Carbon loaded BMW M3 CRT – 70 kg lighter, only 67 units

What happens when the BMW M3 Saloon is put on a carbon rich diet? You’ll have this, the limited edition BMW M3 CRT. CRT stands for Carbon Racing Technology, and besides being motorsport inspired, the M3 CRT debuts a new production process for carbon-fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP) components.

For instance, the bonnet of the M3 CRT and the bucket seats for the driver and front passenger are made from a cellular carbon honeycomb, which is produced in a unique process pioneered for the manufacture of body components for the upcoming BMW i3 and i8, two new vehicles that will debut as part of BMW’s project i.

The process enables the cuttings left behind in the construction of the body to be reprocessed. The basic material (CF thread) can now be woven into CFRP mats of any size before being impregnated with synthetic resin and hardened.

Scheduled for a Frankfurt debut and volume production in 2013, the i models will feature a body consisting entirely of CFRP in the passenger cell area. For the M3 CRT, this allows the creation of a bonnet made from two CFRP mouldings encasing an aramid honeycomb structure, which is 50% lighter than the standard aluminium bonnet.

CFRP is also used for the car’s bucket seats. Here, the CFRP layers are wrapped around a recycled-paper honeycomb, with a better looking carbon layer (made using conventional production technology) added to visible areas. The rear spoiler and an air-channelling front lip are also from CFRP. A titanium muffler and model specific sound proofing are the other measures.

The M3 CRT’s unladen weight of 1,580 kg undercuts that of the standard M3 Saloon by around 45 kg. Take into account the equipment on board, BMW says the weight saving is more like 70 kg. A big portion of the saved weight is from the front end, which aids agility.

Under the CFRP bonnet is the M3 GTS’ high revving 4.4 litre V8, which makes 450 hp at 8,300 rpm and 440 Nm at 3,750 mm. Then engine features motorsport inspired details, such as a bedplate crankcase construction in a special aluminium-silicon alloy, individual throttle butterflies, a knock control system with ion current technology and a dynamically-optimised wet sump oil supply, among others. Power to the rear wheels travels via an M double-clutch seven-speed transmission with Drivelogic.

There are also some changes to the chassis. There’s now a rigid rear axle subframe and coilover suspension whose dampers are individually adjustable in their compression and rebound. The six-piston, fixed-caliper brakes – discs measure 378 x 32 mm at the front and 380 x 28 mm at the rear – are of a low-weight compound construction.

The new M3 variant also uses Stahlflex brake lines and model-specific brake pads. The Y-spoke M wheels are 19-inch items. DSC has been retuned to match the “greater dynamic potential” here as well as the changed weight distribution. Top speed is capped at 290 km/h.

Quite a nice last hurrah for the E90. Only 67 units will be available, but you can have your own, wallpaper, in the gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2344]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Unforgiven on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:30 am

Super!

• rapidshifter on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:39 am

only 67 unit? truly limited to lucky few…

• waoooooooo….

• meego-N9-best on Jun 28, 2011 at 12:06 pm

after all the weight saving still slower than the heavier v6 new gtr 2011, yawn..waste of time..

• wing tsun on Jun 29, 2011 at 6:46 am

Where faster? Surely not in the country of origin (120km/h speed limit in Japan)? ;)

• KeretaMayat on Jun 28, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Never mind… You guys just take it.
    I prefer E92, the coupe version of M3.

• you can have your own, wallpaper… hua hahaha! keep dreaming.

• first on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:42 pm

first

• wutakchek on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:03 pm

does this car meet safety requirement ….

• Kumar san on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:36 pm

An awesome ride.Should be sold out in no time i reckon.Brilliant rides from M-Tech Gmbh as usual.Still miss my last batch E34 M5.So hard to find one in good nick especially here,where it’s nigh on impossible to even find one in the first place!

An ace effort by BMW nonetheless.

Cheers.

• erwinkarim on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:53 pm

67 unit!!?? they will sold it out less than 15 minutes….

• klguy on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:15 pm

no need so expensive carbon carbon la. malaysian only prefer bodykits…as long as its from toyota

• Vanan on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Only 65 units?? hmmm… Please God… i just hope to see at least one in M’sia and hopefully while it’s roaring…

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Eventhought small production unit, but our country still import and can seen on the road after a year. So, Malaysia especially KL area are most expensive car affortable country.

• Dartz on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:44 pm

No love for the E92?

• noname on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:15 pm

wow… 4-door sedan e90 m3? rare… CRT reminds me of e46 csl.

• hazemanlukman on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:27 am

after the weight saving of 70kg, it still weigh around 1580kg. that is just a weight saving of only 4% out of the original weight of 1650kg of the original e92 M3. it really makes you think how much fatter cars nowadays. if they could make it like the original e30 M3 with the weight of around 1300kg then i think it will really be a monster.

i guess we have to accept the facts nowadays and in the future cars are going to be more obese. Even the new 2013 lotus elise is going to have an additional weight of 220kg from its original 840kg. that is still just a bit under 1100kg but it really is a high increase in weight percentage. maybe in the near future we will start to have BMW M3 that weigh around 1700kg. A future full of fatties that is. cheers :)

• rally_fan on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:41 am

most of the weight comes from the luxuries that consumers insist in having in their cars.. also, demand for increased size is also the trend today which adds on the bulk.

most consumers will not accept a bare bones car like an E30 today, which is also why lotus has to buck the trend and head the way of the fatties ;)

• apishz on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:12 pm

why get this weigth less, if have m1… xD