Daihatsu A Concept scale model – is this the new 30km/l concept car for IIMS?

As we mentioned yesterday, Daihatsu’s latest concept compact car is due for unveiling at the 2011 Indonesian International Motor Show today, but the press conference is only scheduled for 5pm today so the car is still covered up.

However, we found this little scale model tucked away in some corner of exhibition – model called the “A Concept” that we’ve yet to see before. This should be the car that Daihatsu will be unveiling later today.

Look after the jump for the rest of the pix of the scale model.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2428]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Unforgiven on Jul 22, 2011 at 12:59 pm

The badge is Daihatsu, this is original and it’s not Perodua…

• cam.shaft on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Hmmm..looks very similar to Hyundai’s front identity…

Runing out of design ideas perhaps..

Cam.shaft

• city_conscious on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:16 pm

yes, i was about to say the same thing…front looks similar to hyundai’s

• balloon on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:31 pm

and the new generation begins !!!! Japan is copying the Koreans ! now who would have thought that 10 years ago ! way to go Koreans !

• generation on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Proton Emas Rival.

• Whatthe on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Copy from Hyundai/Ford language. Tables have turned, Toyota copy from others now

• what the … isn’t that i10 ?

• Whatever on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Well at least this deserve “LAGI BEST” slogan than the current MYVi we have over here,Rubbish, old engine but higher price

• Kevin on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:34 pm

so who is copycat now?

• Car Driver on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Is this running on “hybrid” synergy system? Wow.. 30km/l is mind blowing……
    It will be good if it is available… 1 tank of petrol can last for a month….

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:46 pm

No, regular internal combustion engine.

• it depends on how you drive it..your not going to get 30km/L if you hit the floor =D..by the way Paul have you hear about P1 sales is better than P2 last month? =D

• arcana on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:24 pm

now daihatsu is catching up, mazda already made 30km/l mark on their new 1.3 skyactive engine.

on a side note….so its a korean-naised daihatsu ehh….

• side profile , window profile – kia optima
    front design – hyundai grill
    back portion – toyota IQ/ Aston Martin small car / proton emas

• Yenna on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:45 pm

The front is a Hyundai knock off while the rear is a Kia Sportage knock off… how la.

• alpha999 on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:53 pm

the tables have turned

ppl used to bash how korean designs are somewhat a copycat from others….so its their turn been copied…..

• indah on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Emas killer !!
    That’s wat u get when you don’t capitalise on
    a golden opportunity and keep sitting on it.
    Wat u expect, a golden egg ??
    Looking forward to more heads up
    on this !!

• T4VR-Ralph on Jul 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm

it’s a next gen my-b

• VoidDance on Jul 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Hyundai called, they want their front grille back.

Perodua called, they want this so badly, now that Proton is gaining on them again.

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Then…how come Inspira can get 900 kilometre per FULL TANK ???

• This is waaaayyyy better than the myvi..hehe

• confused on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:40 pm

FUUUU……hyundai fascia….!!

toyota is out of idea… launch new model just to comply with internal audit… ahhahahaha…

• 4agze on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:48 pm

yesss…this is viva waiting to be rebadge over here

• kamaji on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:52 pm

WTF…this is definately i10 sister or maybe korean allow them to cut & paste lah.

• how come the front looks like “borrowed” from Hyundai new look?

• and perodua rebadge it as new Alza and i buy one…

• kamaji on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Then to make it faster P2 rebadged i10 already can mah.. & I suppose you will buy one also.

• you suppose only, not me, if it is Alza size then i will take one. you can take i10..

• Celicazz on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:44 pm

A-concept, a-segment.

Viva replacement la, p2 shud have diff body this time la, not diff front n rear oni.

• i dun know but i really believe that proton emas is bigger than this concept car

• Not used for a name on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Frnt very similiar to sexy scirocco…..

• Cairell on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:20 pm

the next all-new 2013/2014 Myvi perhaps?