Proton stringently re-evaluating all its vendors

Proton stringently re-evaluating all its vendorsAccording to reports, Proton says it will reevaluate all its vendors as it sets out to ready its plant for the production of its new global car, slated to enter the market early 2012.

Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin said the more stringent reevaluation of the Proton vendors is to minimise the level of defects in the new car. “At the moment, we have identified 20 Proton vendors from the 108 for our new model. Some vendors will be merged to ensure a better quality of production,” he told reporters yesterday.

The reports add that the company has also signed a MoU with the National Productivity Corporation to enhance the abilities of its vendors through a Business Excellence Practices (BEx) model, which represents a working structure capable of evaluating the performance of a company in terms of leadership, customer focus, planning, information, processes and outcome.

“The target objective is to enhance the ability of the Proton vendors to be more competitive, in line with the government initiative, as outlined in the Third Industrial Masterplan,” said Syed Zainal.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Good move from Proton. No more political involvement in Proton.

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:34 am

previously proton has passed TUV certification for Savvy.. in the end, the parts that fail come from Renault.

• Littlefire on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:37 pm

TUV is a safety regulation to validate the safety of products of all kinds to protect humans and the environment against hazards.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technischer_%C3%9Cberwachungsverein

It has nothing to do with part quality.. So please get it right…

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:12 pm

TUV did the audit from raw materials until the finished products in vendors, and overall assembly of the cars in Proton plant. do you hear complaints about Savvy parts except for the AMT from Renault?
          do you think there’s only one ISO standard under TUV?

• What do you mean ‘nothing to do with parts quality’? How is a vehicle – a product – safe if some parts failed?

• Littlefire on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:14 am

So the Renault engine & AMT fail (engine & Gearbox is the most important in the car right?)? Does TUV check all P1 parts quality? In the end, wif so much advert and safety TUV bla bla bla… Savvy also close shop de…

I have heard a lot of complains for savvy, especially in the net.. Just type savvy complain u have tons of it.. Somemore the famous news of blamming Renault & QA for the poor sales.. So in the end, does TUV really help improve the Quality?!?

• Bobby on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:46 am

No Littlefire,

YOU ARE WRONG.

Because I am an ISO 9001:2006 and TS16949:2009 Internal Auditor for some Proton supplier parts.TUV can be regarded as the same for ISO, just it is in different country. And I would say TUV is the most stringent standard of all.

TUV did concern on the engine faulty from Renault. All parts are important and for Proton car, all their supplier must have accredited ISO 9001:2006 status. The purpose of TUV and ISO/TS is to provide a benchmark for suppliers and contractors to achieve good quality, continuous improvement, documentation etc.

AND please don’t take Wikipedia as reference BECAUSE it could be written by a foreman in a workshop hiding in downtown Munich or anyone. Wikipedia is the worst reference source.

• mohsin on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:33 pm

kudos! no more kroni = crowny!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:13 am

Its not about Mahaleel, its not about DSZ, its about P1 which is so infant in the industry.

Either improves or close down……DSZ had been in the helm for so long…….2005 until 2011…………6 YEARS !!!!! Lama tuhhhhhhh………………..only now want to improve vendor????

If you want to improve something, 3 years is enuff, just look at Tony n Idris……………….

Go fly kite la…………..!!!!

• It is much easier to set up a new company compare to clean all the sh!t that leave by others.. Dont talk2 je.. Ce bg proposal skit.. Haiya…

• Amin GmbH on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:34 am

what I think about leadership is taking risk and not deterred by the fact all subordinates and customers were expecting. If he was responsible for his own job then only we consider CEO title got its own acquiescent model to be followed. yet, automotive is a manufacturing industry not aerospace/commercial flights.

if you are experienced coworker of a just a little factory, the politics go down divisively between staffs and you should expect no teamwork who back up at your 6. you go to work 5.5days/week just to quarrel over matters those are going to save your asses and not doing anything about giving added values to products, products improvement and CEM Cause Effect Matrix. so here, all factory coworkers are envious of R&D division.

Should you have children who are going to universities under engineering course, I would strongly suggest your sons to avoid anything related to manufacturing. Yes I know you love your children’s future and having a decent jobs, so with all due respect, scoff factory jobs. A sovereign/defensive nations never outsource their manufactured products yet in reality wars take place only in factory and never add up to dry things. you want to have skilled workers but let them build the skills and what haves up alone at first. If you need a Mazak machine, buy yourself.

To DSZ, my hat’s off.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:07 am

P1 needs to define what is Quality? At what quality level P1 should be offering and customers should be accepting???

Customers cannot expect P1 to deliver a Merc quality with the price of Perodua, and Customers also cannot expect P1 to delivers a Perodua with a qulaity of Merc.

We take P1 Director of Quality as an example. What is his background? His experience? His cars? If he is driving a P1, working experience so long in P1, bla bla bla P1, u dont expect the qualtity of P1 gonna change soon……it is bcoz he has no CLUE whatsoever how Merc quality is? how Bimmer quality is??? You are what you are made of….

I strongly believes Danny is needed in P1, rather than Lotus……

p/s Toyota is no longer can be associated with QUALITY since the thousands of recall in 2009 ~ 2010……..

• yes this is what we wait for…good move proton

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:35 am

If follow last time VW audit, more than 90% of vendor failed. That why Proton chicken out on merger and partnership. Now want to produce global car, waite and see …… how true ……..

• Unforgiven on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:48 am

Possible…

• akinablue on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:17 pm

see what happens to suzuki + VW allies..VW cannot be trusted!

• mizzuddin on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:23 pm

don’t be such pessimistic laa…

they hardly try to improve u know… automotive is about enthusiasm and so the engineers… just hope the businessmen don’t spoil the spirit…

• Unforgiven on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:39 am

I think they have changed the faced Proton badge vendor… I think the Gen2 is not using the faced Proton badge anymore right?

• khaix19a on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:40 am

finally

• jamal on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:43 am

yes to that. especially mahalel era vendor.

• BadBET on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:47 am

last night in buletin utama, DSZ also mention that Proton had terminate some vendor. Keep the good job, and keep out those blood sucking cronies vendor too. Maybe now they realize that buyers are more important for their survival rather than some shitty vendor.

• Patriot on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:48 am

There will be political involvement in Proton. Our UMNO government will

never change.

• Just me on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:00 pm

With the way malaysia doing thing, no way that there is 100% no cronies vendor.

• Bob Vettel on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Crony’s not just an UMNO problem. I doubt PKR and the gang don’t practice cronyism.

• Critique on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:52 am

Another move in the right direction !

Hopefully this will result in a better product for consumers out there.
    Then the oth foreign brands in the market will hv to up their game as well !

Cheers :)

• huiyoo on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:57 am

this is what Proton should do ten years ago

• ichi24 on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:57 pm

ten years ago was mahathir and mahalel idiot era

now DSZ era, see where you put your brain liao

• the idiot mahathir u said give u everything u have now

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:16 pm

And that is rising debts and stupid putrajaya white elephants products not to mention the father of Proton that made cars super expensive to keep up with his pet project. Yea pretty much what we have now is contributed by him.

• Noway on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:13 am

Do you think Proton will still improve if not for it’s competitors and the rakyat frustration ? If we the rakyat keep quiet and still support proton, they wont bother improving except profit. With Internet, one comment, complain and the world can see.

• huiyoo on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:20 am

who cares about the era, its about the brand, the quality of the car. we are not buying mahathir, we are not buying DSZ, we are buying Proton cars

• droll on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:58 am

i just hope they can pull this off and let the consumers be the final winner. just wait for now and see how.

• rookie on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:59 am

yes, finally..
    this is wat they should do decades ago..
    cuz no matter how good the design/technology is from proton, the quality issues from the vendors are the ones that tainted proton’s name..

dont forget to evaluate those service centers too..

• sleme on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:01 am

Empty talk. Empty promises. It should have been done years ago. MD’s balls will shrink when the uncompetitive but very well connected vendor makes the all important phone call. Everyone knows this. That is also the reason why without government protection (self serving aint it) Proton is doomed to failure…

• ichi24 on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:13 am

i’m sorry, who was at proton helm back years ago? hmmm?

just because some stupid stuff mahalel left to DSZ, you still want to blame DSZ? i lol at your mentality

• baruang on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:50 am

agreed, P1 current advisor still Dr. M maaa….father of all cronies…P1 try to improve by one side…but the older side which grown up by ‘tak apa’ culture will fail them..
      one phone call can settle all the problem maaa….doesn’t matter how big it is..good luck

• mythbuster on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:13 pm

as long dr.M is proton advisor , no one can save proton from cronies issue. all efforts are just pour down to drain only. anyway, keep it proton.

• do you all have prove…..what i see the cronies u said actually just puppet m***y who have no power control by ch****e boss…just like my company right now…not from M*A but from D** ch****e….M***y function as simbolic bumiputra in company

• LatukBandar on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:05 am

I want to be optimistic, but knowing how most of our GLC runs, I shall reserve my doubt until they really take action.

Wawasan 2020, Cyberjaya, Islam Hadhari, Multimedia Supercorridor, Iskandar Johor… all nothing more than slogans.

Don’t get me wrong, I want our malaysian companies to make profit… make profit by selling products to foreigners.

We shall see, coz by kicking out one vendor and allow another equally lousy vendor to come in does not equals a change in quality. Not to mention, there is no stopping these cronies from setting up another ‘new’ 2 ringgit company with a new name but same of directors and owners that supply the same parts.

Talk is cheap, lets hope Proton take serious action. See you at your showroom next year.

• MCdog on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:51 am

These GLC inflate all the cost and price of good and service like no tomorrow. Lets pray that smart and honest cronies beat those stupid and lazy cronies.

• kamaji on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:52 pm

I fully agree with you Latuk…..Chop off all the RM2 so call suppliers with no bloody manufacturing facilty & procure directly whether local or foreign as long as the quality is good & cheap.If Proton really wants to go global, then first they must think & act like a global car producer.I believe DSZ hands were tied in some way but to survive in the open market, he must find some ways to break loose.Change the ppl perception on Proton car from now & sell affordable quality or reliable cars.No need to beat or match the Toyota in quality but simply come close will be great.All this while P1 name have been tarnished by it’s own vendors & partly by the assembly guys.Firstly they must take pride in their work without any compromise & must also believe that the car that they worked on might ended up with their own buying relative.

• It’s the battle of good boys vs bad boys.

• Vincent on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:05 am

Those bad apple have to go!!!
    What I am worry is, due to political influent, the good one would have to sell toad one, and slowly, the good will turn bad!!

• DSZ really DO IT. not like…………

• ouldmenaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:12 am

Orang selalu cakap Proton x bagus la, tingkap fail la, itu ini x kene la… sebenarnya Proton ok je, cuma vendor diorang je yang kaut untung lebih. So kualiti kurang.. untung lebih. Kalau nak kereta Proton murah, suruh vendor yang kaut untung berlebihan tu agak-agak amek untung. Vendor jual murah, Proton pun murah. Vendor berkualiti, Proton pun ade kualiti. Ni yang aku rasa la.

• Betul betul betul

• BadBET on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:30 am

then why proton did not stop using those shity vendor? If vendor mark up crazy price, why dont they terminate that vendor? Proton can change to be a world class manufacture only if they stop mixing politic and cronies with bussiness.

• ouldmenaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Proton x boleh terminate vendor sesuka hati. Semua ada agreement. And if vendor x boleh atau melanggar perjanjian then proton akan terminate this vendor. It all about aggreement.

• BadBET on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:29 pm

lol… it is Proton or vendor who set up the agreement? Just set up the agreement ; part MUST be world class, then follow strictly to it. Or do you mean the agreement sound like this ; ‘as long vendor provide part, proton will accept even it a crap, can kaw tim maa… later buyer can go to service center la if got problem ‘ previous management had done it, and the result – Proton had put sand in their own rice bowl.
          Proton must be the master of their vendor, not the other way around. If the car is low on quality, it proton fault because they the one who choose those vendor.
          LOL if KFC taste like shit, are you going to blame the chicken supplier or the KFC it self?

• reDalerT on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:16 pm

memang susah nak explain kat orang yang tak paham pasal legal contract…

• BadBET on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:29 pm

legal contract? The thing I dont understand is, why GLC always make stupid legal contract that bind them to doom.
            Make a proper contract that benefit the people, not just some people.
            Ex: plus – G, tnb – IPP, west port , proton – vendor

Did they bind contract with no turn around even the the vendor lead them to doom?

• ouldmenaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Understood. But u must know, behind every vendor got berbelas Dato’ or whatsoever lah yg pegang syer dlm company vendor tu. U can check it. That y Proton is still like that bcoz of this.

• prove it!!!

• pacifictuna on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:37 am

went to proton showroom yesterday. noticed there is indeed a ‘lifetime warranty**’ printed in the brochure of Saga FLX for it’s power windows.

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:21 pm

I would like to know if there’s anyone who had successfully claim the ‘lifetime’ warranty. Furthermore, lifetime is very vague, for all you know there’s a fine print that says lifetime warranty of the 3 yr warranty

• last 3 weeks I went to proton COE Service Center and claim for this “lifetime warranty power windows”. Service Advisor admit they have know about it but they wont have a proper instruction according this warranty claims. They I bising-bising and maki hamun around at COE SC from service advisor to mechanic supervisor to payment counter just for this warranty(I couldnt find boss for after sales/service center), only after that they do it. Why la they dont have proper instruction according this claim. I believe a better way proton to improve is to make complain counter at service center then they should act for it urgently.

• alpha999 on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:32 am

good plan..ya da ya da ya da………BUT……walk the talk…

• civicEK on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:38 am

make it fast if not u’re going to be left behind so faaaaar away in this industry~

• alfie60 on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:43 am

With Tun Mahathir and Dtk Nadzmi at the helm things will not change much. Its interesting that Proton just won another award from…yes you guess it from Frost & Sullivan. It seems that this Frost & Sullivan existance is dedicated to give awards and accolades for our Proton SKU(syarikat kurang upaya).
    Its just like Anwar Ibrahim telling his supporters to form as many NGO body as they can and then to endorse him.
    What is interesting is when DSZ said that Proton has spend about $90m on R & D to improve its quality thus the F&S award is given to them.
    Is it like bribing the vendors $90M not to supply shitty parts to Proton?;-)

• PakAbu on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:16 pm

SKU … :lol:

• ichi24 on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:01 pm

hello, how many time people said, don’t bring past problem to DSZ.

you got some grudge to a guy who actually now making a changes to proton, for once?

if you want to blame all the crisis in our automotive industries, please point to mahathir and his cronies.

• alfie60 on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:07 pm

Hello Bro,dont you know Mahathir is back in Proton and is there to protect the 300+ vendors supply about $7 billion worth parts.
        Typical of Proton to make news with out substance. Remember when Proton announce many years ago when they acquired Fraser & Nash to do electric cars! BIG HYPE and then bugger all! To Proton is all about spending and kick backs.
        Everybody knows that the power window company has Mahathir bro-in-law Tan Sri Hashim as chairman and Najib’s bro as deputy chairman.
        Car stereo Clarion is supplied thru his son-in-law earlier then restructured.
        Wont be surprise the $90m goes to cover the powerwindow vendor losses now that they have to replace more parts to each car. ;-)

• Annihilated on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:10 pm

I hate cronies esp those incompetent ones.

Dear alfie60,

You may contribute to better malaysian product by filing your report or fact or claim above to SPRM. Otherwise, echoing hear says like a parrot doesn’t make anything better. It’s time to show if you have some ‘balls’.

• DewaSemut on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Pls DZS… no more uneven gaps and failed parts from now on. The car’s quality and equipment level should be consistently the same, be it for export or domestic market… then you can say its a global car.

Proton themselves must set the bar, not leaving the vendors too much free hands & there must be ZERO tolerance in accepting sub standard parts produced… No more “kesian2” or “boleh guna lagi nie…” “rosak sket jer nie, membazir laa kalau buang” QC standards! Proton Vendors must be far sighted… Proton’s future is their future too!

To blame 100% on vendors is not fair… I have regularly met Proton vendors (which also serve other car makers) in the past (on work basis), they said that unlike other carmakers, Proton’s mould have to be produced by the vendor themselves and this practice is very costly to the vendors and pressed their margin down. I would presume that because of this maybe some of the vendors resorted using “not so good” raw material or change the formulation just to save their bottomline … dunno whether it is still practiced today.

If it still is…the best is for Proton to supply its own mould for the parts, not the vendors, and the vendors just fit it into their production line, so that Proton themselves can control the part specifications, mould wise and it helps to bring the cost down on the vendors side.

Merging of vendors is most welcomed to achieve economies of scale. Good luck Proton.

• Cheng on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:14 pm

… which means all the “non-global” proton cars now are equiped with poor quality parts from the lousy vendors. Good point.

• alfie60 on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm

For Proton to go global,we need to have Tun Mahathir appointed as Sec-Gen of United Nation where he can instruct all the other global car manufacturer to increase the selling price and lower their quality abit as they are making Proton look bad! :-)

• Haro Wilson on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:23 pm

wat happen to ur “high international standard” TUV ?

should look at others how vendor-car assembly model work then compare

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Where is the German guy in the Savvy advertistment that ensure every Savvy pass his inspection. I think now he got the Proton fat cheque and fly back to German to enjoy his toss and drink good beer!

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:32 pm

TUV certification isn’t small thing. TUV is well recognised organizations around the world that work to validate the quality and safety of products. Do you think TUV simply come, stamp the certificate then balik joli katak? Do you think TUV would jeopardize their reputation?
        Vendors for Savvy must conform to, for example the ISO, QS and TS 16949 standards. Do you hear complains about Savvy, other than engine and AMT provided by Renault? Savvy is a good car, but it get bad name due to AMT. And do you know that Savvy is more efficient than Myvi? it could travel 24km with 1 litre of petrol, Myvi is only rated at 17km/l

• Jimmy on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Pilihen raya is coming.

You think I don’t want to give peluang to my kawan-kawan yang support saya ke?

• yes door handles keeps broken,
    please resolve this

• alfie60 on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Broken handles not Proton fault. Public to be blame because Malaysian hands and grip to strong. TUV and R&D of $90M exonerate PROTON from fault.

• politic makes proton bad. Even the MD cant do shit if he’s threatened to have his contract terminated

• DSZ is sick with people always condemning him whenever bad things happen to Proton.

So, he took a move by eliminating all that shitty vendors and give what’s the best he can do.

First step, he eliminated that power window suppliers, later, we’ll see one thing at a time will change.

I’d say it’s a good move from Proton since Proton actually can build really good cars and we actually can count on its reliability.

Looking forward to Proton Global Car which I can see its potential to succeed.

From someone who drives 2001 Proton Waja. Thank you.

• makeitmine on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:41 pm

You set the right direction for the future.. to have quality control is to control the vendor’s quality. But do not forget the most important component in building a quality car is the human touch.

Proton need to build a corporate culture where every single employee is responsible for quality. If they see a problem with a product, employees are encouraged to come forward so that Proton can make it right. Of course, that doesn’t necessarily prevent all quality issues at the factory, but a sharp set of human eyes and a commitment to building the best car possible helps keep Proton cars safe and running properly.

• all the best to proton if all this effort and hard work does not make a good global car next year proton are doomed this is their last chance..all the best p1

• TheInsider on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:45 pm

agreed on that move..but vendor portion is one of it,apart of that QC is another part to taken care of…and yess…just afraid of political interference will ruins all the things.

• Jimmy on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:53 pm

When I send sample to Proton for testing, I will use higher quality specially made one. But when I really supply them, I will cut cost. No auditing, no worry, asalkan ada tali.

• niceone on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:16 pm

wow, some kuih raya sellers also do that! very delicious and good looking samples, but when it comes to buying the real one, very disheartening!

• dongdong on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:12 pm

Another futile exercise. 5 yrs ago Savvy launch with fanfare shouting TUV certified, fast forward 5 yrs later, the whole model stopped due to quality issue. What a waste of money.
    Now, say same shit again…what quality do you get if the company is run by monkeys.

• tattoo sleeve on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:38 pm

well done proton. keep on improving. i’m gonna always support Malaysian product :)

• Wan Ahmat on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:59 pm

We malaysians in general are not bothered with quality – tell me who does this at home or in school or at work? So this will then flow to the daily routine. Now it turns into a car production. PROTON or suppliers fault? Now do the finger pointing..
    But at least PROTON is trying to do something..good luck..

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Good quality comes from good enforcer. Hope proton will not continue their tak apa attitude and bribe. This sure greatly increase the quality and repo.

• thyeo on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:27 pm

err…does it mean that P has not been stringent all these while with their vedors?!!

• Drebar on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:22 pm

At least DSZ never said the new Tuah will be Asia’s Answer To BMW 3-Series!

• alistair lim li wei on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Kep up the good work and impress Malaysians P1!

• Yawn….same story keep repeating. Just make some good cheap car. Save all unnecessary public sympathy.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Not so long ago during Savvy launched claimed the most safety car, but now close down due to lousy quality. It has been feeding the parts supplier for 25 years, and still going on and going on. This exercise is just…hopeless in Malaysia. Just look at how many rounds that MAS has done to reform. Unless the mental change, this so called supplier selection will just be another chance for the selection commitee to make some money out of it..

• RedBeanBun on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:56 pm

My theory is simple.

If you are always fed the fish with open mouth, do you want to learn how to do fishing?

• Lim Kopi on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:29 am

whatever u do now Proton, is just TOO LITTLE TOO LATE …

I am sure this piece of news is merely trying to make your shares go up in the market … nothing more

• Really Proton? Take oath?

Then issue public apology to all Proton car owners in all newspapers, TV ads for the damage, loss, wastage, trouble caused by Proton. That’s for the past and current Proton owners.

For the next and future Proton owners, Proton must give Life-Time Warranty with Life-Time Free Service (Parts & Labour) for all new Proton cars bought with immediate effect.

• DewaSemut on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:10 am

This guy is thinking that Proton is God whom can never make mistakes… apa daaa

• avcutie on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm

All vendors who are not aligned with UMNO will be axed.

• neo_77 on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:58 pm

I bought my 1st car in 2006 between Myvi and Satria Neo and decided on Neo because DSZ gave +ve insight on quality and reliability of Proton’s product which I believed and supported. But my 5 years of owning the Neo, many times i try to dismiss the popular believe that proton has quality and reliability issues with their product, my car never fail to break down. During warranty period, numerous failures of my neo’s component i get it replace FOC, no issue to me, i still support Proton. But after warranty period in the 3rd year, the radiator motor failed, cost me RM 270 to repair. In 4th year the power steering and steering rack fail, the damage done is RM1600 to repair. Towards the end of 4th year my engine leaked oil badly, the mechanic said the gasket has worn out, i had to spend RM 1350. i still have the engine belt tensioner which sounds like rats making love in my bonet that i have not change yet. No more money……I also noticed my fuel gauge goes gila up and then down after i fill up petrol. Don’t know how much that is going to cost to repair. From this experience,despite being a malay guy, i dont think i want to buy another car produced by orang melayu or should I say Proton ever again. I don’t car e what DSZ says about improving QC la, quality la……i don’t think those statement can pakai. My next car would be a japanese made car.

• at last some progress. good luck

• Just another “wayang kulit”. Might as well watched latest movies at GSC. At least the “bullshit” is better and graphic is good. Again this is just another “wayang kulit”.

Wayang Kulit Kot*y!

• Equalizer on Mar 10, 2012 at 3:06 pm

I suggest that Proton takes a look at Persona even though it’s gonna be phased out. My rear windscreen is distorted about 4″ from the bottom since I took the car from a Proton dealer. I made a complain and Proton changed the windscreen for me without any questions though I had to show them where the fault is. How can Proton been hoodwinked to accept REJECTED products is beyond me but I took a glimpse at the service center in MD in PJ and noticed that out of 10 Personas, 9 of them have defected rear windscreen, including those waiting to be delivered to buyers. Having been in Glass Manufacturing Business for almost 20 years, I can spot a glass defect easily and I dare standby what I said.