Proton Saga FLX with CVT and ABS seen in showroom!

It is indeed an interesting Sunday afternoon for us, as we received news that the Proton Saga FLX is now available for public viewing at a Proton showroom in Kelana Jaya (within the Giant supermarket). More important than being able to view the car is the fact that we now have more juicy information to share with you. First of all, the Saga FLX with CVT is available in two trim lines. It starts off with the FLX 1.3 Standard which also comes with a manual transmission.

This is followed by the FLX 1.3 Executive, also available with a manual transmission as well. Let’s start with the former. The FLX 1.3 Standard uses a 6-speed CVT and the transmission has something called an SAT Switch which stands for Stepped Automatic Transmission, which sort of simulates the feel of a standard 6-speed automatic transmission. This switch is located beside the gear lever.

Based on the Saga FL (AT) Standard, everything else remains the same according to the sales person, though the FLX 1.3 Standard with CVT does not feature ABS. Airbags are also not part of the safety feature list as well.

The FLX 1.3 Executive on the other hand comes with ABS, which allows you to steer your car while performing emergency braking. There is also EBD, or Electronic Brake Force Distribution, which adjusts brake force applied on each wheel.

Other than ABS and EBD, the Executive additionally comes with driver and passenger airbags, seat belt with pre-tensioners, steering wheel with audio controls, height adjustable driver’s seat, electric door mirrors, front fog lamps, a rear spoiler and finally side protector moulding. Also included is a multi-purpose container.

The entire FLX range is available in five body colour options including Solid White, Tranquality Black, Genetic Silver, Blue Rock and finally Elegant Brown, which is what we have here in the photos. Now for the pricing bit. Proton has yet to release official figures but according to the sales person, the FLX 1.3 Standard with CVT is likely to be priced at RM41,998 OTR, which is about RM1,000 more than the 1.3 (AT) Standard.

The same RM1,000 price bump is also expected for the FLX 1.3 Executive, giving an estimated price tag of RM44,298 OTR. The FLX is now available for pre-bookings but at the moment we are unable to confirm when deliveries will start. Nevertheless, something tells us it might be right before the Hari Raya celebrations. The sales person also mentioned that most Proton showrooms should be equipped with at least one Saga FLX display unit.

Continue reading to view an image gallery and to check out brochure scans.

Proton Saga FLX 1.3 Executive

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2463]

Proton Saga FLX Brochure

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2465]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Hmmmmmm on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Would be cool if they had a 1.3 turbo edition…. :-) up the QC and i’ll definitely get one..

• lagi lagi best!

• How much to change the cvt belt, and can last for how long ?

• 550-556 on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:34 am

Who don’t know the CVT is i suggest u to ride the scooter or try Yamaha Nouvo or Ego. You don’t feel any gear changing. Very smooth but belt need to replace every 80K. My Ego CVT belt snap at 100K millage. But it not effect the engine though. Just replace the belt and go. I think it not much deference between scooter and car CVT. The principal and the method is the same.

• sorry, i think hes asking about the maintenance interval for the cvt belt and the cost.
          dunno cost, but according to this (http://www.wemotor.com/blog/2011/08/proton-saga-1-3-flx-with-cvt-media-test/)
          40k km.

• laden on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:08 pm

6 speed + cvt below 50K…nice!!!

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:09 am

As i mention earlier…. Myvi owner SURE REGRET……

• lkf0512 on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:35 am

Why would MyVi owners SURE REGRET?
        Are you able to project out their minds?

So, if a MyVi owner DID ever regretted, will that make your days any brighter?

This is like some boastful WWE wrestlers running about with their big mouth…”one day you will be sorry for I beat your favorite WWE champion and take away his precious championship”…

Well, I do not feel happy or sorrow if Proton beats Perodua as Proton killing Perodua will not do much changes to daily lives…life goes on!

Proton keep advancing…yeah, I feel great but not over excited as this is their job!

Proton beating Perodua…it does not hurt or beneficial (at least to average consumers like us) like Chinese said: “Beating Perodua won’t make my wallet any fatter”…

So, wake up, get real and work hard!

• akinablue on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:21 pm

mmg la..tp dalam hati sure ada rasa menyesal punya..x kan dia nak cakap dia regret baii..dan beriban habis beli myvi tuh..musti diarang pertahankan demi ego diarang yg besar tu..sama besar dengan duit yg diarang da kuar utk beli myvi ..huhu

• obrclyne on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Kawan aku dah regret beli MyVi tahun lepas.

• vtecroar on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:08 am

kawan aku regret beli, sebab tak boleh bawak durian byk2

• even that kind of statement u want to bash aa?? aiyoo, sensitive punya olang oooo ……….or maybe u being so emotional becos u book just myvi?

• yaHAha on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:04 pm

regret?? nyesal??? haha i dont think so la peoples.. most people now thinking abt fuel efficiency car.. so far perodua cars are more fuel economy than any other proton cars. so no reason to regret also la. U guys cant blame perodua for not making advance car like proton, simply bcoz they r making a car base on daihatsu design.. and not making car from their own idea like proton. so its not fair to compare proton n perodua ya.. proton is on their own so they can design n do anything to their car. perodua is like, pendek kata.. copy n paste from daihatsu design la. like proton previously la, copy n paste from mitsubishi, example now proton inspira.

• damn just bough 1 year ago … rugi …

• sagatron on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:17 pm

cool……

• Tenku Troll on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Fugly Shit

• the front headlamp design seriously need to be overhauled..the rear light is curvy but the front headlamp comes with the sharp edges..the old blm design is far better..BTW, well done with the CVT..

• alistair lim li wei on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:14 am

did u mean ur face?

• Daniel on Aug 02, 2011 at 4:13 pm

I agree its seriously ugly in front, I still like the original blm front headlamp…siapa designer yg merosakkan view ni?? mcm tak kena jer headlamp depan…tapi rear combi light cantik, no issue…yg depan, like u said fugly.

• Mask Ryder on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Well equiped good pricing.
    Do something to that tinny rear lamp, Proton will have a “Pisang Goreng Panas” @ Hot cake Car for sure.
    Hopefully 1.6 model with pearl color follow suite.

• BadBET on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:21 pm

please test drive the cvt unit and tell us here… interesting FLX from proton

• squall_shinoda on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:49 am

The CVT Saga is indeed welcomed by the city folks because it promises significantly better fuel consumption than the regular 4-speed auto Saga.

• DarkAvenger on Sep 12, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Not that significant….Proton only dares claim 4% Improvement in city drive, 10% on highway…so RM100 save RM4…..no big deal…..Anyway, i drive Inspira…CVT is meant for smooth driving, fuel saving is only more significant when driving on highway.

• Rodin on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Feels smoother, does not feel so cvt. Definitely an upgrade when compares to the current car.

• Build quality still sux thanks to the vendor. But at least it’s safer than most Saga on road. Proton, this should be minimum technology standards from now onwards!

• steven on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:33 pm

buddy pay 41k u wan wat 70k biuld qulity???..gota compare within the bracket..i noe the real price shud be a lot lower w/o the silly tazes but hey u dun a saga and want a honda build quality??

• leong on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:25 pm

hi Paul, will have test drive report?

• pentium4 on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Yes, can’t wait for the test drive report…!

• Savvy88 on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm

jz be patient.. the model actually still not officially launch yet

• generation on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:04 pm

not yet launch meh?? I keep on hearing the Radio saying about Saga FLX today…

• wow good step proton!
    how about the 1.6?

• hamtaro on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Good job proton!! next waiting for the turbo engine :)

• I butthurt already. But its good to see proton is improving :)

• kstan on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:28 pm

err manual 6 gear or semi auto ?

• can’t you read?

• MoFaz on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:05 am

be nice my fren.. maybe he just don’t understand about CVT yet.
        it’s not semi auto, it’s fully auto, just like normal gearbox. the different is cvt is much smoother and you won’t feel the gear changing speed from 1-6. SAT is to enable you to have that ‘normal auto gearbox’ kind of feeling.

• LionelStep on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:12 am

And more importantly in terms of your driving experience, not only you can’t feel the traditionally automatic gear shift shock, you will realize your engine RPM does not need to work so hard (high RPM range) when you drive on highway at 110 km/h by legal speed limit.

My old Proton Iswara in the nineties ran at 3500 RPM when the speed was at 110km/hour. It was an old history already, this CVT Saga FLX will HOPEFULLY run at 2000 RPM or less at 110km/hour.

I can calculate the RPM by mathematics equation if someone can just give me the CVT final ratio / Final Drive ratio / Tyre-Wheel size. Thanks.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:51 am

Impossible for it to run at 2000rpm at 110km/h because that requires a tall overdrive and the torque from the engine is definitely not enough to keep the mass of the car at a constant speed at that RPM for that speed.. the car will just decelerate. For the 1.3 IAFM engine, it might be possible to cruise at 2700-2800RPM at 110km/h at the lowest, nothing lower than that.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:47 am

Even a Honda City and a Honda Civic runs at 2000 rpm when cruising at 100 km/h. It is because the 5th gear of their 5-speed auto gearboxes is a very tall overdrive ratio. The max speed of those cars can only be achieved during the 4th gear.

• Nizam80 on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:23 pm

Not bad. The engine speed for my Persona IAFM auto is at 2900rpm while cruising at 110km/h. I must say, not bad at all.

• Wisdom on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Honda Insight runs 2100rpm @ 110km/h

• LionelStep on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:35 pm

This is a 6-ratio CVT system for new Saga FLX, if the engine is still running at ~2800 RPM when the vehicle cruising speed is 110km/h, then it is just 100RPM lower than a 2004 Waja-Mitsubishi 4-speed automatic gearbox. This scenario does not give the rightful 6-ratio CVT the fun the owner should be enjoying.

Mitsubishi Lancer CVT and Sylphy CVT on the 6th-ratio is 0.394, and pairing to the FINAL-DRIVE-RATIO of 5.407 is keeping the engine speed just below 2000 at 1960 RPM, for cruising speed of 110km/h.

I would think if this Saga FLX CVT can keep engine RPM at 2400 RPM or lower, that would be so great for low fuel consumption…..

• sean ZX10 on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:20 pm

jangan tipu la wisdom….insight ada 2 gear ratio only…for D & for S. tipu 2100rpm at 110kmh

funny when people wants to fight but make up stories.

• less than 2000rpm at 110km/h?Are you driving Subaru Impreza???

• generation on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:48 pm

I will not drive Impreza 110km/h at 2000rpm.. instead, i will rev it, that’s the reason ppl buy impreza for the ooomph lo.

• pijan on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:21 am

my short test drive at glenmarie indicate 2500rpm at 100km/h.. But the engine still feel tight. Maybe after run in will be lower…

• my 1990 Proton Saga 1.5 Manual 8V only rev at 2900rpm at 100km/h. My wife’s Saga BLM rev at 3200rpm at the same speed, but my old Saga still consume more fuel. Any idea how the rpm / cc /speed affecting the fuel?

• cvt,abs,ebd,… kalo tak puas lagi tak tau la

• this is a good small sedan..but i hope the FC can be improved more..

• Turbodiesel!

• qjojo on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:46 am

I want direction injection with and without turbo, dynamic stability and a little better interior plastics, no grey interior..and ncap rated safety..tq

• Expatriate VN on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Yeah, basic car with basic improvement with basic respond to market demand!

• basic car with basic improvement with basic response, for basic buyer with basic salary of basic money and basic need to drive to basic place (eg, office, school, market etc).. :)

• gjagong on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:29 pm

paul…no news for FLX for 1.6 version??

• MoFaz on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:34 pm

no mention about ESP indicator on the meter cluster? maybe for 1.6 FLX?

• asgard on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:59 pm

the esp is for australia saga version, new law for cars must hv esp for australian market, so esp logo is there but no esp for malaysia version

• Littlefire on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:03 am

So why give them the better spec? Why we dont have esp?!?

• linear_system on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:20 pm

if ppl here wanna pay more then proton wouldnt mind to install the ESP..better install at other car like pesona..

• Rodin on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Simply because it is not cheap..how much are you willing to pay for it?

• ah_lock on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:38 pm

cool!!

• Whitefox on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Hope these help in improving the FC

• iamisiamwhatiam on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Better than Perodua whatsisnameican’tremembertoomanyvariations? /sarcasm

• lg best999999…!!!! yeah!

• ckk125 on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:45 pm

erm, the headlights are the same as per saga fl

• freeze on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Dear Captain Obvious,

What else is the same?

• ckk125 on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:40 pm

based on the original article, which it is now changed, the article stated that the headlights were different.

it was stated that it had vertical lines near the grill, which is the same as per saga fl.

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:24 pm

We were misinformed by the sales person regarding the headlights. Upon further examination, it is actually the same as the FL.

• gjagong on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:32 pm

no news on 1.6 version of flx harve?

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:46 pm

Hi, no news on that at the moment ;)

• 4 wheels
        and a spare tyre

• Theophilus Chin on Jul 24, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Nice to see you contributing Harv!

• LOL

a switch to make it feel like a real auto.. how nice :)

• greasemonkey on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:04 pm

Now,for those who have buy the new myvi will hentam themself. This is really great news.

• freeze on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:54 pm

MyVi got cruise control, touch screen DVD player, Japanese blood, cool speedometer, torquey engine, cheaper spare parts, ISOFIX, functional DVVT, RILIABILITY and many more.

What does Saga have? Problematic IAFM, lousy engine, horrible delay in acceleration, nasty looking interior, nasty looking exterior, horrible plastics, broken door handles, failed alarm/locking system, and lousy handling, terrible crash test rating.

Lets see how many Saga FLX gets involved in accidents this Raya. Lets also see how many die.

• ko malu saje... on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Perodua salesman spotted!!!!

Lousy handling? Terrible crash test rating? I can smell some desperation here :)

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Grow up.

Let’s disregard the fact that Perodua can’t even stand on its own two feet at the moment.

For less than RM45,000, you can get a Saga with ABS and EBD, dual airbags, a more powerful engine than the Myvi, a CVT gearbox (I drive a Honda City, trust me, it’s well worth it), more interior and boot space and a multi-format audio system. Even with its antiquated engine and four-speed automatic, Perodua asks for close to RM50,000 for a Myvi with much of the same equipment.

I also like how someone who can misspell “reliability” can wish for Saga drivers to have accidents and die.

Please, if you want to troll, go somewhere else.

• udasalleh on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:39 pm

What kind of person would like to see people die in accidents no matter no matter when or what they drive?!

• VoidDance on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:40 pm

freeze, are you on a crusade of something? Trying to demonize this car in every possible way. It must be true, you must be a sad Perodua salesman.

• BadBET on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:51 pm

every car model had claim people live, be it a Merc or a proton, people who drive like maniac can kill himself/others even he/she drive a kereta kebal.

• pedobear on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:56 pm

myvi got auto cruise? this is new then ‘lagi best’

http://image2.paultan.org/image/PS-11002546-D54T_MM_Pg37.jpg
        http://image2.paultan.org/image/PS-11002546-D54T_MM_Pg35.jpg

frankly said, proton saga FL is myvi close competitor.

Proton make a good move on Proton saga. They clearly target Car around 40k with
        goodies. New Myvi Avangarde price around 56k vs Proton Saga FLX high line 46k. Variance is 10k !!! that is huge.

• DewaSemut on Jul 24, 2011 at 8:26 pm

This guy really terrer man… for a car that hasn’t been launched yet… he got soo many statistics already…

perhaps he’s right bout the hari raya thing… coz Myvi is unsuitable for family “balik kampung trip” coz of its lousy luggage space… fancy speedometer but end up have to courier to kampung biscuit and baju raya beforehand.. coz there is no space to pack it in da boot (btw got boot ka?)

• wow..somebody is saying that lotus handling is lousy…what a jerk!

• what you trying to prove is myvi have old technology thanks for embarasing myvi thaks very much i mean it thanks who ever you are a sad men driving a myvi is a horrible scene is like jeremy top gear when he changes his face lagi sad

• *RELIABILITY….

• freezeonfire on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:37 am

why do hate p1 so much dude..did p1 murder ur family or what?

• DarkAvenger on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Since when does Myvi has good handling and better than a SAGA?? LOL. All other points are debatable….but THIS is INDISPUTABLE. Proton rules supreme in handling. I have an old Myvi i just sold because i cannot tahan the sampan handling.

• kamaji on Jul 25, 2011 at 3:50 pm

Princess Diana on Merc S class also die while Aryton Sena with carbon steel roll cage also die lah.

• Nobody asked for your opinion. You think you know everything, huh ? On Myvi blog, you bash Myvi. On Saga blog, you bash Saga. So smart, huh ? I don’t think you own any car at all, that’s why you keep bashing everywhere. So desperate to own a car but only have kapchai. And your avatar says it all. Your just a low life. Remember this, nobody care about you. So say whatever you want, attention-seeker.

• Go and troll somewhere else, you are not wanted here. Still don’t get it, go kill yourself first before wishing for others to die this festive season. You better die first, you sadist !

• Cheh If lagi best and FL accidents,both must RIP!

• asgard on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:05 pm

good to hv cars under 50k with cvt, airbags, abs and ebd
    next year ESP will come for persona r model, hope its below 60k

buy the model with airbags and abs, safety is priceless compared with extra rm3000 for flx executive

• Lol, I not realli like the design at all

• tokpaya on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:14 pm

Gotta love the tags wars between the two:

Lagi best vs. Its even better!

• many times better that the “lagi best”!

• TheInsider on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:19 pm

there’s always room for improving..
    gud step proton.

• freeze on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Anybody know how much it will cost to replace the gearbox when it fails?

If its RM15000, then I must save up RM2500 per month so that I can have enough money to buy a new gearbox when the original one fails.

• Savvy88 on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:30 pm

If you use the car for your World Rally Championship competition, then you have to..
      LOL

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Are you sure that’s enough? It’s a proton, it’s safer to save up RM5000 per month just in case.

• Savvy88 on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:34 pm

If you use the car for your World Rally Championship competition, then you have to.. LOL

• ko malu saje... on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:36 am

Dood, are you really that despo?

• taboogen on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:52 am

its written there the price increase RM1000k only…just jg cvt oil enough already

• How about the engine?
    Izzit variable valve timing engine?
    or still IAFM CamPRO engine?

• freeze on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:58 pm

I spot a dumbass!

• Harvinder doesn’t mentioned any info about engine. So, izzit offence to ask?

• Paul Tan on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Brochure says Campro IAFM

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=proton-saga-flx-brochure&image=proton-saga-flx-brochure-4.jpg

• Just been surfing into Proton Edar website. Saga FLX still not in update.
        As i can see the spec for Saga FL quoted fuel consumption for manual @90km/h is 6l/100km instead of this Saga FLX which quoted at 5.7l/100km. So, izzit Proton offered new engine of IAFM+?

• MoFaz on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:20 am

the fuel saving is from retuned iafm, and most importantly from lighter CVT gearbox, which is also more fuel-efficient

• Savvy_Orange on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:51 am

I heard IAFM+ comes with new Piston from KSKK, Japan to replace local made piston in current IAFM.

• Malcolm Lim on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Good move at the right timing but isn’t CVT gearbox expensive to replace ? That’s why honda changed from CVT to standard 5 speed gearbox in the current gen Honda City. Correct me if i’m wrong. ABS and EBD is a welcome move. This car is so much better even without those 2 elements compared to the “Lagi Best” car :P

• MoFaz on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:23 am

u only heard the cvt problem from honda city, doesn’t mean that all other cvt are also terrible. nissan is good example.. i haven’t heard any complaint about their cvt gearbox

• But I do wonder why they chose CVT as opposing to DCT. It’s kind of a long term investment you know and DCT is more of future proof compared to CVT.

• dct cost alot more to repair … try search dsg problem in google and you will not praise dsg anymore !

• ichi24 on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:26 am

i’ll think for now CVT is a good move for now.

don’t put stress on protonlah, if you want this that ended up bankrupt later

• Rodin on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Malcolm,

Drivng and road condition in malaysia is different compare to japan. Cvt excels in city drivng and highway. ATs, are generally all rounder and better for most terrain. Most jdm still using cvt for their mini car if im not mistaken. But then again, it is probably the image problem they had with the previous gen city.

Name,

DCT is obviously because of the price. It is expensive + system is much more complicated. In my opinion, such a waste to have on a baseline model. Closes to the DCT system is AMT, which is used in savvy.

• Driver on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:44 am

I believe it’s from the market. Because of Malaysian’s perception that CVT has more negative factors (not durable, more expensive to change, bla, bla..), that’s why Honda switched to 5AT.

p.s: err, not many people as compared to general public, want to change the transmission..even if it’s there, why should u change if it aint broken..remember, CVT is not a new tech, it has come all the way thru various obstacles and lessons. It’s just becoming more popular due to oil crisis.

Chill~

• DonkeyKong on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:55 am

Honda’s CVT problem is due to the quality of the gearbox itself, and the wrong type of transmission fluid used.

Fiat Punto had a CVT gearbox more than 10 years ago. Ever heard of Fiat Punto owners complain about their CVT boxes? Nissan’s excellent Extroid CVT gearboxes are everywhere and I have yet to hear of any complains about it. Audi uses the Multitronic CVT gearbox for their FWD cars, and it’s licensed from Punch Motive, the same vendor for Proton’s CVT boxes. Haven’t heard of problems with the Multitronic boxes either.

• Malcolm Lim on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:54 am

I see, thanks for the clarification guys. Yeah I agree its also a perception issue which is why I think proton added the Stepped Automatic Transmission button to simulate the gears because some people who are used to the conventional automatic transmission may not be used to the way CVT sounds or performs. All in all, its a good move by proton but hopefully they do proper QC for this..

• squall_shinoda on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:53 am

The normal perception about CVT is the CVT “lack of power” impression because of the absence of the shift shock associated with congentional auto gearbox. That’s why some cars equipped with CVT offers paddle shift or at least shift shock emulator as in this Saga FLX.

• Rodin on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:21 pm

The lack of power/ sluggish feeling is pretty much how cvt should works in order to save fuel. Just fyi, nissan and mmc shares the same supplier for their transmission, yet each of their cvt behave differently. Nissan feels smoother, but mmc still smooth, but imo have a it AT feeling there..

• squall_shinoda on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

The number one thing that we must remember is that a CVT must only use CVT fluid and not the ATF fluid. The problems that plagued the old City gearbox was not because of the gearbox itself but actually because of some mechanics did not follow this simple rule. Another proof is that most old City are still on road doing well, and Honda continues using the CVT in their Insight.

• Malcolm Lim on Jul 25, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Actually i have a friend who drives the previous gen city and his gearbox failed ngam ngam after his warranty but honda was kind enough to replace it for free as an act of goodwill. I guess honda knows that the CVT gearbox easily spoils…hopefully this new gen of CVT is more reliable otherwise it will spell trouble

• drMpower on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Stimulate what?
    Dont get it at all. Is it something of ratio adjustment?
    Do enlight me

all i understand about stimulation always involving jenna jameson, a bit of kelly jelly, and LOTS of FUN.

• infinity on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:27 pm

not stimulate…simulate…
      anyway, CVT does not have gears..it is continuous. However, some might not get use to driving such transmission, thus, the SAT will SIMULATE a normal auto transmission (with 6 speeds/ratio), i.e., u can feel the gear changing from gear 1 to gear 6, where the cvt gets locked at certain ratio.

hope that helps!

• Ash Menon on Jul 24, 2011 at 10:42 pm

The fact that your nick is ‘drMpower’ is making that visual REALLY creepy. You’ve ruined Jenna for me, dude.

• cvt in honda in city n jazz available for jdm n elsewhere but not in malaysia. Same as passo jdm use cvt. Honda mentioned before they used 5 at coz malaysian dont like cvt@not really suitable drive cvt. Stimulate means it will shift like 6 speed auto with 6 gears. If not, there will be no shifting becoz it is a cvt for godsake.

• shark on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:48 pm

I also curious about the engine.does this engine is the same engine with other saga FL campro? because I saw that the head is black color and also have coil on plug. btw, i just dont know how the old engine looks like bcoz it has cover compare to this version of engine

• pacifictuna on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:49 am

it looks almost the same. with coil on the plugs. i’ve taken the cover out before. don’t ask me why though…. haha.

• mozan on Jul 24, 2011 at 6:57 pm

alamak,apara buat malu salesman lain tak tau actual price… fyi paul, the standard version extra rm600 from current version and executive version extra rm1,700, ini salesman tarak baca memo ler…

• probably the memo also said: “do not reveal the price until Monday”….. thats why the salesman did not mention price…

• hvannees on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:46 pm

TQ. this is why i like to read automotive blog. the purpose is to know the information first before public know it

• ko malu saje... on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:03 pm

It’s Even Better hahahahah!!! Beats P2’s lagi best ;)

• generation on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:21 pm

GOOD!! one marketing strategy: LAGI LAGI LAGI COOL, list out the 100%City mileage km/l as well as 100% highway mileage!! LEt everyone understand how COOL is CVT SagaFLX!!

• desmond on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:23 pm

why the engine tiada cover ? the cables..sparkplugs all naked there leh.

• freeze on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Holy Shit. 0 to 100 for CVT is 14.5 seconds.

Shameful.

Inokom i10 1.2L 4 speeder can do it in 12.8 seconds.
    It has awesome road holding too. 4 star Encap crash results.

• pacifictuna on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:45 am

@freeze

Holy crap. you seems to hate this car A LOT! First you bash the silly trims and equipments then you bash the CVT and now you even compare 0-100 time! this is a family balik kampung car. not your ‘ah beng’s’ macam best dragster.

Silly touch screen can be fitted aftermarket but not a CVT. For under 50K, CVT, ABS and EBD is a bargain.

• Nicky on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:59 pm

holl shit! you are that stupid! 1.2 liter with small body compared to 1.3 liter big body. you are like comparing honda CBR 600RR with kancil 850.

• redbull on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:49 pm

look like new saga not using plug cable like myvi…so they have 4 ignition coil..

• GreenFuel on Jul 24, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Bro, Myvi is using ignition coil..

• DonkeyKong on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:58 am

Campro IAFM engines have coil-on-plug system all the time, it’s the older Campro and the Campro CPS that still use a separate distributor and plug cables.

• satria on Jul 24, 2011 at 7:51 pm

With nice spec its have, I think this Saga FLX can beat current Myvi. I hope Malaysian people will choose this car than fucking ugly new Myvi…1 Vote for Proton..1 malaysia..

• Cowabunga! on Jul 24, 2011 at 8:02 pm

in the event to pursue fuel economy, they went around full circle with latest technology to reach where the initial iswara was able to produce similar figures…..HOW inventive.

• areesya on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:02 am

Iswara was w/o all the goodies which add to the weight of a car.

• Laissez-faire on Jul 24, 2011 at 8:07 pm

way to go proton catching up with the competition….now any news on VVT,GDI,LCD ICE+GPS,TDI,turbo,SIPS,more airbags&better plastics?

• modicon on Jul 24, 2011 at 8:17 pm

I think it’s a decent city car. if you need a boot and a cheaper price tag, this is certainly the car of choice. myvi is nice but it’s kinda overpriced.

• iskhalifah on Jul 24, 2011 at 8:28 pm

I hope the Saga FL’s engine noise under acceleration is reduced by this smoother cvt transmission..
    The ride & handling is very good, only to be let down by the powertrain & drivetrain dept.

• Nizam80 on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Based on the brochure, I noticed that the max. horsepower is now achieved much earlier at 5750rpm compared to 6000rpm in the previous version. Is this due to the new IAFM+ module?

• DonkeyKong on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:48 am

Previous Saga 1.3 IAFM brochure still used figures from the non-IAFM engine. Probably they changed the specs in the brochure to the correct specs this time around.

• Nizam80 on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:10 pm

I assume that the SAT button gives you a much sportier shifting feel, right (a.ka. Sports mode)? Because, you won’t feel any gear shifts on a CVT. Correct me if I’m wrong here.

• kenot on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:12 pm

when airbag(s) or ABS will become compulsory in msia? i thought gov already enforce the regulation. sadly Airbags and ABS is “executive” for this model or other base line proton car. i afraid if proton offer ESP, it will become “premium”.i hope they dont focus only on drivetrain. safety features is also important.

btw,CVT in saga is good move and more choice for malaysian who only enjoy 5 speed MT/4 AT speed for long time.

• Naz@AE111 on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:37 pm

wow!! its surprisingly that proton become more developed right now.. a 1.6 engine with a 6 speed CVT transmission makes its more affordable than any car maker here at malaysia… well done.. can’t wait to c the turbo campro cam out…

• freeze on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:31 am

Yes, now everybody loves Proton. We have all forgotten about the ridiculous quality and what it has done to the Malaysian automotive industry.

• akinablue on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:35 pm

that was the past..why still looking at the past while we have a good stuff at the moment and for the future. cuma org yang iri hati je yang akan cakap yg byukan2. kalo hang ni salesman p2, apa kata, tukar keje, jd salesman p1..lagiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii best oooooooooooooooooooo…

• History Boy on Jul 25, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Importance of History: We will forgive but not forget.

• fazlisan on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:40 pm

we will forgive, learn the lesson and we will improve

• skiborne on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:47 pm

death to 4 speed matics

• kuncisudu on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:47 pm

takde 1.6 ke? :(

• rexxx on Jul 24, 2011 at 9:58 pm

stupid ppl will buy a viva over this.

• buskerhatesTnH on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:38 am

not really…. some people just need a lightweight car to move around. Why should u have a compact sedan when u don’t need 1? i have a viva and 2 other cars…. eventhough i hate viva (becos of the missing power steering n non adjustable steering column) i found out, it is a decent car to move around as a second car. how many sedan should u have?

• Ha Gnih on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:29 am

Once my niece fell and she accidentally pressed on a bumper of a Viva Elite and to my horror, the whole bumper just dislocate from the clips and was literally bent downwards. How flimsy can a Viva be ? But then I asked around and found out that the flimsy bumper is a ‘standard’ feature of the Viva, much to my amusement. Hahaha

• tokmoh on Jul 24, 2011 at 10:35 pm

Fuh fuh, interesting. I await for the price announcement, but still feeling confident it’ll be cheaper than myvi lagi best fuh fuh…

That stimulate (all u hamsap fella thinkin of something funny? :P ) thingy reminds me of when reading altis fl launch… The Altis also use cvt, and I remember reading test drive report of saying it’s setup to shift like a conventional gb… Is this the same case for this saga cvt?

Good news to see proton offer better spec post-inspira. I’d thought it’s rather tough since inspira spec is pretty high by msian market standard, then we’ll be forced to expect same old, same old 4/5-speed at/mt afterwards. But this is a relief. And that saga finally has abs, a safety I’d appreciate more than airbag.

• Imma test drive the car myself when it’s open for booking

• hancurlah p2 hehe common proton give a 1.6 with cvt and abs add on tiptronic or padleshifters baby common got 6 gears leh below 50k mana mahu cari huhu i willing to pay for it 50k or 53k still buying it(err if possible change the interior abit la?

• err forget to mention if got cvt only add 1kplus then seriously proton rocks you get what you pay for(even peug 207 only got 4 speed still got tiptronic tak masuk akal)this is all thanks to the md of proton who works hard and rocks (curse the old management team of proton see you in hell)

• nabill on Jul 24, 2011 at 11:06 pm

value for money !

any word on the CVT supplier??

• maaajeeedaaa on Jul 24, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Myvi baru…a.k.a Sirion…..LAGI TERUK!!!!….ya Perodua punya orang sudah marah…
    (yo proton lover..me gonna need a lot of ‘likes’ here hehehe..)

• sargent daud on Jul 24, 2011 at 11:12 pm

2004 CVT City had 7 speed auto
    and now Proton is coming out with simulated 6 speed auto.
    Hello?? This is recycled OLD TECH !!!
    IAFM/Campro has to be thrown out the 3rd floor too.!!

• GreenFuel on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:29 am

Dude, on CVT they dun care on how many speed la, read more on that. The 7 speed City also simulated, just like the Saga

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:37 am

then how about dugong’s 4 speed auto? thrown into pacific ocean? LOL.

• kamaji on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Why you think more is better……wtf to have 6 or 12 speed when you hardly go to fifth in everyday driving.

• buskerhatesTnH on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:08 am

in that case, in your POV, maybe we should only need 3 gears?

i have no problems in reaching 6th gear everyday….

• RedBeanBun on Jul 24, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Do we need 6-speed for 1.3 engine?

Why not they put the Airbag + 6-speed in Waja, and remain price, I think that will be hot sale. Since that car is mean for better handling and driving in all Proton model. Please revert the facelift front grill, its ugly.

I think Waja is one of the well build car to challenge VIOS/City/Forte when improved. Not persona. Please fixed those well-known defect also.

• infinity on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:06 am

i think waja is not produced anymore..

• TurboMan on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:43 am

CVT has infinite number of speed between 2 defined ratios.

Hence, rather than gear 1,2,3,4,5, the gear ratio of a CVT can be gear 1. Gear 2.3. Gear 4.55. Anywhere in between. You get the idea.

The “6 speed” is just some computer codes in the transmission control unit to simulate fixed gear ratios as most of us are used to it. Used to the sudden change in rev when the gear box changes gear.

The gear change of a pure CVT is seamless. Depending on the programming, you could accelerate from 0 to 100 while the transmission keeps the rev at 3000 constantly.

• TurboMan on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:31 pm

How can i get a thumb down just by explaining facts and engineering?

Looks like i made a few enemies in here eh?

Haha

• Allen on Jul 24, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Seriously with the CVT gearbox, the pickup of the car is much better I must say.
    Already test drive the FLX model last Thursday as we did received a unit in our PE showroom.

Guys, go test drive it out. Its good I must say,
    Would be glad if Proton can replace the steering wheel with a better design though…..

• not only does the steering wheel vibrate but the horn cover at the steering wheel still vibrate since BLM era.
      seats that “squeaks” & poor fitting rubber seals at the doors.
      “rattling” noises at door panels.
      car stereo thats intermittent.
      cvt suppose to reduce the lag in the Saga’s AT unit but you have to pay for it.
      noisy campro engine, etc.

• Carl Wong on Jul 24, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Sorry to say this, but no ABS and/or double airbags still????!!!! Stop lagging behind the entire WORLD please, those are standard passive safety features in almost the rest of the world.

• say that to the goverment of malaysia

• err it is available on exec model…..if you want it…

• Carl Wong on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:43 am

I know people always want cheaper cars but SAFETY should NEVER be COMPROMISED for that…!!!

• still they should hav exec model since its cheaper than myvi basic model..that if u feel safety is number 1

• Rodin on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Still, it still sells because people actually compromise safety when it comes to money. Top up sikit only what.. If not, why the sales of medium line persona still good?

Btw, i met with ppl who actually says “ala bukan bawak laju pon.” when ask them to opt for the extra safety features.

Quite a lot of ppl i know dont really wear seat belts. Only wears when nampak polis. Imo, that pretty much sums up our awareness towards safety.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:55 pm

a Toyota Corolla 1.8 can sell with airbags etc in US for u$15K. The same money you can buy a Saga 1.3!!

The people always said in accident its the problem of the driver, but accident is accident, and in our country, the car will not be responsible for the safety. That is how pathetic it is, people like us driving Proton deserved a better safety. And the mentality of the people viewing towards car safety will never be happened in this country.

• Apple on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:22 am

No one is stopping u from staying in the US or buying a second hand European car dude. Don’t hv to buy PROTON. It’s a free market.. Jeez.. Plus, if u can’t handle the speed try practicing defensive driving.

• Martin on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:24 am

No matter how defensive you drive, if an idiot comes crashing to you, you will be in an accident.

At this point, the car becomes the single most important factor to determine if you can still walk out of the accident alive.

• alistair lim li wei on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:06 am

Well,it’s a little awkward Proton chooses to equip a enrty level car with CVT. Nevertheless it’ s a huge leap for P1! Continue what u’re doin p1 and impress us~

• epics on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:13 am

nice… i like. :D

• bReaL on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:29 am

wow…this is world class!!

• Carl Wong on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:41 am

Ok the good thing is the fuel efficiency should be much better, better than the 5 speed manual version I believe. Not just hybrids and eco cars but almost all cars will have the CVT option I believe in the near future.

• Cikgu Mathematics on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:17 am

If u had read through the brochure, u should know that the FLX manual still the one with better FC,5.7L/100km compares to FLX CVT,6.0L/100km.However, the FLX with CVT did beat the FL auto in term of the FC.
      People still got the wrong concept about the CVT.Never compares the 6 speeder CVT with 6 speeder auto like the Hyundai one.FYI,the manufactures can set up as many speeds as they want in their’s CVT gear box becoz that are all virtual speeds.

• Carl Wong on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:31 am

Wait I looked closely and it says 90km/hr?? Does it mean it’s the rating when the car is cruising at that speed?? Can we have a more realistic fuel efficiency rating by driving cycles? But it’s just a rating on paper, what you get is all down to how you drive it.
        But still I think for other cars such as imports and Japanese cars, CVT should be the most efficient. Thanks man.

• tiadaid on Jul 25, 2011 at 6:24 am

Every car fuel rating is done at cruising speed of 90km/h

• Littlefire on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:01 am

Not really, see US car spec. They have City & highway EPA-estimated , (http://www.epa.gov/fueleconomy/regulations.htm) besides that in Japan they have so call 10-15 modes. (http://www.dieselnet.com/standards/cycles/jp_10-15mode.html)

Since our country the G never implement what standart to measure the fuel economy, so for sure car manufacturer will try to put the best fuel consuption in their brocher..

• Carl Wong on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Thanks for reminding man. In USA almost every single car, even electric cars have EPA ratings in terms of miles per US gallon/MPG, so people already have a general idea of the fuel efficiency of the cars with just 1 look, the higher the better.

The conversion is fairly simple. For example If a car is rated at 45 MPG combined, 235/45=5.22L/100km, 100/5.22=19.16km/L.

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:49 am

we have MIROS is it?..but are they sleeping??

• Proton Saga FLX 6speed 1.3 now closed to hyundai Theeta II 6speed engine. Congrats Proton . Hunger for Hybrid and GDi engine from proton.

Regards
    Naz Hyundai Sales

• johndoe on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:48 pm

bodoh ke apa…comparing maCamtakPro junk with Hyundai’s world class Theta 2

• carlito on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:27 am

i have my doubts about proton’s ability to produce and maintain a CVT gearbox. Even Savvy AMT they cannot maintain properly (use wrong AMT fluid which caused the robotic arm to fail)

• riderxdesign on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:41 am

car transmission are not made by their self, it always outsourced. try to use abit of ‘google’ search ok

• Then it will be up to the vendor, again… When will they be able to get rid of the crowny vendors? Proton, prove me wrong this time.

• A good stepping stone for Proton to actually equip the ABS, dual airbags and CVT in their entry model. Hope the future model will be a big improvement as well.

• acerman on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:54 am

If they have these: ABS,EBD,BEBD,ESP,SRS-dual airbags,CVT and BCM at least with a 1.6 cps engine in that car, I think it will beat the sales of any P2 cars. Perodua Myvi does have many features like a GPS, but the unit only uses a Lokatoo version. This is not a good choice.

• Well, you have to understand. Proton is working solo, unlike Perodua, which is working and owned by Daihatsu and Toyota. Proton is just about to get the party started.

• linear_system on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm

what’s myvi other features other than GPS?EPS is not same as ESP..ABS and EBD saga flx executive got..

• great effort by proton. if got 1.6 version than that will be PERFECT??????

• Finally it is good to see Proton upped the safety specs for the Saga. The inclusion of ABS is way overdue and the EBD is the icing on the cake. However to give a background to why there are such safety items included in the car is because of the export market. Over here, the Saga is known as the S16. As you may have guess it, it comes with a 1.6L engine. There is no ABS and this is a big no-no over here. Worst still is that from 2011 onwards, all new registered cars must have electronic stability control though you have 1 year grace period. By 2012, all cars must have it regardless. So S16 will be ineligible for sale in a few months time. My relative’s 2011 Nissan Micra has it even on the base ST model. That is why the Honda Jazz also equipped with EBD and available in Malaysia. We get the same car from the Thailand factory. So Proton will most likely release the new S16 with airbags, ABS and EBD very soon.

• generation on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:53 pm

Good Analysis from an Australian though.

• Thanks but still a Malaysian at heart. A further update is that the Traffic Safety Authority here is running a campaign to get buyers to demand curtain airbags or inflatable curtains (IC) in their cars. They run adverts that show victims of side impact and their stories. They also run awareness campaign to go for 5 star ACAP rating cars too. Tagged “How safe is your car?” Looks like Proton has to do catch-up again soon. A lot of the small cars here have 6 or more airbags now plus on top of the ABS, EBD and 3 point seatbelts in all seats. Thankfully my XC70 is still bang up to date in terms of safety with 6 airbags including curtain airbags, ABS, TRACS (stability /traction control) & SIPS – Side Impact Protection System.

• taboogen on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:06 am

just try the 1.3FLX CVT (iafm plus) first and decide.. then imagine the 1.6 FLX CVT that will follow later
    btw the engine in flx is iafm plus same version as persona but with 1.3 displacement,

• maserati on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:11 am

Goodluck to the buyers. Do u ppl know how unreliable cvt is? Rubbish!

• BadBET on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:17 am

that word come from experience or just from some reading / rumors from the net?

• How can you say like that when you haven’t actually driven it???

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 31, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Such comments stem from the fact that CVT requires a different transmission fluid from a normal gearbox. Some drivers don’t know this and replace the fluid with a conventional one, which will damage the CVT.

• Critique on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:17 am

The sales figures in the coming months for the for this segment will be verrryyyy interesting! :)

• orion,magma,iswara,saga iswara LMST,saga BLM on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:24 am

I will never buy any 1st batch model from perodua or proton…wait until a few batch, read the review, ask service centre if there any major problem about the car than decide to buy or not.

• p2 alza owner on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:54 pm

bought my alza last june , got whole bunch of problems, although they are minor issues , but still wasted the time to get them fixed , sometimes the technician can’t get it fixed or the old issue arised again … so conclusion , wait 1 year and see the feedback … else you will be the test bed for them for QC …

1 thing for sure is that their QC is really sucks … customer service also terrible

• taboogen on Jul 25, 2011 at 6:15 pm

not so true i might say.. since the older the car they tend to put less in a car to maintain the pricing.. i think all business man like that… when more people buying reduce thing that is suppose the be in there but still sell at the same price…
      “that all myth that I have learnt in automotive industries”

• heng yi min on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:29 am

y the fuel consumption more on CVT?…should be less..

• Cheng on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:32 am

more things add to proton cars mean more things to repair means more time spend in service center means more damage to the wallet.

• Combining ancient Campro with CVT simply a defunct Laser Disc player with USB!
    ABS is a 40-year old tech but somehow according to Proton it’s 9th wonder of the world, behold folks!

Best of all, Saudi Arabia Proton would sell it for only RM22,149.00!

• WhiteFox on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:06 am

Don’t keep complain abt the price, The tax itself make the price different not proton. Either you work hard and become our new Gov to change it or you work harder to earn it.

Nothing come cheap nows day.

• kamaji on Jul 25, 2011 at 3:11 pm

If you think so, then I must tell you that most car but not all….technology such as CVT,ABS,EBD,vvti,vtec,etc are also already ancient by today standard.

• SimulateMan on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:55 am

To simulate how the cvt works, this link might help. Cedok from Nissan website -> http://www.nissan.com.my/vehicles/teana/#technologies

• amatku17 on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:02 am

I really hope that Paultan.org can arrange a shootout for saga flx, myvi lagi best and one other similar class car, just like previously honda, camry, &teana shootout.

therefore, can point out pros and cons for each model.

Please say yes!

• squall_shinoda on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:53 am

I agree… then we can definitely see which one is lagi best, MyVi or Saga FLX.

• makeitmine on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:20 am

This car already got good stability at high speed. Just improve a little bit on firewall/engine/wheel sound proofing and this car will be the myvi killer!

• Comparing few critical characteristic of the car i.e. Output, torque, max speed, acceleration, and fuel consumption, I don’t see the significant these new improvement of adding CVT and SAT into the Saga engine. Output, torque, max speed and acceleration time from 0 to 100 km/h for all 3 version of BLM, FL and FLX are remain the same. Fuel consumption is slightly varies. While BLM consumes 5.5L/6.0L (MT/AT) for 100km at 90km/h, FL consumes higher at 6.0L/6.3L whereas FLX at 5.7L/6.0L.
    Apart from smooth gear transition (or as what proton advertised: Gears shift steplessly through an infinite number of gear ratios without a loss of power), what else for we get?

• squall_shinoda on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:56 am

The FC figures by Proton are estimated figures only. In the end, it relies mostly to how you drive. That’s why some people got very excellent FC and some got poor FC. At least the CVT helps a lot in improving the FC.

• Rodin on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:02 pm

So you want a new engine, new transmission, abs more extras etc..do you think that you are asking too much for a facelift. You only need to top up around 1k for it?

• they should have put it into the 1.6 version..then it will be the LAGI LAGI best.. :)

• DarkAvenger on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:29 pm

1.6 CVT coming end of the year…so current 1.6 FL owners not butthurt so much mah…

• Nizam80 on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:38 pm

I can see that Proton will be phasing out the current Persona soon. IAFM (both 1.3 & 1.6) engines only for Saga. The CPS and the new Turbo for it’s next Persona. Betul tak?

• like PROTON on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:28 am

good job proton..

TERBAIK.. :-)

• yeopmin on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:46 am

good job proton but pity to person that buying 1.6 FL..proton should consider customer feeling..time launching FL,FL 1.6 and FLX are too close..for me,no use to launch FL 1.6 if all ready plan for FLX..btw,gud luck proton..

• DonkeyKong on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Agreed on this one! Saga FL came out late last year, most people took their deliveries in January 2011. By June/July 2011, the 1.6 Saga FL is out, probably causing some Saga FL early adopters to feel a bit bummed out. And then, barely 2 months after the 1.6 Saga FL is out, the Saga FLX will be released. I guess some Saga FL 1.3 and 1.6 owners might feel disappointed that better and better models are being released with such short intervals.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:52 am

It the Saga FLX Executive equipped with paddle shift…? If there is, the it will definitely much better than the so-called “lagi best” MyVi. Anyways, this Saga FLX is already better than MyVi which uses the old engine and dated 4-speed auto.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:30 am

Hello dude, don’t make useless comparison between “kaca” and “plastic”, you must compare with Rosmah 24 Million berlian ring!

• squall_shinoda on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Hello dude, are you a very desperate Perodua salesman or what…? Of course those two are from the B segment class. That’s why the comparison is still valid. The only difference is just between a sedan and a hatchback.

• batumudo on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:54 am

Nice proton. Test driven myvi and the GEAR LEVER lil bit loose/not in a proper track.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:54 am

Ahhhhhh……….finally a 1st Malaysian 6 speeder. Something to (finally) look forward to. Wouldn’t mind buying for company for salesmen to use to commute tho.

• Unforgiven on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:06 am

Do you think this car will sell if there’s no protection?

Is this the car that people wanted in Klang Valley?

Is this the car that a fresh graduate wanted?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:26 am

If there is no protection, Mits Lancer and Ford Focus basic entry level trims have similar pricing, so you know the answer!

• confused on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:43 am

what tok kok u?

real world issue ——>

• sukasuki on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:12 am

u want cheaper car, then make it like UK. cheap car, expensive roadtax and insurance, and no fuel subsidy. if u got what i mean. :)

• Ha Gnih on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:41 am

Fresh grads can’t even afford a car yet buddy. Unless they are from some well-off family that money has never been a problem, then sure!! get a Lexus instead of this. Why go for less when you can afford more right ? Fresh grads should all learn how to start from the bottom and not be pompous about their measly stash of papers they call qualification. I’ve seen a lot of fresh grads out there struggling with their car loans, because you know why ? They got a tad too ambitious when buying their 1st car. No offence, but when I 1st graduated, I drove my grandfather’s VERY old 1982 Toyota Corolla GL for a few years until I could afford my own 1st car.

• rosdi on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:20 am

I have one gripe.., why oh why the brake and clutch pedal is SO high?!.. I have driven various cars for the past 15 years yet SAGA’s clutch and brake pedal is soo unusually high it takes effort for my feet to reach and step on it.

I driven a manual SAGA for 8 days and I failed to adjust myself to the extremely high brake and clutch pedal. I usually can adapt myself to a car within a few hours, but not SAGA.

Proton can you please explain what is the rationale making the the clutch and brake pedal SO high like that? Would it more comfortable if the pedal is at the same height of the accelerator pedal?

• Cheng on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:03 pm

supplier read the spec wrongly lor… but cannot reject because proton has no time to “check every part” supplied.

• rosdi on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:26 am

SAGA FL : 94hp at 6000rpm.
    SAFA FLx : 94hp at 5750rpm.

Some improvement there.., nice.

• nabill on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:09 am

i think this car badly needs a test drive…i hope local magazines and blogs will get one for a review soon….everybody wants to know how the CVt performs….nevermind wat stats and broucher says…a real world test is alot more convincing…

• Knownuts on Jul 25, 2011 at 6:53 pm

why you want to wait from blog or newspaper review when you can just go to test drive yourself and we happily to read your test drive review.

• ImBuyin1 on Aug 01, 2011 at 11:00 pm

thats coz each showroom has only 1 unit of saga flx and its for display doh~

• Good job Proton! Would like to see you playing in world market

• zainal abidin on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:21 am

Looks nice in elegant brown….But PROTON, why still only 40L fuel tank? Should have changed to at least a 46L tank…..This is no longer SAVVY you know…

• eventhough the power output is only little bit than previous one, but less powerloss with cvt contributed a lot. If previous manual power loss is 12 percent n auto 20 percent n now only 10 percent,so its big already. If u count, saga auto with powerloss,the output is only 70 whp while cvt one is 80 whp. 10hp is a big different for a small car.

• Proton Saga has the worst overall handling if compared to its bigger siblings; Persona/Gen.2 due to its nimbleness.

Althought a bit late, but I applaud the desperate attempt by Protong to boost their sales by providing these ‘extra’ features which we the rakyat have been demanding for so many years. Above all, let’s hope this will improve the Fuel Consumption too (we will see the review soon enough).

Let’s just hope, ABD (with EBD) and Air Bags will become ‘standard’ for every Proton cars (including the Base Line). Too many rakyat injured or died in car accidents for so many years.

Let’s hope that the CVT gearbox is reliable and quality enough to handle Malaysian drivers.

• DarkAvenger on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Yep, SAGA handling is definitely worst than Persona or Neo….but it still beats any Perodua
      with one tyre punctured….hehe.

• akinablue on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:20 pm

not really..the handling maybe not as good as gen2, persona..but keep in mind that saga suspension is mainly for comfort..but saga handling is muchhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh far better compare to vios and myvi.

• generation on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Good comment, He is not able to give a better example to compare with Proton Saga..
      AFTER ALL, Saga is just worse than the other proton itself but not Perodua or etc…

• ok….i guess myvi can tutup kedai and balik kampung…hehehe.

• teelim on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:34 pm

When will the government make ABS a standard in all cars??!?!??!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?

• harry on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:32 pm

what is the SAT switch all about??

• treblecase on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Simulated Auto Transmission I guess. Or it could mean Sat Nav, just push it and the car will drives itself. :P

• lazyf on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:09 pm

SAT function is something like OD (overdrive) as what Proton Sales Re. told me last night when i was viewing this car…

• AvayaCisco on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Proton progressing well but seriously the steering wheel design is not beautiful and keep blocking driver views on the instrumental panels……it can be a safety issue.

Also I don’t agree Proton to keep indicator on the left side, cos manual transmission we need to change gear. Hand will not be free to switch the indicator…..continental cars drive on the left side, so left side indicator make sense….we drive on right, so keep it on the right side.

Frankly speaking MyVi may cost more but the feel inside the car is more cosy and up market. In the Saga I felt very very cheap. My dad got a saga, the driving feeling is not nice….

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 25, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Frankly speaking.. Myvi owner still REGRET..

• Nicky on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Really? I feel safer to drive a saga then a myvi. :) dude, the signal design is just minor issues, in UK, right hand drive country can do it with no problems. and, you indicate then u turn righ or left, then u drop gear. No one dothem at once, even the indicator is on your right, you indicate and shift the gear, then who’s on the wheel?

• Avelon on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:00 pm

i want this CVT in my Neo 1.6 !!!

• Avelon on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:16 pm

and i hope got paddle shift like the game console steering…..hehehehe

• kagesenshi on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:33 am

same here .. though wondering if the CVT can handle the power if i tweak the cps engine XD ..

/me monitors closely news on proton’s CVT & CFE news

• kamaji on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:21 pm

This is certainly a good effort by P1 to further hold on to the sales chart with the new added goodies.And hopefully the ‘Punch’ unit is durable enough for our M’sian’s style driving.But then again I still noticed that the gear lever console & steering which look cheap is not enhanced or improve at all.Anyway, the heated competition between this Saga & My-b has just begin & the following monthly sales will also be most interesting.

• Action speaks louder than word, placed my booking just now at SS14. Price for CVT Executive is RM44,998. Delivery ETA 1-2 months. Salesman claimed the IAFM is version 2. Need verification here.

• keith duckworth on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Nowadays Proton decided to do away with the plastic engine cover eh? More rugged. HAHA

• me... on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:12 pm

Go news from my friend in P1, there will be new design engine cover.

• cikuludes on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:40 pm

keep it up!

• Rockdaboat on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:05 pm

FLX is a better buy compare to meevee lol meevee is an overpriced box……plus meevee has no rear crumple zone passanger at the back seat is prone to death ……

• How much for the maintenance and replacing the CVT belt ? How many kilometre can it last compare to gear type transmission ?

• transformer on Jul 25, 2011 at 9:42 pm

its still not a world class car….. stop buying them…. use your current car until no sparepart available since they already forsee this but banning chop-shop imports….

wait NAP, NEP, AP abolished, Free Car market….

Have to thank current Gov for implement NAP, NEP, AP with our vote next GE…
    Rich people getting richer, most rakyat…… They wouldn’t know our plight….

• howie on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:35 pm

it’s good to upgrade, but pls improve the soundproof of the car. it sounds really bad when cruising over 90km/h…The radio are just wasting current when high speed.

• buy lo nissan sylphy… or build ur own car

• squall_shinoda on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:14 am

You pay cheap, then expect cheap goodies laa. Another thing, a typical car radio consumes not more than 10 amperes, or else the fuse will be blown.

• wcarlos on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:56 am

agree with you. Exora has the best cabin, nice and quiet. Then I think the 2nd goes to persona.. the NVH for Saga is not so good to me. You can hear the tyre and road noice more as compared to P2 encounter models, sorry proton.

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:15 pm

there are two type of pavement… concrete pave and asphalt pave… it gives u different sound..

• vxxxxxx on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:42 pm

1st batch saga sure got problem

• generation on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:12 am

Why le?? Proton Inspira have been using CVT also and no complains about it.. Proton have enough experience in producing reliable CVT car.

• mind you, they do not produce the cvt gearbox. outsourcing more likely but to a good vendor, Punc Motive, whose been providing to the likes of Fiat, Audi. etc….

• http://www.hmetro.com.my/myMetro/articles/Pekilangdiberimasaenambulanuntukpasangbegudara/Article

• tattoo sleeve on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:56 am

saga is the right car for me, can fit my double stroller easily!!! good job proton! keep improving! i’m gonna always support Malaysian brand!! perodua also i support, still Malaysian brand :) Peace!!

• zainal abidin on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:19 pm

WOW !!! In the space of 7 months 3 models of SAGA FL was launched, 1.3FL, 1.6FL and now 1.3FLX. As an owner of an FL auto bought in January 2011, the car is reliable enough, TQ Proton. But what I really want more from the car is for the car to go further on a single full tank of fuel. Proton should have changed to a new 46 liter fuel tank. And I think most SAGA FL owners would have agreed on this.

• Kevin Ng on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:15 am

I rather ditch the Vios to drive a proton, too much problem! My wife’s Persona have been with us for 3 years now and not a single problem yet! I went to the sc several times and what I got is the same problem, this is nornal la or we’ll rectify is asap etc… Who said only Proton have this tidak apa attitude?

Mind you my Vios is only few months old and planning trade into a Persona R once released, enough is enough!

• Ha Gnih on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:59 am

I think it’s a Vios thing buddy. 3 of my friends sold of their Vios for something else, one actually traded-in his 7 month old Vios for an Inspira and he said, it’s the BEST proton car he’s ever driven. So yeah, I do believe that Proton is trying to make a comeback and as Malaysians, we should all give them a change and look at the brand from a whole new perspective.

• alien13 on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:49 pm

CVT, ABS, EBD…
    bulih masuk kat FL yg lama tak
    cis2..
    proton ni sikit2 dia upgrade..
    tensen ni

• when saga flx 1.6 will be launched?

• cipap on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:57 pm

is it really FC?…im driving about 30km for work in city road…if yes..i would like to have it..

• founder on Jan 25, 2012 at 12:06 pm

jangan blame each other la. masing² ada minat sendiri.
    by the way, bestzz oo p1 saga lfx cvt special edition. :)

• B@bah on Feb 03, 2012 at 1:39 am

founder says:
    25/1/2012 at 12:06 pm

jangan blame each other la. masing² ada minat sendiri.
    by the way, bestzz oo p1 saga lfx cvt special edition. :)

founder dah sambar ke?
    Story sikit apa yang best.
    Sedang survey nak sambar ni.

• brandon on Aug 31, 2012 at 8:31 pm

i am a die hard proton saga supporter, i suggest next saga hopefully can fix with traction control and soft turbo with a better price. may be u guys will think not worth for a basic car to have all that, but since saga is the first car produce by proton so it have to be special. Hope my suggestion can be one of the consideration of proton.