Renault Koleos facelift to enter market later in the year

Renault has announced that its facelifted Koleos will enter the market later in the year. The primary changes to the model, which was launched in 2008, are with exterior styling elements as well as with the interior trim.

The front end of the Koleos has been revised, with the air-intakes positioned either side of the Renault logo on the current model making way for an elegant chrome grille, and the vehicle also features new, slimmer headlights as well as LED indicators on the side mirrors.

The initial version’s distinctive rear-end styling continues on as is, though a new exterior colour called Cayenne Orange has been added to the shade lineup. Mechanically, the Nissan-derived all-wheel drive transmission soldiers on, as does the two-wheel drive option.

No changes too with the three powertrain choices available in the outgoing Koleos – the 150 hp and 175 hp versions of the 2.0 litre M9R diesel and 170 hp 2.5 litre TR25 petrol engines will be used in the facelift, though in the case of the diesels, work on the vehicle, engine and gearbox has resulted in appreciable reduction in CO2 emissions.

A selection of new upholsteries and trims have come about to enhance the interior, while the dashboard and instrument lighting have evolved too, with the introduction of a modern, more stylish speedometer housing and display.

The Koleos, which has made its way to 40 markets on five continents since it was launched, will continue to be made at the Renault Samsung Motors plant in Busan, South Korea. The vehicle was introduced in Malaysia last year.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2332]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Colfee on Jun 24, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Now I’m facing problem to choose between Renault Koleos or Kia Sorento. From what I could see that Renault interior and exterior has warm touch than Sorento but Sorento much bigger space. Or if I wanna play safe should I take Fortuner though a bit pricey. Please give suggestion to me, thanks.

• meego-N9 on Jun 25, 2011 at 12:03 am

wait for the Honda Beat. suit you well.

• Renault Koleos is a compact SUV while Sorento and Fortuner is a large segment SUV .. Koleos could be comparable to CR-V , X-trail, ASX, Rav4 ,Tiguan ,Tucson, and Sportage . For these segment I would go for either Tucson , Sportage, or Tiguan test drive these to make the difference. Of cause Tiguan is proven a much better driving dynamics ,technology, reliability and refinement, but its a price to pay below it i suggest Tucson or Sportage

Sorento, Fortuner , Hyundai Sante Fe, Mitsubishi Pajero, all these are prices below 200K above them I suggest either Lexus RX, Audi Q5, or Volvo XC60. Below 200K i would suggest taking Hyundai Santa Fe Petrol or diesel , diesel might have slight long term reliability issue in the past but its a new R- series diesel engine for Hyundai
      . Sorento have the looks but reliability issue is still in concern, as I drove Sorento in the past, 4 years later this SUV gives me trouble by far more than any car I had ever driven. Test drive those to compare. Fortuner I got no comment but i would rather say its a poor man’s truck and it sold highly for its price in Malaysia

• BOYRACER on Jun 25, 2011 at 9:09 am

1 of the best comments I’ve seen in ages.

• Black Dog on Jun 25, 2011 at 11:59 am

only that he drove an old model Sorento which gave him a lot of problems. The new Sorento now apart from it’s name is a totally different vehicle from the old model. I have no issues with my new Sorento.

the problem with Fortuner is very bouncy & sucks petrol greedily. It’s more truck based so if you use it a lot for off- road, then fine. But Sorento & Santa Fe has changed to a cross-over now which are more comfortable for ordunary driving and a bit of off-road. Santa Fe Diesel is very good for power & fuel economy too but just that I don’t like the looks, they never change much from the old model. That’s what happened to the failed X-trail, wait 5 years and still retain the same looks?

• SSangyong Kyron is a good SUV but sadly ignored by the majority of SUV buyers. It s reliable, gives good fuel consumption and the sound proofing is excellent. I have not had any major problems except for normal wear and tear parts after you clocked over 160k mileage. I have driven the yet to be launched SSYANGYONG Actyon and first driving impression is good. It has taken on a new design and looks modern. None of that Ssangyong quirky design anymore.

• Big Dee on Jun 25, 2011 at 9:59 am

Better go for Sportage fren…

• nabill on Jun 25, 2011 at 4:09 pm

obviously 2nd hand value doesnt bother u….then i suggest u go for the koleos…the ride and handling is way beter than the sorento….and it has nissan mechanicals so its reliable…

• koleo…..lol sounds like a cereal name

• wowze on Jun 25, 2011 at 2:26 am

Looks like a facelifted sportage, the version where it was boxy and round at the same time lols

• faceless void on Jun 25, 2011 at 7:04 am

remind me of Old Kia Sportage…

• off topic..anyone go to the nissan new models test drive today at pj showroom?
    http://www.nissan.com.my/annoucement/premiumtestdrive/testdrive.aspx

• ApaPunTakBoleh on Jun 25, 2011 at 10:01 am

I tot i already saw it in Empire Subang when they had exhibition there 3 months ago?

• the front resembles the also facelifted Nissan Qashqai

• T. Fortuner is a lousy SUV……I have driven the 2.5 lit under power and high priced. They should have replace the 2.5 litter diesel engine to a more powerful 3.0. To my suprice Mitsu Pajero Sport is better powerful, comfortable and stable in cornering . It may look a bit high but its stable……

• Lim Kopi on Jun 25, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Sorry Renault … its still ugly, wonder who would buy this car ?

• jtiongwl78 on Jun 27, 2011 at 12:10 am

Does it comes with Bose Sound System as what happened in their previous version?

• cardreamer on Jun 27, 2011 at 9:04 am

Honestly, the design is backward..as someone said earlier..look like the outgoing sportage..no doubt on the interior quality but exterior look will capture people’s interest at first place…dari mata turun ke hati…