Ismail Sabri: No RON95, diesel and LPG price hike, for now

Ismail Sabri: No RON95, diesel and LPG price hike, for nowDomestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said today that the government will not increase the price of RON95 petrol, diesel and liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) for now. He however did not mention for how long the government would maintain current prices, when probed by reporters

However, with the subsidy for petroleum products set to baloon to a massive RM18 billion this year, it’s just a matter of time before pump prices go up. The current price of RON95 petrol is RM1.90 per litre, as opposed to RON97’s RM2.90 per litre after the recent round of revision. The government has already announced that super subsidy diesel for commercial vehicles will end effective 1 June.

“This decision was made because the government is concerned for the people’s welfare. But at the same time, the government will continue studying subsidy rationalisation as a whole following the increase of fuel and gas prices in the global market,” Ismail Sabri told reporters today.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Wisdom on May 25, 2011 at 4:53 pm

So our last debate of rioting, changing government, migrating, all were useless. Haha :p

• kimi_ on May 25, 2011 at 5:54 pm

When gov said they will not increase the price, IT IS TIME for you to quickly go fuel up full tank asap !.

P/S: Same situation like in the movie – 2012 where the gov declare there are no more earthquake!!!!!!

• objectivism on May 25, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Hallo, this is a mind orgasm trick the gomen is playing on you and other sheeples. First they wanted us to think a price hike was taking place soon, then after that, they would say something like “because the gomen mengutamakan RAKYAT, price hike not going to happen”..

you’re still so happy ah… the international fuel price dropped already, no signs of price reduction also!

• maaajeeedaaa on May 25, 2011 at 7:21 pm

the real deal why they are not increasing the fuel price is because they reluctant to decrease it….the meeting supposed to discuss the possibilities of returning back the fuel price to RM 1.80…however this Belit Nasional g try to puta belit things as usual

• Wisdom on May 25, 2011 at 8:28 pm

The truth is, it will increase sooner or later. We have to face it and move on, stop talking or bashing and use this precious time to do something that giving us return.

Or PT can start giving reward to our comments :p

• nolines on May 25, 2011 at 8:47 pm

why not PR state government especially in Selangor or Penang to give subsidy to all petrol station in their state..just 20 sen per litre should do it..CAN or CAN NOT?hahaha..i’m sure rakyat will support them and win the election if they do it..

• Mr Wancer on May 26, 2011 at 1:24 am

Easier said than done la bro…

It’s not like PR states got money from Federal Gov. So how do you think they will get the money from.

This only could happen if PR can get hold of Federal Gov funds, but in order to get this they need to win the next GE…so exercise your rights and vote for the right party.

• nolines on May 26, 2011 at 10:37 am

see..because they can’t..just empty promises..

• Where does the money comes from?Money dont appear out of thin air,you know.

• jimmy on May 26, 2011 at 2:06 pm

how can no money? sgor n penang are both rich states. sure they can do a lot to help the people if they want, but they rather help themselves, these Penyamun Rakyat.

• PakAbu on May 26, 2011 at 3:38 pm

“Our federalism gives the federal government not only the most legislative and executive powers but also the most important sources of revenue. State governments are excluded from the revenues of income tax, export, import and excise duties, and they are also largely restricted from borrowing internationally. They have to depend on revenue from forests, lands, mines, petroleum, the entertainment industry, and finally, transfer payments from the central government.”

[Wong, Chin Huat (2007-07-25). “Weakened federalism in the new federation”. The Sun.]

• jimmy on May 28, 2011 at 11:20 am

if there is a will, there is a way.

• Well said. Bravo, bravo!

• before the G said ron95 price will be reviewed every 6 month…
          but after this hold-up…i really doubt that…they’re just waiting for the right opportunity to make better excuse

• very bad G

• jimmy on May 26, 2011 at 2:09 pm

yeah stupid G. if im in charge, i will increase RON 97 further until get profit and use it to compensate the subsidy for RON 95 etc. haha

• squawk on May 25, 2011 at 8:16 pm

The previous head honcho was more predictable, you know, the one that dozes off occassionally…. every time he said ‘no hike’, there will be one. :-)

• NOW only lar. TOMORROW will hike lor :p

• Ash Menon on May 25, 2011 at 5:01 pm

“…..for now.” *plays the JAWS music* jeng jeng jeng jeng…

• vincent on May 25, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Election confirm will happen this year! Cuz right after election, then only the petrol will rise.

• McKay1 on May 25, 2011 at 9:14 pm

Not if it is the opposition rules..

• harith on May 25, 2011 at 11:25 pm

u wanna bet?they promise anything in the world just to get ur vote.
        in the end they all the same

• dickybird on May 26, 2011 at 11:08 am

if that was really true then no need for elections and all that. time to sell up and get out or shut up and take it up yhe back so you can cari makan no?

• Thank you government for not hiking the price. : )

• Vincent on May 25, 2011 at 5:31 pm

You probably would be cursing on the same issue next week, my fren.

BTW, the G owes us all Malaysian a big favour for not practising a more pro-active policy regime that engage with the market dynamics.

• I might be cursing later but what is important is now.
        The government didn’t hike the price and for this should be enough reason for me to be thankful.

• Vincent on May 27, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Here you go…. Gov’t approves power tariff hike. Round 1 @ May27

More to come….

• hantu on May 25, 2011 at 5:17 pm

July 9 here we come!
    haha..

• Unforgiven on May 25, 2011 at 5:18 pm

BtN = Barang Tak Naik…

• kaninama yesterday said price to be increase very soon, today said will not increase the petro price , really malaysia boleh!

• redboy on May 25, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Every round of by-election celebrates with price hike. Just wait and see.

Btw, i support the petrol price hike as long as:

1) Better public transport (which we heard since Pak-La’s time that those petrol price hike saving will be used in building better public transport, but..do we still need to believe this?? i mean, those newspapers archive should have printed this empty promises how many rounds by individual politicians how is the saving being used)

2) Cut out those tax for import car so there is a level playing ground. Let the manufacturer decide what kind of price they wanna sell. Open market competition will create benefits to the consumers.

I believe, those 2 moves are really “concern for the rakyat”, whether they have cars or not..

• Vincent on May 25, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Electricity & water rates, petrol, gas, food stuff, not to mention the repercussion from the withdrawal of the super-subsidy diesel from among the transporters & fishing trawlers, in general. And wondering what happen to the offsetting effect of our ‘stronger’ MYR!!!

Multiply that with GST in the near future, it is not that dificult to imagine how our shoestring budget going to be stretched?

Looks like the longer we delayed on this ‘opium’ rationalisation…, the worse its implication & damage. Embrace the greater velocity of such Storms ahead!

• lazypapa on May 25, 2011 at 5:26 pm

international oil price is dropping now…

• this ministry say price will not increase, but last week got ministry said price definately will increase. Both ministry are from same party. So, as rakyat Msia …who should we listen to? who we should trust to?

• wira4g13p on May 25, 2011 at 5:31 pm

After GE sure increase…..hehehe….gud tactics from BN…give 1st take it later…

• VW_fans on May 25, 2011 at 5:56 pm

They already increase price sugar, therefore is very unwise for the Government to increase petrol but our MP said for now, means in few months we “nation” might bear again the price hike! if subsidy is so called “unbearable”. Moreover Government is abolishing the ” super-subsidy” from those ppl who abuse this privilege, is like balancing, taken out the bad apples & let us nation continue eating those good apples for a time being.

• Lightning McQueen on May 25, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Come on la Sabry… How about just revise our salary so it will level as same as the reference country… It does make sense if our we fork out 40% of our salary to fuel up our car but for other country they just have to pay 10% from their salary?… Why not u just compare it by per capita? It will leverage all factors.

• i dont mind to pay RM2.50 – 3 per liter if goverment abolish those AP…car import tax , which is we can get polo…civic…altis…at around 50-60k.

• Alan Wong on May 25, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Dream On…. if that happens…. Our National Car company will go bankrupt!! If the National Car Company goes bankrupt, all the car parts supplier will also go bankrupt, which incidently is linked to certain people in the government….

• our national car company wont go bankrupt, it will most probably taken over by other company & becoming a will known brand :)

• “This decision was made because the government is concerned for the people’s WELFARE. But at the same time, the government will continue studying subsidy rationalisation as a whole following the increase of fuel and gas prices in the global market,” Ismail Sabri told reporters today.”

Seriously, are you know what the real meaning of welfare? Damn, sakit hati betul bila aku baca ayat dia ni.

• this is the way our G talking ma.. just talk is easy mah since they totally not aware how the ppl suffer in the actual life..
      like our beloved DPM, he is so understand our ppl in actual life, so he propose that resume back the coin 1 cent, so it can help ppl to save more money in their life…
      Well say, bravo, well done for our DPM!!!

• Alan Wong on May 25, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Elections coming la my friends…. First, they play the tactic by giving you a scare… Then, they play GOOD COP by giving the good news that no price hike… AFTER ELECTIONS. you see la… sure kena HANTAM betul betul with a BIG HIKE in fuel… Anybody believe me, click like… don’t believe, click don’t like…!

• mystvearn on May 25, 2011 at 6:17 pm

I agree 100%. Elections coming within 6 months (before next fuel increase). Most probably August-Sept before the annual bajet details in parliment.

• 6 BN cyber troopers disagreed with you…..
      come on even a 12 year old kid knows that cheap trick. after they gain control for another 4 yrs, the rakyat will again be at their mercy…lets give the opposition a trial 4 yrs, if they are worse than BN ( which i doubt it ) we can always vote back barang naik. by that time BN gain back power again, BN will think 10 times before making any barang naik again…ever, bcos they know they are not invincible.

• McKay1 on May 25, 2011 at 9:20 pm

So make sure they would not win then…

• redboy on May 25, 2011 at 10:22 pm

ya, those good cop bad cop strategy from different people…obviously, we know who is the ultimate good cop saying…well, the last bad cop to announce price increase and use the saving into public welfare, public transport cannot be seen now..

• najib.com on May 25, 2011 at 6:09 pm

i really sick of the show now, today say will raise, tomorrow say will not, the day after tomorrow say maybe, then the next day say not likely, then likely, then confirm, then not sure, then see how lah, then…. come on we are not stupid but we are tired of the show already…

• watever it is 1Malaysia = Rakyat KENA DULU, Pencapaian Later-Later lah!

• Shingeegee on May 25, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Give now take later.

Give now before election. Take everything after election!

• Lancerian on May 25, 2011 at 6:22 pm

No petrol hike for now is because the GE is around the corner… After GE naik lor

• thanks gov…

• no price hike FOR NOW only ma..why??..becos election is coming lor…wait till election over see what’s the first thing will happen!

• i totally agree to pay world oil prices if car prices also to the same standard, however the impact of suddenly lowering car prices is going to create havoc in our car industry in the short to medium term. Anyone whom still have outstanding loans would suddenly see their car value much lower and settling you loan would require a huge sum to top up, used car dealers would collapse and the industry would grind to a halt. If the govt is planning to reduce duties and removal of AP’s in 2015, a gradual decrease would have to start now..

• I have a gut feeling got ‘erection’ coming..

• After election sure NAIK lah. Now baik baik 1st. If naik now. BN turun lor.

• No matter how Barang Naik regime flip flop,
    the people will thrash them come GE13!

• arjun rampal on May 25, 2011 at 7:34 pm

typical haters
    when oil price hike they said we shud change d gomen no CAT wutsoeva lah
    when no hike d election is near they jez postpone lah we’ll b cheat lah
    hike cannot
    no hike oso cannot

wtf d u want?

• Ash Menon on May 25, 2011 at 11:58 pm

first of all, your nick’s a little presumptuous, don’t you think?

secondly, you’re missing the big picture: we’ve lost confidence with the government. this isn’t the first time they’ve sung songs about good things coming, and then failed to live up to it. even for an animal, if you be nice to it, then hit it, then be nice to it, and keep repeating, even the animal won’t trust you anymore. and the people of Malaysia are far more intelligent than that.

• jalan54 on May 25, 2011 at 7:46 pm

“the government will continue studying subsidy rationalisation as a whole following the increase of fuel and gas prices in the global market”.

Please also START the study of whether Malaysia should have AP and automotive import duties…

• everything remains without price hike. but the gov take out the diesel subsidies makes everything increase by 20% – 30%. better than increase ron95 price.

• Naz@AE111 on May 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm

anyone dares to electing the new party to be the new government?

• The answer is YES!!!
      Why not, just assign the right person to do the right job.. if they not do the job right, then vote another.. that we call “Democracy”

• squawk on May 27, 2011 at 6:15 pm

There’s a saying…. ‘in politics, between the devil you know and the devil you don’t, pick the one you don’t’. :-)

• FOR NOW = DURING INTERVIEW (After interview will naik )

baik Punyer

• Meesai on May 25, 2011 at 8:26 pm

International oil price is dropping now. Why RON97 price still the same? Nice BS..

• lmao3times on May 25, 2011 at 8:29 pm

God bless Malaysia……and Najib!

• kenso on May 25, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Curiously, those who comment they want an even playing field when it comes to car prices are forgetting a vast majority of the moderate to low income earners who cannot afford to own a car will suffer even more if the petrol prices go up. Think of the roti man, your favorite rojak/chendol/economy rice van, postal/courier services and other businesses/services that consumes fuel but does not require a fancy car to carry out its duties ….. how would your life be affected if everyone increases their prices by 20%. Sure, you save some money in your initial purchase of a car …. but your spending power has not gotten any better with the additional amount of money you have pay to subsidize the increase in petrol. Imagine the pakcik/makcik who struggles to make ends meet by commuting in a single motorbike and ferrying their kids to school suddenly face a 50% increase in their monthly expenditure …. how does reducing the car import tax/duties do them any good?

Voting those monkeys back into power will almost guarantee an increase in petrol. This does not mean that the Opposition won’t do the same …. but at least we can hope for a more transparent government that puts the rakyat’s needs first and a priority rather than their own cronies.

• mmouse on May 25, 2011 at 8:52 pm

U Hooo Erection coming!!!!! Can’t wait for the orgasm!!!

• OMG….tak naik…for the time being only…..who know next week will naik again…like play roller coaster

• nolan on May 25, 2011 at 9:50 pm

as usual, Rosmah decision…..

• perdana menteri – najib
      naib perdana menteri – rosmah
      timbalan perdana menteri – muhyidin

• hope my state can be independent from Malaysia, don’t want see monkey job from BN and Utusan Malaysia!!!!!!

• All BS!

The G said no money for development but still they can buy over cronies – Bernama TV and water companies! WTF!

• iskandar on May 25, 2011 at 11:00 pm

crude price drop almost $20 but no change on ron97? Govt, pls be transparent to rakyat la

• rexis on May 25, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Tak naik? Typical… they won’t make a single noise it they are hiking it.

• BeatTheTraffic on May 25, 2011 at 11:28 pm

THIS IS VERY WRONG. Why I said that ? Example: The Selangor government is not wise to give water rebate to Selangor folks. This encourage wastage !! My neighbour is a good example, washing his inspira EVERYDAY ! Reason ? Air murah !!!

Probably there are worried about the political risk. RM 2.5 is a reasonable price. This also explain that election is really going to be held in June/July !

• Mr Wancer on May 26, 2011 at 1:41 am

Not everyone is like your neighbour my friend.

Have you think about those poor people who only use water sparingly coz they can’t afford to pay the bills even though it’s the most important element for a human to survive?

In a perfect world, everyone would be billed differently based on their monthy income but how and who is going to create such system?

If this can happen easily, the Gov no need to worry about increasing and reducing the petrol price as the subsidy would only be going to the deserving person.

But there is another potential of misuse of such priviledge. Example: A well off guy can ‘bribe’ the poor fella like RM100 every month to use his IC to pump petrol every time.

And who is going to monitor any suspicious transactions? We are talking about hundreds of thousand if not millions transactions a day….

It’s easier said than done bro….

• squawk on May 26, 2011 at 12:58 pm

I live in Selangor and still use water sparingly. I know clean water will run out some day and the more I use now the faster it’ll run out for everyone and I don’t want to be partly responsible for that. I hope I’m not the only thinking this way.

On another note, I do agree with the gradual reduction of subsidies. If the market is free to move by itself, there is no problem. The reason why we still have problems here is because while the gov wants prices and costs to be reflective of the free market, there are still many elements of our economy that are restrictive and not based on the free market. How can there be progress if there’s no balance?

• Lim Kopi on May 26, 2011 at 12:24 am

” This decision was made because the government is concerned for the people’s welfare” …

Yeah right …. BULLS***

More like, you just realised it ain’t a good idea ….

• afeef on May 26, 2011 at 12:48 am

like what the title said , FOR NOW only :)

• Herminem on May 26, 2011 at 7:08 am

All this propaganda is just a stage show before the election to show the rakyat that the actually care for us come on Barang Naik just drop the act your days are numbered

• eimsperfume on May 26, 2011 at 7:44 am

still remember when Dr.M is PM & Anuar is Menteri kewangan
    the fuel price is still Rm1.20/L even though economy crisis.
    How did they do it?

• kancilrider on May 26, 2011 at 8:01 am

Nothing to brag.. across the causeway, they reduced the fuel price!

• _xXx_ on May 26, 2011 at 9:12 am

damn bloody sicked of news like this….

• ENUF IS ENUF on May 26, 2011 at 9:24 am

a lot of bullshitting here… it is just because the GE is around the corner. they now protray to be good G to the rakyat, shud they win in the coming GE… hah, kena lah us ppl… increase to 2.50 / l at least. suffer for another 4 yrs minimum…. why? lots of cronies to look after…. only benefit 1%? how abt the 99% of the population? this is the slogan “rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan”? sure, just for cronies…. not the rest of us 99%. whatever way u wan to manipulate… i sure wun b conned by u. enuf is enuf…. u will c the MIGHT of the ppl power

• Just give subsidy coupons using lottery system randomly picked on car owner JPJ records.
    Each coupon only for certain amount in value or litres of fuel, for limited period. Govt then can control precisely what amount of subsidy available each month.

Ha! You and me the 10 million motorists better pray hard, be lucky lah. BN is broke pokai big time now.

“Anyway keep on voting BN you fools!”

• And how generous for BN to give RM320 Billion oil money to Brunei (in advance some more) huh!!!

“Anyway, keep on voting BN you fools!”

• dickybird on May 26, 2011 at 11:09 am

flip flop lagi! GE must be coming soon!

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on May 26, 2011 at 11:54 am

Of course they dun hike now. They concern about their next GE vote from nation people mah!!! Imaging now again just won the GE, you think they will consider that long to increase the petrol price???Governent pls dun presume we aresilly and still vote for you eventhought you dun hike the price now. Our decision still remain, let’s see!!

• can smell GE is just around corner

• thanks to BN, hell NO!. They should thank to us because people vote for them, get high salary, free petrol etc then what they did only flip flop talk talk

• Shaun on May 26, 2011 at 4:19 pm

A comparison of the fuel price of some oil producing countries from an unknown source. Now see the picture?

Egypt @ Mesir
    Harga Petrol : RM 1.06
    Egypt pengeluar ke-29 di dunia.

Oman
    Harga Petrol : RM1.00
    Oman pengeluar ke-28 di dunia.

Malaysia
    Harga Petrol : RM 2.90
    Malaysia pengeluar ke-27 di dunia.

Qatar
    Harga Petrol : RM 0.75
    Qatar pengeluar ke-22 di dunia.

Iran
    Harga Petrol : RM 0.35
    Iran pengeluar ke-8 di dunia..

• jimmy on May 28, 2011 at 11:18 am

dude.. in those countries they still sell RON 91 bro. unfair comparison indeed.

• Young Voters on May 26, 2011 at 7:32 pm

Come on man, if world oil price shoot up to USD150 per barrel, confirm the oil price in Malaysia will not be RM1.90 anymore and surely will be increased. We just have to accept the fact that the petrol price of RM1.90 will not be permanent forever in the future. (I m not trying to help the government or the opposition just trying to mention the fact)

True that if I m paying the actual car price without the excise duty I m more than willing to pay the fuel at world price. Let’s imagine Malaysia Toyota Altis cost RM110K, Taiwan Toyota Altis cost merely half around RM60K, the extra RM50K is paid to the government pocket and RM50K will supply me with petrol for up to 10 year (based on RM400 petrol usage per mth). Means I m paying the government RM50K in advance for petrol and now they want to increase the fuel price again? But I understand that if Altis sold at market price then PERODUA or PROTON need to sell their SAGA at the price of RM15K or even risk of closing their company. When PROTON or PERODUA closed, a lot of Malaysian will lose their job, spare part company and etc.

All having pros and cons, just depends on how the government is control everything, and we as a young voter is not KAMPUNG BOY like old time, we know how to think, evaluate and get our resources (information).

• Michael Carabini on May 26, 2011 at 8:26 pm

…………………………………IPOH 17 MAY 2011 Come next month the government will review prices of all petroleum products including the RON95 petrol before deciding to retain them or otherwise Domestic Trade Cooperative and Consumerism Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said today………….He said the price revision to be conducted by the ministry and other agencies such as the finance ministry and the Performance Management Delivery Unit Pemandu would determine whether prices would be maintained or increased depending on the governments subsidies…….. ……. According to Pemandus subsidy rationalisation plan there will be a revision every six months for subsidies on all products…….. ……. The last revision we had for diesel LPG and RON95 was in December last year…….. ……. This means that a mid-year revision will be carried out this month or early June…I cant say what will happen but the revision will take place and the governments subsidy burden is high he told reporters after officiating the Ipoh Umno Division Delegates Meeting here today…….. …….He said this when asked on the current price of RON95 petrol following the increase in price of RON97 petrol to RM2.90 per litre. On April 2 the price of RON97 which was floated according to current petrol prices rose 20 sen to RM2.70 per litre following the Middle East crisis while the price of RON95 increased by five sen to RM1.90 per litre last December…….. …….Ismail Sabri said although he had previously stated that petrol prices would not go up at the moment it did not guarantee petrol prices would stay the same forever because the government was already burdened with subsidies for petroleum products…….. ……. Last year the governments subsidy for petroleum products was RM8 billion when world fuel prices shot up and we dont see signs that it will drop.

• Alan Wong on May 27, 2011 at 12:21 pm

We don’t want the price to maintain… WE WANT THE PRICE OF FUEL TO COME DOWN!!! LISTEN TO THE RAKYAT!!!