Proton Saga FL 1.6 Executive now available – RM46,549

The new Proton Saga FL 1.6 Executive has been announced by Proton today, carrying a price tag of RM46,549 in Peninsular Malaysia, a small premium over the previously range-topping 1.3 litre Executive model’s RM43,298 price tag.

This should be good news for those who have been asking for a high spec 1.6 litre Campro IAFM engined Proton Saga, as previously the 1.6 litre engine was only available for the B-Line in the pre-FL Saga model. This new Proton Saga FL 1.6 Executive is only available with a 4-speed automatic transmission and in a solid white color only.

Other differentiators for the 1.6 litre variant externally are new alloy wheels and the decorative body sticker that you see running across the shoulder line of the car. On the interior, Proton has added dark chrome finishing on the air conditioning outlets, the center panel, the door inner handle, and the steering wheel ring. Safety wise, the Saga FL 1.6 Executive comes with dual airbags for the driver and front passenger.

“The 1.6L Saga should provide car buyers, especially those from the younger generation of purchasers and car owners with an even more attractive, affordable, cost-effective and powerful alternative,” said Proton’s managing director Datuk Seri Haji Syed Zainal Abidin.

Proton currently sells an average of 6,700 units of the Saga every month. Proton expects the new 1.6L Executive variant to contribute an average of 300 units a month.

They are targeting to sell a total of 83,000 units of the Saga (and a total of 173,000 Protons) during the 2011/2012 financial year.

UPDATE: New pix added to photo gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2256]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AhBeng on May 26, 2011 at 12:29 am

is there a necessity for this?

• is there necessity for this ???? what kind of Q’s is this ?…less than 50k for a 1.6L of a decent size and specs….& u still need to be negative about it ?…..hmmm… i bet you proton basher’s is coming out now in droves just for the sake of bashing !!!!….

• kimi_ on May 26, 2011 at 1:49 am

The BLM before facelift is way more nicer than FL. The new taillight look handicapped as it is too small. The front light look awkward from the side.

Proton is the only carmaker that make the car more uglier after facelift. I love very much the styling of BLM BEFORE FACELIFT. But this FL version is so ugly, my friends agree with me too. This is because the previous BLM design from Korean company (LG) while this FL fully from local???????????

However, 1.6 is good for the current 1.3 campro which has low pick up power in low gear and from static.

• tora bora on May 26, 2011 at 7:22 am

have u heard phrase “beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder “?

• Cucukman on May 26, 2011 at 7:30 am

yup… new tail light too small… look like something missing ….
          maybe can stick some retro reflective stickers around the lamp to make it look bigger..

• alldisc on May 27, 2011 at 9:36 am

but new lamp is LED. very low chances of defect ie blown bulb.

• lalazhai on May 26, 2011 at 7:54 am

i am driving a myvi,and i must say, this time, proton has done the right thing.

well, i must say, proton is now moving in the right direction by providing cars ppl wanted, they must provide a better after sales service, thats all. no more the famous, ‘proton memang macam ini’ kind of attitude.

so now we can see saga cucuk and vios and city already :) and inspira cucuk civic, altis forte lol.

• Just me on May 26, 2011 at 8:30 am

I just wondering how many people that bought proton because they really like proton, for the look, performance, quality, etc. Of they buy because there are no other cheaper alternative? I’m not against proton, I owned 2 proton models in the past. When I can afford Jap, I go for Jap. Now I can afford Continental, I go for continental. That’s the behavior of the car buyer. Let’s face the truth …

• Daniel on May 26, 2011 at 8:59 am

Hahaha…yes, you are right bro. I’m driving a proton now coz when I started work only get 2.3k a month…so drive proton lor. Now looking at Japanese cars…I think the Nissan Latio 1.8 is really a good bargain…powerful for high speed highway cruising & comfort. What u think? Latio = good?

• then u r buying an overprice piece of junk… that japanese car especially vios should be only priced at 50k… the quality is just a little bit higher than saga but bear in mind, if saga dont have the tax as well, the saga price should be around 30k-40k for the full spec and compare vios and saga at that price tag, i think saga is still a winner here… unless u r buying at east a civic/golf/focus/camry…

for me, the best car to buy below 100k price tag is buying a proton (inspira, persona, saga and even exora). if you want to buy a foreign brand of car, u should AT LEAST buy a civic, golf, focus, or an altis (the 2.0 one)… seriously!!!

• dickybird on May 26, 2011 at 10:35 am

@daniel, agree! driving the grand livina 1.8! damn smooth and quiet! better than the old avanza and more oomph than the exora for sure!

• lalaz on May 26, 2011 at 11:45 am

@justme

So in malaysia how many can buy the cars they like? or through out the world?

even in US, how many?

you buying BMW 320? why not BMW335? why not BMW M3? so you think you have a choice by buying the entry level car?

greed has no limitation. unless u are able to buy a ferrari, otherwise, i’ll say, your Vios and BMW entry level is nothing to be proud of.

jap/ conti entry level is laughable. lol.

• FL-starter on May 26, 2011 at 12:16 pm

I got FL as my first car. Yea, agree I can’t afford other ‘better’ cars. But you can’t deny Saga (or any other Proton cars) is getting better in design, look, performance, quality, etc.
            Even if you go for Jap or Continental when you can afford it, it’s only for the brand logo. Let’s face the truth.

• ko malu saje... on May 27, 2011 at 4:24 am

Well, the truth is, I can afford a Merc (which I’m driving one), but still I choose Proton over T and H as my daily driver.

• Hey I bought because it can run at top speed of 200km/h or more which no standard Japanese at the same cc run this fast. Don’t talk about the old proton during that time proton don’t have technology. Talk about today proton.

Suspension quality from Lotus is better than any other Japanese car at the same class. We should appriciate what we have and strive for the better. If you well educated is it Japanese people comdemn their car like that is it good for us to say like that. If your house is not nice so you tell every body and condemn your own house or look at your self is it so perfect ?

• hector_smacker on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:01 pm

i do… i buy proton bcos i love em… i bought a savvy as my first car… bcos it’s tough and handling very good… now thinking of UPGRADING to Saga FL 1.6… thanks for asking anyway… on question whether bcos it’s cheap or not, that’s way out of the question… i earn more than the average ppl and i still drive a proton simply bcos THERE’S JUST SO MANY OTHER THINGS TO THINK ABOUT THAN JUST A CAR… so to hell with all the proton bashers… regards

• and we all know why the imports that are of better quality than a Proton is priced so high don’t we. Even with new line up, Proton is still afraid or don’t have the balls or dignity to tell government to remove the protection, let all hell break lose and let Proton compete spec per spec, quality per quality with imports.

What a loser Proton, it’ll end up like MAS very soon.

• breaL on May 26, 2011 at 8:46 am

for 46k no its not…..

• francis on May 26, 2011 at 8:52 am

lalazhai… you are right… Vios is going to launch another brand new edition and they are not changing in term of mechanical! (Charging extra too than normal spec)

i cannot say how good is this Saga will be but less than 50K + engine upgrade definitely a good move from Proton rather than T-Brand fooling around with their “plastic-surgery” on their car looks…

Originally Saga based on a Lancer which was a C-segment car (correct me if im wrong). I dont understand why C-segment tiba-tiba jadi B-segment…

• BuRaIaN on May 26, 2011 at 9:46 am

Sad to say but that is because the ‘new generation’ saga is based on the Proton Savvy, hence the reduce in width and size. Sorry but no more lancer DNA.

• squawk on May 26, 2011 at 1:19 pm

C-segment cars today are a lot bigger than the old ones.

• protong on May 26, 2011 at 1:48 pm

saga is b segment la….

• francis on May 26, 2011 at 2:04 pm

protong… im am referring to Saga (1985–1991) model…
            “Originally”

• LeBronJames on May 26, 2011 at 9:16 am

Call me Proton Basher or whatever…

Yes Saga FL 1.6 not only cucuk City/Vios but what about the safety? I have a Saga 1.3 and City and I find that the Saga is not as stable as City/Vios (maybe due to pricing factor) and also the break is not as solid. Anyway Saga FL is just for normal driving, don’t push it to the limits, dangerous I warn you. Air bags will not safe you either. One phrase – Still need to improve, not to be proud of.

• johndol on May 26, 2011 at 11:33 am

I definitely agree, the SAGA body is not suitable for high speed compared to City. I’ve tested SAGA, City and VIOS and sadly SAGA performs the worst on high speed. Feels like flying an aeroplane. Braking at high speed also is not very effective for BLM. Its a nice car, but if you want a car that constantly run at 120km/h and above there’s always Persona.

• Accord on May 26, 2011 at 1:39 pm

100% agreed with you. Saga Fl not for high speed over 140km/h.
            Its quite dangerous. We need to upgrade the suspension system if you want to
            push the car to the limit. Better buy Persona if you really love to drive fast..

• City and VIOS can be compere with this BLM? so funny la you all.. Basher..

• mizzuddin on May 26, 2011 at 3:38 pm

correct me if i am wrong…
            when three passengers on-board, suspension belakang mendap already for BLM including the FL…

the main reason i fork more and opt for the Persona…
            i can’t afford much anyway… =)

• AhBeng on May 26, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Finally someone got my point..that’s why i commented “Is there a necessity for this?”. 1.6 yeah very fast and powerful, but you cant (or you don’t want to) do high-speed due to the questionable stability. OR MAYBE it’s for the fuel consumption on normal driving? (really?) actually what’s the point for this? Rakyat car again ah? (If it is, not sincere enough lor).

• Karimsopian on May 26, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Come on lah.. If you want to drive like hell, pushing it to the limit every time, get the real thing, sports car kaa apa kaa..

They made SAGA for a certain group of people, young, fresh grad & middle class perhaps who want a drive to work and for common daily usage. And maybe Proton are getting very close to that goal.

You want a better drive than a Saga, get a Persona. You want much more better drive, get an Inspira. You want a much more damn-fast-crazy-like-hell-car-so-that-you-can-flash-around-your-highbeam-pushing it to the limit, get an audi ka, benz ka, bentley ka, masserati ka…

Afterall, they make that speed limit of 110km for a purpose, not just for the fun of it. Common sense right?

Our big family own a 2.0 Wish, the old Vios 1.5, the old 1.6 Altis, the new 1.8 Altis, a 1.3 Myvi, a 1.3 Saga and a Yamaha 125 ZR which cater everyone needs accordingly. And we are happy with our Saga.

Make the best choice of what we can choose and live with it. This is life.

• karimsopian on May 26, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Come on lah.. If you want to drive like hell, pushing it to the limit, high speed every time, get the real thing laa…. sports car kaa apa kaa..

They made SAGA for a certain group of people, young, fresh grad & middle class or perhaps who want a drive to work and for common daily usage. And maybe Proton are getting very close to that goal.

You want a better drive than a Saga, get a Persona. You want much more better drive, get an Inspira. You want a much more damn-fast-crazy-like-hell-car-so-that-you-can-flash-around-your-highbeam-pushing it to the limit, get an audi ka, benz ka, bentley ka, masserati ka…

Afterall, they make that speed limit of 110km for a purpose, not just for the fun of it. How fast do u want to drive by the way? u going to work ka u wanna win some race? Common sense right?

Our big & extended family own a 2.0 Wish, the old Vios 1.5, the old 1.6 Altis, the new 1.8 Altis, a 1.3 Myvi, a 1.3 Saga and a Yamaha 125 ZR which cater everyone needs accordingly. And we are happy with our Saga.

Make the best choice of what we can choose and live with it. This is life.

• Saya dah pakai vios J series.Hanya gagah pada nama…plastik like murah-murah aje…tak ada pun yang menarik…kalau nak nama bolehlah pakai vios..nak menunjuk2 katakan….wife pakai persona lebih sedap duduk dalam persona…rugi beli vios..apa2 pun kalau saya nak tukar kereta saya akan go to continental….lebih selesa & berkualiti…

• redboy on May 27, 2011 at 1:08 pm

look the sales of the City/Vios and multiply the Quantity with the price and see what is the total sales result compare to your belove Saga/Myvi.

Inpira success? Its outsold by Civic and Altis last month.

• Jeff Kow on May 31, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Do we still think Proton is the cheaper, for me is not, they are local car, should b much more cheaper than import car. For example the inspira. 2.0 over RM90000. If Mitsubishi with out tax just only RM70000 plus with 2.0. Proton and Mitsubishi also car manufacturer, why Mitsubishi can make it RM70000 plus and proton cannot. Do you think Inspira 2.0 still consider cheap……….much more expensive than Mitsubishi with out tax. (Inspira is local car with out tax, so compare with Mitsubishi without tax price). Be smart^^

• wounded leading wounded on Jun 13, 2011 at 4:47 pm

because local car also have to pay tax to the government.

• rotring_guyz on Jun 18, 2011 at 4:33 pm

yup bro ur right!!!

• rkg38 on May 26, 2011 at 9:45 am

yeah,agree…i also prefer pre-FL version…
          FL version…front stil acceptable…the taillight really look cacat…is this bcos they want to cut cost? cos they give LED, so make it smaller in order to reduce cost…

btw, can we replace the taillight v the pre-FL version together v the bumper??

• khylie on May 26, 2011 at 11:31 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SbX4Ld_QiM
            vs your T and H
            http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j32yZ4KwrNI&feature=related
            http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZYHvTVXpZo
            your so called supreme jap cars dont seems to do any better than proton.

• artworkz on May 26, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Ford fiesta better

• ericten on May 26, 2011 at 5:16 pm

toyota better la.. the boot can open during crash wan

• Azizi on May 26, 2011 at 11:25 am

Benda ni subjektif.. ikut citarasa masing2.. Bagi saya SAGA FL ni lebih cantik daripada versi sebelumya..

• Hei you say no power at low gear but top speed is better than japanese car sorry. Have you ever drive proton at top speed and take conner much better than japanese. Why dont you talk about vios city that have low top speed. Why don’t you talk that Mercedes no power at low gear . Proton with Lotus technology is like VW, BMW, Audi, Mercedes and many more less power at low gear but very power full at top speed.

Have you drive VW 1.6 it the same like Campro 1.6 less power at low gear but top speed very good. You only drive japanese VW can reach 200km/h so do Campro 1.6. But not for japanese 1.6 they put cut off at 180km/h because it will damage the engine. You know what Campro too got Cut off but the speed goes more than 200km/h. It means Proton Cut Off at higher speed but Japanese at lower speed.

Please time has change we can produce car like japanese with Lotus technology which is better than Japanese Technology at certain aspect. Since proton target market for the medium income group so the quality is medium.

Honda or Toyota brand like Alphard has the same top speed with exora people say Exora has no power do you think Alphard has power. To drive at 120 km/k at 4000rpm it this power. I you drive BMW X5 4000rpm is for speed of 160km/h so Japanese technology is soooooooo bad . Do you that ? Japanese is nothing now.

You know What Proton Inpira got MIVEC engin never been given to proton before this, the has been in existence for so long but never running on WIRA or WAJA . Since proton has their on technology at par with Mitsubishi so no secret any more even proton got better suspension.

This is new melinium we have change a lot please ralise that at say thanks for what we have.

• focus tdci on Jun 11, 2011 at 12:42 am

sucky english, so syok sendiri punya proton ass kisser. if we are so good at making cars, export it and see how it sells all over the world?! otherwise, you are just talking out of your backside only. ptui!

• Michael on Nov 11, 2011 at 9:16 am

proton saga Fl 1.6 auto , gear tranmission really very poor as it take longer time to change gear when compare to other japanese car like toyota vios and that is why the fuel comsumption is much much higher than vios

• freeze on May 26, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Does this car come with unlimited warranty for crankshaft, steering rack, IAFM, accelerator sensor?

I think Proton is trying to reduce the Malaysian population. That
        s the only reason why they come out with a car that kills.

• I like it bcos of the price only……others…so so only. I believe most rakyat have same opinion….TQ.

• Jeff Kow on May 31, 2011 at 4:01 pm

If with out Proton, If with out tax…….we all driving Lancer 2.0 GT lor…….Vios without tax…..RM 35000 to RM40000 only lor……where got Proton Saga 1.6…….

• Good news to rakyat who going to buy P1 car. But i dunno how the P1 new saga 1.3 owner feeling now….bcos just extra RM3k++,then can get 1.6 engine.

• david on May 26, 2011 at 11:48 pm

No regret as 1.3 version is using less fuel consumption than 1.6 version (official pamphlet), i can go 300km++ from a full tank + i dont like white solid color thats easy to get dirt (blue rock, silver n grey is beautiful) as i cant remember when d last time i wash my car.. and final point, i dont like driving like hell like there’s no tomorrow…i enjoy my ride…

• wanlee on Jun 07, 2011 at 7:42 am

aik…so weird..full tank can reach up to 300 km ++ only??my SE BLM with full tank can reach up to 450km++….I drove my SE BLM from taiping to melaka and pusing town melaka sikit…total km 1025km only with 120 MYR…sampai taiping still got 2 bars…

• Miskin Malaysian on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Poor BLM.My Myvi can run on various driving condition from Bandar Jengka,Pahang to Kuala Terengganu (323km++) using Jerangau-Jabor road with only half tank.Calculate the distance if full tank.
            Some will say,’tutup aircond boleh la’.But the reality is i’m carrying 4 adults without tutup aircond along the way.

• jtiongwl78 on May 27, 2011 at 3:38 pm

If it comes with manual transmission still ok I think. As we can lap it hard. Remember to apply application of st gear up to 40km/h, 2nd gear up to 70km/h; 3rd gear up to 110km/h, 4th gear up to 140km/h and the remains use 5th gear.

I am sure it will be very powerful if can do this.

• waja10 on May 26, 2011 at 12:31 am

why no ABS ? and MT version ?

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 1:01 am

Its not written ‘no abs’ , …but Manual transmission is more fun …especially for a small car…

• HirumaKecil on May 26, 2011 at 7:57 am

Who need a powerfull automatic car?

• beatnik on May 26, 2011 at 8:37 am

Proton said this model is targeted at young generation buyers.. young generations nowadays don’t like to drive manual, hence proton decided to offer AT only. sad but true.

• LeBronJames on May 26, 2011 at 9:20 am

Some more want MT, Proton scared later you chop B16B and also 4G93T kau kau… :O
      hahahaha… Maybe the demand and the survey for the previous Saga 1.3 FL is mainly AT leh?

• kalil on May 26, 2011 at 9:26 am

maybe MT is reserve for local taxi mah :-D

• anand on May 26, 2011 at 10:23 am

for many people they dont know what ABS mean let alone use it, remember alot of 1st time buyer out there want auto

• wolfsburg on May 26, 2011 at 10:53 am

If they don’t know then you should educate them.. As a national car brand it is such a shame that the best selling family car has no ABS… Hundreds and Thousands of Proton Saga BLM without ABS are running in the whole country in 21st century… LOLX!

• corolla_KE70 on May 26, 2011 at 3:57 pm

yeah shame on Proton. Even Myvi and Viva also got ABS and 6 airbags, rite?

• Karimsopian on May 26, 2011 at 6:01 pm

6 airbags?

• joepng on Dec 04, 2011 at 5:11 pm

ya, 4 on wheel.. 1 on driver’s stomach and 1 on the corolla_KE70’s head, instead of the brain….

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 7:09 pm

myvi got ABS, EBD and DUAL airbags , pre-FL saga only came with 1 driver’s airbag, WTF! , plus Myvi SE is offered with manual box

• tapirs on May 27, 2011 at 12:45 am

my friend died bcoz of myvi airbag…

• ko malu saje... on May 27, 2011 at 4:35 am

ABS, EBD and DUAL airbags… on the paper box?

• shahrull on May 27, 2011 at 6:06 pm

aiyoo….why u guysz comparing myvi n saga??? are both the same segment car???? comparing saga n myvi aiyoo….tau pasal kereta taki nieh…..

• speedlover on May 26, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Yeah right!…have you seen any perodua car after accident?..it does not looks milo tin anymore..it looks like aluminium foil being crumpled waiting to be tossed into the dustbin!!! So..no use of having the so called ABS or airbags if the the car body will not save your life during crash!!! Driving skills and good attitude on the road was the best solution… just my opinion

• bcos they drive too fast…. over 140? 160? 190km/hr u think the little ABS or 2 air bags can save u????

• Yeah, no MT is very disappointing.

• freeze on May 26, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Because when you crash and die, Proton will have one last customer that claims warranty. So double Profit for proton.

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 9:06 pm

yep….checked the website…. no abs, no ebd , must drive cautiously then…, nvm , even the 200k pound Noble M600 dont have ABS n EBD either….

• jalan54 on May 26, 2011 at 12:36 am

So later the one with cvt will be RM56k???

• CVT version hurry up. it will save up lots of fuel and then people will have no reason not to buy saga compare to myvi. hahaha.

• The saga already saves a lot of fuel compare to myvi yet more powerful.. you get boot summore.. although myvi design is nicer..

• LeBronJames on May 26, 2011 at 11:43 am

That price better get Persona then more stable and larger space.

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 7:16 pm

I went to proton’s showroom with my buddy 2 years back , hes 1.8m tall, i’m 2cm shorter, so he sat in front i sat behind him, the persona wuz killing my knees, bt saga has more space! surprisingly !, it is due to its taller bench set up and taller roof, bt i think persona is abit more wider,

that said, having previously owned a wira, and the abysmal first gen waja (my mum gt hers 3-4 months after launch, so it was 1 of the early ones) , I was impressed with the interior quality of the persona, bt hands down I do believe this Saga FL is a good car, they got many things right, too bad they still dont offer the bloody manual box!…

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 7:19 pm

if it comes with paddle shifters…i dunt mind….hahahahaha

• pacifictuna on May 26, 2011 at 12:37 am

i need to see the interior……

• nebula87 on May 26, 2011 at 12:38 am

Alamak…those who bought Saga FL 1.3 sure regret ady!! Me, BLM owner already regret liao!!
    Btw, does this model got to do with the next FL SE version?…New Proton Saga FL SE edition 1.6!!!
    Let’s us wait…wakakkaka!!!

• rosdi on May 26, 2011 at 1:22 am

My wife bought the FL 3 months ago… huhuhu.. now got 1.6 waaaaa!!!

• Must be to compete with the coming 1.5 Myvi

• T.H.Chiang on May 26, 2011 at 8:24 am

Same here. I bought it last month! Feel like killing myself. 1.6L! Bet it’s gonna be a very nice drive

• taboogen on May 26, 2011 at 7:49 am

SE coming soon with extra bodykits.. new wheels… new gadgets… new lah everything

• hvannees on May 26, 2011 at 9:23 pm

speaking about myvi, i meet with salesman last Tuesday and it already open for booking. he said just add 3K from current SE price and Walla… u get new 1.5 myvi. i not salesman but just to share. this add 3K just like this saga 1.6 case.

i am not to it haha..

• fariz on May 26, 2011 at 8:56 am

same here.. regrt already….

• autoecom on May 26, 2011 at 12:40 am

Executive? 4 speed? Aduhhh!!!

• one two three on May 26, 2011 at 12:42 am

your beloved camry 2.0 also 4-speed auto

• autoecom on May 26, 2011 at 12:57 am

What i mean don’t call “executive” if standard 4 speed. lol

• autoecom on May 26, 2011 at 1:04 am

What i mean is, don’t call “executive” if the standard of 4 speed lol

• relax bro no need to post twice what u mean…….what ever u mean is pointless cos u just get busted by one two three……fail…LOL

• executive is not meant to refer for the gearing la derr..

• autoecom on May 26, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Back to 1980’s marketing strategy the car company put Luxury la, limited la, executive la, special edition la…people who drive that car feel syok sendiri la..today we look into spec not the mewah name but spec still ciput.

• Accord on May 26, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Everybody here talk without study the fact. I m not the proton owner yet but
            always drive my office proton cars. I think Paul Tan also tired explained
            those people with have LESS Brain But TALK too much..
            Proton have classified their cars into three category depending on specs..
            Standard —- Executive —– Premium.
            So thats mean for Saga FL 1.6 only have one variant that call EXECUTIVE
            Dont you know that????????????????

• dont you know that they do not use baseline, medium line and high line anymore instead they use standard, exer, and premium now

• samyyd on May 26, 2011 at 12:46 am

sweettt… but FL exterior is ugly compare to blm SE. if can have 1.6 auto in BLM SE much more better.

• At least can achieve better power-to-weight ratio.

• seductive on May 26, 2011 at 12:46 am

this is good news, I like…

• aiyoh… should’ve told my mum to wait for this,…but nobody got any idea proton wanna sell the 1.6

• kodok on May 26, 2011 at 9:18 am

previously 1.6 only for taxi right…

• Udon-GE on May 26, 2011 at 11:16 pm

they sell 1.6 BLM version before, 400 unit only or so.

luckily i got one, thank to the dealer.

• alfie60 on May 26, 2011 at 12:48 am

If only Proton had use AMP parts this car would be 20% cheaper!!!!

• Eyesore on May 26, 2011 at 7:51 am

You know, the AMP parts has durability less than the original parts…. if put AMP parts later you complain pulak apsal brake pad cepat habis bla bla bla…

• Alvin Hsu on May 26, 2011 at 12:53 am

Kind a great bargain from Proton below RM50K really decent price.

• john doe on May 26, 2011 at 12:56 am

ahahah, proton so naugthy. certain people now will find it is now difficult to choose between this 1.6 saga fl n soon arrive 1.5 myvi. myvi looks better, but saga price absolutely cheaper.

• rosdi on May 26, 2011 at 1:23 am

Ini untuk potong myvi laa… what else…

• loveit on May 26, 2011 at 9:35 am

compare to this saga 1.6…MYVI look better in what way?
      thumb down if you like me :))

• freeze on May 26, 2011 at 6:48 pm

No way this junk can beat MyVi 1.5 VVTi engine. IAFM conk after 6 months VVTi will keep on going.

MyVi for the win!

• dare to cut my fingers this iafm survive even more than 6 months. my company car was blm and already 2.5 years in service for both of them. this saga have clocks 120,000km++ for mileage (we’re oil & gas service company so we travel a lot). the best part is, this saga have been “kaw2 lanyak”. not ever warm up the engine first, cruising 140~150kmh , tackle the corners with high pay loads even more fast, and braking power still in suberb!!! …but, this saga never give us problem…so,i dont think myvi has that ability….peace..

• looks like your so-called Saga performs like a sports car?haha~

• lalok_stylo on Jun 03, 2011 at 6:24 pm

my dad bought saga SE 4 8 months already and still feel like a new car…..
        no problem at all….

• chris on May 26, 2011 at 1:02 am

Piece of crap metal w/o ABS…c’mon man how many lifes ABS can safe than airbag?

• Lanovi on May 26, 2011 at 1:18 am

i”m sure you never drive a proton..
      Even got ABS , you can die ma..

• alfie60 on May 26, 2011 at 2:12 am

Agreed Lanovi. Even if Proton has ABS in an accident you die because its such a shitty car..Other cars maybe got hope to survive mah….

Troves of it………..;-)

• Bro, try yourself Civic ABS and in the same time try Gen2/Persona ABS. And then u will praise to God, because Persona ABS are way feel safer than civic. U dunno how unsafe its feel when ABS kick in when driving a civic. Personally, i will prefer proton ABS compare to 8th gen civic ABS. Try other car first, than barulaa comment bro..

• Are you joking?? proton ABS better than civic ABS..

• Mr.VW on May 26, 2011 at 1:49 pm

sometimes ppl like to create their own story…

• felali on May 26, 2011 at 4:44 pm

SOME people just love to bash and bash without any knowledge or experience which one is good or better. Its mentality.

• most ppl don’t know how ABS works, including me. Only know if it activated, ur car will shake like hell & noisy??? Scary….. Ppl just hoping to get more with cheaper price that’s all… Example, like buy pc, is Asus, got i7, 8G Ram + 1TB Hard Disk yet less than Rm1,500, u buy or not?? U don’t know what or how i7 work, still Must Buy!!!!

• konyang on May 26, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Diff car maker different feel.. If proton, you even sometime cannot notice unless u wind down ur window and listen how ur wheel sound differently. Nothing happen on pedal. If Honda, u’ll feel the brake pedal kick in. however when rough surface, the pedal kick in very2 rough and its not so comfortable especially when emergency braking. Nissan oso got pedal kick in but not as obvious as honda.

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 7:25 pm

ya’ll know right that in other countries, their driving school teaches them how to identify when the ABS kicks in, and how to use it….in Malaysia….u hv to learn yourself…

• baharum on May 26, 2011 at 1:21 am

i rather have active security feature working everytime i applied the brake, to AVOID collision, than the one who only SUPPOSEDLY functioning during collision, ONCE.

• wolfsburg on May 26, 2011 at 10:56 am

Both active and passive safety are important… Quite a shame that they would rather you crash into then only protect you rather than preventing you from crashing… People who think that ABS = Aku Brek Sendiri are those who never experience the ABS or they are too ignorant…

• chris,

I wonder who press the pedal brake with ABS in 5 Star VW Golf during Euro NCAP testing.
      Is there any difference between ABS & non-ABS during collision test?

• khairul on May 26, 2011 at 7:38 am

then, Aku Brek Sendiri laa… also ABS maa… hahaha

• What engine are they using ?

• DonkeyKong on May 26, 2011 at 1:09 am

Hmmm.. what engine would Proton use.. I dunno, maybe a Volkswagen 1.6 TSI unit or something?… that’s definitely a mystery..

• huh…if vw engine for that prices…i would rob a bank for that car..hehehehe
        of cos campro iafm 1.6 like in persona lahhhh:ppppppp

• kurakurabaik on May 26, 2011 at 1:24 am

maybe he was asking is it with cps or not..it is indeed a good stratergy for proton to vs the 1.5 myvi..i do wish there is a manual version..

• kml125z on May 26, 2011 at 10:22 am

MT version also available maybe after launching this 1.6 AT

• CVT better~ bcos never own a CVT b4… want to try~ Thanks

• reDalerT on May 27, 2011 at 6:19 pm

ini comment betul-betul bagi saya *facepalm* laaaa…….

• khaix19a on May 26, 2011 at 1:09 am

remove the stripes it doesn’t make the car more desirable, plain just nice

• rosdi on May 26, 2011 at 1:27 am

Then tak nampak garang maa.. how to ‘tayang’ my hot 1.6 saga then?.. hehe…

• Datsun Khanna on May 26, 2011 at 8:01 am

so make it GARANG…put on big TIGER or LION face sticker on yr new 1.6 saga bonnet… :-)

• Ash Menon on May 26, 2011 at 10:41 pm

you want GARANG kaw kaw? do like jaguar, got the jaguar figurine at the front of the car. except here put tiger. of course, proton should make it detachable, so you can change to any aftermarket version. you want can put Doraemon la, Upin & Ipin la, kancil la..

• Mr.VW on May 26, 2011 at 1:25 am

Biasa la, saga, always the cheap car…

• People are giving thumbs down just for saying Saga is cheap. What is wrong with Paul Tan readers nowadays?

Anyone of the thumb downers can give me any first-hand sedan of Saga’s size that is cheaper? I would love to know it.

I guess it is true that the blog has turned into Proton love fest.

• whitey on May 26, 2011 at 11:21 am

..dun u think, they’ll get all their staff to vote here?

• malaysians think cheap = lousy ma.. Just like laptop, many people think acer is lousy because it is cheap…

• people thumb down because he is saying it in a way that being cheap is bad….

• rosdi on May 26, 2011 at 1:29 am

I am sure Perodua will hold emergency meeting tomorrow on how to counter this.. their Myvi is soo late and now Proton give 1.6 car at MUCH better price than they could…. how ah? how ah?..

• Cucukman on May 26, 2011 at 10:16 am

SAGA FL 1.6 Executive price tag of RM46,549

Current Myvi 1.3 SE Limited (manual) RM 48 000….

HUH…. Incoming Myvi 1.5 below Myvi 1.3 Price ???? . Mimpilah..

Habisla Perutdua kali ni… dahla kereta boot takleh simpan barang manyak..

• Haha im sure P2 are Already aware of this waaay before..

• allanpeters on May 26, 2011 at 1:44 am

For almost 20 years, Proton does a minor cosmetic enhancement or mechanical addition to an aging model and markets it as new. They proceed to force this “new”-old model upon the Malaysian public, usually with a little bump to the price in the hope that it convinces the customer he is getting a premium model..

Dear Dato’ Sri Syed Zainal Abidin, please stop lying to the public and lying to yourself. A “variant” is not a new car! Stop making facelifts and produce proper new models…

My final gripe: “Go fast” stripes? You’re STILL producing cars with STICKERS? Are you a child?? To the persons who designed and approved the full length stickers, please resign and go play with your Matchbox cars.

FL is fast becoming an abbreviation for FugLy..

• Nandos on May 26, 2011 at 1:49 am

The Saga has only been around for 3 years, and you call it an aging model? What about the Avanza and the Innova? Be reasonable and realistic please, else you’re only making yourself look bad. Stickers are not uncommon, even BMW had stripes for it’s 320d edition and Castrol put red and green stripes on the 320d for the special Quill Castrol models

• ko malu saje... on May 26, 2011 at 2:13 am

Myvi salesman alert!

• allanpeters on May 27, 2011 at 5:31 pm

the pro-Protonists must either be young drivers, have short memories or have a poor concept of how the automotive industry works.. FYI, I owned the original Saga way back in 1986, I never owned (nor will) a Myvi, and obviously I’m not comparing the current Saga with the Saga/Isawara. My earlier criticisms apply equally, if not more so, to Perodua.

The only reason Proton and Perodua (P&P) are “cheap” is because protectionist policies tax other car makers, making them more expensive. Why do you not question the RM60,000 price tag for Malaysian-made Gen-2 when the same car is sold in Dubai for RM30,000 (DHS40,000)? If you RM30,000 to spend, would you rather buy a Gen-2 or a Saga? The fact that Proton can sell the same car in Dubai for nearly half the price and still make a profit is proof that the actual production cost is not as high as the company claims.

Look, I am a patriotic Malaysian, and I realize that such protectionist measures were necessary to help P&P achieve quick profitability. BUT IT HAS BEEN OVER 20 YEARS!!

Every single person who has bought a car – any car – in malaysia in the last 20 years has directly or indirectly contributed to the profits and cash reserves of Proton and Perodua (and the Govt). That is BILLIONS that we the car owner has OVERPAID over the last 20 YEARS for a car that costs far less.

Every single car maker in the world spends money on R&D, production, marketing, etc, P&P are no different.

If the excuse for is economies of scale, that Proton/Perodua is not selling enough cars hence unable to reduce the selling price or maximise profit on volume, then that is the Company’s problem, not the Consumer.

If P&P were paying above market value for locally-made components, that is a problem created by a corrupt and inefficient industry. Again, this is not the consumer’s problem.

Everyone is complaining about petrol prices. If a Gen-2 owner’s monthly fuel bill went up by $100 a month bcs of price increase, thats only RM1200 a year or RM6000 based on 5 year ownership. Would you rather save RM30,000 by removing the protectionist taxes or pay RM6,000 more in fuel costs?

Re safety, the consumer has every right to demand that cars from P&P provide features like ABS and Airbags as standard. If it comes standard for Proton cars in UK, why not us? Are Malaysian lives less valuable to Proton than their UK customers?

My criticism about facelifts and variants is valid: P&P have milked the original Saga and Wira, Kancil and Myvi (which were already based on superseded Mitsubishi & Daihatshu models to begin with) well past its use-by date. I’ve lost count of the number of “special editions” P&P has produced.

As far as the current Saga is concerned, if they had introduced this 1.6 variant at the same price as the 1.3 model, and made a corresponding reduction to the 1.3 price (as is done by virtually every other car maker in the world), I would be singing their praises.

but after over 20 years of paying more for less, this is just more of the same.. Until proven otherwise..

• Nellie on May 26, 2011 at 6:17 am

Proton Saga BLM is in the market about 3 years. it is not aging yet. even the Jap produce a car for five years minimum before change it due to govt regulation. Some even only change the shape a bit, but maintain the chasis of the previous version. This is marketing. If Proton have not meet the equilibrium ( or balik modal) for its money on developing BLM, why should Proton develop a new car in a rush? Look at Toyota Crown Supersalloon, it used the same chasis for a very long time before change to a ‘real’ new model. 4AG engines are also the same, just same modifications and it looked like new again. If you hate about the stickers, bear in mind BMW cars have many stickers on them, and they look beautiful. If you hate the stickers, just pull it off. Or don’t buy the car anyway.

• Japan cars have five year cycles for their cars??government imposed is it?now that explains the face-lift every 3 months thingy..

• sukasuki on May 26, 2011 at 5:53 pm

if you want to see true aging car model, please see nissan vanette. from im still in primary school until im graduating, still the same. lagi dashyat woooo.

• Mini Cooper got stripes, Dodge Viper got stripes, Ford Fiesta got stripes, and you said it’s childish ah?

• junaidi on May 26, 2011 at 11:14 am

oooh i’ll add to that. Jaguar XKR 75, lamborghini gallardo balboni edition, ferrari scuderia, porsche GT3 RS, etc etc etc

• allanpeters on May 27, 2011 at 5:41 pm

i cant believe you just compared a saga to those cars..

• Wow! Junaidi, that means saga in the same level of cars u’ve mentioned.
          What a comparison….

• theking on May 26, 2011 at 8:00 am

allanpeter,

U must just landed from the moon i guessss!!!

• pacifictuna on May 26, 2011 at 8:33 am

have you mistaken for the new Saga as a direct development from saga iswara? this is a new saga launch in 2008. it was developed from the savvy platform. let see, i think the sentra here is about 7 yo, which is easily twice it’s age….. no complain from you. I think Dato’ Sri Syed Zainal Abidin is doing everything right that proton should have done earlier. you may say sticker is not your cup of tea but mind you that auto industry is not just about how good your car looks or how advance it is. what about cost? reliability? after sales service? marketing/promotion? distribution network and so on…. you might still say they are all screwed up in Proton but i see improvements….

• Choprak Cawat Besiwat on May 26, 2011 at 1:32 pm

bro..are u telling Proton is using old engine tech?

come on la, Honda also using old engines for their new models..

K20 engine, already been here for 10 years..

previous D15 engines, been used since 1990 to 2003 (last version of City Type Z)..

I have opened CAMPRO CPS engine part by part & i can tell u that it is an easy to be maintained engine..less parts & easy to reach sensors compared to Honda..

what Proton should do now is, they need to retune the ECU with good mapping to unleash the true power of the engine..

previously on EMS 400, now on EMS 700..maybe it’s time to go for EMS1000..hehe

• you gotta be kidding!!! proton doing minor cosmetic changes? seems like you are talking about perodua’s myvi and viva. i see proton giving the public more choices with a bigger 1.6 engine here and soon a newer efficient gearbox, and yet you choose to ignore that fact.
      real typical perodua salesman!!! always bad mouthing other brands without facts.

• Nazrul on May 26, 2011 at 1:52 am

Nice, too bad they forgot about “those from younger generation” like myself loves manual transmission so much. Hopefully, if they planning to make an “SE/Special/Sport Edition”, I could only hope there would be a manual transmission and it would be even cooler if they add a huge spoiler, new front, sides and rear bumper design with full gun metal rims, ABS brakes, leather seats, leather wrapped steering wheels, and more color options like black with red sticker, blue with white sticker or maybe silver with black sticker that run across the shoulder line of the car itself. All these are not really necessary, and the price will be more expensive. Well of course, life aren’t really that easy. Anyway, good job Proton

• taboogen on May 26, 2011 at 7:55 am

not all like manual.. even me now regret buying manual.. it is not the choice of malaysian now a days… 1.6FL has targeted audiance lah… Persona is still around so customer have and can chose between models. As previous posting by PAUL, CVT is coming out soon.. and naturally it will come with MT tranny. Malaysian want so many option PROTON will do it, by the questions is will Malaysian want to buy all this.

OPEN YOUR OWN KUEH PAU BUSINESS AND SEE IF ALL WANT KACANG HITAM PAU ONLY….

renung2kan selamat beramal

• loveit on May 26, 2011 at 9:41 am

I don’t like driving manual either..its tiring,wasting time, loose 100% focus on the road and no different in term of FC (because your shifting skill are lousy)

• bcos u don’t know how to drive a manual… depends on where u lives, if in Traffic jam area sure go for AT, but ppl who want cheaper, save fuel & fun to drive car sure want M/T….

• donno on May 26, 2011 at 11:44 am

that mean you dont know how to drive manual car..

• Amir I'm Sorry on May 26, 2011 at 11:51 am

want manual oso want auto…ask proton powertrain to source Polo DSG tranny lah…yes polo is expensive but it is cheap outside of malaysia…but then cannot mate to CamPro laa…jangan marah I’m sorry..

• Teh-O on May 26, 2011 at 4:08 pm

It just means that you suck at driving and multi tasking.

• Teh-O on May 26, 2011 at 4:08 pm

With that money go buy a better car la, buy this for what.

• seductive on May 26, 2011 at 2:28 am

Paul, perhaps you could bring this up during the media review regarding if this Saga FL 1.6 auto’s ECU is the 16bit or maybe its taken from the Persona Elegance 32bit ECU.

Thanks very much Paul. I’m sure this would be a great information to those keen on buying this car.

• theking on May 26, 2011 at 8:04 am

seductive ,

Tis model still use EMS700 which is 16bits. Soon to be launched SAGA FL phase with Campro IAFM+ and CVT transmission will use EasyU 32bits.

• pacifictuna on May 26, 2011 at 8:38 am

but i thought proton said that there will be not much of a difference between the 16bit and 32bit? 32bit is more of an upgrade so that future engine can use a more complex logic but the current one will be happy running on 16bit ecu. isn’t it?

• would the 16bit or 32bit ecu make any difference in our traffic jam?

• sargent on May 26, 2011 at 2:29 am

We don’t need another taxi on our streets.
    Higher fuel consumption and road tax too so buyers beware
    unless you plan to have a NGV fitted.

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 5:48 am

Proton should offer manual gearboxes in all their range, regardless of trim, instead of offering different prices for different paintjobs, just leave that at a fixed price , but offer the manual box, we all want them leather seats and safety bits, bt a manual box saves more fuel….

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 5:51 am

this understated special edition bt with a bigger engine is a sign of a mature proton, instead of those ‘glued on go-fast bits’ that adds weight…

• T4VR-Ralph on May 26, 2011 at 6:28 am

FAIL, for not having MT version

• lalazhai on May 26, 2011 at 7:56 am

get a life, stop asking for MT, have you bought the inspira 1.8 MT? satria neo CPS MT ?no right?

no money no talk la.

• GreenFuel on May 26, 2011 at 8:53 am

Buying a MT is not because we don’t have money. We buy MT for the fund of driving it. Why people pay so much to buy a Ford Fiesta MT? Why people pay so much to buy a Lancer Evo MT? Because there is a different feel of driving MT. Give us more choice la Proton. I don’t mind to pay more for a MT car

• loveit on May 26, 2011 at 9:46 am

what’s the fun driving in manual? tiring your left leg and you left hand aje, if you stall- dangerous to other (to yourself go to hell la)…auto is much better, you pay more attention to the road, that’s baru enjoy..

• LeBronJames on May 26, 2011 at 1:40 pm

For me the big fun of driving manual is during sharp conners and going up/down the hill. Many auto cars face some issues upon achieve the best time and safety. I am sure you will not understand about this.

Of course Auto have it’s benefits, during jams and bla bla. for your info, I have both Auto and Manual cars, I still prefer MANUAL!!!

• Teh-O on May 26, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Tiring left arm and leg? Lol you must be a physically inferior human being. Whats up with that man? We have limbs for a reason. Based on your pathetic complaint, you must be those that dont utilize much of your psychomotor skills. Hey, word of advice, get some exercise before you die of obesity.

And saying that driving a manual car will inevitably lead to stalling just illustrates the fact that you’re assuming without any real basis to back up your assertion. You sound like you have that experience whereby once u get behind a manual transmission car, you’ll stall. I am sorry, please go practice more before you get behind the wheels.

Takes one to know one right? ;) But dont impose you belief on others like that. Because it just shows how shallow you are.

• kapparo on May 26, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Driving auto is easy…but driving manual is fun. but now, driving cars with paddle shifter is fun too..honestly..

Providing more options enables car buyers to choose what they really want…

• lkf0512 on May 26, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Noob…

• Fazzurri on May 26, 2011 at 5:44 pm

wow loveit.. u sure got weak knee n hand.. Too much hand job ah?

• autos are for sissies / pussies…at this level MT is much more efficient, consumes less fuel, better pick up and much more lasting than autobox.

• tan e l on May 28, 2011 at 2:17 pm

if auto for sissies then MT is for those who love handling gear knob so much……what a wa*k*r………

• fariz on May 26, 2011 at 8:57 am

Yes, I did bought an Inspira M/T and it rocks!…Nothing is wrong when people asking for M/T variant…especially for enthusiast ….plus Proton does not have much option for the gearbox, might as well offer both auto and M/T…at least, it will appeal to much wider range of buyers….

• afham on May 26, 2011 at 7:10 am

saga executive?? so funny. please put appropriate name!

• Agree. The ‘executive’ name should be reserved to at least their mid-to-upper range offering. Should’ve just mashup some random alphabets like “EX” or “SX” to cover the meaning, like the other car brands. :P

On the other hand, it can be said that even Proton is aware that currently, the average executive in Malaysia can only afford to buy the lower-end products.

Thumbs down galore!

• viva elite executive. remember?
      elite and executive… i wonder.

• mohsin on May 26, 2011 at 11:19 am

Perodua Viva and Myvi can mah!
      Even more executive, exclusive SE (by name oni mah!)

• Eyesore on May 26, 2011 at 1:19 pm

How about Viva EEE??? Elite Exclusive Edition… what’s so Elite and Exclusive about it? other than a ‘coffin on the road’?

I wonder if any one ever seen a crach test of current MyVi… read it right… MyVi not Passo.. I have and it’s not good…

• ericmaxman on May 26, 2011 at 7:22 am

so much for new rims. isnt that lifted off the old Saga SE?

• ilovesaga on May 26, 2011 at 7:59 am

a little bit tuning, the car can get 200 hp… then u can go for rally… but need to strengthen the body chassis first.

• OMG….another battle begin between P1 saga FL 1.6 vs P2 new Myvi (when launching???)…

• 4G63T DSM on May 26, 2011 at 8:13 am

I would say its a step in the right direction. The 1.3iafm is abit lathargic in auto form and the fuel consumption is poor given the size. This would probably address the shortcomings.

FWIW, the pre fl saga looked better. The FL just looks odd. And on the matter of stickers, there are still those badly burnt by proton for the mandatory stickers which we had to pay for.

• gtmaniac on May 26, 2011 at 8:21 am

It’s no surprise Proton didn’t offer manual transmission for their top-of-the-line variant.

Remember the Wira 1.6 sedan? From 1993 till it stop production there is no Wira 1.6 sedan manual offered officially, except certain export models. Saga/Iswara 1.5 I? All auto, except orion & magma models.

But it’s good to have a manual variant, like the taxi version. Imagine the 1.6 executive manual.. same price with 1.3 executive auto.

Saga FL, 1.6 engine, running on 14 inchers.. pick-up must be very brisk.

• beatnik on May 26, 2011 at 8:43 am

Proton said this model is to attract young gen buyers.. you think young gen nowadays like to drive MT? they probably don’t even know how to drive one!

• loveit on May 26, 2011 at 9:50 am

9 year driving manual..that hell of a pain to me n i hate it..I always thought MT should be abolish already with incoming DCT,CVT even Zero shift technology..

• beatnik on May 26, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Too bad if you hate it.. probably you will like if the car can move by itslef without you having to press the throttle.. :P

• PakAbu on May 26, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Re: “probably you will like if the car can move by itslef without you having to press the throttle..”

Looks like he’s not the only one, looking at research being done: http://www.google.com.my/search?q=vehicle%20platooning&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wi&biw=949&bih=599

• MatrixLYN on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:29 am

Why you so wimpy? I drive both auto and manual….both got pros and cons. Driving manual in city jam isn’t really that difficult…it’s all second natured to me…what’s so difficult??

• azrai on May 26, 2011 at 8:25 am

Those who keep questioning the usage of Executive this is the explaination. Actually, before this Proton has L-line, M-line, & H-line variant. Since Inspira, they have changed it to Basic, Premium, Executive (That’s why the have 1.8E & 2.0P on the Inspira). When Saga came on the road 25 years ago, they have 1.3S &1.5S (S stands for sport) while they also got 1.5i (i stands for Istimewa).

• izack04 on May 26, 2011 at 8:29 am

For me….the new design is nice……but it would be nicer if:
    +rim change to ssr type C (gold color…..yummmy)
    +add medium spoiler
    +Nardi leather steeering
    +toyota extra huge sunroof
    +rear disc
    +Apexi s-flow exhaust with stainless steel piping
    +lower spring

=than it would be sport edition….hahhaha……;)

• MouMouRen on May 26, 2011 at 10:13 am

HAha, U r Funny. U want Sunrrof. Malaysia not hot enough?? U want Apexi?? Better use R3 performance parts lah. Lower Spring!! U think all PPL with drive like u?? HAhah

• lalaz on May 26, 2011 at 11:16 am

MAKE MORE MONEY and buy the real subaru or evo la if you’re a speedster.

if you’re going to enjoy life, pay rm118888 for a 308 THP with moon roof.

asking for all this kind of stuff from a rm46k car???

go buy Satria neo R3 CPS la RM80k, got money?

• Latukbandar on May 26, 2011 at 11:46 am

Saga FL ah beng edition.

• azrai on May 26, 2011 at 1:20 pm

Then it will no more Saga Executive. It will known as Saga Ah Beng’s Edition 2011.

• LeBronJames on May 26, 2011 at 1:33 pm

This model Should be call New Saga FL Sports edition and not executive d…

• untitled on May 26, 2011 at 6:50 pm

More like SAGA FML 2012 EDITION, once that comes out, it’s end of the world..

• drmuzi on May 26, 2011 at 8:46 am

Good Job Proton. no wonder tis days Proton is catching up very fast with Perodua. Only a matter of time before Proton finally took over the rein again.

Since tis year, the stats at motor trader shows that Myvi and BLM Saga has change no 1 spot frequently between the two.

Thje total sales volumes of Perodua to Proton has narrow the gap only to hundred to 1 thousand plus cars..

This is goo dnews for Proton considering poor standing in 2004-2008 .

I beleive the Emas and Tuah cars will puit Proton forwards and Lotus will get back to it glory once the new Lotus cars in full production by 2013.

Hard work by Proton and Lotus management.

Kudos to Tuan Syed.

• I will buy…… only if i don’t have other choices……or i cant afford others….

• Perodua salesman gonna panic very soon.

• haha..P2 salesman should panic bcos their New Myvi not yet launch…and dunno when will launched. …so this few months they will suffer a bit until the New Myvi officially launched.

• Mr.VW on May 26, 2011 at 1:57 pm

it doesnt matter, both are cheap cars to me. I’ll buy it only if I got x alternative choices…

• mikasa on May 26, 2011 at 9:15 am

Very interesting..

might sell my unsolved pedal vibration on my 1.6 mazda 3 and buy this car.

• Good news for Proton Saudi Arabia! The selling price for this new Saga RM23,274.00 only!

• MoFaz on May 26, 2011 at 11:44 am

bosan btol… asyik2 timbul pasal isu harga di arab saudi nih. ko tak pernah belajar ekonomi ke Ajaw?
      Camry 2.4 made in Thailand RM140K di Thai tapi RM80k je kat Arab! bleh explain?

• ThePolygon on May 26, 2011 at 9:18 am

Thumbs up to Proton for bringing the 1.6 variant to the FL model. With a less than 50k price tag, I guess this is a direct response to Perodua for declining the merge :P… Anyway this offering will be paired with the incoming 1.5 Myvi next month. Hmm… lets see how it goes.

• Paul Tan for Prime Minister on May 26, 2011 at 9:31 am

Wow the 1.6L Campro is now in ALL Proton line up !! Must be recorded in the Guiness Book of Record !!

• saga executive..? lol~!!. on May 26, 2011 at 11:11 am

i wonder if proton will introduce Inspira with 1.6L Campro engine later.., for the Inspira basic model… lol~!

• naemibr on Jun 26, 2011 at 10:54 am

noo la, 1.6L is too weak for big body like inspira. kesian customer yg beli tu.

• confused on May 26, 2011 at 11:23 am

wait for savvy campro 1.6 FL first then can claim

• SeriuosSAM on May 26, 2011 at 9:32 am

with this price tag
    perodua can scrap their “NEW” myvi launch
    and move on to the next project

• macaruda on May 26, 2011 at 9:32 am

p2 salesman & P1 salesman… all the same guy. basically they can sell you any car that you want……

• saga executive..? lol~!!. on May 26, 2011 at 9:39 am

dulu2 bila sebut saga executive terbayang model saga sedan warna maroon gelap (versi 1.5i) transmisi automatik, enjin magma 12 valve yang bersaiz panjang sedikit dari saiz saga sedan biasa (long wheelbase).. mempunyai legroom yang lebih luas berbanding model saga sedan yang biasa…

tapi kini dengan wheelbase yang sama dengan saga 1.3.., kenapa di panggil saga executive..? tak panjang sedikit pun…? setakat upgrade engine 1.6 jer… di panggil Saga FL 1.6 sudah memadai… tidak perlulah dipanggil Saga FL 1.6 Executive…

• for 46k i would opt for the bigger and nicer persona 1.6

• kambing on May 26, 2011 at 9:50 am

yessss..terbaiklaaa Saga FL, now go smooooke that Dugong darat & Myvi montel on the road…

• WUN5678 on May 26, 2011 at 9:58 am

Today’s Star papers Proton said new Campro replacement engine
    coming out in 2015.
    Wow !! I’m surprised they have such foreskin vision!!
    Most manufacturers set 2 year targets and P1 has doubled it !!
    So in the mean time expect more recycled and flip-flopping
    of the IAFM & Campro engines.

• learner on May 26, 2011 at 10:03 am

there you go, out of no where (except for some taxi and limited 1.6l MT variant before) P1 have come with 1.6l saga FL for the masses. no hip hup, test driven and heavy masking, just come out silent silent only. but on the other side….. of another car ‘maker’….. still want to test drive and heavy masking the 1.5l variant ka??? aiyo just launch lah.

• taxi driver on May 26, 2011 at 10:13 am

interior view
    http://www.proton-edar.com.my/saga-interior.aspx

• anand on May 26, 2011 at 10:17 am

a lot women buyers out there, that why no manual, even guy want auto, cars for these people are for work not pleasure or racing

• only in solid white?…with 1.6 engine and still no ABS EBD?….alahai..sape la yg buat keputusan nih?…..

• oleoresin on May 26, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Aku. Sebab aku tau basher takkan beli. Aku nak kurangkan kos tu sebab takde ABS EBD. Ko nak semua tu pergi beli Gen2. Keta ni target for low income people. Ngok tul. Vios Type J yg pakai drum brake pun bersepah org beli. Ha’ah, solid white je. Aku nak tgk market dulu. Klu byk demand, aku tambah kaler lagi

• Ah Peng on May 26, 2011 at 10:29 am

Hi Proton,

Take them such a long time to figure it out (to compete with MYVI after turtle SAVY failed), o well everyone can get first hand experience with our Proton Saga 1.6L in the taxi version… may be Proton got surplus of stocklah… ha ha

• mivec on May 26, 2011 at 10:35 am

bro this is not taxi version . this is executive version.. r u talking about saga blm 1.6 red solid color which launch in 2008?? that one already no stock la bro.. that red solid saga is B-line (standard) now the FL 1.6 is executive (M-line or H-line)

• Fazzurri on May 26, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Surplus palotak ko.. Aku nak beli dah saga 1.6 taxi tu tp dah sold out.. Sekarang kena drive neo cps je.. hampeh tul..

• zainal abidin on May 26, 2011 at 10:30 am

CVT is nice but what this car really needs is a bigger 45 to 50 liter petrol tank. My FL gets about 300 km urban cycle and around 400 km highway (PLUS) driving. When the fuel indicator starts to blink you know it’s time to refill ASAP.

• Eyesore on May 26, 2011 at 1:26 pm

really aaa? My gen 2 even when it starts blinking can still go around 80Km…

• finally,
    i’ll buy if only proton produce MT version.

need to look interior design. is it the same or more features?

i like the price.. good job proton

• lalaz on May 26, 2011 at 1:42 pm

u can always buy MT, proton a lot of cars in MT, from the cheapest Saga to NEO to Inspira,
      wanna buy, then buy.

no money no talk. every now and then ppl asking for MT,but why dont they get saga, neo or inspira? why are they asking for every version for MT?

no money no talk, got money, buy and shut up, quit whining.

from viva 660 to Megane RS, all MT, how many are buying?

• I Love Manual Transmission on May 26, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Why you must relate MT with cheap car? Try to watch Top Gear, how many car they review or drove are AT? Most of the car Jeremy driving is MT, why? Because they are no money to review AT car?

• lalazhai on May 26, 2011 at 11:05 pm

yea right, F1 are using manual? latest ferrari and lambo are manual? whci htopgear you watch? season 1 or season 2?

• vincent on May 26, 2011 at 10:53 am

Woo… 4 speed Auto gearbox, Proton already on par with Toyota now… Lol

• wolfsburg on May 26, 2011 at 11:11 am

As a national car maker, Proton should be more responsible to the safety equipment of their car… They really should look at how Hyundai and Kia treat their home-land.. Their smallest family sedan Accent aka Verna comes with not only 6 airbags but also ESP… Even the Picanto also got 6 airbags… Then take a look at the most expensive line-up in Proton, the Inspira 2.0 only have 2airbags and don’t have ESP… They really should not just anyhow see how the Japanese car maker treat our people, they really should stand out and treat us in a better way… Now i think Naza is doing a better job than Proton for having ESP and 6 airbags in Forte line up… ESP and six airbags may not guarantee you for not having injured or even death in accident, but they definitely can save a lot of people’s life…

• nighttrain on May 26, 2011 at 2:16 pm

that’ll only happen when parliament pass as an Act. Otherwise, no chance in hell.

• wolfsburg on May 26, 2011 at 7:01 pm

This is the problem with Proton… They do something only when they are being pushed or forced.. Why can’t they be active in some way?
        I don’t see any Korean law regarding the car safety but instead their car maker are initiating to bring the level of safety equipment of their national car to higher level… That is the social responsibility of a national car maker to their own people and that is the reason why people should support their national brand…

• autojohndoe on May 27, 2011 at 7:28 pm

you live in korea ka?

how can you know they dont impose such act while you are living in malaysia…

• replica on May 26, 2011 at 5:43 pm

is it true this saga chassis base on Savvy? would it not be dangerous?

• If only they still produce the old design saga and fit in a 1.6L.. i know they did have 1.6L for the old 1 but that was limited time only

• kml125z on May 26, 2011 at 11:20 am

i already drive this car… the engine very responsive..

• Perhaps, by launching this latest version of Saga 1.6 it will bring some cheers to the consumer but not the Proton Management.

In my personal opinion, this is part of Proton’s marketing strategies in order to maintain its sales momentum knowing that they are unlikely to produce a replacement models c/w new engine & gearbox line-up for both its B & C-Segment cars in the near future. The same strategy has been implemented to its previous Gen-2 & Satria version whereby variety of so-called improvements have been made i.e Gen-2 CPS, Gen-2 IAFM, Satria R3 etc, it doesn’t creat a significant improvement to the sales of these models for both local & exporting market

For the past few years, Proton is trying very hard to restore its reputation as No.1 or best selling brand in Malaysia leap-frog by Perodua years ago. However, it seems that this a uphill task for proton to do so after introducing a complete new C-segment model of Persona ( improve family sedan from Gen-2), Proton is only able to regain some of its market shares from Perodua. For now, I am sure that Perodua sales personnel will continue to have good night sleep knowing that this improved version of Saga is just a normal market competitor rather than a strong rival. Anyway, Perodua is gonna launch its latest Myvi model soon.

Obviously, Proton need a strong strategic partner they need it desperately. Why? because they can’t do a lot of things on their own and they pretended that they can do it ……………. good luck Proton.

• oleoresin on May 26, 2011 at 1:49 pm

My personal opinion, your opinion is invalid.

“For now, I am sure that Perodua sales personnel will continue to have good night sleep knowing that this improved version of Saga is just a normal market competitor rather than a strong rival.” Myvi 1.3 is 48k and BLM 1.6 is 46.5k. And Perutdua want to launch myvi 1.5. How they gonna set the price? Toyota shareholder always want high dividen so is not easy to set up price only 50k for 1.5.

“Obviously, Proton need a strong strategic partner they need it desperately.” P1 not like Perutdua. Always wanna play safe and duduk bawah ketiak Toyota. More strategic partner will increase price.

• whitey on May 26, 2011 at 11:28 am

FL, Persona 1.6 still using drum brake? Come on proton dun be too stingy, all these cars is a profit to chop shop at klang area!!!

• LeBronJames on May 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm

No 4 disc break got 2 possible reasons:

1.) Car not that fast, so no need.

2.) This is a budget car for 1.6. If you want 4 disc go for Persona higher specs.

Tq.

• usop wilcha 7speed on May 28, 2011 at 7:46 pm

…brake’s shoe is cheaper and long-lasting than the pads…

• Is this a 15 inch or 14 inch rim??

Saying 14 inch
    http://www.proton-edar.com.my/saga-exterior.aspx

Saying 15 inch
    http://www.proton-edar.com.my/saga-overview.aspx

• khylie on May 26, 2011 at 11:35 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZYHvTVXpZo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j32yZ4KwrNI&feature=related
    vs saga
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SbX4Ld_QiM
    The T and H dont seems to be any better than Proton~
    All 4 star for ANCAP

• RainySky on May 26, 2011 at 4:52 pm

are u really SURE? City and Vios are 4 stars ANCAP while Proton Saga was 3 stars only, just to clarify here, try check urself ———–> http://m.ancap.com.au/results?make=9

• fakhrulrz on May 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm

crash test for vios is very bad from that video….

• nolan on May 26, 2011 at 11:43 am

now my maid can do drift…….at a lower cost…

• WTFisTHATCAR on May 26, 2011 at 11:48 am

Facepalm at the photoshop effort by proton..
    personally i would get rid of the side sticker if i would to buy it. its fugly

• sukun on May 26, 2011 at 12:10 pm

just bare in mind that the car is build for Rakyat and not for those who is affordable to buy the luxury car. if you want luxury car, proton can build it, but do u able to pay for it?

• SAGA user on May 26, 2011 at 12:16 pm

good job proton,
    im quite satisfied with my saga
    i sense a big aura of haters and bashers
    guys grow up, why the butthurt
    dont like dont buy

• Day Siang on May 26, 2011 at 12:22 pm

I like the new design~ except the backlight which is too small but hey now it looks like Audi instead of merc c class?

But i wan a CVT!!! The 4 spped is ok but when go more than 110km/h the engine have to rev alot~ bad for balik kampung~ =(

• If 1.6L come with CVT cost RM46k, this will prove 1.5 myvi is overpriced!!! Good job P1, keep on improving Saga, one day all Malaysian will agree Saga is Car for Malaysian, Reasonable / Affordable price, Safety, Looks ok, Space ok, Hopefully save fuel?Less than 5L/ 100km??? Current 1.3L fuel consumption 6L/ 100km??? while 1.6L 6.3km/ 100km??? Not sure…. 1.3L consumption 3~4L/ 100km will good “Just Hopping/ Dreaming”….

• zainal abidin on May 26, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Back in the real world I am the proud owner of an FL auto bought in January and is reliable enough thank you Proton…..but don’t expect much from the tank range as it holds only 40 liters… Best I got was 330 km urban cycle and around 420 km highway (PLUS) driving. And that is refilled fuel until overfilling and once the fuel warning light icon start to blinking (i guess there’s an extra 30 km) you know it’s time to refill ASAP.

• then is it thirsty? Bcos 1.5L Alza can do around 11~13km/L or full tank average 400km in Town area driving with speed 80~100km…. full tank RM57 for Manual.

• zainal abidin on May 27, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Yes k.c….it is REALLY THIRSTY for a 1.3 auto….from my driving experience, moving from standstill the gear remains for sometime in 1-2 and late change gear to 3-4…I’ve driven other FL auto and it’s the same…I’ve heard the manual FL easily has an extra 130 km advantage in urban and almost 170km extra in highway cycle…. Proton really has to do something positive regarding this late gear change condition which gives a rather pathetic tank range.

• LeBronJames on May 26, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Agreed on 1.3cc engine but now is 1.6cc engine, another story d. The 1.6 engine should run smoothly till 140km/h as the CC are larger now. Beyond that another story. Try it out.

• LeBronJames on May 26, 2011 at 1:20 pm

Proton should provide “special privileges” buy back/trade for Saga FL 1.3 who purchase 3 months before the launcing of 1.6 version, or else they might feel cheated! Come out a calculation that is fair for both consumer and Proton. Hehehe…

Can’t wait to hear feed back from Chips regarding the performance 1.3 vs 1.6 version.

• hopefully it comes with leather seats, 7″ Inch DVD player, 6″ inch alpine component set, 10″ sub woofers, ABS & body kits, then ppl who purchase 3 months before Sure Cry!!!

• wuzere on May 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm

u might be the one on the list that just bought a saga 2 moth ago

• makeitmine on May 26, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Balik kampung car was Persona not Saga. But this Saga 1.6l will be appealing too especially export market like Australia. They have been asking for more safety features and power.

For Saga 1.3l, pls add a supercharger to make it suitable for low rev City driving. FC is a concern to many people.

Pls also work with bodykit manufacturers so that bodykits can be purchased online and shipped worldwide.

Long live the Saga!

• keyboard.rosak on May 26, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Saga 1.6 in Aussie already been sold long time ago, they name it Proton S16.

for the safety features, it’s not proton only add in for export market.
      the country make it compulsary to have those in.
      unlike malaysia

• desperado on May 26, 2011 at 2:01 pm

wow! orait la nih….bak kata pepatah, pucuk dicita ulam mendatang, hajat hati nak pakai 1.6 persona(itupun kalu pakai, budjet agak tight la), tapi disebabkan ‘kos sara hidup’ skrg dah semakin meningkat, so budjet boleh selesa kalu pakai Saga jer. Aku bukan younger generation pun…anak dah 2 org pun. Aku suka gak Saga ni sebab bonet blakang dia besar. So, bila dah kuar 1.6l, lagi panas bontot aku nak gi beli cepat!!!….aduh!!….tarak bole tahan lg maa….

• kapparo on May 26, 2011 at 4:58 pm

setuju…ni baru dikatakan people’s car…betul..bila dah ada anak ni, macam2 kena isi dalam bonet blkg..kalu stakat mcm MyVi mana muat maa…bakul susu pun dah mkn 1/3 bonet dia..dah la MyVi tu mahal plak tuu..

Slmt beli Proton Saga FL Executive baru :-)

• Chedik on May 26, 2011 at 2:07 pm

I think there is alot of stocked campro engine in proton warehouse. Does anyone think the realibilty of this CAMPRO engine when it switch from 4G18 (MITSU) for Waja. Many complain the engine is smooth for first to 3-4 years..after that FC is high and engine is noisy and they upgade to CPS..so please dont compare this car with VIOS or Civic..good quality of engine and perfomance always comes with good $$$$. 1.6L engine not for 1.3L body ….agree/???

• i will only agree is u start ur sentence with “I know” instead of “I think”…

Otherwise, no difference with others who only knows how to talk…

• azrai on May 27, 2011 at 8:10 am

Vios in Japan known as Belta come in 1.0l and 1.3l option only. So in Malaysia, we got 1.5l Vios in 1.0l Belta body?

• confused on May 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm

saw this car in metal just now, on a truck, heading to proton edar shah alam sec 13. from afar looks similar to pre-facelift saga SE (same rim lol). the decal is ok i guess. simple yet subtle.

• waimak on May 26, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Love Proton’s Saga. The name is evergreen. As I said here before, Saga should be at par with City and Vios in the future. So should it carry bigger c.c.? I disagree. For me, ideally Saga should carry max 1.5 cc. If you want bigger cc you always have Persona or “Waja” (sorry, inspira name is new to me) to go with.

I agree with few comments here. Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder but when tail light designed is mentioned again and again, I think its fair that Proton look into it. I like the older Saga (BLM) tail light – its clean and propositionate.

• Out of Luck on May 26, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Great work Proton! Previously double airbags, then AMP to lower car maintenance and ownership, now Saga FL 1.6L auto. Next CVT transmission. You are on the right track! Next should included ABS (safety is very important, don’t penalized the poor just because they can’t afford more expensive cars. Should have been included right from the beginning because the profit margin for this car is very very high compared to imported cars!!)). In the future, should consider 1.3L turbocharged petrol or diesel engines to reduced emission.

• smokey on May 26, 2011 at 2:26 pm

y u now only come out 1.6?? fuuuuuu

• Limited edition on May 26, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Proton, I really miss my Wira 1.8Exi. If only Proton could make those limited models again. It was the best ever 4 door saloon manual car with bucket seats and momo steering

• redboy on May 26, 2011 at 2:42 pm

4 speed Auto transmission? in 1.6? I think the auto-transmission suppliers still able to sell since the Wira to Waja day. It shows how Protong work for the suppliers. I rather have a manual then a 4-speed Auto transmission. Your Petrol will be gone v fast in this 4-speed box.

• 4 speed Auto transmission from Nissan Japan..

• mivec on May 26, 2011 at 4:25 pm

myvi auto 5 speed??

• pay only 46k and expect to get a 5 speed auto gearbox? what type of mentality is that? any other brand offering a 5 speeder at that price? all i know is even latest toyota camry 2.0G @ 150k still using a 4 speed autobox and is still selling like hot cake.

• Dont you all realize Proton Saga Executive is actually equivalent Proton Saga Taxi?

• keyboard.rosak on May 26, 2011 at 7:08 pm

one major difference

Saga Taxi was converted to NGV.
      This Saga is all petrol power!

unless you want to convert to ngv la

• rookie on May 27, 2011 at 8:34 am

i thought saga taxi’s using 1.6 campro kosong and this one with iafm? right?

• alistair lim li wei on May 26, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Perodua’s days are numbered now. HAHA

• stiggy25 on May 26, 2011 at 2:49 pm

clearly, the 3k only for engine. no DIFFERENCE at all for the interior. just spray with ‘tin cat’ and walla!

• @@@@@ on May 26, 2011 at 3:06 pm

so sad to read that people who always look down on Proton no matter how good they are to accomodate us with the best specs and price…..you guys may seen the improvement that Proton have made but you never compliment them but you critice their work…..they have improve guys!!!!

you seen it with ur own eyes….why must you compare the national car with the major player in the car industry such as Honda, Toyota and etc….can you guys compliment a bit on their effort and give a positive critics if you really want Proton to be success car maker one day…dun just critics and continuously look down on them….give some constructive criticism….

• confused on May 26, 2011 at 4:34 pm

that’s because some of them are jap wannabe aka perodua drivers..

~whistling away~

• Out of Luck on May 26, 2011 at 4:49 pm

If you read all the comments, there are alot of readers who gave good comments about this Saga. However, what we Malaysians are upset about Proton is the way it treated us. We’re paying alot for a overpriced car in the name of supporting our ‘national’ car manufacturer. In return, we’re given a basic car with little safety features in it. Is that a fair treatment? RM46k is expensive considering how little tax levied on Proton cars compared to imported cars.

The items below should be included because there’s no aftermarket alternatives:
      ————————————————————————————————————–
      – ABS shouldn’t be viewed as luxury item, it’s a necessity.
      – Airbags? The more the merrier. I’ve seen many driver/passengers’s skull, knee and ankle smashed to pieces during accident. 2 airbags are barely enough. Even if they survived, they are most likely crippled and unable to earn income for the rest of his life. No doctors in this world could ever fixed a crushed bone unless someone invented medical super glue!
      – ESP – maybe can be offered as option.

We’re not asking for GPS nagivation, sunroofs, reverse camera, night vision, audio-visual entertainment, sports suspension, massage seats or other luxury items.

Afterall, if a driver survived an accident with little harm, it means he’ll be looking for a replacement car. So there’s a chance for repeat business for P1. If the driver is dead, only the undertaker will get the business, P1 gets nothing right? :)

• noproblem on May 26, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Cut another 10k i say they do pretty good job now…

• hoochiez on May 26, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Then ask the G to remove protection for our beloved over-grown baby I.e. Fair trade, remove unreasonably high duties and taxes and above all, abolish the damn AP. After tht, then let’s comment constructively on performance.

• all those high duties n tax are for your sugar, flour, medical, edu, gov sevent salary, salary for ur soldier, police, gov doctor, sprm personal, cikgu salary, gov nurse salary, money for gov university, money for hospital, jabatan kebajikan, malaysian athlete elaun, research fund, plkn elaun, food for prisoner/pusat serenti, money for miskin people, ptptn loan, jpa scholarship, disaster fund, gov pension,water, electricity, my first house scheme, elaun for ur MP(pkr MP, umno MP, pas MP, mca MP, dap MP, mic MP etc MP)…do you think profit from petronas can cover all..where do you think gov come from? sky? gold rain? unless u want cheaper car but sacrifice other above i mention(maybe some can but not all eg prisoner–just let them die)…not many country can subsidize many thing eg very rich oil country like saudi..non oil rich country can do this is like greece(but they already colapse) …already 10+ yrs something malaysia bajet is deficit even with very high duties tax the gov still operating with loss..more money spend that receive..we r not US gov that can make money from nothing or to be more specific make money from penghutang……do correct me if im wrong

• hantu on May 26, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Gov misleading the taxpayer with useless mega project in the name of “helping bumi’s” but the meaning is reversed to help several cronies making their instant profit. Misleading taxpayer money is the factor how the Malaysia faced higher deficit every year . The deficit is NOT linked to rakyat subsidy but misleading taxpayer money is such a big mistake to gov. Remove 18 billion subsidy to IPP first then you can say your corrupted gov is “Rakyat Didahulukan”.

• nabill on May 26, 2011 at 3:29 pm

By right, da bigger engine should have 4 wheel disk brake?is it the case here?
    This car screams value for money,gd job

• desperado on May 26, 2011 at 4:01 pm

walau ape pun keta yang akan dibeli….biarlah mampu beli dan mampu pakai….
    bukannya mampu beli tapi tak mampu pakai…..tepuk dada tanya poket(duit) dulu. Ada gak rasa nak pakai keta luar dr malaysia ni tapi alahaiii…..

• afeef on May 26, 2011 at 4:33 pm

aiyooo with bigger engines even more Saga will cucuk me from behind….huhuhhuh…my poor rustbucket…

• Putin on May 26, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Russia just launched 1.6 LADA GRANTE below RM20,000 (sounds same, looks same, smell same, but is it same???) You can get for 2 units and still have some change.

http://paultan.org/page/5/
    Lada Granta – Europe’s cheapest car to debut end-2011
    May 19, 2011 at 10:35 am By Anthony Lim Filed Under Cars, International News, Lada

• lazyf on May 27, 2011 at 8:52 am

Lada Grante is ugly!!!

• Putin on May 27, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Bro lazyf,

You are damn right…. probably they use non-proton campro engine but obsolete renault instead so that they can sell cheaper than proton saga. Proton still have to milk the investment from campro engine.

http://paultan.org/2011/05/19/lada-granta-europes-cheapest-car-to-debut-end-2011/#respond

• surrounded on May 26, 2011 at 4:45 pm

the safety feature in this car is third world. we want to be a developed country but with these standards, it would seem we will always stay in dev mode.

minimum safety features:
    ABS (antilock braking system)
    EBD (Electronic brake distribution)
    BA (brake assist)

tell someone you have airbag is like telling someone to crash your car first then you would see how safe the car is. the key point here, is to avoid accidents first.

the government should enforce minimum safety rules. after 25 years, we still do not have basic safety features as standard, i only feel sorry for our country.

i was proud of proton before, first south east asian country to have their own brand.
    but we are still stuck then. hyundai, kia, and tata has overtaken us. its just sad really

• setuju!

• pencuri on May 27, 2011 at 9:54 am

hyundai, kia, and tata are from south east asian country??? very funny!

• keyboard.rosak on May 27, 2011 at 5:49 pm

i was proud of proton before, first south east asian country to have their own brand.
        but we are still stuck then. hyundai, kia, and tata has overtaken us. its just sad really

baca betol2 la bro, ade ke die kate hyundai kia tata tu dari SEA?

BTW, @surrounded, since when P1 is in front of those 3, to be overtaken? they all born before P1 la

• arrif86 on May 26, 2011 at 4:50 pm

hate proton

• kenot on May 26, 2011 at 4:55 pm

1.6 engine for this saga sure give a good pickup because of body weight ratio. but wonder why proton do not design like previous saga special edtion? or they keep the design for another variant with CVT ?

BTW, May be it is subjective but the FL tail light design is look small and not fit with the taller body..hope the persona-R do not come with small tail light again.

• mr_rumor on May 26, 2011 at 6:24 pm

i heard a SE/LE version is going to be with the CVT and it would have added reflection plastic addon to the rear light to make it look wider…(something like the bmw 3s rear light). they said the overall design for the SE/LE is going to match up with RS version of audi… :D

• rulered on May 26, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Proton Saga (old and new) is pretty much a good point A to point B car. I still have the 1st gen Saga, did about 400,000km mileage now, crossed South China Sea (twice) when I worked in East Malaysia, travelled to Brunei and Limbang from Kuching (to and fro). Travelled all over West Malaysia including Singapore. People told me not to get attached to a car, how can I not? Now it’s resting under my dad’s front porch occasionally driven to nearby shop or mamak shop….still ‘sayang’ to let go…. : )

• Acapolso on May 26, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Campro with supercharger is coming soon… hhahahaaa…bye bye Japs!! This will be the conti chaser…R3 Supercharger ; )

• johndoe on May 26, 2011 at 8:43 pm

hahaha…wat a joke….the Fuel Gulping, Lorry Sound MaCampro tht have mid range torque lower than kereta lembu going to chase Conti?…If chasing Conti bicycle mayb got chance la….

• Proton pls came out with 7 speed DSG with 1.3TSI

• savvy88 on May 26, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Proton Saga back to the summit in April’s car market report..

http://www.motortrader.com.my/Cars/NewsHeader/Highlights/April-Market-Report-%28Models%29.aspx

• redboy on May 27, 2011 at 1:04 pm

if you look that City and Vios is hitting the top 10, and the Qty they sell. Saga is like 1/3 of their price and if you multiply the price x Qty, you will see the Vios and City is not that far behind this Saga/Myvi in terms of $ sales. (which Protong used much more marketing, cost of development, etc)

It shows…people would like to improve, advance, and paying more for a better car, which Protong failed to made the image or the product still sucks after this 25 years. That is a fact.

How many of you want to own a Protong after your 1st car while you have no choice due to the closed market policy that take away the consumer rights?

• some dealer been killed regarding this new saga fl hahah poor man.. 46k 1.6 omg hahaha

• Maserati on May 26, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Yet another piece of junk frm proton.

• LeBronJames on May 27, 2011 at 10:07 am

Hi Maserati,

Pls define junk? Feel free to express yourself. It is because of engine, design?

I am a neutral to this.

• mikro on May 26, 2011 at 7:26 pm

Price and target on 1.5L myvi due this august

• shawal on May 26, 2011 at 7:34 pm

I’ll buy if they can offer a sport model, exactly like this one , with Manual box, and those white sport rims they offered on the savvy last time , plus a lip spoiler at the front, it’ll look cool aight…? a bit like an Alpina…

• a 1.6l car with a a price around 45k-50k, what else do u expect?
    hv to mention again to you, the target is for a new, young generation.
    first time buyer/people with low income sure want to have this car la. its worth the price!

haha.. funny la all u basher and haters.. =D
    mention u owned this car that car, then whats the point compare this, compare that, complain this, complain that. shut up~

go drive ur vios pekak!

• alldisc on May 27, 2011 at 9:35 am

instead of this saga, why not persona instead? prices start at 46K for manual, 48K for auto. same price but bigger with better noise insulation. better handling and stability.

• ahmad on May 26, 2011 at 8:59 pm

damn fugly. pay me money to drive also I wont do it.

• merah on May 26, 2011 at 9:01 pm

haha Paul, why your avatar pic so merah like devil one?

• sagasaga on May 26, 2011 at 9:55 pm

rm46k… think of made and quality, i can have many used made choices, i.e. a 5 year old japanese cars is much better than a brand new “potong saya”

• Hafiy Perodua on May 26, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Strategi pemasaran yang baik daripada proton, tak sempat lagi Perodua nak lancar model baru, proton dan keluarkan saga 1.6 dia.

Nantikan kemunculan Myvi baru pada 16hb Jun nie insyallah.

Jika anda ingin dapat Myvi baru 2 minggu selepas tarikh pelancaran, anda boleh booking sekarang. Hanya RM 500 sahaja. Kat showroom saya dah ramai orang start booking.

• Do you know what is manners??

• bukan cakap ape laa.. kalau ko buat mcm ne nampaknah ko potong rezeki orang.. tak berkat kott rezeki ko dapat. dekat2 nak haram pun ade.. peace.

• azrai on May 27, 2011 at 8:02 am

Poyo Perodua Salesman..

• P2 salesman??? Aduh, very disappointed with ur advertisement here~

• reDalerT on May 27, 2011 at 6:45 pm

mana showroom kita bakor je kita bakor! hahaha

• bahaya lu punya comment, kalau showroom terbakar ,sure track ur IP address & ur comment is the prove…. ;p

• hantu on May 28, 2011 at 1:11 pm

He just joking la my friend. Don’t take this serious.
          Rarely i see Malaysian create chaos in Malaysia expect criminal.

• Rakyat Biasa on May 27, 2011 at 1:11 am

well done Proton i must say..

• to ah beng…please think X 30 times…1.6 L meant for better torque@ pick up la !!!
    like to drive fast….go and buy something else lah !!!!!

• hensem taf on May 27, 2011 at 4:58 am

overpriced.. the price should go around rm35k to make it affordable-owning.. monthly installment, service, petrol all getting more expensive, (if you have thousands of friends from various financial backgrounds, you will get what i mean – majority low income) and many people need cars to transport safer.. motorcyclist often squished to death when accident.. proton should come with affordable and maintenance friendly rm20k mini car (as perodua is impotent) to minimize traffic congestion on road (and parking lots) because work commute by carpool is not popular here.. people choose car for safety, hot/bad weathers, small cargo.. otherwise govt must imposed people friendly public transport-cost, time, etc, safer lorries / avoid big lorries to be on road during peak hours..

• prolever on May 27, 2011 at 2:51 pm

if it overprice, build your own car sendiri la…

• Bob Vettel on May 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Talk to the government. For some reason they see fit to also tax local cars, although not as much as CBU & CKD foreign brands.

• Proton sure takes a long time releasing the 1.6 version of the Saga. Over here, it has been on offered for a while now as S16. Still no ABS that I can see from the specs which is a big no-no. Anyway, Proton will have to stop selling its cars here in a year or two due to the legislation requiring new cars to be equipped with electronic stability control. The state I am residing has enforced it this year. My relative’s Nissan Micra (built in Thailand) has one even in the base 1.2L version. Now Proton has no choice but either to put in the ESC or pull out from the market. Wonder if this will flow down to the local version if Proton decides to install ESC for the market here.

Even if Proton can install the ESC, there is another safety feature being promoted by the local transport authority: curtain airbag! It is now running advert advising people to buy cars with curtain airbag to minimise injury. The adverts are very persuasive in that they feature victims of side impacts giving their story. Proton would be well to take heed in the safety department if it wants to continue to sell its cars worldwide. No wonder it is going to developing countries but that is no consolation if the countries also start to impose safety standards.

• unknown on May 27, 2011 at 7:05 am

why need saga 1.6? Can see more accident ? Government always ask us to drive slowly but proton is asking us to not to do so.

• harry on May 27, 2011 at 8:17 am

apa itu manners???

• elite on May 27, 2011 at 8:19 am

Waja CPS Pengurus Besar
    Persona 1.6 Pekerja MNC
    Proton 1.6 Executive
    Proton 1.3 Pegawai Kerajaan
    Viva 1.1 Graduan Segar
    Savvy 1.1 Penuntut Universiti

• thebugbud on May 27, 2011 at 8:24 am

My wife saga blm has been great other than the back brake pump stuck and replaced. price is great and doesn’t give any other serious problem.

The only comment is the engine and gearbox.

1. engine is not refine (which i don’t mind since at that price and still good value for money)
    2. engine has a lagging issue when the throttle response is kind of retarded. After a session with SC, it’s a design issue and happens to all campro. For Auto is not a real issue but manual, will need to time your throttle and clutch a little different.
    3. gearbox has a strong slippage in gear change and slow in locking on to gear. In a way, it’s a smooth gear change but lots of power lost.
    4. the worse thing of all, is the FC. Average town driving is only clocking 10km/l and sometimes a bit less. My wife is a sedated driver and i believe it’s not a driver behavior but the combination of campro and the gearbox is giving a bad FC.

Similarly, I’m driving a Myvi and a little more aggressive driver, yet, I’m still clocking 12 to 13km/l. I understood that Myvi is about 100kg lighter but still, 2km/l different is a lot to consider.

Having said, Saga blm is good at his own turf and to be honest, the driving experience is much better than Myvi. However, for a ordinary family with expenses to managed, a good FC will certainly helps.

• so much of the complain is engine and transmission.
      i think proton do realised this and that why the next saga fl will be a iafm+vvt togather with cvt gearbox.

i think its wiser to wait for saga iafm+ cvt.

• Senang cerita, want Fuel efficiency & budget car “With luxury accessories”… since fuel Ron 95 price may increase any time…. Want Camry with Saga price… ha ha ha~ Kedekut ~ ;p

• Man Utd vs Barca on May 27, 2011 at 9:25 am

I drive Proton Persona because I love proton cars. I used to have a kelisa but experience make me changed.

The different between these 2 rival are: (my experience after drive my persona, my dad’s alza, my sis viva, my sis myvi, my friend’s saga, my dad’s waja, my dad’s merc, my kelisa, my bos civic, test drive proton savvy, vios, satria neo).

1. Driving experience:
    Proton feel heavy and stable like european car but perodua feel very light (japanese
    style). Proton is good for highway driving but perodua good for city driving.

2. Built quality:
    Persona, savvy, saga, neo, exora body have a tough feeling but viva, alza, have a
    cheap and thin feelings. Especially viva’s door.

3. Interior design and quality:
    Both at par. Both plastic. They are acceptable.

4. Exterior design.
    Both acceptable. BOth try to design something new. They dont duplicate. Exmpale:
    Saga FL headlamp is very fresh. No other manufacturer did that.
    Same goes to myvi’s headlamp, also weird almost like frog’s eye.
    But they are saleable.

5. Market segment.
    Proton give you a CAR complete with boot and hood. Give macho/matured feelings.
    Perodua give you a COMPACT CAR without boot. Give comel/cute feelings.
    I prefer proton because I like a CAR not a CAR WITHOUT BOOT.
    A man with myvi look comel. Hahaha. Women more suitable with myvi.
    A man with saga & persona look macho.
    A man and women with satria neo look sporty and ranggi…
    A man/women with Exora and Alza look very a family person…

Just my 2 cent from my experience..

• how much is the different of power-weight ration between saga and vios?
    anyone knows?

• LeBronJames on May 27, 2011 at 11:33 am

Advantage is on Saga FL on straight road.

Saga FL 1.6 (A)
      1,035kg + 14″ tyres + 40 liter tank

Vios G spec 1.6 (G)
      1,050kg + 15″ tyres + 42 liter tank

Vios J spec 1.5 (M)
      1,020kg + 14″ tyres + 42 liter tank

• kamal on May 27, 2011 at 9:46 am

the engine improved…but the looks, front quite okay, the rear…still boring…
    if it a hatchback like latios sport or even myvi, then it might attract younger buyer.

• Nizam80 on May 27, 2011 at 10:41 am

One quick question. All this while I’m wondering.. Is Saga BLM an A-segment or B-segment sedan? And is the current Persona a B-segment or C-segment sedan? It really doesn’t look as big as a the current Altis.

• Length Width Height Wheelbase
      Mazda 3 4580 1755 1470 2640 C
      Proton Inspira 4570 1760 1490 2635 C
      Toyota Altis 4540 1760 1465 2600 C
      Proton Persona 4477 1725 1438 2600 C
      proton waja 4465 1740 1420 2600 C
      vios 4300 1690 1440 2550 B
      saga 4257 1680 1502 2465 B

just my observation, but i think proton is marketing the persona as a b-segment car as well even though the size is very near the altis. saga FL is definitely a b-segment car.

• keyboard.rosak on May 27, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Savvy A, but price B
      Saga B, but price A
      Persona C, price C

• be cool on May 27, 2011 at 12:40 pm

thumbs up for Proton for their effort.. i can c that lately they r very bz!! n i like it!! i prefer this saga 1.6 compared to myvi..

• Airwind on May 27, 2011 at 1:17 pm

nothing to do with proton if you are not responsible with the power given :P with 1.6 you will have an easier time going uphill. doesn’t necessarily mean you can speed through highway..

• allanpeters on May 27, 2011 at 5:33 pm

the pro-Protonists must either be young drivers, have short memories or have a poor concept of how the automotive industry works.. FYI, I owned the original Saga way back in 1986, I never owned (nor will) a Myvi, and obviously I’m not comparing the current Saga with the Saga/Isawara. My earlier criticisms apply equally, if not more so, to Perodua.

The only reason Proton and Perodua (P&P) are “cheap” is because protectionist policies tax other car makers, making them more expensive. Why do you not question the RM60,000 price tag for Malaysian-made Gen-2 when the same car is sold in Dubai for RM30,000 (DHS40,000)? If you RM30,000 to spend, would you rather buy a Gen-2 or a Saga? The fact that Proton can sell the same car in Dubai for nearly half the price and still make a profit is proof that the actual production cost is not as high as the company claims.

Look, I am a patriotic Malaysian, and I realize that such protectionist measures were necessary to help P&P achieve quick profitability. BUT IT HAS BEEN OVER 20 YEARS!!

Every single person who has bought a car – any car – in malaysia in the last 20 years has directly or indirectly contributed to the profits and cash reserves of Proton and Perodua (and the Govt). That is BILLIONS that we the car owner has OVERPAID over the last 20 YEARS for a car that costs far less.

Every single car maker in the world spends money on R&D, production, marketing, etc, P&P are no different.

If the excuse for is economies of scale, that Proton/Perodua is not selling enough cars hence unable to reduce the selling price or maximise profit on volume, then that is the Company’s problem, not the Consumer.

If P&P were paying above market value for locally-made components, that is a problem created by a corrupt and inefficient industry. Again, this is not the consumer’s problem.

Everyone is complaining about petrol prices. If a Gen-2 owner’s monthly fuel bill went up by $100 a month bcs of price increase, thats only RM1200 a year or RM6000 based on 5 year ownership. Would you rather save RM30,000 by removing the protectionist taxes or pay RM6,000 more in fuel costs?

Re safety, the consumer has every right to demand that cars from P&P provide features like ABS and Airbags as standard. If it comes standard for Proton cars in UK, why not us? Are Malaysian lives less valuable to Proton than their UK customers?

My criticism about facelifts and variants is valid: P&P have milked the original Saga and Wira, Kancil and Myvi (which were already based on superseded Mitsubishi & Daihatshu models to begin with) well past its use-by date. I’ve lost count of the number of “special editions” P&P has produced.

As far as the current Saga is concerned, if they had introduced this 1.6 variant at the same price as the 1.3 model, and made a corresponding reduction to the 1.3 price (as is done by virtually every other car maker in the world), I would be singing their praises.

after over 20 years of paying more for less, call me a cynic, but this is just more of the same.. Until proven otherwise..

• alfie60 on May 27, 2011 at 6:16 pm

There are about 300+ vendors supplying about RM7+billion worth of parts. With Dr M and Dtk Nadzmi back at the helm all this vendors are untouchable. Premium price for shitty components. After 27 years still no change in quality. Only heavy PR spin and asking us to be patriotic to buy the cars. WTF ;-)

• tan e l on May 27, 2011 at 6:42 pm

walawei so loooong…..anybody want to do a PHD can use this for their thesis……….

• Teh-O on May 29, 2011 at 12:26 am

This shows your inability to grasp facts that are presented in your face. Go get some education.

• cilllax on May 30, 2011 at 1:43 pm

poor guy cant differentiate long winded crap from direct 2 d point comment….but then this guy is also known for his long winded novel length crappy comment……….just like what my German prof describe a typical uptight englishman who need long winding flowery word to make a point but ended like a crap…..sigh

• redboy on May 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm

correction:

1) Its over 25 years!

2) Consumer contributes directly or indirectly to Protong, Perodua….AND the cronied Suppliers hiding at the back. How can a broken power windows/Door Handle/Gas pump broken so easily yet Protong DONT cut their supply? Go figure out. Its the same who owns MAS Catering and supplied MAS Rm50 for a box of inflight meal. Mas losing money, but the suppliers getting richer and richer. If not for Air Asia, you think we got such competitive ticket price? MAS is monopolized the who route before that. The study found out MAS intend to DOUBLE the price just before AirAsia launched. So market competitive is good for consumer, which we are taken away by the corrupted Gov for their suppliers.

• bongek on May 28, 2011 at 2:39 am

i agreed with you,,,it already 20 year. all car brand should tax at same level….
      so persona at vios price? inspira at lancer price? exora at innova price?

this approach will give income to gov and no need to increase petrol or sugar price anymore….

• I agree with some of your comments but i think P&P is not the only ones to be blamed here. Your argument about P&P being protected and untaxed is sort of outdated already. These days the G, P&P are no longer the only parties responsible for high car prices in m’sia.

What about segment of cars that are not taxed heavily / no tax ? Eg. the hybrid vehicles. You still see honda and especially toyota still pricing their cars at sky high prices even after the G announced no duty on hybrid cars. Remember?

A virtually tax free toyota prius selling in m’sia at RM140k is a real joke!!!! ….when it is only about RM68k in the USA depending on trim. So what if the G abolish tax for cars below 1600cc like vios and city? i bet honda and toyota will probably reduce the price by around 5k max and pocket the rest of the savings in tax while laughing all the way to the bank.

all this will happen whether or not P&P is protected simply bcos there are alot of greedy ppl around and also lots of dumb supporters/buyers.

• Anand on May 27, 2011 at 7:14 pm

i wonder which executive is going to use this car

• Advantage is on Saga FL on straight road.

Saga FL 1.6 (A)
    1,035kg + 14? tyres + 40 liter tank

Vios G spec 1.6 (G)
    1,050kg + 15? tyres + 42 liter tank

Vios J spec 1.5 (M)
    1,020kg + 14? tyres + 42 liter tank

let’s see
    power to weight ratio
    Saga FL 1.6 (A) – 110hp / 1,035kg
    = 0.106hp/kg

Vios J spec 1.5 (M) – 108hp/1,020kg
    =0.1058 ~ 0.106/kg

so power to weight ratio both cars are similar

• 1,035 kgs is for Saga 1.3
      Saga 1.6 A kerb weight is 1,075kgs.
      Therefore the power to weight ratio is 1.01
      /kg
      Vios 1.6E is 1,050kgs & 109hp power to weight ratio is 1.103/kg

Conclution Vios still win interm of power to weight ratio.

• 1,035 kgs is for Saga 1.3
      Saga 1.6 A kerb weight is 1,075kgs.
      (info from proton edar website)
      Therefore the power to weight ratio is 1.01
      /kg
      Vios 1.6E is 1,050kgs & 109hp power to weight ratio is 1.103/kg

Conclution Vios still win interm of power to weight ratio.

• LeBronJames on May 27, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Put the papers stats aside, Personally I feel 1.6 Saga will have the advantage over 1.5E Vios, 0 – 160km/h. Don’t under estimate campro IAFM, Vios VVT-I in Vois is nothing great either.

• err…actually you are wrong either. the stated vios output 109 is not hp but ps. equivalent to 107.51. but since both spec stated in kw i do comparison in kw

for saga 1.6
        82kw = 109.96hp
        weight = 1075kg
        p2w = 0.1023hp/kg

vios
        80kw = 107.28hp
        weight = 1050kg
        p2w = 0.1021hp/kg

saga 1.6 win but with minimal different exclude drag coefficient and gb differences.

• extrastrong on May 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm

why is the vios, a seemingly larger car.. so light????!

• just wait for iafm+ with cvt. i belive the car will feel more refine.

• Perodua Myvi DVVT Auto : 12~13km/L
    Proton Saga IAFM Auto : 13~14km/L

I still dun get why people will choose Myvi when they can actually get a cheaper, more comfortable, better handling, tougher Saga. Saga and Myvi’s fuel consumption is so similar already, is there any other point? good for newbie that the car is bootless? easy to park car? lol…
    why dun say Saga better for handling, less accident at high speed. which one is better?
    Saga got quality problem? emm… so far so good. just like Myvi, only small problems.. sure got la.. nothing’s perfect. Why not Persona? hehe.. Persona Replacement. Ppl dont please dun buy the white persona, later u will regret when the Persona R is out very soon!

• You sure 13-14km/l for saga?don’t make me burst into laugther

• if u said 13 ~ 14km/L… then 100km/14L = 7.1km/L which is a lot higher than on paper stated 6.3L/100km!!!! Myvi i got Manual also…. Dont know why my average max can do 400km +-10km in town area full tank….forgot full tank how much should be less than Alza…. ROn 95

• Sambal Belacan on May 27, 2011 at 11:40 pm

I think u need to go back to primary school to study mathematics again.
    I own a saga blm m-line manual.Travel alone with 50% of the time aircond off. Never speed over 100kmph and my blm’s mileage is 12.7km/L. I don’t think saga auto can have that figure.

• zainal abidin on May 28, 2011 at 8:23 am

My FL auto gets ~300km urban and ~420km highway (PLUS) driving. Mainly due to the gear very late change from 1 to 2 to 3 to 4 (urban driving). Time to change to the K&N RM9025 air filter. Then hopefully maybe we see a slight increase in mileage.

• if constant speed 80km/hr balik kampung Myvi can clock 600km!!! rpm less than 3000rpm…

• Look at my stripes! It’s 1.6 Litre!
    Look at my stripes! It’s 1.6 Litre!

• zainal abidin on May 28, 2011 at 10:21 am

My FL auto gets ~300km urban and ~420km highway (PLUS) driving. Mainly due to the gear very late change from 1 to 2 to 3 to 4 (urban driving). To avoid warranty void, nothing can be done to the ECU and TCU. Time to change to the K&N RM9025 air filter. Then hopefully maybe we see a slight increase in mileage.

• cidey on May 28, 2011 at 1:23 pm

lol..i just got hire with 1.7k salary and thinking to get persona….but this one is really promising…aaaaaaaaaaaaa

• redboy on May 28, 2011 at 9:52 pm

i was driving a 5 yrs old Saga when i am at ur salary. save ur money instead of putting it into a car, the insurance, petrol will kill u,

• Cucukman on May 29, 2011 at 8:01 am

Dey,
      Only spend 15% from your salary for monthly installment..
      if ur salary 1.7k, only spend rm255 loh.. not more than that…
      255 monthly can get Wira aeroback 2006..
      or save your money to get new Persona R later…hehe

• what can u buy with Rm255 monthly? motorbike only???

• at that salary i was driving a 7 years old 2nd hand iswara.

• Paul Tan on May 31, 2011 at 2:28 pm

I was driving a 9 year old Satria, even that was RM400 a month.

• lalok_stylo on Jun 04, 2011 at 8:00 pm

agree with paul….
            my 10years satria also costs around RM 400…..
            i dont think there is any car cost RM 255/month only…..
            if it exist, plz tell me…..:-)

• cidey on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:17 pm

lol…aww u totally right need pay house…car..(girfl=_=) this will make me bankrupt …right i drive my father car, first orange gen2..and actually i so happy with it… haha

• Sorry, guys. I’m an automobile noob. Found this at Proton Edar website :

Saga FL Executive 1.6L
    Maximum output hp(kW)/rpm 82 / 6500

Saga FL Executive 1.3L
    Maximum output hp(kW)/rpm 94 / 6000

Guys, can anyone please explain the above ? A grateful thanks to all who help.

• Hi, guys. I’m an automobile noob. Found this at Proton Edar website:

Saga FL Executive 1.6L

Saga FL Executive 1.3L

Can anyone please enlighten me on the above ? A grateful thanks to all who help. All comments are welcomed.

• Guys, I am an auto noob. Found this at Proton’s website :

Saga FL Executive 1.6L

Saga FL Executive 1.3L

Anyone please share your knowledge on the above ? Any comments are welcome and a grateful thanks to all who help.

• gaban on May 28, 2011 at 5:10 pm

i just got my new 1.3 fl exec auto n drove for a week n 2 days. Damn newspaper advertised the 1.6 variant :(

• mike161 on May 29, 2011 at 1:37 am

i wish they have this color soon…

satria neo lotus racing edition green color, savvy Stratos Blue n Energy Orange, Chiffon Green & Plum Red….!!

pls lah… must b vry best n fun with all the color on the road…

• zainal abidin on May 29, 2011 at 9:57 am

Urban driving rarely more than 100 km/h. Highway driving more than 100 km/h, especially during overtaking. Mine’s an auto, so off the a/c compressor is a must during ovetaking and spirited drives. But then the tank holds only 40 liters. I guess when the fuel warning indicator start blinking there’s an another ~ 30 km – 40 km but of course I won’t drive until the fuel runs out. My oh my….this 1.6 FL is so much better in terms of performance since it’s the same engine / tranny fitted to the Persona.

• i already booked this saga fl 1.6…stock will arrive next week..yeah!!! cant wait to drive my 1st car (^_^)

• rosdi on May 30, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Next month will release SAGA FL 1.6 Turbo… haha… add 4K only… haha.. cry lah u..

• be cool on May 30, 2011 at 5:32 pm

i think no turbo for saga..

• Jeff Kow on May 31, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Will u first try the Proton Turbo engine? After try let me know……….NA engine still not mature, want so fast to be Turbo……..hahahahhaha

• Good car for balik kampong.

• Lean Production System on May 30, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Myme : please give feedback after you drive it…:)

Hope they will come out with cvt as soon as possible…

• I got my 1.3 FL(A) 2 months ago. Done 1,000 km service. Bad thing about the car is high fuel consumption. RM50 can only go to 200 km (80% short distance travelling). Anybody have same problem ? How to solve?

• zainal abidin on May 31, 2011 at 4:29 pm

RM 50.00 of RON 95 fuel will refills only 26 liters out of 40 liters full tank. What I get is ~300 km urban (short distance @ lots of jams & traffic lights) and ~420 km highway (PLUS + outstation) driving for my 1.3 FL . Once the fuel warning icon starts blinking I guess there’s an extra 30 – 40 km. Of course I don’t drive until the fuel runs out. Try refilling until the fuel comes out and set the trip meter. Do tell me if you get more mileage than I do and I would like to learn how (“,)

• I own Saga 1.3 Manual on May 31, 2011 at 7:19 pm

I also have higher than normal FC for at least 1000km.
      After engine piston lossen up, then it will go to at least 11km/liter.

• look like clear inventory

• Irony on May 31, 2011 at 9:40 am

I have booked the New Saga 1.6 too :) Later want to add some bodykit..
    i choose 1.6 because it give more torque to cruise up and down hill

• its just ridiculous how our malaysian cars, sold in other countries are much much cheaper and have much much more specs than ours.

Persona in Australia comes with traction control and ESP

Satria Neo in UK comes with tinted glass and ESP

price? about 3000 ringgit cheaper there as well.

so why are you supporting friggin proton? they totally screwed up the whole car industry in malaysia.

we could’ve been the hub of toyota and honda, not thailand. we have better economy and better skilled ppl. but no we need to protect proton. after 25 years? even your kid is too old to be spoon fed after 25 years!

• Rodin on Jun 03, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Bro..please don’t spread lies. Please share me where you get that info. I am one of the proton staff.. There are no esp developement in neo or persona. So how the heck we sell persona and neo with esp. However, future proton model will be equip with esp but not with the current line up. I wish that each of the customers who walk in into proton showroom demand for these safety futures. By demanding these safety features, we can actually remove the cheaper variant of cars (make our job easier as well :P). Anyways, end of the day, customer will look for cheaper option. In other words, most dont really care. Imo, customers should be taught of these safety features. Esp system and the developement is expensive. Tbh, i am not sure whether the price increase would be acceptable to customers. would you buy saga blm if it is priced like myvi’s price? Thanks for reading such a long post ;)

• karimsopian on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Perhaps, Proton can improve a little bit on the interior. Maybe a little touch up on the orange coloured meter cluster, the dashboard design, etc. to make it more appealing for the public. Looking at the new Myvi interior, I think they’ve done it a little bit better than Saga. With all the touch screen, etc, Saga interior does looks quite empty right?

Just out of curiosity, how much more actually does it cost to put in ABS? Does it really expensive that it will push up the price tag too high? But if we put safety in our priority list, at least, the public has some rights to choose to have this feature (just like what Perodua is doing with their Myvi: some got ABS, some not…).

By the way, the 2 airbag is a good add in though (ermm…it’s crucial actually, IMHO)..

And… I’m sure Proton is coming up with improvement for the engine right?

With a little bit of improvement on the interior design, ABS & airbag, and a better engine for Saga (and a reasonable price tag for the different variant – for different target groups), it would certainly be a good buy for the time being.

• Rodin on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Cant: Please dont spread nonsense over here. We never develope esp for persona and neo so how the heck do we sell them? the so call protection policy, end of the day, proton still have to pay tax well on all the imported parts. It is not as proton don need to pay tax you know. Import, export, customs bla3 we still have to go through normal process too.

• alahai….saga fl 1.6 should be more attractive la….dri segi body part ke,..haihh…ni still same just enjin je lain….lampu blakang tu tkar la LED bsar ckit…y skg ni alahai kciknyer,time hujan org blkg x nmpk tau…bhaye….

• belt line stripe is so mundane and old fashioned. its so unnessasary.
    what proton should do is give it a liquid orange color like satria neo have. a strikingly newer spirit.

agree?

• charsiewriceboy on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:54 am

RM 50 for 300 ? Be best to install NGV…8.50 rm i can go 200 km already …

• roshaizul on Jun 02, 2011 at 9:30 am

Saya pasti ramai di sini tak pandai buat char kuey tiow goreng.

Saya amat pasti, membuat kereta adalah tidak semudah menggoreng char kuey tiow.

Walaupun anda adalah seorang jurutera automotif, adalah sukar sebenarnya hendak mereka sebuah kereta. Jangan katakan kereta, hendak reka salur penyaman udara pun sudah memeningkan kepala.

Jadi, kita hormat saja para pereka, jurutera dan pembuat di Proton. Sama macam anda menghormati rakan dan saudara mara anda. Sebab, mereka juga manusia, ada rasa, ada jiwa.

Dan, rasa cinta dan kejiwaan mereka kepada negara menyebabkan mereka setia sahaja dengan Proton, membangun bersama Proton.

Dan, pada saya Proton tidaklah keji sangat berbanding dengan kereta keluaran Jepun dan Korea. Cuma persepsi masyarakat yang kadang-kala mempengaruhi kita tatkala mendengar perkataan “PROTON”.

Hanya pandangan orang biasa, pemilik Proton Iswara Sedan model 1997. Masih gagah atas jalan beb! :-)

• Sambal Belacan on Jun 02, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Kalian tahu kenapa Proton Iswara sedan kalian masih gagah atas jalan? Ini kerana Proton Iswara sedan keluaran 1997 adalah based on Mitsubishi punya kereta. U punya iswara punya enjin (magma)adalah enjin Mitsubishi, u punya Iswara punya chassic adalah Mitsubishi punya cjassic, u punya iswara punya gearbox adalah Mitsubishi punya gearbox.
      U try bandingkan dengan waja yg pakai enjin Campro,Sudah pasti Iswara u lagi best berbanding dgn waja campro.
      BTW, Bapa aku juga pemilik Iswara sedan 1.3 keluaran tahun 1997(manual).Prestasinya lagi best berbanding dgn Saga BLM M-line keluaran 2009! Enjinnya lebih sedap berbanding Campro 1.3 iafm blm ku.Gearboxnya lebih smooth berbanding Gearbox blm ku.Hanya satu shj BLM ku menang iaitu dari segi handling.
      Dr segi FC dua-dua sama teruk,tapi ingat iswara bapa ku dah berumur15tahundan mileadgenya dah cecah 100000km++ manakala blm ku baru berumur 3 tahun dengan mileadge 27558km.

• Sapa Kata enjin Campro tak bagus saya Pakai Gen2 Campro 2005 disamping BWM Mazda Produa dekat highway 180km/h senang nak capai 200km/h berat sikit. Enjin smoot sampai sekarag service ikut masa. Kita jika pakai kereta service ikut masa dan banyak sikit jangan lanyak satu je. Service mesti bagus. Tetapi ada masa nasib tak baik dapat kereta teruk. Iswara model memang bagus 160-170 km/h boleh kat Highway. Gearbox problem melambak Iswara. Jepun bagi kita teknologi lama semua kereta jepun Toyota, Honda semua begitu yang kat Jepun lagi baik. Kereta ni bergantung kepada cara penggunaan dan penyelenggaraan.

Kalau nak complain Honda banyak masalah begitu juga Toyota tapi dasar melayu suka kutuk bangsa sendiri. Saya dah hidup ditempat orang luar malaysia kalau saya tengok bangsa lain mereka lagi terok, mereka bersatu sesama bangsa. Kalau kita ada anak adakah kita cerita kat orang anak kita terok atau kita ada mak bapak adakah kita complaint pasal mak bapak kita. Kita mesti sokong apa yang kita ada dan sentiasa bersukur. Sekira nya kita terus memuji teknologi Jepun kita terus berada dimasa lampau zaman kegemilangan Jepun tapi masa tu dah berlalu.

Sebagai rakyak Malaysia kita mestilah menyokong usaha kita untuk menguasai dunia. Walaupun kita masih merangkat tetapi kita berusaha, semua negara merangkak. Ada negara macam British dah jadi negara tua semuanta nak dijual seperti Lotus sebab dah tak larat. Jepun muda lagi boleh teruskan dan Malaysia ni remaja. Kita mesti sedar dan berbangga bukan menjatuhkan. Sekira kita menjatuhkan adakah orang lain akan naikkan.

Sedarlah dan pemikiran kita mesti terbuka jangan ingat kereta lain yang nak cantik tak ada masalah. Bila dapat kereta inpian dan orang semua kata bagus so belakonlah pada hal masalah lebih teruk lagi dari proton dengan tak lajunya contoh Honda City laju sampai 170km/h plug pakai lapan biji dua setiap satu piston satu plug harga RM80. Rupa macam sampan terbalik, gearbox kena berhati-hati kalautak problem. Tetapi sebab dari umur 20 tahun sekarang umur 54 tahun inpikan Honda beli jugalah. Sekaarang bukan tahun 80 an bang semua dah berubah Proton pun dah boleh buat kereta sendiri lebih baik dari Jepun.

Atau kita nak hancurkan perniagaan kita biar syarikat lain kontrol semua, kita dok buat apa tengok je putih mata. So sokonglang barangan Malaysia semoga satu hari kita menguasai dunia. Kalau kita kata boleh kita boleh. Terima kasih

• Sambal Belacan,
        saya cuma nak bg tahu satu pekara, saga BLM guna Gearbox dari Nissan, auto made in japan dan manual, Nissan Gearbox but made by korean cmpny. untuk Campro untuk waja, gen2, persona dan satria neo dibuat oleh Mitsubishi.
        Proton belum pernah buat gearbox lg, sebab buat gearbox lebih susah dari buat enjin..

• Kael'etz on Jun 11, 2011 at 2:37 am

yahoooo..nasib xjadi amik saga fl 1.3 ari tu….alhamdulillah ari keta saga fl 1.6 da parking kat umah ku…xcited giler sbb dpt beli keta ngan gaji sndri…apapn..keta smuanya sma fungsi, utk gi keja, utk kperluan sharian. *wlaupn salunya tuk bawa awek manis kuar ahahaha… keta import ker, local ker…yg pnting pndai jaga..kalu keta ferarri skali pn kalu xmaintaince n srvice, cmfrm cpt rosak..btul x smua….:)

• zainal abidin on Jun 13, 2011 at 9:58 am

Bro…..nanti bagi tau macamana penggunaan petrol yg 1.6 FL ni… 1 tangki 40L penuh boleh gerak berapa jauh….urban dan highway…TQ

• slm..nak tnya…lambat x dapat keta 1.6…ms kamu bl?

• arina on Jun 17, 2011 at 3:53 pm

tak karat lg ke keta hang? :-)

• george mb on Jun 07, 2011 at 1:16 am

I dont why when proton car always in auto transmission for h-line or bigger cc? i really don’t like auto gear…

• biase je.. lagi2 rim kitar semula..
    stiker bleh wat sendiri..
    nothing special about the exterior..
    same je cam 1.3 biase.. come on la proton..
    be more creative and productive..
    x kan nk kalah ngan P2?

• betul….. iswara memang tahan lasak engine smooth jika nak di bandingkan model baru proton mcm saga blm…. bukti nyer tengok jealah teksi kt malaysia ni pakai ape proton iswara beb…. ada jugak saga blm teksi tp engine mcm diesel…… jurutera proton ni cmnelah belajar x habis ke??? kualiti dr dulu x pernah selesai bukan x sokong prodak tempatan tp sekarang aku support perodua

• Kael'etz on Jun 11, 2011 at 2:46 am

gi la ko support produa..mudah-mudahan perodua bagi ko adiah saguhati tmbahan tym ari jadi keta ko nt ahahahhaha…sa xfham tul la..kan sama ja fungsi keta tu..asal ada keta cukup la…xyah nak banding2.. apa yg pnting nilai keta makin lama makin turun, hrga rumah makin lama makin naik…bg yg golongan bujang n sderhana cam sa, bli jer keta yg simple da ckup..pastu saving tuk kawen n bli rumah…:)

• Wow 1.6 cc but i dont like AT transmissions. I hope MT for next.More power and pick up.

• Punisher on Jun 18, 2011 at 10:23 am

I owned the First Version of the SAGA BLM 1.3 (M). The car took me 70,000km in 2 years with top speed of 190km/h, I never encounter any problem. Most of this contributed to the constant Proton Service. For petrol vise, RON97s giving more power than I thought for a 1.3 variant. With an average speed of 80-90km/h the car can take me up to 380km which is fair enough to me.

I agree to the fact that some of the buyer who choose Proton mainly because of the pricing. However, as time flies, we can see that Proton is developing and gradually improving their quality, not the best yet, but still competitive. So i think it’s not fair to compare Saga to Vios/City which is priced differently. Please make the criteria comparable.

Chronologically, recent launched models from Proton were priced below RM60K (i never included Inspira because it will raise some dissatisfaction for Lancer owners), if the market is ready for a higher-priced/quality Proton, i’m sure they are willing to do so. After all, business is all about earnings. We cannot be bad mouthing Proton for anything they produced.

Coming back to the 1.6 variant, I believe it’s a very reasonable price. If you’re looking for a more solid model, Persona is the one. The sound of the IAFM engine is soft but the car should stick to the maximum speed of 140km/h. With all the ride & handling features plus enhanced performance, I do not foresee any reason to bash Proton only to uplift other models.

• simply save your $$ to buy the new-myvi better :-)

• idris on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:58 pm

dah tengok ke chasis engin myvi baru ni camane!! kalau nak bunuh diri diri..naik lee..

• idris on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:49 am

hampeh betul keta nih!

• Booked already, wait ing for registeration.

• anonymous on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Dear readers,
    I just bought a new SE manual 6 months ago.
    My experience with Proton:
    1. 1st month after 1 week driving on the road, there is a weird sound. Went to service center, they told me they also not sure, thought is something to do with screw or nuts, it’s an intermitent problem, sometimes you can hear it, sometimes it don’t…..so be with it, until today, I still can hear it occasionally.

2. 4th month driving, in the afternoon, when the sun is hot, if you wind down your power window, you can hear the damp annoying sound, seems that Proton never improves after decades. I just feel “wordless” when I read some reviews that Proton has improved their technology.

3. the most important point is the fuel consumption. I read the reviews and some said Proton is good, Vios suck, why buy Vois, City and not Proton.

Vois – RM0.15/0.16 cents per km on normal road
    – RM0.13/0.14 cents per km on highway

Proton – RM0.18/0.19 cents per km on normal road
    – RM0.16/0.17 cents per km on highway

even Perodua MyVi – RM0.15/0.16 cents per km on normal road

So, a Proton driver may need to pump petrol 4 times a month while Vois user just need to pump petrol 3 times a month. Just imagine if you are doing sales and you will definitely feel the pain…

Now, would you think twice before you support Proton? more than 25 years and yet it is disappointing or maybe this is government agenda to promote or encourage Malaysian to pay more visits to petrol station and keep on sucking our money from the reduction of subsidy……

Think thoroughly before you make your decision.

• Punisher on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:17 am

For petrol consumption, i wish i can clarify a little from my experience driving the 1st batch of Saga.

Based on my usage, the fuel consumption is only RM0.15/km. This is based on RON 95 pricing but I’m using RON 97 for the whole period. This also needs to consider the size of the fuel tank/road condition/average speed (which i supposed you will know better).

Let say if Vios pump 3 times in a month = 42ltr x 3 = 126ltr

For Saga (4 times per month) = 30ltr x 4 = 120ltr

Of course considering the variant of 1.3 and 1.5, Vios if comparably more fuel savings. (Frankly, i will not make such comparison).

However, as i mentioned in my previous comments in this topic, please make the comparison logical. You cannot be comparing RM 70K+ vehicle with a mere RM35K one. Not fair for both.

Both are targeting different level of users with different spending power. Who knows, Vios may not want to be compared against Saga. No point of uplifting Vios by comparing with lower variant. If the comparison is necessary, take Persona which i think is closer.

If Vios is better (i supposed a lot of people are driving one, so it’s very easy for you to get comparison), why are you buying Saga?

Both Vios & City are considered a C-Class vehicle in Malaysia which i think AsianAuto also made that comparison in this year’s release. No one has ever put in Saga side to side with either one.

Anyway, I’m not die hard of any brand as i too having the type of vehicles you mentioned as above. Different cars for different usage.

• Cikgu Mathematics on Jun 25, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Anyone who says New Saga’s 1.3 Fc is lower than Vios’s 1.5 Fc, He/she must be blind or failed their’s UPSR Mathematics examinations.BTW, I had count my Saga BLm and my friend’s vios FC and i had past my UPSR,PMR,SPM(A-Maths) with flying colous(Grade A or Band 1).:)

• die faster la, can drive faster with this kind of car, whether the safety realibility is the question mark, why dun put V6 2.0 engin for saga ……

• sulahbelimaa on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:35 pm

sebab nak sokong produk malaysia wa sulah beli proton saga ni 2 hari lepas.
    siap bayar cash lagi apa ada hal?? kereta murah maa.. rosak kalu buleh beli lain..
    zaman sekarang beli kereta pakai buang saja..

• kent1189 on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:01 am

apa poin beli kereta baru, then jual, loan lagi, jual loan lagi.. sampai tua pn tak habis2 hutang dgn bank, bank juga yang untung.. kita dpt apa? harga kereta tiap tahun turun, keluar dok je, automatik trn harga. bagus beli rumah besar drp byar keta mahal, lgi lama rumah lagi mahal. p anyw sya still skong proton la, tak pyah nk beli keta impot. just beli waja 2nd yang hrga rm30k ++. just tkar enjin 4G93/63 lam rm5/6k, tkar suspension yg bagus, bushing tukar baru, service brake sistem, tayar bagus, tukar seat..and apa2 yg longgar. then kita dh dpt pkai keta power n selesa..save bajet x pyah byar mahal2 coz keta 2nd hand..hehe

• kent1189 on Jul 07, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Buat apa beli kereta baru, bayar mahal2. pakai je apa yg ada. tak berbaloi byar keta mahal2 then 2/3 thun nk tukar pulak. kan lebih baik kita beli rumah je, biar bayar mahal asal umah selesa, besar n ingatlah umah semakin lama semakin mahal, pelaburan tu.. kalo kereta makin tahun makin rugi. bagi saya cukup la beli keta 2nd hand Waja year 2000-2005 harga dlm RM25-30k. pastu kalau nak tukar enjin bajet dlm rm5/6k 4G93/63 ke kalau nak power lagi. then tukar pulak absober bagus, bushing2 n mana2 part yg longgar n interior spt kapet lama buang kan if x nak bau kentut owner lama lekat.. frame waja ni dh kira bagus dh utk speeding 100-200km/j. bajet la dlm rm10k lagi. kalo loan pun byar x mahal dlm rm350-rm400 je. balen gaji bleh beli brg umah/pampers/susu baby..hehe. (kalo dh ada baby x yah la speeding smpai 200km/j.) itu utk kluarga kecik la. p kalo yang kilang anak tu power, tpaksa la cari MPV, i recomen exora.. bleh pakai long term.. spaypart pn murah n senang cari..
    Kesimpulannya disini, x payah la beli kereta setakat nk bergaya. biar pakai keta kancil turbo, asalkan rumah banglow..haha. baru tau kan.. macam ucapan PM tengahari tadi sempena hari Felda, dia cakap rumah slah seorang peneroka felda tu bernilai RM1.7mil.. tak pulak dia ckp pakai keta ape. tapi if ada bajet/duit banyak lebih apa salahnya pakai keta selesa lagi kan.. mudah2 an la kita kt malaysia ni mendapat gaji minimum RM5k p/month mnjelang 2020..\

• dienadin on Jul 16, 2011 at 7:25 am

chery eastar sunroof untuk di jual… untuk makluman lanjut sila call 012-2050839…din chery branch…:)))

• i hope there are MT for this model.

• if not for this new FL = Lame facelift i would buy 1. Look at the tail light. Its like taking its pride by making its so small lololol.Whose the designer lol. They have no feel at all. Might go for persona instead. This is so lame.

• keta kecik xper janji poket tebal, every year value rumah naik spend utk beli rumah lg bagus utk masa depan anak2 and then beli kebun ke at least before we close our eyes we can change family economy…

• can u compare proton saga FL 1.6 and proton saga FLX 1.3? which one is better as in iol comsumption and servicing charges?

• help me decide please. proton saga F 1.6 n FLX 1.3. wic is better in oil comsuption n long term use wit cheaper servicing? thanks :)

• do u mean fuel consumption, flx runs at lower rpm at 90km/h-110km/h compared to 1.6fl, and smoother also, suitable for people who dont like to rev the engine and feel the accelration, 1.6 fl got more punch during stop and go, in my opinion 1.6 fl got higher fc than 1.3flx, service i think the same cost ,because of same model saga, its the cost of component for engine like oil filter slighly higher but not much, 1.6fl use disc brake for front and rear. compared with front only for flx, so that higher cost

• which is better, saga fl or myvi?

• kumareshan on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:39 pm

saga FL 1.6 still available?? How much the price now?

• ahmad hadi on Feb 17, 2012 at 12:33 am

do you all know the ex-factory prices comparsion for cars?
    1) Persona – 35k
    2) Saga – 28K
    3) City – 32K
    4) Vios – 31K
    and why proton is more expensive in Langkawi than non proton makes?
    It is the preferential tax structure and protection given to Protong by the govt.
    so comparing a city vs vios vs persona is apple to apple based on the ex factory prices.
    For proton they have over 500 RND staff compared to Honda Japan which has about 200. yet proton produces lousy looking cars. Even compared to Hyundai and Kia they are way behind. Technology wise? Proton still cannot produce their own gear box. the Campro engine is only similar to a Fiat twin cam engine produced in the 60s.
    My friend’s Gen 2 is having overheating problems for the last 2 years and even Edar HQ along kesas is not able to solve her problem. 2 days ago happened in Melaka, a proud owner of a Saga had problem with her saga after owning it for 3 days and yet after a month now, her problem is still unsolved. Protn services sucks. Heard DRB-Hicom is going to shut down Edar for good. Next Proton is in line