VIDEO: New Toyota Camry SE, XLE, Hybrid secretly filmed!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-YUFO4Nvxo

The current Toyota Camry was first shown to the world, and brought to Malaysia, in 2006, with our version receiving a facelift in 2009. It has been five years already, and a new generation Camry is due. Here’s a secretly filmed video of the supposed new 2012 Camry being shown to a crowd with fanfare, rolling out to the tune of Katy Perry’s Firework.

Three cars are wheeled on stage, and they are the Camry XLE, SE and Hybrid. XLE and SE are trim names for the US market, and this video is likely to be secretly filmed from the States, probably at a dealer convention or something similar. The Camry’s biggest market is North America, and the previous gen car made its motor show debut there as well.

Anyway, there’s not too much that we can see, as the cameraman couldn’t get enough zoom on it. His “toyotaenthusiast” youtube account doesn’t describe much too, and it looks to be created just to upload this video. We’ll leave you to dissect and analyse the car, but bear in mind that the version we’re going to get should differ in styling from the North American car.

There’s also a grainy photo circulating online that’s claimed by some to be of the 2012 Camry. Look for it after the jump.

VIDEO: New Toyota Camry SE, XLE, Hybrid secretly filmed!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• UncleCam on Jul 05, 2011 at 10:25 am

As usual mature customer will like it, not much excitement with the design guess you have to be since target customer wouldn't accept too much radical changes.

• gdsob on Jul 05, 2011 at 2:17 pm

I'm one of these customers… Be it boring, all I need is a reliable solid transports with good after sales service and resale value.

• blackrythms on Jul 05, 2011 at 10:39 am

4 transsmission?

• cool…finally get some updates..

• Nothing impressive !!! Just look at how Kia and Hyundai designed their car, from the video the Camry just look like The Honda Accord Euro , event spy-shot proven their car are dull and boring to look at … Sorry to say bye bye Toyota, unless specifications include dual clutch transmission ,turbo engines, full safety features and price around reasonable boundaries

• the targeted customer range won't even be bothered with design

• BD'sMaster on Jul 05, 2011 at 5:10 pm

talker spotted….get a life poor kid…I mean POOR…no money….camry with turbo?wah ok lo….full safety?

spyshot ?where is it?you know what is spyshot?

you never even say hi be4 coz too poor how to say bye bye?

be it Korean or Japanese you like it you buy it lor….cannot afford then buy lagi best or forte lo so cheap….

• geckoandfly.com on Jul 05, 2011 at 10:51 am

The photos are available at Toyota USA Website – http://www.toyota.com/camry/photo-gallery.html

• pek moh on Jul 05, 2011 at 12:12 pm

that is the current gen of US camry, not the 2012 version showed in the video…
      if its available publicly, then there is no need for "secretly filmed"…

• this is the current version for the us market bro….^^,

• quite ugly.

• toyota concern on Jul 05, 2011 at 7:30 pm

first they injected vios with feminine design, then they turn altis into transvestite, now they botox camry too?

• blackjkx on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:05 am

look like they keep a bit at the front end for the facelift 3 years after 2012 launching. They move forward eh

• meg3T on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:05 am

like whale

• blue_travler on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:10 am

i belive it had been said before that these are for the US market, which should be very diff from the ones which will be for our market, if current marketing trend continue. AND I have just finish payment of my camry this year, now its resale value just bomb. This SUCKs.

• pek moh on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:11 am

looks familiar??

[img]<a href="http:// ]http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/a1/2010_Subaru_Legacy_–_NHTSA.jpg/800px-2010_Subaru_Legacy_–_NHTSA.jpg[/img]” target=”_blank”> <a href="http://]http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/a1/2010_Subaru_Legacy_–_NHTSA.jpg/800px-2010_Subaru_Legacy_–_NHTSA.jpg[/img]” target=”_blank”>]http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/a1/2010_Subaru_Legacy_–_NHTSA.jpg/800px-2010_Subaru_Legacy_–_NHTSA.jpg[/img]

• tun tansari on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:15 am

not nice la. kia optima is better

• Leo Lim on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:18 am

Oh no a stinking old jap design…on the way…again…they are just full of it….yeah…crap!…hello korean…..

• Expatriate VN on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:21 am

Toyota Camry go for conservative outlook, not "too futuristic" which may "outdated" once new design replace it in the future. Our "1st generation" Camry still not look outdated compare to Perdana!

• uzumi on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:21 am

Man , Japanese designer is lazy these day, the video is blur and low resolution but the shape seem remain same as the previous-Gen O.o

• Johndeep on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:33 pm

They are not lazy as you said. Wait 2012 you will see Toyota, Honda & Mazda come out with new models and tech. Then after that you will see your sonata, tucson, optima and forte look old by a decade.

• Overprice on Jul 05, 2011 at 12:00 pm

will have to see how the asian model looks and the specs….
    If nothing great still can buy Honda…
    Korean…….hmmmm….no…thanks…

• Design wise, still far behind Kia/hyundai, T just behind H which is a bit better. Btw a good car to own

• nabill on Jul 05, 2011 at 12:16 pm

it has that subaru face…..anyway since when a camry will WOW ppl ??

• Pirate on Jul 05, 2011 at 12:20 pm

regardless what the people said the camry is still the best selling sedan in the world/malaysia. so i guess the people in paultan are just talkers or a bunch of kids with no/low purchasing power since i don't see kia and hyundai's sales surge through the wall.

• David D on Jul 05, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Camry best selling sedan in the world? You forgot the Canadian market. For the past few moths, the Camry has already been unseated by the Chevy Malibu, Ford Fusion, and unsurprisingly, the Hyundai Sonata. Mind you, the Sonata outsold the Camry by more than double the amount.

• Their sales only pick up recently. The total sales of camry pushes other competitors thousand miles away. Please look at the overall picture.

• Louis on Jul 05, 2011 at 12:59 pm

this car for uncle la…

• Camry Hybrid Lasting look, love it.

Paul, how come didn’t mention paultan.org won “Penulis Blog Terbaik” from Anugerah Kelab Akhbar Kebangsaan (NPC).

Tayang a bit lah, make us proud mah :-)

• The new Camry will follow other Toyota-styling and business model practice; retain a similar design/dimension from outgoing version at least two generation. This practice is prevalence from Corolla to Crown or even smaller model.

Thus, never expect radical change of Camry BUT retaining the same old style 4-AT is tantamount to denigrate our sense.

• Johndeep on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:28 pm

It is good to see same design q. look at Merc, BMW & audi, nobody complain and in fact every model compliments each other.

• so when kia optima is coming here? dont tell me camry 2012 arrive here first. then we can make a direct comparison.

• Franc on Jul 05, 2011 at 1:29 pm

New Camry rear looks like Altis that for me Toyota no desire to create better design. I'm waiting Suzuki Kizashi or New Kia Optima

• freeze on Jul 05, 2011 at 1:37 pm

So what. Even if it is as ugly as Rosmah, it will still be the best selling D segment in Malaysia.

No makes can beat that, not even Honda.

• the use of conservative design is that it will not make the previous gen look too far dated

take the current camry for example, i believe when the new model launch it won't look too outdated, it will appear more as another model.

and uncles don't care much about what drivability or tech gizmo la, all they wan is comfort and reliability.

• just hope the interior is not beige.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 05, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Looks more like the Avalon than a Camry. maybe Toyota is looking to consolidate family design language.

This is all-new or a facelift?

• lan87 on Jul 05, 2011 at 7:57 pm

it looks like a bigger version of the new Corolla… =/
      more like a facelift rather than a new model… haishh… so disappointed with toyota nowadays… no new designs :@

• Camry got speed cut-off or not?

My Toyota Fortuner (facelifted) got cut-off at 160km/h. Feels like it could go much faster. Even the speedometer isn't accurate when I use a gps tracking device. The car is much slower (by 4 – 5km/h). That's why in a long straight, even a Myvi can overtake me.

Sorry to digress a little bit.

• Aroma on Jul 06, 2011 at 12:16 am

Wat the heck ? U mentioned that MyVi ? You die faster in such a small car who cares about ovrtaking.

• Mask Ryder on Jul 05, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Camry r actually just a bigger size Corolla in oversea market, that why it look similar.

But in Malaysia & Singapore where car cost a “bomb” the Camry r consider Executive car, that why the design r similar to Australian Toyota Aurion which is 1 grade higher that Camry.

I believe UMW have made the right move, most of the Camry owner in Malaysia r people in their 40’s to 50’s, so they prefer conservative lasting looks rather that so call sporty looks (except those who have mid age crisis).

I bet those who calling Camry “Uncle” car or what ever name, can’t afford one, so their comment r “Irrelevant”. So what if it is a “Uncle” car, Uncle can afford U can’t.

• looks like same platform, car manufacturers using same platform for 2 gen now days..

• Expatriate VN on Jul 05, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Many comments Camry are for uncles. That is a simpleton statement! Camry is design are for safety, reliability, economy fuel consumption and comfort for the owner. Not all customers look for beauty when choosing car.

• Nearly all customers looks at badges.

• Aaron Cheah on Jul 05, 2011 at 6:42 pm

I look at features especially engine and gearbox. Current Camry is a no-no for me due to its outdated 4-speed auto gearbox. Ended up with Accord 2.0 instead. Mileage is superior than Camry at 832km @ RM 120 full tank of 60% highway and 40% city roads.

• nvh and comfort – camry
        handling – accord

• danny on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:38 am

832 km on full tank? i do not believe. Anyone getting that 832km on a full tank of their car? exception for Diesel and Hybrid.

• Indeed. My Accord had gone close to 1000km with Primax but that's 80% highway & 20% city driving

• Shell V-power on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:31 pm

My one even better, can last until 1200km with Shell V-Power… (Stop bluffing la bruder)

• arcana on Jul 05, 2011 at 8:57 pm

what safety are u implying when u get only 2 airbags, no VSC/TRC bla bla except the 2.4 model….not to mention the crash rating for the malaysian model is virtually unknown.
      economy is also out of question with the use of old vvti tech and 4 speeders when toyota has dual vvti or valvetronic in their lineup and refusing to share it to yall fellow loyal supporters…..
      i wont go to the looks as it is subjective and reliability of a car is just luck, some ppl still get lemons from toyotas. and price? enjoy paying a good sum to feed them lol.

• Isaac on Jul 05, 2011 at 5:08 pm

What stopping me getting Camry is just the gearbox. Who the hell still use a 4 speed gear? Every one is using 5-speed or some 8- speed gear box already. Outdated car.

• Johndeep on Jul 05, 2011 at 6:25 pm

My next car would be camry. Now driving accord for six years with zero technical problem.

Hyundai/Kia, design look good but won't last long. You park new sportage and tucson side-by-side, the later looks dated and worst still forte, looks a cheap metal. You can say anything good about H/K, I feel that they are still a class lower than T/H.

I don't buy car for design alone, reliability in the long run is worth to look at.

• heard from my x-officemate.. the new camry which will be assembled in m'sia is already in final stage of development.. they already even hv the proto model inside their secret room n based on his observation, it is bigger/bulkier than the current one n rear combi lamp looks like 7-Series.. Interior wise is more luxury than the current one.. we'll wait n c..

• RedBeanBun on Jul 05, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Hyundai and Kia will be laughing if still 4speed trans for Msia market (who knows they wanna safe cost and make huge profit by continue so, since thought consumer will buy regardless what shxt they put in…)
    I think Sonata's sales gave them a wakeup call or else…HO HO HO…

• RedBeanBun on Jul 05, 2011 at 8:54 pm

check out the Sonata from USA! diff in front! Camry, i think this is your real challenger!!
    http://www.hyundaiusa.com/vehicles/2011/sonata-hy…

• i hate this new comment box!why have to change from the original one eh

• nonce on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:50 pm

it's a hybrid sonata. it's a different design to aid aerodynamic.otherwise the standard sonata is the same for every country.

• lalalalala on Jul 05, 2011 at 9:43 pm

i see many poor kids here, complaining about T & H….mua haha

• Card Driver on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Our Company Driver Said the Camry 2.4 "Memang sedap" as compare to the Accord.
    He had been driving Merc , Accords And Camry for the company bosses.
    With so many years experience I think there is some substances in his words.

• victor lee on Jul 05, 2011 at 11:50 pm

like subaru legacy grill and headlamp lol… copy until like that meh

• OMG!! Korean car sales will tumble.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 07, 2011 at 12:36 am

WTF …. VIDEO REMOVED BY USER ??

as if …. its just a bloody Camry ok ?

• Carl Wong on Jul 07, 2011 at 1:04 am

The new Honda Accord plug in hybrid with all electric mode should be coming next year I hope, ongoing HYBRID WARS :)!!!!!!!!!!

• DissappointedFan on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:20 am

Total dissappointment. Never expected new camry to look so … fugly

• nanashisan on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:15 pm

video removed by user. :(