Kia Sportage to be launched next week, estimated RM140k

UPDATE: Kia Sportage launched in Malaysia – RM138,888

Naza Kia is gearing up for the launch of the all new Sportage, which is scheduled for next week (21 June). This is the third gen Kia Sportage that made its debut at last year’s Geneva show (view our post and gallery here), and it features the brand’s new design language that has won many fans.

Kia Sportage to be launched next week, estimated RM140kThis also means that it’s not recognisable as a successor to the current car, which was introduced here in facelift form last April.

The new Sportage will be powered by Hyundai-Kia’s Theta II 2.0-litre petrol engine with Dual CVVT, producing 166 PS and 197 Nm of torque. The transmission is a six-speed automatic with manual override. These compare well with the the segment leading Honda CR-V’s 150 PS/190 Nm and five-speed auto.

The feature list will include LED day time running lights, a large panoramic sunroof, rear view camera display, dual zone auto air con, Bluetooth, AUX, iPod and USB connectivity as well as a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating.

The indicative price is RM140,000. Click here to view live and official pics of the Sportage.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jimmy on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Yeah! Come on baby!
    Finally, this baby is on boleh land…

• had been waiting for long time.. finally here!!!
      but the estimated price RM140k is not that friendly.. even higher than its brother, tucson.. however, just wait and see and we have insides its body.. =)

• Tucson is Hyundai la bro. It’s Sorento.

• huiyoo on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:39 pm

its sportage bro

• Dude i know this article is about Sportage, but that CC guy mentioned about “its brother, Tucson,” which Tucson is another brand of car. If he wants to compare with other small SUV he supposed to type “its rival, Tucson.”

When he mentioned it’s BROTHER, of course it should be from the same FAMILY! You don’t say MyVi is the brother of Saga! Unless there’s a scandal between the family then that’s another story.

• Razor on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:53 pm

Hyundai and Kia are in the same family la. Same company what :P

• chicarito on Jun 14, 2011 at 5:01 pm

The new sportage & tucson share the same platform and powertrain bro. so technically, they’re brothers!

• Vincent on Jun 14, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Riz, if you put a big affort on automotive industries, you will notice Kia and Hyudai is from same Group.

In market, Hyudai should be superior than Kia.

In this case, CC is right to say that did not expect the Kia sportage expensive than Tuscon.

It is also suprice to me as I expect it to be price at RM125K…

and later CKD and sell it at RM115K…

• the condemned on Jun 15, 2011 at 4:35 pm

hyundai and kia are sister company la.Hyundai Tucson and Kia Sportage share same platform and engine

• moghaz76 on Jun 21, 2011 at 6:54 pm

D.N.A say yes….cause they used the sama platform….the father n mother actually same….so, the child either girls or boy….but still had same D.N.A…

• arroncyl on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Yes, You are right…:)

• jalan54 on Jun 14, 2011 at 2:25 pm

As what I last heard, all Kia vehicles price will not be higher that its parent company which is Hyundai. I think this estimated price might be some marketing strategy. I believe that the price will be under RM140k.

Should be in between RM130 to RM138K.

• No diesel variant :(
      Price oso uncalled for.. Thought its gonna be at least 8k different than Tucson..

• Situng on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Nice piece of engineering and technology. See how the nation of South Korean has progressed in just 10 years or so by 30 years ahead of others. Well done, dragon.

• Mozilla Chrome on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm

This one definitely looks better than sorento..

• If really the price is RM140k, it is way to expensive. It should be price much lower than Tucson that is CBU. Naza is also having tax advantage.

• Lokintosh on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Had been waiting for this car to be launched in Msia. Price is ok but need to see if it’s full spec. Will seriously consider about this car now ^^

• The Price needs to be below 135k with full spec to compete with the Honda & Hyundai’s.
      Then it will give a good fight to the other brands. Kia Optima is also coming out in Aug/Sept with around 140k price. Looks like this would be Kia’s year. :)

• Kevin on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:03 pm

CRV : uh-oh ………….

• Cowabunga! on Jun 14, 2011 at 7:06 pm

seriously…if you’ve seen the market…they aren’t too worried yet…
      the Japanese aren’t bothered as the sales in Hybrid is gaining, and there isn’t one korean in the market at the moment doing that….hence, if the diesel was here…that’ll be a better buy.

• 30k difference from the sorento right?

• Black Dog on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Sorento Rm158,888…for extra about Rm20k, you get 2.4L, 7 seater, etc

Sportage will fight head-on with Tucson on looks, most other things are similar.

• I saw this car at Brunei..better looking than Sorento..front look the same with Sorento except the bumper..at rear, for me Sportage is the winner..i agree with Black Dog for extra 20K, u’ll get bigger car for Sorento..but it will fight Mitsu ASX, Hyundai Tucson, Ford Escape etc… i expect the price is between 130K-140K…

• ace_ryu on Jun 14, 2011 at 7:10 pm

it’s BND$27k (RM60k) in Brunei, I saw this car everywhere in Miri with Brunei plates. Much better than Sorento in terms of looks.

• rexxx on Jun 14, 2011 at 8:57 pm

if it sells RM60k here in Malaysia, more average Malaysians will be able to buy this. and what can you get here for RM60k ? nothing which can beat the Sportage. we as malaysians so kesian. huhuhu.

• Talked to my friends in Brunei.. They said yes the car is cheap but the interst rate is crazy high.. The fuel oso super cheap there and they are living a cozy life..

• Kevin on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:13 pm

CRV : Uh oh…..

• nice!

• sukasuki on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:38 pm

huge size compare to previous gen sportage. wowooww!!!

• matrxe on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:50 pm

see…expensive looking with high grade specifications car doesn’t have to be expensive.

• qwert on Jun 14, 2011 at 2:11 pm

Price should be between 125k to 135k. Surely can have a good fight between vitara, asx and tucson. Just let sorento fight for higher price range.

• ThePolygon on Jun 14, 2011 at 2:12 pm

The KIA salesman told me August launching date 3 weeks ago and tried to push the old Sportage out hohohoho…! Discount of almost 20k.

Anyway hope that 140k is the price for the AWD variant….

maybe not :(

• kenny on Jun 14, 2011 at 2:24 pm

the chevrolet website is also showing the new captiva….maybe a competitor for the sortage

• Izzit Made in Korea or Made in Gurun?

• J@CK LIM on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Look nice but not interior, Hyundai get priority of this =D

• carlito on Jun 15, 2011 at 12:26 am

its a kia not hyundai! and i don’t see anything wrong with the interior. in fact it looks good

• vincent on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:10 pm

140k better be the high line version, 2.4L with 6 airbags and traction control? :) That will make CRV worry a bit by overcharging Malaysians

• Juan tobiaz fonseca on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm

The new Sportage will be powered by Hyundai-Kia’s Theta II 2.0-litre petrol engine with Dual CVVT, producing 166 PS and 197 Nm of torque. The transmission is a six-speed automatic with manual override.
    “Sound very good but pickup respond slow a bit. Based from my Tucson experience” .

Tucson high spec do not include this:-
    ‘ The feature list will include LED day time running lights ,rear view camera display, dual zone auto air con, Bluetooth’,

Launching Tucson price 136,888 OT 5k
    And Then Increase 139,888 OT 5K
    Then 139,888 OT 3K
    Now 139,888 ‘Zero’ OT

Looks like SDAH become greedy and greedy……now NAZa too.

• With all the attention and support they received from Malaysian nowaday, how come they didn’t become greeedy?

• Chuck Jordan on Jun 14, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Oh so RM140k is ‘greedy’, ‘daylight robbery’ eh? I guess the competitors are being so charitable giving you stuff for a higher price.

• 140,000 :-0 “Day Light Robery !”
    More expensive than Tucson & uglier too.
    Just 5k different from market leader “CRV”
    As i said once the korean get popular, they would get greddy.
    Look at i10 1.25 A segment sold for 52,688.
    50% more expensive than Forte 2.0.
    Should boycott them until it get below 100k.

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:40 pm

2nd hand will have RM100k level

• Razor on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:55 pm

hello there korean car basher..i never fail to see u bash korean cars..

• David on Jun 14, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Are you looking forward to be one of the most hated people on paultan.org? Man, what sort of disgusting, vile mentality do you have, always bashing the Koreans? You got a problem with them? Jeez.

Quit bashing senselessly, you fanboy, otherwise expect nothing but middle fingers and hurlings of insults thrown towards you due to your pathetic mindset. And facts that come smack into your face.

• khylie555 on Jun 14, 2011 at 9:22 pm

too bad,you wont be able to afford it even it only cost rm 50k

• Eddie on Jun 14, 2011 at 10:32 pm

“As i said once the korean get popular, they would get greddy” . It’s the same for Japanese cars. Do you see either your beloved Honda or Toyota lower their car price? Why is the City getting more expensive? Pending for your reply…

Also we should boycott japanese cars until they below 80K…

• jalan54 on Jun 14, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Why don’t you stand in front of putrajaya and ask those people in putrajaya to cancel AP, and cancel the import duty of import cars? I think doing this is better than boycott those automobile distributors.

• Unforgiven on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Someone is getting a lot of free money out of this car… I think better remove those stupid car policy so that they are able to place the price right…

RM140k is way too much for an avg M’sian…

• damn, KIA should have brought in the turbocharged 2 liter engine as well! Should be a blast to drive that!

• Jerryo on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:51 pm

I went to the showroom at TTDI last week , they told me its a highspec version with moonroof. But yeah , 140K is new to honda accord already lah.

• maserati on Jun 14, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Yaya all the specs look high and mighty on paper.
    But when in reality, its a whole different story.

Typical of korean cars.

• David on Jun 14, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Ah, another basher who talks thrash out of his mouth, without reading the facts. Come on, i would admit that on terms of driving dynamics, they are on par with the Japs, but behind the Euros, but what the specs say on the sheet, does the job as how it should be. I’m not saying that i expect it to drive like a BMW, but drive competently, being on par with its competitors.

Seriously, quit useless bashing, otherwise we’ll come out in full force to shove hard facts right in your face, you miserable, vile, disgusting fanboy.

Oh, by the way, the Chevrolet Malibu, Ford Fusion, Hyundai Sonata, and Nissan Altima has just outsold your beloved Accord and Camry by a considerable margin.

Marketing hype? Paid by marketers? No, it’s people like you who act smart and talk trash out of your mouth.

• MoFaz on Jun 14, 2011 at 6:00 pm

your typical comments against Malaysian or Korean cars.. bcoz you’re Toyota fanboy.

• The est. price is high, RM 140k. Current model price is RM 112k. Hope the price will be lower than estimated or slightly above than current model, around RM 120k. The Sportage segment is same as Tucson. Tucson 2.0 price is around RM 125k to 130k. Just b’coz the kia has become popular & recognisable in malaysia, they put a high price tag. Same goes to Sonata & Sorento price is high than previous generation model…

• The est. price is high, RM 140k. Current model price is RM 112k. Hope the price will be lower than estimated or slightly above than current model, around RM 120k. The Sportage segment is same as Tucson. Tucson 2.0 price is around RM 130k. Just b’coz the kia has become popular & recognisable in malaysia, they put a high price tag. Same goes to Sonata, Sorento price is high than previous generation model..

• RM140K is ok, just throw in 2 years free service and 2% interest rate

• Is it just me?

The Peugeot 3008 is just going to pound the Kia Sportage’s ass to the ground if it is really going to be priced at $140,000 for the 2.0 version.

The 3008 THP156 has less bhp but makes up for it with more torque (240Nm) that can be tapped from 1,400rpm onwards. Which translates to a faster 0-100km sprint time of 9.5 seconds, more than a full second faster compare to the 10.6 seconds it takes for the Kia.

Not to forget the 3008 is filled to the brim with features and a long list of safety features. Fully made in France too.

• carlito on Jun 15, 2011 at 12:28 am

i have to agree with you, the 3008 is probably a better choice. its a pity malaysians are suckers for japanese, if based on merit alone, peugeot should be doing better (except for the 207)

• The 3008 suffers from the ‘Beyonce’ problem. Until now it’s not solved. After sales service is very poor. Just check Autoworld Forum.

• haha, korean basher is here again in full list: maserati, Jolo and who’s next? 140k is a daylight rob? then how about crv? buy a crv at a higher price and spend maybe 10k more for some GPS or Navigation or some stupid bodykits? Grow up please, stop acting like a kid crying for mom after pwned by someone better. If you dont wanna buy Korean cars, just go away, no one needs you here.

for the car, nice car, but i think it won’t be price >/= 140k, maybe 120-130k should be reasonable.

• Ash Menon on Jun 14, 2011 at 6:05 pm

I’m hoping that they bring in the Optima turbo. Even though I can’t afford it…just nice to dream about it :)

• Audi Q7 look better and luxury.

• SmartSsa on Jun 14, 2011 at 8:02 pm

Thanks for pointing that out Einstein!

Just a small problem. The Audi 3.0 TFSI costs almost RM$550,000.

Nothing much. Just 4 times more expensive than what this puny little Kia would cost.

Like I say, peanuts.

• hahaha…
      as cantonese said, “ever1 also know some1’s mother is a female la”!!! =P

• Maserati on Jun 14, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Bet most of you who are so called KIA Fanboys are either driving a Jap make,Proton or Perodua…lol

Have you ever driven a KIA? I have drove many times.Old ones and news ones.
    All drove like rubbish.

Look at the Tuscon,looks so nice on the outside.But once I drove it,my god damn it was rubbish.That explains the poor sales figures.

This Sportage? Good luck on its sales.Just look at all the korean makes ,which one is selling well? NONE!

Sonata? After all the hype about its good looks,people start to realise its still the same old crap inside.

Forte? Same thing,after all the hype can see ppl hardly talk about it now.You do realise that the interior now after such a short period of time looks so outdated already.

Forte Koup? Hardly selling despite its CHEAP price.

i10? Expensive small piece of junk.

Tuscon? Looks good but drives like crap.

Sportage? It will have all the hoohahh as usual at the beginning,after a while nobody will bother about this.

If the Koreans think people will buy Good looking cars that drive like crap,they are seriously wrong.

Go buck up in terms of refinement and driving pleasure,then come back and challenge the japs.Nowadays,Korean makes put in a pushstart in their cars and everybody go “WOW”.Come on, you do realise its a marketing gimmick.

Korean cars? Still long long long way to go dudes!

• Gilthoniel on Jun 14, 2011 at 7:57 pm

No need to bash Korean cars… I drive a Forte myself and I prefer to drive it rather than my dad’s civic 1.8. Granted it has a wee bit more body roll but steering is meaty, and it’s responsive. At 81k for the 1.6, there’s really nothing u can complain about especially when it drives well and it has all the equipment level.

My wife drives a Vios and I guarantee the forte is much better than it.

The Tucson and Sonata, on the other hand, were not as good handling wise. Quite a disappointment. I’d go with the Kia sportage any day.

Give the Koreans a chance la… Not everyone can afford expensive makes, and not everything cheap drives cheap too. Heard of cheap and cheerful?

• jalan54 on Jun 14, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Please tell me which japanese car looks better in terms of interior and exterior. Which japanese cars have better safety feature compare to korean cars in Malaysia?

When you said tucson drive like crap, you are comparing to which car? Audi Q5? BMW X3?

When you said that Tucson sales figure is not good, base on what?

Every individual has their own preferences, you don’t like doesn’t mean other people don’t like, you like japanese car doesn’t mean people have to follow you. I tested tucson, sonata, forte, civic, accord, camry, vios, altis and so much more. I can say that tucson and sonata is better than all toyota cars, but maybe not as good as honda.

Maybe Korean cars haven’t up to your standard (cause you are driving european cars), but you don’t have to bash like this, at least I see improvements, but I don’t see any improvement from Japanese car, at least Japanese car in Asia and especially in Malaysia. Some more it is totally overprice in Malaysia.

So, with the same price or even lower, I can get better features car, why not??? You are rich, you don’t understand, but I’m sure there are a lot of other people understand what I’m saying.

• Vincent on Jun 14, 2011 at 10:35 pm

If you compare the korean car with mesarati, sure is a crap…

But with the over price sushi in Malaysia, Forte give better value…

K5 is worth to wait.. let compare it with Sonata… and hope it will cost less than RM130K..

• carlito on Jun 15, 2011 at 12:33 am

in Europe, Kia & Hyundai has already overtaken Toyota.

BTW if forte interior outdated, then what about Vios & City?

And last I checked, there is a 2 month waiting for Tuscon & Santa Fe

• Eddie on Jun 15, 2011 at 1:09 am

Look at the Tuscon,looks so nice on the outside.But once I drove it,my god damn it was rubbish
      – same goes to japanese…looks nice on the outside but rubbish specs with high price. By the way, Tuscon sales is doing well …otherwise you own’t see it on every corner of the road

Sonata? After all the hype about its good looks,people start to realise its still the same old crap inside
      -nonsense. Sorry. but i actually see more sonata on the road compared to accord now.

i10? Expensive small piece of junk
      – same goes to Jazz and Freed….they are even more expensive small piece of junk right ?

Go buck up in terms of refinement and driving pleasure,then come back and challenge the japs
      – ya, and for japanese makes , do the same then come back and challenge the european makes in terms of driving pleasure. The peugeot seats are so comfy compared to a toyota or a honda….

• cheese on Jun 15, 2011 at 2:36 am

hahahaha another brain washed colonial mentality……..that.all European are the best…..the way u mention rubbish here crap here junk there just show the state of ur brain and ur mouth…….funny how these people been brain washed so badly ….the colonial master must be very proud……..i advice u go and have a tour around Europe and look around which car the real European people drive….check out their extensive customer satisfaction, reliability, sales, jd power survey, what car mag etc etc…. and u know the truth…………and ur peugeot is below industry average according to ur european master survey………..after washing ur mouth do the same in the mighty US of A as well……………

• Nicholas on Jun 17, 2011 at 5:43 pm

then malaysians are not brain washed by the ‘reliability’ of toyota and honda? oh and how great toyota vios is compared to the fiesta? when probed further, the best they could ever come was ” better resale value lah, vios 1 airbag mar 1 airbag lor,” the rest of their beloved car was pwned by fiesta hands down

if u guys are rich, resale value is peanuts, if u guys are poor, u shud not be thinking bout changing cars anyways

• Cowabunga! on Jun 14, 2011 at 7:19 pm

should have been priced from $123k, but looks like it’s not worth to pay $20k-ish more for a korean regardless of the gadgets.

thanks Naza, but I ain’t interested to pay more for your easy bucks.

• When they said RM140k, this will not be true.
    It will be RM135K or below; want to bet?

• nolan on Jun 14, 2011 at 8:47 pm

too late and too pricey…..rm125k would be suitable price…..

• Fact Vs Bash
    140K for a Sportage is expensive (lot’s of people agreed) = Fact
    Tucson look nicer & cheaper = Fact

Sportage cost 50% more than Forte 2.0 = Fact
    Korean car r getting more expensive as they get more popular = Fact
    Razor & David bash anyone who give negative Fact on korean car = Bash
    They keep quiet when other bash Japanese car with hoax fact = Mun?fiq
    So what David deserved = His own words “hurlings & middle fingers” when this Fact smack on his own face.

• David on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:22 am

Reply to Jolo:-

140k sounds steep, HOWEVER, compare it to the competition. The CR-V costs 146k, the 3008 costs the same as well, the Tucson costs 139k, as well as the ASX. But, this is where most people fail to realise one thing:- The CR-V is locally assembled, yet commands a higher price premium, while being rather stingy on equipment. The Sportage, and the rest of the competition, is imported. So, fact 1 has been proven to be another lie.

Secondly, looks are based on personal opinion, and i think all cars in this segment look good, even the CR-V. If we like classy designs, we have the CR-V, Tucson and the Sportage. If we want a rugged, sporty look, that would be the X-Trail, 3008 and ASX. No harm in that. So it’s a win-win situation.

Thirdly, you’re simply comparing the Forte to the Sportage. That’s like comparing Civic and CR-V, or Sylphy and X-Trail. Seriously, they’re in different classes on its own. C-Segment against SUV. Get your comparisons right before talking about the price difference of the Forte and Sportage, ’cause you’ve got it wrong. Conclusion: Fact? Absolutely not.

Fourthly, every car gets more expensive, or maintains it’s price, no matter what brand. The part where you just pointed out ‘Korean cars get more expensive as they get popular’ shows your biased mind. Shouldn’t you just also say the Germans, the Japs, and the Frenchies get more expensive as they gain popularity? Conclusion: You’ve shot yourself in the foot again.

Fifth, i bash people who talk rubbish, not because they bash Korean, or whatever cars from all brands. All cars are good cars, and i can’t stand people like YOU, Jolo, who BASH, BASH, and BASH the Koreans in every posting involving any Korean car. Try to say i’m bullshitting? I don’t. There are other people, equally neutral car lovers like me who always see you bashing the Koreans. And try not to deny that.

So i deserved it? No, it is YOU, always spewing lies whenever anything involves a Korean make who gets the payback in the end.

Now, beat that. The hurlings and fingers have been swung back to you, not because you’re a fan of some brands, but rather simply, your utter ignorance, stupidity, and childish-ness when bashing things.

Needless to say, don’t be surprised if others join forces with people like me to smack the pulp out of your senseless comments. Serves you right, in your face.

• J say
    Don’t u understand is all about “Market Perception” a product is how much u r willing to pay not how much it worth.
    This is call weather testing, they ask “someone” to indicate 140k, if not much rejection that would be the price, why should they sell u 135k when others can accept 140k ?
    But obviously most people here except a few sales exec think
    1.) 140K is too high.
    2.) Market perception that Kia should price it’s car lower than Hyundai.
    3.) 5K below CRV is a hard sale.
    So the acceptable price for a Kia Sportage is 125-128K, if Naza Sportage 112-115K.

• now rumor the price at RM128888

• ViewerTR on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:57 am

Many people still do not buy korean makes due to the perception that they are low-end products. Some jokingly told me KIA stands for Keep It Away :)). Most do not feel proud driving koren makes, not like honda or toyota, or even better german makes, yet!

• patrick on Jun 14, 2011 at 9:35 pm

looks good outside but inside so so only for this price. should be price 125k

• U guys should try VW Touareg not Hyundai Tuscon!

• Jimmy on Jun 14, 2011 at 10:35 pm

The reality that certain cars cannot sell well in Malaysia:
    Poor resale value (Fortuner is in fact RM30K cheaper from it higher resale value which is at least RM30K higher than same-aged HK , ie Fortuner’s selling price is RM150K only if we plan to change to a new Fortuner in < 10 years, as compared to an HK of RM159K). Remembering that any car can get moderate accidental damage that will force you to change to a new one.
    Poor after-sale services: the dealers try hard to cheat us, so do the private bengkels because they know you cannot find a relatively more reliable more honest service centres like our almighty UMW. RM900 vs RM2000 story, remember? BTW Toyota spare parts are nothing cheaper than cars of similar price ranges, but you get reals services and not 'ghost' services nor 'ghost' claims (no parts changed but claims still submitted to you)
    IF YOU CANNOT HAVE GOOD RESALE VALUE AND GOOD AFTERSALE SERVICES, THEN YOU BETTER BUILT DURABLE TAHAN LASAK CARS THAT DO NOT HAVE PROBLEMS WHEN THE MILAGE IS ONLY 50 000KM, I REPEAT FIFTY THOUSAND KM ONLY. Careful city driving by a white-collar, as spare car, mind you.

• ray_jay on Jun 14, 2011 at 10:47 pm

I seriously don’t mind to settled for this instead of my first choice, VW Passat CC, after the said RM35K increased!

Put in the Sportage a reverse camera as standard, then i’m sold!

• Nicholas on Jun 17, 2011 at 5:45 pm

my friend, u have no idea how good the vw passat cc is, driving one, love every minute of it…

• Kipman on Jun 14, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Just work harder to skip this trash and get a Q3. END.

• very disappointed of the pricing, 140k is too high, look like we are at the mercy of some greedy businessmen, blame who, we are always at their mercy, with the current policy, we wont get any cheap car for a long long time, kudos to our NAP policy, i rest my case

• Downs on Jun 15, 2011 at 12:42 am

Wonder if the Malaysian model will come with heated AND cooling seats. Will be great in this hot weather we’re facing. The other extras are very nice. Seems like we’ll be getting the higher end model.

• Downs on Jun 15, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Aik? Comment like this also can get negative? The high end model in the US has the heated and cooling seat feature, that’s why i asked. Apeeelah.

• dRwh0 on Jun 15, 2011 at 6:36 am

Looks good on paper..cant wait for the launching date..no point arguing which manufacturer is better..its personal preference..used to hav vios..forte whole lot better..but ended up with lancer..so far no complain bout korean car bcos my getz served me well for the past 3 years..definitely looking forward for this new sportage..cheers.. :)

• just an opinion from a car buyer:

I will choose Honda CRV/Accord or Toyota Camry if it is 140k because of higher resale value, parts availability, proven engine reliability and convenient and more service centers.

• ViewerTR on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:53 am

Honda and Toyota should maintain their current pricing and add more accessories. Even in 2011 a high-end 2.0 accord and camry still do not have vsc/tc. Buyers in a market for accord and camry surely value safety more than other accesories. I’ll go and buy a 2.0 accord/camry without much thinking if the have abs, ebd, vsc,tc, and 6 airbags with the current pricing.

• emmet on Jun 15, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Someone is offering me the current Kia Sportage model at RM98000? Is it worth buying?

• emmet on Jun 15, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Someone is offering me the current Kia Sportage model at RM98000? Is it worth buying?

• alphalpa on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:54 pm

140k too much, try new ssangyong korando (acyton)..wht a dish!!..

• SaveTheEARTH on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:56 pm

RM140K…… Kia is now doing free marketing for Camry, Accord, CRV and 3008. Kia is making those mention models seem like worth for buying because of the brand and of course if not good in servicing but still better than Kia service center. A lot complaints about Kia service center especially the spare parts. Beside, Kia low resale value and with RM140K even make it worse. The right price should be RM124,888 then only then make this car in people buying list and definitely Kia is the brand to choose. Else Naza does not add in any value into this popular car but yet a popular brand in Malaysia.

Bear in mind, Malaysian not everyone really understand about DSC, ABS, EBD …… but we look at the brand, no matter high-end or low-end, but a brand that bring value especially Malaysia mass middle-level class people determine a purchase from looking at this.

Also Euro NCAP 5 STAR, I see some cars brochure carry this rating. Guess what, Malaysia Spec cut down few of the safety features, in another words it does not have the full 5 star rating anymore but still printed the logo. It is kind of misleading, should any incident happen (touch wood) the dealer should responsible for the losses. Some people really look at this rating only buy the car for their love one or driving around with their love one. One example is Ford Fiesta. Check out the US version and Euro NCAP then compare the spec vs Malaysia spec.

• Chuck Jordan on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:06 pm

It’s better if you compare the actual specification, number of airbags, etc. before passing judgement. RM140k is CHEAP. Sit in the actual car, test drive it and then test drive some of the Japanese competitors. Decide for yourself based on the actual vehicles.

• What an insane price? Is this the government killing us or Naza being Greedy? Sportage sells here in UAE between 60K and 85K MYR for the 2.0 and 2.4 depending on specs. So to add such a high premium is insane. If i were someone who can afford 140K, i will take the Sorento with a little more. Having own one for 6 months on the 3.5V6, its an amazing car! Cant say the same drive feel on the Sportage though!

• chicarito on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:46 am

what is all the fuss with 140k price? they’re not even announced yet.. chillex guys.

• Well all indication even in newspaper state price of around 130k to 140k.

Well NAZA KIA is definitely getting greedy with the success they had with Forte.
      In the end, if the pricing remain around 140k, forget about buying. Got better option elsewhere for our hard earned money.

Hai, just when we taught NAZA KIA was doing something right, they go & do something f’ed up :(

• SUVfan on Jun 18, 2011 at 4:43 pm

i think they will price it betw rm130k to rm135k bcos they need to be price lesser than ASX & Hyundai Tucson 2.0L high spec.to be competitive & get better sales. Certainly will not be less than that..my 2 cents

• Possy on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:13 pm

I was deciding to buy an SUV last year… i was comparing interms or handling, fuel economy & ride. And also on areas of body build….compared between CRV, 3008, sportage, ASX.

Test drove all of them as well…manage to do it overseas (mostly in singapore) honestly i did not like to handling and ride of the sportage..it was a let down..but thats based on my preferences

• yes… unfortunately, the ride n handling is one of their weaknesses…
      but for daily commute, i think it should be acceptable..

• Wacha on Jun 17, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Yes! I’ve booked one! Yes! Yes!

• Leong on Jun 17, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Hi All,

Is it comparable with ssangyong korando (acyton) 2.0 diesel
    2WD RM120k
    AWD RM130k

Thanks

• Adoiiiihh… why so many complaints.. complaint.. complaint..??
    If u got the money, and the car fits ur bill,…then go ahead n buy.
    If not, don’t buy lah. Nobody’s forcing u to buy…
    Why la kutuk2 here n there… tapi habuk pun tarak? Cakap kosong saja..

• The exterior of new sportage looks nice..can’t comment on interior yet. If Naza price the CBU at RM140k, then it will have to compete with 3008, ASX and Hyundai Tucson high spec..may affect their sales. They should be smart to price it at RM130k or less, that will attract better sales..of cos depending on the quality of interior too…just my view.

• Somebody in KIA’s FB mentioned that the price is officially in – RM138,888. Can anyone confirm?

• japfans on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:39 am

The confirmed price is RM138,888.
    Tell the Korean, they can “bungkus” the car back home, it won’t sell like Forte.
    Naza is getting greedy, the CEO and their marketing dept. did not do the home work to survey the local market.
    All other brands are celebrating now in their office as they were worry about the new Sportage pricing earlier and now they won’t face any more competition.
    Naza if are listening, change it
    Would some one paste this in their KIa facebook

• japfan – I’m not so sure. Which other vehicle in the same category offers leather seats, reverse cam, 2.0 engine, sunroof and other goodies for OTR138K++? I still think the Sportage is a good buy compared to the overpriced CRV. Heck, even the Korando looks good for its price. Still, I do agree that 138K is a bit more than what most people expected. We’ll just have to wait and see.

• Firstly, we must agree this is KIA. In order for them to change the market perception towards a brand such as KIA/NAZA they need to introduce an interesting price not overpriced the brand else people will still go for tucson,crv etc.

Naza marketing team screwed this up already.. Get ready for some backlash from the public…..

• all car lover on Jun 21, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Good, if Naza had price the new sportage@ rm138.888…that’s might not going to be volume selling model.. then with very good chances Naza will be later on with more goodies packages offer….does’t that is good for us as consumer ?

ask yourself ..which one you want ? hot cakes selling models with no goodies package offer but price increased from time to time.. or.. niche market model with seasonal goodies packages offer from time to time.

• deanie on Jul 04, 2011 at 11:19 pm

very nice design..price not nice..

• yadzli69 on Jul 09, 2011 at 12:04 am

Just got my new Sportage today. Really excited as the salesman told me that I was the 1st buyer received the Sportage for the Klang area. Just fill in the petrol 95 unleaded RM100 and the meter showed the probable distance of 598 km. Get it with the milage reading of 45km. Those new Sportage owner that plan to make the Sportage Owner's Forum, please keep in touch ok…..