Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback RA Edition – only 100 units

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has announced the introduction of the Lancer Sportback RA Edition. Based on the Lancer Sportback 2.4, the edition features a slew of Ralliart enhancements and will be a limited run of 100 units.

The accessory package for the five-door hatchback includes full Nappa leather seats, a rear diffuser, body art stickers and a reverse camera.

Also on are a Ralliart front bumper foil, front grille badge, fog lamp rings, scuff plates and Ralliart emblem. Meanwhile, the multi-spoke 18-inch wheels are now painted in a gun metal shade.

No changes mechanically to the 2.4 litre four-cylinder MIVEC block, which of course offers 170 PS and 226 Nm for output figures. Available in three colours, these being Lightning Blue, White Solid and Black Mica, the Lancer Sportback RA Edition goes for RM137,980, on-the-road inclusive of insurance.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2417]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Marky on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:27 am

morning people! :D

does this hatchback monster really need a reverse camera? :/

• james on Jul 23, 2011 at 6:04 pm

yes, because of proton, i find this car getting uglier and uglier~!

• AlexLee on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:30 am

Better stay out this car, not say this car no good, actually this is very good car but only problem is we dunno when Proton will going copy 100% (Like Proton Imspira), if Proton do so, this car second hand value will drop immediately and demand for this car also drop…I better stay out…..LOL…

(THIS IS ONLY MY OPINION)

• That’s why they are flogging a dead horse. Serves MItsu right for ‘selling’ the Lancer to Proton. Have anyone checked the total units of Lancers sold since Inspira?

• kwing on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:03 pm

compare to others car at this range actually not really overpriced, any car at this price range offer 170 PS and 226 Nm?

• Peterpj on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:36 pm

There is the Focus TDCi which goes for RM128k otr….

• kwing on Jul 21, 2011 at 5:59 pm

is diesel…and road tax will be exp.. but do save on fuel if you are heavy user…. but that is pretty good car though…. but still is diesel…..

• Diesel stereotyping…

Why is diesel bad?

• Diesel road tax same as petrol la… which planet u came from? Has been like this since 2009!

• Flowerpot on Jul 21, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Which makes it more fishy. When they first sold the Lancer in 2007, its price was the most competetive in its class. Only then did we know the price is so due to the prior understanding between Mitsu and Proton for the latter to rebadge the car.

• Downs on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:20 pm

Don’t thnk proton is going to use this model.

• Kiddo on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:53 pm

I swear I never call anyone ‘stupid’ in my life but I guess this is my first time. Your comment is plain stupid and not constructive at all.

Just because Mitsubishi and Proton both have their version of Lancer here in Malaysia, you think that makes the Lancer loses its value?

Mind you, Proton did not copy the Lancer, they REBADGED it legally. Even if Proton rebadge this, it’ll only be good to the consumer, nothing bad.

• sick&tired on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Dear kiddo, I find your comment about the Inspira not affecting the 2nd hand value of the lancer to be really really stupid! what planet are you living in? Have you checked out Mudah? Why should I buy a used Lancer when I can get a new Inspira? I have seen both cars, and both are the same. Somehow after the inspira came out, the lancer doesn’t seem to look as good when it first came out.

• stay out of this car but not because proton has rebadged it’s saloon cousin. stay out from it because it already way passed it’s mid way life cycle, nearing the end. mitsu wont be so stupid to sell the rights to produce to proton if the car has not pass mid way life. new lancers should be expected within 2 years time. with proton still producing the current gen, mitsu actually continue to enjoy return on development investment for the current gen lancers, even after they end the production line.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:32 am

Overprice car.

• u should say the inspira 2.0 is an overpriced car..the original lancer 2.0 gt CBU from japan is only RM115,980..and the locally made inspira is rm91k..only about rm25k different…

• confused on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:46 pm

only 25k? ONLY? hurm..

• blackjkx on Jul 21, 2011 at 4:12 pm

yeah, for 25K less:
          deduct shipment cost from japan, localized part,less taxes,less labour/manufacturing cost and so on..
          it MUST more than 25K less than CBU lancer model.
          No wonder, inspira sales now soo poor.
          Loss project and marketing strategy.

• Peterpj on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Yup, I agree with you….our Inspira is much too overpriced (but I guess they deliberately did that so there is enough of a gap from the Persona and since they expect to sell most Inspira’s to government bodies to replace the Waja’s)

• yaHAha on Aug 22, 2011 at 10:50 pm

yah.. they shouldnt put inspira 2.0 price too high la. Should be inside 80K will b ok. Lancer gt 2.0 in langkawi n labuan without tax is 72-73K. So why proton sale inspira 90+K for malaysian people. for malaysian car they no need to tax us too high owh. Or should they sale it like 78-80K for inspira 2.0?? what u guys think?

• land cruizers on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:34 pm

A 8 year-old boy will know how to make a comparison, 2.4L, 170PS at RM137k, please tell me which car is under priced then…

• Expatriate VN on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:35 am

When will this car rebadge it to Inspira Sportback with pricing less RM 30K!

• Kumar san on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:40 am

This is a very good buy i reckon,for the money you are getting a 2.4 litre engine and a very sporty ride.Good packaging wih a decent spec sheet and is value for your money.

Test drove the normal 2.4 Sportback which belongs to a close friend who just got it and it was indeed very grunty from the get go and quite a hoot to drive,understeers a bit during hard cornering though,as with most big engined front wheel drive cars so it’s accepatable.

If they had a manual version perhaps with a 6 speed manual it would be even better and i would certainly get one if the finances permit.I’m sure they have the manual version of this car in the U.S,but it would be a LHD and also with a given market for it.It’s a very nice car and i kind of like it.

Cheers.

• Alpha on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:07 am

I do agree with u,bro.2.4 on a C-Segment for just 137k is really good value for money.And to those who knows nothing,the agreement between Proton and Mitsu is just on the SEDAN Lancer.No worries about Sportback and ASX and others.Mitsu already confirmed it.

• Kumar san on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Agreed and noted bro,but i guess not all people share our point of view then.Perceptions and opinions on what each individual feels is value for money varies greatly.It all boils down to personal preferance i reckon.But this Lancer Sportback is a very nice ride all the same,regardless if it’s the standard or the Ralliart version.

Cheers.

• Alpha on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:35 pm

True,bro.I saw a lot of this baby in Sunway.Gotta say it have the “garang” feel compared to others.Even my DC5 doesnt look as fierce as ths one.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:46 pm

I would have preferred the old “Sportback” which was a more space friendly wagon bodystyle… and incidentally, it was the older 2.4L and saddled with only the automatic. Not sure if the Sportback ever came in manual, even in North America.

Not sure if there were much difference between the old engine and the new one, but the old one didn’t feel that quick. yet to try the new sportback…unfortunately…can’t really be bothered…which sadly sums up this otherwise decent car (and fairly decently priced)

One could technically spend (quite) a lot more dough and get a recon’d Evo 8 Wagon. Now, that’s really something…….

• Kumar san on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Yeah,you have a point there.A recon Evo-8 Wagon would certainly be tasty,though i have not seen one here.Had an old Eagle Talon with a 4G63T Mitsu engine(bombproof motor)when i was in the states a long time ago.Tuned it and it went like the absolute clappers.Nice ride too.

Cheers.

• balloon on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:43 am

i tought RA already gulung tikar ..

• balloon on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:44 am

i tought RA already gulung tikar …..

• insperut on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:46 am

ralliart now is no more than an aesthetics ?

• civicEK on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:20 am

like TRD? haha :D

• someone on Jul 21, 2011 at 12:08 pm

so it is now more ‘art’ than ‘ralli’ for manufacturer to jack the price tag…. like TRD

• someone on Jul 21, 2011 at 12:09 pm

so it’s now more ‘art’ than ‘ralli’ for manufacturer to jack the price tag, like trd

• kwing on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:05 pm

yeah, instead of using the 2.4 (which quite fast in our road), should bring in the one with evo engine..

• encikpadil on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:51 am

boring….

• whitefox on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:52 am

well reverse camera is always a good optional. Special u never know what behind some time. Kid or pet

• BeemerFreak on Jul 21, 2011 at 10:59 am

No Xenons? Civic 2.0 at RM 131000 and Mazda 3 at RM129000 both have xenons

• mnazri.tan on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:24 am

overprice for sure….way to overcome local AD losses over Inspira sales….hehehe

btw reverse camera is good…kindda frustrated that ispira at that price couldnt come with reverse camera…whilst the kia can….apa la…

wonder where they display the image….on board screen or rear view mirror like KIA?

• Because this is 2.4 at 2.0 price

• land cruizers on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:38 pm

is a 2.4L dude…wake up pls!

• Downs on Jul 21, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Mazda 3 is 2.0, Civic is 2.0, Lancer sportsback? 2.4. And u’r concerned about xenons? Pfft.

• this car will smokeeeeeeeeeee civic and madza 3 anytime =)

• Mr Poppyplants on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:02 am

Erm…. Doesn’t the current Lancer Sportback already have full nappa leather seats?

• kenot on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:03 am

wow.limited edtion but wonder why Misubishi did not tuned the engine?

• AR HUSSIEN teh ais on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:09 am

Proton insipira areoback

• Unforgiven on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:47 am

Inspira is not Lancer, they are only the wannabe…

Proton is not Mitsubishi, it’ll never be the same…

The front of this car is very nice…

Proton will always be Proton, in the heart it’s still a Proton.

• Agreed, because proton make a better & cheaper version of mitsu lancer. I’ve driven both Inspira 2.0 & lancer 2.0, and honestly, the humble Inspira is much2 better.

• apishz on Jul 22, 2011 at 12:06 pm

everytime i see lancer still much nicer then stupid inspira with lame neo sportrim.. lol

• kamal on Jul 21, 2011 at 12:30 pm

MMC shot themselves in the leg when they allowed Proton
    to rebadge the Lancer. Not only has it reduced its brand value
    but its reputaton as MMC owners are disgusted
    with the way MMC has downgraded itself.

• kwing on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:09 pm

well the probably do their calculation that let proton re-badge will let them earn more than they selling here in malaysia…inspira only sell in malaysia so far.. and yeah mmc probably dont care about malaysia market…

• iamisiamwhatiam on Jul 21, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Bloody xenons! Spending hundreds and thousands and all you care is blinding the oncoming traffics?
    I’d take this over Civic 2.0 or Mazda 3 just because it doesn’t have xenon light!

• agree with u bro. all those xenon glaring lights should be banned. they are hazardous to other road users.

• Peterpj on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Agreed, and Proton should stop putting fog-lamps in their cars…..the idiotic drivers are driving around with only parking-lamps and fog lamps which are too bright – we need to start a high-beam campaign against these idiots of JPJ is not going to do anything about it!

• Black Dog on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Cannot sell lah, that’s why change to this limited edition! Some more still use Ralliart

• Simon on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Who knows, this could be the next Gen2.

• albag on Jul 21, 2011 at 4:51 pm

expecting Inspira Sportback RA Special Edition too…

• kamaji on Jul 21, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Why is everyone complaining that this RA is overpriced.Firstly all cars are overpriced in bolehland as we already knew it.But for this 2.4L RA selling at 2.0L price, let;s admit it….a bargain lah.

• vertigo on Jul 21, 2011 at 6:53 pm

as long as it still uses CVT, it’s not going to be in my wishlist

• Head hunter on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Mitsubishi, this is not the real ralliart. The real one is the AWD with 2.0 turbo engine with 237 bhp. Why only exterior mods? Are we stupid to believe that this is the ralliart? Shame on you Mitsu!

• hunterhead on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:45 am

that’s is evo…

• no, there’s a model called the Ralliart Lancer which features a 4B11T engine (similar to Evo) but different turbo, different tune, same chassis as a Lancer (rather than Evo), etc…

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 22, 2011 at 8:24 am

That’s because if they brought in the real ralliart with a turbo and AWD, it would cost 200k, and if you could afford a 200k sporty car, you wont be bothered with this and buy an EVO instead.

As it is, we have people complaining that this is too expensive, missing the point completely that this is a 2.4L car with a slightly higher than 2.0l price.

It doesn’t makes sense here for the AWD Ralliart unit. For ppl in colder climates with snow, its a good bet. Just not here.

Not sure if this escapes you, Ralliart does have both performance versions and sticker’ed/kitted versions available throughout its global network……just like TRD.

• Front ok but rear is way too long!Japanese cant make good looking hatch for us.

• lasapka on Jul 22, 2011 at 8:43 am

no offend but i’ll go for ford focus tdci in this case.

• PROdigy on Jul 24, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Another cosmetic exercise by MMC to clear stocks….
    The scuff plates are not even original Ralliart products!! We are not stupid!!!
    Damn…. what’s wrong with Mitsubishi Motors?
    Can MMC be more serious in launching a real Ralliart Lancer PLEASE? Thanks!

• the price for lancer sb have to be drop until 100k & gt drop to 90k….in order to kick off those copy cat like protoonn!!!

i use to save money for getting a lancer gt, when im nearly reach my target, proton suddenly come out imspira ‘Fxxx’……which i think its impossible for me to buy….because of inpirasi…lancer gt is now looking like cock!

what the fxxx to proton and mitsubishi…. you ve choosing a big wrong marketing strategy….

• Spiderss2003 on Oct 26, 2011 at 10:17 pm

Hi Paul. Nice to meet u.
    seems that u r expert in automotive. Can u share with me some idea?
    Regards.

Well, I was planning to grab a brand new car end of this year or bfore CNY.
    I had make my compared for Toyota Altis and Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback.
    is kind a considered vehicles.

Can U give me an opinion, what is a best time to buy and what is the best car to buy in between Toyota Altis and Lancer Sportback?

Thanks for you comments.

Regards

David Chan (spiderss2003)