Suzuki Malaysia refreshens Swift – 1.5 GLX introduced

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile today introduced the updated Swift, now in 1.5 GLX guise. It’s essentially the second-generation one, given some new bobs and bits – there’s no sign of the third-generation model just quite yet.

No change to the drivetrain and powertrain, or their specs and figures, the 1.5 litre M15A VVT DOHC mill continuing along with the four-speed auto transmission. As far as it goes, no changes to the interior too, with the exterior being the only thing reworked. What’s new is to the Swift 1.5L GLX is a deeper front bumper, new lower grille and sporty side skirts

Also on the new list are silver-coloured fog lamp piping, an engine cover and a new ‘expressively styled’ spoiler, as the company puts it, adorning the rear. Meanwhile, the rear bonnet flows downwards into a deeper bumper, which defines the outer edges of a new honeycomb grille that extends to the lower edge of the bumper. New rear combination lamps finish the dressing up of a fave that has sold more than 19,000 units here since it was introduced.

Five colours are available – Bayside Blue, Serene Silver, Supreme Red, Tranquility Black and Superior White. The 1.5 GLX goes for RM75,788, on the road with insurance, which is two thousand more than before with the 1.5A/T. If you’re so inclined, you can opt for the add-on package that is badged the GXS, replete with leather seats, V-Kool tint and an Threebond Ultra Glass Coating Neo treatment, which bumps the price up to RM81,888, again OTR with insurance.

Gallery of launch photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2467]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• LULIAN JEE on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:59 pm

How long they want to flog this old model… they’re going down the Tan Chong path!

• scgtimk1 on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:07 pm

Don’t worry in 2013 you will get the new one here.

• gunigugu on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:49 pm

exactly..i don’t know why car dealers in malaysia likes doing stuff like this..change a bumper, a grill, the lights..if they do it once it’s fine but tweaking it again and again is really kinda annoying really..take a look at the vios for instance..its really rather disappointing

• kenji1903 on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:47 am

vios not yet end of the 5 year cycles yet, other than cosmetic changes, what do you think they can do?
        new swift already out in Singapore, now malaysia comes out with another facelift… meaning the new swift won’t reach our shores in another 2 years :x

• Affendy on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:05 pm

I was so excited when i saw the title. I thought it was the 3rd Gen ones. Disappointed. Hardly can see the differences with the current models. Clear stock maybe.

• john die on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:05 pm

dey…just bring the new model laa

• bring kizashi to fight camry and accord laa… 6 speed manual and CVT…

• beatnik on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:23 pm

What? the world has already being introduced with the NEW swift.. malaysia still harping on this model?

OK la.. maybe clearing stocks.. lol

• rosdi on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:39 pm

Kereta tak laku ni… desperate nak clear kan stock… ada fiesta, or even polo, buat apa kereta buruk ni..

• Habes ko pakai kereta apa? Rolls Royce? booo!!! silap2 ko pon pakai kancil, lagi mau ckp besar!

• CiViC_7900 on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Biar lah……dia maybe pakai C250 CGI baru…kekeke.sume buruk pd dia.

• jay8393 on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:39 pm

Suzuki Malaysia is trying to kill it’s Swift Sport sale? By fitting the Sport’s front and rear bumper, sideskirts and tail lights on the standard 1.5-litre model the Sport will sure sell less.

• SamuelSchick on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:37 pm

If i’m not wrong Suzuki Malaysia already stopped bringing the Swift Sport. how sad

• Eponymous on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Seriously, stop already…..

• Henry on Jul 26, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Still flogging a dead horse? Sad.

• David on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Are we missing anything here? where is the new swift?!

• ben yap on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:18 pm

1 word… boring!

• altecs on Jul 26, 2011 at 6:36 pm

It’s sad knowing “sporty” car manufacturers nowadays could give us about everything; new bodykit, good handling, a decent engine… except they fail the realize the only thing most car enthusiast actually want…. a manual transmission.

Offer this car with a worth gearbox and they open up a whole new audience. Come on suzuki!

• More recycling campaign going on…

• Henry on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Hmm…… If ever there is a new Swift Sport with a 1.6L turbo engine I’ll be the first in line.

• SamuelSchick on Jul 26, 2011 at 7:38 pm

come on, bring us the 3rd gen already. !

• alistair lim li wei on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:18 pm

boring…….75+K and still four speed auto? fuhhh

• BERSIH 2.0 on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:37 pm

I very disappointed with Suzuki -DRB until today still cannot bring the 3rd generation Suzuki.
    How to achieve ur sales target if u wanna clear out those old stocks!!!
    By rite the manufacture should listen to the ppl requirement & should fulfill the buyer demand!!

• Seatux on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:07 pm

The only interior change I can see is the engine cover.
    The car could have used the bodykit thing for a while now, plenty of male Swift drivers adding S.Sport bodykits on their cars.
    Hoping the new 3rd gen swift would bring a better transmission than the current rubbish 4 speed auto.

• _xXx_ on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:49 pm

fcuk la, MT lovers got ignored again…

• david on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:53 am

I think the swift 2011 will be more affordable if they adopt 1.2l engine?

• 98tecknik89 on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:13 am

the pricing is totally wrong. with cars like ford fiesta, kia forte competing at similar price range…this car is outdated

• mutings on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:12 am

for an additional of rm2k, you get an engine cover among other things. engine cover?! that’s not even something to be proud of. “hey, check out my brand new ride. it’s an updated swift with an engine cover. yeah! bet your car doesn’t have that. ”

this is pathetic.

• Cervelo on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:54 am

MANUAL transmission please!!!

• BERSIH 2.0 on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:49 am

I would prefer Manual transmission evendo is 6 years old piece of junk Swift i don mine.

• ultrajo on Jul 27, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Suzuki M’sia just follow what P2 had done to their old version Myvi – last batch facelift to ‘Myvi in Pink’ to clear all stock before launching ‘Lagi Best’. Just my 2cent :-)

• but lately can see many of this small car on the road?! nope…

• malaysia is MY country!! on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:52 pm

as the owner of SS, i not proud of this “new” SS…the new bodykit can get at accesories shop ley..will change my ss bodykit to new one soon….

• pg qayyum on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:05 pm

looks like suzuki swift sport with a standard rim.. cehh

• kamaji on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:13 pm

I reckon bumper & grille designer here are most sourced after profession.

• asheikh on Jul 27, 2011 at 6:20 pm

suzuki pun dah tiru protong skrg… model dah 7 tahun pun di minor faceliftkan agi…. apalah malang rakyat mesia ni… juallah 3rd gen plak ….

• BERSIH 2.0 on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Becos Suzuki is under DRB-Hicom crony control we the ppl can’t do much.
      Unless we can scrap the NAP policies & let the market decide which model should bring in to M’sia :)

• scgtimk1 on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:52 pm

this current model is 3rd gen la… apa la.

tak reti pasal Swift nak cakap… chet

• Jerry on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:33 pm

The Singaporean market already receives the new for 2012 model.

So why is Malaysian Swift a facelift only?!

• carlocaraddict on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:45 pm

Suzuki Philippines has already launched the 2012 Swift in Manila.

• carlocaraddict on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Suzuki Philippines has introduced the all-new Swift here. It has a 1.4liter engine.

• bobdbilder on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:19 pm

I don’t gettit…Isn’t the 2012 Swift Sport with 136hp is only out by this year end? The new Hungary made 2011 Swift is just an old Swift with bigger headlights and smaller engine options. I don’t think it would sell much here. Well maybe to the ladies and the effeminate. It would provide a negative impression of the model we know so much.

Methinks DRB Hicom is in a fix with an eventual outcome of a more subtle Swift. Forcing enthusiast to go for the more expensive Swift Sport.

• Leonardo on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:30 am

My 3 year old Swift have the same rims as this Facelift model :)

• CiViC_7900 on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Y bother?next year we r going to have the all new swift here.

• bystander on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:45 pm

DELAY NO MORE (kantonis cursing language)

• kalu ye pun facelift..kasi boom la sikit interior tu…ni same je…x menarik la interior swift nih…luar dah comel dah…

• lordofindie on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:32 am

add 2k for that crap..? can get SS bodykit n twin exhaust for that price.. ridiculous..!

• Eason47 on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:38 am

hopefully next year, the 2011 Swift 1.3 with manual transmission will comes in…
    else, might look at ford fiesta…

• BERSIH 2.0 on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:33 pm

Next year u got many varieties of cars,so i don really bother about Suzuki even they plan to launch their new model in the market.
      I might as well target the next CKD V/W depend which model is suitable for my budget.
      Just wait & see whether other like Toyota or Honda might compete with other with their latest models.