B5 biodiesel programme to start with Putrajaya

B5 biodiesel programme to start with PutrajayaThe implementation of the B5 biodiesel programme in the country is set to begin in June, with Putrajaya starting off things, according to Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister Tan Sri Bernard Dompok.

It’s all going according to plan, as announced last year, for B5, which is a blend of 95% regular petroleum-based diesel and 5% palm oil-based biodiesel. The minister told reporters last Fri that the programme will be introduced in stages, starting from Putrajaya, before its full implementation at all petrol stations nationwide.

He added that B5 blend’s price mechanism will be regulated and determined by the Finance Ministry. “The price will not burden the people and the Government will ensure that it will be affordable to everyone,” he was quoted as saying.

The introduction, of course, follows on the recent announcement that the super subsidy on regular diesel is to be removed, meaning everyone – including those running commercial vehicles – will have to pay the same RM1.80 per litre for regular diesel.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• based on my googling, most diesel car can use the B5 blend. but my concern is about the warranty. maybe the workaround as same as a jailbroken ipad. if something got wrong, restore the jailbroken ipad to factory setting and send it for repair. in this case, something wrong with the car, empty the fuel tank and fill it up with Euro2M diesel before sending it to warranty claim.

• longjaafar on May 23, 2011 at 10:32 am

All these are merely PR exercises, with no real benefit. We want to follow western countries with fancy biodiesel, but they are serious about it, whereas we are just doing it with no real purpose. Instead of wasting time with bio diesel, the government should focus more on getting at least euro 4 diesel for our motorists.

• fossil fuel won’t last forever bro. sooner or later, we all have to use this kind of fuel. it’s only a matter of time

• sooner or later, we all have to starve. no more cooking oil to eat. it’s only a matter of time

• sooner or later, we all have to starve. world not enough edible oil. it’s only a matter of time

• hayden on May 23, 2011 at 11:55 pm

sooner or later you gonna depart from this world and you don’t have to think about it anymore! =D

• afeef on May 23, 2011 at 10:38 am

i love it , will gov put a lower price for the biodiesel blend?
    im currently running 1:5 ratio of waste filtered cooking oil to petro diesel.

• Vincent Ang on May 23, 2011 at 11:51 am

What king of engine are you running and how do you filter the used vegetable oil?

• Vincent Ang on May 23, 2011 at 11:52 am

What kind of engine are you running and how do you filter the used vegetable oil?

• skidmark on May 23, 2011 at 4:29 pm

old mercedes w123 diesel engine , like most people on the web says , these engines are virtually durable + can cope with harsh fuel . heat up abit and filter it with tea filter made from cloth

• speculate on May 23, 2011 at 12:09 pm

How clean is the exhaust emmission that you’re running?

• afeef on May 23, 2011 at 4:33 pm

like what most people said in the net , ur exhaust do smell like kitchen (depends on the oil’s bi-product) previously run 50:50 ratio but then engine feels abit sluggish (cooking oil is thicker , have to thin down with solvents) but then reduce it to 20:80 ratio…still got that frying smell too….and definately much thinner black smoke when u hammer down the throttle

• ezracopters on May 23, 2011 at 9:43 pm

wow..bro, ur definitely my idol..,model citizen!! u walk the talk!! org lain ckp je banyak tu la nie la.. nie baru real.. someone from the Gov should give u a credit for ur effort!!!

• afeef on May 24, 2011 at 12:12 am

ala dont say like that bro , shy la me, any mechanical failure i have to tanggung sendiri oso but so far none lar . effort to cut down diesel budget actually but with added value like cleaner emissions.

Been hooked on it since i saw mercedes run with vege oil in fifth gear , and it happens that i have a family member who works at a fast food joint , can hook me up with cheap used french fries oil.

• Carl Wong on May 24, 2011 at 4:37 am

Great job man.

• Respect!

• I am curious how this work, are they going to replace the current euro 2 diesel with B5 diesel completely or sell it by selected station, since currently all the station have only 1 diesel tank.

• Chris on May 23, 2011 at 11:39 am

I had rather they introduce bioethanol + gasoline like in Brazil. Solves pinging and knocking problem in cars because ethanol is a potent gasoline oxygenate. B85 ethanol blend can achieve RON100 value.

• brazil got large sugarcane industry to provide sugar as feedstock to create ethanol…hence their B85 gasoline.

we got large palm oil industry, & a large plant for making biodiesel has been constructed somewhere in sabah.hence biodiesel for us.

gula pun tak cukup bekalan nak fikir buat bioethanol pulak? hehe…

• ethanol doesnt only use sugarcane as source, there is other sources such as sago. some of my colleague done research convert 1kg sago/sugar = 1Litre of ethanol (100% conversion without or little waste). but the problem would be how much of ethanol % willingly to be added by our local oil vendor if they are still greedy. ethanol blend could affect their profit, how many researches in local uni that focus on producing cheap ethanol being fully “supported” by oil vendor n how cheap are modification kit (if there any) to use ethanol blend petrol.

• bioethanol has various sources apart from sugar…. sago palm pn dpt.. researches are being carry out to achieve conversion rate at 100%, 1kg sugar/sago = 1kg ethanol. let say 100% conversion achieved, the question would be is whether Petronas is willing to introduce the ethanol blend petrol?
        the downside using palm,sago and sugarcane would be the time needed for those plants to reach maturity (years for oil plam/sago) to ethanol processing and forest would be cleared to plant each plants

• Jimmy on May 23, 2011 at 11:39 am

Good to remove the SUPER subsidy.
    Is biodiesel used in 1st world country? What is the drawback?

• Na Na Na Na on May 23, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Biofuel – the pros and cons

http://www.thegreencarwebsite.co.uk/blog/index.php/biofuel-the-pros-and-cons/#disadvantages

Policy Brief on Biofuels Trade – Summary

http://www.dgis.wur.nl/NR/rdonlyres/DD06BC2A-9312-40E5-941A-59532AB7A0A7/124779/Biofuelstradeandsustainabilityareviewofperspective.pdf

————————-

• i read somewhere, US already using biodiesel since 1990s

• diesel fans on May 23, 2011 at 12:51 pm

impossible gov will lower the diesel price with 5% on palm oil…
    nowdays, palm oil price more higher than diesel price..
    so, is impossible to 100% sell on market….

• ikari on May 23, 2011 at 12:55 pm

how about euro 4 diesel?

• Another issue arised here, if the edible palm oil use for energy purposes, wouldn’t that cause a shortage of supply for food purposes, an price hike for cooking oil would certainly caused higher food price, wouldn’t that mean we are back to square one (paying less for fuel but more for food).
    Remember that sugar price increase since sugar cane been use to produce bio-ethanol, rice price increase as corn oil been use to produce bio diesel and rice been used to to replace corn as farm animal feed.
    Are we going to chop off more rain forest to plant palm ? So i can’t see the logic Bio-fuel, since in reality it does not help the enviroment nor ease the inflation.

• Suparman on May 23, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Indeed, after almost 100 years, oil palms only account for 4.3 million hectares or 13.1 per cent of the total land area of Malaysia. The country still has about 18.31 million hectares or 55.7 per cent of its total land area under forest.

The EU claim that palm oil bio-fuel may lead to massive deforestation is simply unjustified. All Malaysia is doing is asserting its sovereign right to produce food and raw material on its legitimate agricultural land.

According to data from the Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB), about 128,193 tonnes (about 0.81 per cent) of the 15.88 million tonnes of palm oil produced in 2007 was used for bio-fuel production in 2007. Of that amount, 95,013 tonnes was exported.

This trifling amount surely cannot be blamed for the world food crisis.

On the contrary, the EU diverted more than three million tonnes or 60 per cent of its rapeseed oil production to bio-diesel production, and the US has similarly diverted large quantities of corn and soybean oil for bio-fuel feedstock, leading to shortages in food oils and animal feed. It is more logical to blame them for increases in food prices rather than palm oil.

• RamuNik on May 23, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Dear My beloved govt,

Please expedite your research or whatsoever. as a major palm oil poducer, we must introduce biodiesel to give alternative to motorist. MARDI performed thier research & I taught it was kautim already.

We cant wait like forever to see diesel community here (not the commercial user ok?)

• azahar on May 23, 2011 at 1:36 pm

An industry observer said there was much to deliberate on the biodiesel programme, which is not viable given the current high feedstock prices.

He estimated that biodiesel would cost about 60 sen per litre more to produce than petroleum diesel when the CPO price is at RM2,500 per tonne and Tapis crude oil is at US$80 to US$90 per barrel.

“Some quarters believe that replacing petroleum diesel with biodiesel will worsen the Government’s subsidy burden rather than improve,

The Government’s annual consumption subsidies for petroleum fuel have been estimated at RM20bil to RM25bil. Replacing 5% of petroleum diesel with biodiesel would add about RM300mil per year to the subsidy bill, he added.

================================================================
    This article was dated Sept 2010.
    Today oil is at USD98 and CPO is RM3,300 a ton.
    So you do the maths !!

• Palm Tree on May 23, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Palm biodiesel will be attractive if the palm oil price stays below US$450 (1,377.48 MYR) per tonne and crude oil prices stay above the US$70 (214.340 MYR) per barrel.

While crude oil prices have fallen significantly by year end 2008, prices of palm oil resist further downturn, making biodiesel production unprofitable for widespread use.

However on a long term basis, with the ever depleting fossil fuel supply, biofuel will become increasingly viable.

• Shaekey on May 23, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Hmmm… that’s why Pusat Kitar Semula in Presint 9 is buying used cooking oil… If I’m not mistaken at RM4 per 5kg bottle.

• littlefire on May 23, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Bro, how about EURO4 standart?!? When implement?

• ezracopters on May 23, 2011 at 9:56 pm

forget about euro 4diesel..we do it our way..instead of building new plant and solely produce euro4, why not using resource that we already had..b5 biodiesel which had been R&Ded which produce the same output as euro4.. beside once they start using b5, and considering most of our petrol station only had 1 tank for diesel, like it or not u gotta use it!!