Kia Sportage launched in Malaysia, rolls in at RM138,888

Naza Kia Malaysia today launched the all-new Kia Sportage; the SUV – which was teased last week – was unveiled at the KLCC earlier this evening. Rolling in at RM138,888 (on-the-road, with insurance), the Sportage is well set to take the fight to the competition within its price segment.

For one, the vehicle finally has the looks to do so – where the previous Sportage, which was facelifted last April, was a very functional and practical offering, its looks were kind of utilitarian, to put it simply. The new offering, with its more urban and fluid silhouette, changes the ballgame considerably – very much a looker, this is in essence a scaled-down version of the Sorento.

With a high belt line, sweeping angles and pronounced wheel flares, the design conveys a modern and athletic appearance, so it goes. Its full-sectioned body is defined by a spearing shoulder line throughout the length of the car, which visually connects the headlamps and tail lights.

In keeping things in line with the family look, the vehicle – which is longer, wider and lower than its predecessor – features Kia’s signature grille, and the 18-inch alloy wheels (rather bling, like the Optima’s) and 235/55 series tyres help lend the SUV even more presence.

It’s not just looks with this one though; the new Sportage features increased levels of performance, efficiency, comfort, convenience as well as loads of equipment and tech.

The Sportage is powered by a Theta II 2.0 petrol engine which features dual CVVT (continuous variable valve timing), and the mill – offering 166 PS and 197 Nm of torque – is mated to a six-speed automatic transmission.

Other than continuous variable valve timing on both intake and exhaust, the engine also features a Variable Intake System which uses a long runner at low RPM and a short runner at high RPM to optimise intake airflow.

It wears an All-Wheel Drive (AWD) system which continuously monitors driving conditions and anticipates AWD system requirements – during normal driving conditions, the AWD system delivers 100% of engine torque to the front wheels to enhance fuel economy. However, when wheel slippage is detected, a certain percentage of engine torque is transferred to the rear wheels.

There is also a four-wheel drive (4WD) lock mode, with the torque split up to a maximum rear bias of 50:50 for low traction surfaces. This 4WD lock mode automatically disengages above speeds of 30km/h to return to automatic mode.

In terms of ride and handling, the Sportage features MacPherson struts at the front suspension and a multi-link rear suspension as well as an amplitude selective damper, which facilitates instant reaction in wheel movement and maintains optimal damping and level quality, and offers more precise road contact, better ride comfort and increased handling precision, Kia says.

Inside the cabin, features include full leather seats, a leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, push-start ignition, leather seats, dual-zone temperature control air-conditioner (with ionised filtration), an illuminated and cooled glove box as well as an eight-way electronically powered seat for the driver. Oh, and let’s not forget a panoramic sunroof, which can be partially retracted.

Other items on the list are a six-CD changer with a seven speaker system (two tweeters, four midrange units and a subwoofer) as well as AUX, USB, iPod (cable included, we hear) and Bluetooth connectivity, integrated LED turn signals on the side mirrors, a rear view camera display on the rear view mirror, auto headlights, electronic chromic mirror, a rear parking assist system and auto cruise control.

Besides LED daytime running lights, the Sportage features what Kia calls headlamp escort, otherwise known as get-me-home lighting, whereby the headlamps remain turned on for 30 seconds after the engine has been turned off.

In terms of safety, the five-star Euro NCAP rated Sportage comes with six airbags, ABS, EBD, downhill brake control, hill-start assist control, cornering brake control, brake assist system and a traction control system. It also comes with a 5 year warranty, which Naza Kia says is fully backed by the manufacturer and not a manufacturer + extended insurance warranty plan.

Five colours are available for the SUV, which are techno orange, sand track, mineral silver, bright silver and clear white. Naza Kia is targeting monthly sales of 200 units a month for the Sportage, which is quite conservative given what the SUV is, and offers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• klaka seram on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:34 pm

very nice design & pricing
    well done Naza KIA!

• kitman on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:15 pm

WOW …….too much CHROME!

• b afraid, b very afraid toyota & honda coz d koreans r here!
        itz so much creativity ,design & equipment d koreans r giving,
        d japs r getting boring & pricey lately. this is only d begining of
        the war, cant wait to see d optima k5 soon or d hyundai accent & elantra.

so u japs go get some european designer & change ur styling soon

• Han!h on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:29 am

not to much compared to the American cars though, right? hahaha…

• Ricycle on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Not Naza Kia, it’s Kia did the design, C’mon!!!!!

• ilovesportage on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:33 am

the jap used to be the copier, now i call the korean the copier and innovator….

• The right price should be RM128,888.00. Nazakia is getting greedy now…

• KeretaMayat on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:30 am

Why don’t you just say the right price should be RM1.28?
        It make Nazakia looked more greedy :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • sick&tired on Jun 22, 2011 at 4:23 pm

How about crv then? The sportage is a far superior car if compared to the crv.

The asking price is justified. The amount of kit fitted into the new sportage is even better then the crv.

• Have you tried the new offering? There is nothing great about the CRV and any of honda’s current offering, CRV 30k more just for the brand, after sales also crappy. Am commenting cause i own a HONDA. At least this is well equipped. The only negative i can thinnk of this car is its after sales, but i might be wrong as i dont any of naza’s products.

• CRV owner on Jun 23, 2011 at 6:11 pm

My crv never give me a headache and if I sell the 2007 car today i still make money and can put a downpayment for a new crv..can you do the same with Kia? after sales is ok…service cost is low compared to Proton…try Honda Bandar Baru Klang…they are excellent

• I have no enough money and yet do not want to buy Proton, so settle with KIAsu lah.

• Barkcrack on Jun 22, 2011 at 7:14 am

is this car have a problem with obessity?

• Juan tobiaz fonseca on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:01 am

With all the goodies, i should correct, correct…….. Only concerning about weight if 1.5tone you should face dragging pickup. Korean pickup not so good compare to Toyota. Its facts i watch the video Sonata GDI 2.4 vs Camry 2.4, won by Camry in early stage.

• pelams on Jun 23, 2011 at 1:43 pm

yep,i think toyota’s pickup is superb..i like my toyota vios 1st generation’s pickup..

• maiden on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:14 am

?? is this a pick up or suv? a pick up can pick up a suv, but a suv can pick up a pick up…? pening2

• kadok on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:14 am

want one, cant afford one…

• autobot on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:30 pm

noKIA!

• OMG at 138888 full spec with everything !! Dont think just go and get one !!!! I am a CR-V fan but with these looks, price and specs i am sorry to say bye bye not only for Honda but to all Japanese SUV and maybe to Hyundai Tucson

• That’s right. VERY ATTRACTIVE PRICING and full of equipment man!

I would buy this SUV in a heartbeat. I only just wished it was stretched a bit longer….

• sick&tired on Jun 22, 2011 at 4:25 pm

i too prefer the sportage over the tuscon.

• BN=barang naik on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:43 pm

tucson starts at 129k…1st time in history a kia is more expensive than hyundai!

• The white sportage looks classy. But I need some time to accept the rear look. I personally think that it looks much better if the rear tail lamps can be positioned slightly lower…..

• Mondobijaine on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Tiguan looks similar

• analyst on Jun 22, 2011 at 4:06 pm

if u took out the rear logo, people will be fool thinking its a VW Suv instead. Nah u can guess whose de wise european guy de koreans shouldered to. he heh. simply superb n speechless… real macho suv

• klaka seram on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:43 pm

anyone booked? value for money

• Finerounddclock on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:07 am

I went to Naza HQ last Friday for VIP preview. Saw the one in white & my jaw instantly dropped. It’s a nice car really. CR-V & the likes of it is nothing compared to this one. Without much thinking, I booked the car & numbered first. I think one in black would be nicer but what the heck, white is nice too & it looks sporty. Am gonna get to drive in 2 weeks time!

• Nor for Kia (Nokia) on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:39 am

Ha ha no resale value car, no prestige, dashbord like cheap plastic…
        To invest almost 140k for korean car, better think twice, sure u regret later.

• nah! take 20sen and play far far

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 22, 2011 at 4:37 pm

i add another 10sen, go buy twisties yea kiddo !!!

• sheffol on Jun 22, 2011 at 6:05 pm

i add another 60sen to pay MBPJ meter parking….if not kena saman RM100

• rookie on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:09 pm

why so typical?
          if he can just booked a rm140k car only by looking at it, do u think that he even care about resale values?

and btw, the car was recently launch..
          have u seen it up close to be giving such unfair comments?

• Finerounddclock on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Have you seen the car? Obviously not. Can you name me other cars within the same range of price & having specs at par to it or even higher? Obviously you can’t right? So I suggest that you shut your trap, go to KIA showroom & witness the car yourself with your own two eyes (if you have two eyes that is). If you fail to see & acknowledge how good the car is, I guess you’re nothing more than just another “everything Korean” hater. We look at cars for they’re worth Bro not their names. How do you expect Malaysian roads to be filled with cars of many brands & specs when you’re condemning anything new? & by the way, each to it’s own, your money is yours & mine is mine. Correct?

• blackjkx on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Pls dont tell us that ur beloved T, H and N are prestige pulak.

• David on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Then maybe i should say that the Japs, resale value aside, has one of the most overpriced cars in Malaysia, stingiest equipment list, lacklustre driving dynamics, and not to mention, loads of blind supporters.

Also, i can safely say that you have not even seen the car. I have, as i was walking back from work, which takes me through KLCC, where they’re launching the car. First impressions tell me that it’s smaller than i expected, yet not overly big. Besides, the design is rather classy, if not sporty.

And spending 140k on a Kia is suicide? What about spending 200k on a CBU, UMW imported Toyota RAV-4? Go compare! I would save the 60k to invest in stock options and property rather than pay the extra for the badge. In your face, blind basher.

• Car is not investment, every car will drop the value year after..

• k_man on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:55 pm

must be one of the many worried Jap car salesman…hahaha

• mat nissan on Mar 07, 2012 at 3:19 pm

so fast maa…… i asked the sales, they say delivery min. 5 mths……no guarantee. Very long waiting time maa……

• joann on Sep 22, 2012 at 2:01 pm

is it have built in GPS and reverse monitor system?

• Angra on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:43 pm

The engine has 6 more horsepower than the Sorento’s 2.4. How could this be? I thought bigger engines should be able to produce more power. Great car, but Sorento would be more tempting if it has more powerful engine (200 plus hp).

• BeemerFreak on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:57 am

Sorento has 170 bhp…… so it is slightly more. the 2.4 double CVVT engine we are using is outdated. In Korea the new 2.4L GDI engine produces over 200 bhp

• Angra on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:48 pm

Oh, my mistake. I was referring to the wrong brochure. Sorento’s 2.4 hp is 174 according to Paultan’s earlier report. If the engine is outdated, than its not worth to buy at brand new price. Better wait for the GDI engine version.

• Razor on Jun 22, 2011 at 7:27 pm

GDi version will not make it to our shores due to our petrol grade is not suitable

• Diesel on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm

diesel leh?

• Faris on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Wah habislah H&T after this.
    The korean is the winner!! ^^

• nice design yes,..nice pricing I doubt… AWD, what’s the point..Seldom people needs it in Malaysia for this segment..

• arcana on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:29 pm

the AWD system is on demand, so normal conditions ur driving like a FWD as mentioned…
      good addition i would say….if only the price tag is tad bit cheaper, then its a sure winner.
      anyway good job to kia/naza on this.

• gunigugu on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:58 pm

would have been better if they threw in gps as well..but for that price and specs..it seems to be a good deal indeed

• O for Overpriced on Jun 21, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Them trying to sell this at RM$138,888 is over ambitious.

That is to put it nicely……

• nanashisan on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm

this news is almost the same time as buletin utama announced the news of kia sportage launching here. is it planned or coincidence?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:30 pm

No, taking into account the time taken to process the photos, write the story and post it, the timing is coincidental. :)

• wohooo. very very very very nice design…

Hyundai Tuscon vs Kia Sportage.

Sportage are much much much better !

• jazzer on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:09 pm

terbaek dari ladang!

• deftones on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:10 pm

gosh…this looks brilliant..it makes cr-v looks nowhere..
    these koreans is really on their forms in designing..
    until now i still admire the looks of new sonata (generally koreans)..

i will still believe if the kia badge change to audi badge..hope kia image will change here in our bolehland..

• Nice design and excellent pricing… bravo to KIA..

• Great specs with only 1 omission I can fault – no ESP!!!

And why can’t Naza bring in the diesel?

Pricing is good but the Sportage only makes the Ssangyong Actyon even more value for money.

• According to Naza brochure, it HAS the most advance ESP Pack system with ABS/EBD/CBC/BAS/TCS + DBC/HAS . It is 8-in-one!

• ayamxxx on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm

huh no 2din radio with GPS??

• nolan on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm

very nice inside and out……but the price a bit disappointing….

• Izzit CBU or CKD?

• Mienzz on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:24 pm

The design is look much futuristic,no wonder why the Kia/Hyundai is on par with japanese automaker in these day

• Since it’s here now… can you do a comparison between this and the tucson pretty please… :D

• I will take hyundai tuscon anytime over this.

• asahiyakuza on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Saw it on the road back to JB.. SG plate.. from behind it looks like Audi Q5 wor… good looking SUV . with the LED and all.. KIA progress in term of quality and design really improve a lot this recent years.. started with Forte. Compared to KIA.. the Toyots brand seems really boring nowadays…

• _xXx_ on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:31 am

the similar car is selling at throat cutting price of RM300k in SG now….

• Nice design- no doubt; decent engine- yes though the ‘diesel will set it better than rival; PRICE- frankly, a flaw considering everything about NAZA’s aftersales is “positive”. Even dearer than cousin Tucson?

• ahshuy on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:42 pm

i heard there is only 1 variant. is it true?

• SaifulB on Jun 27, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Yup there is only 1 variant and its the High Spec variant. Saw the SUV last Saturday at Kia Bukit Tinggi…fell in love currently u cant book the car. What you do is pay 1% and apply for the loan if loan is approved only then you pay the balance, they called it queving and the waiting period is like 2 months. I paid the 1% waiting and am for the loan to be approved… :)

• OMG…quite expensive. Nice exterior, but the interior look dull.

• skeptical as u maybe about korean cars, u have to give it to them. they are catching up fast and this car looks awesome

• pugger on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:52 pm

wow…look at the design n features and the PRICE….used to be turned off by korean cars but look at how far they have proved sceptics wrong, especially their design cues! The Koreans have come far from “slowly but surely” to “fast & definitely”!

• farizs on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Any idea how the pricing if the spare parts n service would be like?

• Hey Anthony, are you guys having any future plans of a shootout between the new Sportage, Tuscon, CR-V etc? Very high spec this car compared to Tuscon!

• avante!!! on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:57 pm

at this kind of pricing, I will opt for CRV……………..

• Leong Junior on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:56 pm

wat so good about CR-V?
      CR-V damn boring.
      now the problem i see is NAZA.
      Naza, please improve ur QC & after sales service pls.

• avante!!! on Jun 22, 2011 at 7:38 am

I am a strong supporter of korean car man, but not NAZA!

the pricing is out, when NAZA decided to price like this, there is no difference compare to T&H, overpriced.

small croc vs big croc last time, now almost same size croc

• Avante!!!, you can not compare T&H with this car… Look at the equipment level, you find it in CRV? 6 air bag. CRV give you 2 air bag and another 4 plastic bag and you pay the same price?
          I drive CRV (latest model before)….. noisy car…lag of power and is boring… Sold it change to Kia Rondo 7 seater…. is much more better then CRV. Noise level is better, comfortable and is less the 100k.
          I do have a peugeot also…. One thing I agree with you NAZA services is bad.

• nowaday malaysian people are very banyak duit…some have 2 cars some 2~3 cars some have 2-1+1 car some 3-1+1 car no wonder many new car come even high retail price

• sukasuki on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:17 am

especially when u have 4 wives. 1 for husband, each one for ur wives. so 1+4. not forget if ur children already grew up and goes to universities. lagi tambah kereta. yeah, malaysians are rich nowadays.

• Leong Junior on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:49 pm

avante,

about the price, it is still is okok la.

the only problem is the pricing strategic that Naza is playing. Hope the idiot Naza wouldn’t repeat the same mistake like Naza Ria.

• awg1031 on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:00 pm

wow..nice

• Isaac Cheah on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:00 pm

auto cruise control as in like the Volvo XC60 and S60?

• jalan54 on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:02 pm

The price is a little high than I expected.

• Just as expected expensive price tag, cost more that Tucson – noway hosei, just when KIA sales slightly improved, Naza already getting greedy, just
    Boycot this untill it lower to 125k, not supprise if this going to rebadge into Naza Sportage, so better wait or else suffer huge price depreciation like KIA Carnival/Naza Ria.

• Chuck Jordan on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Interesting idea. How many brands have you boycotted? I’d love to boycott a supercar brand until it becomes more affordable for me.

• Razor on Jun 22, 2011 at 7:31 pm

COmpare apple to apple.

This is cheaper then Tuscon 2.0 High Spec. U dont compare a high spec variant to a low spec variant lah..
      Naza didnt bring in the low spec variant as of now.

• hantumaklimah on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Mission completed for Sportage launching. Next in the pipeline would be Optima. Bring on the K5!

• Atan Senget on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Why this CBU (declared CKD) Kia cheaper than CKD Toyota or Honda???????? Quality? Spec? Engine? Ride&Comfort? Until now I still can’t trust Kia product after bad experience of pathetic Sephia…The quality already improve? Aren’t they?? So, many question and please make me trust this Korean brand…

• friend, I’m driving a forte and altis. trust me. Kia has improved a lot. Naza service.. hmmm…..

• freeze on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:16 pm

No shots of the rear seats?

Prefer this steering wheel over the on in Forte.

Question about panoramic roofs…Is it safe? Let’s say you’re driving in a kampung area, and a coconut falls on the roof. Would it break?

• ANY car if got coconut falls on, also breaks, and have you seen any coconut lately?

same like windscreen right?its safe, dont worry, just buy, let the engineer do the thinking, you layman just buy and drive

• autobot on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:45 pm

without sunroof/moonroof/panoramicroof /whateva pun aku xkan parking kete aku bawah pokok kelapa/durian yg berbuah..

• Cheap looking rim, Cheap looking interior, Cheap looking gearshift, Cheap looking Audio connector, Cheap looking LED light deco.
    Expensive price tag = “Day Light Robery”

• understood u r anti korean car.. but every1 is free to talk anything here.. =)

in case u feel this car too expensive then just give up..
      no1 will force u to buy it, and so no1 will rob u during day light.. just be relax.. (^Q^)

if one car manufacturer provide entry level cheap car with high price, and then put heavy tax duty on others competitor’s car.. this i will call “Day Light Robery”!!!
      Ppl have to buy the entry level cheap car with high price since having limited budget…

• squawk on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:24 am

Have you driven the ‘new’ X Trail? THAT is daylight robbery but CBU Indonesia.

• David on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:58 pm

Excuse me, define ‘CHEAP’. Compared to an Audi Q5? A Volvo XC60? Rolls-Royce? Don’t bullcrap here, Jolo. If you said it feels cheap, then i should say a Rav-4 looks dated compared to it.

And, come on, 138k is reasonable, considering the spec list, design, technology, and the monster warranty. What do you expect then? 100k pricing? If that’s the case, i’d suggest you go look for a Chery dealer, where they’ll be happy to sell you one of their Tiggo SUV’s. Otherwise, look at how overpriced some of the Japs can be. Particularly the CR-V. Jeez.

• jalan54 on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Sorry to say that I never see a japanese car with expensive interior, expensive exterior and worse, no day time running light which is even cheaper but selling in extremely high price.
      Forgot to mention, it makes you and your family lives cheaper by only providing 2 airbags. Good luck for getting jap cars.

• Mission acomplished.
      My entrapment to smoke out Naza Sales Exec works !
      74 vote down & counting.
      The more u all vote down the more people curious to open to read the comment.

• I’m not in anyway related to Naza. But you may have relation with T/H/N .

• this comment show that u have some mentality problem.. u think too much..
        go have a good rest first..

• Car fever on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Brainless Jolo…. I know im too late to comment here. But Jolo comment made me just cant stand… HAHA… JOLO, Although many thinks Kia may not have 2nd value. But who cares, its exterior just looks sexy to me and i have bought 1 for my weekends toys. Who cares about the 2nd value. if you dont have budget. go get your bike.. dont influence others people here…. every car design will just fade off after a few years when new design come out. why so care about it, buy it when you like it. sell it when you dont like it. Not because of got money or not, but it should be simply as this. Admit that you also feel like to change you beloved car soon.

• Hey there, I’m late to this comment as well but after seeing what Jolo post it’s kinda hard to ignore. The Kia Sportage to me is the best and complete compact SUV at the price point sold in Malaysia. Where else can you find a car further more SUV that’s less than 140k with AWD, 6 airbags, ABS, TCS, ESP, panoramic sunroof, reverse camera 5 year warranty and 18 inch alloy wheels as standard. Kia has come a long way since its first introduction to Malaysia and they have improve greatly over the years from quality, design, after sales service and value for money. Compare to rivals like CRV, X trail and Asx, the Sportage definitely better equip and the cheaper price is a bonus. The interior is actually much better quality than most of the cars I see. I know all of the above because I own a Kia Sportage 2012 and I love it. I choose the Sportage because there’s no other car like it at the price point and the value you get is worth better than just a stupid name or brand….yes it’s a Kia but that’s just a name nowadays, You can no longer ignore that they have finally arrive and with style I give you that…

• mizzuddin on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:10 pm

if u say so… then add few more thousands and buy yourself Pug 3008 la mate…

• Gavin on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:17 pm

With no diesel option and gas prices almost certain to jump after GE, i would think the Santa Fe is a better option despite the kia superiority

• vw_fan on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Great value for one of the better cars to come from Kia.

Would be nice If they offered the diesel variant too. 200Nm of extra torque is always a good thing.

• johndoe on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:20 pm

cant even get half tht specs or safety standard on others in tht price range specially local made CKD Japs….a multi INTERNATIONAL Award winning fully CBU SUV finally landed here….

• I agree with you… yet, people still want to compare with T&H without comparing the spec…

• armang on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:21 pm

bye bye CRV.

• Exterior design is nice but interior looks so so. What matter most is pricing on the high side :(

• hantumaklimah on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Mission completed for Sportage launching. Next, Optima in the pipeline. Come on Naza, bring on K5!

• Renault Megane RS on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Bravo Kia ! Model on the left is astoundingly beautiful !

• Machi on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:30 pm

look pretty sexy..i mean the car! of course ladies also making me saliva-ing.^_^

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:31 pm

a lot cheaper than XTrail n Ford Escape.. although that i don’t like korean cars… but they technology and design are much trendy than the japs cars… well done KIA…

• Looking for value for money car on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Ya Hoo! Exiciting……!

• ubikayu on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Nice looking suv…and nice for not wearing those naza logo.

• Jimmy on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:38 pm

High specs one. This Sportage is sold at the price of previous generation Sorento: so you get a slightly smaller SUV but with higher tech and specs.
    Time for CRV to improve, at least must have six airbags and leather seats as standard ya, the next generation, and sunroof as optional accessory.

• linear_system on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:43 pm

i like this..very nice design and features..how can kia give loads of features with less price..wonder..

• ben yap on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:48 pm

very nice design and it looks stylish. can give the CRV & Xtrail a run of its money!

• sick&tired on Jun 22, 2011 at 4:27 pm

at least the crv is not that bad (the interior, not the exterior), but the xtrail is by far the worst!

• Discount 20% please.

• I THINK HONDA CRV SHOULD GIVE 20% DISCOUNT…MAKE IN ALOR GAJAH (CKD)
      WHY MORE EXPENSIVE THAN KIA SPORTAGE CBU WITH A LOT OF FEATURES..WAKE UP GUY! JUST BECAUSE OF HONDA OR T JAPAN PRODUCTS.
      A LOT OF RECALL MAN!

• gracke on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:56 pm

I would like to take this rather than CR-V! Very good looking car…..!

• fauzi on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:03 pm

cun giler…

• Fei Bear on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Quite ok but i think the front bumper, lower part is over-done.

Looks like a frown……

Dash looks plasticky…..

Price is much higher now……

Niche market product.

• Dak's Quacks on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Is this CKD or CBU? The specs is much higher than Tucson.
    Maybe can have a comparison review for them both?

• too bad that the rear light isn’t LED………

• too bad that the rear light
    isn’t LED!

• Commendable effort by KIA, looks good.

But NAZA is pricing it a tad bit high, should be RM133,888 max. Anyway let’s see the sales …..or is gonna be like Tuscon not in great numbers like CRV but some on the road.

• Vincent on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:10 am

End up, RM15K higher than what I am expecting…

• drMpower on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:20 am

that corporate grill, the shreyder grill
    really does it for them isnt it
    because almost all kia products now
    big or small, huge or tiny
    all bear the same grill
    haha

how much they spend hiring peter?

proton should hire one.

• Annoynimal on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:20 am

Its georgeous… me impressed. Looks even better than the CR-V.

• Nor for Kia (Nokia) on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:34 am

R u crazy look better than crv, the interior and dashboard look weird and cheap, too korean.They need to learn how to make more stylish like german and japan car.

• Leong Junior on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:51 am

Nor for Kia,
        u better wake up man.

now is better for honda and toyota 2 learn how 2 make more stylish car.
        Hyundai/Kia have improve it design for the past 5 years.

1 question for u: do u know who is the Kia’s chief designer?

• klaka seram on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:29 pm

cik Nor for kiah
        your comment make me laugh.

• Rulered on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:27 am

Actually not only Korean cars offers better pricing and specs, most of the comeback contis are also giving better specs with competitive pricing over their Japanese counterparts. One have to wonder if we have been taken for a ride by the Japs all these while. The only and only biggest issue face by the relative newcomers is the aftersales, if they can settle this, then I would say the Japs would have to wake up from their slumber. Seems like another kind of Tsunami is hitting em here in Malaysia. Cheers!

• The Epoch Times listed 2.4L petrol auto 6-speed model (not available here) has city/highway FC as 9.5/6.3 L/100km! Impressive!

• Naza brochure listed this model comes with the most advance ESP Pack that consist of ABS/EBD/CBC/BAS/TCS + DBC/HAC thereby earning it 5 star EuroNCAP safety rating! Naza is backing this Kia with FIVE years warranty!
      Again very impressive!
      Wonder whether Ipoh has the test drive car here?

• skiborne on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:51 am

superb design

• skiborne on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:55 am

i wish our market also had it in diesel. why didnt they bring it? anybody knows?

• KIA Sportage is like the GRO quite good looking with all the make-up etc …. yBUT if you want a wifey get Honda CRV … hahaha

• ApaPunTakBoleh on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:19 am

Design wise is very nice but price is high, no free Astro, japanese car better, petrol so expensive prefer diesel, so much complaints.. back to Malaysian car like Proton and Produa. enough said.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:03 am

Back to driving pathetic cars? Come on get a grip……………

• Speed Racer on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:44 am

good value for money compared to crv….looks wise….as in terms of driving feel and engine……..still think either peugeot or honda gonna have the upper hand

• sean111 on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:49 am

Exterior and specs are quite good ..BUT must have DIESEL for better FC and higher Torque; eg. Santa Fe.
    Anyway, Korean cars in Msia have horrible Resale value; so to be able to sell well….. price should be much lower maybe around RM120k or below. Also must consider availability of SPARE PARTS since Korean cars change model so fast!!

• can we test drive it already?

diesel coming soon??????

• First time i saw this SUV on the road and showroom…verrrrrryyy impressive. Very excited and i make decision in my mind to buy this Sportage. Im very lucky the salesman and manager give me to test drive yesterday. But sadly i cancel to buy this SUV after test drive. Verrrry disappointed on Tork and also performance. For me bye bye Sportage. I suggest to test drive first before make any decision.

• Nazim on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:06 am

How does the sportage compare to pug 3008? Anybody test drive both before? Thanks.

• Chuck Jordan on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:57 am

Hahaha! Where did you test drive this car? Which branch/dealer? Which models did you compare with and test drive?

• Japfans on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:28 am

Don’t even know how to lie, so SAD

• shawal on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:45 am

given its equipment list and level of performance, 140k is ‘reasonable’ price for a fully imported car (it is right..?)

This initial prices is aimed squarely to early adopters … next year it undergo the usual ‘price revision’….

• jalan54 on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Believe me, this will not happen. Do you know who is the COO of naza kia?

• Rim sukan macam tak berapa cantik la..

• Car Driver on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:16 am

I think test drive it first. Other gadgets may be impressive but the torque and driveability may not be there as this can be a heavy car .. 18 inch alloy wheels…

• BN=barang naik on Jun 22, 2011 at 8:59 am

the reviews was critical bout its ride…its not the most comfy SUV

• Khairi on Jun 22, 2011 at 8:14 am

For me, I still need to wait for another 10 years to see weather Korean cars are reliable enough. Because for the moment being, the 2nd hand value of these cars sucks. that is the only concern. My dad’s 10-year-old Hyundai Trajet was bought for RM140k back in 2001, last year he sold it for only RM20k. There were lots of problem with that car too. But I think the Koreans are improving in term of quality of the car, so the only problem here must be the 2nd hand value.

• Vincent on Jun 22, 2011 at 8:58 am

Resales Value is depend on demand and supply. Toyota Unser also very poor RV.

Of course, the distributor need to do something to control it. Toyota trademark is one good example how toyota have certain control on their RV.

At this moment, I still not confident that korean car can have good RV.

Naza has done a mistake again on Forte.

They shall not sell launch, the 4 speeder, then the six within 1 year.

They shall wait for another year to bring in 6 speeder..

Naza is only care about selling new forte, they has forgotten that the RV is important to determine number of new car on the road.

At this moment, I think the RV for 1.6, 4 speeder forte is selling only at RM60K. 25% drop in 1st year due to the new 6 speeder….

For Sportage, I believe at least 50% of the potential buyer will go for Japanase sushi due to the uncertain of RV.

• chicarito on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:03 am

hope with all good stuff from Kia and Hyundai these days, their 2nd hand value and market perception will improve. sayangla we dont/cant buy these cars bcoz of its doomed 2nd hand value..

• BeemerFreak on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:58 am

Hmmm my Forte still quotes for Rm 60k after a year. That is less than 15% drop in value, isnt that quite good?

• Leong Junior on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:07 pm

The resale value for Korean car is all cause by the distributors.
      We take Kia Carnival/Naza Ria for example.

When the model was launch, it selling price is around RM160k but when the model is started to phrase out and stock clearance, the price is just merely over RM60k.

So in your opinion, will you buy the second-hand 1 or new 1 if both the price almost the same? This is one of the strategic that I hate about, not only Naza but most of the Korean’s car distributors.

In terms of spare parts, I would admit that the Korean’s car makers should work with more established spare part supplier like Robert Bosch, Siemens and etc.

• Chuck Jordan on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:51 pm

They’re already working with established parts suppliers.

• Leong Junior on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:05 pm

but i merely can find any information about Kia working with the established spare part supplier. correct me if i’m wrong. cheers~

• Cowabunga! on Jun 22, 2011 at 8:44 am

Want $120k?..almost same specs…?but better torque?.
    Want a diesel on that as well ?.

Ssanyong Acyton, with australian engine..

http://www.ssangyong.com.my/actyon.asp

Funnily, there were no BIG launch done… Not sure the dimension of the car, ie:spacious and etc…

Good or NOT…you gotta go to the showroom to test drive.

PAUL and gang….please try to do a shoot-out between these korean rides…
    Tucson, Sportage and Actyon… or compare it with the Japs.

• tommyyeoh on Jun 22, 2011 at 8:46 am

This korean baby suv will give the japs a run for the money.

But anyhow it’s still a korean make reliability and after sales service is mark among potential car buyers.

In terms of engine peak performance is not bad at 166ps but the torque should be better considering it’s a SUV.

If they can improve the engine torque to above 200nm it would be a great car.

Anyhow the koreans are already way ahead of the P company. That’s good it’s gets the people at P to start thinking what’s next.

• Torque??? Its the 2.0 petrol version,what do u expect,… if torque u want, they shud have brought the 2.0 R series diesel too…390nm of it from a 2 liter diesel & good 15km/l FC from an AWD

• maserati on Jun 22, 2011 at 8:54 am

looks good but as usual wont sell well. Look at the tuscon, how many of them can be seen on the road? Hardly any..

Furthermore the price is touching jap territory, so this car is not going to break any sales record.

One more thing, come on lah u guys design ext so nice but interior is totally fugly.

• David on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Ah, you and your typical Korean bashing again. Jeez, hasn’t the hard fact of ‘LONG WAITING LIST’ got into your mind yet?? A Tucson takes at least 2 months to come, no thanks to the plant only being able to produce a certain number of Tucsons a day. And bear in mind that the Tucson, although unable to touch the CR-V in sales, is the 2nd best selling SUV in Malaysia now. Go check MAA and Motor Trader figures to see if i’m lying.

Secondly, what price are you expecting? 100k? 50k? Don’t bullshit around with the price, saying that it’s touching the Jap territory. You forgot that the Peugeot 3008 is already 146k, so 138k is decently priced, considering the design quality, monster equipment list and long warranty. Oh, and can you imagine how much would the CR-V cost if fully imported, and specced-up to the Sportage’s equipment level? A locally assembled CR-V already costs 150k, so you do the math. The Japanese has been taking you guys for ride, come on!!

• jalan54 on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Friend, cool down, just ignore him, he is just another T&H salesman act like he knows everything but he is nothing but just a pathetic person who wants attention.

• hantumaklimah on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:16 am

Well, Sportage launching is done. Next, Optima in the pipeline. Come on Naza, bring on the K5!

• Jaxon S on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:20 am

This SUV is priced at RM141k+ in Sabah, Booked it two weeks ago and was told that it might take months for the car to actually reach the Sabah market.

• JBL_system on Jun 30, 2011 at 12:00 am

Bro where did you place your booking??
      I though sabah havent launching yet??
      And stock heard that is limited
      Im from kk too…

• hantumaklimah on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:30 am

Now that Sportage launching is done, next Optima in the pipeline. Come on Naza, bring on the K5!

• Nor for Kia (Nokia) on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:31 am

An awkward prose style for interior and dashboard. korean style look cheap.
    Need to learn from german or japan for stylist attractive interior and dashboard.

• David on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:23 pm

Cheap? Go get some spectacles, or wipe your eyes dude! It’s designed by the former Audi designer, hence the Audi-Volkswagen-esque design cues in most Kias. Pictures don’t do justice, so go take a look at the actual car.

• Yes agreed, Sportage does look cheap here & there dispite they hire a german designer, copying VW here & there, dashboard was a disaster “Cheap”, Bros Accs source LED deco light cause it look become even cheaper.
      U want to see a real korean designed car ? Proton Savvy, yes that butt ugly car was design by Korean LG.

• Come on all Korean cars look cheap and fugly, not only this Sportage. Own a Korean car really pathetic.

• DewaSemut on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:35 am

Simply stunning… however until my saliva got dried drooling to own one also I simply couldn’t afford it… too expensive for me lorrr… if’ it’s in the price region of RM110K to RM120K not far from previous gen price (haha… daydream!), i might consider selling my 9 years old Waja as the downpayment… haihhh… tonite sleep sure dream of driving Sportage laa… huhuhuu… have to find new job with RM2K above of salary increment to own one…

Thanks but no thanks, Naza…

• tomcat on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:38 am

OMG! she is so pretty!

• samkhairul on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:48 am

wahhhhhhh

• vincent on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:53 am

If 138k for 2.4L engine and 129k for 2.0L engine, I think KIa can basically send CRV, X-trail to grave!

• Hallo… wake up from your ketamine high !
      Kia Sportage RM 138,888 is for 2.0 model.
      Is bloody hell expensive, more expensive than Tucson, CRV will continue to rule Malaysian Road.

• Chuck Jordan on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Malaysian default choice is Japanese. Let’s see how this one plays out.

• Razor on Jun 22, 2011 at 7:39 pm

Hello..wake up..how much does CRV 2.0 cost again?

• ViewerTR on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Will not happen in the near future….

• avante!!! on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:47 pm

IF!!!!!

I want that IF also!!!!

Just hope that K5 will be around there the IF…………

• Just me on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:06 am

Exterior is awesome, and lots of equipment. But the dashboard is a bit out, especially the gear knob. Don’t you guys think the the tail light a bit resembling VW Tiguan?

• Yes, must test drive first… as for me, its good to have all fancy accessories in the cars, but engine are my main concern.. if the car look good but engine are slow responsive, high fc and difficult to maintain.. i rather go for kosong accessories car but with better responsive engine and fc. Accessories can add up one, but engine are the main heart of the car..

• Is there any other better japs SUV? There are many variant to choose and why must CR-V? CR-V is a lousy car after all. Nothing to be impress except for it’s under power and expensive for sales and after sales. Not worth at all!

• Putin on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:26 am

Already half a year gone after the announcement of special tax incentive for Hybrid Car and still no sight of additional models other than the old Prius and Honda Insight :-(

• WhyNot on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Is because P1 is making headline soon. AP for hybird cars are not likely given to this type of new technology car yet!

• Wow…the Korean are putting the japanese to sleep.First the electrical now the AUtomobile.The Korean are coming up like lightning speed.What happen to PROTON? Malaysia muz learn from them.

• and dont forget.. not only automobile, the entertainment industry oso.. K-pop getting cool especially with those hot cute artist.. huahuahua

• its not bad. price in the US is 100k.. so the tax on this car is not too bad.

not like Toyota and Honda. if price is 100k in US, they will charge you 170k.

this car is considered a steal for that price.

• maserati on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Yea a steal when u buy it now, but 5 years down the road you will crying cause nobody wants to buy ur car. And the spare parts will kill u if not the resale value will. Besides whatever engines kia put in forte and this are srsly crap.

High figures on paper but in reality when u drive, feels sluggish and slow.

Forte quoted 60k after one year, yes that is quote price but what is the actual transaction price?

• one two three on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:39 pm

why do you hate kia? are you a kia dealer who was recently terminated?

• why do you hate ppl say kia car no good? are you a kia dealer who is recently taking over from other bankcrupted dealer (due to poor business)?

• jalan54 on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:50 pm

He is a person who knows nothing about car. Ignore him, he just try to create attention.

• 5 years? you are very optimistic, buy korean car and you will run into problem in 3 years time.

• bought one and still using it. After seven years, still drives like new. Just regular maintenance that’s all…so not true when you say they can’t last more than 3 years. It depends how well you maintain it , that’s all. Never mind about resale value. Your car starts to depreciate the moment you drive out from the show room. No issue with spare parts. At one time the rear door got hit and a new door was ordered and arrived in less than 3 days.

• David on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:15 pm

My relative’s Rio, bought new in 2004, has no mechanical problems to date, despite frequent long distanced driving. On the other hand, i’m driving an Accent 1.6, bought last year. So far, it’s clocked nearly 24,000kms and it’s still running fine, considering the fact that i drive to Subang, face the rush hour jams everyday, and have to drive over really rocky car parks (really, no tarmac, just stones and sand, like a construction site). Was involved in an accident with a Mat Rempit, so one month to get the car back watn’t that bad after all, especially when the only problem was the claiming procedures from my insurance company.

As a testament to my satisfaction in Hyundai, my family business required a company car, so when an advertisment came about regarding pre-owned Hyundais, i jumped at the opportunity to try my luck at getting another car from there. Guess what? Within the hour, i’ve found, tested, and finally settled on a 1 and 1/2 year old Matrix, which costed me just 45k, and only 10,000kms on the clock.

Despite all the claims about no spare parts, reliability, both Hyundais have been just as reliable as my Accord and Innova, so the myth surrounding it is nothing bus busted. And, Ajay, if you don’t believe me, go buy one, and own it for 3 years. You’ll be surprised. Don’t just talk cock here without experiencing it.

• aviuuuuuu on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:56 pm

wahahaha,,woit maserati…where u get that quo. FORTE quoted 72k after one year for 4speed..how come u down lagi 12k.. ar u T & H salesman or sales marketing..hahaha…

• David on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Don’t bullshit about resale value Maserati. That’s not the reason we buy cars for, as there are loads more factors we put in before buying our cars.

Mind you, you test these cars with a biased mind, hence all the crap you’re saying. The engines the Koreans have are on par with the Japs, no offence. And mind you, the CR-V feels rather underpowered as it’s a rather heavy car. Drive a Tucson, and try out a Peugeot 3008, and you’ll understand why.

I, for one, know that it’s HARD to find a used Forte, no thanks to the insatiable demand for it. So far, i’ve only found one 2.0 on Mudah.my, and it’s been sold. Same thing goes for the Peugeot 308, and 3008. All heavy in demand, new or used.

Mind you, i’m just a 19 year old guy studying and working at the same time, and money ain’t easy to come, so the Korean cars of the past are real good bargains, provided you service it properly. This is why i’m driving a 1 year old Matrix me and my dad got for just 45k, a company car owned by Hyundai Sime Darby.

And, by the way, i know you are a rich dude who’s got 2 Mercs at home, but please, for god’s sake, not everyone is as rich as you until you can act like a real douchebag and start demonising the Koreans just because you have the ‘Japs Is Better’ mentality.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 22, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Were you the David who asked me about my Forte? Haha either way good one by bashing losers who dont actually drive maseratis.

• David on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Indeed, I’m the David you mentioned. How’re you doing, and how’s your Forte? Recently tested the 6-speeder and was nonetheless, satisfied as the gearbox is a much, much better one than the old 4-speeder. Alas, had to end up with a used Matrix got on the cheap from SD when they were offering their pre-owned cars. Am a happy owner now, just that am trying to get the FC up the 10km/L mark.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:44 pm

was expecting you tom comment. and it did came true. every time a Korean car pops on Paul’s site, negative waves will always be spread from you.

He hates all Korean cars cause he is from the sixties where Nissan was known as Datsun.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Why do you say the theta II engine is crap? Whats the reasoning behind that?

That engine family has been produced by the millions, shared by Mitsubishi and Chrysler/Fiat. Even the Lancer based Inspira runs the same engine in principle.

Granted, its torque delivery could be better on the low end, but its not such a disastrous jobber that you put it to be. I’d take this Theta II over any R or K series Honda mill of equivalent displacement. The K20 in the accord is hopeless. The R20 is just as bad.

Wake up and smell the roses. This ain’t the same Kia that built the Sephia. The Sephia dates back to 1997. This is 2011.

And as for resale value….I would care fuck all for it. I keep my cars well over 10-15 years. At that point, all cars depreciate to the same point. that extra 2-3 k is moot. You think a jap don’t depreciate? Our accord averages 14k per year for the first 5 years. An equivalent Sonata avarages 17k/yr for the same time frame (not to discount that it was cheaper to start). And that was the NF we are talking about, the new YFs should do a lot better. Just look at the waiting list.

• Japfans on Jun 23, 2011 at 1:01 am

We got your message, Korean cars are lousy, japanese cars are best, thank you.
      So don’t need any more shits from the shitter.

• gdsob74 on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:41 pm

Very nice Kia. Finally, some exciting designs in a sea of CRVs.

Not sure about the after sales service of Naza though. That’ll make the car hold value.

Time will tell.

• armandd on Jun 22, 2011 at 12:57 pm

This is a much better than Honda CRV, at a lesser price too. I believe at this stage, the Koreans have already make themselves at par with the Japs, even better than some aspects. In 3 years time, they’ll surely overtake the Japs. People with slow thinking mentality can’t accept this and still worship Japanese cars.. Ironically, this is exactly like the old days when people say Japanese cars were made of Milo tin!

• think I read somewhere that the international model also comes with a twin turbo engine. Anyone knows if this will be available in Malaysia?

• Cant: Where in the US is this car priced at 100K MYR?

I cant imagine Naza ripping us off 140K for a 2.0 version of sportage. With 5% import tax, this car sells for about 70K MYR in UAE, even cheaper in some of the GCC countries for the 2.0. So, we are paying double the price , what a rip off, thats all i can say! Further more, i would advice going for the 2.4 if you want some umph, the 2.0 drives “ok” only!

• Chuck Jordan on Jun 22, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Import duty is 30%, Excise Duty 75% and Sales Tax 10%. Refer to MAA please – http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• manoq on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Guys,

Are the cars that you guys would consider buying now (eg CRV etc etc) instead of this KIA are so bad in features, tech etc that you guys are thinking of selling it after 4 to 5 years?

I think i know why:

1) New models will come in no time,
    2) Nothing much to shout about in terms of features, engine, performance etc,
    3) Too many of them on the road, turn left you’ll see one in black, behind you there’s an uncle driving one in silver poking his nose, and the opposite end there’s one in white.
    3) Too many people in your car club that it’s not exclusive anymore, what with those with the older model and also those with the current one.
    4) It’s not that great or even good anyway, after all this while.

Manoq

• redwings on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Anthony, you forgot to mention the feature, start stop engine button.

Indeed New Sportage looks musculer..cool.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 22, 2011 at 3:29 pm

It’s in there, redwings. Paragraph 11, second line. “Inside the cabin, features include full leather seats, a leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob, push-start ignition, leather seats,” …

• Koren cars are value for money
    when you buy second hand.

• Korean cars are value for money when you do not have extra money to buy the Japanese car.

• don^don on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Naza Kia, y u no diesel???

• nangkung on Jun 25, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Malaysia’s diesel is like…… when you are still living in the 80’s… u know?

• iphone4 on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm

cantik gila, ow ow ow..

new sportage ni.

tp serik nak pakai KIA. byk problem, maintenance terlalu tinggi. sparepart mahal.
    sekali servis (KIA Servis) habis almost 1k . price 2nd value very bad. pengalaman saya bersama Sorento Novus 2006.

then i can bilang only a few OTR nnti.

• Singapore
    Kia Sportage 2.0 = S$ 120,999
    Hyundai Tucson 2.0 = S$ 132,999

Malaysia
    Kia Sportage 2.0 = RM 138,888
    Hyundai Tucson 2.0 = RM 135,053

USA
    Kia Sportage 2.4 = $ 24,795
    Hyundai Tucson 2.4 = $ 26,345

Every where Tucson is cost higher than Sportage, except Malaysia.

So is Naza trying to con us ?
    So is RM 138,888 a fair price ? As i say hold your horses first until Sportage lowered to RM 128,888

• sick&tired on Jun 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm

you are a very manipulative person! the price of the sportage you are showing is the low spec version. This is the high spec version, thats why the price is higher.

• Chuck Jordan on Jun 22, 2011 at 6:03 pm

You need to compare apple to apple. The Sportage here is of a very high-spec level.

• _xXx_ on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:16 am

but dun u think his intention is actually good?

• Razor on Jun 22, 2011 at 7:43 pm

Why dont u compare to a 2.0 Tuscon High spec la.
      So dumb this jolo fella

• Japfans on Jun 23, 2011 at 1:12 am

Jolo is right.
      This car is nice in term of overall, but NAza has basically prevented it to become popular due to the greedy pricing.
      It is really meaningless to have this car in the showroom if you can’t capture the Market share in this segment.
      NAza, want to hire me as your marketing director? I will make KIA the top brand in Malaysia. I m serious.

• jgn takut kia on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:37 pm

do not be scared kia… u will survive and kill those overprced jap SUV

• muimui on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Another cetak rompak of Audi DRL’s

• sorry, it is bald (no hair) not bold.

• nice…. like it!

btw… how about the engine? ppl always said that kia engine is high maintenance.. is it true??

• BeemerFreak on Jun 22, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Not true….. erm well at leaast for the newer engines lar. Why would taxi companies use kia optima and hyundai sonata if they are so expensive to maintain? not only Malaysia uses them, singapore, china, korea, and monay more countries operate taxi fleets using korean cars.

From my experience, Forte 1 halfs years old is still good at 88000km. With regular maintenance( 10000km intervals), which is reasonably cheap (cheaper than Honda and Nissan) , it is still performing like normal.

• Imbhotep on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Hope naza/kia will bring kia sportage CRDi diesel 6-speeds manual very soon…

• wa tatak sombong on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:57 pm

this sportage got nice design and spec too! … but i booked tucson already :D

• u can tarik back the booking fee and book sportage mah… ?

• ViewerTR on Jun 22, 2011 at 4:14 pm

I will buy a korean car when
      1. the brand is perceived to potray higher status symbol
      2. resale value matches the japs
      As shallow as both these reasons may be, they are still what most buyers are looking for when buying automobiles.

• you cheap ppl drive BMW also, ppl will thought you rent the BMW.

its the owner, not the car that define status.

If vincent tan driving perodua, so what? ( of cos he will not, he can drive mazda, he is selling, lol )

• ViewerTR on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:37 pm

You mean they like how you potray your status with your choice of words and “excellent” English? Thank you for the education.

• Rulered on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:29 am

Hello bro, if these two criterias are your only concern on choosing a car, then sad to say that youl’ll be stuck with Toyos and Hondys for a long time (high symbol status? eewww!)…. and yes, it’s lame and shallow. Cheers!

• ViewerTR on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:49 am

Hi, in which sentences I mentioned Honda and Toyota represent high status symbol? Do read again.

• aziemann on Jun 22, 2011 at 3:33 pm

i dah booked it. will get it in early July

• wa tatak sombong on Jun 22, 2011 at 6:09 pm

wah so fast. tucson sooo lambat (i booked on Jan)…sigh

• captain_gaban on Jun 22, 2011 at 3:37 pm

it has the looks of Golf’s rear end…all n all…nice design by Kia..

• Lim Goh Tong on Jun 22, 2011 at 3:54 pm

I bought a KIA Sportage in 2000 and this car sucks from day 1. The car sways to the left. Naza was unable rectify the defect and finally after the 5th trip – the Service Manager told me “KIA Car is like that lah”. I sold off my car within 12 months and lost RM30,000. I have avoided Korean Car since. I cannot comment on Korean car quality. But I have since bought Toyota and Honda cars. The looks is so so but the quality is EXCELLENT and the service is EXCELLENT. KIA Sportage looks nice outside – but you may cry when it comes to reliability, servicing and especially the Resale Value.

• As they say in investment, “past performance may not be a reliable guide for future performance”.
      Most people today do not think twice of Korean brands like Samsung, LG for mobiles and TV as they have proven themselves very well in large numbers.
      Given time and hard facts, Korean cars will also be a top brand with good demand.. it is already happening for certain markets like USA in some segments.

I still cannot understand why most people are willing to pay extra 20k ++ to buy a T/H car for “better” resale value when after five or ten years later will only be able to get 20k++ higher resale offer over a similar Korean car. Factor in higher interest cost of the bigger loan to buy T/H, Korean car gives better net lifetime value. Reliability and running costs during the car lifetime are mostly not much different between the mass production models.

I empathize with your bad experience, but tell me, if you originally bought T/H car at a higher cost, and then sell it off after 12 months because it was a 1/1000 dud unit, would you not then also lose about 30k? What was the reason you had chosen the 1st Gen Sportage? Not all unit then was problematic, it could be that 1/1000 luck.

• Dear Anthony,
    any plan to do a test drive to compare Hyundai Tucson – Mitsubishi ASX – Kia Sportage like ur team did on Honda Accord – Toyota Camry – Nissan Teana? Tq ^_^

• Kia Sportage far better than Ford Escape if you compare with price range.

• I saw internationally it also comes with twin turbo, anyone knows if this will be avail in Malaysia soon?

• it looks like an audi.lol. btw nice interior

• war_ant on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Test drove it and liked it. Booked it and waiting for it.

Strange behaviour from most Malaysians…….already planning on selling the car off (resale value) even before buying it! All cars depreciate the moment you sign on the dotted line. Doesn’t anyone want to enjoy a well engineered, good specced car? You’re willing to spend so much for a car, but you compromise on everything else just for the sake of resale value? So most people will settle for using humdrum T & H for however many years, just to get better resale value. To them the value for money comes in selling it off and not in enjoying you hard earned cash?

Reminds me of a friend who immediately removed all the floor mats on his new BMW. His logic was that when he sold the car off after a few years, it would look new with “new” floor mats!..So he used his car for 10 years with cheapo rubber floor mats!

• Very busybody, people take out the floor mats also you want to comment.

• stupid body, people telling something helpful you also want to kacau

• Well said, War…
      And as they say in investment, “past performance may not be a reliable guide for future performance”.
      Most people do not think twice of Korean brands like Samsung, LG for mobiles and TV as they have proven themselves very well in large numbers.
      Given time and hard facts, Korean cars will also be a top brand with good demand.. it is already happening for certain markets like USA in some segments.
      I still cannot understand why most people are willing to pay extra 20k ++ to buy a T/H car for “better” resale value when after five or ten years later will only be able to get 20k++ higher resale offer over a similar Korean car. Factor in higher interest cost of the bigger loan to buy T/H, Korean car gives better net lifetime value. Reliability and running costs during the car lifetime are mostly not much different.

• CoolKen on Jun 22, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Must agree with the good looks for this car. Saw it since last year, about the same time Mitsu ASX was launched. Took some time to come here though. I must say it is a bit over-priced. Korean cars are cooking up a storm, but my next car must feature a tubocharged diesel/petrol engine, bored of all this normal ICE. Hope car companies would realised this and follow VW’s footsteps..

• when will proton produce any thing of this level of refinement? or the just going to blow hot air only, one stupid engine also takes too long to develop…

• Maserati on Jun 22, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Another idiot here who thinks that Peter Schreyer designed the interior of the current Kias.

Hello ,he only designs the exterior and very very very minor detail in the interior like those buttons and so on.

The main dashboard layout is still done by koreans.Thats why they look hideous.People who buy this car will be very proud when they are standing from the outside admiring their car.

But once they get inside the car,they regret like hell the day they bought the car.Theta engines are seriously rubbish lah.I dont care who uses it.If its good,its good.I have test driven so many cars,even Proton Inspira 1.8 feels nicer to drive than a Forte 1.6.The Inspira engine is just oh so glorious and silky smooth.

And mind you,Inspira engine is an old engine.Looking back at the so called NEW Theta engine,it just shows the gap between Jap and Korean.They are just lightyears apart.

And yes DAvid Pug 3008 is more expensive,but do you know how fun and exciting it is to drive that car? It is blardy fun and the engine is a masterpiece! Smooth revving and power at a tap of the pedal.

And yes David,the reason why you are finding it hard to find a 2nd hand Forte is because no idiot will sell his Forte so early on .If he does,then of course he will suffer huge losses.Its not that the demand is insatiable,its bcuz people are smarter than u.The same goes to the 308 and 3008.Ppl who sell off these PUGs early on lose HUGE amount of MONEY.You think ppl so stupid? Thats y you cant find many on MUDAH.

I once test drove a Forte 1.6 6 speeder and a 1.5 honda city .The forte is OK if you run around town doing 90km/h.Try revving the engine to do 150km/h and it growls like as though its tired and sick like a weak sickling.

The Honda City on the other hand revs freely and I did 180km/h without a sweat.The engine is so responsive and it hardly even feels pushed at 180.I bet without the speed cut at 190km/h,it could do 200km/h +.And did I even mention about the VTEC surge ,you just got to feel it.Ppl who havent felt it will never understand it.Yes the pickup is abit slow but the power at high revs just made up for it.

Tuscon 2nd best selling SUV in Msia?The only reason why it made it up to 2nd spot is because there arent many SUVS out there offered by competitors.How about Forte? Apparently its SELLING “well”.But it cant even smell H&T dust.

Trust me ,this Sportage will receive all the post launch hype,but once things cool off,people will realise that its not worth to buy a car that has good looks outisde but have a rubbish interior and engine inside.Thats why they resort to putting in sunroof,push start and all the GIMMICKS which in reality is not fully utilised.

Cause thats the only way they are gonna challenge the Japs.Without them,nobody will even bother.

And no I am not bias towards any brand.If its good,its good.If its crap,then too bad its crap.

• eddie on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:12 am

Me too. I am not bias towards any brand or comments made by people in this forum. If comments are good, it is good. If it is crap , then it’s crap. Whatever comes from Maserati , they are simply crap

• jalan54 on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:05 am

“The main dashboard layout is still done by koreans.Thats why they look hideous.People who buy this car will be very proud when they are standing from the outside admiring their car.”
      => You don’t like it, doesn’t mean other people don’t like it.

“But once they get inside the car,they regret like hell the day they bought the car.”
      => “They” means who? You??? As what I’ve said, you don’t like doesn’t mean that other people don’t like it.

“Theta engines are seriously rubbish lah.I dont care who uses it.If its good,its good.I have test driven so many cars,even Proton Inspira 1.8 feels nicer to drive than a Forte 1.6.The Inspira engine is just oh so glorious and silky smooth.”
      =>How do you know its rubbish? Have you open up the engine and see what’s inside? Just base on testing drive the car and you know is rubbish, you must be a genius, because as what I know, people who build this engine are engineers, are you one of them?
      You can’t compare city with forte. You must be asking, why can’t I compare that? Simple, city is much more lighter, it is a B segment car with smaller wheels. Also the gear ratio will somehow affect the performance of the car as well. Unless you put the city 1.5 vtec engine in forte and prove that it can still handle well, then only you can compare city with forte, else this is simply your personal preference.

“Tuscon 2nd best selling SUV in Msia?The only reason why it made it up to 2nd spot is because there arent many SUVS out there offered by competitors.How about Forte? Apparently its SELLING “well”.But it cant even smell H&T dust.”
      =>How long have T & H been selling cars in Malaysia? How long have forte been selling in Malaysia. Time frame is one issue and as what I can see now is that the sales for forte is increasing tremendously. I’m not sure whether they can out sold T & H one day, but if T & H Malaysia keeps on the “tidak apa” attitude, they’ll be a lot more people moving on to other brand.

Really, It is not that I don’t like jap cars, it is just simply I don’t see any “WOW” factor. CKD Honda City, CKD Toyota Vios selling at the price of almost RM90k with only 2 airbags and lesser features compare to Forte 2.0. Does City and Vios look any better compare to Forte 2.0??? For me, it doesn’t, it is much worse compare to Forte 2.0.

So if you think city and vios are much worth to buy, go ahead, no one is stopping you, that is your own choice, but just 1 thing, a crap to you might not be a crap for other people, just like city, vios are just crap to me.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:48 am

Totally agreed. These people buy cars because their neighbours bought one. Never liked the City and Vios ever since the first generation………

• japfans on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:28 am

This Maserati guy sounded familiar as this Cybermaster98.
      Both talked only RESALE VALUE and hate Korean cars
      But i think i am enjoying this tread because of this duo.
      Haha.. really good entertainment

• they are not duo but trio….maserati, cybermaster and jolo.

anyway, comparing city 1.5 engine to the forte is a joke. if the overated 1.5 ivtec is so great why don’t honda use it in the civic?
        answer : bcos the 1.5 ivtec is a sick weakling engine that can only power the light and smaller cars like tincan city / vios, not the bigger,heavier civic or forte.

• Kia has a webpage to describe the Sportage interior design development – impressive sportiness and not hideous as it is to Maserati eyes.
      http://kia-buzz.com/?p=4527

• David on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:28 pm

You claim you’re not biased, but look at your comments.

Anything with a Japanese car, wah, very good!! Excellent!!
      Anything with a Korean car-It’s rubbish, lousy performance, will be a sales failure.

What a bloody hypocrite you are. You obviously already have a really biased mind, hence all the garbage comments you’re saying. And the fact that you don’t even OWN a Korean car speaks highly of your utterly pathetic mindset. No one’s putting a gun to your head, asking you to buy the car of like it, so get a life!!

Also, you’re simply comparing the wrong cars in its categories. A City is a B-segment car, whereas the Forte is a C-Segment car, and of course the Forte, being bigger, is heavier, and would be slower. If the engines are that damn lousy, we would’ve definitely moved on to get the better engine available in the car. So no harm done.

Also, people who sell their Forte is mainly NOT because they’ve regretted with their purchase. A few sold their cars as they’re either migrating, or even upgrading to a more expensive car. Most owners, based on feedback from a few people i know, are a satisfied lot.

About the hi-tech features like push button starting, panoramic sunroof, you said it’s all just gimmicks in a Kia or Hyundai. BUT, what if they’re standard in a Toyota, Honda? You’re gonna definitely say, wah, very good, great features, will sell like hot cakes!! Your attitude here in Paul Tan already speaks alot about your incredibly BIASED attitude.

Need i say more? Come on, fight back with your lies, deceit, and spinning. You’ll fall flat. Serves you right, you piece of thrashed douchebag who doesn’t even drive a Maserati, yet act as if you’ve got one. In your face.

• “A City is a B-segment car, whereas the Forte is a C-Segment car”

I think the point is Forte can’t even perform better than a B-segment City.

• David on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:09 am

Same old rhetoric. Go compare a City to a Vios, Rio, as well as a Latio. Don’t compare it to a Forte. Different classes, come on!!

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:36 am

You said this because you know nothing about cars. Try put the 1.5 ivtec engine in accord and see how it performs. Unless you turbo charged or super charged it, it will perform like shit.

Please read properly what I’m trying to bring out here, you don’t get my point. Please don’t act like you are a fast reader because you are not a genius like Dr. Spencer Reid in criminal minds.

• is david and u the same person? but u r right, i know very less about car, my comment is base on common sense, i wrote ‘i think’. since u r so knowledgeable, i am asking u a simple question, does forte perform better than both city and civic?

• nangkung on Jun 25, 2011 at 9:13 pm

@YH.. then, don’t think, bro!

• Knownuts on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:59 pm

r nuts maserati?…u pakai cincai forte 1.6 is theta engine…forte 1.6 is gamma engine…bodohh

• Wisdom on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:56 am

“The Inspira engine is just oh so glorious and silky smooth.”

So low your standard…..

• David, 2 month waiting list does not necessary mean only good sale, it could be limited AP allocation as well.
    CRV 1st place sales 2.5 times compare to Tucson.
    CRV cost 150K, so what ! people r willing to pay for it, becoz that their market preceive value, Chery Tiggo even cheaper but no many want it.
    Korean car cannot price their car any higher becoz it is still preceive as “Cheap” car.
    U can shout & jump all u want but just don’t bull.

• Perceive value is like beauty, it is in the eye of the beholder, and it will go away.
      The days of H is numbered. Another will take over… it is the nature of things.
      We do not need to jump, etc.. Time will tell u what will be, will be.

• ayayayayaya, say what you like, no one cares, you are sad now because Korean are better than Japs.

• David on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Why does the CR-V sell more than a Tucson? Simple. It’s locally assembled, and a percentage of parts are localised, and i would not deny the fact.

And it’s not about the AP issues for this car. That’s bullshit. The reason is because only one, i repeat, ONE plant in Korea makes the Tucson, and demand from Korea, USA, Australia, as well as UK is overpowering, hence the reason why we have to wait at least 3 months for Tucsons. Go check motoring portals from other countries, and you’ll find out why.

Finally, i find people like you with really funny mentalities. CR-V, locally assembled, 150k, stingy equipment list, CAN SELL!! But when a Sportage comes 10k cheaper, comes in a full-spec model, and a 5 year unlimited mileage warranty, cannot sell, overpriced, whatsoever bullshit coming out of your mouth. You think 11,000 Americans buy a Sorento every month just because it’s cheap? Absolutely wrong. Space, driveablity, equipment lists, value for money, improved reliability, as well as the monster 10-year, 100,000 mile warranty speaks loudly for itself.

So, there you go, i ain’t bullshitting, and you’ve just left an open goal for me to kick in. Mind you, i have a Toyota and Honda each at home, and i’ve just bought a second Hyundai, a Matrix, to complement the Accent i have at home. So as an owner who drives day-to-day, i’m chuffed to bits.

Now, Jolo, who’s the bullshitter now? Serves you right in the face for your ignorance.

• Darren on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:52 am

Yes, you are right. My friend a hyundai dealer told me that Tuscon is in high demand and it’s taking a while to get the car.

• “ONE plant in Korea makes the Tucson”

Don’t sound logic to me. Supply could be a factor that affect demand, but the major reason is on demand. The question is why cr-v sell more when the price is much higher with fewer equipment.

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:31 am

It is the perception of most Malaysian? They still think jap cars are better in terms of quality and resale value. But as what I can see now is that more and more korean cars are on the road, which means the mindset of the people here in Malaysia is changing, more and more people are willing to open up their mind and more and more people are will to try new stuffs.

Korean cars might not be able to out sold jap cars, but as I mentioned earlier, if T & H Malaysia still keep the “Tidak apa” mindset with them, they’ll lose a lot of market for the next 5 years. The competition for the automobile industry in Malaysia is moving into a new era.

• “It is the perception of most Malaysian?”

Is this a question or a statement? Number and statistic don’t lie unless you are telling me Malaysian are not that smart, there must be reason why people choose Japanese car and there also reason why more people is buying Korean car. My point is, David reason sound ridiculous, in a world of business, if there is more demand than there will be more factory to cater for the demand, simple, no?

And fact is agent for Korean car here in Malaysia might having the same ‘tidak apa’ mindset, so the new era could be just a delusion, at least in Malaysia.

• Truth vs Bull
      Sorento sold 11k unit/mth = truth
      CR-V sold 2 X of Sorento in US jan-may 2011 = truth
      Tucson only assemble in korea = Bull
      Tucson also assemble in Slovakia, China, Indonesia & Egypt = truth
      Australia best selling SUV is Forester not Tucson = truth
      UK best selling small SUV is CRV not Tucson = truth

Now can u spot David the Bull moo.. moo..

• Paul Tan on Jun 23, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Assemble and manufacture are two different things. CKD pack still need to be manufacturer for support plants to assemble it.

• David on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Big corrections Jolo. You’ve tried to spew more lies, but you left the ends untied, which enables me and other car lovers to bash you easily.

The Tucson ONLY has three production plants:- Korea, Slovakia, and China. There’s a big catch to it, though. The Slovakia plant only, i repeat, ONLY makes Tucsons for the European market, whereas the Ulsan plant produces for the rest of the world. And China only produces Tucsons for its own consumption only. If we’re talking Egypt and Indonesia, it’s only an assembly line, where CKD packs have to be brought in from Korea. Just like our 2nd generation X-Trail, where it’s also assembled in Indonesia. Truth? Your version of truth has been all but extinguished.

We’re not talking about best-selling SUV’s here, we’re talking about the demand of the Tucson, damnit. You should know that in the UK, most people are still waiting for their 2.0 CRDi Tucsons, and, as a consolation measure, Hyundai is offering a 1.7 CRDi version of the Tucson which they can purchase first, then swap, and pay the price difference to get the car they’ve actually ordered. For Australia, have you even checked the waiting list for a Tucson? A year. Yes, 365 days!!

It may not be the best selling SUV in these countries, but, most importantly, they’re working overtime to give people alternatives, not become sales leaders. As well as become brand perception changers.

Need i say more? Look at you, calling me a bull, making stupid noises, as if this is a kindergarden. Go back to school if you want to act this childish, of if you want to give statements, proclaiming it as ‘FACT’ when it’s not.

P.S-In the USA alone, the Toyota group (Toyota, Lexus, Scion) narrowly outsold the Hyundai-Kia Group during the first 4 months this year. By just 1000 units. Fact spinning? Paid by the media? Ha, it’s only bedfellows like you and Maserati who choose to ignore such facts, and opt to make lies and deceit.

So, come on, got any more ‘FACTS’, or shall i say, lies, to throw? You’re going to give me more firepowering ammo to shoot you back, with the more lies and sweeping statements until you’ve run out of steam. Serves you right. In your think-skinned face.

• Kumar san on Jun 27, 2011 at 4:45 pm

David,it’s just pointless wasting your time with the Jolo.Just wants attention.Leave him be.

Cheers.

• nurmisnan on Jun 22, 2011 at 8:30 pm

awesome… same like NIssan Dualis

• Like most Korean models, it boils down to spare parts availability especially at 3rd party service centre.

T/H faces less of this type of problem.

Japan tech also not inferior to Korean n fuel economy better as body is lighter in Malaysia.

• i use to have a korean mpv, parts are really easy to get and the prices are cheaper than local made cars..had it for 5 years and the interior had no creaks evenn to the day i sold it…no issues, super reliable, changed brake pads, timing belt and rear absorber..all parts were korean and very cheap..korean car with hyundai engines only lah not the ones usings mb engines or crap rover engines (naza ria)..i would stay away from korean chevy’s though..

• Agree with you Jojo. I own sportage, and when I need spare part, it is always available. How the heck people said lack of spare part for korean car? R they really driving one or just …. lost??

• jakbina on Aug 14, 2011 at 11:20 am

It’s funny that people complain about high maintenance cost of Korean car.

For 10KM service for Sportage it costs me RM229.65 and RM289.10 for my Myvy.

• sukasuki on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:49 am

jojo, did u mean hyundai trajet? i ever drove it once, rented from Hertz KLIA, going back from KL to JB, 160kmh fully occupied and lots of bags, still have the grunt of power. unluckily hard to find one back in kuching. so my dad stops his planning to own one in kuching and get pajero for family car. i do admit hyundai is a good car.

• Korean makers has come a long way from scratch to where they are now days. Don’t assume the new sportage will be the same quality and reliability with all their first crappy models. Technologies are no longer trade secret like those days anymore.

Resale value will be determined by the people’s perceptions. It the car makers can assure its quality, reliability and after sales service consistenly, the value of a car will be for sure maintained.

Overall, this piece is a killer for the price. The only thing to watch out will be its reliability after a few years. All the best Kia!

• niuhje on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:31 pm

kia n other korean built upping the ante… definitely their time to shine. Jap marquees need to buck up or they’ll be left behind soon. hopefully d new civic variant is able to get the pulses racing to keep up. Well done kia, keep up d good job. when is the new picanto coming, tho, paul?

• mini cooper freak on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Wow!! very nice……..girls.

• U 3 Do Re Mi (sick n tired, chuck jordan, razor)
    I am comparing highest specs of Sportage & Tucson.
    It an korean apple to korean apple comparison.

Razor, Tucson highest spec is 2.4ltr model but Sportage only c/w 2.0, so i am using high spec 2.0 Tucson compare with Sportage, do u undersand or u need a reading glass.

• Razor on Jun 23, 2011 at 2:23 pm

theres a tuscon 2.0 high spec and low spec la JOLO!

• Razor on Jun 23, 2011 at 2:26 pm

U are the one who needs reading glasses. I suggest u go read up about the tuscon, their 2.0 have 2 variants. 1 High specs with many features, another 2.0 Basic which only cost 129k. OMG

http://paultan.org/2010/04/28/hyundai-tucson-to-be-launched-next-month-price-to-start-from-rm126888/

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has announced that the new Tucson will be launched next month with prices starting from RM126,888 OTR for the base 2.0 Low Spec. This model features a petrol Theta-II engine with dual continuously variable valve timing and makes 164hp. There is also High Spec version of the 2.0 liter that costs RM136,888 OTR.

Ignorance is not an excuse for illeteracy

• Razor on Jun 23, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Jolo the Bull.

• jalan54 on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:17 pm

lol, the next time you say something, please make sure you know it and just not base on your thought. Do more research else people will bash you like hell… Anyway, you are a good entertainer, I laugh until my tears out… lol

• karim on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:32 pm

OMG OMG OMG
    Oh menarik giler KIA sportage..
    well maybe after 2 or 3 year save money and get loan from bank to get this awesome sportage n tapau the CRV S_ks

• complainin / concerned about RV or price = cannot afford such cars = look for cheaper cars, don’t waste bandwidth.

• wahid on Jun 23, 2011 at 2:31 am

if kia product the smaller version of sportage that would look like vw golf

• dRwh0 on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:33 am

Went to showroom yesterday..didn’t spend much time..generally..new sportage is SUPERB..!!!

• japfans on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:40 am

Sum up this, the new sportage is a very beautiful SUV comparable to the Japanese. I think the techs and reliability are not far apart of both. However in order to capture a bigger market share, Naza has to price it at a reasonable max RM128,000 due to the people perception on Korean cars history in Malaysia.

• squawk on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:42 am

I once borrowed a friend’s new Tucson 2.0 high spec as I had to bring some guests around and needed something bigger than my car. From the few days I had it, I admit it is plain in some aspects but impressive in others.

Dashboard isn’t spectacular but is fuss free and easy to use. Dash top looks hard but is actually padded plastic. Doesn’t bother me as I don’t squeeze the dash every time I sit in the car. The material reminds me of the Accord’s dash anyway and it’s much better than the X Trail. But I don’t think it can beat the X Trail in rear storage and the armrest feels too short.

2.0 engine had sufficient power but could do with a bit more push at the start. 6-speed gearbox is good and very smooth. It had a manual shift function and I did do some upshifts at 2k rpm without problems. Overall with about 50:50 city-highway driving, I got about 9l/100km (can’t remember exactly) with 4 adult passengers. I believe the Sportage shares the same engine and gearbox.

None of the passengers had been in a Hyundai before and they were also surprised with the quality and performance. One actually had fun looking at the electronic compass on the rearview mirror. :-)

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Ask the salesmen about the fuel consumption, sure they will quiet and you have the moment to surprise,not power to surprise!!

• Razor on Jun 23, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Thetha II engine is quite good on FC lah..
      The Forte has pretty good FC.

• Nice looking SUV with even nicer accesories. Any idea when the Optima will arrive?

• any idea when Optima will arrive?

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:07 pm

K5 (Optima) Coming September 2011, heard Kia dealer say around RM130k++!! Another value for money car.

• Who had place booking for the Sportage R??
    When is the delivery date the SA told you??
    Is it 2week??1month??

And i saw KK Sabah also got ppl place booking already…
    How could that be??As KK here end month only launch and i called the SA saying that havent open for booking…..

• Dipak on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:07 pm

All korean car looks cheapskate.

• Audi's on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Just work harder and get a Q3. This is a piece of junk. Audi is the best.

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:22 am

lol… so funny you…
      Why not work your shit out and get X6???

• vansgoh on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:23 pm

What a joker, he wants Audi, and you ask him to get an X6, why don’t you sell your wife and get a RR.

• JasonTBH on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:43 pm

Congratulations to NAZA for bringing in again another 6 airbags vehicle into Malaysia. With a price tag of only RM 140k NAZA is able to provide a vehicle with most important of all curtain airbags which will save rear passenger lives especially when we are ferrying our little loved ones.

KUDOS to NAZA.

• bystander on Jun 25, 2011 at 12:26 am

mana test drive? got two questions, 1: this sportage is CKD or CBU? they never mention in brochures but the salesman said CBU only for first 200 units, i’m not convinced bcos it carries a KIA badge just like a sonata carries a Hyundai badge. 2: i saw in tubes tt the rear light part on the rear door is illuminating when braking but the showcar i saw only got dummies tt got no light on, so what we got here is stripped down?

• Seriously it is an “ouch” to ASX, CRV, X-Trail, RAV

• LucioLaciel on Jun 25, 2011 at 8:52 pm

i’ve seen this in Melbourne last year July/Aug…love it instantly first look~ finally it’s here
    I’m definitely getting this next year~ budget busted this year. sigh!

• looking for 1st SUV on Jun 25, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Have been driving sedans, now thinking to get a SUV. I just require a basic affordable SUV that is safe and drives comfortably on the road and highway. Considering the 2011 Suzuki Grand Vitara or 2011 Kia Sportage or equivalent.

Any advice on which SUV is the better off?

• Grand Vitara is cheaper than Sportage, and that’s about the only advantage it has over it. In every other aspect, I think the Sportage trumps Grand Vitara (and most other SUVs) – it’s all based on your budget – if you can afford to pay a little bit more then go for the Sportage. It’s got better engine and loaded with features that you won’t even find in the more expensive models. I’d suggest grabbing the information labeled under Specs on both (you can find this on KIA & Suzuki Malaysia’s website) and comparing it side by side. You’d get a better idea.

• Kumar san on Jun 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Go for the Sportage bro.It’s a clear winner here.Enough said.

Cheers.

• looking for 1st SUV on Jun 27, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Thanks Marx and Kumar. Will go test drive the Kia Sportage and see how it goes.

• David on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Well, if rugged is your style, the Grand Vitara suits you well. It’s better to drive than the Sportage, IMHO. Besides, even in 2WD guise, it’s rather grippy, too. And the materials inside feel more like they’re built to last, which is good for such a rugged SUV. Plus, it also comes with 3 years free maintainance, if i’m not mistaken.

Still, the Sportage is another favourite of mine, where its styling, drivetrain, monster equipment list attracts me as well. Both winners here, equally great cars.

• Marcellinus on Jun 26, 2011 at 7:07 am

Went to Naza Kia Showroom….WOW…the car really awesome….I agree some of the comments saying Jap car design is so boring….

• Erwan Billy on Jun 26, 2011 at 9:33 pm

This one will sell very well

• aisha on Jun 26, 2011 at 10:48 pm

kt malaysia ni,kia xde harga klu nk jual blk. rugi je beli kia. dhla minyak kuat!

• Kumar san on Jun 27, 2011 at 12:26 pm

This is a clear winner from Kia.Nothing else in it’s price category or segment can even come near it in terms of standard specs,equipment level and sheer value for your money.

Given time with the improvement in after sales support,it will give the CRV a real hard time and a run for it’s money.A brilliant product from Kia.

Cheers.

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwtkD7Y5cyM

Check out the video version of the Auto Express Group Test of the new Kia Sportage v 2WD Freelander v BMW X1 from February 2011

• Actually I’m still waiting bank approve for me..this car really awesome…

• I just got my new sportage yesterday, from front to back, side and topview all are awesome. Still not use to the keyless start/stop, always look for key whenever I want to stop the engine. The ThetaII engine is so smooth and quite and at one point I forget to switch off the engine, I thought it’s already been switched off. What I should say is : Go for it, you are making a right choice.

• looking for 1st SUV on Jul 02, 2011 at 10:43 am

No chance to test drive the new sportage yet, can share with us how is the ride? Some websites posted issues with keeping the sportage moving in straight line and also when reversing, the rear window is a bit small and affect visibility.

• Eason Leong on Jul 06, 2011 at 12:01 am

where all the old comments go?

• mghong on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:05 am

I just went back from Seoul , Kia really make alot of improvement .

Compare with Potong A Malaysia car with Hyundai , Kia , Samsung.

I believe Proton Saga (1st generate) was earlier then Korea car still we loss Korea car < 10 year technology.

Really disspointed , if w/o those silly tax i think potong is going to close shop.

Anyway i'm shortlist this sportage for my next family car , and Optima as well..Both look and feel better when i'm in Seoul.

It can't be wrong because Kia car was use as Taxi as well in Jeju (prove to work harder)…ahahha

But watch up for Hyundai Sonata Hybrid ..which might cost < 100k if manage to bring it.

• Finally got my New Kia Sportage. Before that was comparing CRV, Tuscon. Test drive Sportage, CRV , Tuscon. No regret getting Sportage. From my test drive, I will said is on par with CRV. And wins out in all the gadget. CRV is only I-vtec , sportage is DUAL CVVT. Korean now is on par with japanise in term of technology.

• Manfred on Aug 30, 2011 at 1:09 am

Recently went and i had test drive KIA Sportage throughout the KIA roadshow at Queensbay penang. The looks is truly amazing, from interior to exterior. And paying at this price is truly valued for money. No doubt so many ppls stopped me to buy KIA products. No resale value, problematic car, poor quality of KIA.
    For me, i would say, it is really bad experience that all ex KIA Caren, KIA Spectra, KIA Citra and make all the ex owner losing confidence of KIA products. But give KIA a new try, I can see they put on efforts of improving their branding. In terms of Quality we need times to see their results. Those who supported Japanese car, please stay away if u dun like Koreans car. I strongly believe Korean will win Japenese Technologies one day.
    Although Japanese is still winning at the moments, don’t be so confidence, way to go. Nobody will win forever!!

• Goldnugget on Sep 21, 2011 at 1:25 pm

I wonder… how is the Fuel Consumption of Kia Sportage (Treue Malaysian Driver with this SUV)…in town driving? Am driving Hyundai Matrix… and RM80 can last me 320KM…… RM0.25 per litre… :( is like drinking Coca-Cola… :( anyone can share?

• SpeakToMyself on Nov 11, 2011 at 9:53 am

I was thinking to get this new suv despite many unneccesary comments from the viewer. But, that ok for me. Different people have diff views on the car, as well as to the brand. That due maybe to their own experience, feedback from peers and many other factors. So, can live with it. For me, this car owesome as a new generation of KIA breakthru. Thinking to have a test drive & feeling driving this suv but most of the showroom have no available units. Some said maybe early next year will made available of the unit. Spotted 1 yesterday & the looks really fabulous. Peace…

• danisherica on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:28 pm

KIA now is totally different with before..dont compare with “OLD VERSION” KIA..

angry people with KIA is a owner of OLD VERSION KIA with so many problem..(i guest)

KIA marketing strategy, product quality, branding now is totally different! They are strongly confident to sponsor so many big event like WORLD CUP, EURO CUP, OLYMPIC etc. infact the designer for KIA now was at AUDI before..

i dont have KIA SPORTAGE now, but soonest i will buy!

KIA & Hyundai now is running same ‘speed’ with Japs Brands..!

• sportage6777 on Nov 16, 2012 at 8:53 am

The best car i ever had.mabeles beb with all d features include if compared with crv.just sell my 2010 crv and get only 80k for after 2years.honda nowdays are much more worse for 2nd value.crv is the loser design 4 me after i driving my new sportage which have more power n better handling n fuel consumption are much low compare with crv..

• jacksparrow on Nov 18, 2012 at 11:55 pm

The best car i ever had.mabeles beb with all d features include if compared with crv.just sell my 2010 crv and get only 80k for after 2years.honda nowdays are much more worse for 2nd value.crv is the loser design 4 me after i driving my new sportage which have more power n better handling n fuel consumption are much low compare with crv..

I’ve book one….
    Sadly, need waiting 2 month
    Huhuhu….

• sKy3055 on Aug 05, 2013 at 9:14 pm

Hi guys…..
    I m owned imported Toyota rav4….. My heart is crying to say “maybe I will visit Kia showroom for this sportage……huhuhu