BMW Malaysia launch K 1600 GT and K 1600 GTL bikes

BMW Group Malaysia introduced two new Motorrad models today – the K 1600 GT and K 1600 GTL. These two touring bikes feature the most compact inline six cylinder engines for serial production motorcycles to date.

The engine in question is a 1,649 cc inline six pushing 160 hp at 7,750 rpm and 175 Nm of torque at 5,250 rpm, with 70% of the latter available from 1,500 rpm. The four-stroke unit has two overhead camshafts and four valves per cylinder. Top speed is “over 200 km/h”. At a constant speed of 90 km/h, fuel consumption is rated at 4.5 litres per 100 km; at 120 km/h it’s 5.7 litres per 100 km.

Weighing in at only 102.6 kg, the engine by far the lightest serially produced inline six over 1,000 cc in the bike world. The K 1600 GT weighs in at 319 kg and the GTL at 348 kg.

The rider has Rain, Road and Dynamic modes to choose from. There’s also the unique Electronic Suspension Adjustment II system, which allows the rider to adapt not only the rebound damping properties of the front and rear spring struts, but also the spring rest of the rear spring strut and spring rate, and thus the “hardness” of the bike’s overall suspension.

These two tourers are very well equipped. Cruise control, adaptive xenon headlamps (with angel eyes!), an on-board computer and a 5.7-inch TFT colour display are among the kit supplied. The latter displays the BMW Motorrad Navigator IV system if one opts for it.

The GTL variant has different seating and ergonomics from the GT. Its single-section, dual level seat together with the rider footrests are positioned further forward and lower, and the handlebars reach further backwards for a more relaxed riding posture.

The GT is priced at RM158k and the GTL RM168k OTR excluding insurance. Gallery after the jump.

BMW K 1600 GT
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2260]
BMW K 1600 GTL
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2262]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alpha on May 26, 2011 at 4:09 pm

price??

• rageaccel2 on May 26, 2011 at 4:14 pm

am wondering if this beast could beat the ever loved goldwing. 1.6 inline 6 vs 1.8 flat six.

• P2KENARI on May 26, 2011 at 4:15 pm

COOL MOTOR..!!!

• rifle on May 26, 2011 at 4:15 pm

i want one!!
    but..err…
    no money aa..
    theehee

• they didin’t reveal the price?

• lalaz on May 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm

YES, ALREADY BOOKED!!!!

wait, i dun have motorbike license

• deftones on May 26, 2011 at 4:22 pm

wow..6 cylinders? is that a car?
    the fuel consumption isnt that great..almost like a car..
    anyway, i wonder how it rides..must be fantastic..
    how much they priced it, paul?

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 26, 2011 at 5:45 pm

It’s RM158k for the GT, RM168k for the GTL, OTR excluding insurance

• Rassan on May 26, 2011 at 4:25 pm

Design still lacks. Overall good….

• whats the price?

• Lightning McQueen on May 26, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Bloody expensive….

• I’ll go with GTL..

• _xXx_ on May 26, 2011 at 4:47 pm

where to park the bike?

I will need a trailer with a 20-ft container to fulltime follow the bike

• wah bike oso got gps

can i buy a garmin and stick to my ex5?

• zhongbie on May 26, 2011 at 5:01 pm

monster bike !

• rapidshifter on May 26, 2011 at 5:02 pm

“a 1,649 cc inline six pushing 160 hp at 7,750 rpm and 175 Nm of torque at 5,250 rpm” wow… can I put the engine into my underpower proton?? jk only… nice power range for a huge bike…

• armandd on May 27, 2011 at 5:46 pm

I was thinking the same.. the compact 1.65l inline-six must be super smooth and high revving, nice..

• clone on May 26, 2011 at 5:03 pm

How much the price for this gorgeous bike? Anyone?

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 26, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Sorry, I missed it. RM158k for the GT, RM168k for the GTL, OTR excluding insurance

• pumpkin on May 26, 2011 at 5:29 pm

i wonder hw much is it…..

• maabas on May 26, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Rm100k RM200K? afford to dream only hehehee…….

• mejoh on May 26, 2011 at 5:37 pm

must be over 160k n more than Camry 2.4 car here..

• jagung on May 26, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Whose the macha in the first photo? He looks like Bollywood James Bond!

• Ash Menon on May 26, 2011 at 10:17 pm

160k omg. For that price you could buy an Alfa or maybe even a Lotus. Superbikes ftw.

• If you can afford it…why not, at 160k…a camry is too boring compared to this, anyway this are for those whom already owned an X5 as a family car and a 3 series/mini cooper for pottering around town.

but was wondering, why the damn high taxes on bikes too?…There’s no Proton to protect in bike mkt??

• Gavin on May 26, 2011 at 11:44 pm

6 cylinder inline for 1.6 is going to be a super smooth ride for a bike, twist the throttle and let the smile grow

• fariz on May 27, 2011 at 8:41 am

RM160k for a bike, now that’s commitment…..

• Do you know those superbike plying our road esp on weekend cost?…most are averaging RM100k…an R1/CBR1000/GSX-R1000 cost around 90-100k each, but consider value for money since performance are Ferrari like but cost only 10% of the ferrari

• fariz on May 27, 2011 at 2:56 pm

yup..probably you’re right about the performance-to-cost ratio, but still, RM160k for a bike, strictly for enthusiast…. :)

• definitely for enthusiast, same as ferrari owner…btw, if u dun know/no experience on riding superbike, pls stay away or learn on low power machinery first. I’ve seen a lot of dead ppl who got $$ straight away bought an R1 & rode like a car…..end up 6 feet under

Again…..learn wt small power bikes first, those super bikes are totally different animal….u can get away if u messed up in a GTR/Type R……..but on a bike, most prob u’ll lose a few limbs if not dead.

• fariz on May 27, 2011 at 4:01 pm

exactly…and that’s the reason I don’t have a bike license, it’s basically death-on-wheels, proof, statistically speaking, bikers are prone to get killed more than any other motorist….
            it’s great if you have the skills to go fast on one of these babies….

• “a 1,649 cc inline six pushing 160 hp at 7,750 rpm and 175 Nm of torque at 5,250 rpm” = 2000++ cc for normal car engine.. why this technology not convert to car??

• Ayo…take a look at those rev to get those power output….compare to beemer cars, which peak torque are at lower rev. Bikes can get away wt low torque at low rev due to them being lighter than cars…..furthermore, its normal for biker taking corner in 2nd gears & ppl rides bikes for fun ( perah the trottle & hit the rev limiter) but can still get away wt OK fuel consumption (ringan mah), my CBR600 can easily do 17-18km/l while riding like a mad man (rev at 8,000 – 13,500rpm)

• erwan billy on May 27, 2011 at 10:31 am

Same price as my car. Giler bell

• azahar on May 27, 2011 at 2:24 pm

i just bought a house for 156k

• putra_rider on May 30, 2011 at 9:37 am

when u have the money and the passion,
    the price is not an issue anymore…

• Duc Monster on May 31, 2011 at 9:39 am

Ducati desmo “motogp replica” price almost RM 700,000 in Malaysia, but people still buy. All this thing is a toy for a rich boys…

• exocet on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:31 pm

People,

Check out what the K1600 offsprings have to offer :o
    http://www.gizmag.com/bmw-advanced-safety-concept…

Cool eh B)

• nazri on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:31 pm

where can i find new bmw k 1600 gt

• Roslan Md Desa on Feb 24, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Mr Danny,
    I tengah mencari dealer untuk bmw k1600 gtl..nak maklumat untuk pembelian dan loan..