2011 Hyundai Grand Starex Royale – more kit and plush

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has introduced the 2011 Hyundai Grand Starex Royale, and this one offers more in the way of luxury and features.

External changes lead the way on this 12-seater, and the revisions include a new front chrome grille, LED daytime running lights on the wing mirrors, side skirting, new front and back bumpers and a new rear spoiler with built-in stop light.

Meanwhile, the interior gets upgraded with more plush and comfort, and among these are swivel seats on the second row and optional Nappa leather seats. There’s also a new optional power sliding near-side door on the upgraded Starex Royale, operable through push button.

Also new to the Starex Royale is a newly-designed instrument cluster incorporating a trip computer, as well as Electronic Stability Programme (ESP). A GPS navigation system is also fitted as standard.

The Grand Starex Royale continues on with the 2.5 litre CRDi turbodiesel, unchanged in output numbers, these being 170 PS at 3,800 rpm and 392 Nm at 2,000-2,500 rpm.

The vehicle comes in four colours – Crystal White, Stone Black, Sleek Silver and Carbon Grey – and is priced at RM153,888 on the road. Opting for the premium package on the Grand Starex Royale takes this to RM165,888.

More photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2471]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Too big for family car! So, it is for niche market.

• the chrome really makes this looks more luxorious

• Firstly Id like to summarize a few misconceptions about Korean cars. Firstly Korean engines remind me of Japanese engines …efficient n economicly sound. Their build surprisingly more solid than Japanese. The Santa FE was voted Best Suv 2008..by What Car I believe.In the states it was considered the best buy then.(try driving one …I still have mine 5 years down the road) Oh when we first set eyes on the Santa FE most of us thought …Wow What a beautiful looking car…Even the Porches are copying the original design today.
      As for the Hyundai Starex debate…I think some lovers of the more fancy (not necessarily beautiful ) n more expansive models are a little jealous .You cant really blame them…The Starex actually looks better than all of them and is much bigger Full stop. And for the price we pay its a bargain n a half. Comfort wise try sitting in the back of the Alphard then the Starex long distance….you will know what I mean.Sorry lah but the truth has to be said and Im looking to buy one right now,,,second hand also never mind. Their engines are as good if not better than Japanese models…so don’t worry as the truth will always prevail.. And by the way Sime Darby or Hyundai are not paying me as their copywriter…they cannot afford it….so dont try that one lah if you are a such sore loser. Love D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • van hohenheim on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:40 pm

the only ugly hyundai left

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Black Dog on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:40 pm

A poor man’s Alphard for Pak Pancut, his 4 wife, his kids & grand kids!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
    • awg1031 on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:52 pm

wow..very rich la you, kinda guy which jeers at poor man..very good attitude there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • slumber on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:21 pm

I would rather name it the average Joe’s best bang for your buck 12 seater.

• STAREX Power on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:02 pm

hello Mr Dog….
      dont be that arrogant lar…buy what we can afford to pay…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Ha Gnih on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Surprisingly this MPV rides and handles as well as the Alphard. It’s just the brand name that puts most people off. Drove an uncle’s once and although it’s diesel, with a full load (Parents, sister, grandparents and 2 cousins), I didn’t really feel much of a weight as I was accelerating through traffic lights and doing uphills. Do not compare this to an Alphard. It’s cheaper and guess what ? It lugs more humans than an Alphard could ever do. Kudos Hyundai for giving us a value for money rides.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • john die on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:54 pm

i did rented this before in oversea..what could i say is its really nice to drive even though packed with 9 ppls and full of luggage….still can accelerate ma..and it is comfort too…u should try before comment on this bugger…

• lee marvin on Jul 31, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Agreed…try it & judge it 4 ur self

• lee marvin on Jul 31, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Herts Rent A Car do offer this Starex for rental too… did rent 1 from them b4 for a family road trip..

• lee marvin on Jul 31, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Agreed

• I wouldn’t be surprised if this anjing hitam drives a Black Protong Juara MPV.

• hadi75 on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:42 pm

what so special about alphard??? other than it made by toyota….and most probably a recond unit but sell like it was brand new….

• treblecase on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:07 am

If you ask me, both Starex and Alphard are some of the ugliest vehicle ever. Just a few point shy of proton juara. But the specifications are first class.

• kuching on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:53 am

alphard also too cheap..just like van only. hehehe

• Curious on Oct 07, 2011 at 9:56 am

Black Dog must be using a Rm 1 million MPV..for his Pak Kaya, his 4 mistress , child out of wedlock and grand mistress kids…

• Essential Motoring 101 on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Best if they could rework the new grille again coz this one is too simple. Good that they have the rotating rear chair. Price bump is ok considering it is a 12-seater if not they are stepping into the Estima/Alphard price band. With that kind of torque, this ‘mini bus’ rocks my boat anytime!

• LionelStep on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:02 pm

I love it is Diesel CRDI. But it will be even more fun high torque to drive if it is a R-VGT
      2.2 Diesel same as Hyundai Santa Fe

• Does it finally come with 3-point belts for the 2nd to 4th rows?

• by the looks of its,….still 2 point belts, the only reason putting me off….cannot install my kids childseats here

• biggie on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:48 pm

its a mini bus …

• Highwayman on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:14 pm

No plush sliding rear window like the UK version? Hiace have this and it doesn’t spoil the appearance.

• banglong on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:33 pm

bang-bus…LOL

• too big….not ez to drive esp in the narrow junction….silap haribulan overshoot to the other side….

• i’ve ride in this van during holiday in australia,n all i can say,this van get the job done nicely..fully satisfiedthat ive rent it as low fuel consumption n comfy..full tank can go from melbourne to 12apostle n came back to melbourne without refuelling..comfort too..n in Oz this van is simple like ‘van kilang’ sliding rear window,fabric cusion n very simple interior..wonder how this “luxury ” one would feel~

• Hyundai Starex is basically a “Commercial Van” been widely used as Tour Van like Mercedes MB 140, Toyota Hiace or Era Jinbei.

Malaysia version added some so called “luxury” accessories, been market as Strarex Grand Royale, a Alphard/Velfire wannabe.

Those who have sit in a Starex would agreed it felt like a “Van” rather than MPV, some even teased that it felt like a Lorry or Minibus.

• yes the ride feels like a van/bus, same as the overpriced alphard / vellfire!!

• cappucion on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:00 pm

U should know the Alphard is not really comfortable as you think also. Why not you try to sit in? it’s free to test at Naza Showrooms. Go book and ask some1 test drive it while you are the passenger, get the feeling. Basically I havnt found any tall car to be very comfortable to sit in.. I think this Hyundai is quite worth the Ringgit for the space and premium.

• TurboMan on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:14 am

Dude. Don have to reason with him.

He shoots every single korean vehicle.

Once he sees korean, he gets an erection and starts shooting.

Its hardwired into his brain. Reasoning is futile.

• Yes agreed.. This totally bluky van which block the road. Extreme ugly and lousy car.

• eddie on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:18 am

Well the bulky Alphard , Estima etc also block my view on the road so why complain?

• hadi75 on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:45 pm

alphard ride also not that good…

• lee marvin on Jul 31, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Agreed but what do you expect from a budget of RM 15ok & below with gismos & a 300,000km Or 5 Years Warranty.

• Geronimo on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Poor man version of Alphard? I don’t think so.

When you buy an Alphard, it is not even new with limited warranty. Shouldn’t Alphard be overpriced and over-rated instead?

For this price, it’s a good and comfortable people mover. It can seat 7 comfortably with luggage space at the rear most row.

I’d take this over Alphard any time.

• Anthony,

Why is it still stated as 125ps for Starex on www.hyundai.com.my?

• carlito on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:32 pm

awesome MPV! I have driven the prefacelifted model and the fuel consumption & pickup is fantastic. I think its unfair to compare this to the Alphard as a new Alphard cost x2 more. However in terms of comfort, I think the Starex can compete with the Alphard.

The only complaint I have is the seats, the color doesn’t really blend with the beige interior.

• vincent on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Better get a Starex than a over priced Wish and Stream!

• hunterhead on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:20 pm

ugly!!!

• Yes.. agreed. This car so ugly and blocking the road all the time. Block view block people. Somemore korean car. Hate it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Agree, ugly junk.

• David D on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:17 am

Hunterhead, Sad, Mire.

If you three think this is junk, then i shall say all three of you have some of the finest junk mentality here. Come on, this van isn’t about the badge, it’s about the space, comfort, economy, and value for money!! I was driven around in one of these while taking my driver’s licence test, and surprisingly, despite that noise it makes (NVH still needs improvements), it’s deceptively fast, rides smoothly, if not butter-like, and most of all, comfortable enough for a whole bunch of people to sit in comfort.

Besides, it’s brand new when bought, and it also comes with an official warranty, unlike those Estimas and Alphards that are bought with little, or no warranty at all.

• Very funny Hyundai’s salesman. We feel it is ugly and junk also can not, don’t force us to agree with you OK, everybody have their own taste. Junk Hyundai David Da salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • David D on Jul 30, 2011 at 12:20 am

Oh, so now just because i shot you three down for that baseless comment, you call me a junk salesman? I’m amazed by such mentality you possess. Let me ask you this question:- Have you driven, even owned, a Korean car? Likely not, based on your pathetic comment.

Go get a life, and stop summarising cars in just one word:- rubbish. Give us constructive comments. Come on, give us that. Otherwise, keep your mouth shut, and let us car lovers discuss the pros and cons about every car. Sheesh.

• Why buy Korean Junk when we can afford Audi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • David D on Jul 31, 2011 at 2:17 am

We’re not comparing this car to Audis, so think before you come out with more comments. Gosh.

• Sunny Jaafar on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:31 pm

airbag for driver only?

• Worst Ever on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:31 pm

This is probably the worst car that I ever have the misfortune of driving. It should remain as a commercial vehicle as it was intended to be a van.

It is bad on so many different levels.

• jinakkan singa on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:42 pm

dont know which one better…bought mpv recently..personal view is that this royale starex is quite comfortable but too big and after discussion with wife opt for grandis……

• albag on Jul 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

A heist will be the most suitable job for this van… the dead will be very satisfied for sure.

• TRUE…already 1 unit used in Sarawak sponser by the distributor’s tauke to the welfare society….

• Huhuhu on Jul 27, 2011 at 5:40 pm

those who buy alphard and vellfire is bloody stupid asshole noob shit.
    they too bought some VAN, and the price is artificially elevated by the sucker AP importer

• Ha Gnih on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:02 am

excuse me~! I happen to be driving a Vellfire myself. We buy it not because we are ‘bloody stupid asshole noob shit’. I know I bought mine because I know I CAN AFFORD IT ! So stop being judgemental

• Wisdom on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:14 am

You can afford but you can’t decide. You just ‘follow the trend’.

Most of those Alphard, Vellfire or Hellfire, are recond units (as well as wish). Recond is the better term used by AP king, grey importers to manipulate buyers. It still a second-hand cars.

Most of these cars has mileage were tampered and set around 2XK km so the buyer can be easily fooled. If a buyer is smart, even looking at their yellowish headlight we can know that its been abused and done.

With RM200K-300K, i better settles with a normal MPV for the family (Livina, Exora or even Alza) and buy myself a sporty coupe.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:02 pm

Thats the thing. I had that money and to actually settle for a coupe is far worse than getting something luxurious and well, practical. Oh, I decided. It’s what I do on a daily basis. Decisions and more decisions. The Vellfire, I must say is an exquisite vehicle. I’m not saying this because I favor the ‘van’. But really, with all the gadgets on board, I didn’t mind the extra costs. Not all recond car buyers can be fooled. But to explain why so, would be a long story. So yeah, hate all you want, I still think a Vellfire is in the market for a reason. Like I said, brands like Livina, Exora or the Alza exists to cater for a different group of buyers with different taste. Do you seriously think it’s a crime to be driving the Vellfire ?

• there is only 1 reason people buy vellfire – perceived class. but all large mpvs are equally ugly. for functionality, people with sense will buy starex. it’s a no-brainer. people who want face buy alphard or vellfire and spend way over the actual price to cover AP corruption costs

• Geronimo on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:14 am

So, it’s status for you then.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:05 pm

It’s the comfort and high-end gadgets on board and finishing touch that I was really thinking of when I first tried it out. But now that you mention it, yeah, I guess it makes people like you think a Vellfire buyer buys it for status sake. Now allow me to say this, you are SO wrong buddy. :)

• Finally it comes with optional power sliding door (was it only one side?) I actually tried to open the rear passenger sliding door at a roadshow, and gosh it is really heavy. Not a bad family MPV…

• Serious Fast Donkey on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Hyundai Grand Starex Royale is indeed very value for money. I would convert it to 7 seater and put in a table/bar counter in the centre!

• Andrew on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Love it! affordable than those recon alphards

• van hohenheim on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:53 pm

wow, most think this hyundai is so pretty

• treblecase on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:12 am

This will be excellent if only it can be converted to a campervan. Wow..imagine having your own bed & kitchen inside this. Sadly, there’s no campervan culture here. Nor will there ever be any.

• would anyone believe if I say that this royale rides better than the empty can alphard. I sat in a 5hrs taxi drive to Ho Chi Minh in Vietnam and it was comfortable when I was not very impress in a half hour alphard ride in kl. No doubt alphard is more refine, more gadget, but the actual ride is shit – no offence. I don’t understand why people are buying it like pisang goreng?

• Ha Gnih on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:45 am

Don’t get the Alphard la. If you have the extra moolah, get the Vellfire 3.5 like what I’m driving now. It’s REALLY a fantastic piece of machine to drive. But to be on the more economical side, I’d recommend the Starex anytime. But don’t get me wrong. There’s no comparison here because the Vellfire is a Vellfire and the Starex is a Starex. One can never be the other. But yeah, I do agree the Starex ride is very comfortable.

• Wisdom on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:21 am

Vellfire also felt uneasy on uneven road. Nothing fantastic.

• I am in the midst of trying to decide between a Starex, Estima and Alphard. This site sure makes interesting reading. Though my personal preference given fuel, roominous and general comfort, my colleagues are for either Estima and Alphard purely for image.
        For around the same price (of a Starex), both Accord and Camry does carry higher prestige so that speaks volumes.
        For now, I am still very much confused and undecided.

• scgtimk1 on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:27 am

Malaysian buy car not about actual comfort or real self satisfaction.

They but car because want to show off to others so other people satisfy with them. To buy car so that when they walk they can be ‘hidung tinggi’. that’s why model that is not good and will not even doing well in Europe or sophisticated country but because of badge snobbery, those model will sell well here.

That is why priority for Malaysian in buying car is 1)badge 2)badge 3)style etc.

• yes i believe u completely. the alphard’s ride is totally rubbish. same as toyota hiace van. ppl buy it only to show off the auto sliding door, reverse camera gadgets.

the real deal is the R-class. a real luxury MPV that has the luxurious ride that only alphard/vellfire buyers can have wet dreams about.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:37 am

I think its one of the better looking vans out there.

Rode in one, ride wasn’t bad but driving one would probably be a whole different story. Not much unlike the Mercedes Vito. Does need a bit more NVH isolation though. Engine a little coarse. The 2.2 VGT would probably be a lot better. wonder why they don’t offer it here since its available on the Santa Fe.

Begining to see quite a number of them on the road. quite surprised I don’t see more. I wont pay 2x more for an Alphard. You can just as well kit up a Strarex with even more gadgets for that sort of money.

• i think it is a good car…. err….mpv….van…. whatever…. 12 seats…it’s good….

• Owh yeah, any owner of Grand Starex in here? Care to share with us your self-experience on the car’s ride quality, spare part availability and above all fuel consumption. Thank you!

• Hello SYOH,

I just got my Starex FL 2011, a week before aidilfitri. Me and my families are very satisfied with this MPV. I only use this mpv for long distance travel so the fuel consumption is for highway driving.

1) 12.55km/l or 14.3sen/km : 3 adults, 2 kids and big loads (1 week off raya holiday). Penang-BP, Johor. Speed average 110km/h, max overshoot 120km/h. Full tank would give 12.55km/l*75l=941km

2. 13.3km/l or 13.57sen/km : ‘Home Made’ voltage stabilizer installed on 12V outlet. 2 adults, 2 kids and medium load (weekend travel). Penang-KL. Speed average 110km/h, max overshoot 120km/h. Full tank would give 998km.

Torque is really good. You will feel no different in terms of power when the mpv is empty or when it is fully loaded (I’ve tried max 14 people, mix of adults and kids).

Most of my families (in Johor) thought it is a PETROL instead of DIESEL, as from outside, the engine is very quite (engine fully warmed up and car not moving).

• Hello Syoh,

When my wife suggested this car, first word that came out from my mouth was ‘NO’ as it is Hyundai and I was scared the fuel consumption would be bad. My wife urged me to go for the test drive and I was very surprised with the performance. Then I asked few of my friends who drove Starex and the fuel consumption that they got surprised me. Booked the car soon after that.

If you are considering an MPV, you should test drive STAREX.

Good Experience: So far very satisfied. Will have a ‘good sleep’ for the next 5 years or the next 300km. The sound system in the car is superb. You have a lot of flexibility to set the audio functions (bass, subwoofer and etc). Cornering is good and as Starex has a small turning radius, you could make u turn in any junction. The mounted LCD graphic quality is very good. The 1st row at the back could be rotated 180degress, you could have conference or even good fun for kids.

So-so experience: The length (17 feet) is on average longer than any parking size in Malaysia. One of the middle sit at the back has some sort of resonance, but will get this rectified on the next service.

Service: I’ve sent the car for 1k service. Cost me about RM290. If you want to save more, you don’t have to get the optional engine cleaner which cost RM60+. The booklet given by Hyundai malaysia shows 5k service interval. I’ve logged complaints since the USER GUIDE (from korea) said the service interval is 10k, which mean the warranty should not void with 10k service interval.

• jalan54 on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Ini kereta van kalao angkut bangala banyak bagus.

• i own a starex royale. Ride n handling is superb. Can check FB, former rally driver oso drive one and give good remark. When drive in traffic people give ways becoz of its size=more confident. Massive torque 392 Nm, very good FC considering the package of its size and power, very comfortable and very practical if remove the 3rd row seats. And Yes, I can afford an Alphard.

• jay8393 on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Funny they placed the LED daytime running lights on the side view mirrors…

• Mask Ryder on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Many try to compare Starex with Alphard/Vellfire but fail to understand that all those Alphard/Vellfire in Malaysia r reconditioned used unit, surely the comfort would not be the same a new unit.
    If u see wikipedia Starex r refer as “Van” there r Cargo version known as Hyundai iLoad & Hyundai H-1 Cargo & Tourbus version known as Hyundai iMax & Hyundai H-1 Travel, so basically The Grand Strarex Royale r only available in Malaysia & market as “luxury” MPV, is actually a Cargo Commercial Van with “luxury” disguised, n people treat it like some Grand thing.
    Where else Alphard/Vellfire is a genuine Luxury MPV too bad local skyhigh tax has cause new car out of our reach, even the Toyota Wish in Singapore look much better than ours, Singapore Strarex too divided in Cargovan & Wagon version.

• Hukaka on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:10 pm

now looks better but only at exterior the interior leather seat are not acceptable.
    i been test drive this compare with Ssang yong Stavic,
    at the end i brought the Stavic(real MPV plat form and the price are cheaper if compare both korean brand)both 11 seater MPV are declare as a panel VAN so the TAX are minimum if compare with 105%for MPV 7 seater.so personally i assume it’s Over price for Starex.RM 140++K VS RM 115 with full Spec.
    the ride handling NVH ssang yong did i lot in R&D and i can see the inside sound proof materiel are much better then other car.

• E FULL on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Very nice and a good looking MPV with a good technology…I will buy this MPV but only for the the 2nd or 3rd hand…korean car price drop too much…my nazaria already 7 years and what the heck I still need to top up 20k to get me a new MPV…no more new korean car for me…i’ve had it.

• why people so obsess with category? a van is van. Be it starex, vanettte, alphard, elgrand etc. Take a vanette a load it with accessories and not to forget the ice box, would people categorize it as an MPV? categories is for the govtn to tax people and for the joes to boast around that he is in the “above” average caste.

• anafanas on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:45 pm

move estima,……………..starex is coming

• Nice upgrade indeed, wish have 8 seater like Aussie model H1, with 3 points seat bealt safety for 2nd and 3rd row seat plus extra luggage space

• Syed5225 on Aug 19, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Hi all, I’ve been using Starex for the past 1 year and it’s a superb, comfortable and very practical family car. Road handling is good…
    Before I decided to purchase this car, I’ve tested drive Oddssey, Estima, Alphard and Veilfire but it doesn’t suit my taste. Another issue to me is warranty as all the above is recond. FC is also good..I fill up full tank then take a trip to Penang and come back without refueling…so far I happy with it.
    My wife who is scared to drive for the first time now doesn’t want to drive any other car…:)

My last trip to Seoul Korea is on last February and amazed with Koreans that will only support Korean made…:) and in Seoul, Starex is luxury car with 7 seater, electronic and massage chair..

Before you say something bad about Korean car..please buy and try it your self you’ll be amazed.

• Garious Ghee on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:56 pm

You are right Alphard is so call brand names, reason no other mpv to comply with them except Starex, you drive you know Toyota mpv will put to shame very soon…

• lee marvin on Sep 14, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Hello to all Starex Owners. We plan to have 2nd TT session for all Starex owners in Malaysia. The schedule are as follows :

Date : 18th sept 2011 (Sunday)
    Time : 4 pm
    Venue : R&R Awan Besar (towards Puchong/Shah Alam)
    Food : (bring your own)….menu : Hari Raya or anything will do…hehehe
    Attendance : Please give confirmation below….

Thanks.

All are welcome…..

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hyundai-Grand-Starex-Owners-Club-STAROC/103432788902

• how about mazda 8 its new when bought maybe it isn’t that big in size but its still a full size mpv with great looks and most important its warranty since tats wat u all are talking here

• Jun Dizon on Jan 21, 2012 at 8:55 am

How come here in Vancouver, Canada Starex is not available.

• zainalosman on Mar 16, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Saya bercadang nak beli Starex Royale..minta pendapat dpd rakan2..

• shimot on Jun 03, 2012 at 2:24 am

Tested Hyundai Starex b4 and I’ve already book a Starex Royale 2.5

• Hi to all Just want to ask where I can buy this kind of bodykit for my Hyundai Starex

thank you

Bert

• henry wong on Jun 24, 2012 at 2:45 pm

really funny seeing adult fighting over the website about owning cars preferences.. hehe

• Karim on Aug 16, 2012 at 6:52 pm

anyone can help me on where can i get dropin K&N filter for starex? thanks.

• Hi all,
    I have used Starex Royale for 2-1/2 years. So far so good, no issues. We love it, fuel consumption is really good. I was very skeptical at first having past experience with my previous Spectra which was a fuel guzzler. Its pick up is also good, I have tried with 11 persons and overtaking at 120km/hr is a breeze.

Why I bought it instead of some other big MPVs?
    1. Price. At the time, the cheapest recond Alphard available was RM180k. RM35k difference. If buying brand new Alphard/Vellfire, I might as well buy Starex, use for 5 years, give to a friend and buy another new Starex. Still will be cheaper..hehe
    2. Look. We like the look. Of course Vellfire looks better but price tag was nowhere close.
    3. Warranty. Long warranty vs 3 months warranty from shop (if buying recond as the buying new one is not an option here because of the huge price difference).
    4. Maintenance cost. I went to workshops, asking how much will it cost to service an Alphard and was told that the cost was higher than Starex. I did not believe them, so I told myself, if Starex service costs RM200 more than an Alphard every time and service frequency is 5 times a year (for 25000 km / year), I will spend RM1000/year more than I will spend on an Alphard. This however will take 35 years to utilize the savings I made when buying the Starex instead of the recond Alphard at the first place. Don’t think I will use it for more than 15 years haha.. so still have that RM20k of savings unutilized.
    5. Resell value. I have no intention to resell – plan to use as long a possible. If you change cars that often, go for Honda or Toyota. Nothing else.

• hairil on Oct 17, 2015 at 9:24 am

Hi sir. I’m planning to buy a used hyundai starex. Please advise me on the fuel consumption, maintenance & spare parts costs. Thank you.

• ojimy on Jun 29, 2013 at 12:28 pm

just got my starex yesterday. Traded in with Naza Ria 2005. The Naza was fine, just concern about the wear and tear as it past 8 years mark already, and to mitigate exposure should the NAZA breaks down in highway with my family in it.

Earlier booked Vellfire, recon 2010..but cancel the booking after went thru various comments/feedback on this page. Settled for Starex to have peace of mind and value for money. So far been enjoying the ride with the Starex.

• Azrul on Oct 14, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Sy masih mencari yg masih menggunakn starex.. Sy ingin tanye dr segi penggunaan minyak..

• Hamka on Jan 11, 2014 at 8:21 am

kelmarin saya baru angkat starex. Memang menakjubkan..
    Mulanya agak gusar dan takut nak drive balik sebab badannya terlampau besar..kerana kebiasaan guna viva yang kecil. Alhamdulillah bila dah berada kat velakang stering, dan memulakan pemanduan dengan bacaan doa menaiki kenderaan oleh anak saya yang berumur 3 tahun lebih..kegusaran dan ketakutan tersebut hilang dengan sendirinya.

Pemanduan seperti mudahnya saya mengendalikan viva elite auto yang saya gunakan sebelum ini. Cuma tingginya starex memudahkan kan saya melihat disekeliling semasa memandu.

Kita boleh mengetahui setakat mana lagi km yang kita boleh tujui dengan hanya melihat pada dashboard..ada penunjuknya sendiri…kita boleh mengetahui berapa km dah kita lalui setelah kali terakhir kita isi minyak..
    Memang nampak mesra pengguna.

Anak2 tak perlu berhimpit dipangkuan…dihadapan pemandu boleh anak kecil duduk dan dilengkapi dengan seat belt juga..11 seater atau 12 seater…

Cubalah sendiri…

Green enjin..biasanya penggunaan minyak memang menjimatkan..

• Berminat juga nak beli, buat research pasal MPV ni, rasenye kos maintenance sangat tinggi compare tu another MPV.. Servis interval setiap 5K, sebab enjin diesel x boleh nak extend ke 10K.
      Ape pandangan tuan?

• hairil on Oct 17, 2015 at 9:27 am

Tuan, saya berulang dari rawang ke jalan duta setiap hari. Dari pengiraan saya consumption proton wira saya adalah lebih kurang 9.5km per liter (petrol). Bagaimana dengan starex yg menggunakan diesel? Adakah menjimatkan? Lagi satu, bagaimana dengan kos maintenance? Adakah harga spare part dia sedikit mahal atau terlalu mahal?

• Tok bajak on Jul 05, 2017 at 11:59 pm

Bagaimana pula tentang servis rutinnya tuan… Apa yg perlu di ganti setiap servis rutin dan kosnya?

• Slow mover, winding road fr gombak toll to karak toll can only make 30 minutes.

• Slow mover, took 30 minutes fr karak toll to reach gombal toll. Just like driving bm x5.