Daihatsu to open R&D centre in Indonesia

Daihatsu to open R&D centre in IndonesiaFollowing on Daihatsu’s plans to make Indonesia a base for its business expansion, the automaker has announced that it will establish a research and development centre on the site of its new plant being built in the country.

The Nikkei again reports that the R&D facility will be set up after the factory is ready for operation at the end of next year. Daihatsu says it will gradually transfer over from Japan certain design functions for new vehicles as well as redesigned models produced locally. Some of the subsidiary’s 70 developers have begun training in Japan ahead of this.

Local subsidiary PT Astra Daihatsu Motor has just begun work on the plant, located on the outskirts of Jakarta on an 800,000 sq. m site. The plant will have an output capacity of 100,000 units a year, and is slated to build small cars for the local market as well as for export. It will also contain a test course.

No surprise that Daihatsu is focusing very much on Indonesia – the country is now the automaker’s largest overseas manufacturing base, and its annual production capacity has bumped up to 330,000 units this month in the country, up from 280,000.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Unforgiven on May 31, 2011 at 10:23 am

How come Indonesian are so lucky to get the original badge of Daihatsu Sirion where as M’sian only get the badge P2 Myvi?

Why approx 30% of the 5-9 years loan is going into the pocket of someone not doing anything? Are we able to remove the AP system so that there’s no more ‘free money into the pocket’ system? How many people are getting free money in M’sia?

It’s already mid of year 2011 and we are still able to see someone offering to give away a Rolls Royce? Don’t you think the news is funny?

How many people would like to get a car with the real badge?
    What are the chances to buy cheap cars with 11 air bags?

Since Indonesian are getting training in Japan, what’s gonna happen in the future?

• Barkcrack on May 31, 2011 at 6:58 pm

Perodua will send their staff to Indonesia to learn how to make a good car

• Chilavert on May 31, 2011 at 10:29 am

good plan for DMC. strengthen its operation in Indonesia in case their operation in Msia via Perodua is no longer profitable after liberalization in the next 5 year.

• Johan on May 31, 2011 at 10:41 am

What happen to malaysia?
    Does daihatsu not intrested to invest in malaysia?
    or they have perodua already.

• F1 fffanssssss on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Singapore also get Daihatsu and Perodua, but those people prefer Daihatsu small cars over ours’ bad Perodua. England also prefers Daihatsu over Perodua… Malingsia’s Proton and Perodua have same fate with Spain’s SEAT, because they sell well in their own country but not worldwide… Just like you bring Honda City and Toyota Vios (Yaris sedan) to Europe, nobody wants to buy except Eastern Europeans, Russians and Turkish.

• why not with perodua ??

• This is where our National Car Policy failed miserably.
    We can never get this kind of investment into Malaysia if we keep the policy on forever.

• This is where our national car policy (Proton) has failed miserably!
    We can never get this kind of investment if the policy is kept forever…

• for DrM, this policy is success since his and his frens pocket is always full..

• squawk on May 31, 2011 at 11:08 am

We don’t want to be the sweatshop of ASEAN and build the knowledge economy and industries. How did we not win Daihatsu’s heart to set an R&D center here? Give them MSC status lah!

• Patriot on May 31, 2011 at 11:10 am

Daihatsu make obscene profit in Malaysia because of our NAP. Why don’t it export
    cars made in Malaysia to Indonesia? Because it can make more money building a plant there.

Besides the Indonesians are not stupid, they also want to be the automotive hub.
    Our government impose high taxes on cars from Indonesia, the Indonesians can also
    do the same thing to cars from Malaysia (countervailing duties).

Our government never seems to learn. You impose high taxes on others, others will do the same to you. How to be automotive hub?

The only way is to open up our market. We don,t impose tax on other countries cars,
    they will reciprocate.

Treat all manufacturers in Malaysia equally. No more on a case by case basis. No price control on parts or cars. The manufacturer can source his parts from anywhere in the world so long as it meets his specifications and price.

Then Malaysia can become a truly international automotive manufacturing center.

• F1 fffanssssss on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Pity that Honda City’s comparision with Jazz… In Malaysia, the City sells better than Jazz, but in Indonesia, the City is a weak seller compared to Jazz, which is a strong seller there… why???

• Annihilated on May 31, 2011 at 11:13 am

I’m pretty much happy for our neighbor.
    Let’s prosper together mate!

• klguy on May 31, 2011 at 11:23 am

sounds like p2 gonna close shop soon

• leroycharlie on May 31, 2011 at 11:29 am

Malaysia boleh! Chasing investors away with half past six govt policy!

• isuzui on May 31, 2011 at 11:35 am

Why not Malaysia?

• Emm… interesting! Maybe the Jap likes rock&roll (earthquake), which coincidently, both countries are experiencing the same.

• _xXx_ on May 31, 2011 at 4:47 pm

it’s saddening to see some living on a natural disaster free land but depend fully on others to live lucaratively

• samyyd on May 31, 2011 at 11:53 am

it is all down to the production of human… how can a market with 27 mill to win over a market of over 200 mill… it use to be that huge populated countries have problems with political stability and low education level, now no more. huge population, instead of a problem, it is an opportunity.

• Van the Man on May 31, 2011 at 12:13 pm

because the japs loves Malioboro, Alexis and Klasik. If you go to Thailand they have nattaree, and other fishbowl product. That’s why hahah

• nolan on May 31, 2011 at 1:15 pm

now the indons can have japanese mixed parentage……Maria Ozawa in the making….

• learner on May 31, 2011 at 1:30 pm

this just strengthen my though that P2 since day one only doing R&D in bumpers but selling more expensive than P1, imagine yourself how much profit fly to japan.

• LatukBandar on May 31, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Not only bumper R&D. They are into ‘Slimming’ too, replacing good parts with inferior quality parts or removing certain items such as air-cond filter etc.

• ThePolygon on May 31, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Isn’t it obvious? Meetings after meetings, Daihatsu has found Indonesia a better place for investment. With our national car policy in place, why would Daihatsu need to setup a R&D here knowing Perodua already have one :D. It’s more profitable to work with perodua here. Perodua win, Daihatsu win. Meanwhile their big brother Toyota got a huge R&D centre in Thailand since 2005.

• BN=barang naik on May 31, 2011 at 2:01 pm

in 10 years time dont be surprise if indon overtake us!!

• Kevin on May 31, 2011 at 3:49 pm

at the rate that things are going out of malaysia now, i’m not even surprised if it takes waaaaay less than 10 years for that to happen..

• MALAYSIA boleh... on May 31, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Indonesia already ahead of us in Automotive industry.
      For other sectors, they will too, if the out of calibration “Timbang” continue their dictation.

• SoMeOnE on May 31, 2011 at 5:30 pm

the fact that they are going out of thier way to make a huge investment in Indonesia despite Perodua having at least half of the needed ingredients for a base here kinda explains how irrelevant Malaysia has become in terms of investment.

as.fact of a matter one foreign car exec stated in the press ‘ although Thailand and Indonesia is not as stable in Malaysia..thier policies never change when it comes to investments..these means that no matter hoe many military coup Thailand experiences..the new guy taking over continues with the policy the previous regime put forward..this makes it viable for long term investment…..all Malaysia needs is a change of a few ministers and they change everything overnight..its crazy…’ .

..and there u have it..the sad fact is our local car makers will always be ‘jaguh kampung’ and nothing more if we keep going down this path..

• Mat Korner on May 31, 2011 at 5:56 pm

If you go to Daihatsu Indonesia, all the big taukeys are japanesse, not like Perodua still got local people.

• autojohndoe on May 31, 2011 at 6:52 pm

the grass is always greener on the other side…

take following link as example:

http://www.andrewfugiel.com/grass-is-greener-on-the-other-side.html

• I think Daihatsu snub Perodua to go to Indonesia.

• relaxlah on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:58 am

Daihatsu , UMW Toyota and Perodua are all co related.
      That is why the Proton salesman are starting to sweat
      cos while these co’s are making inroads,with synergies and has vision
      in their future development , our Proton still in their comfort zone with the tidak apa attitude ,sitting back and hoping for deals to drop
      onto their lap, What happened to the lifetime warranty
      on power windows issue? Habuk pun tarak !! I don’t see it published
      on the new Saga exec 1.6 IAFM crap !!

• Atan Senget Sekarang Dah Ganas on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:22 am

^^ Typical Perodua worker, Perodua salesman or Perodua Fan Club…

Proton nothing to sweat because small car was not their segment….you blind!!

• autojohndoe on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:46 am

japanese go to their land…

we bought their banks…

sime darby also a big entity there…

axiata (malaysian) also a major player…

what we dont see in big picture is… currently, many big companies in indonesia are owned by others…

• razak on Aug 07, 2011 at 7:21 am

still living in denial aren’t you? can’t accept your neighbor getting better than you… you forgot that the US is the biggest FDI recipient, and our banks in indon are so small compared to their own banks…you don’t know this or too stupid to think?

• P2 Prod Engineer on Jun 01, 2011 at 11:16 am

It’s time to me getting new job……..anyone interested of me?? :)