Proton teases P3-21A chassis frame at Tanjung Malim plant

Click to view enlarged image

Proton has revealed the new P3-21A… well, just the chassis frame anyway. It’s become somewhat of a Proton tradition with all its recent models. They did the same for the Proton Saga and the Proton Exora.

For the Saga, they started teasing the chassis frame in early January 2008 – the car was eventually launched in mid-January 2008. As for the Exora, teasers began in March 2009, with the chassis frame even featured in print ads. The Exora was eventually launched in April 2009.

We won’t see the P3-21A released that soon though, as Proton has revealed that the car is expected to hit the market in early 2012. It will be manufactured at the Tanjung Malim plant.

Reader goldmember recorded this video of the P3-21A in Glenmarie

The P3-21A will be a “global car”, one that Proton will use to push its export activities. Rules and regulations of many markets have evolved to require various parameters like crash safety for both occupants and pedestrians, the requirements of ABS, airbags and ESP stability control and so on. The P3-21A will have to be designed for all of these features to be a true global car. It will replace the Proton Persona in Proton’s line-up, and was previewed in the form of the Proton Tuah Concept at the KLIMS last year.

The chassis frame above was unveiled at the announcement of the production preparation of the P3-21A at the Tanjung Malim plant earlier this week., where Proton staff and a total of 108 vendors took an oath to ensure a quality product.

According to Proton, vendors for the P3-21A project were selected according to the BEx model. BEx stands for Business Excellence Practices, which evaluates the performance of a company based on 7 areas including leadership, planning, information, customer focus, public, processes and results.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• amrymr on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Good luck proton..

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:54 pm

i smell Exora here..

• actually.. i can smell it too.. in which it’d be great.. diesel probably available in 2014.. so if exora will have diesel variant.. thats mean Persona will have it too..

aiming for european market? who knows.. Tun have a good vision in everything.. so maybe Proton sharing the vision too :)

• DonkeyKong on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:31 am

Exora uses torsion beam for the rear, but this chassis has independent rear suspension. It’s probably based on the Exora’s modular platform, but different enough to be unique.

• quattro on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:50 pm

campro with vvti technology is coming > please proton benchmark it with toyota vios

• azrai on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:49 am

They bencmark it against C segment like; Civic, Cruze, Altis (maybe not due to unclish choice), Forte, Elantra.

• Ben Lim on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Great news. Moving in right direction

• Khai RULE on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:05 pm

In the photo, I see the steering rack. Still using Hydraulic Power Steering?

C’mon Proton. Now days people are using EPS already.

Don’t give bullshit about EPS having no feel or whatnot. Now BMW also adopting EPS when can you?

Use the system like in the Suzuki ALTO, with manual steering rack and EPS motor in the steering column, the system should not lose any steering feedback.

It 2011 already, junk those old school engineer.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Global car become glocal car.

• runner on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:32 pm

u should read this spec car 1st before u make a comment.

www.proton.com/Models/Our-Model-Lineup/Concept-Cars/Categories/Proton-Espire.aspx

cheers!!

• scgtimk1 on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Already read the spec. It got nothing to do with my comment on Proton should be fitting EPS on their global car.

Look at the picture any seasoned car nuts would know that this persona R will be fitted with ancient Hydraulic Power Steering.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:15 pm

The chassis frame shown maybe for teasing purpose, possibly that’s not the actual finished product, don’t simply judge by looking at a unfinished product.

• sighhh on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:26 pm

if you have read the spec then u should be able to see the type of power steering:electric.Tuah is persona R concept.

But then u are a seasoned car nuts, so your opinion is absolute i presume.

So in conclusion, u win!

• DonkeyKong on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:34 am

So, you think that every new thing must be better than the older tech? If that’s the case, why don’t pickup trucks use coilovers all around and dump the leaf springs? Why don’t modern cars go for full independent multilink rear suspension instead of still using torsion beams?

Seasoned car nut my @$$, you don’t even understand that various technologies are used based on the suitability for the application and the cost-to-benefit ratio. Macpherson struts have been around for a long time, why don’t all cars dump it and go for multilink double-wishbone front suspension setups?

• scgtimk1 on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:42 pm

So you think EPS gonna cost more then Hydraulic PS?

You think you are very ‘pandai’ then.

• rally_fan on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:45 am

scgtimk1, whats wrong with hydraulic power steering?

did you know all bmw “M” cars are fitted with ancient hydraulic power steering, and forgo the more modern and high-tech active steering? reason is because it gives better and more consistent feedback to the driver.

sure, EPS has its benefits, but i believe there is still a place for hydraulics.

• farizY on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:57 am

apply job with Proton, do improvements…don’t just talk…

• Fredo on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:35 pm

That proton handles and looks better than your car in the avatar.

• scgtimk1 on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:41 pm

What me asking proton to put EPS on persona R has anything to do with the car in my Avatar?

Are you high or something?

• Fredo on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:53 pm

Click thumbs up if you feel that khairul should dispose his ugly car and buy a new car preferably with electric power steering :)

• lonelyobserve on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:35 pm

The quality of R&D in Proton can be expected at that level. No need to say much.

• ichi24 on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:07 pm

look, toyota also producing the same crap every year, your argument is invalid

• North_Boyz on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:19 am

Proton had produce EPS for Juara…sure U x pernah ambil tau kan….

• VWfan on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:21 pm

this car using EPS la bro….

• Raokata on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:45 am

EPS? my neighbour once experienced jammed EPS in his honda civic 2008’s model.. lost about rm3000.00 jammed during climbing incline road around shah alam..

• Nizam80 on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:10 pm

I think paultan had initially posted a video of this car spotted while testing somewhere in KL. Seeing it in motion, it looks quite large even in black camouflage.

• MCdog on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:19 pm

fuel efficiency fuel efficiency fuel efficiency fuel efficiency fuel efficiency

• acerman on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Europeans: 1)safety 2)styling 3)FC

Malaysian: 1)FC 2)FC 3)FC

• DonkeyKong on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:36 am

Big mistake, bro.

Malaysian: 1) Badge 2) Badge 3) Badge

Only Toyota and Honda will do, as well as Perodua crap because it’s perceived to be better due to “Toyota DNA”

• The Unicons on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:22 pm

The frame seems like not complete yet. No front bumper beam. The front also looks some missing parts…

Yes, hopefully equips with ABS, EBS, BA, ESP….. airbags minimum 2 (optional 4 – 8 maybe… for side and windows hahaha….) touch screen ICE + navigator…

must capable head to head comparable to 2011/2012 Hyundai Accent and Elantra….

The design of the car also important + quality + good pricing…..

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Replace Proton Persona, do Proton know how many C segment models compete in the global market? It is as good as kancil go into the jaws of lions.

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:43 pm

proton sell local market.. u make noise
      proton go global market.. u make more noise
      noisyyy la uuu! shadappp!

• i give u simple question..
      u have RM60k, u have 3 choice.. Persona, Forte and BMW 3Series..

what can u buy with that 60k? of course u can only afford Persona..

let say money is not a problem, u may go for BMW..

u can see also how BMW, AUDI, Mercedes and Volkswagen, 4 main car company in the world.. making car in all segment.. SUV, Sedan, bla bla bla.. each carmaker will have their own buyer..
      like my mum, who only go for BMW but me, i more prefer Audi.. my sis go for Persona, my uncle prefer Japan car..

so, just shut up and give proton support to go for international market even though u didnot like proton….

• nice car design by Proton..meets most Malaysian taste…not like toy-outa dugong & retarded boxy city..too boring .

Btw, when Proton will come out SUV ? Too many sedans model around at the moment ! to put name also difficult .

• zulkhairi on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Saya pernah lihat dan sempat mengambil gambar sebuah model seumpama tuah yang dipandu uji di Lebuhraya Kuala Lumpur – Karak pada 14 Julai 2011. Adakah ini model yang dimaksudkan?

• Paul Tan on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:48 pm

mungkin…

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Ayat itu sangat tersusun bahasanya. Mungkin dia seorang guru mengajar bahasa Malaysia di sekolah. Ha! ha! ha!

• BadBET on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:20 pm

I give him thumbs up for that :)

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:45 pm

mungkin dia keturunan Hang Tuah.. sungguh sopan santun dan berbudi bahasa. tu belum bukak langkah silat tuu!

• m nasir kan??

Adab tuan baik dijaga~!
            hiargh hiarghhh~!

hahaha.. just kidding.. chill~~ =D

• cardreamer on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:28 am

The Tuah syndrom is coming to town..watch out…ooppss..maaf cikgu…and all the best for Proton..sadly, after waiting for so long for any upgraded exora, i already got myself a toyota wish…poor me..

• TheInsider on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:33 pm

susunan bahasa dato’ Rais Yatim. like it. :)

• sukasuki on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:39 pm

budi bahasa budaya kita :) thumbs up!

• ntah2 ni a samad said..i’ll luv dat spirited old man :) eh,oof topic plak..kete ni c segment ye?ok,for sure if its under or around 60k,got tis own buyer,no need to worry bout T n H laa..they r way too expensve even for entry level car~~damn~~~

• mfahd_88 on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:45 pm

indeed the tuah concept is nice, but the design is outdated to me
    i hope they know on how the 2012 cars will look like, especially the interior

• whoknow on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:36 pm

ya dah outdated ye.. tapi ramai je OEM luar sana yg teringin nak rebadge walaupun lum siap … dan agaknya model keter 2012 tu bersayap tak?

• mizzuddin on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:53 pm

berapa range harga dia nanti ye?

mungkin dlm 60k – 75k..?
    kalau mcm tue better dari pug 207 sbb 207 kecik laa…

• bapakaka on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:40 am

harga dia slightly higher than current persona..maybe dalam 65k..

• p2 alza owner on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:58 pm

junk car , same as alza , junk car and junk company

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:47 pm

hahaha.. i know, u regret buying Alza right? sakit tulang belakang kalau duduk dalam Alza. but u’ll have excuse to go thai massage.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:58 pm

“where Proton staff and a total of 108 vendors took an oath to ensure a quality product.”

– took an oath how to ensure quality? Very weird, never heard before in QA/QC issue. If the quality is good, why so “hysteria” about quality even the car havn’t produce for sales?

Anyway, looking forward, global car will become a reality if Proton is able to chop out all cronies vendors. However, this effort maybe veto by P1 Advisor, Dr. M.

• scgtimk1 on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:04 pm

‘Punahsihat’ Puroton will kill the quality by giving ‘advice’ on which vendor to select.

• meekari on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:43 pm

wah scgtimk1, u must have had a really bad experience with proton…anyway thumbs up proton :)

• cardreamer on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:31 am

Do you guys like the waja nose on the original design?..the truth is it was chosen by the ‘advisor’..but later being taken off for the facelift version…personally i don’t like the nose from the very beginning till the day i knew who chose the design!

• a samed on Jul 30, 2011 at 4:51 pm

really…u hate the advisor only..not the design..the old waja looks like an eagle lah bro..

• scgtimk1 on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:52 pm

I don’t have any bad experience with Proton. why come to that conclusion. I got 3 Proton in my Home now all running well.

Read back all my post with open mind and not prejudice. All of it is suggestion to improve. If no ‘advisor’ I would think Proton already a world player by now.

• ko malu saje... on Aug 03, 2011 at 2:29 am

Open minded or not, please be mature when posting your comments, you sounded like a 15 year old to me…

Have you heard the message from lite.fm? THINK TWICE BEFORE YOU POST!

• …And, which design being tabled to be choosen. That’s why we got a more hideous FL rather than a more harmony original BLM.

• few weeks ago my business partner came visiting Malaysia.. out of hundreds car in Malaysia he has his eyes on the Saga FL.. his driving lexus backhome an guess what.. if that guy wish he has an interest and a good opinion on the car why shouldnt we? IMHO

• Your friend is a business man la, they always want to save money so the obvious choice at Hertz or Avis is Saga FL, and the fuel is cheap also.

• Rosli on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:08 pm

if its define as ‘global car’ will it be sold in domestic market? I’m looking forward to buy a car (comparing Forte, Ford Fiesta) and so on , but would like to give a chance to look into Persona replacement as Tuah expected to be the name. Should I wait ? …huhu

• worth the wait i think.. To be honest.. I’m waiting for it..2012 just around the corner.. My ride still good so no rush i guess..

• I think u should wait. We are 1 month away from last quarter of the year. Rugi tahun

• Kenny on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:54 pm

i personally like the profile of the test mule, from the side it looks real sweet, proportion is epic… all i can hope now is that they come out with the proper details… thatll sweeten the deal, if done right can be best seller…

dont really fance the tuah concept, i have a vision… (not like it actually matters)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v311/KennyYeoh/tuahchopped.jpg

here’s me hoping…:D

• rulered on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Base on the news that airbag is going to be a must, I presume this one is going to be fitted with at least 2 airbags, and base on the news that Proton Saga is fitted with ABS, ESP and Cvt engine, my guess is this will have those too. Unless Tuah is fitted with 1.6 litre engine, I can’t see who would touch Inspira (assuming Tuah is cheaper than Inspira that is).

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:49 pm

initial plan is to put 1.8 and 2.0 heart into this car. New Engine!

• It will eat up inspira’s market share unless they plan to put mivec 2.4 to inspira

• freeze on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Doesn’t it look a little narrow?

• whoknow on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:37 pm

nak luas beli trailer bas atau van.

• Unimpresser on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:56 pm

a cicak like you should fit just fine.

• quattro on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:07 pm

anyone can speculate what is the engine capacity for this new tuah??

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:25 pm

in Tuah microsite, it stated as 1.8 and 2.0
        maybe Forte contender.

• kamaji on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:20 pm

MoFaz, if your info is reliable, pls dig deeper on whether the engines used are of GEMA based. Anyway it does not make sense, suppose to replace Persona but of different engine capacity huh…..at the same time killing off Inspira.

• Wagon R on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:12 pm

What that some one inside inform, the new engine (1.8 &2.0) will be fitted in this “TUAH” along with CVT transmission. The GEMA engine used for inspira only base on agreement. Even Inspira just only replace WAJA phaseout until new replacement came out after “TUAH”.. Good move by Proton.. They on the right track now… :)

• MoFaz on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:35 pm

here’s the link, and check it yourself:
            http://www.proton.com/Models/Our-Model-Lineup/Concept-Cars/Categories/Proton-Espire.aspx

click on specifications tab and you may see it list the engine as 1.8 and 2.0

• VWfan on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:42 pm

1.6 campro CFE i.e. turbocharger engine…can saya similar to Golf 1.4 TSI turbocharged but its a different level i guess…hehehe

• it’s 1.6cc and 2.0cc..

confirmed

• almostthere on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:52 pm

It’s good they retained hydraulic PS though as I’ve never been convinced with the feel EPS derives from any car in the market, even BMW. Maybe I’m just feeling old fashioned

• quattro on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:16 pm

try it 1st then u will know…don’t just assume..BMW?? did u have try it??smileee

• nabill on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:47 pm

i wd love to see the exora chassis next to this one…looks pretty similar….

• Faddd on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:10 pm

Yang mat salleh tu Dr.Apple ke?

• transformer on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:10 pm

I hope this global would also get global quality such as bread&butter VW, solid assembly quality… Pls do not produce hastily a global junk and tarnished our country image again(say Iswara, Wira, Impian, Savy)……. When a foreigner hear “Proton”, guess whats in their mind ?
    Toyota… Recall & Reliability(still recalling 80’s cars)….

I also propose to our Gov & MIROS & MAA to implement “recall” protocal…. Simple things such as “faded/paled” headlamp(impairing visibility at night) are being recall in the US/Europe but not in M’sia…. Still not forgetting those “aquarium” brakelamp at rear of Sunny suitable for goldfish or even turtles…..

• biggie on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:46 am

most foreigner associate Proton with reliability. the one who complains about Proton is Malaysian

• Drebar on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Proton should make another versions of this new Tuah such as:
    – new Satria both 3 doors (Satria Neo) and 5 doors (Satria Max)
    – new Putra Coupe 2 door
    – station wagon (sport touring)

Now that’s a proper Global Car by Proton!

• hurm..come to think of it.. diesel also on its way but not until 2012.. but i think exora will be on the candidate list for the diesel variant.. no plan for sedan yet..

hurm.. all i can say.. i cant wait for whats next on Proton 5 years plan..

• Drebar on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:25 pm

Luckily DSZ not declared the new Tuah as “Asia’s Answer To BMW 3-Series”…Phew! ::sweat::!

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Take a chasis from any old car(maybe) wash kilat-kilat coated with galvanised iron or what ever paint = Jeng jeng new chasis for media gimmick = share price increase = PROFIT!

• MoFaz on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:22 pm

and this guy is using my nick just to give bad name to me? get a life dude…

• Wagon R on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Biasa Bro… Kind like fake egg from china la… Like the fake one but the end complaint to OEM that the thing not good… hahaha… Malaysian way… hahaha

• Edmond on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:40 pm

I wish Proton will be able to compete with others on the technology in very near future. I wish it will made a very great car, so the government will waive the tax on imported car. Please, I want to buy cheap BMW.

• anand on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:36 pm

i want these under 65k with HID Xenon, airbags, abs, ebd, ESP,
    so far other models worth buying in malaysia market is Kia Forte and Ford Fiesta in term of specs

• amxzone on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:54 pm

too xcited waiting this new born baby..but the price a bit disappointed…the 2 reasons why proton hard to compete with other makers 1) the fuel consumption vs engine proficiency, 2) price.. last time during proton introduced Wira, the fuel price was totally different from now and that why people just ignore the wira engine “minum’ fuel too much..as the owner of proton wira right now..most of them will say “i want to find Viva, i dont care to drive the small car rather drive wira n bring on big wallet but without with any money”.

• farghmee on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:16 pm

1. got price already ek? where?

2. engine efficiency, i presume?

• only one picture?

• alfie60 on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:26 am

This teaser campaign is STUPID. Its like showing bones from a turkey with the meat gone after thanksgiving dinner. How to wet my appetite when i can not see the meat/flash.

Honestly guys,do you feel hungry when you see a picture of a juicy turkey roast than a plate of turkey bones!

Same logic of them using 3 radios DJs to tell and remind the public what a great car Proton is. Proton’s TUV standard and their quality is no longer respected and trusted by the public.Desperate measures to reach out to the public!!!

• In marketing it’s call creating hype. Read some marketing books and you will realize that creating hype is very important

• bapakaka on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:37 am

i’ve already seen a full body for this persona-r..the already finished fitting stage..
    the design look quite good. and from my observation, this will be a turning point for proton to be one of recognized automaker in world

• go saga on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:10 am

waiting for proton SUV

• It is good to see Proton finally getting serious about doing up a truly global car. Safety features are now a must. Over here, newly registered cars in 2011 must have EBD as standard and by 2012 it is compulsory to have them nationwide. So Proton Saga or S16 as it is known here will be ineligible for sale in a few months time. That is why you see the Saga FLX with twin airbags, ABS & EBD.

A further update is that the Traffic Safety Authority here is running a campaign to get buyers to demand curtain airbags or inflatable curtains (IC) in their cars. They run adverts that show victims of side impact and their stories. They also run awareness campaign to go for 5 star ACAP rating cars too. Tagged “How safe is your car?” Looks like Proton has to do catch-up again soon. A lot of the small cars here have 6 or more airbags now plus on top of the ABS, EBD and 3 point seatbelts in all seats. Thankfully my XC70 is still bang up to date in terms of safety with 6 airbags including curtain airbags, ABS, TRACS (stability /traction control) & SIPS – Side Impact Protection System.

So Proton now have to engineered cars to have 5 star CAP rating plus inflatable curtains if it needs to be truly competitive in the global market. The next thing is that diesel engine is really catching on here. The best selling Cruze model is the 2.0 turbodiesel.

• selamat on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:26 am

I just want to comment on the so called cikgu bahasa melayu commented here..i suggest that why dont we write our comment in a Bahasa Kebangsaan in the very Rais Yatim or cikgu bahasa melayu style..since we do not speak in real bahasa in our daily life, we can practice it here..thanks Paul hehe..Bahasa Jiwa Bangsa..

• “BEx stands for Business Excellence Practices, which evaluates the performance of a company based on 7 areas including leadership, planning, information, customer focus, public, processes and results.”

Somehow the missing words are: Quality Control and Non-Crony Vendors.

• d_buccaneer on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:30 am

now thats what we call national pride…

• taboogen on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:41 am

from the source I heard lah this car will come with 6 air bags.. if that not enough.. u can put your bag at the bonnet. u will have ” berbag-bag” or bags… haha

• edperdana on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:44 am

Proton can succeed provided it gets rid of its crap component vendors..it will get nowhere fast carrying these dead weights.

To compete globally it needs to update or replace the Campro..makes you regret they did not use the Pertonas-Sauber engine prototype in the first place..or given time for MV Agusta to develop the engines.. my 2sen

• scgtimk1 on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:06 am

Typical cybertroopers…. if they can’t argue with fact they attack you your personal.

Never argue with an idiot like fredo.

BTW I got Swift la, already come with EPS already. Haha Thumbs up who think fredo is an idiot. Thumbs down if you thinks his stupid.

• carsut on Jul 27, 2011 at 6:24 pm

stop being spoil bread la.. buy car by ur own money..we know its ur father’s car..and by the way, swift only means for girl driver ma!!

• Faddd on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:34 pm

not spoil bread, but spoiled brat, google it first if you unsure how to spell it.

Grammar Nazi, out.

• Topaz on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:16 am

Giving oath as a symbol of commitment to built a better quality car laaa…haiyaa…give oath also want to argue…?? Proton only build cars for less than 30 years..they are still young as compared to honda toyota etc..etc….c’mon support them…

• from info i get, persona r will have 2 engine options, 1.6 iafm plus n 1.6 cfe turbo, the latter one will come with 7 speed cvt sport mode vt3 while the standard one will come with 5mt from getrag n cvt vt2 6 speed from punch as in saga. There will be variant equip with 6 airbags,esp,light n rain sensor n etc. So many goodies including intergrated gps n reverse camera and of coz advanced bcm. So, let us wait for its launch.

• Cheng on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:47 am

“tuah” sounds very risky… “Espire” sounds like expired.

Will you buy a car from a company dun even know how to name their product properly?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Jaguh Kampong mah, u dun know meh ……………

• farghmee on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:21 pm

then buy “vios” = “be yours”
      or “unser” = “ours”

• sepot reem on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:20 pm

aiya… blum launching sulah mau gaduh pasal nama ka? just wait and see for the official launching la next year.. typical basher…

• tiadaid on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:27 pm

Suppose you don’t want to buy a Lamborghini Gallardo since it’s pronounced “Gay-ardo”. Or a Holden Maloo, pronounced as “Malu”.

And what about Honda That’s, Suzuki Mom’s Personal Wagon, Daihatsu Naked & Volkswagen Thing?

• DonkeyKong on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:03 am

Congratulations on your display of Ah Beng language proficiency

• ko malu saje... on Aug 03, 2011 at 2:32 am

and vios sounds gayish…

• the A, B and C pillar look closer to each other i smell Emas here =D

• Fritz on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:41 pm

I have just caught long video, following behind this so called Persona Replacement or Tuah prototype. Tester saw me filming, the sway the car left and right at high speed, to show the handling is good.

Paultan, please do let me know if anyway I can share this to you, so that you can show to all the readers. -)

• shawal on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:40 am

offer manual tranny for Hi-Line models as well…., unless the cvt is good enough

test the car with 5 passengers + 2 nights luggage up genting….

• Wan Ahmat on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:31 am

good to see Proton progressing.. My worry is about Tg Malim plant.. bcos i see that cars from there like savvy and neo are the talk of the town in terms of assembly issues.. but all the best!!

• Owh my, another abomination from the fringe jungle of Tanjung Malim. :X

• andrew on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Proton seen more aggressive in their market strategy , I think as a Malaysian I also proud to see their excellent design and try to improve the quality of the product.If I see proton car in foreign country I will definitely feel very proud of it because it is Malaysian Brand.

• zakaria on Mar 18, 2012 at 1:55 am

Klau P3-21A ini di namakan Gen3 pun OK gak