Hyundai reaches five million unit milestone in Europe

Hyundai has reached the five million vehicles sold milestone in Europe, 34 years after the first Hyundai Pony was imported in 1977. The five millionth vehicle was an i30, a Golf class hatchback launched in 2007. Hyundai has shifted over 320,000 units of the i30 across Europe since then.

The momentum only picked up strongly in recent times. It took until 1996 before Hyundai recorded its first million sales, but the last one million was achieved in just three years. The two millionth car was sold in 2001, three millionth in 2005 and four millionth in 2008. For 27 consecutive months up to March 2011, Hyundai has outperformed the market sales trend in Europe. Its 2010 market share stands at 2.6%.

Designed for Europe. it was the introduction of the i30 in 2007, the first of the company’s products to carry the ‘i’ prefix, that started the recent climb. The i30 was soon followed by the i10 and i20 supermini, and more recently the ix20 compact MPV and ix35 SUV (Tucson to us).

“Hitting five million is a wonderful achievement for Hyundai, but this is just the beginning for the brand. We are planning for further sales growth during 2011, to take us to 3% market share. And in the longer term we expect the quality and desirability of our cars to help us maintain our momentum and deliver our next five million sales in a much shorter time frame,” said Allan Rushforth, Senior VP and COO of Hyundai Motor Europe.

Output from Hyundai’s manufacturing plant in Nošovice, Czech Republic increases this year to 300,000 units, even as its European R&D centre in Germany leads the company’s work on diesel technology.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• trimm on May 30, 2011 at 3:56 pm

too bad most of the malaysians cannot accept the brand…..T & H are like concrete soldered deep in their heart….they scared if they bought Korean make, then their aunties, uncles, neighbours, buddies, etc will ask them :”Aiyo, why buy korean? no resale value one, should buy T or H ma, weird la u”

How to change this kind of mentality ah?….really hopeless la seeing this kind of ppl….

• Just me on May 30, 2011 at 4:34 pm

I agree, simply because toyata & honda built their good name in the past. The number of T & H sold in the whole world tell the whole story, you can’t fake that no. I think the Korean just need time to prove that their are as good as Jap, and more importantly our local korean car seller able to do a good job promoting the name. I remember in the past I can’t except Samsung brand, now I think they are probably better than some jap brand especially in LCD TV. Keeps inproving, things will change ,,,

• wolfsburg on May 30, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Hyundai and Kia were doing very well in Europe in the past few years. Being able to surpass Toyota as the best selling Asian car maker in Europe wasn’t easy for them. With more and more newer products rolling out, they are getting even closer to the European marque in term of sales!

• vincent on May 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm

That also explain why we have BN in Federal Government, despite poor management, inefficiency and corruptions, still there are people blindly supporting govt like this. Just like how Toyota give us low spec, dinosaur technology cars, we still willing to pay extras for the junk.

• Bob Vettel on May 30, 2011 at 5:31 pm

I don’t think Toyota buyers are BN supporters…

• poor management and inefficiency but not corruption do you have prove for that..if u have go sprm and i will follow u if u think they will throw u out of windows…but there is many prove that malaysian drive practice corruption..example from previous article

• Jimmy on May 30, 2011 at 10:47 pm

Naza Ria : timing belt + labour = RM2000++ (Nazakia dealer), RM900 (private workshop using original timing belt). What can we do about it?
      Does this happen to UMW’s customers?

• Bravo Hyundai.

May be I’ll reconsider Korean car in the future after swearing off them before due to the bad experience with Shepia.

• Jerry on May 30, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Looks like Hyundai-KIA is replacing Toyota in the economy/mainstream segment.

• Kumar san on May 30, 2011 at 4:37 pm

This is a splendid effort by Hyundai.Kudos to them.To shift 5 million vehicles in Europe where continental brands rule is by no means a brilliant and stategical effort.

They are really doing very well for themselves now.As it is,there have already dethroned the Accord in the U.S for the best selling mid size sedan-For value,specifications,ride and handling(especially) and also power delivery and refinement of the engine.This was just 2 weeks ago.

I had studied and worked in the U.S for 12 years and i can safely concur that their products were not accepted at all at that time in the U.S,look at them now.

That too,not forgetting the awards after awards they have been bagging one after another for their range of products.Demand is so overhwhelming in Europe,North America and Korea of course that all of their production facilties are running at full swing and still can’t cope with this demand.

They won’t slow down one bit from what i see,you have to admire their determination and esthusiasm to compete with the best,and to come out on top is certainly icing on the cake.

Tun Tan Sri Korean Car Basher should be here anytime soon,or rather at once.Let’s see if he can argue or bash with the figures above.I’m sure they will coz they just have to input their no cents.Very B.R.

Cheers guys.

Cheers.

• squawk on May 30, 2011 at 8:51 pm

The Koreans filled in the gap left by the Japanese who want to compete with continentals. But now the Koreans are also closing in on the Japanese’s segment.

• Unforgiven on May 31, 2011 at 9:53 am

Somehow the Sonata I rented in the US got a little continental feel, not sure is it the build or the engine…

As long as there’s ‘free money in the pocket’ system, AP system, etc. We’ll never get the same spec as in US.

Usually approx 30% of the car price is going into the AP pocket, which we need to serve 5-9 years to clear it off…

• Mazlan on May 30, 2011 at 4:53 pm

marketing is VERY important to attract new customers as well as change perception of the die-hards…not to mention the after-sales and financing as well..quite sad to see the brand not doing as well as in Europe..

• Why they are not doing as well as in Europe?

I think here they have a market share around 2.6% too?

• their sparepart is too expensive.. and hard to find it too! thats why people afraid to buy it… as I am the one who bought it.. I felt kinda regret for it after my car has been accident last month… until now, my car have not finish to repair… ~! huh..

• huh??? on May 30, 2011 at 5:55 pm

so how many units did P1 produce the last 20+ years?

• samyyd on May 30, 2011 at 5:58 pm

do korean have maria ozawa replacement now?

• CHONG KAT on May 30, 2011 at 6:14 pm

when proton will achieve this amount in europe? 3030?

• VoidDance on May 31, 2011 at 7:56 am

Hyundai first car was in 1968, almost 20 years before Proton. Good thing is that Korean road is left hand drive thus need not much R&D to convert the driving position and such. They can basically produce a lot of car and sell it to the countries in the world that drive on the wrong side of the road.

So I would say Proton is going to take longer and that is not because of left hand drive issue but because of that stupid NAP which makes them think they need not to compete with others.

• have a look at kia pro ceed facelift

• A Suhaini Masagus on May 31, 2011 at 10:28 am

Like like like.

• After going through ACEA (European Automobile Manufacturer’ Association) figure.
    One will see how this Nongak dancer spin the story.

Hyundai only sold 359,369 for 2010 & 102,477 for 1st quater 2011 compare to Toyota 629,256 & 174,672. Nissan 447,083 & 146,086.

5 million for 34 years is consider “sap sap shui” for European market, with merely 2.6% market share already bark like a Nureongi, typical kata pepatah (Telur sebijih riuh sekampung).

• Fact Man Not Con Man on May 31, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Here’s the real car sales stats:-

Jan to April 2011 vs Jan to April 2010
      Hyundai 132,464 vs 125,418 (+5.6%)
      Toyota (including Lexus) 204,470 vs 211,169 (-3.2%)
      Honda 56,363 vs 67,725 (-16.8%)

It is true Toyota sells more cars than Hyundai in European Union. From the stats, Hyundai is catching up fast. Toyota had better buck up if want to maintain lead. If trend continues, Hyundai will sell more cars than Toyota in European Union.

• Fact Man Not Con Man on May 31, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Also, if Hyundai and KIA are taken as one group (like Toyota + Lexus as one group), the stats are as below:-

Jan – April 2011 vs Jan to April 2010
    Toyota group 204,470 vs 211,169 (-3.2%)
    Hyundai group 218,290 vs 216,361 (+0.9%)

It is correct to say Hyundai-KIA outsold Toyota/Lexus in Europe in 2010 and 2011.

• Typical spin doctor & half truth story.
    Every one know Honda & Toyota cut their production due to recent earthquake tsunami.
    Honda drop 34.3%,
    Nissan up 14.5%
    Mitsubishi up 47.2%
    Toyota drop 0.3%
    Kia figure cannot be add up wih Hyundai as they r only 34.58% ownership, that why u don’t see Ford include Mazda.
    Since Hyundai & Kia represent the entire South Korea Auto industry then it is only fair to compare with the entire Japan Auto company.

• Lexus is a luxury brand under toyota group, similar to Tuscani to Hyundai which is a 100% ownership.
    Hyundai only own 34.58% of Kia, therefore is like Ford who once own Mazda where they share same platform & engine.

The reason why people get confuse intentionally or unintentionally is becoz some”paid” journalist try to spin the story, to make it as seem they sold more car than Toyota in europe.

• Unlike Lexus is actually a higher end line up of Toyota group, similar to Infinity for Nissan, Acura for Honda, even Tuscani for Hyundai.

Hyundai only own 34.58% of Kia this is similar to Ford who once own some percentage in Mazda, where they would share their platform & engine.

That why ACEA never add the 2 figure together, if so then it is only fair to add up all the South Korea car brand & compare with all the Japan car brand.

We all know that Honda & Toyota need to cut down their production due to recent earthquake & tsunami, infact Nissan had increase their sales by 14.5% Mitsubishi by 47.2% show lot’s of consumer rather choose Japanese alternative rather than Korean junk.

Paid journalist spin the story intentionally to give illusion as Hyundai had surplus Toyota.

This what i called Spin Doctor Half truth story, typical Hanguk Nureongi attitute.

• Ash Menon on May 31, 2011 at 7:37 pm

So butthurt until had to post three posts in the same day within an hour of each other? Wow. Congrats, Jolo.

• Maserati on May 31, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Pieces of junk.Hardly see the above models on on Malaysian roads.

People dont trust Hyundai because Korean cars really have super lousy quality.

I remember driving my fren 2.0 Hyundai Coupe.First of all,it dint at all feel like a 2.0.Felt like driving a 1.6 car.

Then the knob on the handbrake which had those silver lining was peeling off.Shows that they use low quality paint.

And the door handles felt like those Made in China stuff.Cheap and flimsy.Pls lah,dont compare Japan n Korea lah.Their cars are miles apart!

• Ash Menon on May 31, 2011 at 7:39 pm

When was this? I know you’ve heard this a thousand times, but Korean cars really HAVE improved since the Coupe/Getz/Sephia era. Try one nowadays!

• Not A Maserati Man on May 31, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Hey Maserati, you back to flame Kimchi car. How’s your Maserati?

I actually felt Fact Man’s facts quite interesting. No bias towards Kimchi or Sushi. Toyota+Lexus did outsell Hyundai in Europe in 2011 and 2010. But Hyundai+KIA did outsell Toyota+Lexus and that cannot be denied. Also, to say Hyundai+KIA treated as one can be misleading. Depends on how you look at it.

Rather than criticising Kimchi cars, wouldn’t it be better to acknowledge Kimchi cars have improved tremendously since the past few years?

• Kimchi on May 31, 2011 at 8:08 pm

For the past 6 months, I test drove Fortuner, CRV, Tucson, Pajero Sport, Forte, Fiesta, Camry, Vios, City, Civic, Teana, Accord, Captiva, Pug 207+3008, CX9, CX 90, Polo and Golf. I can’t believe it cos it’s quiet a lot and yes I did cos I was looking for a replacement car for my old Potong.

Just to compare Jap vs Korean, I would say Koreans are comparable with Japs. In some area Japs better, some area Koreans better. But I really hate it when Toyota gives old technology to its customers charging current technology price.

I think Maserati is wrong to say Japs and Koreans are miles apart. If he really meant that, then obviously Maserati is still living in the 1990s.

• eddie on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:51 am

It’s either you can’t tell the models apart or must been living in jungle where there are hardly any cars. Hello…every corner you turn you will see a Hyundai. If people don’t trust Hyundai because of low quality then how come they are world’s fourth largest automaker and world’s fastest growing automaker? Not all Japanese cars have quality. I remembered our college caterer bought a new Jazz and used to park proudly behind the building. Some few months down the road, i saw his bike instead of his car. When i enquiry further he complained the car broke down after few months of owning , stalled a few times etc…Anyway he sold the car less than 3 years. So i would rather prefer those silver lining peeling off rather than a stalled car.

• One of the biggest drawback of korean car been their outdated engine technology, the korean simply do not have the expertise to develope a realiable engine.
    Mitsubishi has commit the biggest mistake by selling their engine technology to the korean chaebo in exchange for financial aid, Chrysler is smarter as they saw the korean pirate are up to no good during GAMA project ie stealing engine technology.
    Just look at the present Samsung vs Apple case how a thief is suing the inventor for the propriety right, typical low moral nation.
    Infact korean are afraid other would do the same to them when their decide to sell Ssanyong to India rather than China, as they afraid Karma would back fire on them, China would have gain the technology & beat the korean flat with lower costing.
    I would expect lot’s of Nureongi aka Kimchi car finatic to bark anytime soon as their Hanguk master is inviting them for a dinner on top of the table.

• eddie on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:56 am

You don’t need to have great tech in an engine…as long as the engine design is simple and saves fuel is good enough. The I10 1.25 kappa engine proves the point.

• Frankie Goes To Hollywood on Jun 01, 2011 at 8:43 am

Korean car engine outdated? It appears Jolo is living in the 1990s, have no access to information and have difficulties accepting facts. Here’s what is outdated – Vios engine, Fortuner’s engine, Camry’s engine.

Jolo, be kind to yourself and open your eyes. If you have difficulties understanding facts, there are many people wiling to help you and explain to you the specs of Korean vs Jap car engines.

On Samsung vs Apple phone, Apple phone is good and so is Samsung. What’s wrong with competition? It is good to the consumers. Dare you not admit the Japs were copying the technology of US and European countries in the 1970s up to early 1990s. What’s wrong with Japs doing it? I don’t see anything wrong and because of what the Japs did in 1970s to early 1990s, we get to enjoy good quality electrical/electronic goods and cars at affordable prices.

The Koreans can only gain on the Japs because of the complacency of the Japs. If the Japs improves, Jolo’s wishes will be granted ie Toyota and Honda will rise again. If that happens, many people will be happy cos they get good quality cars with latest technology at affordable prices.

Is that very difficult to understand, Jolo?

• Ash Menon on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Actually, in the Samsung vs Apple case, Samsung argued that Apple stole its design from one of their older MP3 players. I saw the design, it really does look like a slightly less polished version of the iPhone. Apple’s been very quiet in the lawsuit after that. So yeah, you may want to cluck about that a little less loudly from now on…

• Frankie u should really go to Hollywood to become a friction tales writer.

Read between the line
    1.) The Korean do not have expetise to come out with reliable on their own.
    2.) That’s why their bought engine technology from Mitsubishi through they chaebol in term of financial aid.
    3.) Chrysler which involve in the GAMA engine know that the korean are not sincere in developing the engine, instead they are more interest to steal engine technology from them, the original plan to built the GAMA engine in Dundee, Michigan instead Hyundai built another factory near by to produce the copycat Theta engine.
    4.) Guess u grown up by been a homework & examination copycat.
    Apple is suing Samsung for copying their Iphone & Ipad this is so obvious just look at those Galaxy tab & Galaxy S phone.
    5.) Just like those Fake brand & prirated product surely they can sell at lower price as less R&D cost involve.
    6.) Infact the Korean car mfg are treating they employee quite bad, just look at those strike in their homeland factory recently, the Cheabol can get their police to charge into the factory & break the strike & forced their worker to start production, typical modern day slavery.

Now do u understand Frankie boy ?

• eddie on Jun 01, 2011 at 9:33 pm

what do you mean they do not have capability to come out a reliability engine on their own ? if you search in wikipedia for “List of Hyundai Engines” there are plenty of them. This is from Wikipedia on Tau engine:

Awards
      The 4.6 Tau V8 Engine was named to the Wards 2009 10 Best Engine Awards.[2] The Tau V8 received the award due to the engine’s “velvety power delivery, competitive performance, and attainable price– all of which epitomize the Korean auto maker’s drive for world-class engineering”, as quoted by Forbes. This is Hyundai Motor Co. Ltd. first appearance on Ward’s 10 Best Engines list

Your statement number 3 says ” Chrysler which involve in the GAMA engine know that the korean are not sincere in developing the engine…” is incorrect. First of all it is GEMA (Global Engine Manufacturing Alliance). It is a joint venture of Chrysler,Mitsubishi and Hyundai for developing a line of shared engines. Twenty different automobile models from the three companies will use the engines. Each manufacturer configured their variants of the basic GEMA design differently based on their engineering needs and standards, so consumers may experience very different power, fuel efficiency, and “feel” from each manufacturer. Also the initial design of the engine block was handled by Hyundai. So there you have it. This is not a copy cat as claimed by you. But in case you are wondering if i make all this up here is the link where i obtain this information from. It is from wikipedia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_Engine_Manufacturing_Alliance

• Frankie Goes To Hollywood on Jun 02, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Jolo, Frankie went to more than just Hollywood, opened his eyes, saw so many things, read so many books and learned so many things. Now Frankie boy also can conclude Jolo has difficulties accepting facts. I forgive you, Jolo. But don’t worry Jolo, one day, your eyes shall open and see the light.