Angry Lewis Hamilton blasts stewards and fellow drivers

Wasn’t yesterday’s race the most eventful Monaco GP we’ve seen in recent times? Lewis Hamilton contributed generously to the cause and was punished by the stewards for his efforts. The McLaren man was given a drive-through penalty for causing an avoidable incident with Felipe Massa while the pair fought for 10th place. He later collided with Williams’ Pastor Maldonado, denying the rookie his first points of the season.

The very angry man blasted the stewards when the TV cameras ambushed him after the race. “Out of six races, I’ve been to the stewards five times. It’s a joke. It’s an absolute frickin’ joke,” he told the BBC. When asked why he thought stewards had been paying attention to his driving this year, he joked: “Maybe it’s because I’m black. That’s what Ali G says. I don’t know.”

“I was quite a lot quicker than Massa. I went up the inside, and the guy turned so early and just turned into me. So I tried to go over the kerb to avoid him and we were stuck together. And of course I get the penalty, which is usual. He held me up in qualifying and I got the penalty. He turned into me, and I got the penalty,” Lewis added. Can you feel the anger?

There’s more. Here’s his piece of mind about the Maldonado incident: “I went up the inside of Maldonado and you can see on the screen that he turned in a good car length too early to stop me overtaking him and he crashed into me. It’s just ridiculous. These drivers are absolutely frickin’ ridiculous. Just stupid,” Lewis blasted.

“People want to see my racing, want to see overtaking and [then] you get done for trying to overtake. You get done trying to put on a show. You get done trying to make a move. Fair play, if I really feel that I’ve gone too late and hit someone, I’ll put my hand up and realise [that] I really have caused an incident and I’ve been the stupid one, but it is not the case [today],” he ended.

This has to be THE outburst of the season so far. Can you feel the anger?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh on May 30, 2011 at 12:23 pm

Ahem, he gets penalised in qualifying because he skipped a corner during a lap when Massa didn’t block him. There you see it, all of a sudden it’s Massa’s fault his qualy time got stripped off. Very smart eh, Hammy?

But in any case, Massa is now a legend eheheh.

Can I feel his anger? Very. And deservedly so. He’s had the biggest mouth of the year. Calling RBR ‘just a drink company’, then syok sendiri himself-Alonso as Senna-Prost, blablabla, and now this.

• Definitely agree, everyone else seems to be able to pull of a clean overtake, except him. He’s no as good as he thinks he is. There’s people blocking him in Spain etc. By the way, when has he ever put his hand up and said something was his fault? Never, even when a panel of 4 said that it was.

• can’t agree more… and it’s all ron dennis’ fault… a rookie should never got into a top team and given priority… rookies should allowed to mature in a lesser team… GREAT example is Alex Yoong’s ex-team mate at minardi, Mark Webber and former str driver and current world champ Vettel, Kimi Raikonnen, Filipe Massa and other good driver.

• GPone on May 30, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Definitely agree! I think he was the cause of ‘most’ accident (if not all) at the monaco GP (massa, maldo, and petrov – he was the one that braked hard and caused the chain effect).

Nevertheless, without him, F1 will not be entertaining..so Lewis, keep on the good work in entertaining us..:)

• he is right… just the same stupidity by the motorist in malaysia. slow cruising in the centre lane without reason, sudden turn in a few metre to exit etc.

• ahmad on May 30, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Focus on the subject dude…

• the_fighter on May 30, 2011 at 1:48 pm

this in F1 racing..nothing to do with attitude of motorist in malaysia. this corky guy is so desperate to chase championship point, accusing the stewards to act racis..its desperate move, i like Jenson Button attitude who is so gentleman, which express his relief when Vitaly Petrov was not injurd during press conference.

• SeriuosSAM on May 30, 2011 at 12:39 pm

hamilton to red bull next year

LOL

:D

• neh… impossible… he love treated like 3 year old baby in mclaren too much… button and alonso is/ was his poor older brother who always seems like the bad guy when babby hammy start cry in tears for attention.

• anti-tifosi on May 30, 2011 at 12:47 pm

You can’t deny though, he’s the best source of entertainment on track (and now off track too, haha)
    He has kissed and made up with the stewards regarding the ‘black’ joke though..

• James Veerapen on May 30, 2011 at 1:15 pm

I think any world champion has the right to speak their mind as ‘eloquently’ as LH. Except for JB (his was one of those anomalies you see in life), a world champ knows exactly what they are talking about.

Then again, LH is a bit of a nutter on the track considering his blocking antics. The number of times he should’ve have been penalized for weaving out ranks the number of penalties he has received.

What ever the case may be, LH is an awesome driver that does magic with a mediocre car (and lots of tire wear). Raw talent, raw speed, real race craft.

• trav_da_man on May 30, 2011 at 1:16 pm

His immaturity overcomes his anger in this case. His been blaming on all sorts of things, blaming his team for screwing up his qualifying, blaming massa n maldonaldo who are actually his victims of hammy’s overaggressive driving and now blaming the stewards for being bias.

I do admire Hammy over his aggressive racing but in this case he is horrible, both on track n offtrack. He should know overtaking is next to impossible in Monaco but his antics in ysday race is a recipe for disaster.

I have lost respect to Hamilton now. He needs to be punished by FIA and McLaren for his behaviour.

• yeap! remember takuma sato’s crazy driving which earn him quite some podiums? he would be a world champ if he was in ferrari at that time. but once that guy start to respect cars and track… see how fast he faded away… hamilton would be in exact shoes soon… or he wouldn’t coz that ego maniac juz have zero respect for everything!

• feelingtheheat on May 30, 2011 at 1:19 pm

He is desprerate now that he is so far off the champion, guess he will be more reckless now !

• squawk on May 30, 2011 at 1:22 pm

This piece of Ham got PMS?

• Whether is right or wrong, it is up to how ppl view it.

Based on my observation, I think Massa is trying to block Hamilton from catching up to the top as Hamilton will be a thread to Alonso. Also, Hamilton has been tailing Massa for laps and he should know that he is slower than Hamilton from his side mirrors. This is the pissed off thing happen when Massa was trying to close all the overtaking exit. Therefore, Hamilton had to take his best chance to overtake. It looks like Massa is a coward instead of legend.

F1 is about competition and not about drive for fun, otherwise who else want to watch it? Anyway, both of them are not totally right or wrong, but rules is rules and they have to follow it if penalty is required.

I don’t think Hamilton is that stupid to jeopardize his career and life even he doesn’t have a good start this year.

If you followed yesterday race, you should observe the nastiest driver who keeps raising up his hand during driving and overtaking.

I wish all the best to all the drivers and F1 to give us more exciting races.

• vince on May 30, 2011 at 6:46 pm

dude come on la thread to alonso no link man.did u watch the race?put a side for massa what about LW try to over take Pastor Maldonado?

• Being slower doesn’t mean you dont have the right to defend your position…

if blocking others is an act of coward, i’d say ramming into everyone else, score points and whine about it is a disgrace….

• Then I would say you are as stubborn as them who blocks others while driving in the street. Please respect those who is faster and let ppl thru if you are not at the pace. If you want to defend yourself, smoke them off your tail and don’t be a coward.

• Eyesore on May 31, 2011 at 8:53 am

You know.. it’s not the same… do not compare F1 racing to your everyday drive…. your driving on normal road / highway is not a race where you get a prize for arriving earlier than others. Obviously as a good driver you have to give way to a faster car (tho sometime its hard to do cuz u already driving above speed limit and no space to change lane but the faster car keep cucuk n flashing lights.. buta ke ape?). But in F1 they are racing, you have to defend your position, there is no rule stating you have to give way to a faster car… the only give way exist is when you’re being overlap… duh.. so Massa is doing doing nothing wrong when he is trying to defend his position… its LH fault for not having the skill the overtake safely…

• Just in case you didn’t know, every driver on the track can make one change of line in order to defend his position… including Lewis Hamilton…

if that does not make any sense to you, I guess that’s the reason why you’re not on track…

Just look at Alonso and Button, both of them way way way faster compare to Vettel… but do they make stupid moves like arrogant Hammy???

If I have to give way to anyone faster on the track and cannot defend myself, well I should say that’s not racing… that’s driving… this is not time attack event dude, this is racing event… you want it, you fight for it… if you want everyone to give way to you, then I pity you… if I see you behind me on the track I might only give my way to you just because I dont want to get rammed by you and then hearing you whining all week about that…

• i like him..he’s the only driver with the passion to overtake other car whenever he can..he gave good entertainment to us…not like other driver who just defends their position and wait and wait and wait..that what’s make F1 boring

• he is the today young takuma sato in a better car… brainless and ego… the only reason he’s so ‘entertaining’ is because in other race the track is wider… true skill can be shown in slow track like monaco… and there you go… zero passing percentage here for him… pros like msc and webber seems to pass beautifully… y? because of patient, accuracy, sportmanship, responsibility and a true racing heart! racing believe it or not is not all about brutality and crazy overtaking… it is about passion on the track… remember when the great aryton senna stops his car when his friend got into a fatal accident? now that’s motorsport! and who’s gonna ever complain bout senna’s action and skill? NO ONE! so all in all… hamilton is juz an immature rookie in a fast car… he won the championship by crying and sulking in a fast car!

• and then what’s the point of having monaco GP without any chances of overtaking? come on LH is a great, great driver. Always managed to get on top 10 position eventhough started on lower position and that’s sure is not crying and sulking..

only us who only watch the race on tv and never expericence something so extraordinary like driving the f1 machine can talk talk about immoral and whatever..but only they knows what’s going on the track and whats wrong or right.

• squawk on May 30, 2011 at 8:00 pm

You forgot about Kamui Kobayashi. :-)

• Ha… ha…ha. Padan muka. ko Lewis. Lain kali jangan sombong.. jangan mengata orang.

• garreth jones on May 30, 2011 at 4:49 pm

@ade

You small-minded, uneducated individual

Dont hide behind your hindi/punjabi script, say (that racist, narrow-minded, caste-centric indian spiel) it in English…if you’re brave enough.

Tell us, if hamilton is all these things and still making more money than you, more popular than you, not scared to date out of his race i.e able to adapt to a changing world etc etc….what does it make you?

• quicksilver on May 30, 2011 at 5:31 pm

@gareth jones

Why did you have to resort to insulting ade when you couldn’t understand his post? FYI, he wrote in malay not hindi/punjabi script. Get your facts right dude. Having said that, who’s the small-minded, uneducated individual who resorted to personal attacks, tell me?

Racist people like you piss me off. Who cares if LH is making more money than us? Who cares if LH is more popular than us? Does it affect me? Not in any way at all. Would I be richer or poorer? Would I be more popular or lose friends? No. That’s why I don’t give a ****.

• ken wiltshire on May 31, 2011 at 12:49 am

He may have got the language wrong, but I think, Gareth Jones has a bit of a point. If you decipher Ade’s message, you’ll see references to orangatan and (Kali) black. It’s not Gareth Jones that’s racist, but Ade. Ever trust a stranger? Trust me on this one ;-)

Lewis is talented and controversial in his driving style and on top of this, he is controversial and challenging in terms of his ethnicity in a F1 context. He has achieved many FIRSTs, and naturally, some people will find that threatening (and even more threatening to admit) as it impacts upon their self esteem. It’s a shame when people are threatened by excellence and can’t bring themselves to embrace it. Schuii was excellent and also had many enemies, lots of people have beef with Vettel – i guess it just goes with the territory of being good. But maybe Hamilton gets a bit more stick from the status quo cos he challenges more ‘socially and historically’.

To Imbhotep – Lewis like everyone makes mistakes, but i agree with you, the ‘red team’ have tended to have some beef with mcclaren – always been that way
          To

• Paul Tan on May 31, 2011 at 2:05 am

What on earth? Why are you making guesses on what Malay language words mean? Let me translate for you.

Lain Kali = next time

Mengata orang = talk about people or bitch about someone, badmouth

Full translation: “hahaha serves you right Lewis. Next time don’t be arrogant, don’t bitch about people”

• hey paul! in a sense u should be very happy that u might juz have visitors who aren’t malaysian here!

• flipflop on Jun 15, 2011 at 3:34 pm

haha so funny the simplest comment (or more accurately.. troll) got the attention hahaha~

• Eyesore on May 31, 2011 at 9:01 am

ken wiltshire… if you do not understand it… don’t comment on it…. it’ll only make you look stupid and dumb…

If you do not know what language it is… don’t just simply assume what it is and trash other ppl…

Westerners nowadays… small-minded, poorly uneducated, misleaded and not to forget paranoid…

• Normal la the Ken Wiltshire.

English name, support the dumb driver la. What else? And then call other people racist. WTF?

• quicksilver on May 31, 2011 at 11:16 am

@ ken

I reallyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy don’t understand why you guys have to ASSume what ade said -.-” Where did you even get the notion that “kali” refers to “black”? Maybe you ASSumed that “kali” meant “bengali” bcuz it rhymes??

Ever trust a stranger? Trust me on this one. I’m malaysian. :p

• fazron80 on May 31, 2011 at 1:54 am

hahaha punjabi? hindi? Do you even know which country this website originates from? caste-centric? What is wrong with you? You don’t even know what caste is.

• racefans on May 31, 2011 at 7:56 am

hahahaha.. apa lah garreth jones ni, lain kali gunakan lah google translate sebelum nak mengamuk.. nah! this directly paste from google translate what Ade has said:

“Ha … ha … ha. Serves. Lewis co. Next time do not be arrogant .. Do not say who.”

• Reactix on May 31, 2011 at 11:01 am

Do you know that Lewis is the highest paid driver in the current line up F1 drivers?

• Imbhotep on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:38 am

Alonso is the highest…of course bcause driving for ferrari!!

• nighttrain on May 31, 2011 at 4:36 pm

aha-hah.. white boys got their countries all mixed up.. The name of our country is Malaysia. Very unique if you ask me, due to the ‘harmonious’ mix of multi-racial and multi-cultural people. Look us up, better yet, come visit us during the Malaysian GP. We’re the nicest people on the planet, hahah. Oh, we party hard also.

• Imbhotep on May 30, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Well…FIArrari as usual very critical to Hamilton…but this year they also seems to favouring RB…LOL
    all driver have to passive and boring in the eyes of steward…when someone become too aggresive,they’ll punish…WTF!!!

• blame it on the rain…yeah yeah

• monaco track is a joke..

and…F1 is overated

• quottro on May 30, 2011 at 3:19 pm

there’s a thin line between an aggressively good driver and a reckless…and he has clearly crossed the line yest… see the way he harasses schuey at the beginning of the race… >:(

• Wisdom on May 30, 2011 at 3:54 pm

The commentator (professional) highlighted that was an all time overtaking maneuver in Monaco.

• Wisdom on May 30, 2011 at 3:24 pm

Hamilton’s view on this is weighted.

I didnt feel weird with his ‘black’ statement. In fact it might have been true. Remember when he was leading the title in his rookie year (2007), coming to the end of the season all kinda problem surfaced such as punctured tyres etc, like there were no team or nobody monitoring the car (while in reality a bunch of people monitoring it).

The final race in Brazil 2007, my feeling has been true, they SHUT OFF his car to prevent him getting 6 place and win the title in his rookie year.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tRJTRwPGprs&feature=related

Yes they shut it off. Rpm showing ‘0’. After he has been overtaken by enough driver, he was then given resume. Coincident? naaah. If the car/gearbox broken, it should’ve been retired. How can it survive the remaining laps?

They say, one black winning in his rookie year, a bunch of black will flock the F1 later.

They wanted to reserve the F1 as a ‘gentlemen’ sport. In other word, no black please.

So he still under FIA watch. All the time.

I didnt watch to much F1 these days. MotoGP seems a better entertainment now.

• Imbhotep on May 30, 2011 at 5:07 pm

For me…MotoGP is less attractive..because motogp is just ‘engine competition’…seems is only one factor to attracting spectators…
      Meanwhile F1 have many….
      1)engine-In f1 u could see 3-4weakest engine the field lead the pack (Renault)

2)driver-in f1,u could see not a ultimate driver lead driver championship (Vettel)

3)aerodynamic- anyone saw a front wings at motogp?!? Lol

4)tyres

4)Innovation- Fduct,off-trottle mapping,blown diffuser,illegal front wings (Redbull LOL ;-p), inflate rear tyre react yo heat?!?

Maybe f1 not really popular because f1 needs alot of reading to understand f1…
      Meanwhile malaysian as known very LAZY to read and malaysian only read 2page per year LOL (sarcasme) ;-p…..maybe that’s why they prefer less-thinking @ less-reading sport like soccer or etc…
      Hahahaha

• Imbhotep on May 30, 2011 at 5:16 pm

I agree most of ur comment but differ in several…esp at 2007’s final race at brazil & motogp…
      The truth is at 2007 hamilton accidently push his ‘start button’ or ‘neutral gear button’ using his left thumb…because he experiencing severe parkinson LOL ;-p (severe hand shaking)…maybe because he at his 1st year…
      But fir sure he will surpases MS record at the future…

• Bob Vettel on May 30, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Maybe he’ll surpass Schumi’s record, but he’s not even close to even lesser F1 champions such as Mike Hawthorne or Giuseppi Farina, let alone the greats such as Prost, Senna, Schumi et al.

The guy got doors open for him BECAUSE of his race, not in spite of it!

• squawk on May 30, 2011 at 8:12 pm

I thought FIA already banned 2-way telemetry in 2003. Didn’t know McLaren so bold to use a banned tech to switch off their own car. Or did FIA plant it there?

• jay8393 on May 30, 2011 at 8:54 pm

I’ve watched the video, and it is just a temporary gearbox or hydraulics problem. No one can control an F1 car other than the driver himself.

• Jonnie on May 30, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Luckily he is in F1. If he is in EPL he will get banned for life or drive with duck tape on mouth for a year minimum.

• a good driver is one good at avoiding accident, not creating one! shut up hamilton. you blame everyone for your mistake and even fired your dad

• unknown on May 30, 2011 at 10:21 pm

i agree with u Lewis, im 100% BEHIND YOU. show all these small brain malaysian bastards who you are when you be this years formula 1 world champion. as for all u cockheads who slag hamilton off can go screw yourselves. he is a PURE RACER just like the great ayrton senna. he has BALLS. he aint a pussy. Someone here said rookies should be allowed to mature in lesser teams.. i say stfu. as for all of u jackass here sitting behind a computer screen and your keyboard. u dont know shit about formula 1 and u cant even dream of living the life lewis hamilton is living. Someone said he doesnt care if hamilton is richer or more famous then himself… well.. stfu and keep ur jealous thoughts to urself. Nobody asked you.. jealous pig. Now i know im gonna get bombarded from alot of TINY minded malaysians here.. well fk urselves..

• you BALL-less ‘unknown’. show yourself before starting talking crap

• So, what are you? I know, you are Lewis’ bitch, always got ‘behind’ him and taste his ‘balls’ eh?

• James Veerapen on May 31, 2011 at 12:55 am

Here, here.

It’s okay mate, i got ‘thumbed down’ for praising him myself. Malaysians don’t know squat. That is why we are the biggest investors in F1 (3 teams and a circuit) with no driver to show for. The drivers that have the ability and talent to go the distance usually lack the right ‘kulitfication’.

Ever wonder why all our F1 potentials are what they are? Example, Encik Fauzy, 50 million ringgit thrown at him to be a reserve F1 driver? hmm… we kinda knew he wasn’t going to make it from the start. Took forever in F3 but he has right ‘kulitfication’ so it’s okay. So does Jazeman Jaafar. More track time than Alex Yoong and still lacks the ability to get onto the podium against less experienced drivers. Why? Because his father spent so much money on getting the best, he never learned how to drive properly. That is the Malaysian way..

Why so bitter? I’m a chindian that won the first ever Formula BMW Asia Scholarship but didn’t make the whole season. Go figure..

Malaysia Boleh! sorry… 1Malaysia!

• anand on May 30, 2011 at 11:09 pm

vettel turn from reckless to smart driver when became world champion,
    hamilton still the same, respect is earn

• ken wiltshire on May 31, 2011 at 1:06 am

Hammy was one point from championship winning in his rookie year of 2007, and then won it in his second year. Who has a record like that? Vettel has a better car but Hamilton is still able to give him a run for his money. Who likes the fact that Hamilton has so many records and is still as aggressive and talented a driver as he was when he began? Not many people on here … it’s really sad

Anand, i agree that Vettel is talented – very talented indeed, but so is Hammy. We have seen him learn lots from Button and become more controlled in his driving style – being better able to conserve tyres. Please remember, we are used to seeing people like Vettel on the track and thus more accepting and approving. I think that if Hamilton’s talent was more like that of current Lotus drivers – i think many would have been more accepting of his presence on the race track

• tokmoh on May 31, 2011 at 3:13 am

Meh, I feel it’s more to do with attitude.

I have no doubt abt Hammy’s talent. He is quick, though excessively aggressive and silly at times. But it happens to anyone. Even Vettel did at Turkish GP last year when he collided with Webber.

But I cannot stand his attitude. If he never opens his mouth so big, I would be slightly more forgiving to him.

Vettel’s attitude is more examplary. I watch his interview pre-monaco, he’s humble and said anything can happen as the season is still early, so they have to keep working hard and not expect victories to come without hard work.

Webber’s attitude is some of the best I’ve seen displayed among current drivers. Really nice bloke who’s committed to his racing, and never seemed to get carried away by glam.

Until Hammy learns to be more humble, expect more unforgiving backlash against him. Especially when he gets bad results, and the ‘just an energy drink’ is kick ass!

• Reactix on May 31, 2011 at 11:41 am

in 2010 you dont see more people do more overtaking than him. this year cannot be used as comparison as too many factor thrown into F1.
        in his rookie year, if not alonso get so jealous of him and inriitate him in more than 1 way, he may become the first rookie that won WDC.
        and yet, his agression still the same, unlike most of other drivers, become lazy and just defend his position.
        for me, he is the driver to be respected. same to kobayashi, their aggression never deplete. just look at schumi, dont have the spirit to race anymore. his glory time has passed by.
        let alone the red bull, their car is too superior in many ways. put kobayashi in that car, perhaps can outshadow vettel.
        but yes, Lewis likes to whine, almost about everything. thats what makes the motorsport interesting (outside of races).

not really in the subject, but Audi mention that they will never touch F1, only focus in Le Mans, with some interesting facts:
        1. total mileage in 1 single Le Mans race is 530km more than the mileage of the whole year in F1 calendar
        2. the car is comparatively more advance in some way (to the road user), many of their invention absorbed into road going car. comparatively, almost nothing is shared from F1 to the road car modern days.
        3.Maximum speed, reliability, fuel efficiency, design aerodynamics far exceed the F1 counterpart
        4. etc (i forgot, sorry)

• ABTguy on May 31, 2011 at 9:09 am

Entertaining to see Lewis driving. Even with a sub-par car he could get so near to the Bulls.

Bloody bull has good car so Seb always get P1 and win the race easily. Hate it !!!!!

• SeriuosSAM on May 31, 2011 at 1:21 pm

this must the article post on paul tan blog with funniest replies I have ever encounter

LoL

Keep this coming guys

:D

• Lewis Hamilton is a sore loser. Nuff said.

• bmpower on May 31, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Massa = Ferrari
    FIA = Ferrari International Assistant

Then? What do you expect more when you clash with ferrari?

Most of the time, hamilton has been blamed, even for something he didn’t do it..

go to hell ferrari. bull$hit of the year.

• ilovelewis on May 31, 2011 at 11:54 pm

reminds of alonso few years back when he starts losing races, he made a lot of complaints….

• Desmosedici on May 31, 2011 at 11:57 pm

hamilton just send your love letter to your team n retire from f1.dont blame others. i can get even better than your time n skill in f1 2010..i like person who r humble when he/she at top