Renault Mégane R.S. 265 Trophy sets a new FWD lap record of 8’08” at the Nürburgring

Records are meant to be broken, and with that do we come to a new one set by Renault’s latest wunderkind, the Mégane R.S. 265 Trophy. The car has set a new lap record for a front-wheel drive production car at the Nürburgring, almost three years to the day the Mégane R26.R established its lap record for a FWD production car at the Nordschleife in June 2008, with a time of 8 minutes 17 seconds.

Last week, the R.S. 265 Trophy clocked 8 minutes 8 seconds to break the R26.R‘s record, which has stood since then. The time posted at the Nürburgring puts the Mégane R.S. Trophy on par with an extremely prestigious list of supercars, with a level of performance rivalling that of vehicles with power outputs of up to and beyond 500 hp.

“The Nordschleife is a legendary course. Its difficulties are extremely varied, ranging from fast and even very fast in places to much twistier and slower portions. Turns like ‘Karusell’ and ‘Pflanzgarten’, for example, make huge demands of the car and driver alike, yet the Mégane R.S. Trophy is very much in its element here and feels particularly reassuring despite the uncompromising nature of the terrain,” said Laurent Hurgon, development driver at Renault Sport, who took the R.S. 265 Trophy out on its record-setting lap.

“The limited slip differential allowed me to accelerate hard out of the countless turns without understeer. The carefully-tuned Cup chassis, the dampers, the fade-resistant brakes, the Recaro seats, the power of the 265 hp engine, the ready availability of torque between 2,500 and 5,000rpm and the car’s Bridgestone RE 050A (235/35 R19) tyres allowed me to make the most of the car’s enormous potential, especially into and out of the corners. It is this package which enabled me to post such a quick time round this circuit, which you must always approach with a certain degree of humility,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kumar san on Jun 21, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Brilliant..i really want to own this car,if at all it comes here.There is just no contest for this in terms of front wheel drive chassis nirvana.Enough said.

Cheers.

• carcoon on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:39 am

It’s been here quite a while already la bro… read more paultan.org.

• Kumar san on Jun 27, 2011 at 10:46 am

I meant this version bro,the RS265 Trophy,not the RS250 CUP which i know has been here for quite sometime.I have sampled the RS250 CUP too many times as my best buddy who’s here and younger brother in the UK own one each.As a matter of fact they both bought the CUP after i strongly recommended it to them.This would be the version to get so i’m contemplating whether to get it new here at stupidly expensive prices or to get a used from the UK.

I’m a diehard fan of Renault Sport cars.I own the only 1993 Renault Sport Clio Williams in Malaysia,brought in from the UK with my brother’s help.Till this day,it still runs rings around many modern “hot hatches” whenever i take it out for a good hooning..cornering hard and tipping on 3 wheels trademark.The look on the boy racers faces after they pass me when i purposely slow down on the straights is priceless..and for those in the know,it always never fails to gather a crowd of enthusiasts asking about it even when i fuel up at pumps..and no,it’s never for sale..hahahaa..

And i have been commenting on paultan.org since day one.Thanks for your correction anyway.

Cheers.

• I wonder anyone has brought the Honda Civic Type R Mugen (Euro or Jap) to Nordschleife? Would be interesting to see the time!

• armandd on Jun 21, 2011 at 7:31 pm

That surely would be interesting. But I dare to bet RM1000 that even the civic type R mugen RR would be at least 15secs behind this Renault in the Nurburgring.

• fast leh!

• sfssd on Jun 21, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Anyone speak French?

• NONICKNAME on Jun 21, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Nampak cam tak laju je.. No thrill!

• wow… faster than the bmw 1M? oh man…

• lchan on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:14 am

Great driving!

• Dr. M on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Both Renault Megane RS and RS 265 Throphy are really fast and good handling. Both have better lap time than Scirocco R.

To have this competing with Scirocco R, will be a hard for buyers to choose. Get both if you have $$!!

• GT Driver on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Dude! Where’s your gloves?