Audi celebrates Le Mans victory with Limited Edition R8

You knew it was coming when Audi won its tenth Le Mans title earlier this month, and here it its, the Audi R8 V8 Limited Edition. Created in honour of the four rings’ achievements in the most famous endurance race, this Limited Edition is based on the V8 engined R8 coupe, not the V10 powered model, which is quite surprising. It will be reserved solely for 100 customers in the UK.

Setting it apart are titanium finish 19-inch double-spoke Y design alloys inspired by the R8 GT Coupe, and red brake callipers – not much. All normally optional metallic and pearl effect paint options are included in the Limited Edition price (from £93,935), but the striking Titanium Metallic paint finish that’s exclusive to this model incurs extra cost.

Above the standard kit, the LE includes satellite navigation, Audi Music Interface (AMI), an interior light package and a premium Bang & Olufsen sound system, as well as mobile phone preparation via Bluetooth with integrated seatbelt microphones. There’s plenty of red accents in the cabin, from stitching on the seats, steering wheel and instrument cowl to the monoposto and floor mats.

The R8 LE is also available with an optional Carbon Package, which adds carbon sigma sideblades, door mirrors, monoposto, inlays and door sill trims. The same material also frames the illuminated engine bay to impress all and sundry, when one’s not using the full 430 PS from the 4.2-litre V8 FSI engine. Audi’s magnetic ride adaptive suspension is also standard here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Edward on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:08 am

Wish i had the money for one of these, but would be a toss up between this and a GT-R both beautiful cars! Love the new rims they added to this model.

• drMpower on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:08 am

come on
    bring the new R8 out
    i dont know how long this one been with us
    but bmw brought us sketches every 10 minutes!

i know no matter how hard i work
    i will not be having any money to buy any
    but car orgasm is my right

its in geneva convention. look for it

• racefan on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:59 am

Nice!. Like the paintwork. I’d take this and the Gallardo together :)

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Overpriced Car.Even half a price also overpriced.

• thedoghouse on Jun 30, 2011 at 4:00 pm

the last time a regular R8 whoooshhhed pass me on the E35 h/way, i swear the turbulence trail made my 3 cylinder old banger shifted right on to the emergency lane. LOL !!

• Didim on Jun 30, 2011 at 5:00 pm

I think its better to get a normal R8 from grey importer and then slap a beautiful lightweight sport rims, alcantara leather, and upgrade your own audio system. Much more make sense.

• Didim on Jun 30, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Better buy a normal R8 from grey importer, slap beautiful sport rims, leather alcantara interior and fit your desired audio system. Self custom. Make more sense.

• Cheesecake on Jun 30, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Audi and their famous LED lights

• kagesenshi on Jul 03, 2011 at 5:03 pm

while scrolling quickly the pages in paultan .. for a moment i thought i was seeing a neo cps interior pic .. sekali kereta lain daa >.<