Renault starts production of ‘Energy dCI 130’ engine – world’s most powerful 1.6L diesel, inspired by F1 tech

While the modern diesel engine is still a bit of a novelty here, it’s the default engine in Europe, and is usually the volume seller in many a model range, luxury ones included. There’s no sign of this trend waning, and we’ve seen CO2 figures pushed down and power figures pumped up over the years. Now, Renault has what it hails as THE diesel engine family boasting high tech for regular cars.

It’s called the Energy family, and the first to appear is the dCi 130, a 1.6-litre diesel that will be launched in the Scenic and Grand Scenic MPVs before powering the Megane range. This unit will supersede the long serving 1.9 dCi 130 (F9Q) in line with the downsizing trend.

The 1.6L Energy dCi 130 is the world’s most powerful engine of its size, Renault says. It makes 130 hp and 320 Nm of torque at 1,750 rpm, 80% of which is available from 1,500 rpm. That’s about the same as what the Focus TDCI’s 2.0L Duratorq makes, but with max twist produced 250 rpm lower, so it’s an impressive effort.

At the same time, combined-cycle fuel consumption is 20% better than the 1.9 dCi engine it replaces, while CO2 emissions have been slashed by 30 g/km. Renault says that with the Energy dCi 130, the Scenic/Grand Scenic will be the most frugal MPVs on sale with CO2 emissions of 115 g/km and fuel consumption of 22.7 km/l. Compared to before, potential range on a full tank is up by 300 km.

Working from a clean sheet, the Energy is said to carry over a number of technologies developed and fine-tuned by Renault’s F1 engine den at Viry-Chatillon. Philippe Coblence, the design office manager for this R9M project, used to work at Viry.

The F1-inspired features include a so-called ‘square’ architecture. The engine is said to be square when the piston stroke is similar to the diameter of the cylinder (bore), an arrangement which allows large-diameter valves to be housed in the cylinder head for more efficient filling of the combustion chambers. This helps performance. Other measures are transverse water flow cooling technique that allows for a smaller, less energy-consuming water pump. This has been combined with a double water jacket arrangement for the cylinder head.

Super-finishing and special surface treatments as well as UFLEX oil control ring technology also feature in the Energy. The U-shaped geometry is highly flexible and enables the ring to adapt to bore distortion to achieve the best compromise between efficiency and friction. “The principle is comparable with that of a multi-blade razor. It adapts naturally to the contour without having to exert high pressure on the cylinder wall. The result is maximum efficiency and less friction,” Coblence explains.

This ‘unprecedented high-tech package’ contains over 30 patents, according to Renault. Of course, existing tech from higher up engines such as VGT, Stop & Start plus cold-loop, low-pressure exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) are present. Alliance partner Nissan, which co-funded this project, should also benefit greatly from it.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mnazri.tan on May 19, 2011 at 12:25 pm

this is the future…i always said so…diesel..not hybrid…or ev or that eletric thing….Diesel…rock….Proton should start working on this…or since they have ties with renault now, start buying their engine and slap it on proton’s car….we consumer would be very happy

• zainal abidin on May 19, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Impressive power from a 1.6 liter diesel….Can we expect to see this ‘advance’ engine in a Proton any time soon? The last time a Renault engine / gearbox was in a Proton car it was in the WAJA 1.8 and that car didn’t perform well as expected. Try looking for a pre-owned WAJA 1.8 and the price is very very very low. And I seriously doubt this engine will realize it’s full potential unless it’s using EURO 4 diesel, which is still not available locally.

• And anyone willing to buy it? I doubt that.
      Look at the sales of Proton Savvy which has Renault engine in it, which is the most fuel efficient car at the time.
      Only 40,000 units since 2005, and the production is already stopped last month while Myvi achieved record sales at the same time.

I’m one of Savvy drivers, hopefully spare part prices would not skyrocket so high so that we can retain our own beloved Savvys.

• I believe Malaysian nowadays have awareness on European engine potential and no longer stuck with ‘Japanese engine worship madness’ mind

• Nizam80 on May 20, 2011 at 11:34 am

Stopped production already? That’s sad. Based on my experience of owning a Savvy, the 1.2 renault engine feels more lively than the 1.3 Campro in the Saga BLM.

Now look at this baby from renault…. 320nm at just below 2,000 rpm!!

• Yeap…diesel is the way to go…read somewhere that IF the PRIUS has a diesel version wt bluetech tech ala VW, it will easily beat its current petrol-hybrid combo due to weight saving from the lack of battery.

I do Believe, interim be4 full EV,…..a diesel hybrid make more sense than a petrol hybrid

• tokmoh on May 19, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Fuh fuh… interesting. I wonder if it can trickle down to a Proton soon… their partnership with Nissan-Renault will prove to be useful if this happens :)

• shawal on May 19, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Proton savvy has a renault 1.2 petrol engine (waja’s renault 1.8), Hope this engine could come to our shores too , in the new persona replacement mebe..?

• Wisdom on May 19, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Hope this engine will be or has been properly tested to our climate before channel down to Proton.

I still cant forget how their engine killed the Waja 1.8. Torn radiator blade, failure of crank sensor, auto solenoid valve etc.

Technology is good if its reliable.

• BMW and Ford do not have any problems with our dirty diesel. Nissan should replace this potent engine to their lineups from Livina, Sylphy, Tiida or even Teana.

• syedjalil on May 19, 2011 at 4:24 pm

There are issues using Euro2 diesel.
      Engines have been detuned. If it was not an issue then
      Merc would have brought in their Blue Efficiency C200/C250

• Paul Tan on May 19, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Where are you getting this “engine detune” thing? And what are these “issues”. Both Harvinder and I drive modern turbodiesel cars everyday without issues. Don’t spread lies and rumours about diesels. The engines are not detuned, we confirmed with dyno test a few months ago and posted the results here.

• syedjalil on May 19, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Yes you drive a beemer but not the current 2.0D’s.
          No I’m not spreading lies nor rumours.
          I’m not into technicalities and numbers but its a fact
          due to our lower grade diesel cos I own one.
          You know should better due to your close contact with AB,Quill & Ingress.

• Paul Tan on May 19, 2011 at 7:37 pm

There you go, making random assumptions again.

I am driving a 2011 2.0d N47B20 engined car, and I have many many friends with 320d on BMW Club Malaysia forums and our cars run perfectly fine.

The 320d owners especially have had their cars for quite some time now and there are no issues. Someone I know even upgraded from 530d to the latest Porsche Cayenne Diesel, if diesel was such an issue would he upgrade to another diesel?

We are very happy with our cars and I have never heard anyone who REALLY (instead of claiming anything he wants on the internet) owns a modern turbodiesel engine diss diesel engines because there’s really nothing to complain about.

So yes, I definitely know better, as I am talking from experience and not pulling hearsays out of my ass.

• tokmoh on May 19, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Just wondering, Paul… Does that mean if u hv an AP, u bring in let’s say a fiesta diesel from UK, made to run with Euro 5 diesel there… Nden run it with our Euro 2M diesel here, it’ll still run perfectly well here?

• Unforgiven on May 19, 2011 at 5:03 pm

If the same car is using Euro4/5 instead of Euro2, any diff in terms of reliability/performance?

• Paul,

Perhaps, ask Syed to go to SDAC PJ and give him to try Focus TDCi to know what’s diesel is all about (diesel in modern Continental). I rather prefer practical 520d over 530i, anytime.

Japan a bit lazy in Asia. In Europe most of their stars, installed with potent diesel that make hybrid somewhat irrelevant.

I still can feel how much l can enjoy driving TDci Focus over normal engine.

• nazism on May 20, 2011 at 5:33 am

Only Japan hates diesel because they think it is dirty.

• In Europe…those Japs are selling diesel…Honda wt its idtec and Toyota wt its D4D and they are way much better than their own ivtec..vvti…in term of power and fuel economy

• nazism on May 20, 2011 at 5:31 am

only toyota hilux 2.5 d4d is detuned, navara/frontier’s 2.5 dci (yd25ddti high power version) get equavialent power of a qr25de engine.

• syedjalil on May 19, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Don’t even dream of getting an inch of this engine.
    Once again the rakyat is fooled that Proton’s involvement in F1 was a wise choice.
    Renault is only the engine supplier to the F1 team and have no involvement
    whatsoever in F1 anymore when they sold off last year.
    JV with Nissan is also 50/50 as the collaboration and fesibility studies
    concluded last month and we hear nothing from both parties.

• u don’t know about proton’s collaboration with nissan which is still in talks? and nissan is under renault

• jumbo on May 19, 2011 at 7:58 pm

don’t trust this people, always talk rubbish with no fact and proof. look at his previous statement condemning our diesel even though it has no problem with latest diesel car.

• mujahid on May 19, 2011 at 3:48 pm

yeh diesel beb…. i oso will buy proton if using this engine…. the handling is great it just the engine reliability bcos im a rough driver… not sure whether campro can handle my way of driving….

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on May 19, 2011 at 6:58 pm

so…is it reliable….that is the million dollar question….

• As I said before and will say this again.

This century belongs to diesel engine. Better yet a diesel-hybrid.
    As for Japan, they prefer EV or any battery-related system for they can create spin-off industry from the battery itself.
    It is a battle between Japan and Europe automakers. USA is somewhere in the middle.

Diesel is the way forward.
    Cheaper, cleaner and more power.

• jtiongwl78 on May 19, 2011 at 10:33 pm

In my opinion and my observation, I think for a any car with such engine, has to be in CBU unit. If let say Tan Chong Introduce it, and it is less than RM100K, then I think it will be very hard to obtain permission to bring it into Malaysian market as it will threaten National Car status.

I am sure JPJ will try to MAKE IT HARD.

• Carl Wong on May 19, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Our diesel is quite good la, and 5% of the content is biodiesel I think.

• Gavin on May 20, 2011 at 2:49 am

i hear proton exora range extender hybrid, makes me want to vomit compared to dieselq

• jtiongwl78 on May 20, 2011 at 12:47 pm

I have the same feeling too. Doing nothing yet which is realistic and start promote it in the new already. Want to show off also no need to do it in advance. Until the work in proven also not too late.

• lonelyobserve on May 21, 2011 at 6:36 am

That’s Malays’ way, talk loudly before doing real things.

• mizzuddin on May 21, 2011 at 10:59 am

the perception of diesel powered which is dirty, asap hitam and not well maintained, and fit only with lorries and busses quite thick among malaysians i think… and me also thought that the modern diesel engines are not suitable with our euro2 diesel fuel…

the image of the 2.0d wiras are disturbing though :-P

• jtiongwl78 on May 21, 2011 at 12:33 pm

I admit that old diesel engine n truck, buses and some of the 4WD gives that kind of impression to people, include Wira 2.0 diesel. If you drive it fast, as what has been done by some of the taxi driver, who drive Airport Limo, black smoke spray out throughout the way from KLIA to your destination. As some of them do lap it, 1st gear up to 40km/h, 2nd Gear up to 70km/h, 3rd Gear up to 110km/h, 4th Gear up to 140km/h and 5th gear for the rest, normally up to 160km/h as that’s the top speed.

However, that is not the case for current diesel engine already. Those diesel engine ( European one ) which built after year 2000 are not like that anymore, although they run on our current Euro 2M diesel fuel. But, they add in a lot of things such as more layer of diesel fuel, water separator. These are done on rebuilt Mercedes Truck which has been imported to Malaysia from Europe. Boon Koon do supply them and those truck are running well.

As far as I understand, if you want to purchase such trucks, especially Mercedes Truck, you need to queue up and wait. Other one such as Renault will be okay.

• mizzuddin on May 21, 2011 at 11:23 am

the perception of diesel powered which is dirty, asap hitam, oily, only suit for lorries and busses are quite thick among malaysians i think…

the image of the 2.0d wiras are quite disturbing too…
    something have to be done proton decide to power their cars with diesel powerplant coz i myself thought that our diesel fuel are not suitable with modern diesel engines

• Steve_Lin on May 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Modern European oil-burner engine cars or trucks do run find on Euro2M diesel as long as there removed the Diesel particulate filter (DPF).

Without DPF , the downside is soot releases from exhaust gas & significant increase in NOx emissions and fuel consumption.