Funny little things: New Tata Magic Iris and Ace Zip

Not sure if you remember that funny little penguin that was spotted back in 2009, but it has just been launched as the Tata Ace Zip in India. Together with covered sister Magic Iris, the duo look soft toy cute (to me at least) with their wide open eyes and odd proportions. Eyelashes will work well here, don’t you think?

Wait, it gets funnier. The one with the roof, Magic Iris, is described as a four-wheel, 3-4 seater small passenger carrier, a good alternative to those three-wheelers that are popular in India. The pick-up bodied Ace Zip on the other hand, is described by the press release as a 600-kg micro truck “for deep-penetration goods movement”. By the way, this is not Google Translate playing tricks, the release is in English. Deep penetration goods movement, I like!

Both are powered by a 611 cc, water cooled engine with 11 hp and 31 Nm of torque. Those wheels are 12-inch items. No performance figures are given, but the Ace Zip’s payload is 600 kg. Turning radius is a small 3.5 metres. The body is all steel, including the hard top and double steel sheet doors on the Magic Iris.

The Magic Iris is priced at Rs 1.95 lakh (about RM13,000) while the Ace Zip costs Rs 1.90 lakh, ex showroom Thane without octroi tax. They come with a warranty of 36,000 km or 12 months.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• protong on May 31, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Hahahaha…..

• same feeling at the first sight, hahaha.. what a cute toy car..
      after read detail, found that this car only cost ~ RM13k..
      so it is design for budget user, so good!!!! it still have the market for those night market hawker, and etc..

• nonce on May 31, 2011 at 8:23 pm

LOLOLOLOLOLOL

• hahahha..look at the body..plastic..maybe same plastic as dodge viper:p

• I’m not sure why but of all of today’s news (Supercars or what not). This caught my attention. XD

• roll out those lipsticks and eye lashers!!!

haha. my gawd this is even cuter than Fiat 500!! xD

• toyota fans on May 31, 2011 at 3:22 pm

this is good for those kedai runcit …… but 31Nm of torque……..@@”

• hahahaha

• tommyali on May 31, 2011 at 3:27 pm

deep-penetration? lol
    btw i kinda like the ace zip, very suitable for the IKS entrepreneur. cheap and can carry big things, just like proton arena ;)

• padang balang on May 31, 2011 at 3:32 pm

funny la rupanya!!

• AhBeng on May 31, 2011 at 3:35 pm

as this thing carries a fridge, it wont goes reverse when heading up a slope right?

• eimsperfume on May 31, 2011 at 3:36 pm

cute..
    big head & small legs.. :-)

• looklike a small scale model

• looklikes a toy

• mnazri.tan on May 31, 2011 at 3:47 pm

omg …SERIOUSLY….looked fun though…but 11 hp for something that suppose to carry heavy stuff…bit odd…but i am sure they can sell….hehehhehe….really funny la…..heheh

• ben yap on May 31, 2011 at 3:49 pm

11hp and 31Nm? so so low… i bet a kancil 660 can beat it. hahahaha….

how bout crash test results? hahahaha….

• Unforgiven on May 31, 2011 at 4:03 pm

What type of crash test result you want? Even in M’sia, the Inspira do not have the result, we are not much better than them…

We knew how badly the Waja scored…

• st3wpid on May 31, 2011 at 5:07 pm

bro, everyone knows tht inspira wasnt waja ok

okey another hot story: Dany Bahar want proton to loose lotus after got msia bank support to produce 5 new lotus models.

• P2KENARI on May 31, 2011 at 7:30 pm

WTH..!!selfish

• sukasuki on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:14 am

then proton please fired Dany Bahar.

• Unforgiven on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:41 am

Yes, and Inspira is not Lancer since Lancer scored 5-star Euro NCAP.

In M’sia, when you earn 5k a month ppl may say it’s good.
          In the US, when you earn 5k a month ppl may say it’s too low.

In M’sia, if you spend 90k on Inspira ppl may say it’s cheap.
          In the US, if you spend 90k on car ppl may say you are crazy, that’s the price for a brand new Porsche Panamera. Lexus is only 40k.

Make sense?

• The Waja scored a 3-star in euro ncap….BEAT THAT!!!
        even a Land Rover Freelander at that time only scored 2 stars
        Don’t mock a proton Waja just because u only know so much about it….i bet ur car doesnt even have a safety rating, hah!

• Whatever on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:28 am

They are totally different class. Don’t compare an apple with a pineapple. Clarify your conclusion before make any assumption.

• oleoresin on Jun 01, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Crash test? This vehicle have maximum speed of 60km/h. Normal speed might 40km/h or 50km/h. Crash test for NCAP is 80km/h

• wallauwehhh…this cute car if im driving with a heavy person roughly both of us 150kg can naik bukit kaa with 11hp ehehehe
    but i am sure this can sell in malaysia especially for small business entrepreneur
    kancil 660 ex is 30 hp if im not wrong

• taboogen on May 31, 2011 at 4:28 pm

the magic iris rear passenger window.. does it made with cloth only… wow most malaysian giving comment says cute…. sudah BUTA

• rear light on May 31, 2011 at 4:30 pm

is there any bashers in india?

• KLAKA SERAM on May 31, 2011 at 4:37 pm

..at least you can get brand new vehicle at RM13k in India. But in bolehland, secondhand is the only option we have for that of money. I wonder what’s wrong with our country..

• Angrybirds on May 31, 2011 at 4:37 pm

the size does not matter but the louder the horn the more this cutie will sell hehe

• T4VR-Ralph on May 31, 2011 at 4:41 pm

pikachu

• Just me on May 31, 2011 at 4:41 pm

look like powerpuff girl cantoon that my daugther like to watch.

• l3ryan on May 31, 2011 at 4:44 pm

“for deep-penetration goods movement”

sounds like a Durex ad!! LOL

and 11hp? is that a typo or does my lawnmower has more hp then this truck?

• so cute i just like wanna snuggle it om nom nom,,,,this is define what kawaii means.i thing it suit for those people who is more to artsy stuff..,,,,,,fun

• pirate on May 31, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Awesome!

• be cool on May 31, 2011 at 4:57 pm

erk! wonder if perodua can produce a very basic version of viva at the price of maybe rm15k?

• rawanger on May 31, 2011 at 5:10 pm

11 hp on rear wheel drive…sure can carry the load…almost similar to what we have here to transport our ‘kelapa sawit’ ..running on bike engine only….

• Indian car!!?? on May 31, 2011 at 5:17 pm

eye sore by watching this “creature”….hahahaha…..anyway…its cute!?~~ xD

• konyang on May 31, 2011 at 5:26 pm

perghh ini kalau jalan dekat jalan malaysia, sure terbalik ni… lubang sana sini..haha

• bongek on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:29 am

their road is far worse then us… tak terbalik pun… acceptance test diorg mesti mantap ooo .. :)

• acerman2 on May 31, 2011 at 5:34 pm

A true PASAR MALAM vehicle!

• armandd on May 31, 2011 at 5:44 pm

The Kancil 660 with it’s 20+ years old technology has 3 times more power than this poor nano truck. I wonder why Tata can’t develop a proper engine..

• lol. will it tumble over?

• seriusSAM on May 31, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Proton… Perodua… got any appetite to re-badge this.?

LoL

• LatukBandar on May 31, 2011 at 6:26 pm

grasshopper

• rexis on May 31, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Imagine pizza hut getting a fleet of these… oh wait, mamak stall delivery?

• wowze on May 31, 2011 at 7:09 pm

wow nice, wonder when they gonna come out with a coupe/ convertible, last time saw some pics in indo they turn kancil into sl like coupe/convertible

• Machi on May 31, 2011 at 7:43 pm

Holy shit…

11hp with solid steel body?? Can this car move with additional load?

my bike is even more expensive than this toy…how does these TATA motor build it ar with RM 13K?

• GreenFuel on May 31, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Perodua, come out with some kei van and kei pick up la. After the Rusa, end of story for our local produced van. Now they can only buy those more expensive Nissan van. If there is a van or pick up with a 660cc engine and price 15k, I am sure there will be a lot people buying it. Tata can do it, why you cant?

• ko malu saje... on May 31, 2011 at 9:31 pm

That’s up for Naza, heck Naza can do better than that!

• toyota fans on May 31, 2011 at 7:54 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tata_Magic_Iris

• i can just imagine 15 people standing in the back of the zip..
    it beats walking,..

• nonce on May 31, 2011 at 8:15 pm

whoever is driving this must have high dignity.

• Alan Wong on May 31, 2011 at 8:34 pm

HAHAHAHAA…. Careful!! If you do an emergency brake… the back wheels will lift up 5 feet!!

• nolan on May 31, 2011 at 8:39 pm

curry leaves official transport…..

• it makes me recalled that in late 80’s & early 90’s…those daihatsu & honda do produce this kind of vehicle (Ace Zip)…very cute indeed…recently i saw one of still running strong @ Penang Road, Georgetown….

• ko malu saje... on May 31, 2011 at 8:41 pm

It makes Myvi looked like a frog.

• 11hp? 50km/h? 30Nm? fit 2 people? the boot le? for putting big soft toy only. if put normal goods. the truck max speed: 20km/h. hmm.. at least got a roof and sofa to relax while transporting goods. =D

then.. what’s the point producing these truck? dun forget India is really crowded.. so speed doesnt count. yeah!

• rosdi on May 31, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Are you sure the facts are correct? 611cc? 11hp?? Even my Kancil is 650cc and 31hp.. you sure this thing can actually move anything?

• faizulamin on May 31, 2011 at 9:57 pm

they aren’t photshop, aren’t they?

• Meesai on May 31, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Yikess…!!! This is my time ever laughing so badly looking at this penguin…hahahaha

• Liverpool on May 31, 2011 at 10:42 pm

I just know I don’t want to be following them from behind when there are double lines on the road and some police waiting up ahead.

• ilovetata on May 31, 2011 at 11:51 pm

hahaha…. can rival the 1960 Volks Wagen

• Rockmebaby on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:08 am

Shape look like Ultraman head. Name sound like Japanese adult anime title….LOL

• the design looks like it can easily doing ‘wikang’ stunt by slamming the brake harder…

• byebye on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:52 am

this is how TATA makes so much money: by making relevant vehicles for the mass market, as the MASS wants it, not by what a few bloggers imagine. TATA is able to sponsor more than one F1 teams, to show off their profit capacity.

• xavier lert on Jun 01, 2011 at 7:59 am

eventho its cheap..they dont hav to design it so bad…whos the designer??…anney ALi Maju?

• vincent on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:09 am

The car is poorly design, one crash will cripple your legs permenantly.

• be cool on Jun 01, 2011 at 10:51 am

proton juara is better than this :)

• ericmaxman on Jun 01, 2011 at 12:13 pm

will this topple forwards when brake hard?

• kim lee on Jun 01, 2011 at 3:58 pm

typical hindustan movie design

• Big Dee on Jun 01, 2011 at 4:07 pm

just imagine this tata magic iris is to be imported to our shore how much would it costs??? RM50k plus tax etc…???

• imagine how much it will cost in Singapore? Compulsory COE is already SGD 60,000, plus tax, insurance, etc. Maybe cost around SGD75,000? Every month $800 plus excluding road tax, parking, insurance. After that, must return after 10 years bcos COE expire. HA HA

• Anyone with dignity will stay clear of this.

• i think it’s cute, good for IKS..

• Hmm... on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:03 am

don’t forget guys, as proton owns Lotus
    Tata owns Jaguar…

• Juggernaut on Dec 09, 2013 at 6:33 pm

haha its quite interesting reading the comments of narrow minded D**kheads…who know nothing about Indian markets …u need to know some economics ,price of fuel and income levels of indian consumers. Tata main business is not selling these little micro trucks …but they are commited to indian lower income groups thats why they come up with products like these in which they make little profit…check out thr revenue and profit of tata automobiles before making your bulls**t comments….Especially proton perdua idiots

• I agree with you Juggernaut. I have the Mini Truck and the mileage is more than 25 kmpl and carried about 1 tonne which is great for any small scale business. INDIA also has TATA NANO which is great family car for the people with less income and cant afford car. It is better to purchase a small car with CASH than buying your BIG car with LOAN. Think twice before any comment.