Proton Saga FLX 1.3L launched – CVT, ABS and EBD on

UPDATE: Read our Proton Saga FLX test drive story, loaded with pix and a video.

Proton has officially launched the Saga FLX 1.3L, which we managed to check out in the showroom over the weekend. The car’s entry into the market was announced today, in both manual and CVT drivetrain options and two variant forms – Standard and Executive.

Going with the FLX 1.3L Executive variant bags a list of added features, notably driver and passenger air-bags along with ABS and Electronic Brake-force Distribution (EBD). There’s no mention about any change to the engine’s output, so the assumption is that one continues on as is.

The introduction of the car follows on the company’s earlier announcement in June declaring the successful development and integration of CVT technology with its CamPro engine.

The transmission change improves the drivability and responsiveness of the car without compromising its power, said Proton’s MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin. “Because of the lighter build of the engine, along with the ‘stepless’ gear transition that the CVT provides, the Saga FLX delivers a fuel consumption drop of 4% in an urban driving environment, with consumption dropping up to 10% when driven on highways,” he said.

“The utilisation of CVT technology has a far reaching impact to the consumer. Other than the fuel saving, the smoothness and reliability that CVT provides allows the engine to run at an optimum level, thus resulting in less engine fatigue and improving its long term durability,” he added.

CVTs provide a shift-less operation, as they are able to continuously vary the transmission ratio on the fly, but we understand Proton has also allowed the user to manually activate a 6-speed virtual ratio mode via a button near the gear lever.

Along with the new drivetrain and ABS/EBD comes a new colour as well – Elegant Brown joins the existing options of Tranquility Black, Genetic Silver, Solid White and Blue Rock in the shade lineup.

Pricing-wise, the FLX 1.3L starts from RM38,598 for the Standard manual version right up to RM44,998 for the Executive CVT variant. The Saga FLX 1.3L is now available for bookings and can be viewed at all Proton showrooms nationwide.

Photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2469]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why no engine improvements?

• zainal abidin on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:34 pm

I was informed there were 13 improvements done to the engine assy itself, not counting the fuel system, fuel pump and IAFM+

• quattro on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:38 pm

what is the RPM when cruising 100km/hr at constant speed anyone? is it lower than 2500rmp??

• Unforgiven on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:42 am

P1 is No1 in M’sia.
          When you drive a P1 on the road, you are No1 in M’sia.
          When ppl see you drive a P1, they think you are No1 too.

No1 from the bottom up perhaps…

• Bob Vettel on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:00 pm

If you got nothing to contribute, just shut the hell up.

• Unforgiven on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:14 pm

I hope you are an owner of P1!

• xprezzy on Jul 27, 2011 at 5:58 pm

we are P1 owner and we proud of it.

• dumbtrolls on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:27 pm

From the 1st three lines u sounded like a proton sales man. the last line just earn u the title of a troll.

• CVT…Good. But need to test drive baru know the different.

• why want improvement? its not even a facelift… when vios introduce facelift with no engine improvement why u didn’t ask? when p2 introduce new model but no engine improvement u didn’t ask? go play far2 la

• Noway on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:17 am

@momo
        Yes true but also, just because one company never improve that doesn’t mean you also don’t need to improve. Why can we show them instead of them showing us.

• Bob Vettel on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Isn’t CamPro already on the way out? Aren’t they designing a replacement engine?

• Ever heard the term “why reinvent the wheel?”

Literally means that if the old is still good and reliable, why create a new one that will only be another redundant? Unless there’s a significance difference, then it is viable to R&D a new engine. Anyways, this is very true for Toyota and Honda. For instance, MyVi national car of the year for 6 consecutive years (habis tapau semua model Protong, malu beb, malu, hehe).

As for Protong, “jauh panggang dari api”. Even the 1980’s Toyota Corolla, 1.5cc Carburetor engine is far more fuel efficient than the current Camtakpro engines. Try to beat that first! Haha.

Why why why they ask? As the current government NAP policy limits that only 2 manufacturers can produce so called “cheap” cars for the masses; Protong and Perodua, turns out the rakyat still prefer Perodua afterall. Literally means one thing, Protong still has a very long way to go.

• Annoynimal on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:34 pm

1980’s corolla? fuel efficient? so is the wheelbarrow in my back yard…

• mythbuster on Aug 07, 2011 at 3:47 pm

yes, i have been used toyota corolla GL last time. its more fuel efficient than the proton saga or persona eventhough the weight of toyota more protons.
            the toyota engines still works fine (tested drive from penang to melaka).

• btol3,jimat…lpas top overhaul & tukar spark plug baru, toyota corolla ae82 1.5 mmg jimat minyak…driving dr miri-sibu (hampir 400km coastal highway) just rm35 jak shell ron95…speed 100-130km/j…x pakai aircon la,hehe..tp itu my bapak punya,keta sy toyota corrolla ee80 1.3…kuat minyak,rm50 miri-sibu…tp pakai aircon la…speed 90-120km/j… :(

• freeze on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Because the engine does not need any improvements. It is the bestestest engine ever produced. Nobody can improve this engine.

• kuncisudu on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:32 pm

bestest engine ever produced eh? thats why ferrari,lambo are using it too. LOL.

• pyopyo on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:45 pm

for proton la brah~ Economically and performance based for the budget~~~~~

Go with da flow la mang~~u noe whats he’s talking~~~

• kuncisudu on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:27 am

eh, the way i read freeze comment it must be referred to the vios or perodua engine right? i was referring to that engine. not proton 1.3.

• Of course no engine improvement even though Older BLM is having on average lower fuel consumption compared to FL and FLX. However, of course, with addition ABS and EBD, FLX is something worth to be considered. Perhaps Proton need to consider putting in EPS since Saga is the most use car on the road now.

• Err, “saga is the most used car in the road…”? I thought it was Perodua who tapau the most small class/compact class vehicles out there with MyVi still leading the pack.

Unless you’re referring to the 1980’s Protong Saga MegaValve Besi Tulen.

• rosdi on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:14 pm

This guy being sarcastic.. dont u guys see it? haiya…

• improve diri sendiri dulu…beli lancer type R terus ye brader?

• azrai on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:36 am

If it aint broken don’t fix it. The Vios also used the engine again and again and again maa. No need bising-bising lorr…

• Rapper on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:30 am

my Dream car!! omg now got cvt abs ebd wow bang for buck!! gonna get it now while stock last!! gonna gonna get it now get get get, Get it now, stop Rap. yo.

• mizzuddin on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:01 pm

saya sedang berusaha mempengaruhi bakal isteri saya untuk membeli standard flx cvt hujung minggu ini…. heheheee

• buy one for her la. or at least you pay the downpayment. :)

• mizzuddin on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:36 pm

aiyooo just a public servant with no OT n jarang2 bonus laa kawan…. =P

• mizzuddin on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:38 pm

wahhh…u got so many thumbs up…mesti dari org perempuan nie… aahahaakz

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:24 pm

beli la executive cvt.. ada dual airbags, abs, ebd… beza tak sampai rm3k, bulanan beza brape puluh je… rugi la kalau beli standard

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:16 pm

ehhh? aku silap tgk nombor ke tadi? beza standard dgn executive RM3.4k.. kalau loan 7 tahun beza Rm40 je, tapi tatau la lepas campur bank interest jadi brape. so, beli la executive, lebih berbaloi dan lebih slamat. sayang bini kannnn??.. hehe :)

• g-mey on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:43 am

dia kata bakal isteri.. belum jadi bini lagi.. sebab tu beli yang stended.. kalau dah jadi bini.. baru beli yang executive..

• utk low level staff, xde OT, rm40 sbln banyak tue.. bleh isi myk utk 2 minggu.. :)

• freeze on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Anda bijak kerana hendak beli kereta murah. Bila cerai, rugi pun kurang.

• kuncisudu on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:31 pm

dah sayang bini, sapa nak bercerai. LOL.

• Ash Menon on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:53 pm

jadi yang bercerai tu, masa kahwin x sayang bini? :P

• RON97 on Jul 27, 2011 at 6:29 pm

sapa nak sayang kalau pakai proton je (nampak sengkek).. paling kurang mau kena upgrade audi.

• mizzuddin on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:48 pm

actually 2 3 tahun ni ddk jauh… kereta masing2, peti ais msg2, televisyen msg2, bnyk budget masing2… so kalau nak pakai kereta yg lagi bagus tk sesuai… ikut keperluan, dptkn praktikaliti…

• jl@ipl on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:09 am

Kadang2, aku konfius tul la dgn org Malaysia nih. Sawan semacam je……

• KarimSopian on Aug 01, 2011 at 12:00 am

Bukan sawan bang, tapi ni dah dunia akhir zaman. Manusia tak pernah rasa cukup & sentiasa pandang yang negatif. Semua nya tak kena. Kesian kat depa….

• scgtimk1 on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:07 pm

Good Job Proton in introducing CVT at sub 50K segmen car.

Now this is better than ‘lagi best’

• rifaie on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:15 pm

i dont know why people will keep buying myvi after this saga FLX.. good job on right time Proton!

• i would definitely book this over myvi…ppl tend to buy myvi becos of popularity i think

• because people cant change their mentality they look down on malaysian products they think myvi is developed by japanese,yes true but it sucks.malaysian should be like koreans support their homegrown products eg,kia,hyundai,samsung,lg,daewoo…..malaysia only got petronas without that diela

• acerman on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Seen new MYVI on the road yesterday. Its quite small than the previous one.

• Gavin on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Problem is their market, they were still incompatible in oversea market compare to others manufacture. Thurs Malaysia are just their only market they could survive.

• theanswer on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:23 pm

dont la bash like that. i have to agree that price-wise and size saga is a good choice. but for some reason some ppl also prefer myvi..ive been using myvi for 5 years (at the same time drives my gf blm) and my mom going to buy the new version..but no doubt both cars (myvi n saga) got their own advantages. but this new saga is a good buy especially with cvt and abs..good job p1!

• Gavin on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Why? just like why you want to own new iPhone3GS that already been in market for 2 years when you can own latest iPhone4 that everyone know it was a newest model.

• freeze on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Because the MyVi does not break down in the middle of the road in a sudden.

It does not have:
        a nasty looking interior/exterior
        90 degrees rear seat
        terrible pickup
        high fuel consumption
        high price for spare parts
        high number of failing parts

and most importantly it does not say you are a pariah when you’re seen in one.

That’s all, no other reason why MyVi sells so well.

• Freeze, ive seen many of your comments, while some can be true but going as far as labelling people as PARIAH is too far!

If a fellow Malaysian is labelling his countrymen and women as such, can we give respect to whatever thing he wish to say? People are just driving the car for god’s sake! Not everybody is rich enough. Are they hurting or insulting you personally? Are you too perfect or high-caste that you see Malaysians driving this car as PARIAH?!

Condemning and condemning is all you know, and you do it in such fugly ways.

• to me and alot of ppl when u buy myvi , you are the real big time pariah. mentally retarded and do not know how to spend your money wisely. real suckers.

and as for the puny junk viva elite buyers (that cost more than this saga flx) i really doubt that you even have a brain at all.

at least this saga flx is value for money and proton is sincere in improvements, not like p2. p2 loves your money man!!!

• harris murad on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Mr. Bil, excellent statement.terbaik.
            Mr. King Bro, kasi jaga-jaga sikit aaaa itu statement, you dont want to be like mr. freeze.

• xprezzy on Jul 27, 2011 at 6:19 pm

i bought viva EX just for the sake to modify it.. hahaha.. my BLM is for family car..

• HAhaha.. freeze u got no proved on your claimed.. MyVi also got breakdown even lost control.. U cant bash proton like that.. Even there got some consumer who satisfied with proton.. for me MyVi is good.. but terrible pickup, noisy, not really much different in fuel consumption but still higher than flx.. since it’s “kontot” car then it should be much lower than proton..

• WTF…why some people keep comparing myvi and saga….one is proper sedan one got small rounded backside……i bought the new myvi as my 3rd car cos i already got a sedan and MPV….this myvi is for for quick run around cos it’s nimble, bigger than viva, good nvh, gadgets and can park everywhere….of cos if i got money i wanna buy something similar like swift sport, mini, beetle….wtf i wanna buy something like i10, alto which is small and pay extra tax on it……..who cares whether it is sirion, toyota, homda re badge what ever cos everybody can see it got perodua badge on it and it doest fly form japan…..wtf man….give me a good cheap reliable product i buy it whether it comes from p1 p2 p3 p4 or china………

• wanna c how 1.5L Myvi die this time!!!! selling 60k to 70k???? No CVT??? No new Engine??? Confirm End Up……………………. like Nautica!!!! Wahahaha!!!

• ichi24 on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:04 pm

for your information both car are same segment, B segment.

the outright difference is that myvi is consider supermini hatchback while saga is sub-compact sedan.

while it’s true the outlook it’s differences, the price and the spec play an important role

would you buy an overrated junk without any significant major improvement (aesthetic aside) or same junk but with major improvement?

and for the price, you should know by now.

• aiya….me simple buyer with simple needs most people are…………who cares what segment whatever they call it…..i personally call it affordable super luxurious supermini 4 door coupe with less tax……..the car moves with 1.3cc from A to B….the ‘junk’ look just find after i wax it…and definitely does not crowded my parking space….i dont know about this cvt but my experience with my previous honda cvt is a horrrible one…..

• P1 let sing this song…Super BEST..wo ho ho…

• Tengokje.. on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:39 pm

‘Paling best la’…good job P1. Keep on going.

• Insp Sahab on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:28 am

I think “lagi best” more better :) P2 No 1

• fuel consumption ONLY drop of 4% in an urban??

• anti vios on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:48 pm

ingat senang ke????

• Fredo on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Imagine 4% drop in each refuel, if you fill up 4 times, you will save 16% of fuel. You can buy yourself redbull or something with the savings :P

• gen2lama on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:53 pm

want 75-80%?…install NGV

• fatiha on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:24 pm

that’s right….NGV is the excellent alternative (especially in city driving)…..but u have to sacrifice the pickup of the vehicle….

• how bout 3rd party like surbo, or other fuel saver marketed by MLM? is it works?

• akinablue on Jul 27, 2011 at 6:44 pm

all that r rubbish..i’ve tried several product..x der beza pun..

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:26 pm

shell said u can save 1 litre per full tank if u use their petrol. how much is 1 litre out of 50l? 2% only. now proton give u 4%, means that u save 2 litres :)

• JeremyNg on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:20 am

I currently using Saga SE manual , on 100% highway de best i get is 18.1km/l ( Frm mlk to JB kastam BHP station RM21 only) with 1 passenger !! thats pretty impressive ~ but the problem for manual version is de gear ratio too short (when cruising at 100km/l , Rpm: 3200) + de gear stick r rubbish …… overall it’s a nice car !!

I personal think that Proton intro CVT is a vry good decision … jz wonder how de CVT FC comapre with manual FC ??

• yes the saga’s manual gearstick is rubbish, it always “dislocate” from its position and bcome seriously loose. proton seriously need to redesign this flaw.

• nazri on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:01 am

i think p1 need to look back manual stick bcoz mine 4 time spring broken, 2 time under warranty replace.. 2 time i bought spring at spare part shop at rm8..

• ben yap on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:17 pm

that’s one good project by proton. this is one of the best gearbox from proton’s stable.

• p1-p2 on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:18 pm

still 40k sumthing for CVT? not bad la~

• scgtimk1 on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:23 pm

I think DSZ is just stating a very ‘pessimistic’ figure so that not to hurt current 4 speed Auto Campro owner.

If put ‘real’ figure sure old owner ‘mengamuk’ already.

Herd from very reliable insider this car averages 550km per tank during test.

• what’s the different between FL & FLX for standard manual transmission?

• Going for test drive… checking out to see if Mutiara Damansara branch have any test unit. Sell off the 05 Myvi for this. Better that “Lagi best”.

• almostthere on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:50 pm

No test units yet…was there earlier today

• RedBeanBun on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:30 pm

After you drive MyVi for 6 years (assume 2005 new car you bought), its time to move to Forte/City/Vios or Civic/Mazda3/Altis :) NOT from P2 to P1 :)

• bcos after 6 year gaji masih sama…..=.=”

• wait for the all new Persona..

• RedBeanBun on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:06 am

You have a choice to stay the same or try (not hope) for better :) just whether we take risk in life or not. Since people like to stay in comfort zone after a while (me too)….

• ultrajo on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Why not? from number 2 to number 1 hehehehe!

• Evoque on Jul 27, 2011 at 5:39 pm

Pls grown up lar for the betterment of ur life. U need to progress in life my friend.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:19 am

That is why, Proton still cannot sell world wide, but Hyundai/Kia conquer the world. It all start with the mental direction of what we wanna achieve.

To learn fishing or to be fed, or worst still, to be fished. Your choice. :)

• Evoque on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:49 pm

Well said!! My thumb’s up for u..

So, hv u learned well to fish?

• Carneo on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:50 pm

sure will receive many complain after this when CVT launch for the Saga and sell so cheap, imagin how about others proton owner espesially Persona owner, FLX already same feature as Persona H-Line + CVT with 20K price cheaper …… : (

• who supply the transmission? cvt?

• jatco?

• balloon on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:04 pm

can someone tell me why Langkawi is only RM 2K cheaper …. i never knew SAGA is nearly TAX FREE

• pacifictuna on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:16 pm

perhaps they simply doesn’t need it…..

• E FULL on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:51 pm

modal berapa sen je kereta ni…kawan aku keje proton kat pekan…dia dah cerita semua…mana ada tax free malaysia ni…cungkil bijik mata pun xdapat tax free punyer. Tolong la jgn tipu lagi…dosa tau.

• baruang on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:00 am

proton at pekan. LOL.

• alldisc on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:32 pm

a sales showroom dealer, perhaps?

still possible. proton satria and proton tiara were assembled at DRB facilities in Pekan whatt..

• E FULL on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:31 pm

ada la encik…sila luaskan pengetahuan anda sebelum gelak..hahaha

• anti vios on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:02 pm

agak2 la nak wat cerite… mana ada proton kat PEKAN…..

• Wisdom on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Those hybrid cars is tax free….

• lonelyobserve on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:06 pm

It’s because Langkawi has higher profit margin to be earned from car buyers.

• Gavin on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:39 pm

I believe here we have the 6% sales tax.

• van hohenheim on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:29 pm

loved the sat button, giving the feel of normal auto trasmission feeling. wonder why car like lancer,prius,insight doesnt have this feature

• mizzuddin on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:31 pm

paddle shift inspira/lancer kan dibuat utk tu…?

• freeze on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:47 pm

because they don’t have wonderful technology and expertise like Proton does.

• simasen on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:39 pm

from top of the comment, always mr. freeze putting sarcastic remarks..butthurt ke brader dengan saga flx? afraid your “lagi best” can’t sell well ya?

• jinakkan singa on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:27 pm

agreed…seems something wrong somewhere with mr. freeze…no wonderla…letak gambar pun cicak….

• why they introduce CVT and still offer manual tranmission???

• Savvy88 on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:58 pm

because there is still have the market

• Espresso! Quick! on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:18 pm

some still prefer to buy a manual that’s why.

• WHY NOT?

there are demand for MT, so they sell it. why complain on choices that you have?

• rosdi on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Why not?

• generation on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:03 pm

May be in some way it makes sense: If there’s only 1 type of transmission, wouldnt it be more simplified in producing Saga and can reduce cost as well as reducing selling price.. But if only reduce selling price at RM2000, does it really help in attracting more buyers? may be not…. But, if can reduce cost by RM2000 per vehicle and use that RM2000 to put more touches on both the interior and exterior, definitely can attract more buyers.

• lonelyobserve on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Simple. Proton dare not to compare the two gearboxes. A good tuned CVT has better fuel consumption than not only convetional automatic gearbox, but also manual gearbox.

Just my thought, Proton maybe unable to fine tune CVT to have better fuel consumption than manual gearbox. Unless Proton has the gut to show the fuel consumption figure, verified by European standards or Australian standards.

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:52 pm

CVT is auto gearbox la… Manual is.. manual la! tatau beza?

• Hazeman Lukman on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:11 am

well of course they will still offer manual transmission. No matter how good the CVT is it still an automatic gearbox. it cant never be as smart+intuitive as a human being controlling the gearbox. and also technically+mechanically it can never be as efficient as a manual gearbox so a person driving a manual properly will surely have lower fuel consumption than this CVT.

• loveit on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:23 am

because there are still few people who pay for that stupid gearbox

• Hadi75 on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:15 am

To maximised their profit margin… Just like what other carmakers are doing…one car class but with different spec n engine to cater the market demand..

• oomph on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:38 pm

when are they releasing the fuel consumption improvement with the new cvt gearbox?

• Savvy88 on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:00 pm

One of Saga weakness is lack of aircond circulation control. owner cannot put the aircond blows on their feet.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:33 pm

it is not good to have a cold feet.

• Proton S16 is fitted with this control.

http://www.caradvice.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/Proton-S1626.jpg

• CVTLover on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:30 pm

rm90k+ T.Rush and rm70k+ T.Avanza don’t have that feature as well and no one complaint.

• fendy on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:25 am

true enough

• ichi24 on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:15 pm

it’s what we call blind loyalty

show how much toyolta faggot love their japanese car manufacturer

while the japs and cronies are laughing hard with your hard earn money all the way to the bank

• akinablue on Jul 27, 2011 at 6:56 pm

60k myvi and 70k alza also dont have!

• by the way last time i switch to the foot ac in myvi also dont feel anything also?even afte i take off my sneakers i cant fell a thing then i turn to full blow can feel a little so got to take of shoe,put ac to full blow so troublesome…

• taboogen on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:24 am

I have that option in my car and been driving it for 6 years now and never used it.. no complaint at myside.. hahha

• even a 75k vios j spec doesn’t have that feature. nobody complained oso

• eagerly waiting CVT’s to be incorporate for Persona & Exora….thinking of going for double scoope…one 4 casual & one 4 ‘makan angin’….:)

• 10 percrent reduction on the highway not too bad.
    a journey that takes 50rm previously turns 45rm

• tiadaid on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:11 pm

You’d be daft not to go for the Executive trim with all the safety features. It’s only 3K++ difference between Standard & Executive.

In fact, I don’t think they should have even bothered with Standard trim.

• My sister is thinking of buying either a Gen 2 CPS or Persona High line or Saga FLX CVT (Executive).

• anand on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Gen 2 cps for performance and feature
      Persona HL for total comfort and feature
      Saga FLX exec for balance between comfort, price and feature

All the models hv dual airbags, abs, ebd
      Should test drive first

• i dont think gen2 is selling anymore in the showroom. My fren tried to buy one and they said they had stop producing it.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Fair price for Peninsular as the price not much different from Langkawi.

• Pizayo on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:35 pm

one may want to reconsider if this is china product that is why the cost low after watch this video:
    http://youtu.be/6hOHjcZTWJo

• jl@ipl on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:44 am

Look at their electric train, after one month operations, collided!

Japan’s Shyinkansyen, accident free since introduced many-may years ago.

I wonder what when wrong.

• Hello World on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:37 pm

We should give complement to our Made In Malaysia product… Korean car are Not-Good-Looking and Not-Fuel-Efficient back in 2000… but their people support them and now… some prefer them than Japanese car~

• If you support proton, proton support lotus, then you r the biggest loser…

• This saga makes the so called “lagi best” myvi a piece of crap + total rip off..hooray 4 proton :D

• Andrew on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Oh yeah it’s my cup of tea!

• Jimmy on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Honda’s CVT in prev gen City had problems. They couldn’t handle it well, but Saga can, halliluia.
    Still the Gen-2 steering and gear knob, are they user-friendly or beautiful or what?
    You know, the showroom Saga, at the right side of the driver seat, there are 2 metal knobs fighting each other. You guess what they are. Can’t even do this small thing properly, yak.
    Who are those pekerja-pekerja pemasangan kereta Proton, are they sambil lewa aje like vast majority kakitangan awam (civil servants) ? Is it because they are sambil lewa aje that they end up getting jobs in sektor awam or Proton which are not competitive at all?
    A lot of them are engineers sijil saja (contohnya)? With the engineer name only, but not the skills/expertise/capability? Many of their projects are innovated & completed by their orang-orang bawahan yang lebih pandai tetapi engineer kecil, bukan chief? Nama doktor tetapi hati bukan doktor? Enforcement officers but in fact kelakuan/perbuatan macam….. Badan anti korupsi tetapi ……..
    Sounds familiar?

• MoFaz on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:42 am

what the hell is your point actually?

• Eyesore on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:38 am

I don’t get what are u trying to say here?

Are you saying those proton workers are not skilled enough? Are you saying the engineers are not qualified? Are you good at what you are doing? Are you skilled enough?

Many project completed by org bawahan? Tell me if there are no engineers to guide them, do you think they can do it? they might have the skill to do the work… but it need more than that to complete a project….

• Bahasa rojak…pffttt..cakap macam hebat, ingat bergaya la tu campur bahasa Malaysia and bahasa inggeris..ceh..nak guna BM, guna la BM, nak guna BI, guna la BI!

• gtmaniac on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:21 pm

The steering is different with the Gen2 (also Persona).

Get the fact straight.

• ichi24 on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:21 pm

i’ll bet even SKM automotive student far more better than your so-call “knowledge”

you just some white-collar serf lamenting your pitiful “knowledge” while blue collar laugh at your “knowledge” hahahahaha

• prolover on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Sungguh ku tak sangka ada lagi manusia menaip masej seteruk Ini. Sudahlah bahasa rojak, tambah pula dengan kesalahan tatabahasa yang sangat kritikal. Rasanya awak perlu mengambil ujian MUEt semula la. Itubaru bahasa melayu die. Belum lagi bahasa inggeris.

Pesanan: kalau hendak taip, biarla guna bahasa mudah dan senang difahami. Tidak perlu bersusah payah nak menunju sangat. Akhirnya kami tahu juga orang malaysia/melayu juga yang menaip macam tu. Hahaha

• KarimSopian on Aug 01, 2011 at 12:17 am

1. Honda’s CVT.
      2. Gen-2 steering and gear knob.
      3. 2 metal knobs in showroom Saga.
      4. Pekerja-pekerja pemasangan kereta Proton.
      5. Vast majority kakitangan awam.
      6. Engineers sijil?
      7. Doktor tapi hati bukan doktor….
      8. Enforcement oficcers…….
      9. Badan anti korupsi…..

Damn, sure a lot of things going in your mind ya Mr. Jimmy.

I’m trying to be fair to people like you, by trying to understand what you are trying to talk about.
      But, one thing for sure, I just can’t make sense of it.

Like what Mr. MoFaz asked you:

“What the hell is your point actually?”

Shessshh….

• wahedenator on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:13 pm

CVT, but referring to its picture, i dont think driver can change the gear. Isn’t it?

• generation on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:29 pm

just like the honda using CVT but without the paddle shifter… After all, the reason is Malaysia harldy use it… good la.. save troubles and maintenance..

• might as well just buy 1.6 saga….. at least the power is there and it is not dragging like a 1.3….

so what if they put cvt…. a 1.3 is still 1.3…. lethargic but a 1.6 gives you the oomph…

• David on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Yeah….P1 has done it again…..
    new improvement within half a year….those who bought the FL will kill themselves..

juz the same goes to those who had bought the first and second batch of inspira’s..

P1 always do that to their pioneer adopters…….we give them support..then after half a year they put some much better promotion or improvements…..

no wonder…so many people…still avoiding P1…

• rookie on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:44 am

thats what we call IMPROVEMENTS la bro..
      whats wrong with improvements?
      if there’s no improvements, u’ll call proton slow/makan gaji buta etc later..
      early adopters dont have to bang their head on the wall over the new models la..
      they are the genuine supporters..
      u dont just buy proton because its cheap ok?

• SeriousSam on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:26 pm

MyVi sure die meh with this Saga FLX price range

• Just wait and see, some said Exora will kill Alza from day 1.

But the reality proven they are totally wrong. That’s sad.

• kuncisudu on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:36 pm

kalo exec variant ada 1.6 memang dah jadi 1st choice aku lah. tp harga kene lagi rendah dari persona b line la.hehehe.

• David on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:44 am

1.6 lagi kuat fuel consumption than inspira 2.0….haih…another cheating case from P1

• ichi24 on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:29 pm

gladly show me your fc? i assume you happen to have knowledge that campro IAFM 1.6 is fue guzzler compare to mivec b10 2.0?

• Mask Ryder on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:57 pm

This David Boy2, is a real joker.
        1.) What wrong for P1 to improved their car base only consumer feedback ? Just as Forte change from 4 speed to 6 speed gear box. Maybe he expect same as SD still selling Matrix while oversea market have ix20 or still selling old Accent.
        2.) Persona using the same 1.6 IAFM Campro is known to be fuel efficient car (2008 Asian Auto Bosch Fuel Efficiency Award) yet he claim lighter Saga with Campro IAFM 1.6 drink more fuel than Inspira 2.0.

:-)

• Annoying ciciak bashing all over again, but yeah, this Saga is taxed too. There’s nothing tax free in Malaysia.

• Safee Sali on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Encik Anthony! :) Hi!

Nanti you nak masukkan entry seterusnya untuk Saga CVT ni,how about you masukkan sekali MPG untuk City dan Highway kerete ni. Boleh?

Looking forward la dengan kereta ni!

• Nizam80 on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:59 pm

After the launch of this FLX, I may have to eat my previous words. For RM45K you can get either:

1) New Low Spec Myvi with Dual Airbags, Manual Gearbox, Electric Power Steering.

2) Saga FLX Executive with Dual Airbags, CVT Gearbox, ABS & EBD

Now you be the judge.

• just wanna c how coming Myvi 1.5L Survive!!!! 60k to 70k???? Dead~ for sure!!!!

• Alamak, myvi vs saga in term of price & spec…
      If your looking for Dual Airbags, CVT Gearbox, ABS & EBD, go for Altis, Sylphy and so on…
      There are plenty of choices, Y choose Saga? Nicer? Better or Proton’s got better reputation compare to others?

• Cheng on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:12 am

you really dunno? CHEAP mah!?

• VoidDance on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:26 am

RM45k can get the Altis or sylphy? Baca betul-betul la.

• if he sales brand new Altis or sylphy for RM45k?? I buy 1st!!!

• ichi24 on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:36 pm

well sadly we are in malaysia, so we pay for an arm just to non-local car

if ONLY, proton are not taxed (seriously or lower the tax) and abolished AP and tax

but some cronies will bark

well it’s to bad anyway

but proton did right this time

• Oh yea, I forgot saga is for miskin people. Throughout my life I’ve never been driving proton b4…

• Unforgiven on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:19 am

Cannot compare because P1 is in different class in M’sia now.
      When you buy a P1, you know the level/class you are in.

• Nizam80 on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Not necessarily. I think that’s just a perception of a typical Malaysian mentality. Some may buy Proton as their 2nd or even 3rd car. Now, with CVT, ABS, EBD for RM45K, these potential buyers are getting one hell of a deal.

• Erika on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:06 pm

I heard that FL no longer produced, and there is no FL whole malaysia from my Proton sales person (the boss said so) another thing… do you notice that its Proton Handling for FLX and Lotus Handling for FL?

• mizzuddin on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:07 am

saya lagi suka macam tu… proton own lotus.. not another way around… saya rasa “handling by lotus” dah tak relevan… setup suspension inspira lebih baik dari lancer (pandu uji pihak paultan)

• tokmoh on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:25 am

I’ve seen Proton handling in other models’ ads too. Probably they’re more confident with their own brand now. Ok to me.

• MoFaz on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:38 am

the time has come for them to take the credits for themselves. Even Inspira is “Proton Handling”

• DewaSemut on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:47 am

same with Inspira… its Proton handling

• shawal on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:28 am

ic ic, i tot they still sell both FL and FLX , good good, now only FLX model…,

• Ruben on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Good job proton. sadly most malaysians will be dumb and go for a myvi. but still, its great that we have a cvt option for sub 50k. i’m not bashing or anything. but why is there a no airbag option if dual airbags are supposed to be compulsory by january 1st?

• Hoping the G will protect them muh.. G did say can apply extension (protection) permit…

• foxis on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:34 am

Because now is not Jan 2012.

• DewaSemut on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:41 am

i guess the standard option will be naturally phased out when the regulation takes effect

• Eyesore on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:59 am

Umm… actually Proton is ready for the airbag implementation since few years ago…. I think, the 2 manufacturer who is asking for 6 months extension does not include proton…

• they dont use the old aichikikai transmission from Japan for manual transmission. I heard they use Getrag gearbox from German for FLX model which have powershift technology which offers fuel efficiency, smooth changing gears (improve noise) and fun to drive.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VLPSS-n—c&feature=related

• pakteh on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:24 am

pfftt..

powershift,DSG,DKG are all dual-clutch gearbox!!! the clutches are all electronically controlled (by t.c.u) and NOT FOOT ACTUATED!!! of course you can opt for semi-auto and change gear using paddle shifter or gear lever but you could never intervene the clutch engane-disengage mechanism. so wether it’s from Getrag, ZF, Borg Warner, aishin or any manufacturer, manual transmission is still a manual transmission.

• Nizam80 on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:32 am

Is this true? Manual gearbox from Getrag? Can anybody from Proton clarify?

• generation on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:14 am

Oo.. I think this does explain why is the manual still more fuel efficient than CVT..

• Littlefire on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:11 am

Ur link is powershift which is a dual clutch gearbox…

CVT is using belt or chain driven, not gear as normal convention gearbox..

• lalala on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:11 am

i see exora in the vid!! or is it some other car

• Downs on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Only one question: How can they name this colour ‘Elegant Brown’? Firstly, it’s not brown. Secondly, it looks far from elegant.

Apart from that, all others are welcomed additions.

• MoFaz on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:37 am

well, there’s too many shades of similar colours. the name ‘elegant brown’ is just a code so that they know which brown they’re referring to. just… don’t bother about it. at least they didn’t label the colours as ‘kelabu asap’ or ‘kelabu taik anjing’ and so on…

• siang tadi lepak kedai kopi, overheard these typical Malaysians conversation
    “eh Saga FLX baru tu, tah ape ape tah, enjin kecik 1.3 nak letak 6 speed, mesti lagi kuat minyak, bukan boleh laju pun. nak tiru Volkswagen, ni kereta buatan MALAYSIA kot, buatan MALAYSIA, ish ish”
    =,=’ wujud lagi orang berfikiran mcm ni ya?

• generation on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:19 am

Your comment show how innocent are you. More gear ratio actually gives better acceleration as well as more fuel efficiency. Hope this is short and simple enough for you to understand. Or.. Are you a Perodua Insider who is not so happy with proton’s fast achievement and improvement?

• The hell? He’s talking about some idiots who think so that way, not himself though.

• Chicky on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:17 am

“overheard these typical Malaysians conversation”

He was talking about someone’s talk about the FLX la…

• go saga on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:54 am

my bike only below 250cc but have 6 speeds gear

• gtmaniac on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:43 am

Hmm… those ppl will be surprised if they know Fiat already put a 6-speeder on the 1st-gen Punto 1.1 a long time ago.

• taboogen on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:28 am

thats why their place is in kedai kopi.. not at the boardroom making critical decision.. and talking at kedai kopi did not count in my dictionary. They are just waste of time

• dia orang ni tak tahu menda tapi nak becakap. pastu meraban la.
      cuba tanya fungsi cvt ,mesti ngaga.

• bongek on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:30 pm

bayangkan lah kalau2 in future proton jadi among top 5 car maker in the world,,amende kekurangan proton diorg cari gamaknya…..mesti tak puas punya…

• PutraRocker on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:42 pm

p1 kt langkawi sale krg dowh..

• kamaji on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:10 am

Is this cicak guy a former inmate from Tg. Rambutan….cos I hv a feeling he got serious brain damage.Btw since when P2 parts are cheap in comparision.

• aiyaaa.. which one is better.. saga 1.6 or saga flx.. i need to buy 1 car only.. hurmm

• Proton should had include these safety features when they first launched the new Saga. Or else it would proved to be a hot selling car way back in year 2008. Sigh….felt inclined to get this one with CVT + ABS + EBD + attractive price range of only $45K. I would willing to trade in my old Saga for this one in the near future. Good job Proton.

• Myvi still the best?

• alfie60 on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:54 am

initially meant for the low income then added loads of accessories and now its for the EXECUTIVES. Guyz if you dont stop DSZ now its going to be doll up with more accessories and DSZ will launch it as SAGA PREMIER meant for CEO/ministers. The pinnacle of his Proton success is when the Saga is loaded with every accessories imagine and paint it in gold paint and call it SAGA PRESIDENT meant for our kings .

Dah bankrap idea kah bro!! :-)

• vincent on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:46 am

saga flx cvt gearbox supply by Punch, right?

• jusoh on Jul 27, 2011 at 6:42 am

will Proton Saga 1.3FLX Standard be fitted with 2 airbag after 1/1/2012?

• Finally it is good to see Proton upped the safety specs for the Saga. The inclusion of ABS is way overdue and the EBD is the icing on the cake. However to give a background to why there are such safety items included in the car is because of the export market. Over here, the Saga is known as the S16. As you may have guess it, it comes with a 1.6L engine. There is no ABS and this is a big no-no over here. Worst still is that from 2011 onwards, all new registered cars must have electronic stability control though you have 1 year grace period. By 2012, all cars must have it regardless. So S16 will be ineligible for sale in a few months time. My relative’s 2011 Nissan Micra has it even on the base ST model. That is why the Honda Jazz also equipped with EBD and available in Malaysia. We get the same car from the Thailand factory. So Proton will most likely release the new S16 with airbags, ABS and EBD very soon.

• anak dato' kk on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:22 am

Mmg proton xleh nak puaskan ati sume org. So, kalau x berkenan n rasa harga mahal dan tak bebaloi, beli je kete lain. Sama mcm exora gak dulu, aku ingat takde org nak beli sbb kete pick up takde tp berlambak2 jugak ada atas jalan. Lain org lain kemampuan dan selera dia. Jgnlah kita nak perlekehkan kehendak org lain. kalau mampu pakai la 370z ke, merz ke, bmw ke…… tp brp org je yg mampu?biasalah, cakap tak pakai duit, so ikut sedap mulut aje la. apa2pun congrat to proton sbb berjaya menghasilkan kete yg mampu beli rakyat malaysia. Bersyukurlah……

• misteri on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:35 pm

gua sokong lu bro…

sblm ni Proton xder CVT, ABS ngn EBD tu…melalak2 nak sumer tuh kat Proton..bila Proton dh ikut permintaan pelanggan dia…mula la bangkt isu lain CVT problem la…apa la…klau korang rasa nak buat keter sesuatu yg murah, tlglah produce keter sendiri…ikut citarasa korang sendiri…cmpk la apa feature yg korang nak kat keter tuh….

pls la jgn compare Proton ngn keter yg dah lebih 50 tahun kat market….atau compare dengan negara yg teknologi dia mmg lg advance dr kita wpun br produce keter…

apa yg aku leh kata…Proton lg bagus dr Perodua sb wpun byk defect, at least engineer dia ada gak bt keje..tuning, R&D and designer dia pun ada gak la bt keje….and 1 lagi…design wise….ini kata mbr aku yg mmg designer……KEJE REKABENTUK MEMANG KEJE MENIRU. REKABENTUK ADALAH KEJE MENGUBAHSUAI REKEBENTUK YG DAH ADA KE 1 YG MUNGKIN LEBIH BAIK. DAN REKABANTUK ADALAH SESUATU YG SGT SUBJEKTIF….so jgn la kata proton tiru forte, ini tiru ni…..

• Chilavert on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:56 am

wake up p2 !!

• shawal on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:08 am

P2 is doing fine , while we wait for proton to come up with something home-grown and exciting, (sometimes disastrous & distasteful ) , P2 has been providing the consumer with tried and tested reliable vehicles ….

• albag on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:06 am

one thing remains the same… IT LOOKS DAMN UGLY!!! despite what technology proton squeeze into this car… it will never stand out of the crowd… Myvi bashers, face the fact… Myvi is still the best selling car in Malaysia, u can buy more Vaseline to rub your tiny little ass if you’re butthurt.

oh yea, conclusion here is that, people tend to buy car DUE TO ITS LOOK, NOT PERFORMANCE OR WHATEVER FANCY GADGETS AVAILABLE IN THE CAR… proton saga FLX still looks like a piece of shit… If you want performance, dont try talking cock and go buy Ferrari / Lamborghini and race your asses in Sepang Circuit laaaaaaa~!!! after all these are passenger cars and the purpose is to bring you to point A to point B. nuff said.

• gabla on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:40 am

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/20110718151637/Article/index_html

nuff said.

• DewaSemut on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:10 am

Ugly to you and some others maybe…

to me and perhaps some others the “katak kembung” Myvi is not pretty either = damn ugly also

• albag on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:51 pm

thats to you only… but for the high best selling Myvi owners think Myvi looks far better… its MAJORITY… GET IT???

• Depends on people la bro… I DON’T think MAJORITY bought the car simply for the look. I bought a MYVI 2 years ago, Full Spec. I would have bought this saga if they have sold it 2 years ago…

• Driver on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:43 pm

Majority doesn’t always right bro..chill~

• sixtythree on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:51 am

Your ignorance towards cars tech is regretted. This is why we, Malaysian end up being a dump site for those car models with so-called “good looking” but pathetic technologies.

• albag on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:03 pm

who cares??? we dont like driving pathetic designed cars either… Its better to drive something which is more comfortable for the eyes than driving something which look like a pile of shit… juz like the saga -> saga FL (look even worse) -> saga flx (still the same old worse shit)…

everyday you have to see such a ugly car and drive from point A to point B… its madness!

• all the ppl i met thinks myvi looks like a pile of shit. and not the saga.

• albag on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:34 pm

too bad… all the ppl i met saga is a pile of shit… dont try to comfort yourself dude…

• simasen on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:47 pm

meh,.all the ppl i met complaining nonsensical things are spewing shit..

keh keh keh keh

• MoFaz on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm

hey albag, your words is full of shit.

• pyopyo on Jul 27, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Budu nyeee laaaaaaa~~~~~ Nah,aku bagi ko kata-kata ko balik!

“after all these are passenger cars and the purpose is to bring you to point A to point B. nuff said.”

Dah tu! Apa lagi nak bising? Ko dah taw abang2 kakak2 kat sini was hoping at least performance Saga reasonable atau meningkat even a slight chance lepas install CVT,mesti la borak pasal performance. Parallel dengan topik performance,mereka mengharapkan fuel efficiency meningkat.

Nak tahu kenapa ko kena thumbs down? Supaya pembaca memberi kesedaran kepada kau untuk lebih berhati-hati memilih kereta. Dah kalau prinsip ko,’Biar slow,xslesa,no safety, janji BERGAYA..err…deemmm lah. I cannot say..seraamm aih~~~

Aku rasa ko yang butthurt ni…

Need KY jelly?

• albag on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:36 pm

your writing in English or BM… damn if you failed to communicate in English, stop writing rubbish here.. i know you’re butthurt when i talk shit on saga… u can go buy some vaseline to rub your silly butt now.. moron!

• sukasuki on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:56 am

ini org kuat ego, xbleh terima pndpt org. jgn komen klau ego tu kuat sgt. duduk diam2 baca paultan. x professional langsung.

• narakka on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:37 am

albag,damn you failed also to communicate in English,BM or more worse.no budi bahasa.talk2 like moron people also.dont condem mah
          what religion are u?really shame has same religion like u.

• albag on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:49 pm

hey saga fag, it’s none of your business… if you’re not happy of what i say on saga, juz get the hell out of here!!!

• Eyesore on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:14 am

Paul… why are you letting this kind of comments being displayed? offensive and offers no value at all?

albag… I don’t care if you and a bunch of other ppl thinks myvi is good looking saga is not…. beauty is in the eyes of the beholder…. there a lot of other ppl thinks saga is much better looking than myvi… what gives you right to say they are wrong?

in terms of quality, myvi also got a lot of problem… engine noise, warped disk brake (yet to hear a recall), power window switch, wind noise etc etc…..

• albag on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:08 pm

i dont even care what u say on Myvi… first of all, its my NEGATIVE COMMENTS on this piece of junk, and i can say whatever i like. if you cant accept it, JUST GET THE HELL OUT OF HERE… second, its NONE OF YOUR DAMN BUSINESS if you dislike what i say… third, as i said, FACE THE FACT, MYVI IS THE BEST SELLING CAR, which beats away saga sales… you’re juz unable to accept the fact that Myvi is still a very popular and MILES BETTER LOOKING than saga junk… nuff said.

• Jflcorp on Sep 20, 2011 at 1:08 am

Why are you so proud of a rebadged expensive Daihatsu Sirion? Oh for your info a Sirion is a knocked down, poor man’s Toyota Passo. So what does that make a Myvi?

Please don’t just simply talk bad about and talk nonsense about this Saga. I think it’s a fine car given it’s price tag and features offered.

Do you get anything to be such a fanatic on the imitation Sirion? Maybe you are a Perodua salesman seeing sales flying out to Proton. Too bad….

• bagal on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:14 pm

MyVi is good for bachelor and people who cannot do proper Parallel Parking. I think that is why girls prefer MyVi.

albag, go learn how to parallel park properly first, then you’ll appreciate the boot space on the Saga. Otherwise, when you get married and have childrens, you might need to install a Roof Rack for luggage. Won’t be pretty no more.

Those who bought the Saga are a people who are trying to squeeze every bit out of their hard earned money. I’m not very proud to drive a Saga, but to call our Saga a pile of shit.. ALBAG, you NIMCOMPOOP, you hurt many people’s feeling.

• Maserati on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:13 am

Another piece of crap from Proton.Yeah it might be cheap at the beginning,but lets see how much you gonna pay if it breaks down in the middle of the road,or the CVT screws up.My previous Audi used CVT.And even it broke down twice!! Luckily warranty was still applicable.For a Proton car using CVT? Goodluck is the only thing i can say to their buyers!

Come on lah,the interior is hideous,its still using that lousy CAMPRO engine.This car is “LAGI TERUK”!

• Jealous~ U got Audi? 80’s or 90’s then I believe~ if u said u got newest model, photos i believe…. Wakaka

• eichang on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:35 pm

test drive pun belum lagik…sebuk ckp kete tu teruk….pelik2

• Nizam80 on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Yeah, right….

..your Audi….

• cappucion on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:03 pm

No.. his story is true…. I think what in Malaysian minds still the more expensive is a car, the more reliable it is… Techy stuff are not reliable…. European cars are not as reliable as japanese… but dun worry proton, even proton able to correct the CVT problems that have in LAncer to be put into Inspira.

• John Keller on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:08 am

Why is CVT bad? I don’t understand your remark. I’ve been driving Jazz 1.5 iDsi CVT since Oct 2004, so it’s turning 7 years old this Oct, I never had ANY problem with it. Why? Why? Why?

• Syabas to Saudi Arabia Proton with this new Saga price starts from only RM19,299.00!

• akinablue on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:24 pm

errr…saga ada jual kat saudi ke??pls provide fact..i wanna know

• North_Boyz on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:14 am

the MALAYSIAN x pernah puas…always complaint2…aiy0o…..

• Very substantial upgrade from Proton. The only meaningful competition the Proton Saga has is Perodua Myvi, have to say Proton is moving one step a head now. The offering from Perodua is sorely lacking.

• like PROTON on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:49 am

good job PROTON..

GO…GO…GO..

• jl@ipl on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:50 am

PT,

If I remember correctly, the CVT gearbox’s warranty handled by the Punch Motive themselves. Am I correct?

TQ.

• “why tak letak all this in the FL? now all FL buyers mesti butthurt”

utk menjawab persoalan ini senang je.
    1. development timing
    2. business strategy

of course kalau boleh PROTON mesti nak letak all the features in the FL model. Tapi mungkin development timing, testing procedures, approvals etc menyebabkan the features can only be use starting with the FLX model. Then, korang tanya plak…Why launch the FL if PROTON knew the additional features will come later? Of course ini dah masuk cerita business strategy. Nak tak nak Proton kena lakukan model Facelift untuk bersaing dalam pasaran dengan rival terdekat, Perodua. Macam juga Apple, kenapa keluarkan iPhone 3GS kalau tahu iPhone 4 nak launch soon? Kenapa ada iPad2 sedangkan iPad baru je launch tak sampai setahun. Geddit?

so why butthurt? kalau korang berfikiran camtu mmg takkan beli kereta la weh..

• SeriousSam on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:24 am

we can expect another myvi special edition to counter this FLX

LoL

• when launch 1.6L with CVT ? what is price……

• taboogen on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:20 pm

soon… or sooner or later… or it might be just around the corner..

• taboogen on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:21 pm

soon… or sooner or later… or it might be just around the corner.. more choice rite… now we have plenty of option.. old tech.. new tech… just ask your bank how much they can approved your loan.. hehe

• SimulateMan on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Myvi mmg failed. Aku yg tinggi 6 feet ni, bila masuk myvi, terasa cramp, sempit bai.kalo bwk kereta tu, mesti kena gelak dgn member.Dah la kereta pendek, 4 speed, kalo bawak rasa mcm boat, tapi harga mahal. Mahal sebab P2 kena bayar royalti kat org jepun. Kalo kereta tu laku bagai nak rak, yg untung org2 jepun. Pekerja2 P2 tentu la dpt bonus 6-7 bln, tp org2 jepun lagi banyak dpt bai. Tapi P1 pun dah buat mcm tu kat inspira. So kesimpulan, jgn beli kereta P2 dgn inspira. Ciss.

• UnsimulateMan on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:52 pm

p1 pun guna mitsubishi(jepun) gak,bukan hanya inspira je,semua produksi pun ada campur tangan orang jepun sama ada secara terang atau sulit disebaliknya…….. nak komplen pun tengok fakta dulu…bukan p1 atau p2 fail,ko tu yang fail dulu pasal kurang pengetahuan..belajar rajin2 sebelum buat kesimpulan…..

• MoFaz on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:22 am

memang la.. BMW pon tak buat 100% kereta dia. byk jugak parts dari company lain. Kan SimulateMan cakap jangan beli Inspira, sebab byk peratusan yang perlu diberi kepada Jepun. beli la kereta yg dibangunkan oleh Proton sendiri, sbb duit yang mengalir keluar dari negara dapat dikurangkan.. paham?

• i nampak orang 6 feet banyak yang pakai motr jer, pi la pakai motor.

• taboogen on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:19 pm

they forgot to mention that the meter cluster have vew face.. not new but a bit nicer to look at night

• Safee Sali on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Harap-harap proton keluarkan Saga FLX 1.6!

Reasonable dengan size kereta,then again minyak pun jimat!

Yahoo! Saya yang gaji sederhana pun mampu! :D

• yala, pas tu keluar Merdeka edition, wawasan 2020 edition, pas tu, edisi 1 Malaysia, edisi Iskandar, edisi ECER, edisi, dan macam macam edisi lagi

• Prismo on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:36 pm

amoi butthurt… itu cerita lama wei… dah basi… sekarang ni myvi yg dah terlampau byk edition… tunggu la edition baru.. Myvi special hot pink amoi limited edition… Myvi 1.5 DVVT (Dual Voltage Vtec Turbo..<– Wakakaka).

• xprezzy on Jul 27, 2011 at 5:48 pm

ehh? why this time no Campro engine cover? hurmm..

• cappucion on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:23 pm

With all the additional safety features to add on resulting in no space putting engine cover, can save the weight of the car as well. The engine cover is covering the engine actually let malaysia doubt on Campro, removing it also better.

• sukeProton on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:33 pm

persona Tg. Djan pn xde cover tu… sebijik mcm yg ko tgk kt saga flx tu…

• no need engine cover lah. campro layout and design is very nice to the eye.

• shawal on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:05 am

Proton should give you guys a long-term test model, like how UK dealers gives to their local mags , This proton is quiet a tempting prospect, but everyone’s fear is the reliability issue of the CVT , unless proton willing to back it up with a 7 year or at least 5 year warranty…. ,

btw , does anybody here know how long they’ve tested the box? anybody from proton? i know you guys are here….

• MoFaz on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:32 am

Proton tested the CVT for at least 100,000km.. that should last for at least 5 years under normal usage. many said Punch’s CVT should be as reliable as conventional auto gearbox.

• kamaji on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:33 pm

How do you know or just hearsay from somebody or actually you work for P1.

• MoFaz on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:20 pm

refer back to many many many previous articles in paultan. i give u a clue, they used saga blm body (not the FL one) to test the CVT for 100,000km.

• SoMeOnE on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:26 am

myvi being good looking is the worst comment anyone has made….the car came at a period where proton was really messing up (more than usual) and people realized that the myvi was a much more reliable product then what proton was dishing out back in the day…..and so as initial buyers spread the news..word of mouth did the rest and it became the defacto car for first time buyers college kids etc….but under DSZ proton has made improvements and the saga ..though not the a looker..is not offensive…its a conventional neatly done saloon

the myvi ON THE OTHER HAND was not built with looks as a main priority..not even second!..its designed to be a spacious as possible with a small footprint..it was designed to be functional…maybe we have got used because we see them so often on the road..but that upright stance..wierd headlights and garrish detailing is NOT WHAT YOU WOULD CALL NICE..seriously guys..no offence…but its surely not in the running in the looks department…

• nazryyy on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:23 pm

ahhhhh…. i already buy saga fl 3 month ago…… very the rugi!!

• MoFaz on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:23 pm

ayoo.. u should check paultan more often. news about proton testing CVT has been around for quite some time.

• mamat on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Mende ni? mcm tambah emblem ‘FLX’ je..
    laju ke? pickup sangat ke? lepas ni version ape plak kuar?

• PauMaster on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:11 am

I don’t understand why some say there is no improvement or nothing new
    CVT, ABS, EBD now included doesn’t count for improvement over the previous models?
    The pricing still remains true to Saga ranges.
    As for comparing MyVi to it, that’s a totally different story. MyVi “allegedly” has better reliabillty. Let’s see them owners wager the price difference against Saga owners.
    To make things fair, Saga is not without it’s limitations either, but at least the P1 owners acknowledge them…right?

• Insp Sahab on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:31 am

i think Myvi is much much better. Interior , exterior & quality. The engine is very good. jimat minyak lagi. no need cvt

• tripod on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:16 pm

still no folded rear seat??

• Say NO to timing belt. Bye bye

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 31, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Calling the CVT a six-speeder is a misnomer and can seriously mislead readers, who’d expect a conventional six-speed automatic. All this CVT does when you press the SAT button is lock itself into six set ratios to simulate a normal gearbox. Otherwise, it varies the ratio infinitely so that the engine is always in a position to provide maximum power and torque.

Seriously, a well-known local automotive blog should know better.

• tattoo sleeve on Aug 01, 2011 at 9:11 am

myvi or saga, both hv their own pros n cons. but for me, saga is better :)

• nak beli kereta ni bergantung pd budget sendiri. nak selesa carilah kereta yang benar2 telah anda pandu uji dan bukannya main dengar pandangan orang sekeliling. tidak semestinya yang mahal itu lebih bagus kondisinya dari yang murah. yang sangat utama, wang saku bulan sentiasa cukup untuk terus2an anda berjalan2.

• Jflcorp on Sep 19, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Well I was looking for a replacement for my 15year old car. What better opportunity to win over the critical Second in Charge then a 3 day test drive. So we were in Langkawi for a vacation and the Saga’s there were renting cheaply, I got a BLM Auto Standard. No doubt this was not the new FLX but at least we got the taste of the car.

The results were very positive to say the least,the boot space was enormous, the rear seats were spacious and the engine albeit a little breathless under a heavy foot was chirpy enough. The thirst was not too bad either. From blinking reserve lights, a fill up of Rm30 of Ron95 Fuelsave from the one and only Shell on Langkawi, till 3 days and 130kms + later, the fuel indicator was on the last quarter. Not into reserves yet!

So the verdict is out, and the audience have spoken, Saga FLX 1.3 CVT Executive will be ordered. Although I was a bit apprehensive of the CVT, but after some research, it seems like a good system to replace the torque convertor A/T.

A lot of comments seem negative, outright biased on the Saga, but I say put your mouth where your money is. Myvi this and Myvi that, it’s your choice. Nobody is putting a gun to your head to buy a Saga, you don’t like it, don’t buy it. One man’s meat maybe another’s poison.

• ashraf on Nov 23, 2011 at 5:26 pm

I just paid deposit for this flx. Now the problem is.. I dont know what color to choose. I prefer brown. But black also nice.

I’m worried about their after sales. Afraid of the gearbox rosak. Argh..

• sy pun plan nak beli jgk saga flx exec sebabnyer ada promotion 1k sampai hujung bulan 12 ni tapi macam ashraf cakap tula risau gak dengan gearbox cvt dia kalo ada pape problem sbbyer ada terbace forum berbunyi..

“smlm je ada dua kereta saga FLX gearbox pecah/rosak/minyak keluar kat heway PLUS….rosak daa..
      sapa2 nak amik flx baru ni.tunggu la 6 bulan lagi tgk ketahan dia cemana…
      Plat KDA XXX(baru lagi) tapi gearbox suda kong…~!!
      boss….PLUSronda suda check… gearbox minyak menitik…radiator tak pulak pecah…
      tp saya mahupun Plusronda bukan owner…
      nak tau lanjut kene tanya owner”

sy mmg suka sgt kereta saga fl exec tp tula da keliru jadinyer ke dpt kereta tu ikut nasib je elok ke tidak condition die..

• Sister just sign a loan for a Saga 1.3 FLX Executive blue rock. Like the car, lots of safety features. Probably will get it in a few days… hooray!

• Hi guys, its so interesting to read all of your comments, its lik one stop for all the ans i need about a car. I would lik to get all the u guys opinion..

1. Which model is more marketable ? 1.3 FLX or 1.6 FLX ? Do u tink the current marketing strategy for 1.3 FLX wil b more effective for the next 24mts ? why?

2. “What do u tink proton should improve on FLX 1.3 model ? why ? ”

Pls guys i really need comment for this….tq