Nissan Grand Livina facelift launched in Malaysia

The Nissan Grand Livina has been a huge success for Tan Chong. Since its introduction here in December 2007, the three-row seven seater MPV has found over 43,300 new homes. It also marked the beginning of the decline of the Toyota Avanza, the car that started the affordable MPV market here. The Livina has been around for more than three years now in its original form, and it’s time for a minor change facelift.

Visually, the facelifted Grand Livina is distinguished by its new-look front grille. Like before, the 1.6L model gets a “smoke-plated” design while the 1.8L is given a full chrome grille. Nothing else is changed other than the adoption of LED side indicators on the wing mirrors.

New black dashboard compared to the old one. Instrument faces are new as well

Inside, the ambience is vastly different, as the cabin is now finished in black instead of beige. This might not help the impression of space and airiness, but some might like the “sportier feel”. The three-pod instruments are now white faced from the previous black, although the studio pic above shows a nice grey “watch dial style” face. It’s the lighting and angle, perhaps.

The top spec 1.8L also comes with a head unit that has AUX input. The wood trim shown is also only for the 1.8; the 1.6 gets silver trim, but none on the steering wheel. If you fancy the brown leather shown here, it’s a RM2,000 option. Otherwise, it’s black fabric for both the 1.6 and 1.8.

There’s no change under the skin. The Grand Livina is powered by the all-aluminium HR16DE 1.6 litre (105 PS at 5,200 rpm, 150 Nm at 4,400 rpm) and MR18DE 1.8 litre with CVTC (126 PS at 5,200 rpm, 174 Nm at 4,800 rpm). The gearbox is a four-speed auto, with a five-speed manual option for the 1.6L.

The on-the-road price inclusive of insurance is RM86,800 for the 1.6 MT, RM89,800 for the 1.6 AT and RM98,800 for the 1.8 AT. Hi res pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2300]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• No 1.8L manual for us here? I hear in countries that have it, it comes with a 6-speed shifter.

• lonelyobserve on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Yes, in Philippines.

• djantjoek on Jun 13, 2011 at 11:29 am

Indonesia does has it in its highest grade model..

• Lucky Pinoys and Indons.
      For those that thumbed down my post, you guys in love with the 4-speed torque converter auto? meh …..

• Second! on Jun 10, 2011 at 1:07 pm

SOFA!

• sofa so good?

• SOHAI on Jun 11, 2011 at 11:42 am

SOHA i

just visited tc’s website. Are you sure they launched this as new facelift ?

• TallPan on Jun 11, 2011 at 2:05 pm

uhh even if u can’t read… doesn’t the website show the GL with the new grille? press Ctrl-F5 to clean reload the page.

• moots on Jun 10, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Stylish interior. Black interior looks much nicer

• alldisc on Jun 11, 2011 at 4:17 pm

a true copycat of toyota going black itnerior with avanza and rush last year.

downside : cabin feels small.

• Rocket scientist on Jun 10, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Ah beng workshop can do this facelift haiyaa put auto cruise la at least

• Wisdom on Jun 10, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Tan Chong = a former ah beng?
      :p

• Unforgiven on Jun 10, 2011 at 4:59 pm

I have cruise control on my car but hardly use it due to the current traffic condition in M’sia…

• dude, cruise control is meant for a smooth driving in less-congested-traffic condition or in highway…no one ever use cruise control when driving to and from work or in normal road, let alone congested traffic…

• TallPan on Jun 11, 2011 at 2:46 pm

yeah man soso, wtf Unforgiven? isn’t it common sense? unless Unforgiven can maintain above 80km/h cornering in urban/suburban driving hahahaha… seriously some of the comments here show the mentality of Malaysians.

“OHHH let’s not have Cruise Control cos i hardly use it cos i didn’t know u couldn’t really use it for urban driving”

“OHHH let’s not have ISOfix/LATCH points cos i hardly use child seats, i’d rather my wife carry the baby all the time in the car.” Yeah. real safe.

• GL Lo on Aug 18, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Yo TallPan

why are you being vindictive. All humans are not the same. You want everybody to be like you haa…ah beng..

Chill out la..

• 1.8 High Spec still using manual Air-Conditional?
    No reverse camera?
    Rear brake still drum brake?
    Still 2 air-bag, and not side and curtain airbags?
    A bit disappointed. Why new FL not offer more impressive like “WOW” when cusomer see the new spec for more value for money feature?

• Haiya, where can you get a brand new 7 seater MPV for this price? If Nissan add all that you mentioned, it won’t be affordable anymore. Btw have you driven one. Try it and I am sure you will take back your words.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 10, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Of course there are others.

Exora, Rondo (and the long in the tooth Citra), Eastar and the smaller 5+2 Alza. All go under the price of the Livina.

Nissan (and the rest don’t as well) because it eats into their profit margins and there is no JPJ mandate for these things. While the rest of the world moved along with standard 6 airbags on even on “affordable” entry level compact cars.

I have driven the Livina when it was launched back then. Nothing really too impressive, not enough to part with 96k anyway.

• Just me on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Fully agree with you. What is wrong with Tan Chong? All Nissan car sell by TC are boring type (for Ah Pek) and low spec. Why not bring in other model like those sold in US.

• Situng on Jun 10, 2011 at 4:39 pm

How much You are willing to pay for all these ?

• TallPan on Jun 11, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Danny, any info on ISOfix for this car? searched and searched but can’t find elsewhere. tks :)

• Haha…this is baru call facelift model…so pls dun say the P2 new Myvi is facelift model….

• jalan54 on Jun 10, 2011 at 2:02 pm

vehicle with no passion at all. If Japanese keep doing this, they are going to hell very soon.

Anyway, still don’t understand why Malaysian support Japanese cars???

• gdsob on Jun 10, 2011 at 2:43 pm

It’s this thing called reliability… A lot of people don’t mind not having the passion and get from point A to point B without hassle and high maintenance cost.

Unfortunately having a ‘passionate’ car may also mean ‘temperamental’… And guess what happens to the wallet.

• jalan54 on Jun 10, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Do you mean continental car and korean car not reliable??? I also doubt that Japanese car imported to Malaysia ever gone through crash test. like conti and Korean car did.

• kitman on Jun 10, 2011 at 8:15 pm

i think it’s general perception conti and korean cars are not that reliable. but if you ask around some people do have horror story about their merc, pugs, beemers, hyundais etc.or crazy high maintenance or parts. there are many factors here.

as for crash test how do you know? where is the proof and source?

• jalan54 on Jun 11, 2011 at 10:43 am

I’ve heard there are problems for jap cars as well. Maintenance and parts nowadays for kia is cheap and is matching the price of jap cars.

Do you have the prove that they crash test their cars import to asia?

• TallPan on Jun 11, 2011 at 2:34 pm

@jalan54 yeah but YOU brought up crash test first. so where’s YOUR proof? let us curious ppl know also la :-)

• Izhar on Jun 13, 2011 at 12:49 pm

because many Japanese halfcut in malaysia, so those who own japanese car have option for the spare part…

• yswnit on Jun 10, 2011 at 2:06 pm

we still getting undr power and old engine…. WHY???

• The 1.8L variant has got very impressive 0-100 sprint record. Tried it once going up genting with 6 Fat Lady on board. Hell of an experience from a Nissan!

• Its more torque tht this GL need, at low rev pls….not hp at high rev

• Naley on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:16 pm

there u are…underpower machine..however, the price will attract the family buyers…

• Diesel on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:34 pm

which engine is newer ?

• udasalleh on Jun 10, 2011 at 5:35 pm

u want power? buy a sports car…. u want power but fit in many people… buy a bus!

• Seriously do Japanese car manufacture think that we Malaysian so stupid buying only for exterior and interior decorations only maybe some still buy for sake of looks. We now more intent to get Korean manufacture cos Japan didn’t offer Safety, more gadgets and other techs as well.

• Facelift? I really think that P2 has done a better job compared to nissan on this case. :/

• FINALLY!

AFTER MANY MONTHS OF HARD WORK…
      they managed to change the dashboard color.

• TallPan on Jun 10, 2011 at 10:30 pm

LOL! the reason they took so long…. they were trying SO damn hard to fit these 3 elements together : Wood + Leather + Sporty….

wtf is it with wood finishing in non-luxury cars??? u want wood go to a furniture shop!

• TallPan on Jun 11, 2011 at 3:02 pm

i think TC wasted the chance to work this nice grille into the FL edition ->
        http://images.paultan.org/images/Nissan_Livina_Grille_3_Large.jpg
        (courtesy of Theophilus). what do u guys think?

was waiting for this FL with bated breath, hav to say i’m a bit let down by the look, and also the features offered. sigh…. wood.

oh well. so when’s the next gen GL coming out, TC? 2014?

• is there a need for this?

• Yappy on Jun 10, 2011 at 2:55 pm

When the new Serena to be introduced . I f I am not mistaken the model is since 2003 …

• Wisdom on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Not even steering wheel audio control….. sighsssss…

• racefans on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:07 pm

1. I not really like modern cars that come with wood trims except those really classic cars

2. affordable price and financing package might be the factor why it become huge success for Tan Chong.. if i’m really looking for people mover MPV, i’ll opted for Exora then

• WALASiZO on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:13 pm

thats it?..hmm~

• Naley on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:14 pm

agree with u…it was underpower..

• Nissan please save FL job and bring in New Latio or any model with HR16DE 1.6 Turbo (195ps), Maybe Juke… that will be delicious….

• Grand? on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:33 pm

I have always wonder what is so grand about the Grand Ribena?

• racefans on Jun 10, 2011 at 6:03 pm

maybe becoz its Nissan..
      if P1 or P2 sure kena bash kaw2 :D

• Wisdom on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:41 pm

The car meant for grandfather and grandmother who drives slow to fetch their grandchildren….

• lazyf on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Hmm…it doesn’t looks like a facelift to me…

• Got la.. U din notice the front grill a bit different meh~ (*sarcasm)

• clement on Jun 10, 2011 at 3:55 pm

got different meh? or my eyes got problem? so minor change………

• rosdi on Jun 10, 2011 at 4:44 pm

How does this compared to Exora?

• this is called a facelift ?

• Do the FL come wt split 3 row and 3rd row aircond ala exora? thats wht current model lacking in my view

• redboy on Jun 10, 2011 at 5:21 pm

buy Exora better! viva Protong!!!!

• mike161 on Jun 10, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Grand Livina facelift only that all…??? still LOOK the same?? WTH!!

• be cool on Jun 10, 2011 at 6:01 pm

old design and ugly, price is so high, this is so boring.. boring.. boring..

• DArkerMarker on Jun 10, 2011 at 6:40 pm

wow!!!! the exterior design and interior design is interesting as my 120y datsun….

–chap, clap, clap—

• What FL? Everything look the same. TC caught Proton’s disease already. Habit if recycling old cars and sell them as new with higher price tag.

• Cik jah on Jun 10, 2011 at 8:04 pm

You call this a facelift??? what a joke!!!
    When PI does it..god the bashers comes out in droves..When Nissan does it and this is the result !! OMG..and u so called N & T & H supporters are so quiet….WTF

• dannyl77 on Jun 10, 2011 at 8:57 pm

Disappointed FL , Really Minor FL, Even the P1 Facelifted Saga is better than this…
    as Some1 mention , New Audio player ke ( Touch Screen ) , Reverse Camera Ke , 3rd Row a/c ke, New Headlights ke , Drivers & Navigators Armrest ke , New LED rear lights ke, DVD Player ke, auto Cruise ke , New Bumper Design Ke , New Bodykits ke , Carbon Fibre Trim Ke , New Dashboard Instrument Design ke …. New Steering WHeel Design ke……. Maybe with all this it will be another Price already…….

Anyhow, No matter What , i think It will still very sells well ………..

• EView on Jun 10, 2011 at 8:57 pm

The ugliest MPV in Malaysia ever. (Frog)

• EView on Jun 10, 2011 at 9:00 pm

poop color interior :)

• …wah leather like cayenne

• anitode on Jun 10, 2011 at 10:14 pm

nissan should seriously looking for new partner here …. tc not even ah beng, this is ah pek company.

• chrispkm on Jun 10, 2011 at 11:13 pm

I am a proud NGL owner!!
    Always be…forever be…

• Wisdom on Jun 11, 2011 at 12:21 am

You came in at the right time. Ahbang will get those grill+fake wood+poop coloured leather package very cheap for you.

Tadaaa!! yours is a facelift model!

• civicEK on Jun 11, 2011 at 12:13 am

exora 1.6 cps can match the grand ribena’s 1.8? haiyaa..

• TC, still waiting for your official GT-R. Make good use of Jap-Mal FTA incentives mah.
    I hate buying from AP King.

• cardreamer on Jun 11, 2011 at 8:47 am

good choice of colour. But if they dare to make exterior body changes more significant as mazda 5 did, add more steering wheel control, full body kit, tcs/vsa and bigger sporty rims and perhaps a sunroof and a roof rail….then they may even eat stream n wish market for young sporty outdoor executives…
    Frankly speaking..the 1.8 i tested has good enough power wt notably smooth nissan engine n trans n also worth mentioning the ultra silent cabin are already plus point for gl..
    So gl need only to upgrade its executive image with those i mentioned above..
    As now gl is considered a ‘picnic’ mpv..not executive..

• squawk on Jun 13, 2011 at 9:18 am

Yeah, the 1.8 has adequate power and would be my choice to get but too bad I didn’t like the beige interior of the old one and I still don’t like fake wood in my rides. Especially on the steering wheel.

• kuching on Jun 11, 2011 at 10:42 am

not attractive compared to Wish or Stream

• TallPan on Jun 11, 2011 at 6:22 pm

almost twice the price la ‘ngok! wth? might as well compare your wish or stream to vellfire!

• nolan on Jun 11, 2011 at 12:53 pm

feel sorry to all Nissan owner…..Nissan car nowadays the quality on par with Proton….nothing to proud about…

• firefox on Jun 11, 2011 at 10:44 pm

agreed, quality are very bad, trust me, my wife owned this car for 2-3 years, until today, i still cannot found any reason why she like this car, ….hahaha

• alistair lim li wei on Jun 11, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Better go for Exora if wan to buy dis car..

• carlito on Jun 11, 2011 at 7:50 pm

fugly! My advice for anyone looking to get the Livina is to check out the Naza Rondo. Trust me, it might be cheaper, but its far superior to the Livina and its using the same engine block as mitsubishi lancer! (the THETA engine was developed by GEMA, Global Engine Manufacturing Alliance, which also supply engines to Mitsubishi).

Naza Rondo +ve
    -2.0 DOHC CVVT engine with timing chain
    -bigger space
    -nicer interior (i hate beige interior!)
    -cheaper price
    -exterior looks awesome with bodykit and smoked headlamp.

-ve
    -4 speed gearbox, but all MPV’s in malaysia also use 4-speed gearbox :p. at least got tiptronic.

• Wisdom on Jun 11, 2011 at 10:52 pm

I bet Nissan saves even more money producing this facelift version compared to the pre-facelift model…

Eg. Black interior, sporty it may seem, but with the same material, manufacturing black coloured parts are cheaper.

Beige or bright interior will have a lower production yield as the color is sensitive to any contamination. Any foreign contaminants, black particles, dust, will easily noticeable and the part will gone through rework or if too obvious, will be rejected.

Black interior parts wont have that issue, and manufacturers can throw in any contaminated additives/ material as the carbon black/pigments will cover those impurities.

With such lazy effort for the facelift, at least TC should consider to maintain the price.

• The 1.8 engine has almost the same hp as Campro 1.6 CPS while the 1.6, has 5 hp less than Campro 1.6 IAFM.

• Poor Naza Sales Exec =_=’
    Nissa Grand Livinia out sold Naza Rondo by 8 fold (jan-april 2011 ~ 6,266 vs 787)
    Let me give u a suggestion put up a pre recorded loud hailer “Mari Mari ! Jualan Murah ! Jualan Murah ! Rondo lebih Besar, lebih Murah !
    Maybe that can help Rondo sales a bit :-)

• sick&tired on Jun 12, 2011 at 12:06 pm

just because the grand livina outsold the rondo doesn’t mean that its a better mpv. if you want to talk about sales figures, then why not use worlwide sales figure. last i checked, Kia sold more vehicles then nissan.

and the grand livina is only sold in 3rd world countries, whereas the rondo is sold worldwide. Have you ever wondered why nissan/toyota don’t sell certain vehicles like the grand livina/avanza/innova to developed countries? Its because in developed countries, people use their brains, and don’t just follow blindly. and these vehicles wouldn’t have passed safety regulations.

BTW this car suck balls bigtime. Nissan didn’t put any effort into it at all!

• kingjoke on Jun 13, 2011 at 11:45 am

One of the reason we buy a car is bcos of its looks…perhaps this is why livina more popular compare to rondo. Rondo is ugly especially the butt, many people simply cant accept that kind of design…

• Jan 10 on May 25, 2012 at 4:35 pm

By used one…if this is the best that TC can offer….

• Naza sales exec pls stop the hoax story of GEMA supply engine to Hyundai/Kia & Mitsubishi, Rondo/Forte using the same engine as lancer.
    Here the actual deal.
    Few years ago Hyundai, Mitsubishi & Chrysler get into a partnership deal to produce a common engine (GEMA Project).
    Reason been :
    Hyundai who have the finance support but do not have the expertise to produce a reliable engine (that why older generation korean car have thirsty engine).
    Mitsubishi have the expertise in making good engine but lack of financial support.
    Chrysler who have the facility but enable to come out with efficient engine.
    So all 3 of them get into a deal which is Hyundai will provide the finance for the R & D, Mitsubishi will provide the engine expertise, Chrysler will provide the facility (Dundee, Michigan factory).
    Soon Chrysler notice that the Korean are “up to no good”, as they began to plan to produce their version of Theta ll engine in their own Alabama plant, leaving Chrysler with a over capacity factory.
    Chrysler notice that they got a RAW deal from the GEMA project, as Hyundai got their engine, Mitsubihi got their financial aid from Korean Chaebol, but Chrysler been the biggest loser end up with over size plant.
    Chrysler got pissed off & call off the whole project, by buying off all the Hyundai & Mitsubishi share in GEMA project.

Conclution : Never trust a “Kimchee Muncher”

• jalan54 on Jun 13, 2011 at 4:31 am

well, who cares, hyundai is grabbing most of the market now like what microsoft did last time. Some might said don’t trust microsoft, they are big sucker during those days, but who cares, they sitll have the biggest market.

• If u r Sick & Tired pls seek treatment.
    1.) The figure u mentioned r combination figure of Kia & Hyundai, which i alway disagree since Hyundai only own 34% of Kia.
    2.) 2 can play the same game, how about if i add up both Nissan & Renault figure, since Renault also own part of Nissan, that would cetainly beat Hyundai & Kia.
    3.) Again i have to lecture u on auto industry basic knowledge, there r certain model car manufacturer produce for rigional market, eg Avanza & Grand Livinia r targeting south east asia market which require an inexpensive people carrier MPV. (Developed country doesn’t have so many children), Do u see US best seller Ford F150 in Malaysia ?
    4.) Let me tell u the hard truth, US & European r having a hard time, their economy have not been good since the last crisis, so anything cheap go, infact the reason why Korean car sale in Europe improved (although still insignificant at 2.6% market share) is becoz some country in Europe are giving susidiy to their people for buying new car, since the amount is fixed, they would certainly choose the cheapest car so that they do not have to come out with more £, in this case Korean Car, but this come to an end on March-April 2011.
    5.) The biggest Market for Korean r not from Developed country, instead it is the developing country with huge low income group like China & India, for them anything cheap & not local brand is ok.

Now do u understand ?

• impul GL on Jun 13, 2011 at 3:06 am

only the good taste..buy nissan GL..however kalau tk mampu,buy lah exora or alza..ha..ha

• cardreamer on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:28 am

Hi guys..

t think Nissan has been playing safe for long time in Malaysia. Like i’ve said earlier, the GL can actually eat the wish (recond) and even stream (new) market if they dare to take extra steps in genuinely facelifted the GL. Purely shifting it from a ‘picnic’ status to ‘executive’ status. They may not have to spend a lot, GL already have the reputation for being comfort and reliable and low maintenance cost…

GL and the wish/stream differ by almost up to RM50k in price. For the young executive, they may have to strecth their wallet like hell to be an ‘executive’ driving mpv as wish /stream, whereas GL is here to take on it.

in todays marketing world, an apple shouldn’t necessarily compete with another apple. Less that we know that LCD TV is eating through AirCond market! Weird? yea..that is the world of marketing…

Me, as an example..am just about to get myself a new stream/Mazda5..but when the FL GL roll out, i spent my time going to the showroom..and personally i like the new interior colour. the space are abt the same with stream/M5..material however a bit low, but acceptable to the price..ride comfort and NVH is very good to my observation..and i am willing to get GL over the stream/M5 for the money that i can save for my kids travelling…but the FL is too minor and not that sigificant to change my mind over that..so i stick my plan for a new stream…btw, any good stream offer lately?..thanks, and good luck to the ‘new’ GL!

• isuzui on Jun 13, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Deciding to join one of these:

A) http://www.mylivina.com/forum/index.php

B) http://www.mylivinaclub.com/

..to learn more

• risman on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:34 am

puki mak punya tan chong.. aku order 1.8 impul…
    yang lain semua cukup… grill depan guna yang biasa punya.. bukan impul…

• hj zool on Sep 19, 2011 at 11:59 am

biaq btoi bro..habih tu hang tak pi complain ka kat depa..order lain ..yg mai lain…

• geram on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:21 am

aku bengang dgn gl 1.8 aku (4bulan lepas beli), beli baru tapi dh ada scratch + seat matel covar dh patah (minta tukar tak bagi kata small matter saja) + seat yg berkulit ngam2 kat punggung saja had lain smua plastik lepas tu stich finishing mcm kerja org tak ada mata kena repair sendiri + gear box consol bunyi mcm tikus + bawa 170km/j angin masuk mcm tak ada cermin sebab rubber sealing front mirror tak berkuality lembik mcm getah sekerap + radio mcm myvi tapi speaker bunyi mcm datsun tonggek + side mirror kecik mcm motor cub + pusat service hampa tak macam perodua (belom nk compare dgn honda or toyota lg tu).

takat ne hanya engine n power windows n wiper saja yg puas hati.

dlm masa terdekat ne nk test drive exora turbo kalau comparison banyak yg out berbanding exora, alamak kopak lagi ler poket aku, susah nk cari yg elok kat Malaysia ne, Honda okey tapi spek engine 1.8 tak berbaloi, toyota okey tapi recond semua nasib malang hancuss..conti okey tapi harga n 2nd value teruk.

exora ne yg rejectnya dia punya dashboard garis2 mcm wire mesh filter, mengerutu mcm katak hampass..harap2 yg prime tak mcm tu..kalau tak pikir balik semula…

Sbar jer lah…