Nissan Grand Livina Tuned by Impul premieres

It’s less than two weeks since the launch of facelifted Nissan Grand Livina took place, but a new variant of the type has arrived, and it’s called the Grand Livina Tuned By Impul. The vehicle made its debut yesterday in Sepang, in conjunction with the Super GT International Series 2011 at the SIC.

The boys at Impul have dressed up the Grand Livina with a newly designed aerokit, with a front grille that wears the brand new Impul logo. Mechanically, the vehicle gets an Impul suspension system consisting of upgraded shock absorbers and springs that lower the ride height by 25 mm.

Elsewhere, there’s a high quality stainless steel exhaust muffler and a tailpipe bearing an etched Impul logo. Rounding things off are Impul Aura SX-10 17-inch polished alloy wheels, which are 20 to 30% lighter than conventional alloys thanks to Impul’s New Super Cast manufacturing process.

The Tuned By Impul version can be had for all GL model versions, and adds RM10,700 above that for the standard Grand Livina, so the on-the-road price (inclusive of insurance, road tax, registration fee and ownership claim fee, for Peninsular Malaysia) is RM97,500 for the 1.6 MT Comfort, RM100,500 for the 1.6 AT Comfort and RM109,500 for the 1.8 AT Comfort. The Impul parts will also be available to existing Grand Livina owners, so fret not if you would like to add them on.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wa, the logo like perodua logo wei.

• Agree, at the first glance, I thought it was a perodua, provided I dont read the heading of the post, just purely looking at the photo.

• guru guru on Jun 21, 2011 at 1:04 am

wow impul must hav learned alot from proton n perotua so that ter can sell well like SAGA n MyVi..

• Looks like from some Ah Beng shop..

• Han!h on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:10 am

hahaha…funny but it is indeed.so perodua-ish.

• carlover on Aug 23, 2011 at 2:21 am

Jangan tulis saja, drive a standard GL, then drive the impul, then tell yourself the difference, a knowledgeable critic will tel a fair report. Don’t make fools of yourselves. Yes it’s a family car and better handling and just that little bit more kick due to the exhaust system (mind you it’s not just mufflers) makes the pull of a fully loaded car easier. Lookwise, you can’t compare to a sportscar, but take any junks with detailed work,it will make a car looks easy on the eye.

• kancil_driver on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:13 pm

at first glance, the grill resembles another car make.

• DaveDiablos on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Just look at the bodykit especially the front part… Looks like Myvi…

• norma on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:59 pm

yes you are right, and one thing I dont like the radio ………… old fashion ma …regret !

• actually MyVi copy from grand livina….

• kingjoke on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Add 10K? not interested…

• nabill on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:00 pm

impul should be bz tuning cars like latio and teana and not a family mpv…u wont see tom’s playing with avanza or innova…or r3 modifying exora…..doesnt make sence to me…

• jay79 on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:15 am

well, unlike avanza or innova, the grand livinia is a REAL japanese car….

• Just me on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:56 am

“Nissan a prefered choice for Taxi” … No joke, that what I saw on the banner in one of the showroom sometimes back. What a stupid satement!

• Oh really? real japanese real car?

we are Malaysians ! 10k are tooo much for us.

bt the way, its just facelift.. nothing much. not really REAL.

• ka_one2000 on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:33 am

sure or not, as far as i know Grand Livina was made for China and asian market (same like avanza, innova).

• azrai on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:48 am

There’s no Livina in Japan lorr…Katak di bawah tempurung.

• Grand Livina is not meant for Impul tuned …. c’mon this is an affordable non Proton/Perodua mini MPV. Why spend RM10k for all this ?? Grand Livina on it’s own is good enough ….

• jay79 on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:19 am

well you should thank tcm for bringing in this impul tuned gl. there are market for this in japan and other part of the world. this is not a local made car meant only for local market. why when yoh have choice you complain some more???

• An MPV don’t turn into a sports car by slapping on some fancy bodykit..leave that to a proper sport car.It’s serious $ down the drain.No brainer edition!

• ugly… reminds me of a national car maker… for what i need to be reminded of that when i get a nissan?

• so so only.

• Grand Ribena on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Ah Pek car also need to be tuned?

• TallPan on Jun 21, 2011 at 5:28 am

need mah… tune ady become ah beng car! :-D

i think the old impul was slightly done in better taste. something abt this just isn’t quite right. oh that’s right…. it’s too ah beng looking

• drMpower on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:41 pm

you know people driving this car
    think like they drive sports car
    because not once, not twice, not thrice
    many times already
    i’ve encountered on the motorway
    prats driving this thing like sports cars
    fast
    sway this and there
    supposely this thing ferry people, aite

• TallPan on Jun 21, 2011 at 5:14 pm

aiya… haven’t u kena ‘cucuk’ by an Alphard / Vellfire?

your comment could be taken as a compliment to the GL’s power 1.8L lol…

• out of place! should focus more on family confort instead.

• Pre-facelift Livina looks considerably good in IMPUL guise. The latest IMPUL really has awkward grille; designed after Toyota’s Netz channel logo.

ETCM or Nissan should have new side mirrors: must be BIGGER than current one, obvious blind spot.

• ahbeng cibeng on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:53 pm

super hot..really nice!!

• noname on Jun 20, 2011 at 11:02 pm

older version looks much better than this

• Is too over!

• antaras on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:03 am

What’s sad bout all these “tuned” vehicles are that there isn’t anything being tuned at all. Slap some bodykits, lower the springs, attach some chrome exhaust tips & slap some larger rims and then it’s “tuned”. If that’s the case, then there are a WHOLE lot of tuners around! That ah pek living across me must be a very good tuner! Got GT wing summore!

• Got extra space to hang the bedsheets lor..

• I agree. What I first come to my mind the word “Tuned” is tuning the engine. I am not an extreme driver but whenever I go to service my car, engine might tuned by the mechanics.. but replacing an absorber or exchaust pipe are call replacing and not TUNED.

• sick&tired on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:21 am

zippidifuckingdodah! who cares!

• ben yap on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:44 am

what a cheap marketing gimmick! this is a dressed up Livinia. everything under the hood is still the same as the existing one. nothing to shout about. increase horsepower just like the R3 and only come and promote.

• asgard on Jun 21, 2011 at 1:02 am

`for family man 10k is better spend into food,health and safety, that my opinion

• Si beh Beng, 2 thumbs up!

• Punisher on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:32 am

Kind of overpriced to me for a 1.6 MPV….

anyway, i agree that the tuning should focus on other passenger car instead of GL.

• Just me on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:02 am

Yesterday I saw one proton BLM that modified to look like subaru impreza from the front, That one lagi best kakakaka

• chris on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:38 am

i think the bodykit is good looking , just the perodua grill make it look beng
    coz the bodykit is same with jdm impul note

• supersona on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:45 am

WTF? Impul did nothing under GL’s hood? Loooseeer!

• isuzuki on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:55 am

Did you all notice nissan.com.my ‘s web site has much (much) less info on the NGL, as compared to Nissan Indonesia or China?

http://www.nissan.co.id/id/web/models/GRAND%20LIVINA/Exterior/84920.htm

http://livina.dongfeng-nissan.com.cn/

Hm……

• so this car will sell for another 10 years i think…

• bobdbilder on Jun 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm

If its tuned, its gotta go faster. So. How much faster is it than the bog standard non flashy cheap stuff? Would it be the engine with Variable Valve timing to make that extra 5bhp and 8Nm?

The industry calls it Mass Customization. Auto makers do it to make more money for the same model they make. It would also help in maintaining an air of freshness on an old product.

But if you look at performance wise, its them getting more money to make you go slower. Howzat? Coz nothing on this Tuned by Impul package actually does help you go faster. It just looks like you CAN go faster. Yeah 30% lighter wheels compared to equivalent 17in. But they had 15in on the standard Non Impul models.

• DArkerMarker on Jun 21, 2011 at 7:24 pm

The only GRAND about this car is just the “”GRAND” emblem.

Nothing grand about it. Not the size, not the luxury, not the performance, not the interior.

Perhaps the only worth being “Grand” is the extra money you have to pay for the car.

Tan Chong must be thinking Malaysian are cavemen and live under coconut..
    Please, Tan Chong…..please la….. stop selling re-cycled product.

• bluelite on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Before I read the post I thought it was Alza facelift…hahahahahaha

• dannyl77 on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Only Change the GRILLE only ar…. I think The Rest of the IMPUL Upgrade , for instant the Sports Rims & Exhaust system is the Same as Last version one…….
    the Bodykits got a Bit different lar , But a bit only … Not Significant enough …..

c’mon la Nissan…. No new Idea meh…

IMHO , The Old Grille Looks Better…… :D

• likehondanotsomuch on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:14 am

2 nd yr with my livina,,,,i upgrded to impul spring and yokohoma tires,,,really improves the rides,,,less bumpy when hit bumps also great when cornering at high speed,,havent touch my engine yet,,,,may be hks air filter next,,,any livina owners pls input suggestion

• I’m considering to buy GL X-gear. But currently, still contemplating whether to install the IMPUL suspension and muffler. Are the mods worht it?

• KelvinLivina on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:47 pm

Actually if u’ve drive one, u can really feel some different. A little bit more power and the sharp cornering, excellent coz of 17” tyre. And I love the sound of the muffler, not too loud like ah beng car.
    Well, u still can have a little bit of fun driving a family car, rite?

• If u like it..u buy it…if dont like it….go for others.its so easy….beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder….to me vios looks terrible but sell like nobody business

• yeah…if u like Malaysian Car..go for it…buy Proton or Perodua with high interest ++3% over than imported car…no need to complain another car just b’coz u need to top up RM10k for some ‘TUNED’…plssss laaa….

• KRATOS on Jun 27, 2011 at 1:11 am

agreed with ljy,,,
    if u have money,,,just buy it,,,if dont,,,go buy ah beng car la,,,p main jauh2,,,haha