would rather get a Golf GTI i still got balance to mod the car :)
    Peugeot parts r way too expensive if u come to maintenance,if $$ is no object by all mean u can get tis baby!!

• kenny on May 20, 2011 at 8:29 am

you have no idea what you’re talking about.

• Espresso! Quick! on May 23, 2011 at 6:32 pm

your name sums you up. what makes you so sure a vw is cheap to maintain? pls don’t kid yourself.

• Owner of RCZ for over 2 months.

No regret getting the car. So much better looking than golf or scricor. Get VIP parking at shopping mall and hotel.

200bhp is powerful enough for me, yeah I drive the manual version.

• TIMOTHY DALTON on May 19, 2011 at 10:57 pm

Goodness!
    Its a French car, no way up to mark against the Germans. Scirocco and GTI is much better deal than this French RCZ. Never invest in French products, be it cars or even submarines.
    You just add few more thousands$ can get yourself Audi TT you’ll never regret for life. Remember that Germans are great at making safe performance cars.

• TT new car is RM355++ diff la bro.dont talkabout recon diff thing. French car is good too!

• mmmm well some people are just tired and sick of ohh soooooo common german sausages……….we prefer to spice up our life with limited french wine or italian ravioli……….

• kenny on May 20, 2011 at 8:36 am

nope, not really. the germs also have their own failures. try not to be influenced too much by advertising hype. the germans are just normal cars elsewhere. but this is a difference. at least a breath of fresh air in the NEW CAR market whereby everything is a hatchback. this is for coupe fans.

• idho5307 on May 20, 2011 at 11:54 am

Bro, if you ever get out of your ‘tempurung’ and read the review, then you will know that this car is better in driving dynamics that the TT…

• Audi tt is nice, but there are so many recond units on the road now, and the design is outdated.

• Darren on May 19, 2011 at 11:12 pm

delayed of the launching is due to JPJ weren’t too happy with the standard factory tint on the RCZ’s glasshouse (the double bubble glass roof is one of the car’s stylistic highlights), and Nasim had to specially order a clear version of the glass from the factory. well, the owner of this sexy babe will install super black tint film as well even if Nasim got a clearer version glass for it….as though the JPJ officer will scan through the driver from the glass roof not from the side window….idiot!!!

• i think JPJ only did that because the glass roof and the windshield are one and the same.

• Tax LOVER on May 19, 2011 at 11:14 pm

stupid JPJ.. not happy with the tint? no wonder lots of car model wasnt sell here.. 1 question, why are the government official is allowed to use black tint? what? the official use for security and safe? then how about us?

speaking about tax, i supposed to pay only RM30k for my new superbike(price is around USD8000-9000).. but, with tax plus bla bla bla, become nearly 60k.! what the heck.! and my uncle have to buy Harley Davidson for RM150k where he pay only USD15k when he was in US..

• the plate number: MAH41

• Damn overpriced!!

• This morning i saw a car similar to this, also is a peugot. I am following at the back so not sure how is the front looking. at rear written 308cc, is this the same car?

• town of dreams on May 19, 2011 at 11:28 pm

there are better cars at these prices than this glasshouse, only the stupid breed from AW pug forum are keen on such lemons.

• Victor Hoh on May 20, 2011 at 7:09 am

got smoked by pugs all the time on the road? envy? why the need to bad mouth other people?

• kenny on May 20, 2011 at 8:33 am

he probably can’t afford one and is totally envious of those who can. but talking bad about the pug community like that is totally uncalled for, immature and lacks and any discretion. ‘town of dreams’, please grow up and show some maturity in your comments.

• town of dreams on May 21, 2011 at 12:00 am

hahahahaha, smoked by pugs? bad mouth? envious? you know the difference between fact & fiction? you need time to think at the workshop while the mechanic tries …

1. Engine leak
        22/07/10 – changed valve cover
        13/09/10 – engine oil leaks again
        01/11/10 – confirmed 2nd leak – awaiting stock (told at least 1 month)
        27/12/10 – replaced new valve cover again
        04/04/11 – valve cover leaks again
        10/05/11 – applied some kind of clip

2. Pull to left – reported but no solution so far
        03/09/10 – fixed some “camber” stuffs, alignment, balancing (they charged me $)
        01/11/10 – changed camshalf bolt

3. Battery weak issue
        09/07/10 – battery replaced

4. Intermittent extreme knocking (jialat)
        22/07/10 – told been fixed but lets see how
        29/07/10 – obviously nothing is fixed on 22/7. planned to fix battery charge problem but they found error code RECO_V4 at RPM ~2800, so fix together
        02/08/10 – minor carbon in engine and cleaned. no firm answer on root cause and will it happen again
        03/09/10 – re-programmed ECU again which will not solve if looking at Kenso case
        29/09/10 – 1st car jerking after 02/08/10 fix when mileage ~22148
        01/11/10 – adjust timing
        10/05/11 – knocking is back – checked in BB and said OK. asked me observe further

5. Rattling sounds from chassis + dashboard + doors + etc (minor)
        03/09/10 – complaint but i didn’t mention which part rattling, they told me FIXED! what!!??
        10/05/11 – complaint and fixed

6. Bad sound proof (depends invidual) confirmed sound frm rear left door
        03/09/10 – adjusted car door and its rubber, slightly improved but still noisy

7. “Battery charge or electrical supply faulty” error message displays – SOLVED
        13/07/10 – spent 9 days in workshop – changed alternator, changed battery, same error appears in 5 mins after i collected my car
        22/07/10 – sent workshop again – told been fixed and changed battery, same error appears in 3rd day
        29/07/10 – sent workshop again – nothing identified and need leave the car for days
        02/08/10 – re-programmed ECU!? with newer version
        03/09/10 – running on 5th battery now! i have no idea whether it is fixed or not
        28/10/10 – same error appears back
        01/11/10 – checked and no error found
        08/11/10 – error appears again
        04/01/11 – error keeps appearing past few days
        10/01/11 – sent BB – PPS reads nothing while error shown in MFD
        24/02/11 – grounding issue found and resolved

8. Weird sounds from engine when the car rolling down on the slope (right-foot free)
        03/09/10 – complaint but nothing done yet

9. bulging tyre – SOLVED
        03/09/10 – reported – no warranty. however, i will say good job from CONTINENTAL but NOT NASIM. they sent ppl to check tyre and issued an official report with measurements, facts and figures, photos and analysis to prove that this is caused by external impact (driver fault)

13. “Engine management system faulty” error message appears – SOLVED
        27/12/10 – replaced electric pump (coolant)

28/07/10: weird feeling from engine which may lead to problem #9 or may contribute by problem #5.. cannot confirm yet and still observing…
        09/08/10: added problem #9 & #10 & #11 & #12
        21/08/10: problem #8 is back and happened in an hour
        23/08/10: have this common water pump issue now
        01/11/10: sent BB glenmarie 6th time for my problems
        20/12/10: new problem #14

Occassional gearbox faulty issue when I shift between 2nd to 3rd (normally around 60 km/h mark). This happens after my 20,000 km service and when I asked the technician, he said its a electronic problem. So he changed once but after a while it came back again. Only happens when I play with the accelerator (press hard then let go, etc) and maybe around 10% of the time. When this happens have to restart the car again and be careful when accelerating. Still feel not satisfied and will bring up this issue again during next service.

Went up to Genting a few weekend ago. A few minutes from the top suddenly turbo kaput and the car became very sluggish, depolution error came out. Restarting the car several times did not help. Went to KS the following Monday and was told that some turbo hose tercabut.

Previous I’ve been getting the depolution error about once a month in my near seven months of ownership. Only on 2-3 ocasion I experienced turbo lost which can be solved by 1-2 restarts. Let’s see if I get the error again after this. Hoping that it was caused by the loose hose…

My 5008 just clocked 5000 km and now front driver side brake already making screeching sounds when braking. Not even a hard braking from running to full stop. Why brake pad makan so fast???? Or this is symptom of a different problem? Hope all sifus here can help me… before final solution to send it to Nasim for medical check up….

my 308 1.6 turbo nightmare

Here goes guys

Best sit down
        CHRONOLOGY
        22/7/09 Running rough when cold DIAGNOSIS: Fault due to poor software and initialisation of car Download new software and carry out reinitialisation of the auto adaptives.
        18/11/09 Transmission has slight oil leak / Water leaking into RHF door DIAGNOSIS: pan and gasket warped and new front door membrane needed.
        14/12/09 Parts arrive to do previous fix
        11/2/10 Not changing down gears and serious lag on take off DIAGNOSIS: found fault stored in ECU super knock fault in cylinder 2 and 3 clear fault and reinitialise system
        24/5/10 Hesitation, jerk or miss when changing gears / rough running on cold start DIAGNOSIS: checked fault codes, code present. Removed knock sensor to check for grease buildup, none present. Removed inlet manifold, and checked, found some carbon build up. Awaiting advice from Peugeot.
        8/9/10 Check engine shudder and loss of power whilst driving / knocking noise from rear suspension area. DIAGNOSIS: Rear shocks leaking and replaced. Engine: found fault code p2337 carried out cylinder head de-carb,replaced parts as required. Cylinder head was removed. NOTE: A TIMING TENSIONER IS LIST AMOUNGST PARTS SUPPLIED
        8/2/11 Hesitation under load no power wont go up a hill. DIAGNOSIS: check found super knock problem, fault code p1385 carried out info flash B1aw011jp0 carried out head cleaning.
        23/3/11 Car loses all power when accelerating. Turbo not working. Cold start rough running. DIAGNOSIS: Found fault code p2279 intake air flow fault replaced breather pipe also found battery week and replaced. When going to collect questioned re engine noise dealer kept car for more time. DIAGNOSIS: Found info flash B1ew0108Q0 fitted new tensioner as required
        7/4/11 Car lost all power lucky to not have serious accident. DIAGNOSIS: found fault code p1385, super knock. Carried out infoflash B1aw011JQ0 Upper engine head cleaning and oil change.
        12/4/11 Car running like next doors lawn mower depollution fault code flashing. DIAGNOSIS: Car on tow truck back to dealer. PPD session highlights misfire fault on cylinder 1 requiring new feul injector to be fitted before further testing.
        Peugeot say they will fix it no buy back no care
        The 7/4 incident involved a truck sliding sideways toward us in the wet a car lost power turning out of t intersection
        PLENTY OF EMOTION DUE TO LACK OF MOTION

• kenny on May 21, 2011 at 8:09 am

Thanks for the nice “story”. You sure can cook well.

• Rulered on May 22, 2011 at 10:22 am

You’re one unlucky dude, reading your story is like reading a book about someone who had prostatic cancer, lung cancer with brain tumour and contracted gonnorrhoea on top of a heart attack and stroke…..all at the same time

• anti-first on May 20, 2011 at 8:57 am

dude, no need to call names, let us Peugeot enthusiasts relish this ‘new’ lemon as defined by you.

the RCZ is suited for people with keen perception, elegance and class – uh no, this car is not for you simply because you don’t have the mental and emotional capacity to process those attributes.

quit wasting your own time and go find cars with better pricing – we beg you, please!

• town of dreams on May 21, 2011 at 12:18 am

People buy Merc & BMW for keen perception, elegance and class, not some run of the mill car. You need to travel more.

• Kenny on May 21, 2011 at 10:32 am

Perhaps you need to broaden your perspective.

• anti-first on May 22, 2011 at 3:43 am

some people view Mercedes and BMW have those qualities i mentioned. congrats to them and i wish them all the happiness in the world.

my view: the RCZ have those qualities i mentioned.

so where do you come in being grumpy, miserable and vindictive?

and uh, what’s this bit about my travels – such a cheap shot, dude.

try again.

• Audi Man on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:05 pm

BMW n Merce r so common…too many on the road like proton n kancil oredi maaa….Let’s buckle up on Audi RS5 Coupe ABT guyz! Sure a man’s car! Powerful, macho n out of this planet! Seriously I’ve test drive one. The cockpit is similar to Sukhoi-30!!! It blast like a jet fighter bros!!! What a beautiful design too!! Its high time to say GOOD BYE to Beamerz n Silver Arrows!!!

• Sukhoi-30 on Mar 10, 2012 at 9:05 pm

You have tested drive a Sukhoi-30? Wow…

• tough sell…in that price range got Golf GTI, Scirocco, recond TT, recond 335i, Renault RS250…all of which are arguably faster, better spec, better looking, track ready etc

• if u want different from others then this is new TOY :)

• none look as good as this RCZ

well, megane maybe.

but megane or golf is like myvi, lol.

this car is like copen, or s2000 or TT, its not a sedan, its not a car for auntie to drive to market(golf/megane), its a sports coupe/roadster.

• torres on May 19, 2011 at 11:35 pm

I’ll wait for the 2nd hand, they’ll come cheap knowing peugeot 2nd hand value is not good..HEHEHEHE!!!

• how come so few pictures ? what about the models ??

• anti-first on May 20, 2011 at 9:03 am

guess danny was too captivated by the car that the models was an after-thought :)

• that’s…..an ugly steering

• Funny thing this cars in europe are similarly priced eg. Golf gti, vw rocco, megane 250, mazda mps..but here the difference is quite a lot. This car is nice but peug is using the same face from vti,cc,gt and rcz..doesn’t seem exclusive..there is already a facelift ver of this car, wonder when we get it..

• Siggy on May 20, 2011 at 12:25 am

Is it me or does the hand-brake looks like a boner? :D

• pricing so near between both versions? where’s the LCD screen?…hmmmm

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on May 20, 2011 at 8:17 am

lcd screen not suit here, as same case in 308cc, the screen with gps n the map dun have m’sia version….

• Ha Gnih on May 20, 2011 at 12:55 am

What a beauty, but in the real world, it’s a car that’s deemed by many others as driven by a selfish person and impractical. Ha Ha Ha. But don’t get me wrong, if you have that extra cash to flaunt, go for it !!! :)

• JPJ shd take the cue from LTA (Singapore’s equivalent JPJ), where the REAR 3 pcs (incl windscreen) of glass only need to have 25% light transmission, which explains why loads of Spore cars have dark tint for the rear passengers, and parallel importers have no problem importing cars from Japan or Europe with factory fitted dark glasses.

If you go Puspakom, you will see a lot of newly imported recond cars having cellotapes to tape the rear “clear” glasses because these cars have original “dark” glasses but with the ruling we have, no way can get approval from JPJ. So, just use the “clear” glass to pass inspection afterwhich the original “dark” glass is put back BUT this will give the owner a headache if there’s a road block in the future.

Guess we never change with times.

• The issue is that the people in charge of making these laws are not educated and competent in those same areas. Sad but true.

• Hi, RCZ may be overpriced for this engine performance. Renault Megane is definely a far more better choice.

But like RCZ but still want one. May be can try 207CC out.
    There are quite some 207CC running on the road dy. And for good news. The OTR actually is about RM158k only. Saw second 207CC 2 years old selling for RM125k.

Check it out. It looks very similar to this RCZ, same performance, Convertible. 2+2 seater.
    Just loose some credit to RCZ on the sexiness of the butt. But convertible.. should be cool enough to beat the RCZ design. And 207CC is quite rare on the road too.

• hey, megane is myvi.

megane RS = myvi turbo.

this RCZ = a car of its own, like Audi R8, not like S4,RS4, which shares the same body with the normal version,
      or like golf 1.6 which looks exactly like golf GTi.

• Nicholas on May 22, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Hello… RCZ shares the same engine as 308 GTI, 308 Turbo, 3008, 5008 lor… boring d!

• howdy on May 20, 2011 at 6:45 pm

the 207cc does not have the performance of the rcz. firstly, it is not a turbo. the 207cc uses the same engine found in the 308vti. secondly, the 207cc is no longer available as a new car.

• Dominic on May 20, 2011 at 7:23 am

The girl in pic 0962 is so gorgeous. Period.

• unimpressed on May 20, 2011 at 7:39 am

reading RCZ and CRZ news back to back. ekekeke.

• quottro on May 20, 2011 at 8:11 am

with that price tag? :)

good luck with the sales..

• kenny on May 20, 2011 at 8:29 am

they don’t need your money… if you have enough that is.

• quottro on May 20, 2011 at 9:12 am

ohh don’t get me wrong…i meant for the price range, it’ll be a real tight situation with the competitors with stronger areas of specs and performance…

comparing an apple to an apple… not who’s got the deeper pockets, mind you..:)

• beatnik on May 20, 2011 at 8:35 am

Wow! got manual! plus the manual version has more power! Truely for enthusiasts! For those who want to gaya only go opt for the auto granny tranny!

• MouMouRen on May 20, 2011 at 8:46 am

Rich people car!!! Don buy it if don have money. Just dream it. Petrol using RON 95 or RON 97?? hehehe. Anyway nice car. I like the clock.

• confused on May 20, 2011 at 8:53 am

bongok la JPJ ni.

• quottro on May 20, 2011 at 9:03 am

clarkson, would say for the same price *pause* or less why would one want to get something like this when they can have better power, handling, and performance heritage…

G-T-I

no offence..haha j/k

• Still cheaper than VW EOS ^^

• st3wpid on May 20, 2011 at 9:16 am

what kinda handbrake level design is that? i tot the ‘sword’ design like in gen 2 was bad, this was :o
    the temp, petrol indicator should use lcd laa wei…

• yea, use LCD for petrol indicator just like MYVI

• Samurai Malaya on May 20, 2011 at 10:12 am

Honda Civic has it since 2005..they called it ‘z-ram’ handbrake design…so why bother..??? The multifunction display in amber is in LCD laaaah weeiii…do you know what is LCD by the way???

7 inch display screen then only can be called LCD? What about mobile phone screen? Aren’t they LCD?

Have you been in a ‘car’ lately? Duughh…get a life!

• st3wpid on May 20, 2011 at 4:08 pm

this is not “Honta” Civic laa wei… why bother the so called “z-ram” design?

• those that comment about handbrake are owner or myvi/saga/viva. lol

• Overprice for 1.6cc car.

• If this with Tinted Bubble Glass it will added few positive comments & selling point and look at it now? Kinda disappointing with our JPJ. How can PPL order fried koaw tiew without koaw tiew

• quottro on May 20, 2011 at 2:57 pm

maybe they think that this is like ordering fried koay teow without siham lar..keke ok mah..still many like it that way…kekekeke

• Wisdom on May 20, 2011 at 10:33 am

I’m not running fanclub for any Japanese car but seeing the trend, european manufacturer finally agree that turboed 1.6 (RCZ) or 2.0 (Megane Cup) can give so much fun. Japanese done this in the 90’s. Yes the technology is different but basically those were small 1.6-2.0 with steroids (variable valved, supercharged, 4 throttled and u name it)…

I thought european always proud of their anticlimax turbodiesels….

Now the japanese already embarked on hot hybrid (CRZ). Sooner or later the european will came along….

I’m still waiting for korean take on this. Still proud with that ‘coupe’? Or still busy taking over the world with mass produced car?

• enchekere on May 20, 2011 at 10:33 am

This car is really gorgeous. Motivation for me to work harder n earn more later i can afford this kind of car.hopefully in 4 years time.

• copycat of audi TT…..

• slick shifts on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:31 am

i would perfer to say they have refined the tt. this is how good the tt could have looked. but the the vw group prefers to stick it safely.

• Price over 200K car still need to differentiate the interior trim? Why need to save the better looking flat bottom steering on the auto? Cost less than 300 Euro, the huge profit margin does not justify that?

Sell the auto as poser car, look better than golf with automatic convenient, selling point.
    Hardcore driver with go for manual 200hp naturally another selling point. Don’t need Toyota tactic to differentiate the trim.

• RCZ is base on 308 platform,
    Magane = Myvi (r u nuts)
    Audi R8 = RCZ (u must be nuts)
    R8 is already super car status lah.

• you smart arse, even 5008 is based on 308 chasssis, so is 5008 = 308? retard?

• bit disappointed with the price… huhu

• squawk on May 20, 2011 at 6:37 pm

People who will buy this have the same mentality and wallet size as the people who buy the neither-here-nor-there X6. Not for commoners like us. :-D

• why manual gear is more expsive then auto?

• I really dont get it! why do some people compare this with a Golf GTI or Scirocco? they are just totally in different categories. price isnt just the factor of comparison here and you must look at the category and purpose of the cars. its like saying you wouldnt buy a Honda CRV because the Mazda 3 is slightly more cheaper. doesnt make any sense.

• Espresso! Quick! on May 20, 2011 at 7:38 pm

because thay have no idea at all what this car is all about.

• peeps on May 20, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Pug RCZ.. hhmmm.. is like marrying a model that have no brains and suck your money dry.. i rather marry a girl that decent looking, cook well and most importantly, good in bed. like the Golf GTi.. decent looking, comfort and give you power when ever you needs it. not to mention, DSG amazing..

• howdy on May 20, 2011 at 7:37 pm

the golf gti is not spades better than the rcz lah. all it has is hype and sadly, too many people believe more in hype than anything else. on the road, under normal driving circumstances, even a regular 1.6L car can keep up with a 1.8L kompressorlah… easily.

how many actually take their cars to the track? even if you do, how good is your skill that you are able to extract every ounce of performance from the car?

on public roads, there is nothing much from what vw has to offer that can even come to the road presence of this car. not even close.

• Tyler Durden on May 20, 2011 at 10:08 pm

Golf Gti may perform well in the kitchen and excel at nocturnal activities but nothing changes the fact that the car is ordinary looking compared ro RCZ.

Fact of the matter is, humans always go for looks first and the rest of the attributes are secondary.

• Lim Kopi on May 20, 2011 at 4:36 pm

SORRY LAH PPL … ITS JUST A PUG …

NO ONE SHOULD PAY MORE THAN RM200K FOR ONE …..

ITS JUST WRONG … :)

• howdy on May 20, 2011 at 5:14 pm

there was a time when bmws and mercedes did not cost more than rm150k. this is peugeot’s moment now.

• VW fans vs Pug fans!who’s win?

• giggle on May 20, 2011 at 9:11 pm

erm.. duhhh. honestly i can see more vw on the road then pug… come on, is a french.. is known not to be realiable. i owns a 206 before and i spit on to it.. problem that machanics cannot solve. naza engineers are also as dumb when comes to pug. i drove 206 for 4 years and broke down 5 times.. now ive changed to vw mk5 for 3 year and touch wood, not even a single break down other then wear and tear… respect german technology… vw beat this sh1t hands down..

• Laughter on May 21, 2011 at 10:28 am

Funny, my 206 has no problems at all. Mine is a 2006 model. Are you sure you REALLY an ex-206 owner or just come to paint nasty stuff?

• aznan ismail on May 20, 2011 at 8:46 pm

JPJ sucks

• TT6969 on May 21, 2011 at 11:51 am

JPJ is useless… all no brain!!!!

• JoeApple on May 21, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Superb car equipped with superb engine(if u dare to floor the pedal)

BTW, please improve your service center.
    I guess the buyer is not an ordinary joe, please upgrade your service to entertain the rich which is always fussy.
    They are willing to pay more but your should offer better service.

• nolan on May 21, 2011 at 3:50 pm

i thought the gear lever is an armrest…….my mistake so sorry….

• john doe on May 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm

juz back from Peugeot Blue Box, Ipoh and RCZ there too. amazing! refined emotion.

• Just rented the RCZ 200hp manual in England. Drove 600klicks. Pushed it too 230kmh.

Style:
    Have to say it definitely stands out from the sciroccos and megane RS. It’s so sexy that a group of guys were more fascinated with it rather then the 997 I was parked next too. The interior is top class with it’s fully leather dash, leather buckets that sits you in a very nice profile.
    You just feel fast sitting in it. The double bubble roof is definitely the main attraction outside, cause from the front it looks just like a 308. But from the back (especially when u raise the retractable spoiler) it looks like a Lion chasing it’s prey.

Performance:
    Well that 0-100 in 7.5secs certainly is true. And the car is incredibly stable at top speeds. This is prob due to it’s incredibly rigid suspensions. Believe me the suspensions are so hard that I thought I had a flat because the car was shaking so hard over speed regulating strips(I was going about 60km/h). Steering tends to vibrate at mid-speeds (around 90-120). The good thing about the RCZ is in the acceleration, you will still get great acceleration between gears 4-5 and 5-6. With added engine growl as a bonus.

Would I recommend it after a day of fun in a pug RCZ? Indeed I will. It really is a fun car to drive and you’ll not only look cool driving it, you’ll feel cool too. Just don’t bring your grandma along.

• anti-first on May 23, 2011 at 12:55 am

to all VW salesmen,

quit wasting your time dissing-off Peugeot as we enthusiasts know the difference between losers like you who like to CAPITALIZE ON ISSUES affecting some unfortunate Peugeot owners, EVERY TIME A PEUGEOT IS LAUNCHED.

Peugeot enthusiasts are there to help and advise one other – despite you sour grapes posting your “random worries” with the intent of misinforming the general public.

shooh shooh, go do some real work like selling cars, ok?

• Thursday on Mar 22, 2012 at 9:17 pm

er, vw has problems with their transmissions as well and lags etc. so, they’re not perfect either. just that the owners are too proud to admit it.

• Siew Eng on May 23, 2011 at 1:21 am

German Vs French = performance Vs design.
    Gimme a VW GTI anytime.

• FYI… In Malaysia, ANY brand start with alphabet P it’s not recommend to buy. Why I say so? Think of yourself what and why. No offense… This is the truth what I see in here.

• Ah Fook on May 23, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Nice car but too expensive for me.
    All hail the Gommen for their super tax on imported cars.

• By the way this platform has turned into Germany vs France platform, sadly. Please take note, Peugeot and BMW have jointly designed and manufactured the engine of this car. I would say more Peugeot had the expertise to work on smaller engines as BMW has on larger engines. This engine is selected the best engine in its category for the last 4 years. German cars are good but French cars are not bad. The difference is innovation in design. German cars are more conservative in design, French are more bold. But if you get a nice car in lesser price, I dont see any problem. VW can compete with Peugeot when they will assemble their cars in Malaysia and bring the price to an affordable limit. Until then, Peugeot will gain more market. This is true, just look at the figures.

• why so serious? on Jun 06, 2011 at 1:39 am

why is everyone complaining about the price and so on? guys have u even see the car with ur own eyes yet? it’s freaking 19inch rims. they are only releasing it this month. it’s a concept car build to reality. bet those criticising it couldn’t even afford 1 ey? 200k only ma. people in europe are crazy about it yet malaysians are comparing it to a TT. noob la u guys. oh btw, if u guys see 1 pasing by, dont even turn ur heads. hipocrites. btw, got mine today, can’t wait till october! losers!

• slick shifts on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:26 am

agreed! nice car, nice price. those in the know will understand it. those who know nuts… well, …

• Saros on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:35 pm

People just don’t understand the car. Don’t bother trying to explain it, can’t be done easily with words.

My advice: go and look and test the car.