2011 Range Rover 5.0 V8 Supercharged arrives in Malaysia

Land Rover Malaysia today introduced the 2011 model year Range Rover 5.0 litre Petrol Supercharged – primary enhancements to the vehicle include Terrain Response upgrades and external styling refinements.

The range-topping 510 hp and 625 Nm supercharged LR-V8 mill – first seen last year – continues on, as does the ZF 6HP28 six-speed auto transmission. Performance figures include a 0-100 kph time of 6.2 seconds.

The 2011 model get additions to its award-winning Terrain Response system, in the form of Hill Start Assist and Gradient Acceleration Control.

The HSA feature on the Range Rover is always available and not selectable. Meanwhile, GAC is designed to provide safety cover on severe gradients when the driver does not have Hill Descent Control engaged.

By pressurising the brake system, GAC slows the car to a limit determined by the throttle position when the car is descending a slope in the driver’s intended direction of travel – this includes descending the slope forwards in drive or rearwards in reverse. Otherwise, such as descending while facing up the gradient with Drive selected, the system restricts speed to 5 kph for up to 20 seconds, allowing the driver to regain proper control.

Cosmetic enhancements for the exterior come in the form of new 20-inch alloy wheels with a sparkle finish as well as a ‘Nobel’ grille mesh for the front and sides, while the cabin gets illuminated treadplates for the front doors and a harman/kardon Logic 7 hi-fi surround system, replete with 14 speakers.

Luxury being the buzzword, the vehicle comes dressed in European leather trim for headlining and door casings as well as sumptuous perforated Oxford leather seat trim and a 12-piece wood veneer set.

The good news is that the price for the 2011 version remains the same, at RM798,888 (Peninsular Malaysia) and RM802,388 (Sabah and Sarawak), on the road excluding insurance.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2330]

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2331]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• zaff1984 on Jun 23, 2011 at 9:54 pm

wow the interior really nice… like the detailing.

• Range Rooney & Wayne Rover :D

• A home on road

• prime mover on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:18 pm

how much is the road tax cost?

• C’mon dude, are you prime mover driver ??

Those who can afford the Range Rover 5.0 V8 Supercharged doesn’t have to worry about road tax or RON97 pricing ..

• David Tay on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:43 am

only a wannabe will come up with an absurd statement like this. Most multimillionaires are concerned right down to the very last ringgit. Most super rich for instance, buy the E250 because of the low cc despite being able to well afford a S500.

• BMW Enquirer on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:52 am

There are dungus in other car forums who say, “if you can afford it, you won’t be asking,” whenever I ask what is the FC (fuel consumption) of a luxury car. In this case, I had asked about the FC of a BMW 523i. Strangely, I have 2 houses in Damansara Heights and a “2 digit” millions in my bank account. But whenever my son leaves his room aircon on and leaves the room, I scold him for wasting money.

• Vader on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:33 am

here for car forum topic la, just go to night club, country club or whatever club u want to show off how many digit u have in ur bank book..

• tricycle on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:25 pm

i think i would support bwm enquirer on this, it is not much how much money you have, but how to wisely spend it not foolishly wasting it!

unless of course u get the money from ameno clans, then different thing, because that one is easy money, no need to work, just talk cock!

• rageaccel2 on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:18 pm

i second those who thinks before spending their hard earned money.

• TurboMan on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:29 pm

I personally know some1 who earns RM4k a month who drives a golf GTI.
            Needless to say, he is a big time consumer of roti canai and air kosong.

Another one who earns RM 3k, and owns his own house ( bought in 2006 ), and has good quality stocks in the market.

So who is the rich one now? Both are my close friends.

• Audi plays Trash on Jun 25, 2011 at 4:45 pm

No point being jealous, just work hard, then, you can be like him.

• freeze on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Can I have your home address?

• TurboMan on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:08 pm

I support your point of view too BMW Enquirer.

Many ppl think rich means having money in the bank or vice versa.

But in the real world, being rich is a kind of mindset.

A poor person winning 2 million from the lotto might be a bankrup after 3 years due to poor spending/saving habits.

But a rich person ( the mindset ) might lose all their money in a business, lose all the money in the bank, but will be able to stand up again after some time.

From the replies i get from this forum, sometimes its easy to see who has the rich mindset and who has the poor mindset. It has nothing to do with how much money u have. Its the mindset!!!

• As you want to be known as Turbo Man.

You know of someone who earns RM4k gross income or nett, anyway gross or nett doesn’t make much difference can afford GTI ? You must be joking ……. you mean 10 yr old GTI ? Maybe your friend is one of the snatch thief supplementing his low income.

And you have another friend who earns RM3k has a house and own good quality stocks. RM3k can hardly feed a family. Or is the person robbing ppl on the neighbourhood.

Maybe you meant 4k and 3k a week, then it makes more sense.

Mind you 2 mil from Toto does not make you rich, 2 mil will buy you nice link house these days.

I think we are at a different level here …. but have one thing in common, enjoys paultan. cheers mate

• TurboMan on Jun 25, 2011 at 12:36 am

CCLV.

I was as surprised as u. How is that even possible.

But well, im not here to argue. Just sharing an observation. Some ppl can make it. U have to understand the kind of dedication involved. In 2006, a house in SS2 costed around 350k.

Of course now its completely different. Even a darn apartment is 300k.

• Law of Attraction on Jun 25, 2011 at 8:14 am

TurboMan, I can tell you one thing, you will be a very rich person soon or one day if you persist in the way you think. You know the principles of Prosperity Consciousness and that itself will make you wealthy and great. If you got the time, go and read the book Power of your Subconscious Mind by Joseph Murphy and Esther Hicks, Money and the Law of Attraction (Abraham) to enhance your current knowledge. Its just a matter of time before you buy your Porsche

• mini cooper freak on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:30 pm

I thought it is the launch of Land Rover Evoque…. Haiz…

• keeekeee on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:08 pm

yeah I thought so :( thinking to trade my 2010 cooper S for evoque

• keeekeee on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:09 pm

yeah I thought so :( thinking to trade my 2010 cooper S for evaque

• ohh.. soo nice.. but, one thing about supercharged LR.. thirsty..

• shawal on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:02 pm

oooo….800k oni…

• Jimmy on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:05 pm

Toyota Landcruiser Ninja King looks bigger & bulkier, why?
    Head-on collision, who will win?

• Speed Racer on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:16 pm

the range rover looks terrible as it ages….love it best when the L322 first launched

• TIMOTHY DALTON on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Range Rover.
      You’ve got to test drive it to comment, or else you’ll be guessing what you don’t know. I try my best to get one this December 2011. The basic costs 670K, but again its a Range Rover and its nice feeling owning one.

Range Rover!

• I will take this more capable if not more luxury Range Rover over a similarly priced German limo anytime :)

• nescafeais.com on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:59 am

really nice car….

• KL Stray Cat on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:03 am

I thought the new Range Rover comes with knob gear selector (like the Jaguar)…
    Are we still one step behind?

Just wondering, and No, I can’t afford a Range Rover….for now ;-)

• Awesomez on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:19 am

The selfmade millionaires are very particular with their money. They will count to the last sen. Only those who inherit them are will not bother over those nitty gritty details same like the government agencies. Anything goes.

• zanggief on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:39 am

it’s just like driving a bungalow on the road…

• wong ah yat on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Hello, 8++k can not buy a semi-D in Puchong, what bungolow? (yes, you can buy a piece of land for bungolow at semenyih, batang kali…)

• MrDDR on Jun 25, 2011 at 1:26 am

Are u sure he live in KL area or puchong like u said..Maybe he live in other places where he can buy bungalow at 800k..its a lot of money

• Rosmah on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:33 pm

My ultimate retirement vehicle.