Audi A1 1.4 TFSI introduced in Malaysia – RM180k

Euromobil has officially announced the arrival of the Audi A1 in Malaysia, and the car enters the market in a single variant form, this being the 1.4 TFSI, priced at RM179,900 on-the-road, without insurance.

The four-cylinder 1.4 litre direct injection turbocharged block offers 122 hp at 5,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque, available from 1,500-4,000 rpm – it’s mated to a 7-speed S-tronic transmission. Performance specs include a 0-100 kph time of 8.9 seconds and a 203 kph top speed. There’s a power difference compared to the 1.4 litre found in the Golf and Scirocco TSI; this is because the Audi uses the single turbo 1.4, not the twincharged 1.4.

Standard features include Xenon plus headlamps, LED rear lights, front and rear fog lamps, light and rain sensors as well as automatic air conditioning. Wearing an Ambition trim level, the car comes with front sports seats dressed in Herzklopfen cloth, aa leather-wrapped three-spoke steering wheel and aluminium-look interior trim.

Also on, a rear roof spoiler, side and rear windows in heat-insulating glass and 16-inch cast aluminium 10-spoke design wheels, wearing 215/45 series tyres. Safety kit includes six airbags and a host of ESP-based three-letter acronyms, these being ABS, EBD, ASR (traction control) and EDL, not forgetting brake assist.

Additionally, there’s a comprehensively equipped Audi Concert audio system, with a 6.5 inch TFT colour display, 6-CD changer, SDHC memory card reader/auxiliary input and Bluetooth, MP3, AAC and WMA compatibility to be found in the mix, complete with 10 speakers and a 180-watt six-channel amp.

Optional equipment for the A1 consists of pearl effect exterior colour (RM2,500), a panoramic roof (RM4,500), a 465-watt, 14 speaker Bose surround sound system (RM4,000) and a S line package (RM15,000).

The latter includes a S line sports suspension, 17-inch 5-double-spoke alloys with 215/40 rubbers and an interior, dashboard and headlining finished in black, with jet grey seams on the seat covers. The package also bags S line front/rear bumpers, side radiator grille and a rear diffuser insert, body coloured side sill strips and plenty of S line badging (front wings, door sill trim etc). among other things.

If you want to catch the car in the metal, you can do so at the A1 showcase at the Pavilion from today until this Sunday, June 26 – there’s a special A1 Hour happening from 5.15- 6.15pm, with a dance performance, games and giveaways to be had. Penangites can visit the similar showcase at Straits Quay, which also runs from today until Sunday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• riphoff on Jun 24, 2011 at 1:57 pm

too bad i dont like the rear lamp

• Only 122hp, so lame, drive this car and get tapao by Hyundai, mana siok.

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:03 pm

horse power is not everything, you’ll have to look at the torque as well and eventually, this car can be tuned to 150hp at least with 230 of torque.

• Audi plays Trash on Jun 25, 2011 at 4:35 pm

I was about tobuy this car until I went to Pavillion KL where they had the launch and they were playing some trash music that was so irritating. Everyone with me loves Audi but after hearing the trash played there and seeing the girls there dance to the trash, we realised, no way we will buy a car from a company or a distributor who has no sense about pleasing its clients.

Audi, you just lost 3 clients. Please find a PR company or an events company who does proper events.

• first i heard a decision about buying car related to music, so did you bought a BLM because they play Mozart there ?

• ApaPunTakBoleh on Jun 26, 2011 at 10:59 am

Their target audience is actually to trasher who have a lots of money! hahaha..

• Haha hairdresser likes trash music.

• powertrain 101…so what it has 122 bhp…max torque 200 Nm (equivalent to 2.1 litre) from low rpm flat to 4400 rpm, 7 speed…lightweight somemore…hyundai will be bbqed anytime bro…i know, i drive a polo with 175 Nm..i can smoke a standard civic anytime…

• theanswer on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:04 pm

from 1.4 engine maa..

• siewpaw on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:02 am

satria neo r3 more faster.

• Nizam80 on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Neo R3? I doubt that.

But supercharged Neo R3 will undoubtly be a direct rival. hehe.

• john die on Jun 25, 2011 at 4:53 pm

neo r3 much faster meh??u challenge with s1 la..not a1 then u know la who is much faster

• Nizam80 on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:08 pm

200nm of torque from as low as 1500rpm can easily tapau your Sonata, bro. Some more, this car is much much lighter.

• mfahd_88 on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:38 pm

indeed
      kinda remind me of our 2004 savvy

• papa(not)rich on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:09 pm

see a real life A1 in spain, look smallllllllll……..but well built, but still RM180, consumer have a lot of option.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:06 pm

BMW BETTER

• shawal on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Small car , Big price tag …..The New Audi A1……………….
    Test drive one today……………….

• not bad, quite sexy..
    who love the luxury small car can consider this, the price is more friendly compare to mini.. =)

• For real? Add a bit more and get a Golf GTI…

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Totally agree with you on this. If they are thinking of competing with bmw 1 series, think again, I rather buy 1 series which is 4 doors.

This car is really no point, maybe audi enthusiast like it, but it is really not for the market.

• Look, this car does not compete with the BMW 1 series. The A3 competes with the 1 series. The A1 is meant to compete with the Mini.

• then I’d rather get the mini…
          the front looks nice but the rear lights looks dated already…

• get abit abit get roco 1.4 laaaa…. :)

• pussi tan on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:14 pm

okay, at this price of A1, it’s a very Tough Job for the mighty God, i mean, God Himself is forced to ‘make’ a bunch of ‘idiot human being’ that would possibly get the A1 in bolehland. Very tough job.

• there will be quite some on the road very soon, trust me, but seriously appeals to the softer side of the gender …

• reduce litter more get Golf TSI

• vincent on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm

I think VW 1.4 better deal and performance, no doubt this A1 looks more upscale.

• KongFuPau on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:15 pm

The rear really remind me of Proton Savvy

• nanashisan on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:16 pm

cheaper than mini too.
    mini is overprice for the same segment.

• have you been in both cars? i bet you don’t

• ZoomZoom on Jun 26, 2011 at 9:56 pm

@pipi,
        I bet you HAVEN’T.
        Learn English before mocking others.
        People like you should get off the internet.

• player 1 on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:25 pm

the only reason anyone would get this is because it produces less than 100g/km of CO2 i think.read it somewhere in top gear.looks wise,abit blerrrrghh.just my two cents.

• I’ll buy the Scirocco anytime with this price tag.Add abit u can get the C class or the AUDI TT if u dun mind is a recond car.

• nebula87 on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:12 pm

so mny add abit…
      if add ABIT really that good idea, evryone buy BMW 7 series instead of this car lor…

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:07 pm

Did you fail your math during school time? People mean a bit is really a bit lar… 7 series is way too much and not a bit.

• meego-N9 on Jun 25, 2011 at 8:05 am

people who considering the A1 oledi Added abit from their original budget of say 150GB. so can no longer add more bit to that added bit or byte. 180GB maximum capacity.

• autobot on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:25 pm

single turbo only?

better get cheaper french lion 308..

• What price tag is that… 180k… baik beli kereta lebih besar dan selesa…

• Type F on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Bad ass..

• JULIAN LEE on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:33 pm

I dont like BMW anymore, now I like Proton Satria Neo

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:09 pm

lol…
      just because you don’t have the budget to buy 1. Comparing satria neo with bmw??? You make me laugh my tears out… lol…

• Nizam80 on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Wah, Good good!. But why suddenly change your mind?? LOL

• tokmoh on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:29 pm

The end is nigh… Julian Lee into Proton? hahahahahaha XD

• selamat on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:39 pm

and four door some more..greedy

• BLM Power on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:45 pm

only 203 kph!!!!
    My BLM can cucuk this car easily on PLUS hiway

• BeemerFreak on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Haha BLM, cucuk what part of the audi? the left over tyre marks? Pathetic, bagi otak pun tak mau guna

• Critique on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:51 pm

And How long your BLM can sustain the 203 kph? :)

• BLM NA..Audi Turbo…gila ke apa hang ni?

• Nizam80 on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:20 pm

BLM want to reach 160kph also take 10 years already. LOL, I know you’re joking, man.

Anyway, BLM is the best budget car money can buy.

• siewpaw on Jun 24, 2011 at 2:49 pm

better buy satria neo r3. can get two plus modification.

• jalan54 on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:01 pm

don’t compare like this, satria neo r3 is totally out of the picture.

• siewpaw on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:02 am

what’s the different? two doors? only what? interior gadgets?? duhh still a slow car compare to satria neo r3

• most audi people on their LED headlights in daytime, like very action like tat.

• Mozilla Chrome on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Thats why it is called ‘audi daytime running lights’..

• VoidDance on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Well, I thought that LED is daytime running lights which suppose to be use during daytime?

• Spend so much money to buy Audi, sure have to action one ma.

• venven81 on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:32 pm

it is DRL = reads Daytime Running Light. duh…

• Anonymous on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Because those are daytime lights you idiot…

• Andrew on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:04 pm

DRL are mean for safety which helps to alerts other ppl about the car’s existence, just like motorcycle need to turn on their headlight during daytime, why? for lanci about they having headlight ka?

• Hairdresser sure lanci one ma.

• nangkung on Jun 25, 2011 at 12:18 pm

180K for a savvy look alike.. he has all the rights to be see pek lancii… yes?

• Nizam80 on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:22 pm

But now, I’m starting to see a lot of Wiras with their aftermarket day time LED lights… So are they showing off also??

• rosdi on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Huhuhu…. darah hidung…darah hidung….!

• Ashvin on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:06 pm

if im not mistaken those daytime running lights are a safety future and cant be switched off (correct me if im wrong) so yea….as for this…honestly …looking at the way premium branded small cars (which does not include vw,peugeot or renault) are priced here..i would say it is competitive with the way cars are taxed here…a 1 series or the weird looking A class and even the mini which this competes with are priced much higher….but its still pointless to buy it in these shores anyway…..

• The daytime running lights can be switched off for the A4 (and probably also for the other models too)

• keeekeee on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:49 pm

I’m not sure abt the audi but my 2011 BMW 320 cannot turn off. it turns on itself once engine starts :( always get people telling me “ya lights are on”

previous models for 3 and 5 serious can be turnned off but not 2011 models

• seancorr on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:06 pm

For that price I was expecting leather interior, electric seats and 17″ alloys

• mentari-korea on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:21 pm

..my kia koup look much better than this, more power and 65K cheaper!! Tks Kia.

• I like Kia too, and as much of a premium you pay for the A1 over the Kia, I’m afraid to say that the interior of the A1 is light years ahead of the Kia.

• ayo this car price too bloody high..

• Renault Megane RS on Jun 24, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Meng , You cant switch off the DRLs …. not for langsi la ..safety feature

• damm you u overpriced Audi!!!!

• If we put things into perspective, let’s look at the Mini Cooper, the direct competitor to the A1. Virtually the same power, but the A1 is a little faster and a little better fuel consumption. The interior of the A1 is more upscale as well. The A1 is RM179k, the Mini Cooper is RM195k. But yes, at the end of the day, these premium hatches are not entirely logical for the prices you pay. It’s definitely a heart over head kind of thing.

• Bobby on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Finally, after scrolling through the comments, this is the first constructive comment i found. No one seems to complain about the MINI’s price ever. And perhaps its good to note that Audi threw in almost everything into this car, while upgrading to Bose stereos is just an RM4k thing, and the retractable panoramic roof is another RM4.5k – pretty decent price.

• Its true A1 is overpriced. So is MINI. But the thing is for all the ‘character’ MINI do have its MINI-maniac fans. For instant, my neighbour, he just changed his Posche Boxter! (he had an older Boxter before this too) to a special imported JCW convertible!! I remember always speaking to him when he got his new JCW, he used to tell me how great his JCW is and how she is more powerful in reality than his old Boxter….bla bla bla (He is in his 50s!)
          I cannot imagine someone would change a Boxter to an A1…… The MINI sentiment is hard to be found in a A1 unfortunately…
          Enough said, how would one justify buying an A1 over say…a Sirocco? I am not one.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:13 pm

The new 1 series will dapao this thing for breakfast, rape this thing for lunch and kill it in bed.

• AyamA1 on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Audi is a premium brand so i think they have to priced it abit higher and the cabin quality is better compare to VW golf, If let me choose i will go for the Lexus CT200h.

• GIngerbread on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:21 pm

For me i will also go for the Lexus CT-200H or Golf GTI….

• Ridiculously priced. Why I said so? A more bigger, better, roomier and more powerful Golf TSI cost 40k less! Spec the A1 with all those options and you can buy a 200hp Golf GTI already!!!!

Even die hard Audi fans know the price is just not reasonable at all.

• jagung on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:13 pm

This thing is based on the Polo and the 122hp 1.4 TSI engine is just one step above the 1.2 TSI in the Polo.

So you take Polo’s 110k price, add 15k for the larger engine, add 20k for the Audi badge, this thing should be priced at RM145k max.

• Unforgiven on Jun 24, 2011 at 4:59 pm

TSI 160k vs this 180k, good fight…

• quottro on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:43 pm

nope, it should be 160k 160hp TSI vs 180k 122hp TSI :)

• Unforgiven on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:57 pm

VW is a cheap/entry level car if it’s not because of P1/P2.
        Ppl may still go for Audi because of the class/status.

• Comparing VW & Audi is like comparing Toyota/Honda with Hyundai/KIA….they are different scale lah….Audi/BMW/Merc belongs to 1 group, VW is 1 rank lower, at least in the Europe

• WV to Audi is Toyota to Lexus. VW owns Audi. Toyota owns Lexus.

• ABTguy on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Bloody overpriced VW Polo in disguise.

• stupid on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:13 pm

so many poor ppl shouting here….no money then go buy your forte la…

• armandd on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:27 pm

I don’t really like the design.. This car and the BMW 1series shouldn’t exist at all..

• Ash Menon on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Love the design, but that’s a verrrrry small niche they’re aiming for here.

• hasral on Jun 24, 2011 at 5:59 pm

it would be better if audi brings in A3 or the famous RS3.

• Ordinary Joe on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Ridiculous price tag!

• In 180k i would rather add 8k to bought the VW Scirocco or save 23k to get the Golf 1.4 TSI! Volkswagen and Audi is the same company but just the different class!

• Audi S’pore bring in 1.4 with 180hp , I wonder if Euromobil will also have this model later on. Considering same platform with Polo , the price should be around 150k . I would rather wait for Polo Gti. SE told me 135k . The probability of strip down acc again.

• fadgeek on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:46 pm

VW Polo is still the peoples car among the mini premium hatchback…

• jerrymouse on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:51 pm

yesterday on my way back from i-city , I saw this car on a trailer..it is red colour which is the one show in photo above. Due to driving, I was not able to take the photo of the car, but in reality is doesn’t seem car, I think bigger than Myvi and it really look sexy!!!

• Ya I saw that trailer yesterday, in fact it was a used Savvy on that trailer.

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Jun 24, 2011 at 6:55 pm

180K for this….it is a joke rite?…
    Looks like savy from the rear…. I can see it now ppl will mistake it for facelift savy…

• OMG, The rear looked weird.

• chris on Jun 24, 2011 at 7:55 pm

180k for a 1.4 engine car???Thats really bloody expensive! Might as well spend abit more to get a Golf GTI. I know its not an apple to apple comparisson, at least golf gti gives you more bang for your money. Good luck on selling the car here.

• ApaPunTakBoleh on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:04 pm

I would see more yuppie girls will drive this.

• fuel cell phone on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:08 pm

imho, compared to the pricing of A1 in UK, which is around 40% lower than the A4, the pricing of this A1 should be around RM 140k instead of RM 180k here in bolehland

• Maths calculation is correct …But Boleh Land taxation structure invalidate this calculation. Because it is a 2 door implies it is a sport car and more tax …

This is wat happen why VW golf is cheaper than a sirocco where it is opposite in oversea according to VW sales person told me.

Any Scirocco 1.4 owner here mind sharing the tax value on the AP ?

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:31 pm

If that’s the case then the Mini Clubman or Mini Countryman should be the cheapest of the minis because of it’s 4 door set-up

• tiadaid on Jun 25, 2011 at 5:28 pm

It’s the dealer’s discretion on the pricing of the car. Here 2-door coupes & hatchbacks are priced higher than sedan version basically because:
        a) Percieved sportiness
        b) Lower demand (Malaysians loves bootspace)

Even Proton practices the same – Gen2 costs around 60K while Persona costs less than that. Tax-wise, there are no disticntions between coupes and saloons, only based on vehicle type (car, 4WD, van etc) and engine capacity.

• kingjoke on Jun 24, 2011 at 8:14 pm

Nice car!… but bloody expensive!

• nice car, shit price

• Nazim on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:10 pm

Better wait for polo GTI. Will definitely smoke this car anyday and probably priced 40k lower.

• aku seorang blogger on Jun 24, 2011 at 9:11 pm

i wish i could buy this car.. huhhh..

• umpgambang on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:54 pm

aiya.. I think my R3 Satria Neo is a better purchase! Vroom Vroom exhaust made girls horny.. U go get one A1 and race with me la.. mari mari… But i think that silver lining looks special.. might go have silver lining treatment on my R3 one day. hehe

• TurboMan on Jun 25, 2011 at 7:02 am

Haa

I doubt ppl who drive this car will be interested to race with you.

• VW Langkawi without price tax info

Scirocco 1.4 TSI 123k

Golf 1.4 TSI 105k

Jack,without tax Scirocco is still expensive than Golf!

• Ei … seems funny, have to check back with Goh Brother penang

I interested for the Scirocco 1.4 but it is almost 30 k more expensive than Golf

Thanks for the info

• I am quite sure the price of a Scirocco & Golf 5 door with the same specification in UK will be more expensive for Golf 5 door.

But … anyhow … bored with the car price in this country -> always far too much expensive for the import.

• Unforgiven on Jun 27, 2011 at 10:14 am

I don’t understand why the price in Langkawi is still on the high side.
      Golf 1.4 TSI 105k? Where is the hidden money goes?

105k is still on the high side, do we still need to pay for the AP in Langkawi? Do we still need to feed the pocket of someone not doing anything?

• Jimmy on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Wah, the price for an Audi’s panoramic sunroof is soooooo cheap, only RM4500. I bet if it is offered in Toyota Camry, it will be an additional whooping RM14500.

• too pricey for the low power and torque, rather opt for golf with higher power and torque and cheaper price i.e at 150k

• bystander on Jun 24, 2011 at 11:46 pm

every body complain about the looks,i bet they never seen one in flesh! i just saw one during my trip to HK recently, i can tell u it’s damn handsome & sexy, n also bigger than expectation in reality, but i do think tt the pricing it’s a little steep for A1 but not only in Malaysia, it’s a global issue so i guess it’s the strategy to increase its luxury image just like the mini. for ppl who will buy mini, this is the new mini, for ppl who will never consider a mini, have peace with your golf, it’s style thing tt some ppl will never understand, just like i phone not necessary got more function than htc, n rolex watches is no more accurate than a swatch, but owning one means something….

• RoqueRS250 on Jun 25, 2011 at 12:49 am

Too pricey

• Wah…. !! Expensive leh..
    can buy Recon Benz E240. almost same price.

• ChrisG on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:57 am

Really a niche, sexy, car.

I would love to have this. I am driving a VW Golf TSI, VW and Audi is in the same family so for those who can afford this car i would still say it is a good offering. Audi is also supposed to be priced higher- they cant be pricing this car around TSI’s range.

Why do some of you jokers mention satria in this thread? if you cant afford an audi, dont insult, and most importantly dont insult yourself by saying satria can cucuk or smoke this beast. Your stupidity shows, no wonder you still cannot afford a car like this.We have nothing against Stria/ Proton or Savvy. Its just a car and we dont make fun of these cars. Drive what you can afford.

And yes, cars are not for you to mod and speed recklessly- you have to und the limitations of your ride. Dont ever feel that your car is better just because you can cucuk my car, or any cars just because you like smelling other ppl’s ass.

this is still a niche car, like the mini. You have the money and you feel its sexy, go buy it.

• ChrisG on Jun 25, 2011 at 4:06 am

oh yeah.. i test drove Luxus 200CH the other day, it was really lacking in power although its 1.8- i know its hybrid but really i wouldn’t want to suffer driving this car. It cant even pull when i floor the accelerator- the sales lady just asked me to floor it because the car just hesitates to move. I didn’t know a hybrid could be so weak. I switched to sports mode, well its only marginally better- so if i drive this car i will have it permanently on sports then it really defeats the purpose of driving a hybrid (it consumes more)

In fact, it was so powerless that i think it is dangerous to drive this car out in the highways, to overtake.

Everything else, superb- what we would expect of a Lexus. I like the refreshing design, the leather wrapped dash etc.

• droll on Jun 25, 2011 at 11:16 pm

hello?????? if you are looking for power, why even bother to look at a hybrid???? you are supposed to save fuel with a hybrid – not burn a hole in your pocket by putting the pedal to the metal. sheesh!!

it’s like buying an aeroplane and then complaining it cannot go underwater like a submarine.???!!

• _xXx_ on Jun 25, 2011 at 9:39 am

fugly! fexpensive!

• DArkerMarker on Jun 25, 2011 at 12:23 pm

for 180k price tag, there are a lot of option of better cars available out there.

Even more option if you consider 2nd hand cars.

• Jinba Ittai on Jun 25, 2011 at 1:33 pm

I think Warranty plays an important part in the purchasing decision these days. The question is how many years warranty is Euromobil giving on this car? On the A4, it’s 2 years. On the Q7, it’s 5 years. They don’t have a standard warranty policy like VW Malaysia’s 5 years Unlimited Warranty. With that, I will go for the Golf anytime.

• john doe on Jun 25, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Target market for this car is for people who don’t have ‘expensive’ word in their vocabulary and money will never be issue for them. They will buy this car purely base on brand power. They probably buy this for their daughter to go to school with. They already have their r8 if they want to go and satisfy their speed hunger and a Bentley to go to work with.

You guys who say that this car is expensive just shut it and buy myvi. Or be control in your life and make things happen by working hard so one day your pathetic life will be better and finally have a chance.

• Danny on Jun 26, 2011 at 1:35 am

The target market is for people who think “Hmm, I have RM180K to spend on a car, but the Scirocco is just too beautiful and a bit too fast for me, so I’ll get something uglier and slower for the same price.”

• bayousam on Jun 25, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Any article that doesn’t mention that the Audi A1 is actually a VW Polo in disguise, is not being honest to readers (possibly at the request of Audi?).

Hmm, RM70k for 17 extra BHP over the Malaysian spec Polo, which is already overpriced. I call that a very bad deal indeed.

• droll on Jun 25, 2011 at 11:14 pm

the platform is the same but the skin on top is different. that can make a huge difference in quality, perception, price, etc.

it doesn’t matter if the under pinnings is a polo. what if the reverse were true – audi built the small car platform and the vw polo is based off it? would that make the polo automatically more “advanced”?? no i don’t think so.

• The A1 indeed shares the same platform as the Polo. But it is just that, a platform. This should not be equated to badge engineering like what GM does blatantly. The components that attaches to the platform can be very different and the quality levels are very different between the two cars. The Polo isn’t a slouch and the A1 brings interior refinements that are unheard of in this mini class. You’re getting A8, 7 series type interior quality in a mini class car. So yes, it’s pricey, but it is also an injustice to call the A1 a Polo in disguise.

• one two three on Jun 26, 2011 at 12:02 am

No intention to offend, but…

Referring to your claims on A1 interior quality and refinements, are you speaking from experience or are you just guessing?

Because I cannot tell the difference in perceived quality/refinement/class between the Audi TT, the VW Golf and the VW Scirocco. They feel of the same class.

• True, I have not seen the A1 in the flesh myself, but basing my opinions on reviews I’ve read so far. I’m quite familiar with the VW group of cars as I’ve owned/driven the A4 (B6), TT (mk1), A6 (C6), GTI MkV and Tiguan. So I think I am fairly well qualified to spot the differences between the two marques. The interior detailing of Audi is just that much more impeccable compared to the already very high standards of VW.

• bayousam on Jun 26, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Fanboys (and gals) can seldom accept what they don’t want to believe.

http://www.vwwatercooled.org.au/f128/polos-posh-cousin-50999.html

• Joezzo on Jun 25, 2011 at 9:24 pm

It’s one nice looking car, but as much as I love it, I still think it’s overpriced. Not Audi’s fault entirely, but the whole system set up by the Government makes us pay too much for a f*****g car. I miss the time when I was staying in UK, can buy a second hand car for as low as 300 quid, can get 2008 Audi A4 1.8 for 18K. Haih…Malaysia oh Malaysia. I would rather pay high price for petrol and save a lot on car price, at least I can get a better car than to always say to myself Proton is the only brand that I can afford. Heck, my brother also can buy BMW M3 E46 there for nearly the same price as a proton Waja here.

• droll on Jun 25, 2011 at 11:13 pm

true but people always forget – they tend to think of petrol and car tax in the same sentence and world only.

if petrol prices are floated so they are at market rates, and car taxes are removed so cars are dirt cheap, it would mean the price of everything else goes up because petrol is used in a lot more places than cars – what more luxury cars. imagine, petrol goes up to RM5 per litre. can you imagine what that would do to the price of char koay teow, roti canai, kopi ais, etc?

• VW MY on Jun 25, 2011 at 10:20 pm

:)

• i would go for the VW scirocco for this price. audi A1 would not sell for this pricey.

• I’d probably got for a Roc too, but look at those exorbitantly priced Mini’s running around. Someone’s buying them, and others will buy some A1’s too. Mini’s have that heritage, cuteness factor and driving dynamics, and that’s their appeal. The A1 may not have the heritage but makes up for it in modern sex appeal and outright quality.

• Danny on Jun 26, 2011 at 1:35 am

Scirocco 1.4 TSI: RM189,758, 160bhp, torque 240Nm from 1500rpm, 0-100 8.0s, top speed 220km/h
    Audi A1: RM179,900, 122bhp, torque 200Nm from 1500rpm, 0-100 8.9s, top speed 203km/h
    I’d take the Scirocco anytime (if I could ever afford one).

• droll on Jun 26, 2011 at 12:56 pm

Cant stand seeing all the comments about how other cars are faster than the a1. If speed is your criteria then the a1 is not meant for you. It may be news to you but there are other people out there who buy cars based on other criterias and audi knows who their target market is.

• Erwan Billy on Jun 26, 2011 at 1:19 pm

I love Audi but not this one. Saw it in the flash at Pavi yesterday

• john die on Jun 26, 2011 at 5:12 pm

those who say i would take vw anyday or whatever it is….pls la..this car will compete with mini la..plus it is not in the same class of golf or rocco…it is in the same class with polo..plus its a premium car..not like the polo frm vw…

• The premium Audi A1 but not the good looking A1!the medium class VW Polo GTI but very good looking plus faster Polo GTI!

• jtiongwl78 on Jun 27, 2011 at 12:09 am

Overpriced! Too much for the price due to NAP.

• Malaysian people don’t know how to value and appreciated Audi design because this car was awarded “Car of the Year 2011” by the British What Car? magazine.

• KL Stray Cat on Jun 27, 2011 at 11:36 am

A bit off tangent, I read it somewhere on Sunday that Audi does not provide navigation for all their cars…even the A8 !!!

• This car can hook up some hot chick.

• Was in pavilion to see A1 live, nice little car, big price tag, my opinion is that anyone taller than 5’8 should not get this car. u can push the seat to the back, still can fit a small kid, and u can also lower the seat, albeit REALLY manually, my spiky hair still managed to touch the top. Saw a few MILF whose like really into A1 la. S-line not a good deal, cosmetic enhancements only. Think the paranomic roof and bose system are more worthy than the cosmetic enhancements for the S-line.

still will sell la, but not big volumes, hence the inflated price….

• Fareed on Jun 27, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Wait for A1 sportback. at least ada 4 pintu

• hafiz on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:32 am

help me please guys! i’m contemplating. Scirocco 1.4TSI or Audi A1?

PS; add another 15K and get the Audi A1 S-line? IS THIS TRUE? :O

• hafiz on Aug 01, 2011 at 1:12 am

guys? please reply :( i need your help ;(

• unanymous on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:15 am

well for me hmmm… if I go for the looks & performance the roco 1.4 with 3 doors will be the best choice compare with the a1 but generally I prefer the polo gti which offers a better prize tag of 136k only plus with 5 doors which also looks good and packs quite a power punch on par with the performance of the golf gti 200bhp 0-100 in 6.9 sec and safe more fuel just like the ford fiesta! the only drawbacks compare to an A1 is the 4cm smaller width and 6cm higher height differences, other than that I cant see any other weaknesses except for the looks which is quite subjective.

• immitation proton savvy!

• Roquers250 on Aug 20, 2012 at 10:54 am

Nice ride to pick up my to be woman with long beautiful legs…

• VW fan on Nov 17, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Save 15-18k. Get a Polo GTI that will eat this A1 for breakfast..You can’t go wrong.