2011 Perodua Myvi D54T to be launched tomorrow night

Well, the moment has arrived – tomorrow night finally sees the official introduction of the 2011 Perodua Myvi, with the launch of the car at the Putra World Trade Centre being officiated by Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Bookings for the D54T began on June 4, so you sort of knew the debut was soon to follow. The new second-generation Myvi was previewed to the media a couple of weeks ago – we’ll have a comprehensive report on the debutant tomorrow night.

Be sure to check in at 9pm! :D

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mizzuddin on Jun 15, 2011 at 8:54 pm

hang on tight..!!!

• mizzuddin on Jun 15, 2011 at 9:38 pm

…………. for the upcoming comments.

the car is boring but not the comments

• BOOORING~

• wait to see the actual car then only can give comment accordingly.
      before that, need to say that the slogan “lagi Best” is really really lame and outdate!!!!
      it really make this car sound like kampung juara, the one who decide this slogan should be fired!!!

• Cucukman on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:47 am

P2 should put Radioactive sticker on it..

this is not reliable car at all… sure cannot get the sales as previous old myvi..

• Heard there gonna priced it same as Saga, 37,000 + full spec with 2 airbags and air cond !!

• nice

• alistair lim li wei on Jun 15, 2011 at 9:09 pm

it’s gonna be legen wait-for-it dary!

• Barney Stinson on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:30 am

I don’t drive (nor have a driving license)…so it’s not legendary !! Not this car anyways…

Bwahahahaa :-)

• Mega/Liverpool on Jun 15, 2011 at 9:10 pm

What they need for UK market is a tiny low CO2 Turbo engine…..
    Mike/Liverpool uk

• ford_ton on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:57 am

Should be CO for carbon monoxide shooting out the tailpipe. CO2 is carbon dioxide shooting out our nostrils. Unless UK re badges human as automobiles. Slap on a turbo some more.

• Ash Menon on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:03 pm

then shouldn’t the exhaust be your fart instead of your breath?

• infinity on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:45 pm

are u sure about that?? what i learned in chemistry years ago was,

CxHy (petrol) + nO2 —-> yH2O + xCO2 this is in adequate O2 condition

If inadequate O2 available, then

CxHy (petrol) + nO2 —-> yH2O + (x-z)CO2 + zCO

(x,y,z & n are all stoichometric numbers)

it is the CO2 that causes all the global warming problem, not CO..CO are not very stable and will be converted to CO2 once there is adequate O2 supply.

correct me if i am wrong

• Avenger Osiris on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:48 pm

car release both
        if the burning is good then it will become CO2
        if the combustion is not very good it will release CO…

• awang on Jun 15, 2011 at 9:12 pm

satu lagi pencapaian cemerlang anak tempatan menghasilkan kereta setanding kereta jepun dan eropah. tahniah perodua!

• satu lagi pencapaian cemerlang anak tempatan menghasilkan bumper, front grille, steering dan juga rim berjenama P2.

Congratulations to Perodua, our national bumper maker.

• freeze on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:28 pm

they design the floor mats also lah!

• Ha Gnih on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:59 am

And not forgetting they too design all the problems that come with it. Yeah~!

• _xXx_ on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:07 am

though the other make designs everything but crappy, so what for?

• mizzuddin on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:56 am

but it handles great with their stock shocks…

not total crappy… just the finishing quality…

• handles well? have you ever driven anything other than Perodua crap b4?

• mizzuddin on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:53 pm

no la…
            i mean the other national make beside p2…

• carazy on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:57 am

the most lousy handing car i ever drove… melayang2 mcm layang2

• you tau pandu ke tidak ? you ingat myvi is airplane ?

• lolz… I like ur sarcasm… but P2 need to do more than that.. pasang summore weird bodykit, sayap terbang, stick an “SE” batch, this MyVi janji can fly..

• pacifictuna on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:44 am

then take the wing out again and put some different colour and put ‘limited exclusive edition”….

• what’s the big deal ? after all it’s based on Toyota/Daihatsu right not right it is of such mystery …….c’mon. all the hype ……. it’s gonna be another best seller again no doubt

• to be more accurate, its a Toyota Passo with a P2 badge… |||-_-

• OMG, this new Myvi have big different compared to the New T.Passo…pls see clearly.

• learner on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:23 am

because they change the look just like P1 did to wira as it is different looking with lancer. not difficult to do this, just redesign the bonnet, fender, bumper, tailgate, headlamp and brake lamp, then you have a different looking car.

P2 just move a step forward by redesigning the fender and tailgate to fit with new lamps design, as most of the time they only redesign bumper and lamps.

• How many years proton in Malaysia and how many years perodua in Malaysia….? chills bro….step by step and anak tempatan will learn their technology soon….. whose know someday Perodua and proton will be the best car in the world, like Hyundai from korea.

• kivatt0024 on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:36 pm

bro…P2 will be forever own by toyota…u must know that…it cant be consider as national car make….but as vehicle cosmetic changer…

• Absolutely from passo new design chasis but p2 facelift.

• ciput on Jun 15, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Not impress

• ericmaxman on Jun 15, 2011 at 9:24 pm

we already know 95% about the car. whats left is just a in-depth review. lol. with all the spyshots and leaked brochures, there’s no secret how the car looks like liao.

• Price???

• ericmaxman on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:18 pm

OTR for RM 44,426 (1.3SX Standard) to RM57, 908 ( 1.3 EZE Elegance)

• Estimosis on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Better get a Neo CPS..

• justice on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:12 pm

1.3??

• RM57, 908 for a 1.3L???? =.=”….

Then 1.5L confirm RM62~63k!!!! =.=”…….. Sad….. no need to wait then thanks~

• ericmaxman on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:04 pm

mak oi~ all the haters hatin’..for heaven’s sake, it’s just a car..no need to get so emotional and what not over its launch..sure P1 and P2 bashers are all here..both the Saga and Myvi serves their purposes absolutely well..there’s no point saying the Myvi is a JDM rip-off, as what i see, P2 has put some decent effort into this myvi as compared to the previous generation..as for the Saga, please dont drag politics into this topic can arr? i am not defending either side, and i’m trying to be as neutral as i can :)

peace out bros !

• ericmaxman on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:07 am

ahh, critical dimensions still there..so it is very possible that its the same chassis from the older myvi, with new interior+sheetmetal. so, it would be interesting to see how the myvi 1.5L would fare ;)

• Perodua what?! Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!!!!!!!

• rosdi on Jun 15, 2011 at 9:37 pm

I have seen it.. nothing special except there is one thing I like.. foldable/flatable rear seat… this is long time myvi weakness.. lack of bootspace.. so with this foldable rear seat the bonnet space issue is mitigated…

• eh, bukan ka dari dulu lagi da ada rear foldable seat? myvi, viva smue da ada da..

• GT Driver on Jun 15, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Myvi FL..

• mfinerva on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:01 pm

soooo saspen!
    (saspenla sngt…)

• mfahd_88 on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:05 pm

if i replace the car that will be use during the launch ceremony with the current gen. myvi, i believe that no one will noticed ..
    -_-

• P1 troopers. Up your effort to discredit.

• BORING CAR~

• Lawrence Lim on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:18 pm

I’m driving a Proton Gen-2 with campro engine model 2006. The car is underpower and sluggish in accelaration. Eager to know that if the campro engine could be up graded to more responsive IAFM campro engine?

• dannyl77 on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Hi Lawrence sorry to interrupt , But I think the Topic is about the Launching of the New Myvi,
      Not Proton Gen-2 with IAFM Campro engine ???….

• Irony on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:57 am

this is COMMON TACTIC… to blame P1 hoping the customer will choose P2 liao… hahaha..

• freeze on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Hello, this is where we come to bash MyVi not Gen2.

• mizzuddin on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:57 pm

try to ask around the gen-2 forums… surely many can give some advices

• Jolly_idiot on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:53 am

Nothing much you can do on a junk. Best way, change car. Buy this new myvi indeed.

• _xXx_ on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:26 am

wat a BIG name IAFM. Some other make dun even bother to mention this long existed small item found in the intake port…

• Dear Lawrence Lim,

Your old Campro can’t be upgraded to IAFM (even if you want to). There’s no upgrade package for older models. If the car manufacturers does that, they will incur losses (in the case of Protong – heavy losses). That’s why car manufacturer always role out the newer models so that consumers like us will keep on spending – wasting our money on second most expensive “investment” (after a house/property). This is true in Malaysia.

On the darker side; I’m the owner of a Gen.2 CPS and Persona IAFM, let me tell you, both cars are equally fuel guzzlers. So even if you upgrade to IAFM and even manage to upgrade to CPS, you will still be disappointed.

Both engines will eat up your wallet dry whether you like it or not. At that time you will realize that, you actually can afford to buy better imported cars (do your own calculation – the cost of repairing Protong car when there’s a breakdown, the cost of towing it, the cost of overpriced Protong Service, the cost of fuel consumption, the terrible quality/finishes and above all, the loss of your work productivity). Turns out you can afford to buy better cars, its true, I end up buying a CBU Grandis Mitsubishi and it serves me well till today.

My advice to you, find a way to sell your unreliable Protong Sampah, and get yourself a better car. “You Deserve It” (you deserve better) brother!

• abraham lincoln on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:12 am

dude….that grandis is huge and u tell me it has better fuel consumption? get real

• oleoresin on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Why talking like knowledgable? The main point is basher advice basher

• Fazzurri on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Ayat dah macam jeremy clarkson.. memang aku pun hampir nak thumb up.. Sekali beli Mitsu Grannys je.. muahahahaha.. Comfirm takut bini.. nak beli keter sport anak dah bersusun..

• nabill on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:20 pm

i bet the word ‘boring’ will be the most overused word on this topic…..!

• What do you expect. Proton can only hire people with that much of vocabulary.

• u mean… “Lagi Best’ need to change “Lagi Boring” ? kehkehkeh~

• freeze on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Why do they need to get DPM to launch a foreign car?

Berapa banyak duit masuk the fatty’s pocket to pretend to be impressed with the car and smile with two thumbs up and pose for photographs?

100K?

• Patrick on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:32 pm

2011 Perodua Myvi D54T still use back K3VE and 4AT. What a disappointment…..haiz

• satria on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:32 pm

corrupt car!!!!!!!!!!

• engine K3-VE same as the outgoing Myvi
    why perodua, why?

• Celicazz on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:59 pm

why the current vios still use the same engine as old vios?

• Because Malaysian keep worshiped Japanese product non-stop!
        Toyota and Honda is truly good product in US and Europe but for Asia their treat as a slave. HAHA!!!

• P2KENARI on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:46 pm

hahah,… then buy MITSUBISHI LANCER / PROTON INSPIRA… HAHA

• Holly F on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:15 am

Yes, it is still the same.

• farghmee on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:28 am

gud enuf la.

people still buy what..

p2’s inventory will be easier to manage.

• sudugelap on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:49 am

becoz after this they introduce the 1.5 engine. Get Special Edition. Introduce new color. Get another super special edition, tukar kapet oso get another edition. pffttt

• ericmaxman on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:42 pm

I guess this myvi is the dawn of compulsory airbags across the range~ 1.3 Standard has airbags already. well done~ now time to wait for Proton to do the same ;)

• littlefire on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:44 pm

Yeah.. Later the P1 troopers will say something stupid… Air-bag cost expensive, Air-bag can kill, Air-bag car… Bla bla bla…

Anyway i support their move, but at least car manufacturer need to have some safety standard now.. Even in US/EUROPE & Australia are going to have Electronic Stability Control as STANDARD!!!

• learner on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:36 am

no, P1 already doing that for their recently launched saga FL 1.6L. then only P2 with this so called new myvi. both already agree with the airbag thing for their new models if iam not wrong starting 2012.

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:39 pm

ESC is standard in europe because they drive in icy road condition, much, much, much more slippery than our roads during rain. imagine a car could slide by itself and it doesn’t stop even if you pull handbrake. even Toyota doesn’t give us ESC as standard in Vios here.

• littlefire on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Bro, please do some research about ESC before saying anything… Does our roads slipery when rain or not?!?

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:22 pm

proton already has dual airbags in Saga. cheaper than Myvi somemore…

• DArkerMarker on Jun 15, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Wah, exciting…….NOT

• RON97 lower by 10 sen tonight.

• skiborne on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:04 pm

malaysia has got a longggg way in automotive industry. we should take a look at how koreans do it. we used to hate korean cars, slam them here and there. but now? theyve made a huge change

• korean have made huge change. malaysian still the same.. complaint everywhere!

• Just me on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:41 am

That is because malaysia car market is based on price, there is a market as long as it is cheap. Majority of faithful P1 and P2 supported will eventually betray the barangan buatan malaysia when they can afford better. I’m pretty sure, higher ranking officer in P1 & P2, minister in the gov and including P1 advisor already betray P1 & P2 by buying imported car for their family.

• Malaysia Boleh on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:53 am

Who want to own P1 or P2 when they can afford to own Honda, Toyota, Ford etc.
          Please think of Malaysian average income lah….

• Better take Persona for a better deal and price!
    Bigger boot, lotus ride and handling.

I know most of Malaysian are stuck with only two car brands P1 and P2. Pity Malaysian, doesn’t have many choice of car. We’re stupid again and again voted the corrupted gov then we should deserved high car tax with low quality National Car Brands because of lack of competitions. Thank you.

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:16 pm

competition is there.. that competition is the one pushing Proton to improve. what Proton produce now is not the same as 20 years ago. I really hope market is totally open in 2016 and by that time Proton should be able to compete globally.
      and Perodua will keep asking Gov to postpone the 2016 dateline because they don’t have product to compete.

• Great….finally the new Myvi going to launch…so P2 sales will increase further…

• Notakosong.com on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:15 pm

Hi Paul,

is the launching event exclusive invitational only, or open to the public?

would love to attend and get a close sight,

• Mainstream shyt will be crawling all over the place ergh.

• Oh My God! WHAT? Oh MyVi? What V? V****A?!

• Irony on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:01 am

i – kancil
      ii – kelisa
      iii – rusa
      iv – ….
      v – …….
      vi = Myvi

• Ash Menon on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:02 pm

should be kenari and kembara, i think. not sure about the arrangement, though.

• insperut on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:31 pm

im going to form myvi d54t owners club… whos with me?
    keh keh keh…

• i see it now, funeral service tomorrow for proton saga.

p2 might not be able to design a mediocre engine like campro, but at least they know how to sell what malaysians like.

• Malaysian has been screwed up by Japanese product. Its about perception and mentality towards perodua “Perodua is far more better than Proton”. No wonder Perodua is still no.1 car selling in Malaysia. What if the malaysia car price is open market? Do you think Perodua is able to sustain no. 1 ranking? HAHA!!!

• Your point?

With protection;
        The rakyat still prefer Perodua (due to its relation with Daihatsu/Toyota/Japs).

Let’s say your masturbatio* dream comes true, protection is removed;
        The rakyat will still buy all other import cars (including you). Perodua may be ruled out in favour for the actual Toyota, Japs, Continental etc. Protong during that time already gulung tikar.

Conclusion;
        Either NAP exist or not, Protong is not mentioned at all as favorites. So please stop masturbatin* protong fanboys. Jgn Perasan.

• learner on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:42 am

even at small scale, proton still selling at foreign market, some more got lotus too. maybe if really open market in malaysia, than proton can focus on lotus only. perodua as they are rebadging, if open market, not only cannot sell in malaysia but also foreign market too.

• I no p1 nor p2 supporter. What i’m concern is we are Malaysian don’t have another choice for purchasing affordable, hassle-free car. Sometimes i intense to bashing p1 also when p1 did something wrong to malaysian. What we must gonna to do is vote wisely in ge-13 and let a new gov open up car market then we will enjoyed a cheaper price than now.

• lkf0512 on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:49 am

Don’t talk about open market…cause Proton will also die in open market…

And “Malaysian has been screwed up by Japanese product”???
        I think should rephrase to “Malaysian has been screwed up by Proton product 1st”…

• yea yea .. Malaysian r stupid and you are smart. If the market open, Proton won’t survive another month.

• Ahh my dream car!i want one pls!

• SO!!!!

• I do not rushing to book this old new car as no newer version of engine, P2 really take us for their joy ride. Elegance variant is very kedai abang spoiler. Better wait for 1.5, without newer engine, no CVT thing this Myvi is not a winner at all in all Asian country.

• JeffLim on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:47 am

1.3 Not impressive… Waiting for 1.5 pricing… See how they price… vs Saga FL 1.6.

• Myvi 1.3 not impressive?…Why the old 1.3 Myvi still sell well until now? I think most ppl prefer 1.3 Myvi. The 1.5Myvi will be expensive, and ppl will better choose 1.5 Alza with bigger space….So, 1.3 Myvi was ideally impressed.

• farghmee on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:33 am

i’m waiting the spec. of saga iafm+ with cvt..or actually the price of saga :)

some say it got new interior..but “some say” lah..no proof..

• tomorrow holiday, new M’sian car maa..bangganye!!!

• kuncisudu on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:48 am

no doubt this will make sales for p2. this is their simpanan tetap.
    perception of people for perodua is good because it have toyota dna in it. and toyota is the biggest car maker in the world.
    and perception is all that matter.

if P1 they improve by leap and bounce, but perception is bad, they will go nowhere.

• Maserati on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:39 am

Hoho,its gonna sell so well Proton will be shaking in their boots!

Awesome car!

• Wah! so many comments and perceptions either good or bad among the readers. Looks like this car is so popular and most anticipated car among Malaysian. Well done Perodua, Your target to boom the market might as well achived.

• apexg2 on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:44 am

Boring!!!
    After this, we can see Myvi 2011 Elite, Executive, Special Edition and so on……BORING CAR! New shape from p2 please! But i bet this model will be selling fast as lots of Myvi lover here in Malaysia….Please!!Please!! Reconsider other car like P1 and lots more! Look at the price range…this car is definitely overprice! But, Myvi Lover will always Myvi lover!haha!

• Bongcs on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:07 am

im gonna consider selling of the current mivi !

• new ah? so if i go have a hair cut I will become a “new” person? and can i ask my boss to raise my salary because I am already “new”?

• nabil on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:40 am

wah…felt so much more fun reading the comments than the product itself !! hahaha

• tommy boy on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:02 am

Perodua should first of all improve the NVH levels and set a benchmark against the european brands.

Perodua have got the right car design , right size for the mass market now what they need is to improve on other details. If they can do that then they will be able to do well globally.

That way this company will not be perceived as just selling under protected market just like the P company.

• This 2nd generation MyVi will as usual “tapau” all the low-income and mid-income group of consumers. Congratulation to Perodua with your flag vehicle MyVi. Fuel efficient cars now with bigger engine displacement 1.5cc.

As for Protong, as usual we will see drop in their sales and they will post another losses (year after year). Very soon Protong’s Tanjung Malim factory will be converted to Tin Milo aluminium foil factory.

• Most of Malaysian including low and mid-income are able to purchasing the car because the loan duration is extended up to 9 years. For gov servant is much easier for them purchasing a new car with zero downpayment and up to 15 year loan. They doesn’t realize with highest interest rate for national car brands. Let say if loan duration is lowered to 3 and 5 years with 30% downpayment. Do you think national car brands will sell well in that time? I don’t think so.
      Malaysian are kept in debt.debt and debt!
      And gov, bankers and car manufacturers will smiling always with bunch of money.

• 1.5″CC”??? boleh guna kah??? u know what is “CC” or “L” or not??? 1 L = 1000cc….. motorbike 125cc can tapau ur 1.5cc any time, or maybe a bicycle is enough to tapau ur 1.5cc

• oleoresin on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:27 pm

You already said that in past 4 years. The factory still exist and become bigger.

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:32 pm

wait n see. if the market really open in 2016.. see what happen to Perodua.

• autojohndoe on Jun 16, 2011 at 2:37 pm

pleasing yourself as you wish…

• kivatt0024 on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:25 pm

bro…did u even notice that if all P2 cars like myvi having an accident..the result is total lost….even though it was the standard one…?? P1 is way better in terms of safety and stability….how come u want to drive a very light and unsafe care…im sure u like 2 speed up….

• MouMouRen on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:06 am

Just my opinion. If let say, Malaysia import Daihatsu Passo. Which car u want to buy.
    Perodua myvi or Daihatsu Passo??? Just don say Japan car more better or wht so ever. Anyway, good luck for Perodua.

• nabil on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:17 am

p2 is a profit maker, not a car maker guys!!

• Haha…better than some car maker …sell a lot of cars, but end up still no profit…

• Ya profit 1st, buyers later…. always think how to suck buyers hard earn money!!!! 1.5L myvi at Alza or Persona H Line price??? 1.5L less than 60k still acceptable!!! Is this mean extra Steel actually cost less??? why House Developer “Steel Price Hike”, diesel hike, what ever lah~~~ so Housing price hike????

• facts on Jun 17, 2011 at 9:02 am

its not like P2 buyers being forced to buy that car…its just that they do not hav any other option even P1 car is not their option right now…

• boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• New MYVI has an ABS, EBD, dual airbag, touch screen controls, digital climate control, bluetooth and usb music, DVVT engine, dynamic looks and leather interior. Which SAGA model has half the specs?? MYVI sells because it is a good car, the performance, safety, finishing, reliability, shape, after sales, parts availability all are better than any other car in the market.

• farghmee on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:46 am

hehe..ignorance has +1 follower.

• mr_rumor on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:02 am

perodua salesman or biasP2fan noticed…lol

• i think its kinda true.. If not how come old myvi can pawned all p1 cars for almost 5 years?? Depend on the poeple, how they judge the use of the car.. town use, go to work, back from work every day or balik kampung, once in a year or holiday once/twice in a year.. value for money…

• New Myvi = looks like bikin from ahbeng shop le,, looks same like old myvi
      ABS EBD Dual Airbag = My old gen2 oso have, newer version of saga oso have maa..
      Dynamic look = hahahahahahaha

U’re saying “MYVI sells because it is a good car, the performance, safety, finishing, reliability, shape, after sales, parts availability all are BETTER than any other car in the market?”

LoL are u kidding me? Where on earth do you live man?

• Avenger Osiris on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:44 pm

New Myvi and Saga
      compare the price and size

• paiseyyy… i thought it will come with 1.5l as standard…

• ethical on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:09 am

they will launch 1.3 ver first follow by 1.5 version (extreme)

• So how much they will price the 1.5? 60K for EZi?
        pergi gali kubur laa P2..

• infinity on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:48 am

To be fair, MyVi is a good TOWN CAR. It is compact, nimble, easy to maneuver, easy to park, and easy to accelerate (due to small body, thus light weight). When i say TOWN CAR, i mean that it is suitable for picking kids up, going pasar pagi/malam, going mamak, etc.

BUT, since it is designed with such characteristics, it is not so suitable for long distance driving, such as balik kampung, going out station, driving from perlis to johor (it is just an example)…haha…the main problem of long distance travelling is, since it is of light weight, it is not so stable. its handling is poor (as for previous MyVi – hopefully this new MyVi has improved ride and handling). being compact, you are lack of space for luggage and stuffs…

For us Malaysians, the deciding factor is mainly the price. If it is priced RM48-58k (that’s the rumoured price i read in other blogs), then, imho, it is totally overpriced. It is already at Persona’s and Alza’s region.

• since when P2 never overpriced?…

• infinity on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:33 pm

When it first started with its Kancil, then Kenari and Kelisa, all it was all well priced! Then came the hero, the MyVi…and the sidekick, VIVA…From then on, perodua cars starts to be overpriced.

• Jofoer on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:49 am

Myvi above Swift,Forte, and Ford Fiesta Sport.

• farizY on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:50 am

Weird, loads of haters here, but, I really feel that the car is going to sell, just like its predecessor.

As a car for everyday use, MyVi isn’t bad at all, I mean, nobody is going to take a 90 degrees corner at 100km/h in a MyVi, is it?

• learner on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:48 am

“nobody is going to take a 90 degrees corner at 100km/h in a MyVi, is it?”

because you have never seen one…………… pity those guys.

• infinity on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:27 pm

you’ll be surprised some will!

• normal_user on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:42 pm

90 degrees corner at 100km/h?
      Even in a BMW also I wouldn’t do that.

Well, Myvi is bad. Bad ride. Bad handling. Overpriced.

• Cars for cash on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:12 am

This car looks kind of nice? on the exterior but I’m not a fan of? the inside..

• cak lempong on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:43 am

This car shows how much effort by the local engineer to developed it . Beautiful and nice. sure reliable one , not like my gen2 now nak masuk ikut tingkap because the door handle already broken ..pro-tong sampah!!!!! menyampahh!!!

• Congratulate to P2, just copyright and sales to malaysia.

• dj quicksilver on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:40 pm

i am being realistic. i can only afford cars from this price range. i dont really have a choice, i need to like this car, although what i really like to like is a vw golf.

• My 1st batch Gen2 run far faster then this ‘new’ car; And the outlook also more sporty then this, altough already 7 year+… wahahaha…

I am extream enjoy when i drive my Gen2 back to Ipoh by Plus hightway near the terowong… syok… i alway notice no other car can follow mine when uphill and I alway need to be at fast lane due to other car too slow, not sure why leh… about hte corner… lagi syok… wahhahaha…

• ong chin aun on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:51 pm

I think 1.5 L will come later, Also if launch perhaps it should come with sedan too, as an option.

• Never~

• sedan myvi pls ! NO !

• TFazuin on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:48 pm

See how the managed to sell the Myvi 1.5 because my 2 year old Swift after discounts etc is only RM68K with only 2.55% interest. If you minus the insurance premium and have 55% rebate, its only RM67K.

They can’t place it more than Swift but without the extras. Even if they sell it at RM64K, a RM6K premium from the 1.3L Myvi the Malaysian car interest rate applies, so you pay 3.5% p.a. You actually pay more in the end…That’s the main dilemma in launching the 1.5L. That excudes the Korean new entrant the 1.3L and 1.6L Getz and Kia Soul, which is just a matter of time. I have serious doubt the 1.5L will do well.

• It should be Daihatsu Sirion for P2 MyVi and Daihatsu Cuore/Charade for P2 Viva. Checkout http://www.daihatsu.com/catalogue/index.html

• It should be Daihatsu Sirion for P2 Myvi and Daihatsu Cuore/Charade for Viva. Check out http://www.daihatsu.com/catalogue/index.html

• liuyifei on Jun 16, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Hack again?!

• goodie on Jun 16, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Everytime perodua or proton blog post, the most interesting part for me is reading the comment. It’s entertaining …

• Ya, very intertaining. The comment will increase very fast……

• Ya, so call 1Malaysia???? 1Malaysia = Never Exist!!!! Same Malaysian still killing each other/ sinking other ship to make themselves looks better???

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jun 16, 2011 at 2:52 pm

I oled book one!!! : )

• Putin on Jun 16, 2011 at 3:12 pm

WOW !!!, I am soooooo excited with the emblem already……(tsk,tsk…) :-P

• jay8393 on Jun 16, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Just saw the car just now. It looks much better in the metal. According to the salesman I talked to, the 1.5-litre variant will only be launched around September or October.

• While Viva has its ‘EEE’ version (Elite Exclusive Edition, and perhaps there will be Viva EEEE coming soon), I’ll just wait for ‘The New Myvi Elite Exclusive Special Limited Advanced Edition’ then.

• MacamMacam on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Sama tapi tak Serupa,Serupa tapi tak Sama …. Ramainyer yang bising myvi mahal,sedangkan Jazz,Polo,Golf,Mazda 2,Fiesta jual harga kat 80k keatas… tapi tak bising mahal plak,kenapa ye?

• oldcar on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:04 pm

sebab diorang x beli….

• kivatt0024 on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:32 pm

kete CBU klu tolak cukai brape ek hrganyew….ni plak kete CKD yg nk jual mhal nk mampus….buang karen je…

• Atan Gersang on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:38 pm

CKD cume 20%…80% local parts…biasalah cucu cicit Toyota, jual mahal nak untung lebih…..

• itu bising pun tidak guna, so why want to bising… Jazz,Polo,Golf,Mazda 2,Fiesta tetap selling 80k above…if selling 50k P1 & P2 can survive kah???

• TFazuin on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:32 am

VW Polo TSI comes with unlimited miles warranty… and a 5 year road assistance program… Swift, Fiesta, City, Getz etc. comes with 60K KM Free Service and 3 years warranty, that is what we call peace of mind and good branding strategy.

The price of Perodua is creeping up while the rest of the car makes, don’t even have a plant in Malaysia and still manage to sell it cheaper. They are still slapped with an additional 20% even under AFTA, can you imagine if they removed that, would the Myvi be attractive? 20% of MYR82K for Fiesta is MYR16.4K off… That means you get a Fiesta 1.6 fully loaded for MYR65.6K. Perodua is not even owned by the G anymore and should be treated no different than Naza. If you compare redesigning a whole new rear and front end from NAZA to that of Perodua, you know they did very little work! Nothing they did affected the design of the car other than new bonnets, bumpers etc. Right now I rather root for NAZA because they actually invest more in developing a car, the change a hatch into a sedan, dropped in a new engine than the standard block that they had. PERODUA buat apa…. he he he…. kedai accessory banyak dah ada…

• P2 don’t give a damn about the bashing comments on them. all they know that they will be making money soon because they know what the market wants. they formulate well on how to sell their products. it’s all about business and making profit. they don’t care if it takes rebadging or whatever ‘ciplak’ you all like to claim. they may be out in designing a complete new car with great R&D but they are surely up with the sales… that’s purely business… soon P2 engineers get their bonuses and all of you just end up with a rubbish comments in front of PC everyday *wink*

• Mauchai on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:19 pm

i booked 3 already… all different colors.. so i can drive according to my mood.. and whichever color i think i like on that day..

• already booked black new myvi premium! get my car around next month! =)

• Andalus on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Tipu muslihat yang biasa dilihat…

I can say that i book 3 already..so what..

• leonardo on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Wah more than 180 comments and counting…before the car is launched! Good or bad? It would still sell because P2 owners would trade in their P2 and buy another P2. Brand loyalty i guess. (Or is it blind loyalty?).

• Mr.Crazy on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:20 pm

I saw the actual car at Setapak Jln Genting Klang Perodua showroom already……

• omg!…. omg!…. almost 9pm!!!… i dah tak tahan ni.. cepat laa… cepat laa…
    arragghhh arrragghhhhhh…… cum on .. cum on.. arrgghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…

• Here comes the Legend !