Chevrolet Corvette ZR1 returns to Nurburging, eclipses 2008 lap time with a 7:19.63 blitz

In June 2008, General Motors took a standard Chevrolet Corvette C6 ZR1 to Nurburgring, where it posted a lap time of 7 minutes, 26.4 seconds, driven by Corvette development engineer Jim Mero.

Three years on, the Corvette has returned to the 20.8 km circuit and recorded a lap time that not just eclipses that from the 2008 run, but enters the books as the sixth fastest for production vehicles – again piloted by Mero, the 2012 ZR1 covered the Nordschleife in 7 minutes, 19.63 seconds.

As was the case with the 2008 run, the 2012 car is a full production model with no performance modifications – the 1,512 kg car continues on with the LS9 supercharged 6.2 litre V8 rated at 638 hp and 819 Nm, mated to a six-speed, close-ratio manual transmission.

The Corvette does gets some upgrades for the 2012 year model, in the form of new, optional Michelin Pilot Sport Cup Zero Pressure tires – the competition-oriented tires are optimised for warm, dry conditions to increase cornering and handling capability – as well as a Performance Traction Management (PTM) system, which manages torque delivery for maximum performance. Engineers estimate an 8% gain in maximum lateral acceleration to more than 1.1g, as well as improved braking distance with these in place.

Whatever it is, you can imagine the new lap time set by the Vette isn’t going to cheer up Nissan GT-R owners any, in terms of bragging rights, that is.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Jun 10, 2011 at 8:11 pm

GTR will respond….

• Your mama' on Jun 10, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Meh, it’s still a Corvette. Give me an Italian supercar anyday.

• Find a job that doesn’t pay you minimum wage 1st

• theanswer on Jun 11, 2011 at 8:27 pm

is US..corvette can be considered as affordable sportscar compared to ferrari.

• Annoynimal on Jun 10, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Considering the massive difference between the engine capacities of the two cars, I wouldn’t be too disheartened if I were a Nissan fan. I would imagine that in a longer race, the Corvette would PROBABLY need more refill stops. Nonetheless, both are great cars from opposite sides of the pacific.

• Kensington Pedigrew on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Actually the 2012 corvette zr1 also gets some fuel economy enhancements to go along with the performance improvement. It is rated at 22 miles per gallon of gas highway. The GTR is rated at 21 miles per gallon highway. (Both cars rated by the U.S. EPA) So the bigger engined zr1 is actually more fuel efficient.

• YoDawg on Jun 10, 2011 at 10:31 pm

ZR1 > GTR

• hazeman lukman on Jun 11, 2011 at 12:32 pm

no replacement for displacement! the ZR1 really does show that a no frills-back to basic sport car with no dual clutch thingamagic glass gearbox and super nanny computer ecu can really kick ass. this is what a true sports car should be. in the hands of a great driver it really does shine. i love the corvette ZR1!

• Nizam80 on Jun 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Agreed! a V8 Front-engined, real-wheel drive. Old-school manual gearbox…. A true sports car.

• Fahmi on Jun 10, 2011 at 11:46 pm

bigger power / displacement comes with bigger responsibility (ie. harder to control in terms of torque and power)

but, on the positive side, i would say a GT-R with VK56DE engine would be naisss..
    (as seen on FIA GT1’s GT-R)

• Fahmi on Jun 11, 2011 at 11:48 am

therefore we have to appreciate of what the corvette drive done. its no easy especially on RWD car with huge torque.

• masak satay on Jun 11, 2011 at 9:32 am

hm…..if they put GTR 2012 version with 530bhp…maybe they will have an even fight….

• It’s not even fight. GT-R is AWD and 2 hands on the steering wheel at all times.

• torque_junkie on Jun 11, 2011 at 11:33 am

the fact that its an american car makes it all the more impressive. they’ve always had a reputation for poor handling.. and only good for straightline performance.. i suppose this silences the critics…. for now.

• Just me on Jun 11, 2011 at 1:29 pm

how come no paddle shifter??

• Coz it’s a manual. Duh!

The U S & A tak da boleh guna punya Dual Clutch gearbox (except for Ford).

• I think the ZR1 needed a significant update to it’s traction control program to clock in the new time. The older ZR1 was more no frills back to basics sports car. Hence slower.

• Kicap on Jun 11, 2011 at 5:51 pm

wah, it is driven by their own engineer, yet can pull out impressive time. Why dont they just give to any racing driver…perhaps can get less 1sec more…

• It’s not a full lap time. What happened to the last 250m stretch? The Vette is already quite impressive, it doesn’t deserve the shame.

• racefan on Jun 11, 2011 at 7:08 pm

The Vette is also starting in the Le Mans 24 tonight. No news about Le Mans Paultan? Audi qualified 1,2. Only 0.5s separated the top 6 cars. Closest ever Peugeot vs Audi

• armandd on Jun 11, 2011 at 7:37 pm

“… sixth fastest time for production car.” That’s really impressive!

• Car Service Manual on Jun 12, 2011 at 2:04 am

GTR is the best one dude

• Cars for cash on Jun 12, 2011 at 11:38 am

Everything american is hyped way past its actual capabilities. Now that USA is down to 1-2 competitive vehicles, they recieve ALL the hype. MPG is no different. While Corvette nutters like to tell you? they get 25-30 mpg which looks great next to Murcielagos 17. Here we count AVERAGE mpg. A Corvette is listed at 19. Because they do 4-6 when you put your foot down. Then there is the fact that USA and Europe use different miles and different gallons.? So it translates back to american mpg as 15.

• Cars for cash on Jun 12, 2011 at 11:43 am

Everything american is hyped way past its actual capabilities. Now that USA is down to 1-2 competitive vehicles, they recieve ALL the hype. MPG is no different. While Corvette nutters like to tell you? they get 25-30 mpg which looks great next to Murcielagos 17. Here we count AVERAGE mpg. A Corvette is listed at 19. Because they do 4-6 when you put your foot down. Then there is the fact that USA and Europe use different miles and different gallons.? So it translates back to american mpg as 15.

• Kensington Pedigrew on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Actually you are quite wrong. Your cycle is more for=giving to numbers. Also the ZR1 gets a 2 mpg improvement for 2012. You should really study your “facts” more.

• sfssd on Jun 12, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Just listen to that engine, so intoxicating V8 music…..sweet music, I can listen to that all day………and also with the Eaton supercharger, just wow…..

I don’t get why haters would hate and argue that the GTR is better and all, this got tons of character, listen to the sound, feel the car, it’s muscular, it has demeanor…its got attitude, like “In yer FACE” kind of attitude, big, bad, brash Detroit gangster, bad boy muscle car….

I choose this over a GTR anytime…

• Kumar san on Jun 14, 2011 at 9:20 am

The Vette rules! Enough said.

Cheers.