Proton Saga FLX – this one wears a CVT transmission

Proton is really ramping up things on the CVT front, by the looks of it. Just recently the company announced that it will be introducing Continuous Variable Transmission in its upcoming range of vehicles.

Now, a check on the Prosboc, or the Proton Saga BLM Owner’s Club, page on Facebook reveals a very interesting post made yesterday – a Saga FLX, which is equipped with a CVT drivetrain, and comments there say it is a six-speed unit.

There’s no accompanying info on the car, so we can’t say if the Saga FLX runs with a 1.6 or 1.3 litre powertrain. In May, there was a pre-facelift Saga that was used as a test mule for the CVT transmission, and that one had a 1.3 mill.

In any case, the batch of photos on the post give a far better view of that which is new and brewing at Proton – and is a clear indication that the adoption of the tech is going to be big. Our thanks to @xnaiox for steering us via Twitter to the post!

Photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2438]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• VoidDance on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:21 pm

6-speed CVT you say? Delicious. Only those who have no idea what is CVT and don’t really care how many gears shift are there in their car would ignore this car.

• confused on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Up next: Saga FLXR – 1.6L CVT with Paddle Shifter

vvrroooooooommmmm…..!!!

• better equip this car with esp & tc rather than the paddle shifter..

• taboogen on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:21 pm

if you willing to pay… i think they dont mind do it.. but what to do malaysian mentality.. all want cheap, must have subsidy etc etc.. only talk the talk.. but dont walk the walk… aiyooooo……

• city_conscious on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:45 pm

honda city and toyota vios also don’t have any form of esp & tc equipped

• taboogen on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:48 pm

like jeremy clarkson use to say.. SOME SAY……. they want paddle shift, SOME SAY they want ABD,EBD,TC,ETC :p… SOME SAY they want a car that is medium in size and can go from point A to point B that fit their/company budget.. SOME SAY they want super fast car but below 40K…
          what I SAY is.. there is too many SOME SAY… too many variant.. to many needs to satisfy…….
          renung2kan

• umpgambang on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:30 pm

Fit all in one!! CVT+ TC + ESP + Dual Airbag + GPS + ABS +++….skirting, design upgrade.. yes… I want it for RM45k instead of Myvi.. If not, sorry….Oh ya!! And England’s quality of reliabilty. Proton is rated No5 most reliable in London, beating Kia, Bimmers, Hyundai, VW, etc…

• Ash Menon on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Can you post the source of that reliability rating for England? I’d like to read it myself before I believe it.

• muhamad noor on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:19 pm

better not equip with cvt, tc or any other gadget that controlled your driving.. do as alfa, no tech gadget, driving pleasure, or u want to be like beamer, u driving controlled.. the car control u not u control it.. it will be boring man

• wannabe on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Price below RM 45K. Vrroooooooommmmm…..!!!

• quattro on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:35 pm

good job proton > lots of improvement and facelift which is good news to buyer..

• balloon on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:41 pm

i love that Proton is finally going to try something new and although they are still very very far behind the rest .. at least they are trying. i just hope whatever they do they must improve the quality of their products. As the for the latest Inspira compared to the original Lancer’s paint job i cant help but notice the paint is of poor quality and i think they have just given the car a really really thin layer of paint just to have the color. Even my 10 years old Mercedes original paint is of much better better quality and has better shine. When i paid money to buy a new car the first thing i expect is for the car to SHINE like new and let the whole world know that this is a NEW car.

Please correct me if i am wrong guys but i feel sad whenever i see a new Inspira on the road as it already look dull with the poor paint quality.

If i ever buy a new Proton in future i will surely complaint about the paint and i will expect them to give me a decent and better quality pain !

Paul .. do you know if there is any difference of paint job from different manufacturers. why the continental cars looks better and more shiny compared to the Jap’s and Korean’s .. not forgetting our own BARANG BUATAN MALAYSIA. Is the paint job part of the cost cutting measurement to save and make more money.

Thank you

• i cant agree more with Balloon.
      as a owner of Inspira, the paint job really below par.
      the paint can easily chipped. my car already have more than 10 chipped after i used for the first month. i do complaint to SC but they cant do anything.

• autobot on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:50 pm

me too..my saga blm look like 5 yrs aledi.. compared to same age myvi, i think p2 paintwork much more better..

• yeah i think so too especially red inspira..looks dull..
        but white one looks good..

but i think inspira owners really should put spoilers to make the makes it looks wayyyyy better

• narakka on Jul 22, 2011 at 6:26 pm

kadang2 kita kena renung balik cakap pepatah,dont judge the car manufacturer by its colour layer.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 23, 2011 at 8:33 am

so we now know which supplier of Proton makes more money, the power windows supplier changed to supply pain…which pain is very subject to argue…omg…

• ThePolygon on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:45 pm

6 Speed CVT? Wow.. ok well done Proton! Looks like you are pushing forward. Well at least if this come out its cathing up to date with current trends and tech.

• tattoo sleeves on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:02 pm

hmmmmmm.. next week my wife’s saga fl exec is ready..

• Cheng on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:09 pm

May i know first how much to repair the CVT if damage?

• kamaji on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Saga with 6-speed CVT box is gonna be a big threat to ‘lagi best’…so any news when going to launch.

• Tengokje.. on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Good luck P1. Hope it will be a success one.

Salam…

• tgk gambar engine bay macam ada abs pump… betul ke?

• tired of waiting…finally it’s almost over after a decade, gerenti ini “LAGI SYOK!!!”

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Hi Balloon, I totally agreed with you even we suppose not to talk about colour but CVT. Anyway pitty to Inspira owner or others P1, P2 car, colour is…..as you mention. This is might be one of ways to cutting cost…

• batter come out ABS 1st before do others thing.

• LE buruk on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:00 pm

aiyo….tempting effort from proton…now we wait from lagi best offer…

• 6-speed and tiptronic is enough for me already in a 1.6

• CooShyRee CSR on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:05 pm

It is very refreshing 2 know that at last proton has taken the effort 2 replace its much aging 4 speeder power sucking torque converter mitsubishi automatic, n replacing wit sumthin much much better. I do think the big achilles heel in the auto saga (or pretty much any auto protons 4 that matter) that contributed 2 it being such a fuel guzzler is the old tech autobox.

• makeitmine on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Normally, reviewers will give the rating of a car based on Performance, Exterior, Interior, Safety, Reliability, etc.

Just having a CVT will not sell enough cars for Proton to stay in the race. It is a good effort though.

Pls give something else beside cheap parts which will create demand for Proton cars such as peace of mind ownership or guaranteed resale value, etc.

• Kiddo on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Proton: “Can! No problem lah, we can give you BMW design, Mercedes comfort, Audi quality, Lexus reliability but it will be RM500k, ok ar?”

Dude, look at the price of the Saga before condemning on the ‘cheap parts’ lah..

• ahmadi on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Saga FLX launch this 25th of July.

• harris murad on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:10 am

B*LLSH*T!
      Seriously bro?
      OMG can’t wait for it!

Though i might not be able to afford it, i wonder how the launch might affect the current FL owners.
      Tension wooo if i were 1 of them..

Anyway, great job PROTON and all the best!!!

• WOW! …….YAY!

• confused on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:26 pm

This just in:

Myvi sales has died.

LOL.

• Ivan The Terrible on Jul 22, 2011 at 6:33 pm

RM45k for a sedan with ABS, EBD, CVT and 2 airbags. What more can you ask for?

• Daniel on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:43 pm

CVT???? This is obsolete technology lah! That CVT fashion came more than 10 years in my wife ex-car. Now the latest fashion is DSG loh.

• DSG in 45k car? haha..typical malaysian..

• Kiddo on Jul 23, 2011 at 4:47 am

hmm~so Audi, Volkswagen’s luxury subsidiary, is outdated also. They’re still using the Multitronic, a CVT.

Dear Daniel, let me tell you something. You’re gonna eat your words when the era of the electric car fully arrives.

• bobdbilder on Jul 23, 2011 at 7:18 am

Oh come on! CVT can’t beat good old fashion stick! Be it power OR fuel economy. That’s truly old tech. Come on get on Karak and see what I mean. You, me bro Mano + Mano. They only make CVT as a much more economical slush box for non drivers. Unfortunately there’s lots of commuters are auto fans too. Go figure.

• How true bro. I love manual but after recently acquired an automatic car… I must say……… beats the hell out of clutch-ing again.

• obsolete? it may start 10 years or more ago but companies never stops innovations and improving over it. that’s innovation if u know what it means!

• generation on Jul 22, 2011 at 10:26 pm

RM45k Max for CVT and ABS with added body kit like the concept adding skirting for CVT Inspira.
    Then, Everybody will go to this instead of Myvi nor even Viva Elite.
    For the moment, I prefer Myvi… Being more respected driving Myvi compare to Saga… This is how the public think!

• MoFaz on Jul 22, 2011 at 11:13 pm

why should you care about what public think? u buy car to satisfy everyone else? or u’re worried people think that u’re low class? well, even a billionaire drive a Proton.

• Myvi?? recpect? Myvi sit on the same ‘respect’ as saga..or perhaps lower due to overprice rip off and boringness. Satria Neo CPS = respect, rare sighting cheap performance wanabe which not everyone can afford to buy even though they afford actually(2 doors)…u know what i mean, respect to owner who can ‘afford’.

• David on Jul 23, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Bullshit. The public has better things to think of rather than this pathetic mindset of yours. Driving a Myvi makes me well respected? Well, maybe i should say that a friend of mind who drive a Fiat Doblo (Kangoo-sized van) to work really deserves respect, as he’s one of the only 30-odd owners out there. Chew on that, miesrable liar!

• I hope everyone buy this car and throw away their funny Wiralution,Wajalution even Sagalution’ woom woom ‘when i look at them i cant stop laughing and feel a bit shame coz someone cant afford a real one lolx anyway lah i want to see Saga FLlution on the road hehe

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hOHjcZTWJo – Punch powertrain… got exora in that video promo.. rumoured to b the cvt system for proton!

• Faddd on Jul 23, 2011 at 8:16 pm

But which one to choose, this one or Saga FL 1.6? that ones has a bigger engine….

• muahahaha on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Brought FL Already..why comeout so late ma…

• Lookman on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:57 am

same as me. using FL auto about a week then Proton comes out with new transmission. damn! anyway good job proton.

• Coincidence! I saw one Saga with the emblem FLX just this morning. I thought someone syok sendiri and custom made that emblem.

It was at Caltex @ Glenmarie Shah Alam… Wearing those hanging (gantung) plate number, going through the car wash. Should’ve taken a picture for you guys.

Airbags – checked, 1.6 – checked, power windows warranty – checked. CVT – checked. Lagi Best – checkmate-d?

• ade tulisan kt panel gear shiftlock release. pls explain. blur ni

• Piyai Sarawakian on Dec 04, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Persona 1.6 CVT coming soon….hehehe….???

• Hi, I have a black saga blm and it mine is the first batch. do you guys agree that saga blm or proton cars in general nowadays have a thin paint job. my car got scratch easily. u can scratch it using your nail. is it because it’s black or it’s the paint job? it’s my first car so I don’t know about other cars. and yeah one more thing, the saga lettering at the rear are now falling apart. anybody has that problem?