BMW 5-Series GT flops in America, CEO regrets using it as a replacement for the 5-Series wagon

The 5-Series Gran Turismo is one of the more divisive cars in the BMW range, and the controversy is in the looks, or more specifically, that rear end. Making its debut in the US in November 2009, the 5GT has been a sales flop, and the man in charge has shown some regret for bringing it in, according to a report.

BMW of North America CEO Jim O’Donnell also wished the company hadn’t stopped selling the 5-Series Touring. They had expected the 5-Series GT to appeal to those wagon buyers, but whichever few buyers the GT is luring, it’s from the 7-Series market.

“The disappointment I have is that I thought a lot of our 5-Series station wagon customers would go with the GT. In point of fact, that is not happening. We have lost those customers to the competition – mainly to Mercedes-Benz,” O’Donnell said.

“The GT has attracted 7- and 5-Series customers and conquests, but not the station wagon customer we had hoped,” he added, citing that in Florida, 10% of BMW 7-Series owners have replaced their cars with the 5-Series GT. BMW would ideally want Seven buyers to stick with the more expensive car, and not see the “good value” of the GT, which sits on a 7-Series platform.

When the GT was launched in the States, BMW said they expected annual sales of 4,000 to 8,000 units. They sold 2,848 in 2010 and just 720 in the first four months of 2011. One public dealership group has stopped ordering the GT because of slow sales. Other dealers said they sell one or two units a month.

No making the same mistake again, so BMW will keep the 3-Series Touring in its lineup. “We are not giving up the 3-Series wagon because if you give it up, they will go straight to the competition,” O’Donnell said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bobdbilder on May 24, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Guess who’s going to head BMW office in Lithuania?

• tiger on May 24, 2011 at 12:14 pm

i know this model will flop.. the design is awwfull… more like 4×4 + executive car…

• Bring those unwanted gt to Malaysia and sell it cheaper than the current 5 series..sure laku..Malaysians will buy as long as it is BMW..kan? haha..

• speedywinger on May 24, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Those people who can afford this car OBVIOUSLY can afford a 5 series right?.. You made Malaysian sound so cheap =.=!~

• BeemerFreak on May 24, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Haha good idea, except that American cars are left hand drive

• i think it is a nice car… hmmmm

• shahrin on May 24, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Well looks like the wagon models are still practical
    esp during family outings & with a pet on board too.
    So its back to the drawing board and looking
    forward to newer station wagon models.

• squawk on May 24, 2011 at 2:07 pm

This looks like a low X6. Both are equally ugly.

• No surprise at all there…

That thing is hideous!

• Paul Tan on May 24, 2011 at 3:15 pm

I wonder, what was he thinking? People that buy wagons in the USA already have a not very typical American thinking, they buy them for the versatility of the wagon’s fantastic luggage area. The 5 GT’s luggage area is quite small even compared to a sedan, what more a wagon. They’ve basically traded all the boot space to maximize cabin space. That is why it’s luring 7-Series customers… because of the large interior.

• An Audi A7 is a much nicer alternative.

• Actually the interior is quite fantastic. One of the best interior design in market. About the exterior, I thinks X6 is worst.

• Livewire on May 24, 2011 at 6:10 pm

When I first saw this car, I thought it was a China made fake BMW.

• Paul… At a price equal to a 7, regardless of the interior space being the same size as a 7, might as well people buy the 7…

• Paul Tan on May 25, 2011 at 10:00 am

The 5 GT interior is nicer than a 7. Slightly higher seating position, very airy feeling, and at night there’s more ambient lighting.

• nazism on May 26, 2011 at 5:44 am

That’s because 5 GT is a hatchback. In current dimensions, E-segment hatchbacks are generally larger than their sedan versions.

• MrDDR on May 24, 2011 at 7:27 pm

This what we call Gen-2 Wannabe

• Lim Kopi on May 24, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Its Ok to make mistakes Jim… BMW is allowed to make blunders ….

kez they always manage to make a comeback everytime there is a flop ….

• SoMeOnE on May 24, 2011 at 9:59 pm

my friend’s dad just bought it and she had trouble describing it to me right until the point she told me it looks weird because its looks like a elongated ‘x6’ at which point i told her that her that maybe her dad is weird…why would anyone buy this in Malaysia?..

.gosh….i dun see the point ..even the a7 is gonna screw up….i mean they originally created this ‘luxury hatches’ so that in europe private buyers will find it more unique as the sedans like the 5 and the a6 are usually used as cabs or in fleets while this will never be…but…it doesnt work….

• steventan on May 25, 2011 at 9:54 am

Bring back the BMW Touring range.
    To me its a better alternative to the larger SUV’s.
    The 3 series Touring is doing well in the UK
    saw the 320d and 335i Touring recently …beauty!!

• Anything that resemble Gen2 always get a bad curse.

• nolan on May 25, 2011 at 9:49 pm

bring back the shark shape please…….. i find the new 5 series more like UNCLE car….

• There is a unit in malaysia WTX5351. Silver. In JB. Bulky looking. Have a foto but how to share?

• Jase007 on Dec 20, 2011 at 1:41 am

This was a flop.

Own a touring now, will look to Mercedes for next one unless BMW re-introduces a wagon. BMW really screwed the pooch b/c the CPO market that should be flush with off lease tourings / wagons, is now empty.