New Hyundai Elantra to be launched in fourth quarter 2011

The new Hyundai Elantra will be coming to Malaysia this year, and the estimated time of arrival is the fourth quarter of 2011, possibly in October. While the C-segment sedan was first shown to the world in South Korea a year ago, it’s only now that the fifth-generation Elantra is ready to be launched in general markets – Hyundai factories producing the car have been running at full capacity plus overtime to cope with the huge demand.

Our sources hint at two engines being offered – a 1.6L Gamma engine (Dual CVVT) and the newer 1.8-litre “Nu” engine. Both units will be paired with Hyundai’s six-speed automatic transmission with manual override. The smaller of the two units puts out 130 PS and 157 Nm of torque, decent for an NA 1.6. The Nu engine is rather new – rated at 150 PS and 178 Nm, the engine, which made its debut in the Elantra, has D-CVVT and VIS. Hyundai’s GDI and diesel engines won’t be available though – they’re not taking chances on our fuel quality.

Those drivetrains will be housed in a new body that is 4,530 mm long and 1,775 mm wide. That means it’s 25 mm longer than the old car, but with the same width. Most will swear that it’s wider though, thanks to the flowing “Wind Craft” design that rides on the brand’s “Fluidic Sculpture” direction. Sitting on a new platform, the Elantra’s wheelbase has grown by a substantial 100 mm, now matching the Honda Civic’s 2,700 mm.

We’re speculating that two trim levels will be offered – Standard and High Spec – as per Hyundai-Sime Darby’s latest offerings, the Sonata and Tucson. Range topping models could be equipped with toys such as a sunroof, keyless entry with start/stop button and six airbags.

And if you’re wondering, this model will be called the Elantra in Malaysia, as it was called before Hyundai-Sime Darby renamed the later batches of the previous gen car to Avante. This is in line with Hyundai’s naming policy for the model, which will be called Avante only in Korea. The Avante to Elantra name switch also applies to Singapore.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sorry,my FD, i may need to let you go…..Hello, Avante… u ‘ll me mine soon

• dont think SD gonna make us happy.

lets hold on to our money first.

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:58 pm

You are right hold on to our money first, why border about this junk?

• MrDDR on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:54 am

Naa…I keep my FD. Dont want to make another utang for same sagment car..

• dont hv fd but i think i rob a bank to buy this beauty….d pic alredy make me drool…
        4 mths to go till its launching…so kia forte u will b afraid, b very afraid coz ur days
        r numbered…also to vios & civic which make them look like old school….

best looking c segment car so far i think….& d inside fuyo like transormer

• Neville on Jun 26, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Hyundai and Kia is the same company as they merged a while ago.. :-) the loser is Naza not Kia hehe

• HirumaKecil on Jun 28, 2011 at 12:40 am

not a problem since Hyundai now is the owner of KIA….

• The Dentist on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:57 pm

aiyark… i am so lampi… what is FD?

• freeze on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:30 pm

MyVi better.

• kamaji on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Which part of it.

• ong chin aun on Jun 27, 2011 at 10:10 am

Try, if one tyre flat,and u got five adult persons ( including u ) in myvi in the journey.
        Sure, U need to change to spare tyre, Right ? Where the flat tyre to keep ?

• freeze on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Inspira better.

• xavier lert on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:07 pm

are u sure…i’ll chnge my FD2 to CC…its always upgrade….dont downgrade….

• Alamak bro… i thought the same as you… hahaha wanna say goodbye to my fd, but love it so much too… afraid when change to elantra, than disappointing again.. the fd engine are awesome but to maintain it with those silly2 spoil… aiya sakit hati jugak..

• Car Lover on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:28 pm

I will go for my first Korean car if the selling price is below 100K for the 1.8 model…

• cratzz5 on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:37 pm

i’ve been waiting for this car…damn nice!..

• rapidshifter on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:16 am

yeah.. really nice… especially the white one in the first pic… drooling…

• ericmaxman on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:37 pm

time to say goodbye to Forte and welcome this! by judging from the first pic, i’d say it was taken in Korea..hope that version comes here because it’s really gorgeous..

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Subtle bodykit, thin spoke aftermarket wheels, spoiler, and in white – the best example I could find in Seoul. It looks even better in the metal!

• clutch basah on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:34 am

Danny, off topic here.. hehe
        How about the new Veloster? If you’ve been in Seoul recently, you shoulda seen one. It’s one of the hottest stuff here at the moment.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:07 am

Yup, I’ve seen a few of those. Nice. But cars like the Veloster and Forte Koup are quite niche here from what I observe.

The big sedan is the car of choice (Sonata YF is a not a large car here, but a “standard sized” car, Genesis and Equus are aplenty) and those who want to stand out buy European marques.

• squawk on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:15 pm

There seems to be more Hyundais than Kias in Seoul, don’t you think?

• Hyundai Kia Daewoo and Ssangyong are everywhere in Korea.. their Citizens are much more patriotic..
            Dont be amazed, the ratio of national cars to non-national cars in Korea is so much higher compare to bolehland… probably at same level like Japan..

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 26, 2011 at 12:00 am

Hyundai and Kia together take up about 80% market share in Korea

• the white elantra in the first pic is CUN!

• Razor on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:13 pm

yo ericmaxman, nice to see u here instead of lowyat F&F /k/,
      Yeah, 1.6 forte will be done for, but i think the 2.0 will still survive,too bad theres no 2.0 avante.

• Wow he is so famous hahaha

• the 1.8 avante has the same, if not higher horsepower and torque than most 2.0. plus got lower road tax. =)

• Lady GaGa on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Superb! <3

• nebula87 on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Bravo!!! a refreshing look!!

• I’m waiting for the launch!!!!!!!!

• tishaban on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Have had the chance to try out the car and see it in real life while I was in the US last month. The new Elantra is real looker, to me it even looks nicer than the new Sonata. On top of that it rides very well across the very potholed roads I went through. If I were looking for a C-segment car this would be near the top of my list for sure.

• MengQ on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Cantik!

• Pls la HSDM letak price dia below 100k..

• TallPan on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:04 pm

lol how i wish for that too!

unfortunately HSDM are always pricing their cars macam la Msia banyak k-car supporters ala j-car ‘blind’ supporters…

one can still hope! ;-)

• I think 1.8 will more than RM100K(but will cheaper a few thousand than T & H), Maybe we can hope for the 1.6. (same thing happened to Sonata.

• Mr. Bean on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:24 pm

i thought the current Elantra X20 with 2.0 liter is selling below 100K? arounf 9X K….

so there’s still hope the new ones are below 100K?

• nice car……………….better than kia though.

• What da hack..!hyundai design nowadays is awesome!

• Waoooo on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Another fine design from hyundai…. Honda Civic 2012 lose!!

• bobby on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:49 pm

I hope the pricing would be around 90k to 100k, if it is lower, even better.

• ong chin aun on Jun 27, 2011 at 3:12 pm

Yes, only prices in M`sia rather higher that hinder foreign cars sale. Policy,policy.and taxes, . Latest Avante or Elentra as it is named, dual cctv 1.6L if less than Rm80K , It will sell like hot cake. 1.8L six air-bags, wah for real safety but cost increase. Pesonnally, I don`t think quite nescessary unless for racing or very fast drivers on long journey always.

Hope come M`sia soon ,

• Jimmy on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:53 pm

MESSY inside out. Can’t they just learn from conti.
    Toyota’s interior is also monotonous including the Camry’s which is a distance from luxury.

• Just me on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:16 am

No doubt Hyundai design has improved a lot. Just my personal opinion, Hyundai design is too complicated, the awesome look will not last for long time to many people. It look nice at this time, but after a while many people will feel that it is not so nice. That is how I feel about its past models such as Sonata, Elentra, etc. KIA score better in this area …

• slumber on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:25 am

What’s the fuss about the dash / inside? Are you afraid when you press the HAZARD button it will transform into a Decepticon??

• Audi's on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:58 pm

Just work harder and get an A4.

• Evoque on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Why not S4?

• Audi's on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:28 pm

For a S4, you have to work way harder which is impossible for people who is thinking for a Hyundai.

• Evoque on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:29 am

If thats what you think, too bad. Then people should NOT think of A4 before they are good for Toyota & Honda then follow by VW.

I don’t agree with you. Nothing is impossible!! Your quote earlier were motivating but the later, it wasn’t.

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:03 pm

So, you mean Hyundai is few level below T/H?

• Evoque on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:05 am

Since you want to dream big, why not dream bigger? Nothing is impossible.

• My friend managed to leap from P1 to C63 AMG, man his big dream came through! Btw he doesn’t only dream but worked really hard and smart for it.

• Andrew on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:38 pm

dont tell me its some MLM company.

• Critique on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:37 am

Refreshing to see motivating comments !

:)

• Razor on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:39 pm

wahlao weyh A4 too expensive liao. Id rather get this and buy properties afterwards

• Critique on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:45 am

Then get the A4 after making a handsome profit from your Property :)

• i’m lazy, i will just get a forte (poor man’s audi)

• Kinsneg on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:46 am

I rather have a hyundai rather than a gay hairdresser’s car.

• Mr. Bean on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:28 pm

why everyone keep refering Audi as a gay hair dresser’s car? mind elaborate? thanks!

• trimm on Jun 23, 2011 at 10:59 pm

T.Veeos : Wa! this one nice, selling around my price, die la, nobody will buy me already……

T. Altiques: Don’t worry bro, your resale value anytime can win this bloody car, he got better look, more equipments, more safety features only ma….hmm, how come I am more expensive but look boring than him ah? nevermind la…luckily we are born in T factory….

H. Siti : You two don’t worry la, we are japs you know, most M’sians very scared to try new things one….they will continue to support us one….

H. Seevick : I can confirmed this also….look at me, hanging around here for 6-7 years already, still selling well….in M’sia no need show engine technologies, equipments, safety features, and price one, as long as you are made in japan, no problem selling one lar…..

P. Mywee : Yalor, I got japanese DNA inside me, u see, can sell so well…..

P. Inspeera: 100% agree, if I’m 100% made in M’sia, 100% i cannot sell….

• I went to Alexandra Rd to feel this car, last week, My verdict this will rock even Forte if they can price this C-segment with humble Naza pricing.

RM90k is sound to beat the Vios. To reduce the price further, Inokomized the Hyundai. Or, simply bring diesel and price slightly lower than Corolla Altis. Mesti lagi best.

• the first picture with rear spoiler looks awesome..

• transformer on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:01 pm

if below 100K, i’ll take one~
    (for a 1.8L, 17″ wheels, 4 disc brakes, 2 airbags, 4 channel ABS, EBD, BAS, VSA, ESP, 3yrs warranty, 2.88% 5year, 30% down payment also can….)

• you can have the Cruze with above $$ and they will even throw in 18″ for you bro

• p1-p2 on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:03 pm

pergh!! giler lawaaa….bile proton nk design model2 mcm ni…

• clutch basah on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:21 am

Kereta ni mcm Korean chicks lar bro.. cantik, hot and sexy all around but dull and boring in bed.
      In the metal luar and dalam mmg cantik tapi ride and handling.. it goes everywhere all over the road.. dissapointing.
      Trust me.. I live in Korea and been driving this car for 3 months already.

• riphoff on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:29 pm

yeah true..korean car just cosmetic, ride & handling or the most important – engine

prefer japanese car with reabiliti

• johndol on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:04 pm

erk? do you mean korean chick are dull in bed? seriously?

• hmmm.. boring in bed? test drive already ka bro? hehe

• clutch basah on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Sure dude, got my share of local nookies already.. :)
          You shoulda seen korean porn.. damn funny!

• Once_owned_Kia on Mar 08, 2012 at 12:37 pm

ye bro..

agreed..me oso visit jeju…riding elantra taxi..
        naaaaahhh..look great BUT….something not up to T same class car..

again its my personal exp…

• People who went to KLIMS to see the new Elantra knows that it looks even better in real life!

• bot a butthurt TnH on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:17 pm

orgasmic design….

• In Korea,this car is no more than RM50 if I’m not mistaken but In Malaysia,it’s near to RM100K. This is a Persona for them

• haha.. yes, this car highest spec in korea is around 45k. malaysia persona same with them, but the quality and the spec? XD

• Rockmebaby on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:54 pm

If u know the Korean GDP 29,836 vs M’sian GDP 14,670…..U will never stop crying after looking at our silly car price….
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(PPP)_per_capita
      This is Kancil for them lol hahahaa :(

• lost78 on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:48 am

their fuel is 3 to 4 times higher than ours. thats what a korean tells me.

• tech_savvy on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:43 am

You know Korean don’t have car loan ? they need to buy CASH ??

• WhyNot on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Is a stylish and futuristic design. It has great aerodynamics and lower profile than Inspira. I had personally driven one of the Avante last year in Korea. Not to mention the interior is also one of the awesome design too. They (Korean) does not play funny with this model! Test drive one and you will know. Is a great car in Korea and many parts of the world and is consider a standard and affordable car too many around its cc class.

• Likll on Jun 25, 2011 at 2:49 am

In the United States, it comes with a 10 year warranty. I think it’s powertrain. Even Kia Forte in here got 5 years unlimited KM warranty. H & T don’t play play

• infinity on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:26 pm

Beautiful car! But the interior looks over-done to me…IMHO, the air-cond vents position on the middle dash wasn’t placed on a very suitable position…but i still love this car!

At the price range of arond 90k, it will compete with forte and inspira…vios and city semakin ketinggalan…

• infinity on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:27 pm

The front end reminds me of Honda Insight..which is beautiful!

• nope!!!
      for me Avante and Insight frond look totally different de.. unless u mentioned both cars having similiar look bulb.. hehe..

• Hyundai have come a long way …. way to go. Nice ….. but under Sime …. you can expect sigh, sky high pricing ….. take a look at Alfa, this one ain’t gonna be NAZA’s pricing.

Just take a look at the current Avante/Elantra, hardly you see on the road …. more “exclusive” than your typical Merc and BMW …

• Razor on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:37 pm

In B4 Jolo n Maserati bash Korean cars!!

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 23, 2011 at 11:39 pm

rather buy this car than the altis and civic… and its much cheaper for 1.8 cars… wooooo…

• Base on the cheapest price (SGD98,000) of the Singapore 1.6A model, the estimated price here should be RM113,500.
    Don’t expect Naza Forte 1.6 SX price (RM86,000)
    If this estimated price of the new Elantra is correct, a lot of people will be very very disappointed.

• lazyf on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:15 am

awesome….

• Nasai on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:00 am

S’pore already has this baby in its website: http://www.hyundaimotors.com.sg/

Surprisingly, a lot of features not offered in the sg version. e.g.: SPAS (the auto parking system where the car parks for you automatically; maybe still cant be implemented in ASEAN region yet at the moment), Keyless entry start-stop, only 1.6 and no 1.8 Niu. However, they have 6 airbags. Not sure abt what Hyundai Sime Darby has to offer.

And how abt HSDM’s after sales service? Is it any worse like Naza? And when is Honda Malaysia launching the CIVIC to counter attack this Elantra/Avante? I hope both come out at the same time and consumer can compare both before deciding on purchasing any of these 2.

• Nasai on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:59 am

Made a mistake; checked:

There’s start-stop, so there’s keyless entry. It would look nice if its high spec has the same panaromic roof as the Sonata high spec 2.0 and 2.4. The 1.6 S’pore avante only has a sunroof.

• Humaidi on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:18 am

Ada cue design Honda Civic dari sisi. Interior too busy, trying too hard to impress. Front end ada cue dari Honda Insight. Overall, not bad. Koreans are improving. Good job. But not for me.

• gavin on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:06 am

I don’t know about the rest, but i’m pretty very fed up of us becoming dumping grounds for old less efficient engines because of poor fuel quality

Seems like only luxury makes aren’t afraid to offer their customers better engines.

• BN=barang naik on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:30 pm

in NZ their fuel are worse than ours…they still sell ron91 for NZ$2.3!!..the grass is not always greener on the other side u know

• johndol on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Egypt people during Mubarak’s era got average below USD1000 a month salary, even teacher get USD 100 a month that time. But finally they fed up and fight for their rights. Yes, grass are not always greener on the other side but at least we’re fighting to get greener on our side. Dun just be like stupid BN supporter who always says be grateful to the G even they have to live a miserable life

• Gavin on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Hello ignoramus, RON is not a measure of fuel quality!

EURO standard is the measure of fuel quality

NZ has Ron 91 but is EURO 5!

We have Ron95 but only 20 years old EURO 2

• ckd it here in malaysia can get the price around kia forte.
    and by that price sure i rembat one!~

• If the price is sensible, I might get one.

Unfortunately, sensible is not the first thing that comes to mind when talking about car prices in Malaysia. :(

I do hope they tag it at RM95k for the 1.6 & RM105k for the 1.8 respectively, if SD pattern of pricing their new models about RM10k-RM15k lower against competing Japanese models is to be followed.

We might get a definite sub-100k Hyundai with City/Vios/Forte kind of pricing from SD if they bring in the Fluidic Verna/Accent.

• if sime darby can price it like the forte….i see another winner here…but i think they are gonna price just below the overpriced japs…

hope to see

1.6L – 85k
    1.8L – 95k

i’ll definitely get one…

• If this dream comes true, it will affect P1 inspira, T.altis & H.civic sales.

• Fresurfer on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:34 am

Having driven all of the new Hyundais (Accent, Elantra, Sonata, courtesy of my company changing car rentals every time I come back here from KL) here in Saudi, I must say that the build quality is good, but the material quality is not. It looks good, but the drive is not. The engine looks good on paper, but is lethargic because of the drivetrain.

• bleed on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:10 am

they long time have this car in jordan (and the rest of middle east) and the fuel quality in this region is horrendous (ron95 is being peddled as premium grade, and normal is ron90) n still they sell nice nice cars here.
    but i concur, the elantra (same name here in middle east) is one sweet looking car. pity the service centers for korean makes here are really bad. i’d love to have one in my driveway, instead of a, say, corolla altis? toyota service is awesome here.

• can be easily mod …

• Ash Menon on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:42 am

Danny, I’m assuming here, but the Elantra sits, positioning-wise, in between the Accent and the Sonata, yes? Does that mean its rivals are the Civic and….whatever Toyota’s equivalent to the Civic is? (Sorry, not really familiar with Toyota’s lineup above the Vios).

• savvy88 on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:04 am

just wait for Persona R 2012..

• Anti turbo on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:46 am

being waiting for this year for over a year..if priced above RM100K or even RM95K i wont be able to get one… life is hard enough… i wont want to pay RM1,500 per month and above for this babe though its tempting…. Fingers “cross”… please be priced just like Forte..then bring it on.

• Putin on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:03 am

Looks similar to Honda Civic 8th Gen. Guess my Civic 1.8 bought in 2006 still can fetch good re-sale value. Thanks Hyundai.

• the condemned on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:11 am

its a great looking car,but looks alone would not make it a good car.tucson and sonata have outstanding design but deliver poor drive quality.if the new avante can inprovise on this,then definitely its a winner in its segment

• Bronx on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:16 am

It is a beautiful car in and out. FYI: US version there is no spare tire!!! just liquid to seal the tire including electric pump to plug into the 12V socket in the car . As for the Canada version there is a spare tyre with tools of course!! . I get 680km city+higway driving on a full tank!!! that last me for 3 weeks!!! .Plus they provide rebate 30cents of a regular price on the pump!!! more savings!! They are also provinding me free oil change+ Labour+air filter for life!!! What you want to say more? Hope Hyundai Malaysia can so the same.

• albag on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:38 am

its a hyundai…

• omega on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:48 am

lagi crowded lagi ok, feels like in jet fighter cockpit.

• It’s realli a worth while waiting for this beauty!!!!!!

• i want it all or nothing at all!!! so please come with full spec (6airbags,reverse camera etc..)

• huiyoo on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:03 am

saw this new elantra last month with singapore plate number. quite disappointed because it looks small compare to other C segment. maybe it just optical illusion

• eddie on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:12 am

everyone …be calm and armed yourselves…soon you will see Jolo and Maserati lurking in here…

• TurboMan on Jun 25, 2011 at 7:13 am

Haha.

Im still waiting!!! All weapons armed and ready to rock and roll

• Inderaloka on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:12 am

Finally! Yes!

• Richard on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:22 am

Oh gosh, look at the lines… I loved this car’s design!

• Avente is Nice on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:37 am

Saw this car a few weeks ago. One word – BEAUTIFUL. Donno interior design good or not.

• Kantoi on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:56 am

Nice, but not expecting a Forte price. Should be a range of 95k above. Where is Jolo & maserati btw? I am expecting them to come in and hentam this Korean car with all the Honda and Toyota Sales statistic.

• David on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Well, guess they’re still trying to fine some ‘ammo of lies’ to shoot us with their ‘FACTS’, so that’s why they haven’t been here. Go take a look at the recently launched Kia Sportage posting, and you’ll find their endless rantings that made me question their claims and figures.

• Just me on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:09 am

Nice car. No doubt it will attract more buyer. But sadly the jap still rules, how many sonata vs Camry/Accord on the road? Many buyer in Malaysia still worry about the resale value.

• i hope they wont price the car 120k then after 1 year give rm12k discount. :( just like the previous Avante?

• i will be in seoul tonight, will go to showroom for a test drive but LHD

• eisyam on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:04 am

byebye to civic and altis

• Liverpool on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:06 am

I have to say, the design of this car looks stuning! Hyundai and Kia has had such a huge improvement over the past few years with their styling and engines and technologies. I don’t know if they are on par with the Japs now or even better. As much as there are a lot of Korean car haters out there and Japanese car lovers, I do feel that the Koreans are stepping up their game in a BIG way. So the Japanese better watch out! To those people who rate cars based on Brands alone and ‘resale value’, I do pity you coz you guys do miss out on a lot of good stuff.

I’m not saying Japanese cars are bad cars, I’m just saying we shouldn’t be so judgemental on Brands alone. But I’m glad to see people are starting to buy cars they love instead of buying something they dislike because the resale value is better.

• japfans on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:10 am

I can tell you the price would definetely be over RM100k, because need to protect Inspira.
    Moreover, SD priced Sonata slightly lower than Camry and Accord only. There is why the sale of Sonata is not encouraging.
    More hopeful more disappointing

• Unforgiven on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Hyundai do not need M’sia to survive, it is good to have but not a must. If you guys like the protection then just go ahead, Hyundai is still able to get the sales from US/Europe.

Hyundai is not earning more in M’sia. They are probably just selling you the car for less than RM40k, the rest go into the pocket of people not doing anything, the car AP, etc.

So what?

• squawk on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:34 pm

SA told me there’s a long waiting list for Sonata here. Most likely due to it being CBU Korea and Hyundai right now is concentrating on supplying to LHD markets which are their core business. RHD markets are almost insignificant for them.

• One day, all of us can also buy this car….

• looking-good on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:48 am

thumbs up to Hyundai !!

thumbs down to local dealer !!

• “Proton Tuah…Takkan Proton Hilang Di Dunia? Lol”

• atifjeelan avante on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:52 am

cantiknye!

• Now i wanna see hows the japanese going to react???!!!!!!!

• Erine on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Hyundai copying design from Mazda 3. I not sure why you all worshipping copy cat company.

• Bolehland on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:07 pm

dah jumpa doctor pakar mata?

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:00 pm

They are not worshipping, they are Hyundai salesman.

• Anti turbo on Jun 27, 2011 at 8:02 am

you got it wrong mate… i dont sale Hyundai…. just really love the design..so what???!!! cannot meh?

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Salesmen reveal price range around 108k ~110k for 1.8 with roof. hope it dun really sell this price cause are quite expensive. They are fighting Forte, isn’t it??

• Kantoi on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Doubt they are fighting Forte, cause end of the day, Kia are partially owned by Hyundai. I believe they are targeting Civic and Altis potential buyers.

• WhyNot on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:36 pm

This spells dead for Forte as the whole feature wins by a huge margin.

• Halem on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Not the issue of Hyundai vs Kia, is SD vs Naza, Sportage is direct competitor to Tucson.
        Surely Avante will target Forte as it is the best selling non national C segment 1.6.
        Let them fight tooth & nail, we consumer will benefit with better price.

• BN=barang naik on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:33 pm

108k for 1.8 seems reasonable..altis 1.6 already 106k..if lower it a bit that would be better :D

• anti-first on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:09 pm

the front fog light definitely has subtle cues from peugeot 308….nicely designed, hyundai!

• hyundai/kia already no. 4 in the world, excellent progress..some here so proud that p***n is no. 34….hahahaha..cars so obsolete lagi mau finance another loser…L**S, should look ourselves in the mirror..

• Another junk on the road.

• David on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:20 pm

I think you’re the junk. Go play with the Japs if you think they’re not junk. No car is junk, it’s just you, blinded by the ‘Japs Is Better’ mentality.

• ponman on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:47 pm

Waa, this coming October will be launched in Malaysia? I thought they already launched at KLIMS last December….. If this car arrive before Hari Raya, sure I will get one…. so then I can Balik Kampung with a new car…. Hopefully the price will be less than RM100k.

• Beautiful car, too bad about the price. Look at Sonata, priced so close to Accord/ Camry. Should be about 20% lower, bcos still brand building and of used car value down the road.

as it is, priced too close to the market leaders, otherwise should sell well.
    Sigh!

• Guys, car not just bout design, think also bout fc, handling, engine, parts, services n Mantanaince cost. Thinking bout these factor, I won’t buy this hot chic from Korea.

• David on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Absolute rubbish. I own two Korean cars now, an Accent and a Matrix, both more than 2 years old, and they’re not what many people claim, as they’re competent handlers (even with the bigger, taller Matrix!), reasonably priced parts and servicing (i don’t pay more than RM300 to service my cars during routine maintainance, considering the fact that i also use fully synthetic Shell oil. And, yes, i understand they drink more fuel than expected (it’s an old Mitsubishi-based engine, hello!!), but it’s better than what i had initially expected.

Oh, and not to forget that they’re significantly cheaper to start, hence i pay smaller monthly instalments, as compared to the majority of my colleagues who drives Vioses.

And, Rick, thinking about what you said, i’d say you’re better off playing with the Japs, whos cars aren’t that great these days (with the exception of Nissan, Subaru, Suzuki, and Mitsubishi). You think about it.

• David,
        since you own a hyundai, may i know what is the service frequency? is it every 5k or 10k?

• David on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Good question. It depends on the type of oil you use. If you’re using semi-synthetic, it’s 5000km intervals. If you’re using fully synthetic oils, make that 10,000kms.

• kuntum on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Agree with David!! Hyundai is a reliable car. Owned Accent for 6 years with no quality issues. Thinking to upgrade to new Avante. After sales service is also good!!

• David on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:55 pm

Well, Kuntum, i have the current Accent which is still on sale here now, the MC model. How many kms has your Accent clocked by the way? Mine’s already nearing the 24,000km mark, and still going strong!! That considering the fact that i drive over really rocky roads every single day, (mind you, my car park is nothing but an open air space).

• with the jap car’s ( T & H ) high price and low spec package, you end up paying alot more interest also since your loan amount and even interest rates are typically higher.

• I think you must be living the past and refuse to keep up with the technology advancement for the Korean. The Korean can be better in all the aspects that you have mentioned as compared to the Japs today.

• Guys, I think we should place more emphasis on the reliability of the car rather than it’s boby & cabin design. No doubt this latest generation of Hyundai Elantra is having a gorgeous look, it could be part of Hyundai marketing strategy to draw consumer attention and subsequently making decision to buy the car based on its attractive design and tend to ignore other factors i.e sustainability & reliability of mechanical as well as electronic systems available in the car.

The latest generation of Hyundai Sonata launched end of last year is also having the same design concept with Hyundai Elantra, its contemporary & futuristic design made other rivals i.e Toyota camry, Honda Accord etc looks a class lower in terms of aotomobil design. However, the Sonata was unable to achieve a good sale as compare to Camry & Accord, the two (2) brands that dominated the D-segment car market in Malaysia.

Some may argue that the above situation maybe due to Hyundai’s brand market reputation is lower than Toyota & Honda, or the consumer’s refusal to accept that Hyundai is actually closing it’s gap with Toyota & Honda. I have a mechanic friend who had ever told me his personal experience in repairing Korean cars, he said sustainability & reliability are the two major factors that made difference between Japanese & Korean cars, particularly in the engine, gearbox & suspension system.

I personally very impressed with Hyundai’s significant improvements in the past few years and I believed it is only a matter of time that Hyundai cars will be on par with its Japanese rivals.

• the thing is when you hear from friend or friend of a friend, auntie’s grandmother friend…i had a kia with a hyundai engine for 5 years, very reliable..m’sian’s are still too brand concious, can’t blame us as we pay very high prices for cars..the latest products from hyundai/kia are good, if worry abt reliability it has 300k km warranty or five years..

• japfans on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Forget this car, the price won’t be less than RM100k.
    Sonata 2.0 high spec RM145,000 is a very a good example.
    Forte, cruez and inspira are the better choices for C segment

• 1.6 will totally kill vios market.. i think. and will affect greatly the sale of city and forte.
    and proton will revise down their inspira.

• Ya,this new H.Elantra1.6 model will kill many cars (the price range between RM85K to RM 100K ….BUT if SD make the price below RM100K….

• Heskey on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm

How much?

• ong chin aun on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Wah if below rm80k for 1.6 L then I`ll take one Cheers!

• Just go for it if you like it!

• Maserati on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:31 pm

David my brother’s Hyundai Getz 1.3 is in the workshop for the 6 time in 4 months.

Why u may ask? 1st problem arise and its fixed then 2nd problem arises due to 1st problem.And then the 2nd problem is fixed.And the list goes on and on and on.

I have already told him to get rid of that junk long time ago ,but unfortunately he doesnt have the budget to upgrade.Total repair costs so far has already touched around RM7,000.

So it may look nice on the outside ,but its utter rubbish inside.The same rule applies to hot women.

They may look good on the outside,but who knows what may lie beneath.

Sorry Korean fanboys,pls improve ur reliability and public perception on your value then only I will ever consider a Korean car no matter how gorgeous it is from the outside.

• I told you already, Korean car is JUNK. Most Korean car owner will run into problem like what your brother has.

• David on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Well, this easily shows your biased mindset. How old is your brother’s Getz 1.3? What are the exact problems he is facing? And, yes, i do symphatize with your brother for getting a car that did not fully meet up to his expectations, but in no way, should you resort to bashing everything Korean. It’s not like everything Korean is bad, come on!! Likewise, i may not have a liking for some Japanese cars, but, boy, Panasonic does make, without a doubt, the best air-cond units, as well as reliable water heaters. Not to mention the food as well.

I also beg to differ on the public perception on Kia and Hyundai. If the perception of Hyundai isn’t good, then can you kindly explain why the Elantra is the best selling car in Singapore in 2009? Why is the Sonata top of the sales lists, as well as reviews in Canada, and, WHY, does Kia experience a nearly 50% jump in sales compared to the past year, rising from 138,000 units, all the way until the 200k mark?

And, before that. Have you owned anything Korean, even one single appliance? Jeez.

• either maserati is bullshitting big time or his brother is a big time water fish ( kena potong kaw kaw). but i suspect he is bulshitting as usual.

i have been driving a getz 1.4 for 5 yrs and total service n repair bill is only around 3.5k up to date( new michelin XM1 tyres not included)…mileage already over 100k km….all done at hyundai’s authorize SC, not under the tree mechanic. the most costly parts being the maintenance free batteries/ aircon filter. other parts are pretty reasonable. so how can 4 months of repair possibly cost 7k?
      even my sister’s vios cost more to service at toyota SC. she regretted listening to pasar aunties that say jap cars are cheap to maintain. so she finally got rid of that junk and recently purchased a new forte 2.0 6-speed.

• eddiekee on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:03 am

Maserati , so that is the root cause. Just because your brother has bad experience with a korean car you are bashing every korean makes. I own a Getz for 7 years and still driving it and i have no issue. My college caterer bought a Jazz and he started experience issues with his car weeks after driving it . So does that make Honda producing unreliable cars ? Of course not. I don’t go bashing Honda. Is there a manufacturer that can produce 100% reliable car? And no, my other two friends who owns a Getz do not experience any issues with their cars either.

Have you asked your brother to go to a different workshop ? Some workshop have untrained mechanics who will make the problem worst.

• khylie555 on Jun 25, 2011 at 2:14 pm

same like you.your name sound nice from the outside but your bad in the inside.

• gimmeone on Jun 26, 2011 at 12:27 am

I have a 60 k mileage vios with 6 k repairs till date, do i go bitching about how lousy it is? grow up and ask yourself how the car is driven…….its true quality is always an issue..like you are the unlucky one out of thousands who got that particular car that was made by an individual who had a previous lousy day AND night and decided to take it out on the car he was partly assembling. But the rotten luck was that the same particular car was overlooked by the quality inspector because he was thinking about the fantastic night he had the day before….. LOL

• Halem on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Personaly i have bad experience with Hyundai car.
    Hyundai Sonata 4th gen, mileage 50k water boiled twice, replace all the hoses.
    Hyundai Accent 2nd gen, mileage 60k gear box problem, cannot hold on slopes, dashboard crack for no reason.
    Please don’t ask me how much is the resale value.
    So no more korean car for the moment pls.

• K-PoP on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:48 pm

No one auto-maker can make 100% problem free cars ! Dont tell me BMW, Mercs, H, T dont have any problems with their cars ? I owned BMW and Honda accords before and i had my fair share of headaches with those so called reliable cars.
      During the 80’s the american was making fun of the Japs car but look who is laughing now. The same is happening with the korean cars now, hyundai/kia is selling well in the world market.

• Nice! huhu…

• redboy on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Sonata taking the new gen from Accord/Camry.

Now Avante will capture the Civic/Altis. I will seriously consider it as 2nd car if they price it around RM90k…:P

I think I saw a black Avante in puchong MBA..

• redboy on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:08 pm

check out the Auto Parking systems!! will it be included here??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFj97P-9u8U&w=300

• It won’t be available here. But if you look at the interior, it looks awesome with all the ambient light! Nothing can beat this beauty!

• i agree, the interior won’t look out of place even in a lexus IS250.

• Starex Royalle on Jun 25, 2011 at 12:50 am

I get to know Sonata YF now got plenty of stock.
    They stock large number of 2010 unsold mixed 2.0 & 2.4
    Sonata YF discover new problem sunroof rubber crack .
    Last weak they rush Korean over here to audit.
    SDAH should reconsider giving back 3k overtrade.

• nice…. civic and corolla segment….
    i wonder the new accent, when will it arrive in m’sia… saw the new 1 in philppines n really looks nice and better then the vios,

• neutral on Jun 25, 2011 at 8:36 am

it wont give much impact to T and H market share coz there’s still lot of T and H fans out there, wanting and worshipping their dream T and H car :D

• Nasai on Jun 25, 2011 at 8:38 am

Check out Avante’s problem in South Korea.

• Nasai on Jun 26, 2011 at 12:08 am

Here’s the video link of the Avante problem in South Korea:

Btw, how did redboy posted the video on the comment??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMALDH_xwZI&w=300

• Hangman on Jun 26, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Any korean speaking buddy can help to translate this.
        Seem like something to do with the steering.
        Kamsa Hamida !

• Hyundai Fan on Jun 25, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Looking at the pricing strategy done by Sime Darby for Sonata & Tucson, I guess the price for Elantra 1.6 & 1.8 will be ranged from 95K to 110K. I believe all the problems encountered in the early batches would have been rectified by the time the car launched in Malaysia because the car has been launched in last August in Korea.
    This is my 2nd favorite car after the Sonata which I bought 2 months ago & I may consider buying Elantra as a second car, driving both Sonata & Elantra alternately.
    I believe Elantra will sell more than other C segment cars as there is no other models in this category can outperform Elantra in term of style,engine performance & fuel efficiency.

• Ahh i want the VW Jetta but this is nice but too bad i don like Korean quality and performance!

• Now we all eyeing on SD on how SMART they pricing the new Elantra. Whether it will be a failure, or the most successful ever best selling car ever in Malaysia by Korea car maker. And by this, all parts will be much cheaper and second value will shoot high enough.

But, I’m doubt SD will make the pricing for new Elantra just smart enough and competitive as like Naza Kia Forte, based on the previous price placement for the new Sonata YF, just slightly lower than Accord & Camry. So, if tat’s the case, we all knew what is the result.

• Maserati on Jun 26, 2011 at 8:41 pm

This is the problem with Korean stuff.Their quality is never on par with the Japs.I previously dealt with Korean electronic products,and all i can say that its pure rubbish.

These Koreans simply launch something when they are not 100 % sure its in excellent working condition!

The Japs on the other hand will never ever launch something without making sure.

• David on Jun 26, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Stop cocking around Maserati. You’re so damn anti Korean, yes, but in no way you have any right to come and keep bragging about your ‘Japs Is Better’ mentality. The Koreans these days are level with the Japs now, so deal with it!

Yes, i also had nightmares with LG products, but that was around 2003, which was 8 years ago. These days, i now have a Samsung plasma TV, a washing maching from them, and a fridge from Samsung as well. To date, all three are working fine. Not to mention my Matrix and Accent, both more than a year old, subject to hard driving, riding over rough, rocky roads (my university carpark isn’t made of tarmac, it’s feels as if i’m parking on a construction site), and still going strong.

Mind you, if you keep on replying with such absurd comments, i’d say you’re better off getting out from this forum, as this is a place for healthy debate, not giving fanboy talk. Douchebag fella who doesn’t drive a Maserati, yet acts as if he drives one. Serves you right.

• Mask Ryder on Jun 27, 2011 at 1:58 pm

One of my neighbour have a Santa Fe, hell out of noisy diesel engine, sound like a lorry, i would know his home without looking out.
        Well, if a car that cost 164k fail in 3 months.
        I suggest u sued their pant off.

• David on Jun 27, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Hey, diesel engines normally have that clattering characteristics. However, as technology improves, engines like the Hyundai-Kia R-series turbodiesel engines, the TDCi engines from Ford, not to mention those i-DTEC engines from Honda boast much, much superior technology, while giving petrol like acceleration, strong performance all round, and not to mention good fuel economy, even though when driven hard.

• Kumar san on Jun 27, 2011 at 4:30 pm

David,how have you been doing?why waste your time with Jolo and Maserati?

It’s pointless,just ignore them,they just want attention my friend,i’m sure turboman,jalan54 and the rest of us sane commenters would certainly agree.

Cheers mate.

• David on Jun 27, 2011 at 8:37 pm

I’m doing good my friend. What these lousy critics, and new ones attempting to get a slice of the fanboy pies don’t realise is that i’m just a 19-year old guy, still studying and working in the family business.

Money ain’t easy to come when it comes to buying cars, so i buy a car not for a bloody badge and resale value, but what it offers for my hard earned cash. Is it comfortable? Is it well-equipped? Is it safe?

That’s what i think about before buying a car, so such sick, vile, and recalcitrant douchebag fanboys like them who come to spin facts really rile me up. Some people really gotta give them a big smack with ownership experiences, and facts.

And, MAA figures for auto sales in May 2011 show the Koreans keeping their sales figures consistent, whereas the Japan 3 (T,H,N) experienced drops, with the worst hit being Honda.

• So David (Not the 1040 BC biblical king) is 19 year old brat with silver spoon in the mouth, for that i fully understand yr ignorant.
            Every body know that the drop in sales for japanese car was due to shortage of supply cause the tsunami.
            Despite this the korean car sales did not went up, mean that malaysia consumer will not substitute japanese car with korean junk, they rather hold their purchase n wait for the japanese mfg to resume their production, that why the total market volume for may drop substentially.
            korean car at par or better than japanese car, my foot ! majority malaysian consumer is too smart to buy this kind of dongeng, except maybe only small ignorant kid.

• David on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:36 am

Jolo, you again. Just because i’m a young dude, does it mean i’m not allowed to speak up my mind? It looks as if you’re trying to prevent people like me from speaking up on what we drive. Come on, i’m not born with a silver spoon in my mouth, otherwise i would be driving a Merc or BMW right now.

And don’t bullshit about your facts again, ’cause i will agree that the tsunami has hit production of the Japs, but don’t you realise that Nissan in the USA still has good sales? The reason it simple:- They make some of their cars, eg Altima, Sentra in USA and Mexico, using locally sourced parts, relying less on Japanese parts, hence the reason why their sales stayed strong.

Korean junk? You ignorant bastard!! How many times i have to tell you, I DRIVE KOREANS AND JAPANESE CARS ON A DAILY BASIS?? You think Koreans are junk? WRONG! Like how i have mentioned here, my Accent and Matrix still runs strong, even though they;re subject to hard driving, especially with the pothole-ridden roads of the Klang Valley. I’m speaking from my experience as a REAL OWNER, NOT PEOPLE WHO JUST TEST DRIVE CARS. Have you even owned, just even one Korean car? Answer that!! I do, and i’m satisfied with my purchases, and i’m looking forward to purchase another one when the time comes.

Just look at the MAA sales, AGAIN. At least their sales remained consistent, because some people are willing to give the Koreans a try. Yes, they may have given nightmares to those who owned the first Sephias, Sportages, and Naza Rias, but now, look where they are now!! Mind you, i used to be sceptical about them until i bought my Accent, so there’s absolutely no harm in giving them a shot.

Think Koreans are never on par with the Japs? Give me facts to back it up, not just say so. And i’m NOT IGNORANT, just that i’ve given myself options when it comes to buying a car, and i didn’t buy a car because of the BADGE!! I got the car because of the space i need, a good warranty, as well as value for every single dollar i pay!!

I’m warning you Jolo, don’t f*** around with me. I’m often a cool person, but, people like YOU who try to instigate people looking for healthy debates, and not your bullshit, lies, and fact-twisting. You have been warned, ignorant piece of shi* douchebag. Get ready for people to come bashing up your lies. Pathetic liar.

P.S-Whoever that agrees with me, like this post, and give your ownership experiences to this ignorant fool. Show arrogant and ridiculously biased people like him that there is no room for him to crap around, especially those non-owners who talk based on sentiment.

• Kumar san on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:37 am

Agreed David.Cool down mate.Just ignore him.We(you,turboman,jalan54,king and etc) will exchange views on other writeups,be it on Korean cars or not here.

Cheers.

• are you sure? what about all the countless recalls that toyota made recently? you call that 100% sure? i call that a blind supporter. ignoring the real facts.

one thing’s for sure, the jap cars are way below par compared with the koreans in terms of technology n design nowadays.

• john die on Jun 27, 2011 at 7:50 am

i think u should change your name to honda or toyota instead…no need to use maserati…thats an italian sexy dude…

• If you say so, why Toyota exercising a major 2.2 million cars call back? and can’t they handle the nuclear plant leak? and if you are not blind, you saw how they counter, right? They just simply pour 10000 tons of nuclear water into the international sea without neighborhood country acknowledgement. This show how serious they are to solve problem, God dxxm it, Japs

• sleevesshop on Jun 26, 2011 at 10:31 pm

waaahhh! so nice! the interior is so smart! pls la Proton, pls improve ur interior design!! sure i’ll buy one!!!

• jsooz on Jun 26, 2011 at 11:18 pm

ok proton…yr turn….

• DewaSemut on Jun 27, 2011 at 9:16 am

To all Korean car bashers,

Do you guys all think that Korean conglomerates like Hyundai and Kia are foolish businessmen in striving so hard to make an estathically pleasing car design in and out but simply reluctant to build a reliable and quality automobiles?

It doesn’t make good business sense in the long run if they continue to do so, right? If they are not confident of their product nowadays, they wouldn’t dare to offer up to 5 years unlimited mileage warranty (fully backed by manufacturers).

Lastly, dont just skewed your judgement based on Malaysian market only, look at the rest of world like US & Europe – how good Hyundai and Kia are performing right now… Americans and Europeans (IMHO the most difficult to be satistied car buyers I must say) are all FOOLS to buy one & Malaysians is so SMART not be deceived by Korean’s marketing hype????

Answer that please…

• actually in the US hyundai is giving 7 yrs unlimited warranty. and the average car loan there is only 5 yrs. what is toyota giving? only 2 yrs warranty. if toyata is so great why not give 7 yrs or more warranty? toyota not confident enough of their products?

so the statement about koreans being unreliable only comes from uneducated ppl.

• Mask Ryder on Jun 27, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Hyundai/Kia give extra warranty as people r still not confidence with their product due to bad pass experience.
        Proton also offer 100000km warranty to oversea market as people are not confidence o their car.
        So additional warranty r nothing to brag about it.

• either you are retarded or a jap blind supporter. the extended warranty doesn’t mean ppl have no confidence. in fact it will strengthen the second hand value more as the 2nd buyer still can enjoy the warranty. even i buy a panasonic aircon ( a jap product ) if the shop give extended warranty 3 yrs everyone is happier than a standard 1 yr warranty. does that mean panasonic is a lousy brand?only retarded ppl will think otherwise.

ppl like you are the reason why the japs are lagging behind so badly. koreans have better crash test result / safety you say thats nothing to brag about. they have better design and tech you say the same shit again. you can go back n buy your dinosour ancient vios junk while the rest of the ppl move on to better and safer cars.

• so why not you buy a new vios with No warranty since you are so confident of the brand?

• katak oh katak….

In the US and especially Europe it is popular for car buyers to purchase extended warranty on top of the standard manufacturer’s warranty. People pay thousands of dollars just to extend the warranty by extra 2 or 3 yrs.

In fact they even purchase extended warranty for used cars. That is why companies like Warranty Direct is so popular.

And here you are saying additional warranty is nothing to brag about? Thousands of dollars in savings mean nothing to you? No wonder you buy rubbish low rent jap cars at high prices. You have zero knowledge about the value of money. Maybe that is why you are still riding a kapcai right “mask ryder”?

Better go back and play with your cheap Mask Ryder toys jap fanboy.

• …kimchii rules now a days!.. i bought santa fe r engine three months ago…i,m very satisfied…no problem so far…nice riding and comfort…+ diesel fuel saver…

• Mask Ryder on Jun 27, 2011 at 11:27 am

Since u r a korean car fan boy, Why don’t change your name to Hyundai or Kia.
    Or even better “Harisu” korean famous sexy Shemale actress.

• David on Jun 27, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Sorry, we neutral car owners don’t call ourselves fanboys, as they are all good brands, just that some products may be better than its competitors. No one’s a fanboy, it’s just people like you who like to act like a thrashbag and try to instigate the people at Paul Tan here.

You can voice your opinion out, but don’t act stupid like how your postings here show.

• aiyoooo.. so sui on Jun 27, 2011 at 12:39 pm

this avante is the same size as the current civic, am i right?

• Mask Ryder on Jun 27, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Well, simple the American is geting poorer, infact they r geeting so poor that pumping fuel become a burden to them, to counter this they r releasing their oil reserve to counter the fuel price.
    So a poor man doesn’t have much choice do they.
    As for the european r not any better too, PIGGS r in deep sh*t, infact some european country offer cash incentive to help auto industries, if u get a fixed subsidies surely u would chose cheapest car so that u need not to top up more.
    So brother your comment that America & European r critical car buyer no longer valid.

• Ouch !! warning from Super Junior again, i got real freak out, i better becareful of Accent & Matrix drove by an angry brat if i ever visit a construction site.
    That i am saying the Korean car sales did not improve to fill in the vacum cause by the japan tsunami, mean malaysia will not simply buy “?” quality, low residue “$” , Korean construction site buggy, as a substitute.
    Which mean they have fail in their attempt to capture majority malaysian consumer preception that they r as good if not better than japanese car.
    Offcoz except those who buy car not using their “own” money.
    You do remember u r talking about MAA figure for may, so don’t switch goal post in mid of the game.
    Ok my mistake u r born with silver plated stainless steel spoon instead, look like a silver but actually not, look smart, sound smart but actually eggh…
    I usually cool too, except when i see ignor…t people.

• eddie on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Jolo, the Korean makes are here to give an alternative to the rest of us, that’s all. They are not here to capture or change our market perception or to claim they are better than Japanese. I don’t really care of how many cars they sold but if you look at what they have, they are bringing newer version of models and mind you , they are not just facelift models. The Sonata , Elantra and Tucson , they are all different from the previous models…inside out. So they are really designing a new car. And did i just read that Toyota Vios is coming out with a new variant called Vios G Limited model? Seriously are they running out of ideas and have to come out with new variant to keep Vios fresh ? If you want to defend your japanese makes, i suggest you and other bashers head over there cause almost everyone is leaving bad comments on this new Vios G Limited model. It was such a pity sight that no one is defending this ! I was surprised when your name did not show up in any of the post .

The Koreans also make improvements in electrical products. Even mobile devices such as Samsung Galaxy , is making waves .

• Why ofcoz the Korean need to bring in new model becoz their older model are totally Bozo car.
        If it not for the copy cat mitsu engine this new batch would be another failure.
        R u Talking about Samsung Galaxy S II which 99% resemble iphone 4 no wonder Apple want to sued their pant off, what a shame for a top mobile phone producer to copy other made bulat bulat.

Yeomchieobsneun Hanguk

• i_swear on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:40 am

Jolo,
          FYI, do some research before bashing between Samsung and Apple Iphone

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/11/01/28/samsung_to_quadruple_mobile_chip_production_for_apple_in_2011.html

As you know that most of the Iphone parts is from the Korean junks that you dislike. If you happened to have iphone, please throw it for god sake as you don’t like korean stuff.

And those suing is sandiwara only unless APPLE find other supplier to replace Samsung. It happened due Apple wanna jaga muka.

• Mask Ryder on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:27 pm

King ice cream,
        U r the one that try to spin here.
        Extended warranty may come from the banker or even insurance co. Not necessary the mfg or the distributor.
        Do want me to repeat 1000 times Korean car mfg have no choice, consumer are not confidence in their product due to bad past reputation, korean car mfg need to comfort their customer by offering longer warranty.

Just like Proton now offer lifetime warranty for their famous guaranteed fail power window.

It this simple enough go understand? faham? mingpai ? puriyala ?

• David on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Jolo and Mask Ryder,

If you’re only interested in bashing Korean cars just because you don’t like it, get out of this forum, dickheads. We’re here to discuss the pros and cons of cars, not be like douchebags, full of hatred pricks like you two, only interested to bash, bash, and bash. Car manufacturers give long warranties because they’re confident that their products will last. Even if Toyota gives a 10-year warranty, i’ll happily welcome it, as it shows that they’re confident in their products.

You both LOST badly, so deal with it, thrashed-up fanboys.

• David on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:30 pm

It’s only you that’s ignorant Jolo, so deal with it. I have already smelt the coffee and have given myself options in buying a car, and it does pay off. So does others like Eddie Kee, King, Jalan54, TurboMan, Kumar San, and other like-minded car lovers who love cars that are good, and bash where it shouldn’t have been in the first place. We’re proud owners of Korean, Japanese, and for some of them, European makes in our driveways, and all we have to say is that we’re a happy lot. All good cars, equally likable.

You got a problem with me being a brat? HAHA!! At least i’m a brat for all good cars, not like pathetic people like you, refusing to get out of that antiquated mindset.

• Mask Ryder on Jun 28, 2011 at 12:01 pm

I guess inside M1 & King mind r limited to Vios, Vios & Vios.
    So for them anybody not driving Korean Garbage drive Vios.
    Lost on warranty issue now tukar cerita to extended warranty.
    Even if i rode motorcycle i make sure i would not choose Hyosung.
    Mask Ryder only ride realiable japanese made Battle Hopper & Road Sector, not Korean Junk Kapcai.

• too bad you have an issue with understanding simple english. i don’t see why you are playing with words here. warranty is warranty. it doesn’t matter whether we are talking about manufacturer’s warranty or extended warranty.

the fact is the koreans are giving a long term manufacturer’s warranty already shows that they are confident of their product not like the japs. so in this matter tha japs already lose out as the average buyer will have to pay more to add on extended warranty for the jap car.

understand that….else go back to school… boy!!!

• David on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Agreed King. Let these bashers be, they only know how to claim we lost, and keep talking loads of crap out of their mouths, as if we will buy it. We love our cars, so let’s bash them baseless people in unison.

• I hope the pricing is right. I will consider to buy it if the price around Forte

• All i see in yr posting r just vulgar language with zoro substance, but it ok as that how construction site people speak.

I can see u have reach end of yr point u have no more fact to provide.

Another self though genius, maybe as Mask Rider said proton give lifetime warranty is becoz they made the best power window in the world, n they confidence they power window would never fail.

• David on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:12 am

You know why i had to end up using rougher language? Look at you. Always demonising the Koreans, as if they’re THAT bad. And we car lovers have more hard facts to shove right at your face, to show you that there are still better things to come.

Deal with it, and before that, good luck if you choose to attack me again. The rest are waiting for lies to come out of your mouth in any upcoming articles, at which point we’re ready to keep your arrogant mouth shut for good.

• DewaSemut on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:50 am

I will always be there give green hands to you and red hand to them… Long live David!!!!

• Mask Ryder on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:55 am

Jolo what else u expect from a foul mouth construction site spoil brat.
    Chinese people would call this “mou ka kao” or “mei jiao yang”.
    Maybe he is a graduate from “South Park University” that why.

• eddie on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:16 am

Anyway, Jolo and Mask Ryder , both of you are like two sesame seeds on a big bun. Your personal crusade against Korean marques is a futile attempt. I don’t see you are getting any support in here. I believe most of us have driven or owned different marques at home be it european , japanese , korean etc. They all have different features and specs and because of that , each have their pros and cons. I don’t know why you are spending your time and resources in here whereas you should be defending your japanese marques which have been getting bad comments in some of the posts in here.

And i believe people in here are matured enough to know what’s good and what’s not , what’s value for money and what’s not. And if we stop replying to you, it’s not we are out of facts. Sometimes, it is easier to leave a battle than to engage in a war of words with you. I don’t see you and Mask Ryder as enemy but probably some misguided soul that’s all. WE rather reply to posts from people who wants to know more about Korean marques and we help them get a clearer picture.

• David on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Good one Eddie. I wonder how conclusive they get when we just hurl some hurting words at them, at which point they would say that we’re some sort of lousy people, brats, whatsoever. When we give the facts right into their face, they’ll just ignore it and resort to the lower hand of bashing whatsoever.

Let’s just leave them be Eddie. I’m sure right-minded car lovers like us has their cold hard facts ready as ammunition to shove right into their thick-skulled minds.

• Kumar san on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Like i have said earlier David,just leave them be,it’s pointless wasting our time and allowing our tempers to flare with them,replying them and what not.Especially when we have other more constructive topics to discuss&exchange positive views about cars in this blog,regardless of origin or where it’s from.That’s what this motoring blog is for anyway.

I’m sure Eddie will agree,btw,how are you doing Eddie?What you said was spot on anyway mate.You guys have a nice day ahead.

Cheers.

• eddie on Jul 01, 2011 at 8:53 am

Hi David

Ya, will just start to ignore those bashers .

Hi Kumar-San, doing great. Well today is friday , so have a great weekend ahead

BT , enjoy your new elantra :)

• Forte Lover on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:28 am

Hi I’m new here, just wandering that Jolo and Mask Ryder do they know who is the lead designer for Hyundai and Kia?? Guess it.

Add-on, they are the fans of Japs car. to be honest Japs is lacking back on their car specs, features and acces offer to the latest models compare with other car manufacturer. take a look at vios, errr…. how many times have FL but nothing changes except the grill and body kits. And City have to improve on the security features much more. On the lately news, City is the target of the car stolen list on top and the most.

As what Hyundai and Kia offering at the market currently compare with Japs car is far more VALUE FOR MONEY!!!

Jolo and Mask Ryder you have to accept nowdays Korean’s stuff is more reliable than 10years back. Cause they have learn their lesson well.

Guys i really can’t wait to test drive this hyundai new baby.(Avante/Elantra 5th Gen).

• I’m driving the new elantra. It’s a solid car. Love it very much. Comfortable handling. Better driving experience compares to Kia Forte. Go for the Keyless model. It comes to reverse camera, electric seats, retractable mirror and bigger tyre rims.

• hi BT,
      May i know what is the official servicing frequency of the new elantra so as to maintain the warranty? is it 5K or 10K?

• shall i go for hyundai / kia….

• Princess MiMi on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:07 pm

The interior design is awesome!!!!! It just look like a sport car. Can’t wait to test drive it.

• hi BT,
    You are driving 2011 model? I though it is still not available in malaysia? How much is the price?

• This is the car that I waiting for, finally it come to Malaysia….

• lexapro on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:35 pm

i saw a Avante speeding northbound from the Jalan Duta toll this afternoon. black paintwork with WUN xxxx plates. i think it’s the first i’ve sighted on the road, or rather first i’ve really noticed and tail-gated. not sure what models they had before, but i presume it’s a 2010 model, someone correct me, and a 1.6l cc engine. it seemed like it had no problems driving really fast ahead of my 8th gen Civic 1.8 and going around the bends really easily on the fast lane. the looks of the rear has a lovely subtle look. i’m sure with the new 2011 coming out soon, it will be an even more powerful piece of beauty. seriously considering it now as my next car.

• Forte Lover on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:26 am

Jolo and Mask Ryder, have you ever wonder who is the desinger for KIA FORTE????

• ananda on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:04 am

i like new elantra 2011..very beautiful…i hope same price kia forte…i buy one…i have getz.2004. ..good driving……. l like hyundai…bye

• ananda on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:10 am

very nice new elantra…i like….i have a getz..good drive…i hope same price kia forte..i buy one..

• Rosli on Sep 05, 2011 at 4:15 pm

im waiting for this car to be launched. if the price below 100K for 1.8 im sure getting one but if too high and 1.6 is much more competitive, ill get 1.6. pls make it competitve with Forte and inspira price range. im considering Fiesta design, Forte features, Inspira size and based on review im considering this Elantra the best choice. handling etc have to wait test drive loo. sincerely Forte won my heart over Vios and City. hehe

• Car Lover on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Finally it is coming to town…will consider to buy my first Korean car if the price is below $90K…

• Avante Lover on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:12 pm

When this car will be arrived? Now already October, no any happening yet!!!!!!

• When was this car will arrive here? think to drop by the showroom this weekend to get more info on it..hopefully is not a long wait lol

• ChenGy on Oct 14, 2011 at 9:43 pm

Yeah ! currently waiting for this car to launch , if its below 100 k will get it !! my god !!! if anyone know about the official launch date to msia..please do drop a msg here !!! :)

• AZAZIL on Oct 16, 2011 at 3:35 pm

BAIK BELI KETE NI DARI PROTON PERSONA R

• likely to launch 1Q of 2012.

• luiqi on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:34 am

most probably launch will be mid if dec2011,price range will be 90k-105k.. that what i heard from hyundai sales person..

• called the dealer, anytime in Nov2011.

• SekSeku on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm

SA told me that the car will lauch after CNY 2012

• NazMin on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:16 pm

looking forward to this car, had to sell my old accent…anyone has the exact date of when this beauty will came out do let me know…coz I’m going crazy rite now!!

• sheng on Nov 21, 2011 at 10:12 pm

when is the launching date and the price

• many dates given, look like no exact date.
    no point asking anymore, just wait till the car is launched.

• It is a great car~~ Looking foward to see real car ^_^ If not Mistaken there is one Hyundai Showroom in Kuala Lumpur is displaying this car in their showroom. EXCITED~!!!!!

• horne on Dec 29, 2011 at 6:28 pm

it’s gonna selling like hot cake if priced correctly.. bye bye H&T

• NazMin on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:18 am

Hi folks, can someone really tell the exact launch date now? Is Hyundai dealers has already open for book now?

• superduper2012 on Jan 31, 2012 at 3:15 pm

it’s true tht H,T,N and jap. cars are outdated and conservative, unlike korea, even K-pop and drama r become popular bcus of their talents and beauty in mind, hyundai also getting better n better.
    all new hyundai elentra comes to town, its launching date will be mid of Feb 2012, 1.8 (price about 100K+), 1.6 (< 100K), b ready to get it, first buy first get…dun lost the chance of this beauty. bcus of tht beauty, we will b more care & love this car than ur wife/girl friends…hehehe:))

• Once_owned_Kia on Mar 08, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Believe me…its awesome from looking it!!!
    Really…..

BUT (big but there)…

I went to Jeju last month, had a chance riding taxi Elantra like this..
    Not a great experience in my personal view…
    but again its my experience..
    Diff people diff need..:) dont bash me.. ahaks ahaks

• emo_guy on Mar 24, 2012 at 1:45 am

nice car n spec..cant wait for the launching in msia..soon…next week…worth to buy