UMW Toyota to introduce new Vios G Limited model

It looks like UMW Toyota will be revamping its Toyota Vios line-up soon, with teasers of the new range already on its website.

Something new is a variant called the Toyota Vios G Limited, which is teased on the website with black and white outlines. Based on the preliminary specs teased on their site, the G Limited is similiar to the G but adds a bodykit and a more prominent front grille.

We chanced upon an actual full image of the Vios 1.5G Limited completely by chance, as our team spotted a man carrying a brochure of the new car walking past us as we were having a drink at a mamak. We quickly took the opportunity to snap a photo of it.

Look after the jump for a small gallery of details of the Vios G Limited, including a detailed table comparing the specs of the Vios G Limited, the G and the TRD Sportivo models.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2341]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• samkhairul on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:27 am

nothing special..

• Leong Junior on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:40 am

ya~ all i can said is boring and is time to intro new vios already.
      still tak habis-habis dengan dugong tersenyum ni?

• nazgul on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:21 am

now i know where P2 learn to milking their line up…its susu basi already…

• Wisdom on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Its really disappointing. They didnt even bother to impove the safety aspect of this mass- marketed, well received, bought by everyone car. 2 airbags.

See how severe the vios (or market as yaris sedan in europe) can be when involve in an accident. Still UMW starving for max profit with it…..
          http://youtu.be/vcTf78b8WfY

My fellow citizen, value your life please….

• MoFaz on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:02 am

TRD 1.5 at 90k? hahaha.. better buy Inspira than this sportivo

• Unforgiven on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:41 am

Inspira is Proton, what is a Proton when you are in oversea? Or when you look in the World from outer space?

Toyota is still one of the best in Japan, what to do? How to change that?

• MoFaz on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:57 pm

do we even talk about oversea market? i’m just comparing with what we have in Malaysia. for that price range you can even get 2.0 Inspira and 2.0 full spec Forte for God’s sake! Satria Neo is more than adequate to smoke this Sportivo la :p

• Unforgiven on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Not really sure why Inspira is just a joke to me, it is just ‘yucks’ on the road. However, the original Lancer looks good.

Based on those comments I think Proton is ready to compete with Toyota. Please bring down the price of Toyota to be the same as Proton.

You should know that we do have a lot of Toyota models which the cost price is cheaper than Proton Saga.

Let’s kill P1/P2 so that you are able to buy a Toyota/Mitsubishi//VW Polo with the price of a Proton Saga. Or get a Hyundai where the price should be cheaper than a Proton Saga.

• MoFaz on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:54 pm

inspira and lancer are basically the same yet you see one as a good car and the other with yucks?
            it’s confirmed, u can’t see clearly because you put your eyes in outer space. right?

• GenGkey on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Unforgiven what u said make sense…. I have a lame feeling when look at inspira every time… U know after looking at Lancer GT and now a dubbed version just by changing logo?????

May be its time for Proton to stop joking and get into business…..
            If proton able to come out with good cars like how KIA and Hyundai doing now…. For sure Ill get a proton..

Mofaz : Neo is good (The Engine) But as per safety and body…. I wont risk my life…

• MoFaz on Jun 29, 2011 at 6:48 pm

GenGkey, don’t be so ignorant, Neo is being driven in many rally races. even Cusco, a company from Japan is using Neo for their class N rally. Karamjit Sigh keep on winning in his Neo! do you see Vios in Rally?

• fretsurfer on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:54 pm

Are you in Malaysia or outer space? If you wanna talk about outer space cars, you’re in the wrong forum, ET.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Another third-world country mindless zombie. No wonder Toyota loves shafting our local market, thanks to foolish buyers like this.

• francis on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Of course Toyota is best in Japan… It is their JDM la.. what are you talking?
            Same la Proton/P2 is the best in Malaysia.. MDM mah… (Malaysia Domestic Market) HAHAHAHA…

• hvannees on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:26 pm

still hard to see inspira. now with 4k discount at mudah. wow!

• MoFaz on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:25 pm

dealer is reducing their profit to meet the sales target :)

• Cool Daddy on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:55 pm

it seems less demand for Inspira I guess…why offering RM4K discount for new model? doesn’t make sense…

• wing tsun on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Inspira?

Toyota drivers will miss certain features, i.e. the ‘pedal of death’ (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009%E2%80%932011_Toyota_vehicle_recalls), rollovers in curves (http://money.cnn.com/2010/04/13/autos/consumer_reports_lexus_gx460/index.htm), breaking driveshafts (http://pressroom.toyota.com/safety-recall/) etc. etc.

Must be boring for a Toyota fan to drive a car that simply drives… :D

• They want to clear stock.

• I hate hatchbacks on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:25 pm

only bodohman will buy a vios… too big for the b segment cars, and trunks are too big… only ASEAN people will buy…

• TallPan on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:06 am

damn ah beng. i dunno which is worse now… the Toyota designers or the Nissan designers??? Shame on you Toyota. This is exactly what happens when ‘second-hand value’ clouds the mind of the consumer. Disgusting.

• just like the 80’s saga repackaged again and again…………

• U.R.AN.SOB on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:14 pm

Saga is the worse – -” from 80’s to 2008.
        This Vios repackage at the reasonable lifespan.

• trimm on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:32 am

Nothing special?…u sure?
      To me it is quite SPECIAL — so basic, yet so expensive, so many die hard fans….

• Kambing Gurun on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:38 pm

It’s a ‘special’ Dugong what?

• Still a same old vios with additional makeup… that’ all…

• mickey7926 on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:36 am

people still but this crap?LOLLLL

• looking at the sales….whose LOLLLL at whom?…hmmmm…ouch

• Type F on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Of course high sales
        Cheapest T model maa.
        But act like buying very high standard car.
        90k for 1.5 is just a piece of crap.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:42 am

Let’s see how many suckers buy these junk. Remember the Vios TRD? There are still amazingly some units on the road. That’s a definite indication that the owners are intellectually-challenged.

• Haha…
      Agree with you… Some of Vios buyer purchased the Vios J then removed the J emblem to change with TRD. What a crap!

• ttooyyoottt on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:45 am

crap.

• drMpower on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:54 am

this is midlife crisis
    isnt it
    the thing with vios is that its getting old and coming to the final curves of its lifetime
    i thought they were done with the facelift
    then came the trd version or something
    then this vios G limited model

it has to stop at one point
    does it

hoping the next vios could further refresh our choices in that segment

• DiskoStick on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:11 am

Hoping there will be no Vios at all instead. Vanish or vaporise immediately!

• AR HUSSIEN teh ais on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:54 am

Nothing special laa!!! Toyota san !!! I think u guys eat too mch of sushi and thats a lot of worm in yr brain!! U still dare to named it new vios?? I am gonna to vormit after see this!! Haizz~!!!

• Unfortunately toyota don’t see the need to improve on this old junk since there are still 1700 buyers in the month of may.
    This kind of bodykit can easily install at kedai abang. But it amuses me how a useless so called improvement like that can boost up their sales.

• Wisdom on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:06 am

1700 ‘intelligent’ buyer in May.

Sorry to say but this car really felt like myvi with a boot. Toyota is flushing their brand down the drain….

• kamaji on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:09 am

This dugong dont need any improvement at all, in fact they can take away all
      the facelift & still 1700 intelligent buyer will adore it.

• nebula87 on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:00 am

although its a same old crap…but people still buy it…*sigh*

• lonelyobserve on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:28 am

Can’t blame those people. Those young people among the buyers are too naive to be influenced (or brain-washed) by old stubborn heads who pray Toyota as god, whereby Toyota brand is severely penetrated in their heads.

• Those young buyer are actually ‘subsidized’ by their mom and pop with T mentality or else they cannot buy a new car with their own money..
        haiyyaaa…. what to do.. they just have to wait until they can make their own decision larr…

• lonelyobserve on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:25 am

Not subsidized. Being their guarantors willingly because of T. T is god, T is best for them.

• i wont claim toyota is bad, in fact toyota is boring and tedious recent language design especially in malaysia , but the fact unable to deny is reliable , i been equip honda, Peugeot , hyundai , toyota, still toyota -san leave me out of trouble always in 5year nor 8 year , more then ten year…..

• DiskoStick on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:18 am

each day seeing so many vios on the road and it gets on my nerve! but today reading this forum is making me smile cos it makes me realise that there are also a lot of Smart thinkers out there sharing the same thought as mine :D
      Vios J – for those Die Die nak buy Vios
      Vios E – for those Elegance-goers (as if driving Vios = driving highest class car)
      Vios G – for the 2nd class moron
      Vio TRD – for the ultimate moron
      Vios J (emblem terkopek) cum TRD – the master of morons

• riphoff on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:21 am

yawn..

• Hahahaha!! I can’t believe they are still selling this old junk!!

• skiborne on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:28 am

haha so? no extra airbags like fiesta sedan?

• Nicholas Ng on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:42 am

BORING

• wahid on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:51 am

not again

• teelim on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:47 am

I kinda hate it when the limited/special editions we get here are just cosmetic upgrades. Come on, tweak the engine for god’s sake.

• Desmond on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:53 am

*yawn* saw it already in Miri showroom. Just dugong with plastic surgery. which fails.
    Picture: http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/263836_1614490662694_1849167969_1022513_1830808_n.jpg not virus dont worry guys :)

• DonkeyKong on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Ugly. Like old man trying out steroids and Marie France to feel like a teenager again.

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:59 am

nothing special on it.. still rather buy the fofi than this crappy facelifted vios…

• Leseid Obrut on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:01 am

it’s a vios with a handlebar moustache! =D

• I’m not really keen with Vios Dugong but I believe majority Malaysians bought it because that’s the cheapest import brand Toyota sedan they will ever get. Furthermore the fuel efficiency is great.

Heck, even the 1980’s Toyota Corolla carburetor engine is far more fuel efficient than the current Tanjung Malim’s engines.

• MoFaz on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Waja is about 200kg heavier than your beloved Vios. try put Vios engine in Waja and see whether it’s still efficient or not..? maybe it will be too slow like kura2. 1.6 campro is good for Waja and the car is still steady even at speed above 150kmh.

• azrai on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:36 am

Lagi best Vios? :-) Dugong Tyupe G and Dugong TRD, or DuGonG. Very expensive. UMW- Ultimate Moneysucker Work.

• rulered on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:37 am

Stock clearance excersice, maybe new Vios is on the horizon?

• this can’t stopped me from buying Forte..

• BeemerFreak on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:59 am

My Forte looks almost germanic beside this junk…… Are they even from the same century?

• David on Jun 29, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Well, even better, i couldn’t resist the temptation the dump Toyota for Hyundai, since they offer equally good cars, but at lower prices, and lower running costs. Which is why i now have 2 of them in the drive way. Sorry Toyota, i like your cars, but heck no those silly new all-show-but-no-go variants!!

• OMG…they try to make-up on Dugong with different lipstick….Pls bring in All new T.Vios.

• gokuhanten on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:15 am

“limited” specs here means only (limited) people will buy …
    no point to own tis “limited” bzoc nothing special about it…
    don’t wasting ur money….go n get the better 1 outside … :P

• ericmaxman on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:22 am

wow, impressive !

• the problem is no car is worth buying in bolehland, so people have to “no fish prawn also can” lor…

• i think they like perodua way of selling myvi. this month sell G edition, next month G Limited. expecting G Luxury Limited Edition soon ;-)

• this is the COLOR i have been waiting for all my life, thanks toyota !

• i_swear on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:43 am

My God, Please lar introduce new engine lah, 7 air bags, or 6-speed dual clutch that value for money.

Change to different smiley face only and make price a bit expensive? Pandai cut ppl throat

• blacky on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:47 am

more choices are always better….look at direct competitor city’s may sales….< 500

• BMW-x5 haha on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:52 am

aduh.. the thing they should have done they did not do..

they should do :

put keyless in TRD and G model,
    put Black colour interior in G (not the stupid ELEGANT brownish shit)
    change a set of wheel design.

bodykit is useless for cars like this..

• Protonfan on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:56 am

i will wait for hyundai avante..

• kuriang on Jun 28, 2011 at 8:57 am

MYVI do like that dia punya sale laku ma.. buat la kat vios juga.. multiedition.. sure laku buat pegi ambik anak kat nursery.

• blackjkx on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:07 am

UMW is soooo…..desperate i think. Same goes to this vios buyer.

• be cool on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:07 am

so not for me.

• Wisdom on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:10 am

We should take charge. Dont be fool by this value-lessen offering. Enough with this so call ‘resale value’ thing. Nowadays any car u buy and use more than 5 years wont give u much return.

• who said…… 7yr honda city fetch 38k compare to chevrolate optra fetch lest than 20 k and some dealer refuse to take it ……….unless u got so much money to burn and want a car for rempit and show2….if it just for normal a to b drive just take the boring t and h…..good resale value, easy service at honda or hondi almost everywhere…….ouch.

• theanswer on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:17 am

i bet majority of vios user will buy the j version. its manual n why waste money on bodykit..sigh~

• gjohn on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:19 am

same old vios woth same old design
    just add up TRD bodykit…and the price…WOW!!!!!!

• kantoi on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:21 am

Now we know where P2 learn their trade

• ok what….. they learn the trick from the NO 1 car manufacturer in the WORLD……and P2 is NO 1 in Mesia as well……the Korean is the supposedly upcoming no 1 but then that’s it la…. just the upcoming when also dont know ma…….until then learn from the best no 1…..no 2,3.4 5 later la…..ouchh

• wadda heck, at least they should come out with the turbo version. still the old junkie with some facelift. bah~ disappointing

• PakAbu on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:25 am

I like how the “SPECS SHEET” lists EVERYTHING in 3 columns even though they are mostly identical.

:mrgreen:

• haiya…toyota san…so lack of idea ka till want to say new vios? malulah…honda, hyundai and kia is catching up and soon will replace toyota at the top will great design and much better looking car than the ‘dugong’ look of vios. Sad but true

• nighttrain on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:49 am

OMG! sudah-sudah lah tu….. All new la pulak.

• Am I the only one who thinks that Vios is getting uglier and uglier everytime ‘facelift’ takes place?

• Pls lar,come out with a brand new model..other makers can offer DSG, 6 airbags not to mention traction control.The design now is already out-dated..really the recent Vios buyers are know ‘Nuts’ bout cars.

• robert88 on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:56 am

Dear T if you let me have a choice, with extra 2k+ i will choose

– One extra air bag or
    – 4 x imported tyres/ bigger rims or
    – Nice OEM big touch screen display dvd player or
    – Security + solar tint (branded)

tyvm

• Yeay another dugong on the road to be laugh at… ahhaha

• vincent on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:12 am

Don’t get teased by what Toyota offered these days, overpriced, under spec junk, that is what I see, the current Vios is not as good as the previous model in terms of built quality and choice of material. It is time for Malaysians to dump Toyota for taking Malaysians for a ride for way TOO LONG!

• it still sell well… so, toyota is much more clever than the rest of malaysian.

• New Dugong Desirable…

• insperut on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:27 am

they love dugong very much
    next will be Vios TRD Wassup G Edition… with 185/35 18 wheels

huhuuu

• New DUGONG Desirable.. huhu..

• liangliang on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:28 am

They still maintain their apek style… Korean automaker is catching up!

• the condemned on Jun 28, 2011 at 10:43 am

lucky i bought a mazda 2 instead.hehe.love the handling

• New Hyundai Accent is coming to meet this Vios and City.

• The TRD badge is has been tarnished.
    Can you imagine Honda sticking a bit of bodykit on the City and call it Type R?

• yup u r correct. even now IMPUL is also like TRD. haiyyyyy…………

• TRD doesn’t have anything to do with motorsport nowadays….but rather Toyota Recall Development.

• fuccery on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Toyota Recall Departmentlah… Only Lexus goes on motorsportslah…

• i don’t know what T strategies are, but if you know bit about strategic management it is not necessarily what you good at doing (e.g., continuous improvement – incremental change on the car look and spec) will always getting better. sooner or later this will turn into competency trap or core rigidity. once a while introduce something more radical (innovation) to the current vios will be better, such as 1.6L engine, spec like in thai, etc (even though not so radical). repackaging vios make me think T is learning The Infamous Never Ending Edition from P2. or just like what P1 did previously under mitsu. never ending edition make me want to puke.

• AbangAdikJeeee on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:49 am

Same as newer Myvi,just change something,retain same enigne n spec.. then we call it BAHARU laa…. if not where got more white mousey go into BAHARU scheme?

• bobdbilder on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:27 am

One of the auto industry”s strategy to maximise profit and maintain market leader ship. Toyota’s strategy is small incremental changes. And you see it in Toyota’s ASEAN strategy. That also means for Daihatsu/Perodua and Suzuki marques. Retaining the same platform while upgrades after a period of time.

In Europe, Ford and VW does it like a Dell computer. They market the full blown version, sell the basic and provide upgrades as additions to the basic. That’s Mass Customization. Toyota sells various classes to stretch their reach into more profitable middle income consumers.

This seems to be the move Regional Toyota turns to especially after the tsunami which affected production. They cannot (for next few years or so) invest in a new platform for this region. There is no reason to do so. Added to this is that they are selling a different Vios version for India which is a HUGE market. Regional Market share and profits are growing. If there is a decline, then they would do a rethink.

• samsam on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:15 am

stock lama la… tak habis jual tukar bit sell back NEW!

• TheInsider on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:51 am

wow! this really get me excited! hahahaha…

• BAHARU BAHARU BAHARU on Jun 28, 2011 at 11:58 am

VIOS BAHARU,MYVI BAHARU,ALTIZ BAHARU,CAMRY BAHARU,AVANZA BAHARU only the facelifted with minor change to lamp,bumper…
    what a new marketing BAHARU from TOYOTA for a BAHARU scheme to get more BAHARU white mousey to buy their BAHARU car…

• ayo…. time for a new design la… and if they are coming up with a new vios, make sure quality will be improved… not like this dugong, my kelisa quality is even better…

• johndol on Jun 28, 2011 at 12:21 pm

the vios is just like the G, even if thousands of people hates it there will be hundreds of thousands that worship them. and they will suck their worshipper’s money until they did not have anything left. haha…

• Mask Ryder on Jun 28, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Last check MAA figure show Vios still the best selling non national saloon car.

So all this nonsense negative silly comment are irrelevant to malaysia consumer.

• alpha999 on Jun 28, 2011 at 12:25 pm

*yawn*….boring la..

• bongok on Jun 28, 2011 at 12:40 pm

cantiknya…macam setan

• ahmadi on Jun 28, 2011 at 12:42 pm

this one sure for mark-up purpose lah…

• japfans on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:05 pm

UMW has indeed come out with another good marketing strategy. Sure there will be many water fish got fished.
    Toyata BEST!

• Tomyamta Dugong on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:10 pm

You can put lipstick on a dugong and it is still a dugong.

• Nothing special, another typical UMW strategy to suck blood !

• maserati and jolo are already wetting their pants in excitement over this new grill dugung.

• Malaysian still buy this…so why bother to introduce new model?

• Putin on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Follow P1 & P2 mah….. 3R: Re-badge, Re-cycle, and Re-Con

• John D on Jun 28, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Fact: Vios is the best selling non-national compact sedan in Malaysia.

Fact: UMW Toyota have the most service center in Malaysia (non-national make)

Fact: Toyota sold more than 100k units/year in 2009. No other non-national car make did that.

It is the above facts that make it the most attractive brand in Malaysia when people are stepping out of the Proton/Perodua mentality. Come on la, how many of you all who bang Toyota actually own one or have at least ONE family member owning one? Hypocrites. Tell your family members not to buy lah!

Sensibility makes more sense than pure emotions. It’s like going after a girl with questionable moral values as compared to marrying a typical down-to-earth girl next door. I don’t drive or own a Toyota, but I used to work there. I am now working with their competitors and Toyota is always the benchmark when we improve anything in the automotive world.

Besides, most of the haters can be equated to Apple-haters as well. Apple made it big by cleverly marketing their products even thought their products are slightly inferior to the competition. The same can be said for UMW Toyota as well. Say what you like, but for them to be able to be non-national no.1 proves just how good their marketing was/is…..

Also, the next fact is for some of you who may not be familiar…

Fact: Vios is NOT an import model. It is assembled in Shah Alam.

• nighttrain on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Toyota feels that Malaysians and other Southeast Asians don’t deserve a global C segment car, so here we are.. bickering about a car the Japanese people might not even know existed. Not that it doesn’t matter it’s the best selling non-national car. The same goes to 207 sedan and City. hahah…
      Since Rolls Royce opened their showroom here, we’re officially a high income nation and don’t deserve this SEA only vehicle by T & H… hahahaha

• tiadaid on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:45 pm

Fact – when it comes to buying cars, Malaysians aren’t a rational bunch, so sales figures aren’t exactly representative of anything. Just because the car sells well doesn’t mean it’s that good.

Fact – now there’s more options in the same price range. Rather than buying a Vios that’s only basic in both specs and safety equipment, it’s better to buy a Ford Fiesta Sedan with 7 airbags and a standard equipment list that beats the Vios hands down, or the Forte that’s actually a C-segment car.

Fact – only a complete and utter fool buys a Vios.

And FYI, I’ve sounded off my friends who went and bought a Toyota. After a while, most of them agreed with me but are unable to get out of owning the car due to their loans.

• John D on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:01 am

Sales figures not representative of anything? Seriously mate, if YOU own a company and you can’t sell your products, would you say “well, it’s OK, sales numbers don’t mean a thing, we’re making good quality products and that’s fine”. Amazing, and you say Malaysians are not being rational? Fantastic……

Of course there are choices, there are plenty! But people STILL go back to T. And yes, you are right the Ford Fiesta is good in terms of specs. And since you are comparing to a Fiesta, let me ask u this: have u sat in both cars to compare? I did, and so did about 5 of my friends who owns Vioses (old and new). We all agree that the Fiesta is an awesome machine with good toys, HOWEVER the cabin space is much smaller than the Vios and makes is very cramp-y. Same goes for the City. So when family comes into the picture it isn’t really ideal. Stats may paint a picture, i agree but many times, other factors come into play as well.

Complete and utter fools? Is that a fact? Did AC Nielsen did that survey for you? What a way to sound intelligent, buddy.

FYI, sounding off your friends AFTER buying? What a fantastic job you are doing…..

• johndol on Jun 29, 2011 at 12:54 pm

vios cabin space more spacious than city? sure one arr? I’ve tried vios, city and fiesta and the biggest cabin space is city, except for the rear headroom is a bit low. and the bonnet for city and fiesta is far more bigger than vios. what kind of family wants to get a smaller bonnet space?

• John D on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Of course I am sure. 2 of my aunts drive Vios. 1 cousin and my own sis own a city (both high spec, E version).

My question to u: What kind of family wants HUGE bonnet space but no space to move in the cabin? Do they travel outstation everyday to warrant that bonnet space?

Hmmm……

• johndol on Jun 30, 2011 at 11:13 am

your question is irrelevant, because like i said city got more spacious cabin than vios. my sister owns a vios, i own city and i used both on regular basis. vios got cramped driver cabin and passenger seat space is no more bigger than city. Even fc to my surprising city is far more better than vios on highway. i seriously doubt that you have compared the vios and the city

• John D on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:25 pm

If my question is irrelevant then don’t bring up the point of comparing bonnet space. Say something then say that same thing is irrelevant.

Oh now I see why you and I have differing views. You DRIVE the cars. Tell you what: organize a road trip to Penang (for instance) and you get 2 of your best buds to sit WITH you at the back. Get someone to drive the car. Try it on BOTH cars (since you say u have access to both cars) and come back and tell me how it feels sitting at the back.

City on the highway of course better la. You have 6 speeds what. 2 Overdrive ratios for travel at high RPMs as compared to the Vios’ 4. FC is a whole other topic. And for town driving, Vios actually gives u better FC. So why didn’t u compare both cars in town driving? Cos you know all too well the Vios gives u better FC, right? Even if u want to go into specs u should know (as a City driver) that your car gets max torque at higher RPMs compared to the Vios. Which, in layman terms means you need higher RPMs to move the car from stationary (similar to town driving). And what does higher RPMs mean? More fuel burned.

Seriously doubt? Good for you, mate.

• Nangkung on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Haiz… disappointed with the Tee la… i rather buy ALZA.

• looking-good on Jun 28, 2011 at 2:28 pm

i know this post the toyota will kena handam kao kao, but ……its a fact!

• HAW-LOONG on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Well done Toyota. New variant to boost up sales. But the new look, look rather weird. Perhaps it is the sign of new model coming out soon by next year?

To all Proton basher, do not forget UMW Toyota is a GLC company under Khazanah watchdog. Same goes to perodua, suzuki and honda.

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:32 pm

100 and one ways to skin a cat…..
    T is wasting our time with this… Yes Vios has been the best seller but do u think
    ppl will continue buying this car… Look at the competitors 6 airbags, better design, 5 speed autobox… T u are getting complacent….

• Merc & Lexus = Real Cars on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:40 pm

Vios J Auto is RM76K. You can buy other cars in that range which are better spec.
    Like Swift and Fiesta and Mazda2. The only this going for vios is the resale value…

• not_ah_beng on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Swift, Fiesta & Mazda 2 are all smaller than the Vios size-wise.

• treblecase on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Which is why the car market in Malaysia is unimaginative because we have lots of unimaginative buyers. Sure, resale value is important but is it? If you have a budget of RM90K for a car, why choose a Vios as opposed to a Fiesta which is the best spec car for the price range.

• Altisan on Jun 28, 2011 at 3:49 pm

I saw this brochure last month…

• Group A on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:18 pm

For this amount of price I rather buy Fiesta,Swift,Forte or Mazda 2

• I hate hatchbacks on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:20 pm

UK don’t have vios/yaris saloon or corolla… u surely aren’t in UK… i fact whole Europe got corolla but don’t have vios/yaris saloon, and UK don’t have corolla… and their corollas aren’t the same as well…

• Type F on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Better buy a real life dugong than this piece of crap..
    That is limited edition.

• TRD – Totally Retarded Dugong

• viosfan on Jun 28, 2011 at 4:36 pm

toyota vios is reliable and have good resale value.
    Why? jealous?

• Mask Ryder on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Vios still the Best selling Non National Saloon.
    So all these bad comment are Irrelevant ! Irrelevant !

• francis on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:52 pm

I believed Toyota has done their research well/enough on Malaysia market, that is why they are confident to introduce another so-called facelift model and for those here keep bashing with bad comment.. you might part of 1% or less of whole people in malaysia. This wont change/affect their mind/strategy if they are reading all those comment here..
      Nothing personal.. this is what i call business..

If
      Product = Generate Profit
      Product (Continue Selling);
      else
      Product (Repackaging = Generate Sales);

• keretaproton on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:08 pm

your coding is wrong.
        must have == for comparison not =
        it will cause runtime error.

• x-vios on Jun 28, 2011 at 5:56 pm

I will not even remotely consider buying a Vios now, in whatever version. In my personal opinion, it is uglier than ugly.

Anyway, I have no comment why Toyota is doing this nonsense or why some people bought it. It’s none of my business….

• mazda fan on Jun 29, 2011 at 2:12 pm

None of your business and yet you come here to post rubbish.

• x-vios on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:02 pm

My person view is my business and that’s what I have post.

Toyota’s and other people’s view is not my business and I insisted on stating that here.

Please read carefully.

• got vios club or not in m’sia? if tt sure jam…same like myvi club…haha lolololol..

• kjnnn on Jun 28, 2011 at 6:11 pm

toyota cari lah strategi lain…compare dgn korea brand yang lebih maju dan canggih dengan kos yang rendah… mungkin toyota ketinggalan zaman teknologi ….

• I ask my friend don book the ah beng Vios and go test drive the quite looking Forte and good quality Mazda 3 of coz i never ask him to test the Thailand make H.City but he reject my recommend and book the ugly Vios!eww…

• John D on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Thailand made Honda City? Really? Wow….

FYI, Honda City is fully assembled in Alor Gajah, Malacca,Malaysia.

• Is it new Vios replacement in the pipeline?

• nonce on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:22 pm

damn freaking ugly.the body kit colour shade doesn’t match with the rest of the car.thumbs down. I can’t see the purpose of the body kit in terms of overall aesthetics and performance.it’s like kah bintang’s hyundai with all those ugly chrome inserts.plain jane vios is good enough for me.car buyers who are well informed definitely would avoid this.in other words, GIMMICK!

• rumplestiltskin on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:28 pm

BOO!

• sick&tired on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:34 pm

desperate times call for desperate measures!

• DArkerMarker on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Next Facelift of Toyota Vios.

Ultimate TR”D” spec.

TRD= The Retarded Dugong

hahahahahaha!!

• dannyl77 on Jun 28, 2011 at 7:58 pm

it Will Still Sells Very Well Not mater wat i guess, cos A lot of Malaysians like Dugong :D

• Aiyah ! I have already live pass Vios category lah !
    Anyway Vios was never my favorite B segment car.
    Despite without a doulb Vios still the best selling non national car.
    The mid income chinese & indian buyer r the biggest supporter for Vios, n they r the group who would play safe, that why Vios will continue be the market leader.

• Car Driver on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Common Toyota. Gives us something New…
    A Hybrid…..Or a Turbo Charger Super Vios Or
    a Biodiesel Turbo Vios called Bios Vios

• Inderaloka on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Faceliftlah macam mana sekali pun, tetap tak cantik.

• lazyf on Jun 28, 2011 at 9:32 pm

Mazda 2 (sedan) is more sportier n rugged than this Vios…

• dRwh0 on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:39 am

Vios 05 was my first car..served me well..nothing spectacular bout the car..other than good resale value and fuel efficient..now settled for diff class/diff brand..will i get this car again in future..?definitely NO..the design is getting worse..yet people buy it..

• Go for Ford Fiesta.

• adiddaniel on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:28 am

what ever you comment T brand still the best selling car in malaysia cause maintainace wise and resale value is good

• see,see…another..”good resale value”..hahahaha~~i told ya~~

• Fluid on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:53 am

These feeble attempts to convince another minor change should be called “Another spot the difference changes???”

• DewaSemut on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:13 am

Kinda like deja vu… another boring facelift from kedekut Toyota

• Inderaloka on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Faceliftlah Vios macam mana sekali pun, tetap tak lawa.