2011 Toyota Hilux facelift – exterior and interior pix

Here’s the official lowdown on the new Toyota Hilux facelift, which had its world debut recently at the Melbourne motorshow this month. The Hilux facelift for 2011 gets a big redesign at the front, now featuring a bolder and sharper face, pretty much all-new from the A pillar to the front.

The interior gets a new upper dashboard design with a new horizontal centre instrument cluster. The image you see here also features a Toyota Touch 2-DIN 6.1 inch touch screen color LCD head unit.

In Australia, the Hilux is available with a 2.5 litre D-4D engine intercooled engine with a variable geometry turbocharger, making 144 horses at 3,600rpm and 343Nm of torque at 2,000rpm. Although new in Australia, it isn’t a new engine as it has been already available in Thailand as early as 2009. There is also a larger 3.0 litre diesel, which power output remains the same over the pre-facelift model.

Both the 2.5 and 3.0 litre diesels are now Euro 5 compliant, thanks to the addition of a diesel particulate filter.

Look after the jump for the rest of the pix.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2399]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• will our msian spec get the lcd?

btw is that an ipod usb connectivity or aux input?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 15, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Useless facelift, take the Hilux customer’s loyalty for granted.

• most of the time, we don’t need much improvement over great and proven things.
      this facelift is nice.

• Alpha on Jul 15, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Looks like the Lexus LX470/570.

• maaajeeedaaa on Jul 15, 2011 at 10:43 pm

looks Mature…..

• Jimmy on Jul 15, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Will this Hilux not so easily turn upside-down? What about Triton and Navara, both seem to have less ‘turn turtle’ incidence(reading from newspaper)?
    Is it a common feature to all pick-up?
    Sorry, just asking only as I do not intend to buy one. I want new Fortuner and above.

• jimmy san, those retards who drive this pickup thought they are better than anyone else.. maybe they can only afford to buy this compare to a street car…. let’s say an EVO. So, everytime when this brain swollen dungu behind this wheel on the Highway…. they want to show off… Not only Hilux, any pickup truck, at high speed will easily kill u and anyone else. well, even fortuner. Remember, thick tyre and it’s height…. do the maths. Drive safely.. cheers!

• Comment on Jul 15, 2011 at 11:57 pm

can put this engine in Vios ?

• Naz@AE111 on Jul 16, 2011 at 12:49 am

if the malaysian get the minor update only, better UMW not sale this pickup.. if they want to sale it, listen to they loyal customer here what they want on they hilux…

• Frank on Jul 16, 2011 at 2:38 am

when available here?

• Until Toyota dare to offer us the real Hilux in the Tacoma guise, or real Fortuner aka Hilux Surf or 4Runner and real lnnova should use Sienna mpv.

Lesser model deserves no Hilux moniker to be fair to everyone. I’m puzzle why non-USA/Canada deserve inferior models when the price we pay similar or rather higher than better product.

To understand this fact, merely put Hilux-Tacoma; Innova-Sienna as well as Fortuner-4Runner side by side and test drive it. The ‘equivalent’ or precisely, unequal counterparts were priced starting with USD16,365, USD25,060 and USD30,305 4Runner or at least we deserve slightly more urban cruiser yet cheaper USD28,090 Highlander or Kluger in Japan before this new version.

Toyota underserving non-Northern American continents even at their own turf, Japan. If Toyota not Toyota no one will accept this “irregularity” in their offering.

If you frequent in Vietnam, China, Taiwan, Canada or Cambodia then you’ll understand why l wrote this. I really love Toyota but Toyota not really a good and reciprocate lover. No one ever dream a lesser than Corolla before Vios/Soluna incarnation but that scenario is different since Toyota also serving B-segment with Corolla ll, Soluna, Platz, Yaris or similar name.

Help Toyota to give us original quality models guys!

• they can if govt remove duty, dream on my friend

• You are right, he talks a lot and try to spin people, but what he said has no substance. As long as we have this gomen, that is what we will have.

• Consumer has power but they don’t use it

• Don’t spin again OK. If what you say is true, give me an Audi Q5 at US$45K (~ RM140K), this is the price they sell in US. In Malaysia, it is selling at RM350K.
            You must realise one essential thing, Malaysia car is expensive because of our duty, tax, AP blah blah blah.. Not because of car manufacturer.

• “i” said:

You must realise one essential thing, Malaysia car is expensive because of our duty, tax, AP blah blah blah.. Not because of car manufacturer.

SPIN…what? l spin or manufacturer spin us? If you’re so lazy to understand the bigger picture of the industry please do not accuse me or anybody for that matter. I not talking about any brand but TOYOTA, since Toyota is our family first car and l wanna raise concern for the brand owner that the buyers deserve better product (since the product already available in USA/Canada) for their money.

I’m not talking about TAX. Tax is our very own issue BUT this IMV was PERVASIVE to non-USA/Canada alike.

That’s why l only compared with Toyota price. I love Toyota but hate the fact that we was treated unequally like Canada-USA-some Europe buyers.

I guess you’re unaware about Hilux history. Before this Hilux is Hilux not IMV and the platform used for pickup SUT and SUV. IN MPV segment Toyota has Sienna in Northern America which is closer to an Estima than poorer cousin from Indonesia, Innova.

UNDERSTAND? How you used your logic in Audi’s price? Perhaps, you’re stubborn ignorant UMW-Toyota SA?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 17, 2011 at 11:40 am

Are your “i” stand for “in-intelligent”, “incapacity”, inefficiency brain” or all the likes of negative “ins” available.

What Karl said is true, our market for Hilux, Innova, Vios or Avanza are all strip-wdown low version market for this region. Can Hilux compare to Thundra in US market in term of price and specs?

Tax, AP, Cronyism are all tariff and non-tariff barrier put in place to protect Proton, but offering of car model is come from manufacturer, in this case Toyota offer for the above-mentioned strip down version of their products is purely Toyota initiative.

Good example is Q5, Audi never have strip down version for this region. They have same model for the world market, perhaps at most offer different engine and trims available, mainly to respond to market demand and legal requirements.

• Karl, you talk so much again and never anwer my simple question. let me tell you, the bigger picture is I pay RM350K for an Audi Q5 which in actual only worth RM140K.

• daniel on Jul 16, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Just like our general maturity in politics, consumers needs to be educated in order to know that they have been short-changed. Or else they will be made to believe that LAGI BEST is the BEST alas with an obselete engine and only two air-bags.

• Daniel, you’re smart enough to understand simple stuff UNLIKE “i”:

• Only you are smart, all Toyota owners in Malaysia is stupid.

• Motberg on Jul 16, 2011 at 5:24 pm

I beg to differ… with car prices so high, how do you expect consumers to “use their power”? Not buying new cars could work if the public transportation system is half as good as Singapore. Right now, the public transport is a joke, so people end up buying cars, contributing to the jam, new graduates come into the workforce and realise they cannot depend on public transport, so they buy cars, in the end it’s a vicious cycle. In the meantime, with duties so high, we are paying through our noses for cars.
            I was in NZ last year and you can even buy a good used car for less than NZD5K! IN Malaysia, what can you get for 5K? A kapchai I guess.

• daniel on Jul 17, 2011 at 11:35 am

There are good used cars in M’sia too if consumers look beyond the H&T brands. I was using the used 2001 Punto Nuova with CVTs that only now PROTON is adopting and steering mounted electric steering which is only now being offered by LAGI BEST. The PUNTO cost me only RM18K three years ago I sold it a few months back for RM18.5K. Now I am having a 1.5L Smart car with 4 airbags, all disks brakes and not only the ABS and EBD in the top range LAGI BEST but also ESP(electronic stability program) for about RM40K. Fuel Consumption as low as 4.8L/100km but average about 5.5L.

• Motberg, you are right. but this Karl is try to spin. And his friend Expatriate VN is good in personal attack, look at his comment, what a bunch of idiat.

• I usually try to stay out of this… but this “i” person was spotted in a few other threads like Ssangyong threads hentaming anything that’s not Japanese or more specifically not Toyota.

Seriously smells like a Toyota salesman or someone with a hidden agenda.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 17, 2011 at 4:17 pm

What a crap “i”, this is not personal attack! Your posting is best sum up as “i” – idiotic. You paid for your Audi Q 5 for RM 350 K is because of taxes and all crappy crony sky high profits. So how much tax and crony profits = RM 350 K – RM 140K (market price) = RM 210. This monies may go to cronies maintenance of 4 wives/mistress, their 7 series or S Class, big Villa, oversea trip/shopping, etc.

If you still can’t uderstand the above, better go to that M@XX building and jump out!

• Expatriate VN. That is my whole point all the time, all Malaysia car is expensive compare to USA/Canada. So no point to talk about only Toyota, it is our Malaysia policy, nothing to do with car manufacturer.
            AND
            If you still can’t uderstand the above, better go to that M@XX building and jump out before anybody does!

• In malaysia, the triton and hilux is priced under RM100,000, but in Singapore, the triton and hilux sells over RM200,000, that’s because the excise duty for the pickups in singapore.

• Paul and Danny, the Toyota Hilux Double Cab 3.0 D4D 2WD sold in Singapore will be priced at SGD120988 (Approximately RM298431.64), this is more expensive than in Malaysia. Why the Hilux is cheaper in Malaysia but more expensive in Singapore?

• albag on Jul 16, 2011 at 7:55 am

interesting interior, especially the steering wheel with controls now… hopefully there is an LCD in the G version when it reaches in malaysia… btw, despite this the “new” truck, i feel that the front really looks like it will need a facelift soon…

• Altisan on Jul 16, 2011 at 7:55 am

The steering looks weird for a big car, they should put the fortuner steering instead…

• anti-Thailand on Jul 16, 2011 at 8:05 am

Is this Hilux made for Japanese Domestic Market?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 16, 2011 at 9:57 am

Yes, Karl you are right, in Vietnam they got Innovia mainly used as taxi, and Sienna mainly for family MPV.

• why the front look like before facelift ford ranger?

• alldisc on Jul 16, 2011 at 1:02 pm

hey wat do ya know… i was in shah alam last week and noted several new imv toyotas including innovas and fortuner. i believe the facelifted hilux is here too…

the lights were all taped up. they are here already in malaysia. we just wait for the launching time. but it can be as far as next year, unless UMW do sumting quick!

• ridwan on Jul 16, 2011 at 2:44 pm

the grille looks great than the old model, how about fortuner facelift?

• any improvement on the ride? still choppy at the back?

• T4VR-Ralph on Jul 16, 2011 at 9:56 pm

The head of Ninja Kings… nice!

• i=insane:

I never mentioned about price, idiot. No matter government put zero tax to this IMV Vigo Champ we’ll get the lesser HILUX SUT, UNDERSTAND?

We, mean every market but Canada-USA.

No TAX issue though Malaysia is weird country that punish her subject when buying new vehicle and denied us inexpensive car although we still got to be grateful, our gas still one of the cheapest in the region.

Got the FACT right, idiot. I’m never undermine or insulting any Toyota owners since the machine is the most reliable machine in the planet. Even cocky JC admit that Hilux is indestructible vehicle. If you’re not far from reality (as if one since you’re keep blaming our tax structure [our tax is wrong, undeniably). Are you just learnt that our car is expensive like a bomb?

I re-emphasize again: Toyota owners one of the most “sensible” buyer that’s why they purchased a Toyota (even though a Third World product with inferior technology). Even Thai were mumbling, why they offer better engine for European when they (produced locally) got slightly inferior engine. WE, even worst engine with 101ps. Got your fact dumb?

If your stupid enough to understand this fact, Toyota current president also blame their product. T product losing their soul.

I’m pity to many of us, just blindly love every single Toyota as if it’s real Toyota. Perhaps, you never came across 1st Kijang. If you, me and anyone don’t accept Hilux or rather rather pseudo Hilux; they’ll offer you a better product- Tacoma.

Did l sound like Toyota hater, Mr “i” Toyota Salesman? Google the Toyota Tacoma, why from last decade we got two different model but last one really differ with IMV.

Buy ticket, go and test drive any Tacoma to understand my comment, “i”.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 17, 2011 at 8:15 pm

I think this “i” person never travel to outside Bolehland like katak di bawah tempurong. He may change his mind and know what Toyota offering of IMVs, Vios, Avanza, etc is manufacturer initiative. Since he can afford Audi Q 5, then he may visit even least developing country like Vietnam by fly AirAsia (to and return ticket RM 600 to RM 900 depend on timing of booking) and stay 3D2N at Saigon. On Saigon roads, you can see all makes, including Toyota Camry JDM and USDM version side by side. You can see Sienna vis-a-vis Innova, then feel the different! If not happy with Vietnam, can make a flight to country like UAE. Both country, practically no Proton or thier own national cars on the roads, then you can see generally their consumers have wide range of choices!

• I don’t think he’ll do that. Just google then he’ll get the real fact. Every manufacturers give similar product for any market (we’re talking about SUT here), namely:

VW Amarok
        Mazda B-series
        Nissan Frontier/Navara
        Chevrolet Colorado
        Isuzu D-Max

• Karl Sai, you talk so much and put so many personal attack remarks and yet answering nothing. Very ill manner people.
      Look at the mirror and see your at comment ( i=insane, idiot), is this how you teach your children during debate, then you start to accuse people is Toyota saleman without any prove.
      And Expatriate VN is worse, after all the personal attack remarks, now he claims that people never travel to outside Bolehland, how can he simply talk(accuse) something that he even have any idea and than started to ask people to jump out from building.
      Enough is enough, I think we should stop here, if you only like to personal attack and simply accusing people.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 18, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Give so much lecturing, and so much of explanation, on top of that it is free, but never admit you are mentally challenge chap yet “small air” accuse me of insult and personal attack you! I think I better stop here rather than waste my time to make effort to further explain this un-explainable chap! Good luck to your mediocre mentallity unable to engage in intellectual argument.

• Thank you for your busy body, next time please do not debate with me. You are only good in personal attack and you are a self proclaim smart alec. From your comment, I only judge you below average, a smart people is humble and will never belittle anybody.