2011 Ford Fiesta introduced in China

Two years after the Ford Fiesta made its debut in China, Changan Ford has launched the upgraded 2011 Fiesta, with changes including a more refined interior, additional tech/features and new colours, as well as a new name – the sedan variant now comes with a ‘Fengchao’ suffix. Meanwhile, the hatchback in Sport+ form also joins the lineup.

Added to the exterior shade palette are two vivid new colours, called Blush and Colorado Red, and changes to the interior include the inclusion of a USB port and rear speakers to model variants, a sunroof option as well as new trim colours combinations – there’s a choice of different coloured centre console covers, as the photo suggests.

The new Fiesta Sport+ hatchback joins the range in China, which is now made up of 10 variant models in sedan and hatch form, wearing a Mazda-derived 1.5 litre Duratec engine and automatic transmission.

The car comes with an exclusive coffee-coloured interior, and features redesigned 16-inch aluminum alloy wheels, a leather-covered steering wheel and projector headlamps, among others things.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• qwerty on May 27, 2011 at 12:08 pm

the center console remind me of the nokia 3310 with replaceable colorful housing long time ago

• the last picture. what’s the ‘spring’ thingy? is it the speaker or air-cond ventilation?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 27, 2011 at 12:57 pm

I believe it’s to depict the throw of the speaker configuration.

• Why China’s Fiesta comes with auto gear with manual selection and ours don’t? If there is anything missing in Malaysia’s Fiesta it is auto gear with manual selection.

• ong chin aun on May 27, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Yes, very good . must be manual transmission. advantages , think we M`sian only use auto , not skill drivers? .

• tan e l on May 27, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Malaysian is OVER SKILL driver………dangerous if bring to many manual……one hand on the gear knob the other hand busy SMS or dipping french fries in chilly sauce and end up no hand on the steering……….

• sepul on May 27, 2011 at 7:07 pm

fyi, the gear lever with manual shift is for the 4 speed auto.. and for those of you who dont know, chinese fiesta dont use the 1.6 ti-vct engine like we do, but the engine is the same as in the mazda2, hence it is a 1.5

apart from the manual mode shift, bodykit, projector lamps, chromed window lines, and auto climate control, chinese fiesta loose with ours in terms of specs

• Hey !! How come the china version Fiesta c/w Shiftronic and we don’t ?

Is SDAC short changing us ??

6 Speed DSG without manual shift :-(

• Yeah.. it’s a shame but if the option is there, sure the selling price shoots up a few thousands..

• nazism on May 27, 2011 at 2:49 pm

another shame is us version got facelift, but ours not. why??? those yanks’ and ours are same spec (with powershift and 1.6), but theirs’ facelifted. why???

• sepul on May 27, 2011 at 7:03 pm

technically, us version is not a facelift.. it is to meet their safety regulation and waht not, so ford redesigned the car to suit american tastes

the facelift is suppose to come by 2012 in europe

• freddie on May 27, 2011 at 12:55 pm

FengChao is fine, as long as it is not FengTao.

• ong chin aun on May 27, 2011 at 2:16 pm

PLEASE lah for goodness sake, let more choice to m`sian to buy car with auto or manual transmission. drivers right. Auto car maybe for hihger c.c. above 2.2 c.c. some 2 liter car with manual too! we want manual transmission, better with 5-speeds ,if no 6-speeds.

• _xXx_ on May 27, 2011 at 5:19 pm

who told u no manual Fiesta in Mesia?

• Mr Wancer on May 27, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Manual is only for 1.4 which is not enough for us.

We need a manual 1.6….

• Leonard on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:48 am

Ford don’t sell well here. They can’t invest so much for just a few buyers. If there is better demand then we will get more choices.

• Kirov on May 27, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Ford Fiesta in China much more nicer than fiesta in Malaysia, I think Fiesta in Malaysia overpriced and also overrated not much function. Kia Forte much more reliable and far greater than Fiesta in Malaysia. Better take Kia Forte.

• Peterpj on May 27, 2011 at 5:08 pm

People (logically) should buy cars based on their needs.

I wanted a proper sedan, so I took the Focus (sorry, Forte just doesn’t cut it for me) and since my 60y/o mom wants a smaller city-car, I’m getting her a Fiesta – which fits her needs perfectly (well, I might need to do some training on the Voice Control and Bluetooth handsfree…)

• _xXx_ on May 27, 2011 at 5:17 pm

wat car in mesia is NOT overpriced? Name me one plz

• Naz@AE111 on May 27, 2011 at 5:59 pm

haiyo.. the chinese fofi more fancier than us ka.. not fair la..

• tan e l on May 27, 2011 at 6:35 pm

AIYA FORD WRONG STRATEGY LA……it wont sell la ……….Chinese people dont need all this extra goodies they need the LONG WHEEL BASE version……………….

• Asrul hezly on May 27, 2011 at 7:35 pm

What do you thing why the imported brand link Nissan, Honda, Suzuki, Ford, can’t simply sell all of their models as well as their good technology like Fiesta with shiftronic? It is because the government controls the specification of the imported car selling in Malaysia for a reason to keep the national car’s retail. Before they (imported brand) wants to export their car to Malaysia, the Malaysia’s government will review in term of price, specification and effect of national car’s retail

• Comparing GREAT Forte with fiesta is an insult to HRH Forte.
      Forte the Great should be compare with BMW 320i, Mercedes C200K, Audi A4 to reflect it’s Greatness.
      Hail to the Mighty Forte.
      (What crap ? Any car also must compare with cheapo Forte, buat meloyar aje)

• You are right, every new car needs to be review in terms of price and specifications by government before approved for launching. End day is that foreign car can’t be price too competitively with local car. Teana is delay partly due to this too. Foreign cars with ‘quite’ competitive price normally don’t have very good specs, and the good specs one are expensive. Malaysia is known for it’s high car price and low equipped cars… not even safety issue is more important than protecting local brands…