Proton Exora prototypes used to test Campro CFE engine and CVT transmission

These days when a Proton test prototype goes out for a drive, sometimes it’ll have a piece of paper on its front or rear windshield that identifies what exactly is being tested.

For example, last month we saw a white pre-FL Proton Saga with a label that describes it as an IAFM+ CVT test vehicle, which we’re assuming means a 1.3 litre IAFM+ engine paired to a CVT gearbox.

This white and black Proton Exora’s label reveals that it is used for general durability testing of a certain powertrain combination. The figures seem to suggest they’re testing what they’re calling a Campro CFE engine paired to a CVT gearbox.

If you recall, we’ve seen the letters CFE used before. At last year’s KLIMS 2010, Proton exhibited an engine called the Campro CFE which was a 1.6 litre inline-4 cylinder engine with a light boost turbocharger that provides a power output equivalent to a 2.0 litre normally aspirated engine. Power figures cited was 138hp at 5,000rpm and 205Nm between 2000rpm to 4,000rpm.

An upgrade in power from a Campro Turbo would explain why the other black and white Exora prototype we saw had rear disc brakes.

We also saw a Proton prototype being tested in a snowy country earlier this year bearing the same “CFE” lettering on a dashboard sticker. The full words on the dashboard in that snow prototype was P3 – CFE TURBO CVT3 ESP.

Look after the jump for all related spyshots. Hat tip to reader Ahmad Afifi for snapping a close-up of the paper on the windscreen and sending this in to us! :)

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2299]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1968]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nice…Hope it will sell soon…

• sukasuki on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:11 am

need to find MPV for family when for the purpose of vacation car in peninsular as my family from sarawak. mayb exora can fit the requirement. or else i bought a 2nd hand nissan serena. hurmmm.

• HaZaRd on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:23 am

smoked head & tail lamps looks good! :D

• hantu on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:37 am

Why some identifications are sensored?

Wonder why.

• Kiddo on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:48 am

duh, like you’d tell everybody the chassis number of your car~it’s one of the most important things of a car! It’s kinda like the IC number for cars d, can’t be told to everyone.

As for the name of the person in charge, it’s solely to prevent himself from being ass-kicked or being fired.

• hantu on Jun 09, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Then, why Proton identification in the windscreen?
        So everyone can see the chassis no. outside there.
        Thus no more secret la..

Can you ask right now.

• Kiddo on Jun 09, 2011 at 6:54 pm

the tag is for the engineers and people within proton to identify the car, not for public like us. Mosaic was applied because it grabs people’s attention!

In fact, the chassis number of your car is also laser-printed on a plat in your car’s engine hood. It’s the same principle behind our IC what. The IC number is there, everyone can view it but you don’t go telling or showing everyone your IC right? People can get loan and so many things with it, so is the chassis number. :)

I answered, anymore question to bombard?

• Nice job answering to people who did not realize themselves are lacking in knowledge before dropping comment/complaint.

• just call the extension no la…then u will know who pic..hahaa

• syedhs on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:22 am

Despite of the good intention, I can still somehow guess the person’s name. Next time blur betul2.. or just tampal solid black rectangle on it.. barula betul2 covered up..

• one thing i want to say, exora looks ugly and awful with big body but small tyre..

but overall, i love proton so much as i am malaysian.. hope porton can compete with other carmakers..

• littlefire on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:32 am

Yeah.. Time to open up the market and let the fight begin!!!

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:29 am

sure, the beloved goverment will listen to you and open it by tomorow.

• yippi33 on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Yeah! lets cut off the subsidy and see what happens..

• sfssd on Jun 10, 2011 at 1:02 am

Yeah, why don’t you go “eff” your self instead and see what happens.

• macaruda on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:32 am

beauty fall on the eye of the beholder…..

• rear light on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:33 am

change to big 1 la….

• farizY on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:43 am

As long as it serves its purpose, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it…

• NONICKNAME on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:03 am

Nevermind, it wasted if PROTON give a big wheels. People will change to bigger one after come out from the centre.

• Yes I agree , as a Malaysian I’m proud of proton even though the quality is so so , if they can improve the interior material used , i won’t mind paying more . Proton , ur car is ok , if u put in quality cabin material on par of Honda , u will have a more desirable product

• Just me on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:04 pm

No way proton can fight with other car maker, 7 years back I sold 2 wira because disappointed with it quality. 2 years ago decided to give proton another chance with the new saga, disappointed again with it quality and bad FC. FC almost same as my 1.8 toyota. Probably even proton ceo do not use proton for their main family car.

• show us ur service record der ke ko tak pernah servis kete ko kat proton 1.8 what toyota u used equal to ur 1.3 saga haha

• llgriver on Jun 09, 2011 at 5:59 am

2004-2012, S4PH stock block seem doesn’t change at all..i dont know weather the engineers only know how to calculate up to 1.6 or the bosses scare to invest to the bigger money??what comes after this??1.6 supercharge + turbo?1.6 biofuel?1.6 campro cps powered by ethanol??

Proton….come on!!!!!!!!

• bebek on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:12 am

after this comes family Y engine from them…

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:31 am

they are waiting for you, the grandmaster in automotive to apply job at proton.

• farghmee on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:35 pm

i dun mind paying for old engine that perform best.

• Dartz on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:41 pm

weather? Well, I bet its gonna be cloudy with a subtle hint of the coming shitstorm. But then again it just me.

• izack04 on Jun 09, 2011 at 3:34 pm

If you are briliant enough…..please share with us….

• Kiddo on Jun 09, 2011 at 6:57 pm

while every car manufacturer is going engine downsizing, why would you suggest Proton to go make something huge in displacement?

If Proton were to make a V8 4.0, you’d be saying that they’re stupid cuz it feeds on petrol and no one will buy. Proton go for 1.6 you also call them stupid.

Men are just too hard to please.

• ko dah tgk ke yang turbo nye block,piston head nye yang baru nih ke ko hentam jerk bai adoi memang ape lah ko nih takut nak mengaku kete malaysia dah maju sebab ko beli kete luar harga mahal tp tech low haha welll proud of this new product

• drMpower on Jun 09, 2011 at 6:09 am

it must be a hard job now if u are testing the cars for proton
    because people are keeping up and snapping spyshots whenever they see one
    the resulted excitement could develop somekind of crazy obsession
    towards protons products in the future so that we gonna have people
    hiding in the bushes ala paparazi trying to get some shots on tested models
    haha

come on. bring on that low roofline
    make the front end stuffs a bit smaller
    do a better side profilings
    and change the horrible exhaust
    equip it with 1.8 turbo, and stuffs inside

and i am buying my first proton

• squawk on Jun 09, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Low roofline? Wouldn’t that defeat the purpose of having a multi-purpose vehicle?

• Kiddo on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:03 pm

The Toyota Caldina is a very good example of multi-purpose vehicle with a low roofline and sporty looks.

• loveit on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:18 am

This new variant exora gonna sell like hot keropok lekor !

• Out of Luck on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:28 am

I saw a reverse camera in the rear photo. Does this mean the new Exora will be having a large screen ICE, perhaps touch screen LCD with GPS too? Nice!!!

• loveit on Jun 10, 2011 at 8:08 am

I believe it gonna be as part of premium model’s accesories.. though I hoping proton start to made things optional (means doesn’t matter what model you have if you pay for it they installed it for you)

• Mega/Liverpool on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:35 am

Is this a 3 or 4 cyinder motor?
    1.3 Turbo….how much bhp?
    Cheers
    Mike/Liverpool

• sampan/hk on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:05 pm

haiya mike,
      this one uses 1.6 turbo 4 cylinder motor la mike.

chickas,
      sampan/hulu klang

• i think 1.6…1.3 is not suitable imho..i hope it produces 200Nm of tork.. horsepower i don’t care

wazzup yaw,

zaeidos/chelsea ——> name/footbal club right?

• eimsperfume on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:40 am

please make it clear.. this is testing unit.. not the production version yet..
    so pls do not comment much on the looks since its not the final product yet..

nway.. honestly.. its not because i like proton or what but i think exora design is very nice already. u can exora with bodykit n sport rims on the road.. IMO, by styling, exora can beat avanza & grand livina anytime..

i just hope with this new engine & more power, proton could use bigger tires & rims on exora to improve styling & comfort.

• taboogen on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:55 am

if you look closely at previous spyshot they are using 16 inch rims lah

• ericmaxman on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:59 am

Nice, but can anyone shed some light on the gearbox supplier? ZF? Getrag? Mitsubishi? Aichi Kikai?

• ericmaxman on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:01 am

100K General Durability? Means they travel 100,000km to test durability?

• bebek on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:16 am

think so as i heard they delay new exora with turbo engine because having jerking problem after 100,000km.

• oleoresin on Jun 09, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Where you heard the result? Let me gues….. FITNAH !

Dont create the story Toyota fanboys….

• ericmaxman on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:49 pm

yup..delayed till October

• xavier lert on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:30 am

they should change the test route…go to east coast (kelantan) via karak,bentong, raub , lipis, gua musang, kuala krai, KB… why? coz this is where they can really test the car n engine.

• kuikuikui on Jun 09, 2011 at 3:04 pm

couldn’t agree more on this…

• Even better if they test it from kuching to kota kinabalu.100% jalan kampung with so many potholes

• carazy on Jun 09, 2011 at 4:31 pm

karak for the handling.. lots of “konner maut” there!!

• umpgambang on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:39 pm

driving on snow is almost as hard as u driving off road.. snow area very slippery de lo.. imagine u drive on soft mud.. I drove once,RR 2×4 on off road.. the car keep on skiing on the mud.. very hard to control lo..
      Slippery road Sarawak got.. Raining time is damn slippery, always got accident. Karak best for reving engine.

• black_jax on Jun 10, 2011 at 7:32 am

how about exora fl’ performance in b-roads especially our undulating surface road?
      I’m waiting…..

• MrDDR on Jun 11, 2011 at 9:53 pm

No no….Use Gerik Road to Kelantan..Can test suspension and free crash test if they bang to gajah liar they…If that gajah not die than give 3 star but if die give 5 star..my 2 sen

• samkhairul on Jun 09, 2011 at 8:33 am

last week i drove perodua alza for the purpose of my friends wedding. i thought the pickup was fine until i tested it. it was out of my imagination whereby the pickup was lousy but the fuel consumption was quite ok. hopefully this exora will have its own xfactor despite of its large body such as decent fuel consumption and quality wise..Proton, please consider this factor. TQ

• my wish list: proton please make this engine Campro CFE into production with Satria Neo

• Tengokje.. on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:01 am

Good luck P1 in testing your new gearbox..must ensure that it will be durable..
    Salam…

• Jonasi on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:53 am

Still using timing belt when the rest of the cars in the world already moving on to timing chain ?

• moha3774 on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:12 am

…personally think, Proton should have re set its targetted engine performance to at least on par with PSA- Peugeot Prince engine performance, 1.6 turbo delivering 156hp…so that, its performance will be equal to Peugeot 5008 MPV…

• udasalleh on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:37 am

i would really really love this if P1 puts it under an SUV. hmmmm… i’m still waiting DSZ.

• Maaf, my itm boys got no clue how to build a new suv from scratch. Perhaps we might rebadge another one from Mitsu. Sabar ye.

• udasalleh on Jun 13, 2011 at 9:16 am

what do u mean…? the concept Lekiu is an SUV/Crossover based on the exora platform… nothing from scratch really.

• ThePolygon on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:45 am

C’mon guys, lets give Proton a hand for this. Well if everything goes right we might have a Proton turbo with CVT to drive around with… who knows Exora won’t be the only one getting the turbo in the future :D

Though they have to move fast as Ford’s Ecoboost (turbo) engine is just around the corner with their S-Max 7 seater in the line. Again, price factor will be the selling factor for Proton :D

• Actually I quite like exora , it’s as big as grandis but cheaper , I’ll get one if it’s a turbo

• As a malaysian, i hope proton can offer better spec in new launch vehicle. Small engine + force induction +better transmission is the trend. Offer better spec 1st, from time to time improve d quality issue.

• hamzah on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:52 am

macam mane nak apply kerja dekat durability unit ni?
    saya memang minat pandu kereta.. saya juga berani bawak kereta laju laju.. kalau setakat potong bas sani ekpress dan trailer kat jalan gua musang – kb tu, saya buat sambil main angry bird jer..

kalau ade kerje kosong tolong bagitau, saya tengah cari kerja sekarang.
    saya ada spm, pengalaman bawak lori air batu, lori sayur, lori pos laju, despatch.

• llgriver on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:48 am

kne tunggu proton buat lori dl laa

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:16 am

dik, setakat bawa kenderaan selepas dapat lesen, semua orang boleh buat. tapi nak jadi pemandu test driver, kena banyakkan ilmu pengetahuan. at least cuba daftar untuk defensive driving class dulu. kemudian belajar hal-hal teknikal kenderaan, baru lah boleh beri feedback selepas tiap tugasan. cheers.

• llgriver on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:28 am

2004-2011 still using the same 1.6 block. I dont know weather the engineers only know how to calculate up to 1.6 or all the bosses are stingy accountants. what’s next? 1.6 supercharge + turbo? 1.6 bi-fuel? 1.6 campro cps powered by ethanol? any diesel?

proton…come on!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Nizam80 on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:52 am

Agreed. I’m waiting for Proton to self-develop small capacity engines.

• MoFaz on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:25 pm

1.6 is kind of ‘standard’ size nowadays. even Pug is giving 1.6 with Turbo which equivalent to 2.0 output. why produce big engine when every other manufacturers are reducing their cc? some countries taxing cars based on cc and some other based on carbon output. smaller cc and carbon footprint would enable proton to sell their car at low price in those countries.
        and 1.3 Campro is not small engine? go buy Perodua if you want 600cc.

• Wisdom on Jun 09, 2011 at 4:47 pm

F1 also going 1.6 2013……

• torque_junkie on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:44 pm

world rally cars already using 1.6 turbo this year. WTCC next…

• llgriver on Jun 11, 2011 at 10:08 am

you can add anything to a choc cake to make it yummy..but it still a choc cake..and not all people love the choc cake

• tiadaid on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:53 pm

1.6 road tax cheaper what. Also problem?

• Naji$ Tun Razak on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:30 am

No matter how they tested. It is still only a Proton…..

No matter how u guys click on the thumbs down. It is still a Proton….

No matter how Proton try to change….it is still a very low class Proton thats protected by government for over 25 yrs…..!

Please try to compete with international brand and not protected by nep or stupid ap system in order to prove its capability.

Thats all.

• Bob Vettel on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:27 pm

No matter how smart you may sound, you’re still a Malaysian, which means you’re dumb.

So that how it goes?

• alistair lim li wei on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:34 am

I’m starting to love this car already. Hopefully this car can beat the living daylights out of the overrated Alza in terrms of sales figure!

• taxi driver on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:36 am

terbaeekkk!!!

• Mur7hy on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:50 am

CAMPRO engine is already prone to breakdowns… turbo charging it gona make it more unreliable… first of all… have u guys tried drivin an exora up Genting Highland with max load and luggages? u might as well drop your passengers at the cable station….. seriously… its a joke.. alza makes better sense…if ur looking at the price range or else get alightly higher price, an inova or sumthing… better value for money. anyway.. its a good start for proton but they have been in the business for 30 years…things should be better. Government should just shut down proton or sell it and use the money to help the poors or invest to better the infrastructure of the country. I do not even wan to mention the fact that Proton n Lotus spend so much money in F1. Even giants like Toyota n Honda said its a waste of investment n funds. Lotus itself cant be self sustained…. broowing huge loans from banks just to finance the F1 group. Well Done.

• sukasuki on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:04 am

boringgg!!!!!

• Jonasi on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:06 am

ppl think easy money mar.

• theking on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:10 am

Mur7hy,

Pity u coz u nvr own or drive Exora and ur claim about exora n campro engine totally nonsense.

• I drive Exora for 7 months now. Cooling fan motor broke down twice, aircond not working properly. Never buy proton again.

• Waja 2001 on Jun 10, 2011 at 12:54 am

I am still own a 2001 waja with 4g18 engine. The odo is almost 471000km. The auto gearbox still silky smooth, the engine was never overhauled, still able to clock at 160 kmj at karak and batang kali. I do really love this proton car. My next car would still a proton even i have enough money for toyota altis dual vvti.my car is still virgin but with minor accessories. Just a normal maintenance with genuine parts.

Thanks proton for a such good car for me.

• Mur7hy on Jun 11, 2011 at 11:13 am

2001 using a mitsubishi engine… try using a campro… then u will say dun buy proton…

• Waja 2001 on Jun 11, 2011 at 10:26 pm

i did not know that as i have no experience in campro. but cps is good. campro as i know is an unfinished project. that is why they improve it later with additional cps.

i am not good in campro engine, but if you give me ford falcon 4.0 or ford mondeo with mustang engine, i do have 2 years experience working as part time mechanic while taking my master in australia (melbourne 2008-2010) just for that cars.

but if you look at malaysian, they rather buying cheap low quality part than the expensive genuine high quality parts. they also always push the car to its limit, but less maintenance. just like you are working hard without good food. after that, you blame the manufacturer for the low quality cars. please. but there are also cases where the faulty are genuine from manufacturer. so, let the p1 knows the real issue rather shouthing to nowhere.make an official letter to the management.

after all, this is just my humble opinion. i am not the mechanical nor engineering expert but rather called as infectious disease expert.-biomedical scientist-

• Irony on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:20 am

bodoh.sombong.. nampok benar nipunye.. dah bnyk geng2 Exorian naik Genting..

kalau tekan D je sepanjang masa untuk gear auto, mmg takkan naik.. Alphard pun belum tentu naik..main gear rendah la bahlol..

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:51 am

wooo you sounds so irritating little boy. can i just drop you at Genting Sempah’s McD so you can enjoy your Happy Meal there? then we all will continue our journey to Genting with Exora.

its easy to shut down proton, but how about those workers? its same like some people years back that asking to shut down coca-cola’s factory in defend of boycotting the Israelis… are you going to feed their kids and support their education fees if their parents are jobless? oh yeah, atleast they can work at McD to serve your Happy Meal rite?

• alistair lim li wei on Jun 09, 2011 at 6:22 pm

yea i tink he nid a double dose of mcD happy meal

• mizzuddin on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:59 am

if u kinda buy lubricants and filters from spare-part shop… thinking that u can save some money, then send ur car to service not at the SC to skip the rm60 / rm120 labour charge… then of course laa the CAMPRO and all other kind of engines are prone to breakdown…

these kind of mentality does not stop there…

wanna “upgrade” something, but buy cheap products and ask ahbeng to fit… how come ur car can be in immaculate condition…? the electrical being abused… cut here n there, wire tape here n there, bypass here n there… n the panels being dismantled not using the special tools…

every engineering products have their own maintenance practices… are we practicing accordingly? no matter what car we drive….

• jl@ipl on Jun 15, 2011 at 3:39 pm

100% agree with you.

Furthermore, most Malaysian like to wait till the mileage to clock 5000km regardless how long it take. If I remember correctly, the manual says that the oil need change every 5000km or 3 months!

You can wait 5000km but I don’t! It is minuscule investment compare to the engine.

I personally change my Iswara and Gen2 lub oil at myself. I only buy the filters from authorized distributor whom (it is very easy to identify fake iswara/wira filter and I know that I got the right one). Also, I bought the lub oil direct from petrol station. I’m very much sure the Lub oil are 100% genuine.

My 8yr Iswara engine silky smooth, 100% trouble free. Same with my wife’s 5yr old Gen2 (clocked 100000 last months)

One think about campro I would to share with every Campro user. The oil drain plug located forward of the car. Hate that! Why? Coz, if I wanna fully drain the oil, it take time. Luckily my porch slopped a bit. I can reverse parking so that the front of the car lower and the oil flow out much easily.

If you guys change the oil at cherry tree workshop, BEWARE!

They normally jacked the car front to gain better access. I did the same, but, the difference was that i lower back the car front when draining the oil. THOSE MECHANIC DON’T! Definitely a lot of dirty oil still inside.

For SC user, BEWARE! Always present your self and oversee the mechanic too. Why? Coz some of them are lub oil thieve! Their MO, drain half, top up half, the other half of the oil is his!

Just my 2 cents.

• gen2lama on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:05 pm

campro prone to breakdowns…hmmmmmy campro (gen2 – nearly 320000 km already)…

exora to genting?…hey man Exora club did it long2 time ago la……

• tongek on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:04 pm

“Government should just shut down proton or sell it and use the money to help the poors or invest to better the infrastructure of the country.”

–to me build a proton company is efford to give the people job too,,,,not to feed them just like that….

• khylie on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:40 pm

Everytime when other people have alot of money,someone will ask them donate to the poor.why dont ask the poor to work harder or atleast study or ask the children to study harder.Poor kids or even blind kids can get 10As in their SPM and get scholarship to further study.This is because they deserved it.70% of the poor is due to the laziness in their early life some even until their mid life.They dont deserve the money from the rich and the rich dont own money from the poor.Help?yes.Pity?yes.Laziness?intolerant.

• sampan/hk on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:09 pm

eat maruku is better

• bebek on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:12 pm

jurujual alza niiii..tipikal!

• tapi dia orang lebih pandai jual…. .tengok sales diaorang

• mizzuddin on Jun 09, 2011 at 5:53 pm

haiyyaa amoi… long time no see ur comment laa…

leave the topic for a while… laii laiiii i buy u a drink

• Nicky on Jun 09, 2011 at 3:48 pm

how much toyota paid u to promote Perodua?

• mizzuddin on Jun 09, 2011 at 4:46 pm

if u kinda buy the lubricants, beltings and filters from spare-part shop and send to ahbeng workshop thinking that u can save money, skip the SC labor charge, then of course la the CAMPRO and all other engines are prone to breakdowns already….

the bad mentality does not end there…

wanna upgrade something… but buy cheap product… cheap headlamp, spotlight, cheap sport rims and cheap audio upgrade by cincai ahbeng works…. cut here cut there, wire tape here wire tape there….

make sure we all have the right mentality on practicing the maintenance

• this faller is perodua sales man lah hahaha aiyo der u using exora ke tidak ? ke ko nih basher tak sekolah

• azmanshah on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:43 am

Campro= Tak Nak !!

• Simon Ng on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:45 am

I know there are a lot of Proton bashers here. I am one of them and I do not drive a Proton. I rather drive a 20 years old German car than a Proton.

The last couple fo years, Proton is actually doing something to make a difference. I do not know whether will translate to good results. Nonetheless, it is an initiative. Already better than many people would just complain and do nothing.

Well done. Proton.

• freeze on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:40 pm

I see, they,re checking for General Durability up to 100K KM.

It’s all clear now. No wonder my old Iswara started to have radiator, air con condensor/compressor failure after 100000 KM.

They set the bar really low.

• Eastar Mystic Black on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:44 pm

wonder how much it will cost

• Confused on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Campro CFE which was a 1.6 liter inline-4 cylinder engine with a light boost turbocharger that provides a power output equivalent to a 2.0 liter normally aspirated engine. Power figures cited was 138hp at 5,000rpm and 205Nm between 2000rpm to 4,000rpm.

Now to all you CAMPRO fans, is that really impressive? I thought a ‘normal’ 2.0 these days should produce at least 150hp…Power output equivalent to a 2.0…a very bad 2.0 I must say!

• duhh..what matters in a people mover is torque not hp..u wanna high hp nk wtpe?? even stndr cmapro cps 125hp already maxing out at 190km/h+ ..u wanna drive ur kids at 200km/h ++ ka on msian roads? plus if u CAN contorl the car LOL..most msians dont know how to drive properly then wanna bakw laju2

• Peter on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Power is no longer very important nowadays….It’s the torque…

Ppl nowadays want fuel efficient cars…

• torque_junkie on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:43 pm

its not about horses only.. its torque, and in which part of the rev range its at. this is an mpv, required to drive on all types of roads, and usually carrying lots of people + luggage. 205nm within that torque band is pretty impressive. plus you only pay 1.6 roadtax, and if the numbers are right, should have lower emissions and fuel consumption as well.

• Kiddo on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:28 pm

If what Mr Confused said was true, the 2.0 MR20DE on the Nissan Slyphy must be a very very lousy engine then! It produces only a mere 132hp.

Dude, drive the Slyphy up Cameron and you’ll know how good it is!!

2.0L doesn’t necessarily mean it has to produce Civic-beating 155hp!! We need an efficient engine way more than one that feeds on petrol!

• squawk on Jun 09, 2011 at 12:56 pm

On another note, industry sources say Lotus might be in for a fight in China. There doesn’t seem to be any peace for them.

UK’s Lotus will enter the Chinese market on June 15 this year, but its Chinese name is Lu Te Si (“???” – a transliteration of Lotus) rather than the well-known Lian Hua (“??” – Chinese for Lotus Flower), because China’s Youngman Lotus has used the famous brand to market its cars first, and Lotus does not want consumers to get confused between the low cost products from Youngman and its own high end sports models.

Lotus will carry out a series of campaigns to promote Lu Te Si in China, and its primary task is to make its identity clarified.

Youngman Lotus exhibited a Lotus sports car Europa at the Shanghai Auto Show this year, which is seen by Lotus as the latest irregular move violating the agreement with Proton, the parent of both Lotus Car and Youngman Lotus.

Some industry insiders believe that the problem between Lotus and Youngman Lotus may not be limited to brand. Some think there won’t be peace between the two as Lotus enters the Chinese market.

• torque_junkie on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:47 pm

are you sure youngman is violating an agreement with proton pertaining to lotus? i heard youngman are paying royalties to lotus for every car sold…

• makeitmine on Jun 09, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Exora got potential.

It’s basically a wish body, and wish sized interior, but with a 1.6L 125bhp engine. it’s heavy though crossing the 1.5t weight…

3rd row will still be kids only…but with rear air-con, should be cooler than wish, stream…

Proton is currently unlocking the CAMPRO engine since many people may not be able to live with 0-100kph in 15.0secs.

Pls also add more affordable comfort, soundproofing, interiors and big wheels.. people may have to live with their cars for 10 years.

• be cool on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:14 pm

nice!! pls make it available in 2011!!

• shawal on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:25 pm

since we’re using more and more in-house developed components, the cars should be cheaper right….?

proton also needs to R&D in interior quality and design,using better colored soft-touch materials, better ergonomics and practicality.

Exterior design needs to be improve, better looking cars, with more prominent shoulder & waist lines, smaller gaps between body panels, also worth mentioning that the gap between body panels must be cohesive with the design lines, which proton needs to improve

• Jonasi on Jun 09, 2011 at 2:29 pm

isn’t this campro engine an adaptation from Iswara 1.5 block. Thereafter, added in this and that with IFAM and CPS and now Turbo ???

• anitode on Jun 09, 2011 at 4:41 pm

yup. they took the gearbox from wira 1.6, rim from nissan dutsun, seat from toyota hi-ace..basically they took all from old cars lar. stupid.

• oleoresin on Jun 09, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Why you indirectly declare that you’re…… katak bawah tempurung?

• kabar2 angin mane u bace ni?

• umpgambang on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Iswara’s engine is carburetor, Campro is direct fuel injection.. Both engine is different.

• 205nm at 2,000 – 4,000 rpm….very useful to move this weight. No need to rev to much which will help FC

• dannylee77 on Jun 09, 2011 at 6:27 pm

Any idea When are they Launching Proton Exora CFE ???…… Any Insider News ???….
    I remember reading some statement that it was planned to launch early this year… Now already June ???…..

• Peter on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:09 pm

CVT engine?

Oh man? Do i need to change the gearbox every 100k?

• umpgambang on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:50 pm

You must be driving manual car. Auto gear box also need constant maintenance and changing. But it usually depend. I would prefer CVT as it’s one of the most fuel efficient gearbox after AMT gearbox. AMT>CVT>manual>auto. light gear box contribute alot to fuel saving.

• Bontot on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Bodoh! Nampak sangat gearbox CVT tu tak bagus. Apa lagi yang engko tak puas hati pasal CVT tu? CVT la bagus ngok. Otak ko tu yang tak bagus.

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 10, 2011 at 10:31 am

i know its world of free speech here, but it doesn’t hurt to use better language right?

• Peter on Jun 10, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Hello, Bontot…

Get your facts right before you shout here and there…

I have facts to support my argument…

Why don’t u Google out about how good or bad is CVT?

Why don’t you go to different forums and see for yourself that CVT transmission is one of the hardest to maintain and easily prone to breakdown?

Cheers!

:)

• Yes peter you are right about maintaining a CVT gearbox. But its also one of the best gearbox available in that market. I am driving a 2006 city VTEC with the CVT. All i have to do is just service it every 20k,and it does serve me fine enough.

• zip_zap on Jun 09, 2011 at 7:21 pm

just 138bhp??? boringnye…

• hopefully it price tag not far away from current price. why don’t they built 1.8L cps instead… this big mpv need bigger displacement engine.

• linear_system on Jun 09, 2011 at 11:20 pm

that’s why they put light pressure turbo duh…read the article please..1.6l +turbo = 2.0 > 1.8..which one do u want?? 1.8l with more expensive roadtax or 1.6+turbo=2.0 with less roadtax..

• 1.8L vs 1.6L + turbo, ………..which engine do you think will last longer?

• if 1.6 components is designed to take the stress of 2.0 . the engine is reliable enough.

• Then why putting in a turbo when the engine was designed to pull an mpv?

• Do they have the capability to produce engine beyond 1.8L ?

• there has been in the newspaper that 2014 proton will release aluminum block engine with 1.2 1.5 1.6 1.8, some will be turbo. if you search for a Y generation engine proton engine ,you ll know it.

• There was also newspaper reports that Proton can compete with other automakers and do not need protection decade ago.

• redboy on Jun 09, 2011 at 9:31 pm

when available?? price??

• Saka Jauh jauh on Jun 09, 2011 at 10:25 pm

perhaps Proton will launch this Exora Turbo on the same day of new Myvi launching? let’s see will Proton repeat same action as previous history

• Sambal Belacan on Jun 10, 2011 at 12:39 am

I am really hope that Proton keep producing manual variant cars.For those who enjoy driving, Manual transmition is the best choice for their cars.MT has the least power loss,better Fc compares to auto and easy maintenance.
    Sadly,In Asia, more and more drivers prefer AT than MT.The common reason they give is traffic jam.Some of them thought using auto looks more elegance, using manual,malulah.Manual only for Low variant car, for entry level cars.
    They are WRONG!!
    Everywhere got traffic jam.In Europe also got traffic jam but many of the people there still using MT.
    Manual only for low spec cars?Look at the Pagani Zonda F,FORD GT,The Lambo even produce limited edition of Gallardo with MT,which price tag higher than standard Gallardo with e-gear!
    MT is for real Driver! I am proud to drive a MT car!

• Try harder to get the real facts right. :)

• Mr Sambal,you’re facts are twisted with your personal preference for manual cars.Manual car isn’t as efficient and shifts slower than DSG,which is the in-thing in transmission now..hence manual blunts acceleration times.Most modern sport cars fit them as standard liao like Ferrari 458 Italia,which doesn;t even offer a manual variant.Latest Lamborghini Aventador sticks to Single clutch AMT..no manual variant either.BMW offers DSG in their M version,but sticks to * speed auto in their other models for smoother start-stop situations.Bro..you’re still living in the 1980’s..Wake up and smell the roses!!

• Sambal Belacan on Jun 10, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Yup,i’ll sure miss the good old days when males were real males,shifting their manual stick and drove like a pure driver.

• Karimsopian on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Hi Mr. Sambal Belacan,

Just because i’m driving an automatic transmission car, doesn’t mean that i’m not a pure driver or ‘less male’ than others who’s driving manual transmission car.

Perhaps, let us look at this in another perspective :
          I’m very capable of riding a manual bike with clutch smoothly, does this means that i’m a real male and a pure rider than thousands other males in the country who riding auto scooter and manual bike without a clutch? I guess not.

IMHO, a real male and pure drivers are those who practice defensive driving technique, drive safely for the sake of himself, his family and the other road users who pay roadtax and share the same road with him.

p/s: I do enjoy driving manual transmission car, though. It’s just that everyone has their own preferences. So, peace =)

• Mr Sambal Belacan,

Those cars you mentioned are sports cars. Its logic that it only came out with MT. There are alot more cars out there in what so ever continent are driving AT.

• messi on Jun 10, 2011 at 8:50 am

Only 100K testing? They should have at least 300KM testing for durability.

Dont waste time lah, just rebadge the Mit Grandis and ASX and make more profit. Another 4 years (2015) proton will close shop.

• Kiddo on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Did you read properly?

It’s 100k = 100,000. NOT 100km! If every car manufacturer only test their cars for 300km, people would be cursing by now.

And 2015 is another 5 years (4 and a half if you’re being particular) from now, my primary school teacher taught me to add 1 when calculating years. You didn’t learn that?

And what is ‘close shop’? Pardon me if I’ve missed out this phrase during my uni life.

• dag372 on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:44 pm

messi <———another Perodua salesman

• Unfortunately, Perodua doesn’t produce Mitsu Grandis and ASX. You better check your facts right boy. Haha.

• Kura-Kura Malam on Jun 10, 2011 at 10:47 am

Tolong jangan membandingkan CAMPRO dulu dengan sekarang…Kalau nak cakap CAMPRO yang terawal dulu bermasalah mungkin ya tetapi setelah beberapa tahun PROTON melakukan beberapa penambahbaikan terhadap enjin CAMPRO untuk terus memastikan ia terus berkualiti…at least PROTON sebagai PENGELUAR KERETA TEMPATAN mampu menghasilkan enjin CAMPRO dan sentiasa PRODUKTIF menghasilkan variasi kenderaan…Tak Salah Kalau Nak Tegur Kesilapan PROTON..Mana-mana Pengeluar Kenderaan Pun hadapi masalah juga..Kalau Tak kenapa BANYAK SYARIKAT ANTARABANGSA tarik balik model bermasalah mereka…Kejayaan tidak akan terhasil tanpa sokongan…SOKONGLAH PRODUK TEMPATAN…Sekian…

• DrRumbowe on Jun 26, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Campro dihasilkan melalui usaha sama Proton-Lotus. Tiada apa-apa pun barang Mitsubishi padanya. CPS itu adalan ‘Variable Timing’ versi Proton iaitu boleh dibandingkan dengan VVTI Toyota, MIVEC Mitsubishi dan VTECH Honda. IAFM adalah teknoloji dan IAFM adalah kerjasama Proton dan Bosch. Maka Campro adalah teknoloji jati Proton direkabentuk oleh ramai jurutera Malaysia. Proton telah membuka peluang bagi ramai anak-anak tempatan menceburi industri otomotif. Dinegara-negara Asean dimana jenama-jenama Jepun bertapak, industri tersebut dibolot oleh etnik Cina dan bukan pribumi. Puak-puak basher ini biasanya pihak-pihak yang suka menang sorak , kampung tergadai. Kalau bagus sangat jenama-jenama Jepun & Korea dipersilakan beli. Kalau komplen mahal, jangan lupa negara jiran kita kereta lagi mahal.

• dag372 on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:42 pm

campro cps = 150Nm tork, topspeed 190kmh
    campro CFE = 205Nm tork, topspeed above 200kmh

• makeitmine on Jun 10, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Proton, so what’s next after the test?

I suggest you get expert opinions from car reviewers and a sample population to test. Pay them if need be to give you honest opinions about the car. Then improve on the weaknesses.

I understand Exora model is one of the model to be rebadged by Mitsubishi for certain market. So it is worth every effort.

• we malaysians suffered cuss of extra taxes given for imported cars to protect Proton. after 30 years of experience… still need breast feeding? try to remove the subsidy and see how it goes? my guess is proton will be liquidated in less than 2 years time. Say wateva u wan about my comment… but im just telling the fact. In australia… Proton gen 2 is priced the same as Altis … 4 years im in Australia and ive seen none of Gen2 on the road. it shows u just how much proton suck. Bare in mind, i do wan proton to succeed but….. after 30 years…. how long can we wait? im pretty sure top level management in proton doesnt drive proton…. yeah…

• Waja 2001 on Jun 11, 2011 at 10:57 pm

are you sure. savvy and gen2 can be easily seen in melbourne. one more is jumbuck (arena). i was there for 2 years. they have proton centre at preston and near jeffcott road. i do have a lot of picture with proton in australia. please do not spread the things that not really true.

• ridzel on Jun 12, 2011 at 11:41 pm

love Proton, always do, but please for the next exora turbo let it be exclusive interior…limiting the plastics please..

• PROTON dilaporkan oleh TheStar dipetik berkata akan menggantikan enjin Campro sedia ada dengan enjin baru pada 2015 untuk melepasi piawaian pelepasan karbon yang baru. Enjin yang disebutkan adalah enjin Family Y yang mempunyai range dari 1.2liter, 1.5 hingga 1.8liter NA dan Turbo. Menurut beberapa sumber, enjin family Y lebih ringan kerana menggunakan blok aluminium juga

if anyone have any doubt for future development of protons engine.

• babyboy on Jun 13, 2011 at 11:09 am

give jeremy clarkson to testing it..

• I can say few things for about Protong’s overall performance;

1) Firstly, the introduction of CFE is an acknowledgement by Protong that all of their current Camtakpro Engines, from the 1st generation Camtakpro, Camprotakpro IAFM and Camtakpro CPS are Fuel Guzzlers and Problematic.

2) Regardless how many times they’ve improved the 1.6cc engine class, they will never go beyond the golden rule of automotive science; Power versus Weight ratio. That’s why bigger vehicles (such the like of an MPV) uses 2.0L and above to achieve desirable performance. The claim that CFE achieved equivalent to 2.0L is still a hypothesis and still running under test. Let the consumer decides whether the CFE is worthy or not. But based on my experience on all of your 3 engines up there, CFE will not go too far.

3) Furthermore, for as long Protong have no effort to sack all those problematic parts suppliers/vendors because of some “internal” reasons, I don’t see how Protong will find ways to improve their quality.

4) In addition to that, the workmanship, the level of friendliness and mentality of some of Protong staffs and workers will need to be ironed out. Office-based workers coming very late to attend customers at the counter, some mechanics are not experience enough even to have the know-how of tightening bolts/nuts and the workmanship of factory car assembly workers needs to be improved; Protong need to teach the basics of tightening bolts/nuts! In fact their entire procedures will need to revise! A tip to Protong Engineering on how to minimized your loosen screws and bolts (due to vibration); please use a good quality “spring washer”.

5) All those hype on Turbocharged and Supercharger are 1980’s story. It was the time when the fuel price was really dirt cheap (even without subsidy). Protong actually came late with this all ideas of Turbocharging. The entire car community of the present and future are shifting to efficient hybrid engines and electric vehicles. So far, Toyota and Honda are right on track with their Prius and Insight. Protong unfortunately is 25 years late.

6) Lastly, your Exora looks like a “van roti” (bread van).

• KarimSopian on Jun 13, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Wow, great comment. Why don’t you become the CEO and apply all the improvement that you’ve just happily voice out here?

I’m sure Proton will improve a lot with a new CEO like you.

• cfe turbo get a bad comment, before its really on the road? mmm