Rolls-Royce Motor Cars opens first showroom in Malaysia

Rolls-Royce has officially opened its first showroom in Malaysia, one of only 81 dealerships in the world. Located along Jalan Semangat, Petaling Jaya, the showroom is part of the Quill 9 building and is owned by Quill Motorcars. Quill also has a BMW dealership in the same building.

If you’re wondering, yes, the showroom has been around for quite some time now – it was the venue of the Rolls-Royce Ghost preview we covered back in January 2010 – but it gets an official opening today with ribbon cutting by Deputy Minister of Finance Dato Donald Lim, Rolls-Royce Asia Pacific Regional Director Paul Harris and Group Executive Director of Quill Group Dato’ Michael Ong, among other VIPs.

The new 224 square metre showroom houses three Rolls-Royce cars and has a lounge that allows customers to configure their car using colour, wood and leather samples from RR’s manufacturing plant in Goodwood. When buying a Rolls-Royce, anything is possible.

Here’s a quote from Thomas Jefferson, Bespoke Sales and Communications Manager at RR: “We’re here to make your Rolls-Royce as unique as you are. You name it, we make it happen.”

Some of the bolder requests they’ve received include leather floors, illuminated Spirit of Ecstasy figurines, a Hermes roof interior and wait for this: veneers made from a tree grown in the customer’s estate! By the way, the options list already has 20 standard veneers and 25 bespoke veneers, so you’ll have to be the fussiest billionaire to require something else.

According to RR, every Phantom client is invited to witness the “marriage of the car to its engine” at Goodwood and receives a 72-page book charting the production of their unit.

We can’t possibly detail everything about RR customisation, so potential owners will have to pay the showroom a visit for the full shebang. The Rolls-Royce Ghost is priced from RM2.1 million while the Phantom family (Standard Wheelbase, Extended Wheelbase, Drophead Coupe, Coupe) is priced from RM3.3 million. Each new RR comes with a 4-year unlimited mileage warranty and 24-hour roadside assistance.

Click here to view live galleries of the Ghost and Phantom Drophead Coupe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• for the rich and the corrupted

• imsohigh on May 20, 2011 at 5:15 pm

what about the hardworking, smart and lucky?

• captain_gaban on May 20, 2011 at 7:17 pm

The smart+hardworking+lucky will get a facelifted+elite+exclusive-super limited edition MyVi..

• Hahaha…gud one, reality in Malaysia, most of the time larr, no cables, no success…even for job hunting

• i don’t think you are smart if you buy myvi….i do agree that this is for the ultra rich n corrupted

• Rightway on May 20, 2011 at 8:57 pm

The one that is hardworking and got rich the right way, will not spend their money on this as they know how hard it is to find money. They will instead invest more on business and get a normal Benz for their daily travel. Besides, hard working people got no time for the car. XD

• chuakz on May 21, 2011 at 2:31 pm

not true….what if they are hardworking and rich the right way but love cars at the same time? I believe for some buying an RR is a dream come true…wouldn’t they want their dreams come true when they have achieved success? there are many that are filthy rich here…literally filthy…but there are still some that are not….those that are always commenting on how rich people are usually corrupted are saying that simply because they never got to make it that far in life…jealous?

• haha.. best joke ever…
          anyhow, thats is the reality that we have to face.

• the rich get richer and the poor get poorer

• go bahar on May 21, 2011 at 8:35 pm

tony wasn’t rich but he’s smart.. if you’re lazy and wish for tongkat all the time.. then u can continue blast others day and night while being a loser.

• Fazzurri on May 22, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Tony also need tongkat to start Air Asia.. AK (Air Asia airplane’s code) stand for Ananda Krishnan what.. To start business need a lot of networking. Some be ur tongkat, client, partner etc..

• Berza on May 24, 2011 at 12:42 pm

You said something true,but some of the reader wouldn’t accept it somehow by thumb down you, ironically..

• they sell keychain ah?

• Bryan on May 20, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Haha, you are funny….

• deftones on May 20, 2011 at 7:33 pm

the keychain maybe can get u a new pair of your car tyres..

• tora bora on May 20, 2011 at 9:22 pm

just buy RR emblem at 2 ringgit shop and replace ur car emblem as proton owner replace their emblem with mitsubishi.

• mike161 on May 20, 2011 at 5:12 pm

better help the poor people then buying a car cos RM3.3 million…

• imsohigh on May 20, 2011 at 5:15 pm

what if the person already donated more than 10mil to the poor?

• Maxio00 on May 20, 2011 at 5:15 pm

why dont you be the first one ?

• BeemerFreak on May 20, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Maybe he did and you will never know, cause those that always ask people to donate never donete themselves. Empty vessel makes the most noise.

• Maserati on May 20, 2011 at 5:13 pm

nahhhh,i will have my maserati anytime =D

• Varia on May 20, 2011 at 5:14 pm

now we got rolls-royce !
    i wonder when mclaren showroom comes :D

• just 4 years warranty, RR?

• jurujual on May 20, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Can I apply as salesperson?

How much personal target sales? or group target? Million? Billion? Zillion?

• to those kiasu fellas, better dump the MB and get on of these fast…MB kereta pasar oredi..love these cars though, but not for me..i’ll stick to my boeing he3

• mirror mirror on May 20, 2011 at 6:07 pm

I am always undecided whether a rolls royce is ugly or good looking.

• jay8393 on May 20, 2011 at 6:20 pm

I thought this showroom was already opened since last year?

• paparazi on May 20, 2011 at 7:00 pm

are they selling Type RR too?

• captain_gaban on May 20, 2011 at 7:19 pm

Taib mahumd will be among the 1st…or is he already in the waiting list??? Hahahaha

• don underestimate other minister lah….and son, and grandson, and etc

• ricerboyzzzzzz on May 23, 2011 at 10:02 pm

yah the peh moh already got two now with RR he will buy one more for his young wife!

• Backfromthedead on May 20, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Thomas Jefferson is alive!

And he works for Rolls Royce?

• freeze on May 20, 2011 at 8:06 pm

“When buying a Rolls-Royce, anything is possible.”

Can I have the seats made out of hymens from virgins?

• …..or replace spirit of ecstasy with golden gecko

• odi862 on May 20, 2011 at 8:37 pm

If you are willing to pay the price, maybe they’ll make it for you. Anything is possible, right? :)

• Maxio00 on May 21, 2011 at 2:41 am

yes. anything possible !
      bypass all type roadblock !

• The car got ‘please kidnap my kids’ written all over it..

• lalaz on May 21, 2011 at 10:18 am

the car got ‘my kids have bodyguard’ all over it. i kid you not, do you think a person in a 3 million dollar car do not have bodyguard for their kids? its not a myvi, and they are the super rich, they worry about safety of their kids.

• Black dog on May 20, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Win big sweep 1 st prize also cannot buy phantom. RR buyers are all devils! Tidak halal.

• Well this means Malaysians have arrived ….. now can afford Rolls Royce in big numbers that’s why an offical opening

A little out of topic ….The official ribbon cutting by Deputy Finance Minister …. should be rephrase by a Deputy Minister who has no mandate from the rakyat…… an appointed senator who has lost his parlimentary seat badly

• Tahi Mahmud : Is time to change my old RR.

• Kinsneg on May 20, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Just ordered mine today.

• SoMeOnE on May 20, 2011 at 11:33 pm

as funny as it sounds..i expected the phantom to cost a lot more in Malaysia than 3.3 million…..more like in the 5 mil ball park..hmmmm

• anand on May 21, 2011 at 1:32 am

malaysia tax makes RR super expensive, actual price should be less than a million

• MouMouRen on May 21, 2011 at 8:37 am

OUR PM will use Rolls-Royce in the NEXT Election!!! Rolls-Royce will been seen on MERDEKA Celebration. hehehe

• Hopefully MACC got an office there too!

Other than hampers, RR also cronies’ perfect free gift!

Rolls Royce in Bolehland – The Epitome Of Rasuah!

• dondon on May 21, 2011 at 10:52 am

last time malaysian bought ferrari –> wow he’s superrich
    now people buy ferrari –> dah bersepah kat KL ni..

agak2 dlm 2 3 tahun lagi RR pon jadi mcm tu jugak ke??

• nighttrain on May 21, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Folks, its official, with this showroom opening, we’re now legally ‘Negala Bepentapatan Linggi’ ah…

• nighttrain on May 21, 2011 at 3:48 pm

I will request for the Maybach franchise soon.. kasi fight sama itu LoLoys ah..

• Aiyoo…I’m still stuck with my MyVi. Anyone care to share on how to be super rich. Does being successful has anything to do with wealthiness?

• alldisc on May 21, 2011 at 7:46 pm

they have service centre or not? how many cars they accept in 1 week? 2 or 3 units?

must be easy as the service advisor, after all most likely they deal with the drivers only.

• Wah, Good news to Datuk, Datin, Tan Sri and menteri….

• Rollyourownjoints on May 22, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Used RR is one of the cheapest coz the richs dont buy used RR no face and poor guys cant afford to maintain it, so there is not much market for a used RR, unless sell it to 5 stars hotels for their fleet cars.

• im on the waiting list now…oh yeaaaahhhh

• im on the waiting list now..oh yeahhh~~~

• Car lover on May 24, 2011 at 9:50 am

Shouldn’t gave the agency to Quill

• josen on Jul 20, 2011 at 6:16 am

i could get this in us for oni 300k that oni cost rm1mil sumtin…y buy here and pay tax to the gov,,,,corrupted gov….\