Bentley Continental GT launched – from RM1.74 mil on

Bentley Kuala Lumpur last night unveiled the latest addition to its line-up, the new Continental GT. The second-generation two-door 2+2 grand tourer rolls in at a starting price of RM1.74 million, excluding insurance, and depending on specification and trim levels, works its way up to about RM2.1 million or so.

The all-wheel drive car, while carrying over the 12-cylinder 6.0 litre unit from its predecessor, is of course a faster beast than the older one. With a power output of 567 hp at 6,000 rpm and 700 Nm at 1,700 rpm of torque, and mated to a ZF 6HP28 six-speed Quickshift transmission, the car does the 0-100 sprint in 4.6 seconds and gets to a 318 kph top speed.

The W12 block is FlexFuel ready, allowing it to run seamlessly on gasoline, bioethanol (E85) or any combination of the two. Later this year will see the introduction of a high-output V8 engine option.

Equipment levels available includes an 8-inch touchscreen, 30 GB infotainment system with advanced navigationrt settings at your fingertips. The standard audio system gets you eight speakers, while the Naim for Bentley Premium audio system, created exclusively for the Continental GT by British audio specialists Naim, takes the number of Balanced Mode Radiator speakers to 11, and Dirac Dimensions digital signal processing gets thrown in as well.

As is to be expected, there’s plenty of refinement to be found, especially inside the cabin. There’s a host of beautiful main and secondary leather hide options, veneers, engine-spun metal fascias and exterior paint colours (including new Extreme Silver and Liquid Mercury finishes), so there’s a world of choice when it comes to dressing up the car, of which the local order book lists four thus far.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• aremere on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:39 am

chrysler is the best

• ameer boy on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:42 am

chrysler is the best

• Again All Arrogance on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:42 am

I have been to Pavillion showroom 2 times and on both occassions, they refused to open the car to show me the interior. This is heights of arrogance. It shows no class at all. Do I have to be a renowned Datuk or a Tan Sri to be able to dream of such privileges? To be honest, I am a car enthusiast and I appreciate beauty. Its a pity in Malaysia, I am treated like a pariah. In the UK however, I have not only sat in a Rolls Royce but the dealership asked me whether I wanted to drive one immaterial whether I bought one of not. The same with Aston Martin UK, they insisted I should drive the car despite me going in with my cheap jeans and Bata shoes.

In Malaysia, you must be a Datuk or a Tan Sri to be treated well.

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:05 am

Bro….in Malaysia only Lexus gives you customer experience whether u buy or not…

• dont need to mention bentley la, even VW, you wear jeans and bata shoes also they dont want to layan u…

• Wayne G on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:21 pm

but if u go to Mercedes-Benz in Melaka is a very good service

• racefan on Jun 04, 2011 at 12:02 am

I’ve been to Merc, BMW, Audi, Porsche, Jaguar showrooms and they’re all very attentive, very informative. They weren’t judgemental. if you walk into a showroom and they don’t layan you I think you have simply walked into a crappy outlet. It is not the standard of service of any modern showroom. Don’t take offence and just walk away and don’t go there again. If you feel ‘generous’ you can report it to the respective marques hq office. They actually appreciate it. Customer service is customer service, regardless of whether you will buy the car or not. The image of professionalism is very important as it affects the brand and the business

• armandd on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:31 pm

the 3rd world mentality still reigns strong in their minds..

• Evoque on Jun 03, 2011 at 11:54 am

Not really that u must be a Datuk/Tan Sri. I went there with my client before, sit in it, feel the steering, check the boot trunk & the nvh. Both of us not Datuk/Tan Sri.

No offence but even if you’re car enthusiast, you know this brand is all about Prestige, Luxury & Indulgences. Hence it should only be limited to serious buyer.

If you think in their shoe, can they afford to have any scratches in the interior when if they allow people to view inside? More people will come and finger prints, dirt from shoes would be unavoidable. Then its no longer about Prestige, Luxury & Indulgences.
      I dont feel it and so to those serious buyer as well.

• no offense, but who do not have finger print? who do not have dirt on his/her shoe???
        if SOOOOOOO Prestige, Luxury & Indulgences, then pls set up the cleanroom class 10 to control it…

• fredtcm on Jun 03, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Evoque: Care to tell name us the salesman who attended you & your client?

• datuk tony fernandez will buy a small private jet and open a new offer ‘from subang to sepang RM0.01’ he’ll be richer by more than 2.1 million by the end of the year…..2011 No. 52, in FastCompany Top 100 Most Creative People in Business

• jagung on Jun 03, 2011 at 4:30 pm

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2011/06/02/2515143/west-ham-co-owner-david-sullivan-tony-fernandes-wants-half

ha ha ha… tony won’t buy this… even football club also he make insulting 2 bob offer… 2 bob is 20p… that’s like 1 ringgit.

• people with money can be seen through their clothing..maybe you need to wear something that translate your high buying power…

• Fazzurri on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:11 pm

I love when u said people with money can be seen through their clothing. Just last week when i was waiting on the line to deposit my money. There is a guy in front of me with expensive shoes and nice cloth using the machine.

Suddenly he drop his money, so i wanna help but he shove and stare at me like i wanna steal his money. Well i said sorry i just wanna help.. Then he just deposit his money around RM500 to his credit card acc. (bayar hutang rupanya)

Me just wearing bundle t-shirt and slipper.. Deposit into my acc RM10,000 that night..

• racefan on Jun 04, 2011 at 12:07 am

You’ll be quite surprised how the genuinely, independently wealthy dress very unassumingly. They wear normal, casual, comfortable clothes and are usually the most polite. The ones that are ‘minted head to toe’ are usually working class with possibly inner self esteem issues with higher than average income but also higher than average debt. These are rarely the Bentley, Ferrari, Lamborghini buyers

• people with money can be seen through their clothing? well..maybe..but I know a person with “Dato” title who is very low profile in term of his clothing..seriously man..its very subjective..

• kingjoke on Jun 04, 2011 at 12:15 pm

Totally agree with u…

• Ha Gnih on Jun 04, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Errr……..I beg to differ. I drive not-so average cars and you don’t see me becoming a walking label. I LOVE my F.O.S bermuda shorts and yes, my warehouse buy 1 free 1 plain tee shirts. They are the most comfortable to wear whenever I’m not forced to wear work clothes. Oh wait, since they are super thin, I can actually feel the plush leather that covers the seats of my cars. Hahahaha

• Big Bear on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:23 pm

Hate to say this………this happens at other showrooms as well.

Honestly, I don’t think these cars sell in large volumes hear and the new owner parting RM 1.7m……I don’t think it goes down well with the few lucky ones, the car has been sat by a person who is not even categorised as a buyer, scratch the sides steps and put oily hands alll over the components.

Giv them a break, I don’t think only the VIPs are owners, they will let u in…..if you are a really serious buyer.

At least u can still sit in one in UK, lucky you.

• Clas se on Jun 04, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Ha ha ha….just go to a furniture shop with leather seats……

Of course lah, this same car will be sold……if you really want to buy, they will definitely let you do more than just sit in it.

If cannot afford, just watch from outside, if you like a super model then must she really shake your hand n give you a hug too?

• cameos on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Not really have to be a Dato or tan Sri.. They look at what you wear.. Best cue is your watch, if you are wearing an rm100k+ watches and wear all branded from head to toe, they will serve you right. I really judge you buying abilities. They often have very limited stock and the car you see on the floor is not just for display, it might already been sold so it belongs to someone already. Best is to call up to make an appointment and ask for arrangement for viewing. Good luck. Btw even proton sales man never offer me a test drive. I am at the bottom tier and taking it all in.

• WSL999 on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:44 am

Hello Ladies & Gentlemen,

Indeed Bently Automobile has been the world renown brand for high-end and luxury.

If I have a ‘choice’ of Bently, Ferrari, Lamboghini.

Bently would be my first choice as it is more practical, power output and torque are similar however got car booth to store your luggage and etc:)

Just my general point of view to share.

Regards.

• That’s like comparing apples to oranges

• farizY on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:50 am

dude…ease up, the guys just giving his opinion…I don’t understand why loads of thumbs down for him…..
        Why are you saying the comparison he made wasn’t valid? WSL999 was comparing apple-to-apple from a price range point-of-view, classes, no doubt different, cuz one’s a grand tourer, the rest are supercars where no practicality applies what so ever, but price wise most definitely worth considering between them….

• Isaac Cheah on Jun 03, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Comparing same price point but across categories…

While at it, we might as well compare a Mercedes Actros 10 vs a BMW 5 Series at that. Both similar price point.

• farizY on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:27 pm

dude, all the cars the guy mentioned have 2 seats, massive output, but one is much more practical, what’s not to compare, since all of them cost quite similar…
            Yeah, great sarcasm, put a truck against a proper 4 door sedan, awesome job….noob….

• ignoramus on Jun 05, 2011 at 11:11 pm

The Bentley Continental GT is a GT type car. The only Ferrari close to anything GT like is the 612. And the Lambo?.. certainly not.

Btw, the Bentley has 4 seats.

Try to sit in the Bentley, Ferrari and Lambo than you’ll notice the stark difference

• WSL999, you shouldn’t compare Bently with Ferrari and Lamborghini.
      Bently should be compared with Roll Royce and Maybach.

• farizY on Jun 05, 2011 at 12:31 pm

that depends on which model….if a conti GT compared to a Ferrari FF, then it would be valid, if Conti GT compared to Rolls Phantom or Ghost,then it would be otherwise, cuz they’re in totally different classes, not to mentioned prince range….

• maabas on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:47 am

Speechless…….

• Jing Yi on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:50 am

[obvious comment]Not for the average Malaysia.[/obvious comment]

• nice car, but with the price RM1.74mil, who is afford to buy it..???
    average monthly average for Malaysian let say RM4k, working 30 years until retire, then save it 100% still only having RM1.4mil… how???

• That’s why it’s not for the average.

• Ferruccio on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:13 am

Bentleys were not built to be sold to people with employee mindset

• wow.. sound like u r the big boss and earn billion per month!!! =)

• Ferruccio on Jun 03, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Congratulations! though you don’t need a billion a month to buy a Bentley.

• Fazzurri on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:17 pm

CC.. what Feruccio said is sadly true.. Only people with marketing and business mindset can earn much more..

• superlinky on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:20 am

This is the question that your government should answer

• HappyBoy on Jun 03, 2011 at 5:24 pm

I think you already have the answer, don’t need to ask the government.

• BD'sMaster on Jun 03, 2011 at 12:14 pm

go buy your value for money forte la…so high-tech got engine start button fuiyoo

• Wayne G on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:29 pm

if Malaysia no tax i think we can buy it easy
      Malaysia always say tax tax tax tax………….

• At last we Malaysians don’t need to buy re-con cars from those money hungry AP holders anymore. New cars FTW!!!

• Bentley has had an official dealership in KL for many years now but people still go for the re-cons

• kancil on Jun 03, 2011 at 11:11 am

dude, u shud rephrase the word “still” to “have to” then only ur statement is true…

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:07 am

I wonder what is this cars real worth taking out the badge…..
    One thing for sure it is fat, ugly and vulgar…..

• MyCarMyLife on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:19 am

For the genuinely rich maybe 0.1 % and 99.99 % for the unscruplous and spineless., in MY of course.

• hantu on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:21 am

RM15630 road tax per year.

• thats little compared to the RM47000 insurance per year

• just be content with your P1 and P2 ok?

• cameos on Jun 21, 2012 at 12:34 pm

I know a business client in sarawak drives a Lexus LX570 2012 cost him rm900k+ with 3rd party insurance. He paid cash for his car so no loan therefore no need first party insurance.

• turboman on Jun 03, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Haha

Wait till u see the servicing fees.

I think to change an engine oil = price of a myvi.

• wahid on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:22 am

kereta mahal2 pun tak leh bawa pergi mati

• no money no talk. this is rich man’s toys.

• Catherine on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:31 am

Hi Anthony, it is you that i met yesterday? Just saying hi here..Good day ahead!

• farizY on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:39 am

When money is no object…..when will I get one? when pigs fly…..

• Renault Megane RS on Jun 03, 2011 at 10:52 am

My kidney 200k , portion of my liver 100k , my left lung 200k , my left eye 200k .wahhh still short 1 million plus …My wife ..opsss that’s not for sale …deng !!!

• pak menteri on Jun 03, 2011 at 11:00 am

jgn risau rakyatku sekalian. sebagai menteri yg berkaliber, sy pasti mewakili kamu semua! sy akn beli bentley ini menggunakan duit rakyat jelata. jadi kamu semua akn jd sebahagian drpd bentley ini! oh, jgn lupa say “hi” bila sy pergi ke mesyuarat kabinet utk naikkan harga minyak & elektrik!

• Amfin on Jun 03, 2011 at 11:05 am

Just a stark reminder of how much it really cost in UK (http://www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/RoadTestsHistory/Bentley-Continental-GT-W12-%28UK-drive%29/257455/).
    Price as tested £135,760 (RM666717.59). For the rich, I think by buying this car its better off you pay your income tax / business tax because buying this luxury is way too taxing.

• Maxio00 on Jun 03, 2011 at 2:39 pm

in Malaysia, is way too expensive !
      i could buy 3 of it in overseas with that price.

• haha…meaning if u buy it in malaysia, u pay more than one million for tax alone and subsequently reach govt’s pocket, and ultimately into cronies’ pocket.

• Seriously on Jun 03, 2011 at 11:16 am

We tax payers will mostly be paying for some happy Royal family / Datuk to enjoy. I couldn’t be more proud :)

• going to place my booking for that toy…oh yeah!!!

• mat koboi on Jun 03, 2011 at 11:32 am

kereta itu untuk orang kaya raya

• turboman on Jun 03, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Ya

Bukan saja kaya. Cuma kaya aje tak cukup.

Tapi kaya raya meraya.

=)

• i would buy one if i have lots of money! for sure!

• RC Car indeed. Rich & Corrupted.

• tommy on Jun 03, 2011 at 2:12 pm

its either this, or u can buy 2 re-con bentley… in a year, how many buyer do they get?

• shawal on Jun 03, 2011 at 2:41 pm

even with that exorbitant price tag, you have to admit, it is a thing of beauty….. better than its predecessor …..

• Ugly car, remove those Bentley badges and what will happen? Want fast? Buy GTR. Want luxury? Buy S-Class.

• Ferruccio on Jun 03, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Which is ‘better’? rock or water?

• brother, this toy is not to serve on only one purpose of want-fast or want-luxury, this toy is for both fast & luxury…

• Ha Gnih on Jun 04, 2011 at 2:17 pm

If I want something fast and luxurious, with the same amount of money, I rather get myself 2 R35 GTRs and the remaining balance will use it for cosmetic facelift a bit. The white one would be driven on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays and the Black one would be on Tuesday, Thursdays and Saturdays. And on Sundays, I’ll just drive my dad’s CLS 55 AMG to recuperate. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA !!!!

• RM1.74 mill? I’m happy with my proton cabuk.

• nolan on Jun 03, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Huh……nice car…..i need to sell something to top-up the price….who wants to buy my tamagotchi virtual pet raise your hand please !!!!

• easy come easy go…:)

• Wayne G on Jun 03, 2011 at 9:33 pm

2012 want to come already every one take the money come to buy a good car
    use only dont think too much
    if have money dont think too much
    if have dream do it your self

• 1.7mil? i ordered 2 oredi

• Naji$ Tun Razak on Jun 04, 2011 at 1:32 am

I? would suck a dick for this car, and I wouldn’t even think twice about it nor would I regret it

• Azamiruddin (Kedah, Malaysia) on Jun 04, 2011 at 9:55 am

two third of the amount goes to ‘someone’s pocket…nothing to do with Bentley.

• Ha Gnih on Jun 04, 2011 at 11:28 am

my (filthy rich) neighbor has 2 Bentleys, among their other car collections. There’s the Continental GT which the son drives on a daily basis (lucky bastard) and the Flying Spur Mansory. And the funniest thing I’ve ever seen ? The dad washes them and he doesn’t even let the maids or the driver to wash them. Ha Ha Ha !!

• so what car are you driving? you must be loaded too.

• Ha Gnih on Jun 04, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Nah, just driving a sonata. That’s all. HuHuuu…..:(

• got discount ahh!!?, 0% downpayment?..service package? freebies…sticker,lcd tv or giant cash voucher? and can use bonuslink or not?

• Qwerty on Jun 04, 2011 at 6:27 pm

Better buy new myvi instead

• 2+2 seat….wonder who will be seated at the back??

• atz1999 on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:40 pm

This is dream car at Malaysia but normal Malaysian
    working at UAE can drive this