Toyota Vios 1.5G Limited launched, TRD Sportivo updated

UPDATE: Live gallery added after the jump.

Today’s launch should come as no surprise to readers of this website, as we’ve earlier posted up the brochure, specs and price list of the Toyota Vios 1.5G Limited, the latest variant of Malaysia’s best selling non national badged passenger car. Besides the G Limited, UMW Toyota has also refreshed the range topping Vios TRD Sportivo. Now, the Vios range numbers six variants.

The G Limited sits between the 1.5G and the TRD Sportivo. It sports a refreshed front grille that will also appear on all Vios variants, except for the TRD Sportivo, which gets a honeycomb mesh design and TRD Sportivo logo.

Both the G Limited and TRD Sportivo wear aerokits to differentiate them from lesser variants – both are five-piece items consisting of front and rear spoiler, bootlid spoiler and side skirts – but the G Limited’s aerokit is a newly designed set.

Both trims come with 15-inch alloys with 185/60 tyres, but the G Limited’s 12-spoke wheels are in dark silver, in contrast with the TRD’s seven-spoke bronze coloured items (they were previously in dark silver). The G Limited rims will also feature on the G.

The Deep Amethyst Mica Metallic colour you see here on the G Limited is new; it replaces the discontinued Grey Mica Metallic. Silver Metallic, Coal Black, White and Medium Silver Metallic colours have been carried over.

Both cars feature leather seats. The G Limited’s cabin is in a lighter beige hue with chrome accents, in keeping with its “luxury” positioning. In contrast, the TRD Sportivo, which previously didn’t feature leather, gets black perforated leather with red stitching (also on the steering and gear knob) for a sportier feel.

The front seats also have TRD Sportivo embroidery plus “dual density foam” that gives “better support for reduced fatigue”. For the Vios 1.5E, dual-tone (dark grey and blue shades) seat fabrics are new.

Owners who want better handling can order the TRD Sportivo suspension kit, which is now available as option for all Vios variants. The kit consists of coil springs and shock absorbers with revised spring and damper rates, tuned by TRD Asia for local conditions. Ride height is lowered by 10mm as a result.

Click to enlarge price list

Price wise, the G Limited will cost you RM 89,600 (OTR plus insurance), RM2,300 more than the G. The TRD Sportivo is still priced at RM92,000, so it looks like the addition of leather seats did not push up the price. As with all UMWT vehicles, the Vios comes with a 3-year/100,000 km warranty. The service interval is 10,000 km.

Full live gallery from the launch is after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2348]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• toyota fans on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:11 pm

nothing special!!!! always do the cosmetic change..
    come out with turbo or supercharged engine is better

• Mask Ryder on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:24 pm

Turbo mean need to use ro97 = RM 2.80/ltr nanti bising lagi !

• turbo cannot ron95?

• can dream about having turbo coz not even push start button they give us till now, y thailand got we dont get? isit bcoz we r so blind that as long as its toyota we definately buy? Y we always get d lower spec compare with thailand or sing?

• MotorNoob on Jun 30, 2011 at 12:10 pm

cos we all still stupid keep on buying… consumer to blame. lol

• Wisdom on Jul 01, 2011 at 5:32 pm

http://youtu.be/vcTf78b8WfY

At least UMW should add in more AIRBAGS

• Downs on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:32 pm

I use ron95 on the 308 turbo and it’s been fine all along. No complaints.

• robert88 on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:18 pm

VW tsi can use RON95

• autobot on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:55 pm

so y so many wira owner complaints?

• Wallstreet on Jun 30, 2011 at 10:24 pm

What’s the big deal? More than 90% new cars can run on ron95, even the Mazda Mps turbo, Peugeot rcz etc..

• Even my Polo can use 95 but i still use 97 coz i can afford it :)

• Celicazz on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:00 pm

why do you think we care bout it?

• If u can afford it then you shouldn’t be driving a Polo

• Hmm u think everyone can afford a mini car like ‘ Polo’ or maybe Audi A1for their second car?!most of them r driving Myvi or Neo…u know M’sian r rich but not everybody r rich!i’m not a millionaire or richer guy but i think at least i can afford 97 coz is not that expensive!

• looking-good on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:55 am

bro, i support u, those ppl just envy you that can pump 97 oil everyday without hesitation~ :)

• Punisher on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:17 am

sigh……i’ve been pumping Ron97 all the while for my Saga, Vios and Altis…

Nothing special and shouldn’t brag about it anywhere…

Why should this be bring up in this topic?

Can we focus on the title which is Vios G-Limited and TRD?

• insperut on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:12 pm

u know nothing abt turbo mate

• stephen on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:42 pm

good not to assume Turbo can’t use Ron95.
        for toyota…they follow the idea…if it didn’t break, don’t fix it.

but its been many generation without anything new on the Engine.
        with the price offered. Its getting closer to the price of 308 VTI which offer more on the interior.

• I use RON 95 on my Vw Golf TSI,works perfectly,no drop in power.Get your facts right,if you no NUTS ,don’t shout here.

• Mask Ryder on Jun 30, 2011 at 12:05 pm

How u know no drop in power? Have u did a dyno test ? If not don’t talk bull crap here, infact i suspect u don’t even have a polo, 50 cents polo candy maybe.

• trimm on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Who said no turbo?!

TRD — Turbo Racing Donkey

p/s :
      G spec for — Gong kia
      G Limited for — Limited edition Gong kia

• Vios dugong edition transform to alien edition then facelift again to predator edition… boring…

• I thought Wira already discontinued? Since when Toyota rebadged and face lifted this model?

• anonynony on Jun 29, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Agreed… Nothing Special… I hope a new model comes soon… and this time… the gauge meter should be where its meant to be… NOT IN THE CENTER!

• Second that….center gauge looks extremely stupid….and center console looks like g-string…no wonder many male drive like vios even it looks girlish

• fastboy on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Becos they are girlish and like to wear G-string.

• TallPan on Jun 30, 2011 at 10:29 am

@anonynony sorry to disappoint u mate… even though it’s probly one of the UGLIEST cars on the market right now (previous version already damn ugly, now add a waja grill), there will be hordes of ppl who will live and die by the Toyota brand.

so it will be at least another 3-4 years before you see a new Vios.
        by then… the Toyota designers would’ve regressed in standard, even overtaken by Nissan… and u will see a damn ugly Vios. so if u think THIS vios is ugly… whoa u ain’t seen nothing yet.

keep up the good work Toyota [sarcasm tag]

• carazy on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:08 pm

How many cars, toyota consider as limited?? Im jz wandering, bcoz, here in Malaysia if the model is good acceptance by the public, it will go unlimitedly even they said is limited edition…

• Thailand New Hub of Automobile on Jun 18, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Toyota Malaysia control by UMW
      BMW, Merc, VW, Honda & Proton by DRB Hicom
      Hyndai by Sime Darby
      KIA (NAZA), Peugeot Nassim
      Perodua by UMW & DieHardSue(Major Share)
      Both Political Link share holder

WHat do u expect?
      Married ThaiGirl?
      Push Start in Malaysia? Buy Donkey & Push Start

• Knownuts on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:11 pm

W.O.W…

• Yawn… B.O.R.I.N.G

• engdau on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:27 pm

One model with so many variances. RM 89K for G Limited? Better buy Proton Inspira 1.8 CVT.

• fezailah on Jun 21, 2012 at 4:28 pm

well! don’t compare! for your info it is ok whatever you can affort! but, nothing is more important than you own something that is worth owning! I have 2 vios(s) and I wish I can own a 3rd one! Ask Toyota how good is Toyota and don’t compare it with another!

• Unforgiven on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:42 pm

But the gal is so cute…

• An651 on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:25 pm

@ unforgiven: agree
        Danny, how come suddenly among Vios pics suddenly got 1 chick? heheheh…. ur the MAN!

• same old boring toyota

• Expatriate VN on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Boring facelift!

• Eponymous on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:24 pm

Wooohoooo!!! The bashers are here :D This is gonna be fun…. I have no vested interest in this so bring on the bashers!!!! Poor Vios hahahahaha

• jalan54 on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Expensive!!! What so special??? Engine never change, for god sake, if want to make it look sportier, turbo charged it lar!!!

• kangkung on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:53 pm

The Retarded Donkey from Toyota cannot Turboed,danger to other road user.

• VoidDance on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:28 pm

New at your local dealer,

Toyota Vios G Limited with fangs to suck up all your money that you can save to buy a better car but stupid enough to not see anything beyond the word TOYOTA!

Hehe..

That grille sure look like it has a set of fangs. :D

• victor lee on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:29 pm

same old dugong style design

• Raoul on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Malaysia spec is always boring….but if in Thailand..Vios spec is really good.

• Gurmit Singh Walia Chong on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:33 pm

aiyo,aiya..facelift so many times…still stingy to give AUX&USB port..

• I wonder why people still want to buy a vios!? There is now 6 variants and it’s just cosmetic changes.. My god..

• robert88 on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:33 pm

because mostly Malaysian buy car based on budget not based on spec

so u can buy a RM70K or RM92k Vios both run at the same speed in NSHW

• I like.

• anti vios on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:39 pm

ugLy!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• okay?

• Supertram on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:42 pm

So now Vios got new grille which i think resemble some taring / tusks

People! The dugong have become a walrus!!

• still so many people buy sigh but malaysians so rich meh…..

• Watched BBC new last night. Toyota is worlds no 3 car maker now. GM is back to no 1 and VW is no 2. Note; according to the report the tnusami had little to do with this. One of the reason was dated models (as we are shown here). Keep this BS up, and Hyundai/Kia going to over take toyota.

• jalan54 on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:12 pm

huray… hope hyundai/ kia overtake soon so that some people can’t say anything about korean cars worse compare to japanese cars.

• kwing on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:50 pm

what’s the point with no power upgrade….lame..

• Lady GaGa on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:51 pm

still same shit. booooooooooooooring.

• neutral on Jun 29, 2011 at 3:52 pm

erm same old design.. new model please! but still m`sian will buy this car.. hmm wasted..

• Watched BBC news last night. It was reported; Toyota is worlds no 3 car maker now; GM is back to no 1 spot followed by VW at no 2. Note: according to the report the recent Tsunami had very little to do with it. The slide was due to dated models (like what we have here) and to the recalls.
    Keep this up Toyota and Hyundai/Kia going to overtake you. For the pricing; its not their fault but the damm goverment reaping us off.

• arcana on Jun 29, 2011 at 6:42 pm

this is not comparing a toyota to a proton or perodua
      this is about toyota being expensive compared to other non national makes in the market who is offering more at a lower price, just that simple….cars are expensive in malaysia anyway, its just that who offers a better value and its definitely not toyota.

• fuh yoh!!! i am so impressed!!!
    i am drooling at the TRD sportivo edition!!
    even bmw is no match for this

• Kumar san on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Hahahaha King..well said,can i drool with you too?

• David on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Make it three Kumar San. Seriously, for that amount of money, a friend of mine walked right past the Toyota dealership, right into the Kia showroom. And he now has a Forte 2.0, with the 6-speed ‘box. And despite the electric power steering which i find it kinda light to my liking, it’s still quite a good daily driver, being fun as well as comfortable enough at the same time. And mind you, he was a Jap freak in the past.

• Kumar san on Jun 30, 2011 at 4:58 pm

This ride is just not worth it David,for me at least,i’m sure you and King feel the same way.Then again,if folks wish to be misled into thinking this is an out of ordinary offering from Toyota and they wish to buy it,let them buy it.We have no control over that friend.

Cheers.

• i_swear on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:45 pm

King,
      Please put sarcasm tag as most ppl dunno that your comment was sarcasm.

Fu-Yoh, very cantik lor and i wanna find old biscuit (lou piang) car where the G Limited really fullfill my needs jor.

Nice rear where ppl will know i’m like grandfather age jor. The front….. Look like sport car (got bodykit), sound like car (G Limited), but it is not a sport car

Toyolta really done it. I saw brochure picture i thought is better smiley face but bcome uncle car instead.

• Tomyamta Dugong on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:20 pm

LOL, a sporty Vios is like an oxymoron. A contradiction in itself.

• TRD Sportivo and it’s a four-speed auto? woohoo … way to go UMWT!
    So so lame!

• Victor Hoh on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Wow… so beautiful… the ladies.

• sick&tired on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:14 pm

cheh! the models are generic looking chinese chicks la! no t&a!

• how come toyota bashers doesnt bash proton? how about myvi? new shell same engine?

cannot afford toyota?

even the new toyota vios 2012 doesnt have new engine because the current engine is very good and realiable.

they may introduce a 1.33 liter engine which has good fuel consumption.

• mizzuddin on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:29 pm

center console macam spend*r laa… hiks =P

• Chicarito on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Wow, 92K is overpriced. Almost the same price with Forte 2.0.

• kamaji on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:36 pm

cosmetic change = limited edition = new variant = newly launched = harga naik but same old car.

• skiborne on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:38 pm

cut the crap.

• Jackkriss on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Seriously said, pre-facelifted Sportivo was better..

• alpha999 on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:45 pm

wat……only add bodykit and different rim design called limited

• drMpower on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:47 pm

they should have call this toyota vios 1.5 Gstring edition
    that vulgar purple colour made this car look like it comes out straight of a strip dancing club
    if they ever do one, i bet the smell inside wud be very close to strippers’ au de toilette
    or in pure english, strippers’ club toilet smell
    i put a fiver on it

the only thing
    and i mean the only one that excites me
    is the bottom-flat steering wheel
    it somehow makes it stand out of others in the same class
    apart from v-dubs, and expensive ones, i cudnt recall anything with that steering wheel design

i know it doesnt really do anything major at all
    but just imagine it like a stripper sitting on ur lap
    u know u gonna it sooner
    or later
    dont u?

slow and tight
    it does get hot in here, or it just me?

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:48 pm

the fanboys prayer have been answered !!

• quottro on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:50 pm

hehe seriously how many times does toyota really want to facelift the vios?

• ezracopters on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:50 pm

eh ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.. lawanya… mesti piley nie… Hyundai & Kia takde cam ni..

i wish i had cute LCD like it in my mobile.. :-)

• selamat on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:51 pm

BOOOOOOOOOO!!

• seancorr on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Why are u all looking at the dugong when u can look at the women standing next to it?

• thedoghouse on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:58 pm

another expensive car to reflect the “high income nation”.

• jules on Jun 29, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Maybe it’s the final push to sell it… most probably there will be a new model? as there is a new Yaris out there .

• Ipreferhonda on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Come on Toyota. Give us some turbocharged or supercharged engine like VW did. Small capacity engine with turbo still can match ur performance. Give us some surprise…

• Will still definitely sell well with so many ‘intelligent’ toyota fanboys and fan’uncles’ in malaysia.

• Kambing Gurun on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:01 pm

When they’re going to recall this?

• vincent on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Just put our hard earn money on Fiesta 1.6L better la!

• Simon Ng on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:08 pm

The kit consists of coil springs and shock absorbers with revised spring and damper rates, tuned by TRD Asia for local conditions. Ride height is lowered by 10mm as a result.

To all the sifu out there. Does 10mm make a difference?

• Kumar san on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Only marginal,nothing substancial in handling improvement or anything to shout about.

If you like it,buy it.

Cheers.

• jalan54 on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:19 pm

it helps in some case, but my question to you, no ecu remap, same horse power and torque, what is the point of lowering the car? Unless they are telling you that our normal model handling suck big time then only I see the point.

• Kumar san on Jun 30, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Exactly,there isn’t a point at all.Then again jalan54,some folks here see it as great difference.As you said no ECU remap,same power and torque or a decent exhaust system at all and yet they drop by 10mm to supposedly enhance the whole “TRD image”.Agreed bro nonetheless.Nothing great about this ride actually.

Cheers.

• Gavin on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Damn they are really running out of ideas for the car and just try a stopgap method of lift and lift and lift the face.

Even the new myvi looks better compared to acres and acres of plastic

• busted on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:19 pm

full of shit

• Overpriced!

• toyota fans on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:33 pm

for toyota this price are cheap ok!!dun be fool,compare to other brand resell value ??
      this car are best value for money

• David on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Best value for money? Haha!! Then kindly explain why i got a Hyundai Accent for just 68k out the door, and comes loaded with alloys, leather upholstery, a USB/MP3 ready stereo, not to mention more?

Seriously, i don’t understand what’s so great about the Vios these days. It’s damn expensive for what it is, and you’re better off driving a Forte, Inspira, even a City for the money.

• david, don’t worry man. some ppl like to pay 90k for a premium “saga”. it’s their money. anyway most of the vios buyers know nuts about cars. especially the mentally challenged TRD sportivo ricers. they only care about the resale value.even if they were to pay 100k for a kapcai that have a resale value of 90k after 5 yrs to some dungus, they will buy it.

life is short. so while we enjoy all added features, comfort and safety…. these kiasu clowns sweat n suffer driving an empty vessel while worrying about the resale value of their junk dugong.

• kamaji on Jul 01, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Bro, we must really salute this ppl for getting a dugong @ 92k.They usually think the resale value is good.Here, I would like to make a comparison.It go like this, 10k d/p, 9years loan @ 3.5% pa. & then sell off.
            Dugong : 92k-10k d/p = 82k loan + int 26k = total cost 118k
            X car : 59k-10k d/p = 49k loan + int 15.5k = total cost 74.5k
            After 9 years dugong resale value, say 32k, so loss of 86k.
            Brand X after 9 years resale @ say 10k, loss of 64.5k.
            So I believe that resale value should be read in conjunction with the total amount of our hard earn money disappearing in thin air. Btw, I dont think I could possibly buy a 9years old used car with torsion beam set-up for 32k.

• David on Jul 02, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Hey King, yeah, i agree with you. I’ve seriously given up on buying a Toyota when i needed my first car, as the Vios has prices that would happily break the bank badly. That’s why i got my Accent as it was a heck lot cheaper than the all-show-but-no-go Vios TRD.

Speaking of price, another friend of mine immediately avoided the Toyota showroom, and walked right into the Kia showroom. 2 months later, he’s now driving a Forte 2.0. And he has nothing but praises for it, apart from the fact that a small problem involving the headlamps that will be fixed in the next visit.

How’s your Getz doing, by the way? Am considering one 2011 unit, clearance stock from the Glenmarie HQ.

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:23 pm

haiyo… different looks, but same old spec… haiyo… if they don’t want to upgrade the engine, better they add some airbags or some kind of safety equipment…

• toyota fans on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:26 pm

this car is so nice,design are good,well done toyota,car price are cheap!!!!!high quality car

• toyota fans on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:50 pm

no spare part problem,low fuel consumption,top safety,toyota in malaysia is no1

• sukasuki on Jun 29, 2011 at 6:46 pm

this people i dunno what he thinks. mayb only toyota car is the most expensive car he ever drives.

• Are you serious or trolling??

• I hate hatchbacks on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:10 pm

only bodohman will buy a vios… too big for a b-segment car, and their trunks are too big to fit in B-segment… better buy a 2012 yaris…

• happyone on Jun 30, 2011 at 5:26 pm

pity tis toyota fans with all the thumbs down.. lol!!

• blackjkx on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:26 pm

How we look at Indian market and consumer standard,
    that is how the european look at ours now..especially with this dugong.

• I hate hatchbacks on Jun 30, 2011 at 5:24 am

Europeans don’t like small saloons like Vios and City. They prefer hatchbacks like Yaris Hatchback and Jazz for strong praticiality.

• soooohai on Jun 30, 2011 at 5:26 am

In Europe, saloons sell more than hatchbacks.

• Johndeep on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:28 pm

The center panel is like “V” shape of a lady’s center part… Only ladies should drive this Vios.

• happyone on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:29 pm

i will save the money for other model..
    90k? s***

• RANNIE LAU on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:37 pm

only the show girl interesting…………..

• kennytan on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:39 pm

toyota no other product already…………….??????????

• Hangman on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Look like local distributor is taken us malaysia consumer for a ride.
    We r still getting Getz despite i20 already launched since 2008, we r getting Matrix despite i20x launch in 2010.
    Naza Citra still in the market with a black painted nose.
    I guess they still have lot’s of unsold rebadge stock.
    At least this Vios G ltd is up to date as Thailand.

• hweegiap on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:48 pm

boring boring vios……boring boring altis also

• i think most of the men wil rather see the girl rather than the vios. More interesting… hahaha

• city_conscious on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:52 pm

the dashboard just looks plain simple and empty!

• toyotas salesman on Jun 29, 2011 at 5:58 pm

offer offer……..toyota vios offer. .92k very very special limited edition..u see the carpet black

color with red line …the sport rim is gold color one.the logo got G limited one..

All friend u said limited or not????????????

• Don’t you know? TRD is a winning brand in today’s international motorsports. Let’s see, we have:

F1…oh, no
    WRC…nope
    WTCC…no too
    Le Mans, nope
    Dakar, no

Yes, I know that they compete in Nascar and Super GT but those are national motorsports. To sum it up, to make bare minimum changes to the car and slap on a TRD badge, what an absolute cynical attempt at marketing a car. Toyota better come up with some compelling product in the next upgrade as everyone in the category has moved on. Ford Fiesta, Kia Forte, to name just two. I’m mystified at how much brand loyalty can stretch in our market of lemming buyers.

• BD'sMaster on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:18 pm

becoz you can only afford those 2….
      ppl wanna buy what car let them buy la…their money not yours….and you sure forte same category with vios?
      poor ppl like to shout a lot…

• Forte is technically not in the same category, of course I know that, but price wise they the same here and for all intents and purposes they are compared side by side here. Did I ever say they must not buy what they want? Read my post properly, I said I was mystified. And frankly why are you going on about who is poor? Idiotic.

• ALTIS10 on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:03 pm

SARUNG chrome soo nice..but the interior so boring…

• Nice one from Toyota …. new model ah ?

C’mon what a joke, how many more variants are there to this Vios ???? When is the new one coming ? I think the new one will cost RM100K onwards for this stunning best seller in Malaysia ….haha and you will see ppl buying it no sweat

• freeze on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:29 pm

Thunbs up if you think this is a shitty car.

• freeze on Jun 29, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Thumbs up if you think this is an amazing vehicle.

• Expatriate VN on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:38 pm

Boring car with boring comments!

• rulered on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:52 pm

To all unsuspecting future Toyota Vios customers:
    Just because Toyota puts a TRD badge on their Vios it doesn’t mean that ,and I repeat It does not mean that:
    a) the car is built to be driven fast ,
    b) has a solid built and have higher Euro NCAP ratings for driver and passengers,
    c) have all the built in electronics to take on sharp corners (or any type of corners at all) at high speed with ease and stability.
    To Toyota/UMW, I think you have a social responsibilty to explain to all your future customers of the safety or lack of it in your products.
    Finally, almost 100k for a TRD badge?

• nolan on Jun 29, 2011 at 8:53 pm

more like made in china car………boring dashboard and funny rims….what more to say?

• DArkerMarker on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Wha!!!!

TRD version!!!!

The Retarded Dugung

hahahahahaa

• Simon Ng on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:28 pm

The kit consists of coil springs and shock absorbers with revised spring and damper rates, tuned by TRD Asia for local conditions. Ride height is lowered by 10mm as a result.

I wonder whether it makes a lot of difference to the driving experience?

• Wallstreet on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Inspired by Jack Nicolson Joker character in Batman. Gosh, the lip and even the purple color is exactly Jack Nicolson blazer color.

• Expatriate VN on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:35 pm

This is not amazing car, but entry level sedan.

• Putin on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:43 pm

W.O.W. , V.I.O.S. !!!! :-P

W – Why
    O – Oh
    W – Why
    V – Vehicle
    I – Insulting
    O – Our
    S – Sanity !!!

• Stephen on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:49 pm

its been almost no major engine change since 8yrs ago when Britney Spear was spoke person.

it feel like Toyota want to milk this platform till the very last drop. Anyway I guess to them, no point to change if it got the volume and it didn’t have issue like other platform.

• This is a classic case of Toyota resting on their laurels. We now have them centre stage, being eaten up by the likes of Hyundai/Kia and VW. Public perception is like a large ship. Takes a long time to turn, but turn it will. It’s already happening in the larger markets like Europe where the Koreans overtook Toyota. We’ll see the same here eventually. Not so soon though, as people here are much more conservative brand wise. I mean why else would crappy cars the Vios continue selling so well!

• stephen on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:46 am

yup agreed and which is why I move on to Peugeot 308…it might not be a car everyone like but to me this is the best I have and what I like to own.

imagine if VW able to get all their Golf and Polo plus other compact sedan they have into Malaysia as CKD instead of CBU like now.

• pyopyo on Jun 29, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Hanjeng ke Dugong ni?

Dey! Bagus la aku beli Forte 1.6 SX. Murah lagi~

Kategori xsama?? Menjadah aku peduli hapa! Nak expect aku bandingkan kereta atas sebab kategori,harga tak boleh?

Serupa macam ko jual cadburry RM6. Kita kata better beli nasik RM6. Kenyang lagi kalau makan nasik. But then,ko sebagai penjual kata, tak boleh compare cadburry ngan nasik,lain kategori. Tak sama!

Hangguk hang!! Kalau benda tu dah lain kategori sekalipun,tapi lebih menguntungkan all around, apa da salah kalau amik yang elok. Yang bengap compare kategori tu menjadah.

Xdek2! Bulan depan aku nak angkut Forte 1.6 SX gak! Murah lagi!

• Kumar san on Jun 30, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Agreed bro,what you said was spot on..hahahaha,you are a funny guy.

Cheers.

• Please bring in 1.5 dual VVTI engine lol…………

• Consumerism on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:04 pm

TOYOTA = Tipu Orang Yang Otak Tak Ada

Pffff!!

• txsuprasonic on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:52 pm

i think it looks much better now.

• Ashaf on Jun 29, 2011 at 10:59 pm

This Launching in Wing Hin Automobile Balakong?

• sick&tired on Jun 29, 2011 at 11:11 pm

madness! rm95k for a 1.5 fugly B-segment car!!?? I would take the new elantra,308,cruze (which looks really good with the bodykit) or forte over the vios any day and twice on sundays!

• Fugly ……very ugly. Toyota makes vios uglier than ever. If p1 do cosmetic changes to its model all proton basher would join & kutuk kaw kaw P1. ….

• Renault Megane RS on Jun 30, 2011 at 12:27 am

Kah Kah …centre console macam Spenda Mydin siot …. update la skit Toyoto oiii …ingat rakyat Malaysia nie bangang ker

• redboy on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:38 am

The Cruze will be selling happily thanks to their high price. At least in Klang Valley, i see lately some Cruze so cool around!!

• Carl Wong on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:51 am

To me the Vios looks quite bad actually, against Honda I think the only thing it wins is the comfort from its suspension settings. I think Honda City beats it hands down in almost everything else, better/aggressive looking appearance, better looking interior, higher fuel efficiency, more spacious inside, have reclining seats at the back, have a HUGE trunk and most importantly possibly better safety. Higher sales does not always mean it’s the best.

• yangsfx on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:55 am

I really hope the Vios will become the Tan Chong- Nissan Sunny during the 80s.
    Never change model for more then 10 years and ruin the brand.

• ah_lock on Jun 30, 2011 at 4:02 am

the amoi is better looking than the car.. haha

• ah_lock on Jun 30, 2011 at 4:03 am

the amoi is better looking than the car.haha

• azrai on Jun 30, 2011 at 7:28 am

The Dugongs have a new set of braces.

• Aragon on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:21 am

No need TRD…just wait for new Elantra!! More awesome look..

• OMG, the interior and sterling SUCKS BADLY! No offence and no bias here, but seriously, it looks like Proton/Perodua cars produced in the 90s or cheap India/China cars in the market. Seriously thumbs down for the interior!

• Seriously on Jun 30, 2011 at 10:08 am

Oh, it gets uglier.

• dugong oh dugong!

• lonely_driver on Jun 30, 2011 at 11:41 am

Wow overprice car. I really hope that their sales going to drop even more this time cause this car is really about overpricing.

If i were the CEO of Honda Malaysia. I will start to offer add-on in Honda City with no extra price. Kill them when they are sick.

Hyundai Avante have to come in now. Cause hit them while it hurts.

• honda is too afraid to fight UMW. they have a gentleman’s agreement with UMW to maintain a high price for low value product.

• Mask Ryder on Jun 30, 2011 at 11:52 am

MAA figure for May show Cruze not even in the top 50 list, infact the entire Chevrolet on sold 458 units from jan-may 2011.
    Where do u see lot’s of Cruze ? Let me guess must be kept in Naza warehouse collecting dust.

• David on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Wrong. I drive to Subang everyday, and i pass by the Kontena Nasional warehouse, next to the Federal Highway, where they put brand new Cruzes there. Safe to say, the stock there is diminishing, month by month. And the sales ain’t that bad, considering the fact that they beat out many makes in sales, even Citroen and Subaru! Go figure.

• Mask Ryder on Jun 30, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Insperut,
    This is in VW Malaysia website “Due to the knock control system Regulator uleaded fuel (min. 95 RON) can be used instead of Premium unleaded resulting in a slight decrease in performance)

Now which ding dong know nothing about Turbo. Meludah ke langit akhirnya jatuh ke muka sendiri. Putui…

• Gokul on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Vios got good resale value?? in that case, sell it and get a Forte or Inspira..

• Mask Ryder on Jun 30, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Ah ha ! David the Builder is here again !
    Chevrolet better than Subaru who sold “1” car on May, yes one car, 8 car for 5 months, Citroen figure r not shown (i don’t think is good.)
    Hell out of achievement for Chevrolet.

• David on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:58 pm

Don’t bullshit with figures only. For a brand that has been through hell and back, Chevrolet’s progress may not be the most amazing, but at least they’re coming back. Showrooms are being upgraded, service standards are slowly being improved, and most importantly, the brand is back, if not with a bang. Same thing goes for Nissan, of which after all these years of leaving the Cefiro to rot, or selling th Sentra well past its sell-by date, even Peugeot, which was on the verge of being a dead brand here after Cycle & Carriage gave up on the marque.

Looks like i’ve said enough. Don’t bother being a new Jap fanboy here, you’re going down with all your lies and deceit. Look at Jolo, Maserati, and other pathetic people here. Only talk figures, not the proper facts. And myself, Kumar San, King, Jalan 54, Eddie Kee, even TurboMan are waiting for you to crap again. Good luck in trolling!!

• Mask Ryder on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:53 pm

David,
        U still don’t get it do u, it just like a movie critic can say what ever they like, end of the day it is the ticket sales that matter the most, same go for car, what the point of making best car in the world if it doesn’t sale well, maybe when u grow up later u will understand what i mean, business is all about sales & profit.
        Looking at how Chevolet pass sales record, this is pathetic, obviously Naza is chewing more than they can digest, come on a Forte 2.0 is cheaper than a Cruze 1.8 how r they going to convince their customer ?
        Chevy don’t not command a better brand value than Naza or KIA n Chevy is like adopted son for them.
        Anyway as much as u claim u dislike my comment, i find u still like to answer it, pls don’t tell me why.

• David on Jun 30, 2011 at 10:44 pm

There’s a reason why we do so. Your way of bashing Korean cars. Owned one before? That’s as simple as nails to answer it. You always keep classifying the Koreans as junk, and the Japs to be something reliable. What rubbish. For those who has owned the new breed of Koreans, it’s a way more positive story altogether. I’ve owned one already, so it’s not like what people claimed. Just as reliable as the Japs, equally comparative in servicing costs, sometimes cheaper as well.

Look at the way you commented in the 2011 Hyundai Elantra posting. You called them junk, said their warranty is nothing, calling Americans and Europeans poor when they buy Korean cars by the truckloads. All rubbish, and little facts. What proper facts do you even have?

Need i say more? We’re going to continue to reply you, as long as you bash aimlessly.

• donanoni on Jun 30, 2011 at 5:04 pm

another money-sucking botox model from post-hitler regime company

• blacky on Jun 30, 2011 at 6:08 pm

u can bash as much as u want… but vios is still in the 5-6 yrs period…. they can facelift as mush as they want…and yes….is another update after the midlife facelift….u ppl talk like it is suppose to be a new model….
    most boring is not about the update but all those same boring comments which r slappin their own face with the sales figures

• steamer on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm

hahahahaha!!!

another cash cow from toyota.

boring……

• Carl Wong on Jul 01, 2011 at 2:20 am

Aaaa or just buy the Honda Insight, with a few thousand more, it has almost twice the fuel efficiency and identical performance with much higher torque.

• Hocep on Jul 01, 2011 at 2:51 am

Ah beng will love it!

• VIOS = JUNK

• seriously on Jul 01, 2011 at 10:21 am

truely ugly bodykit… they can’t produce any good looking car but to add more fugly items.. its time for Kia and Hyundai to overtake them in years to come!

• Why buy this when the 2012 Vios is just around the corner?

Also, is it really 10,000KMS per service interval? I thought it’s 5,000KMS for the Vios?

• love…….vios coz he engine very smooth…and durabillity

• Tan@breakfast sausage on Jan 23, 2012 at 2:54 pm

G or E which is better?

• zaini on May 27, 2012 at 9:39 pm

i just buy vios trd sportivo last week.. so comfort, stylo and smooth engine..