RON97 price dropped by 10 sen to RM2.80 per liter

RON97 price dropped by 10 sen to RM2.80 per literFor the first time since RON97 was put on a ‘controlled market float’ in July last year, the price of the higher octane fuel has been reduced by 10 sen from RM2.90 per litre to RM2.80 per litre. The last change was on the 5th of May, where it was hiked 20 sen. The ‘mainstream’ RON95 fuel remains at RM1.90 per litre, while both petroleum diesel and B5 biodiesel (currently only available in Putrajaya) are sold at RM1.80 per litre.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bien335 on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:15 pm

pilihanraya?

• when they increase you angry…when they reduce you question it…when is the best time to reduce..just before GE? 1yr before GE? 2yr before GE? 3yr before GE? just after GE? 1yr after GE? 2yr after GE? 3yr after GE? before pilihanraya kecik(PRK)? after PRK? today? tomorrow? next week? next month? next yr? next decade? everyday?

• “…the price of the higher octane fuel has been reduced by 10 sen from RM2.90 per liter to RM2.80 per liter. The last change was on the 5th of May, where it was hiked 20 sen…”

Still sounds like they increase 10 sen to me..

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:08 am

good answer bro

• yes,

What if government increase the price 20 cent
          and rakyat got angry.
          A week later, gov reduce the price 1 cent every week for 10 weeks
          then every one happy
          bcos gov only increase the price once
          but reduce the price 10 times
          at the end the price still up by 10 cent

• sorry… still angry at them.

• sukasuki on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:35 am

well, PR supporter always never grateful of what govt give to them. shame on them!!

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:15 am

yeah, and goverment supported always love to spend millions on Curi – Curi Malaysia FB page !!!

• jalan54 on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:02 pm

Shame on you, what do the G gives you? Please name me those things. Oh, I get it, they pay you for commenting here?

• autobot on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:16 pm

at least better than what ‘another G’ give us..

• jalan54 on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:54 pm

what talk you? Don’t give something nonsense.

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:51 am

if goes up, you blame gov, if down you say gov have hidden agenda..
        so, what if we reduce import car tax and remove the fuel subsidy too? nobody could put the blame on Gov if the oil price goes up or down in tandem of international pricing. agree?

• jalan54 on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:01 pm

If they reduce the price to RM1.40 and I’ll start to thank them!!! Please bare in mind we are already paying the fuel price in advance when we buy a car.

• so u r happy then ? good for u.

• bersyukur la..minyak turun ..bangang

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:26 am

speak politely please. its freedom of speach not freedom to insult.

• Wah…
    BN gov is seemed to hear the rakyat opinion. Is good to have a opposition for them bashing or complaining when gov did a wrong move.

• stigosaurus on Jun 16, 2011 at 2:36 pm

It is not that they heard rakyat’s opinion but rather just fulfilling their promise of reviewing the RON 97 price according to market price.

• Mari lah Mari ! Mari Mengundi ! Jangan Lupa Kewajipan Pada Negara !

• nebula87 on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:36 pm

just drop RM0.10 only…why u happy until like that?? >.<

• but you angry like crazy when increase 20cent

• orang2 BN jer tak marah bila harga barang naik..

• hell yeah..angry like no tomorrow..

• jalan54 on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:09 pm

When people angry is not because just 20 cent, you have to understand that there many more that make people angry.

“subsidy” to IPP, import duty for imported cars, spend money in unnecessary things like the submarine, helicopter, the web sites for people to check price (God, RM140M for a piece of crap like that, I can do it only with 1/3 of the price and maybe lesser.) and so much more.

So, don’t ask the people why we angry, ask the G what they did. Please also bare in mind, the price of RON97 had been increased for more than RM1.50 cents throughout those years when we are paying the fuel price in advance when we bought our cars.

• autobot on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:20 pm

submarine, heli unnecessary? pls dont speak only based on ur feeling bro.. totally m*r*n..

• jalan54 on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:43 pm

“(God, RM140M for a piece of crap like that, I can do it only with 1/3 of the price and maybe lesser.)”

Correction: It is RM1.4 million.

• only barangnaik people will not angry bro… naikkan harga letrik, air, cukai servis, gula, tepung, ikan, petrol, diesel…. barangnaik people will still happpyyy… damn, i wish i have brain like u guys… what ever happen n koyak ur pocket, u still happy..

• littlefire on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Well, i welcome the drop.. But does all the other cost that raise together with the fuel hike will drop as well?!?

• zinus on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:47 pm

hopefully..

• Ah Beng2 on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:03 pm

I think many people has hope the car price drop for 25 years +

keep hoping..

• lorry dont use RON97

• That other time during Pak Lah’s era, RON95 naik gila-gila punya. But still semua barang naik juga although lorry also don’t use RON95.

Then the fuel price drop back. Then we see semua barang tak ada turun juga -____-

• Factsguy on Jun 16, 2011 at 3:04 am

my company’s lorry nissan cabstar use ron95 XD and so does our old nissa urvan 1.5L~

• Victor Hoh on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:34 am

There was no RON95 during Pak Lah’s time. It was RON97 only.

• focus tdci on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:25 am

Thanks Pak Lah! Bapa apanama ZZZZZZ and tak pandai kira!

• Imbhotep on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Stupid statement…pm after DrM is like ‘pencacai’ to pay mahathir’s debt he inheret debt worth RM400billion!!
            Paklah napping or DrM overspending?!
            U just like other malaysian who known very lazy to read just like statistic told us Malaysian read 2 page book per year?!
            Pathetics!!

• Factsguy on Jun 16, 2011 at 3:09 am

some lorry use ron95 tho~

• _xXx_ on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:22 pm

oh yeah but in ur dream

• Taguchi, Masayuki on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:41 pm

typical malaysians. when prices goes up, everyone complain. when it goes down, no one is being thankful.

ps – this is not a political statement, only a personal one.

• Well, not that I’m not thankful but the impact of the previous increment seemed to not declining with the current move. Grip a bar and you’ll understand why.

• go up many times, but price reduce once only… end of the day, still price increase… if i’m the government… i also can do this…increase a few times lets say 50 cents, then reduce 10 cents..then can say reduce? end of the day, still get to increase 40 cents…

• Shaekey on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:13 am

This is like you beat a guy up… then said ” you’re lucky I didn’t break your leg”. Then you expect the guy to be thankful because you didn’t break his leg.

Recently there’s a 20 sen increase. You reduce by 10 sen, that means there’s still a 10 sen increase. Why don’t you give me RM10 and I’ll give you back RM5 and you can thank me for that.

• wallstreet on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:24 am

You are too naive, what is there to be thankful? You forgot they were given the mandate (or is it?) to manage this country and salary paid by rakyat. For me it is like a robber taken all your money and leave some coins for you to take a bus home. Are you going to be thankful to him?

• Thankful?? The govt putting money in your pocket is it? They squeeze your 2 balls and later give back 1 to you and you have to be thankful??

• jalan54 on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Why can’t we complain? The G serve us, and we don’t serve them, we have all the right to complain, and we have to right pull them down also.

As what I said, they want us to thank them, reduce the price back to RM1.40. They can cut the expenses from the department of prime minister, they can review the IPP contract and cut some what they so call “incentive” and also they can cut what they so call “commission”. Why cut the subsidy of the people? This is what they call “Rakyat diutamakan”???

A little bit of things and we have to thank them??? Are you out of your mind?

• J@CK LIM on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Now our government is smart =D
    The drop makes us happy?
    but plus minus, he still raise 10sen anyway.

• AkuPunRakyat on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:02 am

Jack,

That no smart.. thats cunning.. :p.. hehehe.. clearly, GE is coming soon..

• no need to dropped lah,will increase soon!

• ray_jay on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:50 pm

I never thought I live to see this happen… If i’m dream-typing, this has got to be the weirdest dream ever.

• vansgoh on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:50 pm

drop very slow, but shoot up very fast… haiz….

• awang on Jun 15, 2011 at 11:57 pm

dont comment this and that lar… this is ron97, the price follows international market. i bet none of the commentators here use ron97. dont talk cokc.

• tokmoh on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:03 am

They think doing this can compensate their action for banning 10 websites? Bodoh punya govt!

Just a few weeks ago Chua Spoilt Lek said govt cannot change IPP agreement, otherwise, the world will think govt doesn’t honour agreement. Then WTF happen to promise no censorship of internet?

Serves them right tonite Anonymous gonna launch an attack on govt websites.

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:30 am

censorship is different issue la dey. and the websites are banned because of piracy, because they let visitors to download pirated movies, songs, etc etc.
      if you’re an artist, or if your business is in entertainment industry, you’d be thankful for this. if not, pirates will be richer than the studios. there will be no more new movie, or new song in the future because artist and studios could no longer afford to produce new movie / song.

• autobot on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:24 pm

kalau dah lanun tu lanun la jgk..
        patut cd cetak rompak berleluasa, supporter kuat giler tuh..

anon attack? sorry seems no serious impact.

• mystvearn on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:03 am

General election coming soon la. Before next 6 month annual hike. Prediction between october-dec after merdeka day celebration and before next hike.

• Ash Menon on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:04 am

Thank you, government.

• rakyat on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:07 am

we don’t care about RON97.
    You increase RN95, get ready for consequences.

• ahmadmckk on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:07 am

wah.. bila naik asyik complain je….bila turun cakap pilihanraya……..
    apa ni… tak nak berterima kasih kepada kerajaan ke????????

• Why Malaysian must be thankful to gov?
      Please asking my question.
      And why when gov misleading taxpayer money you don’t say thankful to gov or reported to macc if you love this corrupted gov?

• prove it then talk..do you have number to support that claim..dont go to all poltical website all are crab either umno, pkr, mca, dap, mic, pas…all crab nothing but crab

• orang2 Malaysia skang dah terpesong pemikiran sebenarnya..
      kalo negara2 maju yang lain…gov mereka takut kepada rakyat mereka..
      sbb mereka sedar yang mereka dipilih oleh rakyat…dan mereka berkhidmat untuk memberikan yang terbaik untuk rakyat..kalo gagal…memang komfem kalah election,,

tapi kalau kat Malaysia….sikit2 gov suruh berterima kasih kat diowg..agak2 la…
      dah tu memang tanggungjawab mereka yang dipilih oleh rakyat untuk memberikan yang terbaik…mereka memang patut la bagi apa yang rakyat mahukan…ni tidak…kalau harga barang naik…suruh rakyat faham la ape la…gaji di takuk lama lagi…

hesshhhhh

• Well said :)!
        KZM and ahmad mckk are only only blindly corrupted gov supported. No doubt at all.

• autobot on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:26 pm

haha.. aku pun bleh list kan sume bende bongok yg pembangkang buat..appara..

• and when the Mr. G doing good…u all will say it’s got sthing to do with pilihanraya
        don be so hypocrite

• _xXx_ on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:27 pm

tengok video pasal korea utara tak? Lagi teruk dorang. Kena nangis2 sambil bersyukur kalo diberi 10sen (gula2 hacks sebjk je dpt)….

• make no different…

• transformer on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:13 am

another reason i think is SG plates can’t pump Ron95 anymore, so to encourage JB tourism, have to drop Ron97 la… next month another 10sen…. slowly….

• gavin on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:14 am

price drop hawkers will still increase their price

• yes bcoz ron97 drop not diesel

• Downs on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:44 am

Hawkers don’t use RON97 la kawan. They purchase items from other suppliers who used to have ‘Super Diesel Subsidy’. Now that this subsidy has been taken away, prices for raw materials have increased. Reducing 10 cents from RON97 will not affect market prices. Reducing subsidies from major suppliers will.

• Just me on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:03 am

Whatever it is, hawker folk always waiting for opportunity to increase price. Trust me, even when the fuel price drop, they will find other accuse manintain their price,

• this is to distract us from the issue “Curi-Curi Malaysia”!!!!!!!!

• u org semua cukup mkn ma…
    bukan x boleh cari mkn..
    u rajin kerja/blaja pakai ron97
    u malas kerja/blaja pakai ron95

• Meesai on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:44 am

Only now want to drop? I thought RON97 is put by world oil price? Why no drop during few weeks back when the oil prices is below USD100? Sudahlah G dasar putar alam..

• nabill on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:17 am

2.90 was already too inflated…so the G had space to revise the price down while not really doing much , bt more importantly ,and for the very naive , it looks like the G is doing the right thing…..and i have a feeling the petrol stations were asking for it as well because of the very low demand for RON97

it makes for a good headline though !

• Just me on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:59 am

What happen to RON95?? Why now only reduce price? Our neighbor at the south is buzy reducing the price when our gov increase the RON95 a while ago.

• kagesenshi on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:39 am

malaysians, always think about politics

RON97 price follow the market laa .. market price drop the price drop la .. duh ..

• agreed with you..

• kelvin on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:40 am

Do you know market is influence by the government decision, hence politics? Money is politics, politics is money.

• oilprice for dummies on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:26 am

oil price go up 3% ron97 go up 20cent. oil price go down 5% ron97 go down 10 cent. still follow market price?

and your next argument going to be ron97 does not follow crude oil market price. it follow gasoline market price. haih.

• those guys with their supercars won’t even give a damn, so rich already..unless u use 97 on your myvi..sure happy la..

• It depends on individual.
    The real thing is when fuel price hike, everything gets hike.
    But, when fuel price go down, everything remain price same after hike and never down.
    Then again, when fuel price hike another time, everything hike again.
    So, you can see all price is getting higher & higher.
    Who cause all these? Rakyat kah?
    Who announce fuel price to increase? Rakyat kah?
    Who has the right to revise the fuel price? Rakyat kah?
    One thing I know…. Rakyat has the right to make noise when Fuel Price Hike!!! :)
    When Fuel price down, show and prove to the Rakyat everything also down.
    Then can consider Rakyat Didahulukan.
    Not just simply announce up or down!
    Agree?

• ahmad on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:42 am

up in the beginning of month
    down in the middle of month
    so calculative

• Later they sure say they decided to reduce oil price for the welfare of rakyat…haiZ

• still remember when the diesel priced at 0.72 sen that day…… ohh, what a feeling :-). Now, the price is….. yayyyy!….. ohhhh, what a burden :-(

• lanwm on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:45 am

nothing new. yawm

• ron97 user on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:52 am

As malaysia has been using ron97 petrol until the recent downgrade to ron95, the cars here mostly are actually tuned for ron97 usage..
    Usage of ron95 will lead to increased wear and tear of engine and lower performance.

Guess thankful that it is finally down, but market rate for ron97 at current global oil prices is only RM2.50-RM2.60.

Just because we care for our small engined cars, doesnt mean that we should be subsidising ron95 users!

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:08 am

global oil price? which price are you reffering to? Singapore RON98 is more than RM4.50, RON95 in Russia is RM3.00, and Russia is 2nd largest oil producer in the world, 10 times more oil than Malaysia!

• peekaboo on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:55 pm

please do not convert to RM. if you’re going to convert the price to RM, please convert their salaries too

• Wallstreet on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Another stupid fellow here that compares prices like this. No wonder our govt can easily deceived ppl like you. Singapore per capita income is 6 times higher and Russia is 3 times higher than Malaysia. You don’t convert currency to compare. Even if u convert, our car prices are almost similar to Singapore and we are talking about ppl with per capita 6 times higher than us buying a car at almost the same price.

• jalan54 on Jun 17, 2011 at 1:04 am

I’m totally agreed with you, but I don’t he’ll understand what you trying to say, because he is lack of education.

• MoFaz on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:18 am

wow.. u’re soo clever! buy hey, you’re wrong…
          my post is simply asking which “global price” he is refering to..?
          per capita income doesn’t determine the petrol price in particular countries la bongok! Brunei percapita income is almost 4 times higher than Malaysia yet the petrol much cheaper there. if based on your argument, it should be much higher than Malaysia, right? what about Saudi Arabia… only twice our percapita but the petrol is only half than Brunei. Now, check Vietnam, percapita is just 25% of Malaysia yet the petrol is almost double than here.
          so, please check your argument before you argue. that’s what you get for being stupid but trying to show how clever you’re.

• Wallstreet on Jun 17, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Looking at ur low level reply seems like u can’t understand what I meant even I used the simplest english. Confirmed STUPID. I see you are no diffirent with our bunch of govt. We don’t pay petrol price based on per capita, what I meant petrol is expensive here based on our per capita income. If Brunei pay much less for petrol and yet with higher per capita income then they are doing extremely well. If our per capita is 6 times higher than now I will be very very happy to even pay RM5/ liter. Now back to your tv and maybe watch some Sesame street for a start.

• Peter on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:58 am

Talk with real facts leh…

Newer Japanese cars are able to take in at least RON 92…

As for the older version…It should be at least Ron 95…

Thus RON95 is enough for most cars(newer or older version)

• ron97 user on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Yes most cars can take ron92 +
        But it is not optimun for the engine, and by the way the increased knocking from ron95 will shorten the lifespan of your engine..
        U also won’t get the stated power in the brochure.

Also note, the international refined MOGAS97 or 95 information is available on Bloomberg in terms of per barrel, and all u need is divide by 137 and add another 20cents to cover cost of dealer commission and transport cost (source: Petronas Dagangan)

Enjoy spoiling your engine with the subsidised ron95 petrol.

• have u all check your latest electricity bill?

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:11 am

i’ve got a bill that says: Dibiayai Oleh Kerajaan Malaysia. i don’t have to pay a single sen :)

• lchan on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:03 am

so..now there is two groups of people. One that will say “yeah…about damn time”…and another group” what?..10 cents only?..”…which group of Malaysians are you?

• Liverpool on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:05 am

I think any price reduction is good regardless what’s the reason behind it…whether its really based on the world’s market price or its because of politics. I think everyone should welcome the drop regardless if you’re a RON95 user or RON97

Many people have the mindset that if you drive a supercar, then you can pay for the increase in fuel. You might not be thinking the same way if you’re one of those driving such cars. They already have to pay rediculous money for road tax for cars they hardly use. But instead of thanking the Gov, I’m thanking those rich people for buying supercars so that people like me can enjoy those beauties on the road. If you don’t like supercars, then I guess you’re in the wrong website.

• kuching on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:09 am

only 2% use RON97. so the govt lost also. 10 cent drop, make funny only. No need to drop but increase up to RM5. Better govt sell RON97 to other countries that sell higher than RM2.80 to make better profit than sell to us. Profit from selling abroad can be used to subsidize more product. Think sikit la pegawai-pegawai ekonomi kerajaan. Dont just sit and talk only.

• east43street on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:33 pm

I ilke this. Yes, the government officers are the ones doing all the calculations. Malas kerja kasi clerks yang kira. officers pergi meeting saja, training sana-sini, overseas trips. So called the elites in the public services. Ramai orang cakap itu macam. Betul ka?

• blacky on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:16 am

as usual… always hv their own definition…..said floating but in actual will only review monthly base on daily average…. in the end…increase 20c then decrease 10c.. Their definition=increase more than decrease=float,increase less than decrease=sink

• nolan on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:18 am

Thanks Najib !! i love you Rosmah !! now i can save 10sen of my hard earning money !!

• off-topic

Hi Paul,

Did you know there is special plat number for Gagasan 1 Malaysia? The number plate start with G1M. Please check here – http://www.g1m.com.my/

• Scratching head on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:27 am

People get angry because when they fill up their cars with RON 97 in the morning, suddenly they see ‘aik, why is it RM2.50?’ then 1 month later ‘why is it RM2.70?’ then 1 day later ‘why is it RM2.90?’ then end of the year ‘why is it RM4.50?’ Where’s the transparency G…no explanation, nothing. The most informed person about this matter is the pump attendant.

But when the price went down 10 cent, wah masuk berita utama TV!

• just watched tv last nite heh?
      dont fool urself…
      every hike always been informed on tv

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:05 am

if memory served me right, they did announce it when they hike the price. the difference is, I like during Mahathir time, oil price raised few cents yet he the PM himself made the announcement. now, hike 20 cents but only minister masuk TV. looks like the previous PM is more concern and lebih ‘mendahulukan’ rakyat.

• steben on Jun 16, 2011 at 9:54 am

Nowadays seems like everything the govt did will not satisfied every each of the malaysian,okla,next GE each malaysian will vote(only those that registered) for their beloved party…let say the govt changed. U all sure or very damn sure that the new govt will be better than the current govt?sure or not?sure ha?very2 sure??think and choose wisely..selamat mengundi

• Nicky on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:12 am

true though… basically, we have no exact options to choose, we vote for the matter of vote… both sides are full with crap and shits… Every politicians are personal goal driven people… They should stop framing, fighting with each other, and make the life of rakyat better! Stupid politicians… I bet even PR is the G still cannot make it cheap… or they can make it cheap, subsidy everything, make the malaysia bankrupt (no guarantee they are transparent)… or let the BN be the G and let some of the money sucked into their pockets… FCUK politicians!

• i wanna fcuk the politicians too…but still got no chance to do it…just fcuk my gal lah

• Nicky on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:17 am

subsidize*

• tiadaid on Jun 16, 2011 at 3:33 pm

You got that right. What I can see is that both side are just playing on populist issues without thinking of long term effects.

Which is why I’m never going to vote in the election unless there’s a viable candidate other than from Barang Naik & Pakatan Rosak!

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:11 pm

if PR gov cannt govern, there will always election. then we can change again. atleast we are brave enought to change, rather keepin Barang Naik keep govening us with the feeling that they were invincible at all.

• jalan54 on Jun 17, 2011 at 1:17 am

I’m not sure whether they are better being the fact that they never have the chance to govern. At least what I see there are changes in Selangor, Pulau Penang and those other states that are now govern by PR.

I don’t really care whether they are acting or whatever, as long as I see changes and those changes are doing good to all the people in Malaysia, why not give them a chance???

How long has BN been in the government? Anything good came out? I can only see those ministers become richer and richer but not all the people in Malaysia. I can’t see the future at all? You want to make Malaysia worse, go ahead and elect BN. You want your children to have no future, go ahead and elect BN.

I love Malaysia, I love all Malaysians, but I hate BN, they are nothing but just a bunch of suckers that sucks the money from Malaysian. They and their families become richer and richer, how about us???

• why must thank to government that their duty la to jaga the rakyat then why they get high salary plus allowance etc etc. Very funny here some people keep thinking they are superior than the rakyat….huhhhhh

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:00 am

God gave you life, let you live on earth, provide you with air to breath and foods to eat.. should you stop being thankful to God and live sinful life? because you think it’s God duty to provide all those? that’s why human couldn’t get enough of anything, money is never enough, 2-3 girlfrens also not enough… because they no longer being thankful.

• braderrrr… God and BN Gomen are totally different laa.. mana boleh sama2 kan?

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:02 pm

of course BN and God tak sama..
          God is perfect, He could create anything and give us all that for free. But He sometimes test our faith with eartquakes, tsunami, volcano eruptions, landslides, floods, hurricanes & twisters and many more disasters.. do you say ‘let’s change God’ !?
          I’m not saying BN is perfect, nobody is perfect including all of us here, and so we must all stop thinking badly and accusing each other… even the mighty USA coudn’t withstand the recent economic crisis and still recovering from it. We can’t get a perfect nation, but let’s work together towards a better Malaysia.

• Fazzurri on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:01 pm

So why we have to thanks to the BN Gomen? They are elected representative, not a godly creature.. Yes we have to say thank you but that is all, no need to mengenang jasa n keep them in power for so long.. just say thank you and good bye.. enuf..

• MoFaz on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:34 am

true, when they hold the power for far too long, they would become corrupt. i’d select the one who could secure the future of Malaysia. choose wisely in election, that’s all i can say.

• mizzuddin on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:11 pm

your so called mighty USA also corrupted la… father of tyrannies today

• It is 2 different thing. It is not god’s duty to provide us all this. that’s why we are thankful and need to be thankful. BUT, it is government duty to make their people’s life better. We vote for them to serve us, not other way round. It is about the role. It has nothing to do with greed.

• anti-first on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:30 pm

How dare you equate God with the move by the Malaysian Government to reduce 10 cents of RON97?

You REALLY have to explain yourself.

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:37 pm

I’ve never equate Gov = God.
          could you please take a moment and think before you assume what i really meant? what i meant; human will never be satisfied, even if they get anything for free, they would ask for more and more.

• jalan54 on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Now put God into position. Ok, lets talk about God. If God gives you those things, you can stop working right now. I’ll see how God provide you the food and living place.

Please stop all these nonsense!

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:43 pm

that’s why many malaysians scored A in exam but they never understand what they learned. what i wrote there is not about GOD, but about HUMAN nature. never satisfied. now, do you understand???
          and you think everything should be easy? yes God provided everything for free, but you have to hunt the animals before you cook and eat. you have to cut the trees into wood and build your house. live like animals if you want easy live!

• jalan54 on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:53 pm

lol, finally you get my point, nothing come easy in life and the government still making it harder for people in Malaysia. So, why do we have to thank them? We have things we have today is because we work hard for it.

What did the government gives us? Please bare in mind, we don’t serve the government, the government serves us, we choose the government, they don’t choose us.

For what I see now, your point is saying that we should thank the government because of making our lives harder. Is this your point?

• MoFaz on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:30 am

wow.. you made it sounds like Gov should provide everything for free eh? you paid few thousands tax yet you get free school, very cheap hospital treatment, free roads in town and kampung, and many more things are subsidised.
            usually, the one who keep complaining is the one who do less work than others. and let me tell you, if u want a lavish lifestyle, working is not the way. u should take higher risk and start a business. start your own clinic, your own law firm or your own ladang ternakan lembu whatsoever. I’ve never see regular policeman or fireman driving his own BMW or Mercedes.

• You’re likening a God to a Government.. It’s not the same. Do you pay anything to God? Does God need anything from you? Hell no. We pay taxes to the Gov, give them trust and mandate. So stop being an asshole dude.

• MoFaz on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:46 pm

again, could you try to understand what i really meant? i’m not talking about God or Gov, I’m talking about human nature, which never satisfied with whatever they get.

• jalan54 on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Satisfy what?

When you got food to eat, when you got place to stay, when you got some shitty car out there to drive?

If this is the only thing you satisfy, then just shut up and enjoy your moment.

You are the one who doesn’t understand shit about the country. FYI, we are a country full of natural resources and I thank God for that. Although we are a “RICH” country, but we don’t really live a rich life here? Why?

Country is facing a big financial problem even though our country is full of natural resources, why???

We used to have a lot of investor coming to our country and later went off, why???

Inflation rate in Malaysia is getting higher and higher, why?

We have to pay higher price to the car we buy and yet now we have to pay higher petrol price, why???

So, you tell me, what is there to thank for??? Thanking them for squeezing us from time to time???

• Wallstreet on Jun 17, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Wah this Mofaz fellow can’t even understand my simplest short sentence in english, I highly doubt he can understand your ‘slightly’ longer one. He can’t understand because he said his electric bill ‘dibiayai oleh kerajaan(rakyat) and he kept asking us to be thankful for what we have. 100% confirmed this guy has got no ambition in life. He is the perfect mold by ‘ satu lagi project dari BN’.

• MoFaz on Jun 17, 2011 at 6:39 pm

wallstreet guy, please argue in a matured way. no point doing personal attack while hiding behind ‘wallstreet’ name. well, i get ‘dibiayai oleh kerajaan malaysia’ because i use very little electricity at home. similar to selangor gov scheme which give free water to household which use low amount of water every month. does it mean everybody who recieve this free water must opt for PR in election?
            i had enough reasoning with unreasonable person. i will not lower my standard to match yours.

• Juan Hardiez on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:24 am

Come on guys. There is no need to argue. I agreed with both sides. I believe the different thinking is because of different lifestyle, personality and states. I think Mofaz is a person who has less monthly expenses to cope with, does not stay in big town i.e. KL, JB. So he’s argument is more from that level. People like us, who has high monthly expenses due to high food, family expenses, work in big town etc, sure got headache for every cents of increase in anything. On the government, they does have plus and minus in administering our country. Whatever it is, do our talking via our votes.

• kamal on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:54 am

If no opposition they will never drop the price, this is what opposition roles..force the G to hear what rakyat want. This is not the country syok sendiri..Everybody have their roles. Check and Balance.

• * Shaekey says:
    This is like you beat a guy up… then said ” you’re lucky I didn’t break your leg”. Then you expect the guy to be thankful because you didn’t break his leg.

Recently there’s a 20 sen increase. You reduce by 10 sen, that means there’s still a 10 sen increase. Why don’t you give me RM10 and I’ll give you back RM5 and you can thank me for that.

* wallstreet says:
    You are too naive, what is there to be thankful? You forgot they were given the mandate (or is it?) to manage this country and salary paid by rakyat. For me it is like a robber taken all your money and leave some coins for you to take a bus home. Are you going to be thankful to him?

VERY WELL said – “Shaekey” and “wallstreet”.

I couldn’t agree more to your statements. Right to the point!

• Rulered on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:55 am

I always welcome price drop for whatever product, no matter how little, from whoever’s decision. I hope the price drop will extend to all fuel, food and other important basic needs used daily by the rakyat.

• pelams on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:23 am

y ron97 only? wat about its brother, ron95?

• giggle on Jun 16, 2011 at 11:33 am

still a drop.. im glad to see this. :)

• droll on Jun 16, 2011 at 12:20 pm

drop price in petrol – harga barang will drop or not??

• Lancermania on Jun 16, 2011 at 5:26 pm

100% confirm wont la……
      cz thy will say: aiya, jz drop Rm0.10 sen only ma…
      bt wen the price hike: haiyo, u don’t knw petrol hike sudah?? cant survive like tat o..

• mahyudblanco on Jun 16, 2011 at 1:10 pm

selama hidup x pernah kena bayar sampai rm3 untuk seliter petrol…
    tu pun petrol gred rendah..
    nak bagi tutup, buat minyak baru, harga murah tapi gred lagi rendah..
    memanjang kena tipu..
    mana subsidi petrol kat kerajaan cover 30sen setiap seliter?
    kalau macam tu ron 97, RM2.80 + 30 sen = RM 3.10
    malaysia…malaysia…
    melayu mudah lupa…

• Simon Ng on Jun 16, 2011 at 3:22 pm

I do not use Ron97. The Ron97 in Thailand cost 4 MYR per liter and Ron95 is 3+ MYR. I cannot read Thai, but thats what the local told me.

However, a Mazda 2 1.5 liter manual transmission starting price there is 53000 MYR. Go figure, you want high fuel price with low car price or vice versa?

• Haiyaa…my car can ONLY use RON97 maa. If use RON95, within 1 week sure breakdown. Last time can afford this car but now out of work due to company closed down. Car already finished instalment. But I still feels RON97 too expensive.

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 16, 2011 at 4:59 pm

RM2.80 still pricey… if its drop to RM2.00, can be accepted la..

• Lorelai on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Actually I would support the Government’s decision to raise the price for everything

Should raise the price of RON 95 to RM 2.90 also, like that there will be less cars on the road and less pollution, less traffic jam also.

The government has done alot of good things recently, like blocking the file sharing websites. That’s a very very good thing. Next, the government just need to keep on raising the prices for everything else.

I would hope to see the government raise prices for petrol, tobacco, etc and maybe in the future ban nightclubs from operating, so that there will be less crimes and trouble at night.

The government’s decision to lower RON97 by 10 sen it not wise.
    Long live the government!

• Fazzurri on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Bro.. ada keje kosong tak jadi pengampu BN? Kalau gaji cantik aku pun nak keje cam ko lagipun kepala hotak ko memang bergeliga.. Mujur ko tak jadi PM.. kalau tak comfirm punah negara.. Eh silap sepatutnya aku kena mengampu macam ko gak..

Kurangkan kenderaan, kurang pencemaran merupakan cadang yang paling gennius lah.. (saja tambah 2 “n” sebab ko hebat) ..

Apa kate disebabkan ko gennius tahap dewata ko join politik jadi pemimpin, comfirm aku pangkah ko punya.. sambil tu ko reka pulak sistem ekonomi di mana orang tak perlu bergerak sebab nak kurangkan pencemaran.. ataupun ko reka kenderaan guna angin (teknologi dah ada dah kat France) daripada ko buang masa kepala hotak ko menulis dekat sini macam aku ni..

• kanenite on Jun 17, 2011 at 12:21 am

cadangan ko mmg paling gila la bro , tahap masuk kubur dah ni.

• Lorelai on Jun 16, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Actually I would support the Government’s decision to raise the price for everything

Should raise the price of RON 95 to RM 2.90 also, like that there will be less cars on the road and less pollution, less traffic jam also.

The government has done alot of good things recently, like blocking the file sharing websites. That’s a very very good thing. Next, the government just need to keep on raising the prices for everything else.

I would hope to see the government raise prices for petrol, tobacco, etc and maybe in the future ban nightclubs from operating, so that there will be less crimes and trouble at night.

Long live the government!

• tishaban on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:57 pm

What I’d like to see:

– Malaysian govt be transparent on how the market price of oil relates to the price of RON95/RON97 at the pump. Give the formula already.

– the price at the gas stations changes every day based on the market price of oil

– let gas station owners set prices *lower* than the price set by the govt ie. the price set by the govt is the upper limit only.

Benefits are:

– Traders can’t just raise prices indiscriminately because the price of petrol/diesel at the pump is dynamic, it may go up or down any day.

– There’ll be some competition between gas station owners, hopefully to the benefit of the consumers

Just my thoughts.

• jalan54 on Jun 17, 2011 at 1:28 am

“- Malaysian govt be transparent on how the market price of oil relates to the price of RON95/RON97 at the pump. Give the formula already.”

This will never happen, you know why, because the government wouldn’t dare to do so. If they do so, I believe they’ll be more people bashing them.

• lio man on Jun 17, 2011 at 8:32 pm

i think so, gov would never do that…but gov already said to follow market price (ron 97)..so if oil price down, they should reduce petrol price too..by weekly average can do maaa….also to remember..oil trade is in USD…current forex, USD drop..so we could get more cheaper petrol…am i wrong??

• BN BUTA on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:40 pm

ANJING lebih bijak dr BN

• lio man on Jun 17, 2011 at 8:34 pm

the gov said themselves ti follow market price for ron 97..so now, the oil price become cheaper…also USD is lower than before compare to ringgit…then, petrol price should reduce maaaa…..why tv not commenting on this???

• Juan Hardiez on Jun 21, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Come on fellas. Let say today oil price per barrel dropped, do you guys think our petrol kiosk fuel price should drop too? If they do so, then die la. How to cover cost? Why? Let me explain. When the price drop today, they will place order today, do you think they get the stock today. For sure in the next 2 weeks at least. Then how to reduce today. That is for today, what if tomorrow price go up. Then bought at higher price. That’s why they cant simply reduce the price.

Unless, there is a body internationally govern and control the oil price, than only oil price will reduce.

• oo..i know your all angry to them.but who know why government increase petrol price????