Mercedes-Benz C-Class W204 facelift arrives in Malaysia – C200 CGI and C250 CGI BlueEfficiency driven

How time does fly. It has been four years since the third-generation Mercedes-Benz C-Class was introduced, and the compact executive car has certainly done very well for itself, with more than a million units sold worldwide. The announcement of the mid-life facelift came in December last year, a little more than halfway through the typical seven-year life cycle for a model like it.

In Malaysia, since arriving in the second half of 2007, more than 6,000 examples have found owners, not a staggering figure, but impressive nonetheless. The C200 K and C230 that paved the way were replaced by the C200 CGI and C250 CGI, with the primary changes being in terms of powertrain.

Seven months on after the facelift’s announcement, the car has arrived on these shores. For its introduction here, the lineup retains the similar feel to the outgoing pre-facelift version in terms of model variants – the locally-assembled C200 CGI and C250 CGI BlueEfficiency roll in, at RM258,888 and RM290,888 respectively, looking to continue the successful run their predecessors had. There’s quite a fair bit of new in the car, even if it isn’t noticeable at first glance.

Full story after the jump.

The W204 was a dramatic step up in styling and design compared to the W203, almost a blitz in how it changed perception of the car. If the latter was a bit boring and dowdy, the W204 was most certainly not. For the facelift, Merc has seen fit not to alter the exterior too much, even if it has made no less than 2,000 component changes to the car, thereby retaining the shape’s poise and character.

The front is where it’s most noticeable. For starters, there’s a redesigned bumper, which has a more expressive and dynamic contour, the front section being brought closer to the brand’s new design idiom. As a central element at the front, the shape of the radiator grille is more prominently supported by the bumper, and the central air intake opens out upwards in a V-shape, forming a visual base unit for the radiator grille.

Meanwhile, pronounced side sections on the bumper extend from the sporty V-shape at the centre; these sections – beneath the headlamps – blend into the feature lines along the vehicle flanks, creating a better link with the sides. Lastly, the side air inlets in the bumper are positioned low down, to give the car a more road-hugging appearance.

There’s also a new aluminium bonnet, chosen for its lightweight properties and contoured around the headlamps and radiator grille in such a manner that it emphasises the V-shape of the front section more prominently than before. Aluminium as material also features on the front wings and the door modules.

Elsewhere, the headlamps have also been redesigned, and the new shape creates a more dynamic and resolute impression, so Merc says, aiding the rest of the front’s new cast to get the V-shape going further. The bi-xenons – which now feature the Intelligent Light System (ILS) as standard – has some rather subtle design cues, including a position light with a distinctive C-shape.

As is now the standard, LEDs feature prominently – the lower section of the headlamp is formed by a horizontal broadband LED indicator unit, and on the bumper sits LED daytime running lamps.

Not much change in the rear, with just the tail lamps and rear bumper being reworked. For the latter, the light-catching contours and dividing lines have been modified to emphasise the width of the car even more. As for the tail lights, a continuous covering lens helps neaten their integration into the tail end, and the use of LEDs again feature prominently, offering a high recognition factor in the dark.

As before, the radiator grille helps differentiate the models, the C250 wearing one with a sizeable tristar slapped on it, while the C200 makes do with a more civil looking one, its Merc logo sitting on top of the bonnet.

Wheels also help signify the difference – both wear 17-inchers, the C250 being a 5-twinspoke design (with staggered 225/45 front and 245/40 rear rubbers) while the C200’s is a 7-twinspoke pattern, wrapped in 225/45 series tyres.

Still, the exterior work doesn’t change things much from an overall perspective, at least not to those who don’t know what they’re looking at. Aside from the front, the side profile and rear view offer very little to the uninitiated that this is the facelift. During the media drive up to Ipoh last week, hardly anyone took notice of the car, though on the return trip, I did catch one person checking the car out whilst on the move, and it happened to be a pre-facelift owner, chugging along in his W204 C200 CGI.

Inside though, there’s no mistaking what exactly this one is. It’s where everything’s happening, so much so, what’s been slapped on makes the pre-facelift model’s interior look a bit shabby when you explore it now. The new dashboard leads the way, and its more angular lines that offers a more focused presentation. Styling-wise, the fascia follows on that found on the W212 E-Class.

Gone is the central pop-up lid in the pre-facelift model, which hid the COMAND LCD screen – I always thought it was a bit gimmicky and plasticky, and the open configuration sitting underneath the stepped extension to the instrument cluster now offers a far more pleasant view, and not just from a legibility point of view.

The trim and choice of material have also been significantly improved. If there was one major thing to pick about the old car’s interior, aside from the aspects of design and layout, it would be that things felt a bit cheap (not tacky), and not truly befitting of the car.

Now, texture to both sight and touch have taken a big jump – the surfaces of the control elements are more finely detailed and galvanised, the upper dashboard section wears a new surface grain, and there’s more decorative trim to be found on the dash (specifically, into the passenger side area), among other things.

Some of the changes are imperceptible, especially if you’re not familiar with that on the old – the rotary volume control knob’s weighing as you turn the dial is now heavier and offers a better tactile feel, for one. Others are easier to spot – there’s a new instrument cluster, with its three tube-style surrounds dressed in a galvanised surface, featuring an integral colour display in conjunction with a completely redesigned multi-function 12-button steering wheel.

Speaking of the steering wheel, the C200 CGI gets a four-spoke one, replete with a chromed trim panels for the controls, while the C250 CGI has a new generation three-spoke steering wheel, first seen in the new CLS. The three-spoker is a delight to the eye and hand, offering good ergonomics and fit at its 3-9 contact point area.

The updated C-Class continues with two lines. Going the Elegance route with the C200 bags you dark brown burr walnut wood trim as well as an instrument cluster with a cream backplate, and there seems to be a choice of interior colour combinations to be had – the two C200 examples I hopped into had different ones, one in black and the other, cream. The seam outlines are also in a contrasting light grey, less noticeable on the cream-based interior. Meanwhile, the darkened interior of the C250 gets brushed aluminium trim, a silver backplate for the cluster and horizontally stitching for its seat rests and backs.

With the different routes also comes different outputs. While both variants wear the M271 DEH four-cylinder 1.8 litre, direct injection, turbocharged engine, the state of output tunes naturally differ. For the C200, this is 184 hp at 5,250 rpm and 270 Nm at 1,800-2,500 rpm, while the C250 has 204 hp at 5,500 rpm and 310 Nm at 2,000-4,300 rpm.

Performance specs include a 0-100 kph time of 7.8 seconds and a 235 kph top speed for the C200, while the C250 is a shade quicker at 7.2 seconds and 240 kph. In essence, the engines remain unchanged for the makeover.

New though is the inclusion of a 7G-Tronic Plus seven-speed auto transmission to replace the five-speed in the pre-facelift, and both versions get it (the C230, incidentally, featured a seven-speeder). With wider gear ratios, an improved Sport/Eco shift programme and greater mechanical damper insulation, the improved NAG II FE+ box – with an overall ratio optimised for fuel economy – promises improved drive feel. In terms of fuel economy, MB says that the facelifted C-Class variants offer a 13% improvement over their pre-facelift siblings.

Other items on the equipment list include new driving assistance systems from Adaptive Highbeam Assist and Attention Assist to Parking Guidance for the Parktronic system, as well as a new telematics generation offering new features such as phone book transfer, display of SMS messages, wireless music reproduction via Bluetooth and a USB interface that is now accommodated in the centre armrest.

Besides a Dynamic Handling Package, the C250 also comes with built-in navigation and a COMAND Online multimedia system; as its name suggests, internet access – via your mobile phone connection – is provided in the C-Class for the first time, though surfing is limited to only when the car is stationary.

All that out of the way, it’s time to find out how it all fared in use, even if a short media drive isn’t going to be all too all-encompassing. Having jumped into the drive directly off a long-haul flight in the same morning, there was little to suggest that anything had radically changed performance-wise upon first measure – the outward bound journey was made in a C250, and it felt very much like the pre-facelift in its dynamic qualities and character behaviour.

The car felt brisk enough on the highway, pretty much what I remembered the previous CGI version to be in terms of zip, a bit on the raw side when pushed, but efficient nonetheless. The steering remains lightweight in feel and feedback – it’s fast enough (a bit skittish at speed, even), but there’s none of the directness and information coming off it you’d find on a Munich equivalent, and we’re not talking merely about weight here.

Now, one can argue that for most C-Class drivers, this is hardly going to be anything they’d fuss about. I do think the new three-spoke steering wheel is the bee’s knees though; sure, the grip isn’t as meaty as a Veedub’s, but it’s an absolute gem to hold.

Switching on the Sport mode out on the open road proved to be a quick affair, in that switching it back off came very quickly after – going in a straight line is hardly the terrain to try out firming up the suspension. We’ll get to that when the car comes in for a more complete test session.

In the end, there was only one corner that offered the chance to push, a hairpin that the car aced comfortably (pardon the term) with Sport mode on. Still, you always get the feeling that prodding the C into corners isn’t exactly what it’s all about and why you’d buy one in the first place.

The return journey the next day, in the C200, proved how much of a cruiser this one is – I drove back alone, my driving partner having hightailed out earlier in another car. With the effects of jet lag still plenty in evidence, the drive home – at mixed speeds – turned out to be effortless, and that I came out of it no more worse for wear than I already was at that stage is testament to the car’s ability to soak it all up. Of note is the seat comfort levels, which are high. Granted, Ipoh isn’t exactly Mars, but a couple of hundred clicks when you’re tired feels a bit like it.

If there’s an area where performance has improved, then it has to be with the seven-speeder, which smoothens things out considerably and adds further to the C’s refinement levels. In terms of response, it’s far more rapid than the old five-speed box, for sure.

Having spent a fair amount of time in it, the new interior is, simply put, fetching. The switchgear feels good to the touch, and the new instrument cluster and LCD screen is well easy on the eye. In all, the entire bag of tricks really does make the reworked C a far plusher offering than before.

In 2007, when the C-Class first arrived here, I decided to pit it against the BMW E90 3 Series in a two-way comparo for the publication I worked for then (to kick-start shootouts there; it had never been done in the newspaper, and it’s not something that will be done now), and with three different drivers providing their opinions, the C200 K ended up ahead of the 320i as the preferred choice for all three reviewers, which was a revelation to us.

Yes, the 3er ran rings around the C in drive dynamics and left it trailing doing all the ham-fisted stuff – feedback to input, progression, steering, traction, linearity, the BMW simply ticked off all the boxes ahead of the Merc. But it was also less forgiving in its character, less compliant on the whole and certainly less comfortable in an urban environment on a day-to-day basis.

As much as the E90 had eminent drivability (if lacking in power) and appealed to the driver in me, the balanced – and arguably, better – temperament of the W204 was hard to ignore. Certainly, given that most owners don’t drive their cars like they stole it, you can see where we all ended up, the cruiser winning the vote over the bruiser.

Nearly four years on, I’d like to believe that things haven’t really changed all that much. Undoubtedly, the arrival of the F30 will bring about another change in the landscape and perspective, but for now, the status quo remains. One where the choice is made with the heart, and one made with the head, as before. And you can call me soft, but if done once more, I’d know which one I would pick. Again.

C200 CGI
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2426]
C250 CGI
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2409]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Azlina on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:14 am

why it not beautiful like before?

• mr.cool regensburg on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:40 am

yeah not beautiful like before.but certainly more and more beautiful

• MBM is a Disgrace on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:56 am

Can MBM Malaysia please tell us what is the percentage of Malaysian content in the CKD version of the C and E class. And tell us what parts are Malaysian made. I ask different dealerships and salesmen and they all give me different answers. Some even say its fully German but assembled in Malaysia. Some say paint work is even done in Germany and some others say its painted in Malaysia. Other dealerships say only battery and tyres. So confusing lah. Each one, got differing answers.,

MBM Malaysia, this is like buying something from pasar malam. Your unprofessional salesman cannot even give exact answers. It is no better than buying vegetables, fish and fruits from the pasar malam. Infact, even the fish monger from the wet market can give me exact answers like where and which waters the kurau fish I am buying comes from. I am paying premium money and it is my right to know what parts are Malaysian made to comply with the CKD requirements.

MBM Malaysia is a disgrace if they cannot train their dealerships to give customers proper information.

• The C-class is not made in Germany any more. Daimler shifted the production to the US and China.

So it’s very unlikely that ‘it’s fully German but assembled in Malaysia’… ;)

• Meaning, it is an expensive made in China product?

• I have no idea where the C-class CKD Kits come from (either from USA or from China).

Only one thing is very sure: Definitely the kits are NOT from Germany:

http://www.thelocal.de/money/20091202-23661.html

• Alexander on Jul 20, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Then how can get CKD tax benefits?

• Justin on Jul 20, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Dude,

RHD C-Class are made/assembled in South Africa.
            LHD C-Class are made/assembled in Germany.

China made C-Class are for the Chinese market
            US made C-Class are for the US market

Get your FACTS right before talking rubbish

• Nice story, but where is your source? A source is something like this:

“GERMANY: In November the management board of Daimler AG announced their plans to shift production of the Mercedes-Benz C-Class model designed for the U.S. market to the plant in Alabama, USA. This announcement caused a lot of anxiety and worries among 37,000 employees of the plant in Sindelfingen, Germany. In fact according to the works council such decision put in danger 3,000 jobs and could potentially affect the decision on further production of the E-Class model on the German site.”
            http://www.imfmetal.org/index.cfm?c=21695

Are you a Mercedes salesman, who have a problem with selling a chinese-made car?

• JaCe88 on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Disagree. Different C Class are made all over the world not just in the places you mentioned. For example, my AUDM facelifted w204 RHD is built in Germany.

Rather than speculating like the rest of the guys here, why not just open the door and check the details > http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w204-c-class/1592799-some-2011-c-class-built-south.html

• JaCe88 on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Sorry I meant to include the following URL: http://www.benzworld.org/forums/general-mercedes-benz/1595132-11th-digit-mercedes-vin-code.html

• E63 AMG on Jul 20, 2011 at 6:32 pm

No point asking the salesmen, they are only trained to show the car’s features and making the sales process easy for the customers. Better ask MBM for your type of irrelevant questions.

• zaff1984 on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:17 am

the info meter got really nice graphic… nicer interior…. quite a major facelift.

• Dipak on Jul 20, 2011 at 12:21 pm

This car looks like ahpek when put beside A4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • BeemerFreak on Jul 20, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Cause the one driving audi is an Ahpek who went through tonnes of plastic surgery.

• dlink on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Audi sucks big time,looks like bulldog, enters workshop more than Banyak Masuk Workshop, fuel consumption poor like taking a bath with those fuel. powerwise stupid TT lose to a SLK200 what a joke …TFSI?? go use it as pasar malam bulb generator la

• TurboMan on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:32 am

Am i getting older, or merc design’s getting more contemporary and modern?

Kind of attracted to their cars lately.

• mr.cool regensburg on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:38 am

my God,this one’s sexy! suit the younger elites
    definitely few ”Stufe” higher than its predecessor

• Cheng on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:53 am

if u blur the merz logo, the interior is just average… no WOW factor at all…

• kelso on Jul 20, 2011 at 10:30 am

i’m just waiting for someone to say something about the Forte… oh c’mon people, don’t disappoint the “best” car in the universe

• addict on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:58 am

Interior looks much better than my sister’s pre-facelift. Much better.

• farizY on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:25 am

Damn, my dad had just bought the pre-facelift version, this looks nicer….*sigh*

• This article will surely gives me sleepless nights. Absolute beauty. Do they have golden beige as well?

• Vincent on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:32 am

Good posting & fair comment indeed.

Somehow, it is hard for most of us not to display our “boy racer” instinct within once awhile….! Pity the pax in the 3ers.

• blackcanary on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:33 am

hope Merc. already solve the suspension problem for this model.

• blackcanary on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:34 am

hope merc. already solve the front suspension problem

• ABTguy on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:36 am

My target for the next car, hope to jump from Passat B6 to C250 CGI haha..

I hope the steeliing feel is as “meaty” as that of E250 CGI, sweet sweet one. E90 ride is too hush for Malaysian road, not for me :D

• Agree with u on the e90’s suspension. Especially the M sport models. My wife even puked because of motion sickness after getting out of the car after she test drove the 320d

• RedBeanBun on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:48 am

test the 323 :) i enjoy driving it.. :) balance of comfort and power better. I think BMW put too much M-sport in town, and many just want to drive a comfort one + some handling.

• blackcanary70 on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:46 am

hope the suspension problem already solve for this model

• kelso on Jul 20, 2011 at 10:00 am

The one thing that bugs me would be the wood trim and the difficulty in justifying the additional 30k for the C250 with not much to show for. In the previous model, the specfication differential was large enough to consider, not anymore… Damn you wood trim!

• ABTguy on Jul 20, 2011 at 12:32 pm

Go to a accessories shop which can do good stickering job, stick on the carbon fibre sticker will do. I did the same for my Passat B6, damn old fashion wood trim.

Actually the 30k includes the 20BHP, Navi system, black interior, sport suspension and better looking sport rim.

But I do agree that since the body kit is identical on the 2 model, from the onset the price diff of RM30k does seem a lot

• Tanth on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:56 pm

Besides the add-ons mentioned by ABTguy, the 30k includes a better looking sporty front grill, a sporty 3-spokes steering wheel and a better audio system. One can also change from a sport drive mode from a comfort mode drive and vice versa.

• Apalah on Jul 20, 2011 at 10:22 am

Look like interior build quality improved alot

Much much better than the PRE-FACElift than feels plasticky all over.

• adlanar on Jul 20, 2011 at 10:38 am

paul, any news on the c-coupe?

• giggle on Jul 20, 2011 at 11:26 am

c250 is not worth the money!!.. same engine, only 0.5 quicker and some minor changes. 30K i rather spend in on something..

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvV9Uw4j2NM
    i drive this facelift already more than 2weeks.. now only official launch? = =

• Mpower on Jul 20, 2011 at 1:09 pm

we want back the 190e like with cosworth powered FTW :D

• Proton lover on Jul 20, 2011 at 1:38 pm

They should fix the rear lights, not the front.

• The design is getting agressive rather take the accord or the camry over this merc.

• harris murad on Jul 20, 2011 at 2:43 pm

beautiful…
    as simple as that.
    look at the ala-ala SL headlamp to begin with..:’)

• seancorr on Jul 20, 2011 at 5:23 pm

A nice car indeed…much improvements over the pre-facelift. Other manufacturers should learn the term facelift from Mercedes lol.

Anyway what the author of this article said is right…E90 is indeed a better car to drive but its harsh on the passengers and driver in the comfort department. I like speed but I don’t speed every time I’m on the road so this Benz would fare more than the BMW to me.

Speaking of the F30…its still a long way off for it to arrive here. I’m guessing late 2012 for us so its a good 1.5 years ahead and the E90 is indeed showing its age.

• Nothing to says,

but i love this sporty car!

• Unlike the success in E Class replacement.
    C Class is getting from ugly to uglier.

BMW & Audi Salesman is going to have sound sleep after seeing this ugly creature.

• tishaban on Jul 20, 2011 at 11:59 pm

I guess it’s very personal then, I think the new E-class is butt ugly while the new facelifted C-class is a beauty :D

• RedBeanBun on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:11 am

if u see the comparison of the e90 with this new face lift, u will laugh. Its so similar. Can find the picture easily from ineternet..

• YWChg on Jul 21, 2011 at 9:45 am

Big improvement….especially the interior…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:38 am

I think BMW salesmen will worry even more now, already the e90 is outdated with the slow & weak 320i. So new C facelift can now truly tapau bmw 3series!

• ko malu saje on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:22 am

Kereta Pakcik.

• RON97 on Jul 21, 2011 at 12:45 pm

nothing special, 220 out of breath already. smoke this clan w/ my B7.

• Bad bear on Jul 21, 2011 at 9:16 pm

ha ha ha,,,,,,,,,whats your Vit. B7 number plate…….

This model has nothing to do with speed…..just cruising.

After smoking the GTR or Lambo…then we would like to know that.

Smoking a merc……….it is like killing an ant. Souped up Proton also can do the job nicely.

• kingjoke on Jul 21, 2011 at 6:33 pm

cgi250, hensem2…hehe

• 2009mssb on Jul 23, 2011 at 5:26 pm

The facelift model is nothing much different from the pre-facelift though more than 2000 components were replaced. It is still maintaining the classy look than sports look.

• bayou on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Hmm, the longer I look at it, the more I see a mismash of Honda Accord and Hyundai i45 in the styling. Ahh, there was a time when a Merc looked special. Now it is mainly pays (extra) for the badge. Kida sad really.

• Were you able to get the COMAND Online to connect to the internet? I’ve tried with various phones (e.g. iPhone 4, Samsung Galaxy S II) but none seem to support the dial up networking protocol required to connect to the internet!

ps. Great review. I personally purchased the diesel model (C250 CDI) in Australia!

• kelvin on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:25 am

i driving this new facelift , do far no complain .. and its satisfied me !!!

• pedobear on Jul 31, 2011 at 1:35 pm

i saw pic CGI250 come with paddle shift? i would choose c250 instead c200 if i had money

• the navigation is horrible, so many new roads not on it. Updating costs 4k lol. Yes the sales people are useless, one guy told me it only had 2 airbags when it has 6. Careful when servicing, my rims were scratched

• 2009mssb on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:04 pm

This is really a daylight robber ! They ahve many sets of rules which you don’t know :

If u install any GPS Anti Carjack systems, if some parts need cut wire, warranty will be voided. If you do any window tinting, any problem with your antenna, warranty also be voided. Better think twice !

• kelvin khor on Aug 17, 2011 at 2:57 am

yay !!! finally i get this ride !!!! wow ….. this is really satisfied me !!!!!

• 2009mssb on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:01 pm

I have been waited for nearly 3 months, still have not deliver yet. What a sigh !
      Wonder why I did not see any New Facelift Merc C Class in Penang ???

• please give me advise where to buy front grill C class w204 and the price. Prefer in klang valley

• dozy888 on Sep 25, 2011 at 2:34 pm

When will the C200 avantgarde be launching ?

• It is already available. Some units are already sold. Although first batch are all in white color only, waiting for my second batch (black) to come in soon after CNY…

• Gavin on Oct 25, 2011 at 11:45 pm

WOW is a nice new look of C200, the new Benz features dynamic design inside and out. this new C-class gets a new engine with 31% lower fuel consumption.