Michelin Energy XM2 tyre launched in Malaysia

Longer life, improved fuel efficiency as a result of less rolling resistance, and maximum safety. When it comes to tyres, usually things are centered around one aspect, and rare is the donut that touts all three at one go.

That, however, is what Michelin says its new Energy XM2 tyre offers, an equal proportion of all three. Officially launched today, the new donut replaces the Energy XM1, which has been around since 2004, and is targeted to continue to build on the brand’s overall double digit market share. It’s aimed at the compact and lower-mid size passenger car segment.

Michelin Energy XM2 tyre launched in MalaysiaThe line with this one is that it lasts 20% longer than the XM1, so that means that it’ll offer more kilometres of travel over its useful life. The Alternating Bridging Technology used in the Energy XM2 reinforces the rigidity of tread blocks, resulting in the tread block moving less freely to help reduce the rate of tyre wear.

Having evolved from a hybrid compound that was used in the XM1 to a full silica compound, Michelin says the XM2 offers an 8% reduction in rolling resistance and thus, fuel savings as it goes along.

The company says that reduced fuel consumption is achieved as the full silica used in the rubber compound reduces friction between the rubber particles generating less heat. With less heat generated, less energy is lost, not only reducing fuel consumption, but increasing the tyre’s flexibility, thereby improving road holding.

Which is where the maximum safety bit comes in – the Micro Adaptive Compound means the tyre adapts itself better to the irregularities of a road surface and thus, offers improved grip levels.

Elsewhere, the design’s Optimum Void Grooves can evacuate up to 20% more water compared to the XM1, and a higher volume of water evacuated at a faster rate lowers
the risk of hydroplaning, always a no-no.

The company believes it has a winner in its hands with the new donut. “The Energy XM2 has all the necessary attributes – 20% more mileage, additional fuel savings with no compromise on safety – to compete within the compact and lower-mid size passenger car segment that accounts for 80% of all cars sold in Malaysia,” said Michelin Malaysia’s MD Yves Pouliquen at the launch.

There are a total of 22 sizes in the lineup, with fitment across 14- to 16-inches and 175 to 215 widths, and prices for the Energy XM2 range start from RM217 for a 14-incher to RM488 a pop for a 16-inch version.

[table id=6 /]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Samuel Schick on Jun 22, 2011 at 8:51 pm

mehhhh

• viosturbo on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:13 pm

hope it doesn’t scream as much as the current xm1

• Nice… but RM488 for 16″ !?!@!?

• Miwqa on Jun 22, 2011 at 9:38 pm

super..expensive

• tyres last 20% more but price increase 30% more? damn

• joe OMG on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:36 pm

i’m stick with turanza ar-10

• khairul_hilmi on Jun 23, 2011 at 7:24 am

agreed. most probably the best tires… value for money… any1 with me?

• I use Turanza AR10. I am happy with it. If got money, I wanted to buy GR-90.

• Middle Lip on Jun 22, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Yup, XM1 was pretty LOUD! No mention of Noise during launch? So is the Noise Level down with XM2?

• purrcy on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Really? When my Persona tyres worn out I changed to XM1 and was happy with the lesser noise than the standard conti. Maybe just my ignorance because never tried other tyres. :p

• beatnik on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:33 am

Of course, the new XM1 is more quiet than the worn CC1. When CC1 is new, it is quiet too.. lol.. later when the XM1 is worn out, it’ll be noisy as well!

• pual tan on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:33 am

I m using XM1, i check the noise level beside the XM1 after i parked my car. very quiet tyre.

• nabill on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:30 am

this price range my prefered choice is the Falken 912…grippy on dry AND wet roads…not much noise….

• Falken 912 is very quiet when new but getting quite noisy with 40% thread less. Also the performance in wet is not good.

This XM2 is really expensive, wonder how it fair against the Primacy LC.

• Critique on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Yup am happy with my 912’s..

Am a bit skeptical that the claimed fuel efficiency capability warrants an RM 217 entry price for a 14 incher.

Any XM1/XM2 users out there would like to share on their experience with regards to any fuel efficiency attributed to the tyre?

• goodyear eagle f1 for me :-)

• RM217 -RM488?? no wonder so many P1 owners use recond tyres!

• ben yap on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:42 am

that’s super expensive. RM217 for 14″ tyre. Many people on the budget will still go for Silverstone M3 for only about Rm145 (last check 2 mths ago) for the same size.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm

How can u possibly compare a Michelin XM2 with a Silverstone M3?? They are worlds apart. Silverstone is considered an economy brand. Not even a mid range tyre while Michelin is a premium brand the same class as Pirelli. Do compare the techology difference between the 2 tyres and ull know why the price is so different.

• vincent on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:51 am

XM2 is a entry level Michelin tyre, I find the 14 inch one is kinda pricey!

• kenji1903 on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:57 am

i’ll go for PS3/Primacy LC any time with XM2s priced like that…

• Out of Luck on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Is Primacy LC better than XM2 e.g noise, grip,FC? Currently using Primacy LC, thought of changing to XM2 if it’s better. Can anyone with experience on these two tyres share your opinions with us?

• vincent on Jun 23, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Premacy LC is higher grade than XM2, changing from PLC to XM2 means u are downgrading your tyres. The name Premacy already sounds like Premium. :) XM2 is for economy car, that is also why can find 14-15inch size.

• SoMeOnE on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:14 am

my high performance hankook v8 ventus tires cost 300 bucks for a 17 incher…this is daylight robbery…..not to mention i have covered about 40 k km in it and i it was only last week that i rotated them….

• cybermaster98 on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:19 pm

This is the rating for XM2 in UK (also known as the Saver):

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Michelin/Energy-Saver.htm

• Just me on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:24 am

Just curious about the claim that it offer better FC. How significant is this since all tyre still round. Anyone can shed some light on this?

• Thrust on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:56 am

XM2 tyre has less rolling resistance. This will reduce the burden on the engine to push forward the car thus offer better fuel consumption.

• nabill on Jun 23, 2011 at 12:05 pm

those price are Recomended retail Price la…..any tyre u buy oso u see a factory sticker has a funny price….

• I find michelin after sales support wanting especially on tires availability, especially when you need an emergency replacement.

I had a bad puncture a month after fixing a set of Latitude Cross for my 4WD. But I was unable to get a similar replacement tire to replace the damaged piece. Eventually, I settled for a brand new Latitude Tour HP as temporary replacement as I was in KL. To add to my woes, when I decided to change the Latitude Cross (although it was less than a month old) to the Latitude Tour HP back in Penang, my regular Michelin shop told me the Latidue Tour HP was not available that is even after waiting one week for them to make an order from KL!

I had previously used LTX AT2. I am happy with it; silent, performance and road holding is good. Clocked 100K km inspite of frequent trips to Kuantan and Penang. Same story here. when I wanted to change the LTX AT2, I was told the LTX AT2 are not available and instead recommended the Latitude Cross.

• cybermaster98 on Jun 23, 2011 at 1:09 pm

I changed to XM1 in 2009 after using NCT5 and found a huge difference in ride comfort (noise) and braking power. In hard braking, i used to skid at times when i was using NCT5 but with the XM1, not once have i skidded under hard braking. But of course i know that if any harder sure will skid but im just making a general comparison. Durability is also good. My XM1 tyres now still have ample thread despite being almost 1.5 yrs old (and i do drive alot). Trust me it is a good non high performance tyre for medium sized cars.

I have now changed 2 front tyres to XM2. You can easily get the 175/65/R14 for RM 200 only (inclusive valves & balancing) at Lim Tayar or Tyrezone in KL. RM 217 is just the official price.

• smokey on Jun 23, 2011 at 2:04 pm

hows the noise compared to NCT5? i cant stand the noise of my NCT5 liao!!

• just a tyre, why so serious?

• Why so serious? When you go for a renown brand and to be let down by availability issues, I feel cheated. Moreover, four pieces of the Latitude Cross costs me over RM2K; whilst the Latitude Tour HP costs is RM550 a piece, and I am stuck with until my next tire change! And hopefully, I am able to get the Latitude Tour HP then…Damn!!

• blackjkx on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:34 pm

Brand wise, used Kumho,Nankang,Brigestone, Falken and latest one now is Michelin.I think will stick to this brand. Why? Simply the best

• Michelin never disappointted me! I love it!

• transformer on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:17 pm

tyre compound will deteriorate upon use…. will its 30% last longer withstand our climate…?
    At Rm200 for a 15″ pop are quite expensive….

• sinchan on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Tayar sotong size 18 Michelin mai sini satu…

• Cikgu Matematik on Aug 30, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Just changed my car’s tyres to XM2 185/60/14,all four of them. Rm800 4 pcs Xm2,Rm20 4 pcs Tubless Valve,Rm 20, 2 wheel alignment.Total=RM 840. Free one year Nitrogen refill.
    I did saw the sticker at the tyre that written Retail Price=RM 217. The tawkey told me this was just marketing strategy,all brands retail price always higher than actual selling price.
    Compares to stock Goodyear Ducaro Ga which only lasted for 3 year6 months and 31000km b4 two of it “kembang”another two”botak”,Xm2 with Nitrogen feel more quiet and lighter too.Will observe it for a month to get the FC figures.So far so good!

• Ahmad on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Just change for xm2 this evening for persona 195/60/15
    Got for rm 280/pcs
    Nice tyre very comfort,silent and very relieve after change from my old 17inch rim..

• Using the 195/70/14 for awhile now, not the best handling tires I ever come across but in return you got comfortable ride and noise level is not too bad.

• alan3773 on Sep 30, 2014 at 2:01 pm

wet performance is POOrrrr….