Tan Chong introduces the Nissan Navara 4X4 King Cab

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) today announced the arrival of the Nissan Navara King Cab 4X4. The King Cab bodystyle is common in Thailand, but this is the first of such trucks introduced in Malaysia.

The King Cab has four doors, but unlike in double cabs, the shorter rear ones here are “suicide doors” that open 90 degrees. There are no pillars to obstruct the opening. The room behind the front seats are for non-human cargo.

Also, compared to the Navara Double Cab, the shorter cab gives the King Cab a longer cargo bed. To be exact, it’s 1,840 mm vs 1,480 mm, or 360 mm longer.

Like the Navara 4X4 Double Cab M/T, the King Cab is powered by the YD25DDTi 2.5L engine with 174 PS and 403 Nm of torque, not the lower powered 144 PS/356 Nm engine from the Navara Calibre 4X2. It’s paired to a six-speed manual gearbox.

The 4WD system has ‘Shift on the Fly’ function that allows for switching from 2WD to 4WD on the move.

The Navara King Cab is available in four colours, namely Tungsten Silver, Twilight Grey, Brilliant White and Supreme Black. The on-the-road price (including insurance) for Peninsular Malaysia is RM 82,800 and the warranty is for three years or 100,000 km, whichever comes first.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 123GO on May 26, 2011 at 6:12 pm

The front passenger and driver will get kill by those safety belt if the backdoor open first …..

• Danny on May 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm

How would you open the back door without opening the front ones??

• 123GO on May 26, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Come on … there is a chances that you open the door without ticking of your safety belt and in the mean time the person behind open the back door … = Epic fail !

• 4G63T DSM on May 26, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Dont think anyone would be opening the doors from the back. There are no seats at the back.

• donsimplybullshit on May 26, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Dude, pls check out the car to understand how the rear door operate. u know ntg!

• having poka yoke design on that, and safety agent will not approved as well..
          or else sure many ppl will try to do so then sue on it and get big amount of compesation.

• Kiddo on May 27, 2011 at 10:32 am

Dear 123GO, i guess you’ve never been inside nor have seen a Mazda RX8 before. These doors have been designed in such a way that the rear door can only be opened after the front door is opened, totally different from those on RR models.

• torres on May 26, 2011 at 6:54 pm

Good point! I’ll wait for the FORD RANGER 2012….

• nazism on May 27, 2011 at 5:57 am

We must wait for the Ford F-150, not Ranger.

• Fluid on May 27, 2011 at 4:26 pm

Even if you walk to US and back the F150 will never come but you can continue to wait…

• luffykewl on May 26, 2011 at 7:01 pm

for sure the engineers designed it so the suicide door can only be open after the front door opened.. unless they are too dumb to notice that..

• burppp on May 26, 2011 at 9:00 pm

lol.. funny statement…. good one.

• Hadi75 on May 26, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Dude…if not mistaken..u have to open the front door first before can open the rear door…

• Why that color for interior… Why..

• neveraproton on May 26, 2011 at 8:03 pm

Because the colour works! My Cube is in that colour and it looks just as pleasing today as the day I bought it 6 years ago. Its more cooling and less drab than gray too.

• squawk on May 27, 2011 at 9:46 am

Are light colored interiors better at hiding dust and dirt than dark interiors? Anyone have experience with light interiors in a work vehicle?

• arrif86 on May 26, 2011 at 6:26 pm

interesting~

• swoosh3553 on May 26, 2011 at 6:26 pm

So this is a 2-seater lar…. Wow! A truck-coupe…. new term in the auto dictionary.. hihi. But maybe a third person can lie down behind with a makeshift matress… hmmm….

• yimin on May 26, 2011 at 6:38 pm

the price q cheap…

• Normally this 2 door trucks can only register as commercial but since it has 4 doors, TC got away with it. Very smart indeed.

• nazism on May 27, 2011 at 6:01 am

Add excise duty to pickup trucks lah… Every country outside ASEAN also do this…

• sukasuki on May 27, 2011 at 12:12 pm

no need rite now after JPJ revise that regulation. U can have 2 door hilux with private registration. if not mistaken year 2009 ago.

• freeze on May 26, 2011 at 6:52 pm

No side pillar? Wouldn’t that affect safety?

• im sure the door is full of strengthening beam to compensate the lack of central pillar…

• American style pick up, i wonder is there such a market in Malaysia.

How come world greatest car mfg Hyundai Kia doesn’t have 4X4 pick up ?
    The closes been the H100 (Lorimas with twin cabin) :-)

• TurboMan on May 26, 2011 at 10:23 pm

hahaha

u’re really entertaining.

• wow…. like this also can linked to Hyundai-Kia then bash on it???

• tan e l on May 27, 2011 at 6:50 pm

ya lo amazing………..now how can i link this to P1 and P2 and bash it as well?…any idea?

• squawk on May 27, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Isn’t Toyota the greatest? :-)

There’s a pickup from Hyundai in the works. Should be out in 2-3 years.

• William on May 26, 2011 at 7:24 pm

how to open the rear door?? since it does not have a hander like RX-8

• neveraproton on May 26, 2011 at 8:06 pm

You have to open the front door first. Its a safety feature lehhh

• William on May 27, 2011 at 12:14 pm

what trying to ask is, it does not have a inner door hander like the RX-8 rear door so how do u open it even thought the front door is already open like the RX-8

• HazeMarley on May 26, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Not sure if this kind of layout is goin to be a hit…………

• rodimuslai on May 26, 2011 at 7:51 pm

I like these kinda pickup. Fianlly come to M’sia. Good one Tan Chong!!! Cheer

• ttooyyoottt on May 26, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Yahh!! Navara…The Best 4×4 truck in Malaysia!!!

• Alpha on May 26, 2011 at 8:09 pm

The title reminds me of king crab…hungry.

• Darren on May 26, 2011 at 8:34 pm

wah, can convert the back for boom boxes :P

• wow …. this is a very niche market. How many do they intend to sell I wonder ??

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 27, 2011 at 11:14 am

Toyota and Isuzu offer the single cab workhorse in Malaysia.

I guess TC looked at the situation and thought that they might as well do something slightly different and offer a truck that’s still geared towards utility, but has wider appeal than the single cab.

• Naz@AE111 on May 26, 2011 at 9:31 pm

fancy suicide door.. woohooo.. ford n toyota should sell this kind of door on their hilux n ranger also at this country..

• ilovenissan on May 26, 2011 at 9:45 pm

actually the rear seat can be a real seat, and real seat can sit people or put lugages, what a waste…

• Duh?! Learn more about trucks next time!
      ..and there will always 4 seater (so you can put people or hippos at the back so not calling it a waste) trucks, just in case you dont know..

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 27, 2011 at 11:17 am

er, don’t they already offer the double cab? :)

• Fluid on May 27, 2011 at 4:29 pm

DUH!!! Thats were the double cab comes in unless you are kiasu and don’t give a hoot about safety…

• Ash Menon on May 26, 2011 at 10:20 pm

When I first read the title, I misread it as King Crab. Damn you, Danny, now you’ve made me hungry.

• nazism on May 27, 2011 at 5:55 am

If bring it to Singapore, who will buy?

• This is a good truck for people who do overland travel. Now you can sleep on the back tray, with a camping tent ?

• rkg38 on May 27, 2011 at 8:18 am

i saw 4 power window switch…meaning the window for suicide door can be open??
    non-human cargo area should make it flat…so the driver/passenger can take a nap, js like those big lorry…or for a couple to hv fun behind…haha!!!

• alxand@ttdi_peugeot on May 27, 2011 at 8:37 am

well i think with this 1 in, it’s made available in private registration as currently, single cab r only commercial registration as per JPJ regulation, this 1 1/2 or king cab enable it to squeeze in :) as there’s market for single cab but they duno wan commercial registration, this is the choice plus longer cargo…

• Chilavert on May 27, 2011 at 10:48 am

during my visit in thailand for motor show in march, u can see more king cab compared to double cab, maybe becoz of the price. and even the extra space at the back is meant for items n luggage, i often saw it has been used to ferry people as well. so expect the same thing in msia too hehehe

• messi on May 27, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Another minority choice.

I consider this design is 1 and half cab (with a storage)

The manufacturer should come out with 2 and the half cab design to be something different from the rest.

I owned a hilux before but the canopy deck storage is too big to my liking and goods tend to flying around the deck area and also not able to hide your computer or bag.

I hope the manufaturer can be innovative enough to come out with a different product range instead of producing the same thing or repeating design.

Urban cowboy dont need big deck and we need small open deck with enclosed storage for goods.

To Nissan, Toyota, Mit, Ford. Are you getting our message on what the urban cowboy need.

PRODUCE A “2 AND THE HALF” CAB TRUCK.

• likehondanotsomuch on May 28, 2011 at 3:02 am

I ll stick with my navara se for the time being.I really like Paultan to test drive this king cab and give us the feedback on the doors practicallity,much better comparison between this and the Calibre

• Same concept with T brand under FJ cruiser door model.
    Good as safety reason.

• practical as site transport….. the companies out there, this is the kind of pickup suitable for your engineers and supervisors to drive :-)

• oleoresin on May 28, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Kenapa byk sgt basher bodoh disini. Point basher ni tak habis2 dengan design la, kaler la. Punyalah byk choice kat Malaysia. Just name it, Hilux, Ranger, Dmax, 2×4, 4×4, triton lite, dwi cabin, single cabin…. So for basher, no need to bash. Just buy what u want.

Nak ckp fasal safety konon. Ilmu cetek sembang mcm belajar kat oxford.

This is rare design kat Malaysia. Sama mcm kereta gangster era 50an kat chicago. Pintu boleh terbuka luas untuk humban org.

Apapun, aku takkan beli….. Bukan kerja masuk kebun pun. Dok KL pakai viva je. Minyak jimat parking senang. Tapi klu banjir….. those yg pakai 4×4 nih boleh senyum lar….

• sukasuki on May 29, 2011 at 1:31 pm

if you recall, last time isuzu also offer something like this, the space cab isuzu invader and rodeo. but rarely seen in peninsular, most of them in sabah and sarawak. and yes, I also seen people sitting at the back of the driver seat. damn cramp space yet still people sit there. wonder why.